DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 3rd, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-8 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 4th, 2024.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk (U.S. Patent 8,973,670) in view of NPL (Consumer Unit World).
Regarding claim 1, Enk discloses a compact cooling and extinguishing system (10, Fig. 2) arranged in a protected device, the compact cooling and extinguishing system (10, Fig. 2) comprising:
a carrier (14, 16, 24, Fig. 3) containing inside a pressurized cooling and extinguishing medium (“compressed gas”, Col. 5, Ln. 17-50) and including an indicator (26, Fig. 3) for monitoring a condition of the cooling and extinguishing medium (Col. 5, Ln. 51-55),
a battery (92, Fig. 3) which is connected to a first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch (34, 58, battery 92 is connected to pressure conduit 34 and control panel 58, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, shown in Fig. 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33), which is connected to a valve (28, 42, 50, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 10, Ln. 46-49),
the valve (28, 42, 50, Figs. 1 and 3) is mechanically connected to the carrier (14, 16, Figs. 1A and 3) by a connection (34b, 38, 46, shown in Figs. 1A and 3),
the valve (28, 42, 50, Figs. 1 and 3) is further provided with a nozzle (20a, 20b, 20c, 20d, 20e, shown in Figs. 1 and 3) and the valve (28, 42, 50, Figs. 1 and 3) is further connected to a relay contact (58, control panel may contain one or more relays, Fig. 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33), and
the compact cooling and extinguishing system (10, Fig. 2) is further provided with a compact cover (60, Fig. 2) for mounting on a DIN rail (fire suppression system 10 has many applications and can be configured to effectively suppress fires in a variety of transportation vessels and any contained space, Col. 10, Ln. 53-56);
means for setting the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch to a value (34, 58, interpreting the means for setting the first pressure, temperature, or smoke as a switch, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33);
means for monitoring a temperature in the protected device (22, 58, interpreting the means for monitoring a temperature in the protected device as a sensor or pressure indicator, control panel 58 may contain one or more sensors, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) in a manner so that in response to the temperature in the protected device rising to the value to which the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch is set (34, 58, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33), the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch (34, 58, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) closes, which opens the valve (28, 42, 50, Figs. 1 and 3) and closes the relay contact (58, control panel may contain one or more relays, Fig. 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) at a same time to allow the cooling and extinguishing medium to enter the protected device through the nozzle (Col. 7, Ln. 16-40, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33).
However, Enk does not disclose the compact cooling and extinguishing system comprising a residual-current-device (RCD) of the protected device. Consumer Unit World teaches a residual-current-device (RCD) (annotated in Figure under “How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”) of a protected device (shown in Figure under “Introduction”);
close of the relay contact which results in bringing a pulse to the RCD of the protected device (“How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”); and
means for disconnecting the RCD (“electrical supply”, interpreting means for disconnecting the RCD as a switch, shown in Figure under “How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”) in response to a set temperature of the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch being reached in event of a failure of power from the battery (“How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”).
Enk and Consumer Unit World are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of compact electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a RCD taught by Consumer Unit World to Enk’s system, in order to have the compact cooling and extinguishing system comprising a residual-current-device (RCD) of the protected device, close of the relay contact which results in bringing a pulse to the RCD of the protected device, and means for disconnecting the RCD in response to a set temperature of the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch being reached in event of a failure of power from the battery. Doing so prevents electric shock by detecting an imbalance between the output and input total current of a circuit (Consumer Unit World, Introduction, Paragraph 2).
With respect to claim 3, Enk and Consumer Unit World teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 1 above. Enk further discloses the carrier (14, 16, 24, Fig. 3) being made of metal or plastic or alloy or fiber or glass (industrial metal or carbon fiber can be used, Col. 5, Ln. 30-34).
Regarding claim 6, Enk and Consumer Unit World teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 1 above. Enk further discloses an external power supply (56, 90, power source 56 provides power to the system and can be controlled externally, Figs. 1 and 4, Col. 8, Ln. 4-32).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk (U.S. Patent 8,973,670) in view of NPL (Consumer Unit World), and further in view of Disimile (U.S. Patent 10,207,133).
In regards to claim 2, Enk and Consumer Unit World teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 1 above. However, Enk and Consumer Unit World do not teach a second switch/sensor. Disimile teaches a compact cooling and extinguishing system (10, Figs. 1, 3-5) including a first sensor (24, Figs. 1, 4, 6) and a second sensor (26, Figs. 1, 4, 6).
Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Disimile are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of compact electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a second sensor taught by Disimile to the system taught by the combination of Enk and Consumer Unit World, in order to have the system including a second sensor. Doing so provides an additional sensor that detects the event of interest in the system, and confirms the information received in the first sensor (Disimile, Col. 5, Ln. 33-39).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk (U.S. Patent 8,973,670) in view of NPL (Consumer Unit World), and further in view of Lu (CN 102908742 A).
In regards to claim 4, Enk and Consumer Unit World teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 1 above. However, Enk and Consumer Unit World do not teach a safety switch. Lu teaches a compact cooling and extinguishing system (entire system in Fig. 1, 11 and 12 in Figs. 2-3) including a safety switch (13, Fig. 1).
Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Lu are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of compact electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a safety switch taught by Lu to the system taught by the combination of Enk and Consumer Unit World, in order to have the system including a safety switch. Doing so prevents wiring error in the installation (Lu, Paragraph 0020).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk (U.S. Patent 8,973,670) in view of NPL (Consumer Unit World), and further in view of Chattaway (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0147431 A1).
With respect to claim 5, Enk and Consumer Unit World teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 1 above. However, Enk and Consumer Unit World do not teach an external switch. Chattaway teaches a compact cooling and extinguishing system (8, Figs. 2A-3A) including an external switch (24, Figs. 2A-3A).
Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Chattaway are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of compact electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of an external switch taught by Chattaway to the system taught by the combination of Enk and Consumer Unit World, in order to have the system including an external switch. Doing so provides easier installation and allows the user to control the system directly (Chattaway, Paragraphs 0006 and 0012).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk (U.S. Patent 8,973,670) in view of NPL (Consumer Unit World), and further in view of Stimek (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0015688 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Enk and Consumer Unit World teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 1 above. However, Enk and Consumer Unit World do not teach a fuse. Stimek teaches a compact cooling and extinguishing system (100, Figs. 1A-1B, 4) including a fuse (114, Figs. 1A-2, 4-5B).
Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Stimek are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of compact electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a fuse taught by Stimek to the system taught by the combination of Enk and Consumer Unit World, in order to have the system including a fuse. Doing so provides an additional mechanism to trigger the carrier, due to its heat sensitivity to trigger the carrier (Stimek, Paragraph 0030).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enk (U.S. Patent 8,973,670) in view of NPL (Consumer Unit World), further in view of Stimek (U.S. Patent Publication 2019/0015688 A1), and further in view of Stager (US Patent 6,105,677).
Regarding claim 8, Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Stimek teach the compact cooling and extinguishing system as set forth in claim 7. However, Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Stimek do not teach the fuse is a plug configure. Stager teaches a compact cooling and extinguishing system (entire system, Fig. 1) comprising a fuse (54, Fig. 2) is a plug configure (“fusible plug”, Col. 4, Ln. 22) so that in response to failure of all electronic components of the compact cooling and extinguishing system, a burn-through of the plug because of high temperatures causes release of the pressurized cooling and extinguishing medium (Col. 4, Ln. 25-38).
Enk, Consumer Unit World, Stimek, and Stager are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of compact electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the fuse taught by Stager to the system taught by the combination of Enk, Consumer Unit World, and Stimek, in order to have the fuse is a plug configure so that in response to failure of all electronic components of the compact cooling and extinguishing system, a burn-through of the plug because of high temperatures causes release of the pressurized cooling and extinguishing medium. Doing so provides an an efficient way to suppress fire in the system (Stager, Col. 1, Ln. 33-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3rd, 2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Enk and Consumer Unit World do not teach the new amended features of claim 1, Enk in view of Consumer Unit World does teach these features. Enk discloses means for setting the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch to a value (34, 58, interpreting the means for setting the first pressure, temperature, or smoke as a switch, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) and means for monitoring a temperature in the protected device (22, 58, interpreting the means for monitoring a temperature in the protected device as a sensor or pressure indicator, control panel 58 may contain one or more sensors, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) in a manner so that in response to the temperature in the protected device rising to the value to which the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch is set (34, 58, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33), the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch (34, 58, control panel 58 may contain one or more switches, Figs. 1 and 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) closes, which opens the valve (28, 42, 50, Figs. 1 and 3) and closes the relay contact (58, control panel may contain one or more relays, Fig. 3, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33) at a same time to allow the cooling and extinguishing medium to enter the protected device through the nozzle (Col. 7, Ln. 16-40, Col. 8, Ln. 4-33).
However, Enk does not disclose a residual-current-device (RCD), but Consumer Unit World provides a motivation to combine a RCD to Enk’s system because it prevents electric shock by detecting an imbalance between the output and input total current of a circuit (Consumer Unit World, Introduction, Paragraph 2). Consumer Unit World further teaches close of the relay contact which results in bringing a pulse to the RCD of the protected device (“How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”) and means for disconnecting the RCD (“electrical supply”, interpreting means for disconnecting the RCD as a switch, shown in Figure under “How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”) in response to a set temperature of the first pressure, temperature, or smoke switch being reached in event of a failure of power from the battery (“How an RCD Works – The Power of Electromagnetism”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
//CHEE-CHONG LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 December 20, 2024