DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims included in the prosecution are claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 11 and 30-32.
Applicants' arguments, filed 09/18/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3, 4, 10 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson et al. (US 2006/0134020, Jun. 22, 2006) (hereinafter Robinson) in view of Silafu et al. (CN 102228479A, Nov. 2, 2011) (hereinafter Silafu) and GotMead (Tannin Galalcool?????, Oct. 2, 2006), as evidenced by Laffort (Tanin Galalcool, 2024).
Robinson discloses an oral care composition comprising a fluoride-providing agent (abstract). The composition may optionally comprise an orally acceptable zinc ion source. Suitable zinc ion sources include zinc gluconate. One or more zinc ion sources are optionally present in a total amount of about 0.05% to about 3% by weight of the composition (¶ [0068]). The composition may optionally comprise an antimicrobial (e.g. antibacterial) agent. One or more antimicrobial agents are optionally present in an antimicrobial effective total amount, typically about 0.05% to about 10% by weight of the composition (¶ [0065]). The composition may optionally comprise one or more further active material(s), which is operable for the prevention or treatment of a condition or disorder of hard or soft tissue of the oral cavity, the prevention or treatment of a physiological disorder or condition, or to provide a cosmetic benefit. In various embodiments, the active is a “systemic active” which is operable to treat or prevent a disorder which, in whole or in part, is not a disorder of the oral cavity. In various embodiments, the active is an “oral care active” operable to treat or prevent a disorder or provide a cosmetic benefit within the oral cavity (e.g., to the teeth, gingiva or other hard or soft tissue of the oral cavity) (¶ [0062]). Actives useful are present in the composition in safe and effective amounts. The specific safe and effective amount of the active will vary with such factors as the particular condition being treated, the physical condition of the subject, the nature of concurrent therapy (if any), the specific active used, the specific dosage form, the carrier employed, and the desired dosage regimen (¶ [0065]). The oral care composition may be a dentifrice, such as a toothpaste (¶ [0049]).
Robinson differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises a purified extract of gallic tannin from tara (Caesalpinia spinosa) pods.
However, Silafu discloses a medicine for treating oral diseases. The medicine comprises the effective parts and the effective components extracted from gallnut. The effective parts and the effective components of gallnut have the effects of resisting inflammation, easing pain, resisting bacteria and oxidation, immunoregulating and the like, can quickly repair dental ulcer and accelerate the healing of dental ulcer, and can effectively resist oral diseases such as gingivitis, ozostomia, stinking throat, mouth and tongue sore and the like caused by common pathogenic bacteria in oral cavities (abstract). Suitable effective parts and effective components include gallotannin (claim 1). Gallotannin has strong inhibition and killing action to staphylococcus aureus, Escherichia coli, beta hemolytic streptococcus, etc. (second page).
GotMead discloses wherein TANIN GALALCOOL is a tannin derived from the gall nut of oak trees.
As evidenced by Laffort, TANIN GALALCOOLTM is a highly purified extract of gallic tannin.
As noted by the instant specification on page 2, lines 20-21, GALALCOOL® (sold by Laffort) is a highly purified extract of gallic tannins from tara pods.
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Robinson discloses wherein the composition may further comprise an oral care active to treat or prevent a disorder within the oral cavity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated a tannin from gall nut into the composition of Robinson since tannins from gall nuts are effective in treating oral diseases caused by pathogenic bacteria as taught by Silafu.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated TANIN GALALCOOL (i.e., purified extract of gallic tannin from tara pods) into the composition of Robinson since it is a known and effective tannin from gall nuts as taught by GotMead.
In regards to instant claims 1, 30 and 31 reciting for inhibiting or reducing the incidence or likelihood of colds or other upper respiratory and pharyngeal infections, wherein the infection is a coronavirus infection, in particular COVID-19, respectively, this is merely a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention. The composition of the prior art comprises substantially the same active (e.g. GALALCOOL®) as the claimed invention and thus would be useable for inhibiting or reducing the incidence or likelihood of colds or other upper respiratory and pharyngeal infections, whether the prior art discloses such use or not.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting 0.01% to 10% purified extract of gallic tannins, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed amount of TANIN GALALCOOL since Robinson discloses wherein the amount of active varies with the condition to be treated, the physical condition of the subject, the specific dosage form, and etc. Furthermore, tannins from gall nuts are antibacterial as taught by Silafu. Robinson disclose wherein antimicrobial agents are present in an amount of about 0.05% to about 10%.
2. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 2006/0134020, Jun. 22, 2006) (hereinafter Robinson) (of record) in view of Silafu (CN 102228479A, Nov. 2, 2011) (hereinafter Silafu) (of record), GotMead (Tannin Galalcool?????, Oct. 2, 2006), and further in view of Fruge (US 2012/0207686, Aug. 16, 2012) (hereinafter Fruge) (of record).
The teachings of Robinson, Silafu, and GotMead are discussed above. Robinson, Silafu, and GotMead do not disclose wherein the composition is stored in a malleable or squeezable tube.
However, Fruge discloses wherein it is desirable to provide singe phase dentifrice compositions that can be packaged in conventional laminate squeeze tubes (¶ [0008]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have stored the composition of Robinson in a squeeze tube since this is a desirable product form as taught by Fruge.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the results with zinc gluconate are representative of the recited zinc salts, because in the claimed toothpaste the zinc salts are dissolved or dissociated into divalent zinc ions, which are the active agents, and into their counterions, such as gluconate, which play less of a role.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Applicant has not provided any objective evidence supporting that counterions, such as gluconate play less of a role. As such, Applicant’s argument is merely speculative and not persuasive.
Applicant argues that given that for the zinc salt the active ingredient is the dissociated divalent zinc ion, the skilled artisan will readily appreciate that results obtained with a counterion like gluconate is representative of for the zinc salts recited in the claims. Therefore, the skilled artisan would extrapolate the results showing the unexpected and synergistic beneficial properties observed using zinc gluconate to the other zinc salts.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. Applicant has not provided any objective evidence supporting the assertion that the results showing the unexpected results can be extrapolated to zinc salts. Paragraph [0031] of the instant specification disclosing wherein the zinc salt provides zinc ions which can help adhere the tannins in the mouth and disclosing wherein zinc ions themselves can cross-link tannins to proteins, does not provide support wherein the counterion does not affect the virus treatment shown in the declaration. The declaration only compares zinc gluconate alone with the combination of zinc gluconate with tannin. One cannot extrapolate from this showing or from the specification that the same virus effect would apply to all zinc salts when the declaration does not mention other zinc salts and the specification does not mention treating viruses. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that in Robinson, too, zinc salts with a wide variety of counterions, including zinc gluconate, serve as a zinc ion source. Here too the zinc ions are the active agent with the counterion playing a much more limited role.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. The showing in the declaration is limited to a viral infection. Although in some applications the counterion does not play much of a role, Applicant has not shown wherein the counterion plays no role when treating a viral infection. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3, 4, 10, 11 and 30-32 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614