DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/19/2026 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and claim objections from Office Action 03/23/2026 are withdrawn in response to the amendment.
Currently, claim(s) 1-2, 6-18, 22-25, 27, and 29 is/are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 22-25, 27, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen Livesey of US 2003/0035843 A1 (hereinafter, Livesey) in view of Bin Tian of US 2013/0289695 A1 (hereinafter, Tian) and Douglas Cali of US 2003/0028247 A1 (hereinafter, Cali).
As to claim 1, Livesey teaches to a method of providing features on an implantable material, the method comprising:
providing an implantable material comprising a decellularized sterilized mammalian tissue having an extracellular matrix (Livesey, paragraph [0011], teaches to providing an implantable material comprising a decellularized mammalian tissue having an extracellular matrix, as Livesey teaches to animal tissues chemically treated are commonly used as replacements for defective human heart valves; Livesey, paragraph [0003], teaches that tissues have an extracellular matrix).
Livesey does not explicitly teach in which aqueous components have been essentially removed by a treatment solution comprising one or more polyols which remain within a plurality of interstitial spaces of the extracellular matrix.
In an analogous art, Tian teaches to in which aqueous components have been essentially removed by a treatment solution comprising one or more polyols which remain within a plurality of interstitial spaces of the extracellular matrix (Tian, paragraph [0008], teaches to in which aqueous components have been essentially removed by a treatment solution comprising one or more polyols which remain within a plurality of interstitial spaces of the extracellular matrix, as Tian teaches to a method of treating a biological tissue that enables dry storage, wherein the method comprises contacting the biological tissue with a non-aqueous solution comprising a polyhydric alcohol and a C1-C3 alcohol and removing a portion of the treatment solution from the solution-treated biological tissue; Tian, paragraph [0015], teaches that the polyhydric alcohol is glycerol and the C1-C3 alcohol is propylene glycol).
Both Livesey and Tian relate to treating a biological tissue of a mammal for preparation or storage (Tian, paragraph [0014]). Livesey does not explicitly teach a dry storage using glycerol and propylene glycol. Livesey, paragraph [0051], does teach using cryoprotectants that may include glycerol and propylene glycol. Livesey, paragraph [0052], teaches that the cryosolution may also include dry protectant compounds. The dry protectant of Livesey does not explicitly teach including glycerol. Tian teaches treating a biological tissue with glycerol for preparation or storage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Livesey with the treatment of Tian for preparing biological tissues for surgical implantation.
Livesey in view of Tian does not explicitly teach and; providing one or more features on the implantable material by application of a laser treatment directly on the implantable material; wherein said laser treatment comprises a CO2 laser treatment
In an analogous art, Cali teaches to and; providing one or more features on the implantable material by application of a laser treatment directly on the implantable material; wherein said laser treatment comprises a CO2 laser treatment (Cali, paragraphs [0021] and [0051], teaches to providing one or more features on the implantable material by application of a laser treatment directly on the implantable material; wherein said laser treatment comprises a CO2 laser treatment, as Cali teaches to pericardium tissues being advantageously laser cut with a CO2 laser).
Both Livesey in view of Tian and Cali relate to surgical implantation (Cali, paragraph [0005]). Livesey in view of Tian does not explicitly teach using a CO2 laser for laser cutting a biological tissue. Livesey in view of Tian does teach to the biological tissue prepared for storage or preparation for surgical implantation. Cali teaches to using a CO2 laser for surgical implantation of a biological tissue for providing an implantable medical prosthesis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian with the CO-2 laser treatment of Cali for achieving precision and consistency for providing improved surgical implantation.
As to claim 2, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the CO2 laser treatment includes laser cutting (Cali, paragraph [0051], teaches to wherein the CO2 laser treatment includes laser cutting, as Cali teaches to CO2 laser cutting).
As to claim 22, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the solution of one or more polyols includes one or more polyols other than glycerol and glycerol (Tian, paragraphs [0008] and [0015], teaches to wherein the solution of one or more polyols includes one or more polyols other than glycerol and glycerol, as Tian teaches to a polyhydric alcohol, including a propylene glycol and a glycerol)
As to claim 23, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 22, wherein the glycerol is present in an amount in a range of 1 vol. % to 50 vol. % of the mixture and the one or more polyols other than glycerol are present in an amount in a range of 50 vol. % to 99 vol. % of the mixture (Tian, paragraph [0008], teaches to wherein the glycerol is present in an amount in a range of 1 vol. % to 50 vol. % of the mixture and the one or more polyols other than glycerol are present in an amount in a range of 50 vol. % to 99 vol. % of the mixture, as Tian teaches that the polyhydric alcohol concentration can be 40-95% and the C1-C3 alcohol concentration can be 5-60% by volume).
As to claim 24, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 22, wherein the one or more polyols other than glycerol includes at least one of 1,2 propanediol, 1,2 octanediol, 1,4 butanediol, fructose, xylitol, mannitol, sorbitol, lactulose lactic acid, maltose, glucose, galactose erythritol, lactobionic acid or its salts, and hyaluronic acid (Tian, paragraphs [0008] and [0015], teaches to using a 1,2-propanediol, as Tian teaches to a polyhydric alcohol, including a propylene glycol and a glycerol; 1,2-propanediol is commonly known as propylene glycol)
As to claim 25, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 22, wherein the one or more polyols other than glycerol are selected from the group consisting of 1,2 propanediol, 1,4 butanediol, lactobionic acid and its salts, and combinations thereof (Tian, paragraphs [0008] and [0015], teaches to using a 1,2-propanediol, as Tian teaches to a polyhydric alcohol, including a propylene glycol and a glycerol; 1,2-propanediol is commonly known as propylene glycol).
As to claim 27, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the implantable material includes bovine pericardium comprising a thickness between 0.2 mm and 0.7 mm (Tian, paragraph [0032], Table 2, teaches to wherein the implantable material includes bovine pericardium comprising a thickness between 0.2 mm and 0.7 mm. as Tian teaches to bovine pericardium tissue comprising a thickness of 0.38 mm, for example).
Where the only difference between the prior art and the instant claim is a recitation of relative dimension of the claimed structure and a structure having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art structure, the claimed structure is not patentably distinct from the prior art structure. Please see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
As to claim 29, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to an implantable heart valve having a plurality of prosthetic valve leaflets made of an implantable material having features provided by the method of claim 1 (Livesey, paragraph [0010], teaches to an implantable heart valve having a plurality of prosthetic valve leaflets made of an implantable material having features provided by the method of claim 1, as Livesey teaches to a prosthetic heart valve, utilized for aortic heart valve replacement procedures; synthetic materials being made with low immunogenicity; Livesey, paragraph [0011], teaches to animal tissues being commonly used as replacements for defective human heart valves; see rejection for claim 1 above), wherein each leaflet features laser cut edges, and one or more laser cut through holes providing sewing locations (Cali, paragraph [0005], teaches to wherein each leaflet features laser cut edges, and one or more laser cut through holes providing sewing locations, as Cali teaches to an artificial heart valve being implanted to replace a defective natural heart valve; Cali, paragraph [0022], teaches to a plurality of leaflets being laser cut edges).
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Livesey in view of Tian and Cali, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Donald Guzik of US 2002/0091441 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Guzik).
As to claim 6, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does not explicitly teach wherein laser cutting comprises laser cutting a line feature on the implantable material.
In an analogous art, Guzik teaches to wherein laser cutting comprises laser cutting a line feature on the implantable material (Guzik, paragraph [0093], Fig. 6, teaches to wherein laser cutting comprises laser cutting a line feature on the implantable material, as Guzik teaches to an example of a template for the cutting of leaflets in which the lines in pattern 298 mark the cutting line for the focused beam to follow, for example, through the motion of a stylus or the like directing the beam).
Both Livesey in view of Tian and Cali and Guzik relate to laser cutting a biological tissue. Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does not explicitly teach a line feature. Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does teach laser cutting using a CO2 laser. Guzik, paragraph [0050], teaches to laser cutting a line feature for implanting a tissue heart valve.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian and Cali with the laser cutting a line feature of Guzik for surgical implantation.
As to claim 7, Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik teaches to the method of claim 6, wherein laser cutting the line feature includes laser cutting a perimeter and/or an edge of an element out of the implantable material (Guzik, paragraphs [0100] - [0102] and Figs. 10-11, teaches to wherein laser cutting the line feature includes laser cutting a perimeter and/or an edge of an element out of the implantable material, as Guzik teaches to the aortic wall can be trimmed using a focused beam, wherein Guzik, paragraph [0071], teaches that the laser beam will generally cauterize the edge being cut while not damaging the surrounding tissue).
As to claim 8, , Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik teaches to the method of claim 6, wherein laser cutting the line feature includes laser cutting a closed loop feature on the implantable material (Guzik, paragraph [0106] and Figs. 15-18, teaches to wherein laser cutting the line feature includes laser cutting a closed loop feature on the implantable material, as Guzik teaches to slits 370 and slots 372, wherein Guzik, paragraph [0103], teaches that slits may be formed using a focused beam apparatus).
As to claim 9, Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik teaches to the method of claim 8, wherein laser cutting the closed loop feature includes laser cutting one or more through holes (Guzik, paragraph [0106] and Figs. 15-18, teaches to wherein laser cutting the line feature includes laser cutting a closed loop feature on the implantable material, as Guzik teaches to slits 370 and slots 372, wherein Guzik, paragraph [0103], teaches that slits may be formed using a focused beam apparatus).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livesey in view of Tian and Cali, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of M-300 Laser Platform (Universal Laser Systems, “M-300 Laser Platform, Installation and Operations Manual” (May 2000)), and Randall Andrews of US 2003/0118229 A1 (hereinafter, Andrews).
As to claim 10, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the CO2 laser treatment utilizes a CO2 laser having a wavelength comprised between 9000 nm and 12000 nm (Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to wherein the CO2 laser treatment utilizes a CO2 laser having a wavelength comprised between 9000 nm and 12000 nm, as Cali teaches to a wavelength of 10.6 μm; 10.6 microns is equivalent to 10600 nm), a maximum rated power comprised between 15 and 40 W (Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to M-series laser engraving and cutting system available from Universal Laser Systems, Inc., wherein the device employs a 30 W).
Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does not explicitly teach, a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm.
In an analogous art, M-300 Laser Platform teaches to a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm (M-300 Laser Platform, Appendix B – Specifications, teaches to lenses available that can be used together with the laser system, wherein the focal length may be 38.1 mm).
Both Livesey in view of Tian and Cali and M-300 laser Platform relate to laser cutting. Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does not teach to a working condition of a laser cutting machine. Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does teach to laser cutting using a M-series laser system. M-300 Laser Platform teaches the working conditions of a specific model.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian and Cali with the working conditions of M-300 Laser Platform for laser cutting or engraving.
Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and M-300 Laser Platform does not explicitly teach a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm.
In an analogous art, Andrews teaches to a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm (Andrews, paragraph [0072], teaches to a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm, as Andrews teaches to Lacent 1000’s cutter positioning system capable of travelling at velocities up to 1500 mm per second).
Both Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and M-300 Laser Platform and Andrews relate to laser cutting. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and M-300 Laser Platform does not explicitly teach a specific velocity. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and M-300 Laser Platform does teach using a laser cutting machine. Andrews teaches using a laser machine capable of achieving a specific laser cutting speed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and M-300 Laser Platform with the working conditions of Andrews for laser cutting or engraving.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livesey in view of Tian and Cali, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Guzik, as applied to claims 6 and 7 above, and in further view of M-300 Laser Platform (Universal Laser Systems, “M-300 Laser Platform, Installation and Operations Manual” (May 2000)) and Takashi Matsumoto of US 2003/0052104 A1 (hereinafter, Matsumoto).
As to claim 11, Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik does not specify parameters for the laser treatment. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik does not explicitly teach wherein laser cutting perimeter and/or the edge comprises operating a CO2 laser according to the following parameters:
Power: 40% to 60% of maximum rated power
Velocity: 2% to 10% of maximum rated processing velocity
Frequency: 1 kHz to 10 kHz
Number of passes: 1 to 10
Lens focal length: 25.4 mm
However, Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to M-series laser engraving and cutting system available from Universal Laser Systems, Inc. The Office notes that the recited method of the instant claim can be reached by one of ordinary skill in the art by simply choosing a different laser operating conditions to implement the recited method of laser treatment claimed in claim 1.
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation. In addition, see below.
In an analogous art, M-300 Laser Platform teaches to a laser wattage of 40, power of 60%, speed of 2.1%, and pass time of 1 (M-300 Laser Platform, 6-20 Sample Materials, Perforated Vector Cutting).
M-300 Laser Platform discloses a “tickle” for small pulses for high-speed cutting and engraving (M-300 Laser Platform, System Operation 3-17). M-300 Laser Platform teaches that tickle frequency can be anything from “2kHz” up to “10 kHz” (M-300 Laser Platform, System Operation 3-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik to have optimized the laser cutting characteristics for the thickness and nature of the tissue (Guzik, paragraph [0075]) and with the working conditions of the M-300 Laser Platform to have enabled moving laser in both X and Y directions, coordinate movement of the mirror and focusing lens in providing one or more features on the implantable material.
Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Guzik, and M-300 Laser Platform do not disclose focal length of 25.4 mm. However, M-300 Laser Platform teaches that using a shorter focal length lens can be beneficial (M-300 Laser Platform, Section 8, Engraving Quality).
In an analogous art, Matsumoto discloses a focal length of the collecting lens 42 being about 1 inch (25.4 mm) (Matsumoto, paragraph [0071]).
Both Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Guzik, and M-300 Laser Platform and Matsumoto relate to laser cutting. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Guzik, and M-300 Laser Platform does not explicitly teach a focal length of a specified value. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Guzik, and M-300 Laser Platform does teach using a M-series laser engraving and cutting system. Matsumoto teaches to a shorter focal length lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the capacity of the working conditions of the laser system used by Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Guzik, and M-300 Laser Platform with the focal length of Matsumoto for decreasing the focal point diameter of the laser (Matsumoto, paragraph [0071]).
As to claim 12, Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik does not specify parameters for the laser treatment. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik does not explicitly teach wherein laser cutting perimeter and/or the edge comprises operating a CO2 laser according to the following parameters:
Power: 40% to 50% of maximum rated power
Velocity: 0.5% to 2% of maximum rated processing velocity
Frequency: 1 kHz to 10 kHz
Number of passes: 1
Lens focal length: 25.4 mm
However, Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to M-series laser engraving and cutting system available from Universal Laser Systems, Inc. The Office notes that the recited method of the instant claim can be reached by one of ordinary skill in the art by simply choosing a different laser operating conditions to implement the recited method of laser treatment claimed in claim 1.
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation. In addition, see below.
In an analogous art, M-300 Laser Platform teaches to a laser wattage of 30, power of 50%, speed of 1.2%, and pass time of 1 (M-300 Laser Platform, 6-19 Sample Materials, Vector Cutting).
M-300 Laser Platform discloses a “tickle” for small pulses for high-speed cutting and engraving (M-300 Laser Platform, System Operation 3-17). M-300 Laser Platform teaches that tickle frequency can be anything from “2kHz” up to “10 kHz” (M-300 Laser Platform, System Operation 3-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian, Cali and Guzik to have optimized the laser cutting characteristics for the thickness and nature of the tissue (Guzik, paragraph [0075]) and with the working conditions of the M-300 Laser Platform to have enabled moving laser in both X and Y directions, coordinate movement of the mirror and focusing lens in providing one or more features on the implantable material.
Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Guzik and M-300 Laser Platform do not disclose focal length of 25.4 mm. However, M-300 Laser Platform teaches that using a shorter focal length lens can be beneficial (M-300 Laser Platform, Section 8, Engraving Quality).
In an analogous art, Matsumoto teaches to a focal length of the collecting lens 42 being about 1 inch (25.4 mm) (Matsumoto, paragraph [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the capacity of the working conditions of the laser system used by Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Guzik and M-300 Laser Platform with the focal length of Matsumoto for decreasing the focal point diameter of the laser (Matsumoto, paragraph [0071]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livesey in view of Tian and Cali, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Julie A. Benton of US 2015/0100118 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Benton).
As to claim 16, Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does not explicitly teach wherein providing the one or more features on the implantable material by the CO2 laser treatment includes laser ablation to provide sculpture features on the implantable material comprising at least one of a contoured sculptured pattern, a deformation pattern, or a layer ablation.
In an analogous art, Benton teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein providing the one or more features on the implantable material by the CO2 laser treatment includes laser ablation to provide sculpture features on the implantable material comprising at least one of a contoured sculptured pattern, a deformation pattern, or a layer ablation (Benton, paragraphs [0029] and [0043], teaches to wherein providing the one or more features on the implantable material by the CO2 laser treatment includes laser ablation to provide sculpture features on the implantable material comprising at least one of a contoured sculptured pattern, a deformation pattern, or a layer ablation, as Benton teaches to laser ablation, and as Benton, paragraph [0029], Fig. 1A-1B teaches to a plurality of parallel grooves 120, wherein the leaflets are made of biological tissue, preferably bovine pericardium).
While the applicant is allowed to become a lexicographer, the term “layer ablation” has not been positively defined by the claim(s) or the instant specification. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the term is interpreted to be at least inclusive of “laser ablation.” Benton, paragraph [0047], teaches that laser ablation is understood to be advantaged if performed on a substantially dehydrated or dry tissue.
Both Livesey in view of Tian and Cali and Benton relate to implanting biological tissues for bioprostheses (Benton, paragraph [0002]). Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does not explicitly teach providing a contoured pattern. Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does teach that the tissue can be laser cut using a CO2 laser. Livesey in view of Tian and Cali does teach preparing a dried tissue. Benton teaches that laser ablation is understood to be advantaged if performed on a substantially dehydrated or dry tissue (Benton, paragraph [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Livesey in view of Tian and Cali with the method of Benton to provide laser treatment for providing a contoured biological tissue for a bioprostheses, such as a bioprosthetic heart valve.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livesey in view of Tian and Cali, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Benton, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of M-300 Laser Platform (Universal Laser Systems, “M-300 Laser Platform, Installation and Operations Manual” (May 2000)), and Randall Andrews of US 2003/0118229 A1 (hereinafter, Andrews).
As to claim 17, Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton does not explicitly disclose the recited maximum operating conditions of a laser source apparatus. However, Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to M-series laser engraving and cutting system available from Universal Laser Systems, Inc. The Office notes that the recited method of the instant claim can be reached by one of ordinary skill in the art by simply choosing a different laser operating conditions to implement the recited method of laser treatment claimed in claim 1.
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation. In addition, see below.
Live in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton teaches to wherein the CO2 laser treatment utilizes a CO2 laser having a wavelength comprised between 9000 nm and 12000 nm (Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to wherein the CO2 laser treatment utilizes a CO2 laser having a wavelength comprised between 9000 nm and 12000 nm, as Cali teaches to a wavelength of 10.6 μm; 10.6 microns is equivalent to 10600 nm), a maximum rated power comprised between 15 and 40 W (Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to M-series laser engraving and cutting system available from Universal Laser Systems, Inc., wherein the device employs a 30 W).
Live in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton does not explicitly teach, a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm.
In an analogous art, M-300 Laser Platform teaches to a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm (M-300 Laser Platform, Appendix B – Specifications, teaches to lenses available that can be used together with the laser system, wherein the focal length may be 38.1 mm).
Both Live in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton and M-300 laser Platform relate to laser cutting. Live in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton does not teach to a working condition of a laser cutting machine Live in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton does teach to laser cutting using a M-series laser system. M-300 Laser Platform teaches the working conditions of a specific model.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Live in view of Tian, Cali, and Benton with the working conditions of M-300 Laser Platform for laser cutting or engraving.
Live in view of Tian, Cali, Benton and M-300 Laser Platform does not explicitly teach a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm.
In an analogous art, Andrews teaches to a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm (Andrews, paragraph [0072], teaches to a maximum rated processing velocity comprised between 1500 mms and 2300 mm/s, and a lens focal length comprised between 10 mm to 50 mm, as Andrews teaches to Lacent 1000’s cutter positioning system capable of travelling at velocities up to 1500 mm per second).
Both Live in view of Tian, Cali, Benton and M-300 Laser Platform and Andrews relate to laser cutting. Live in view of Tian, Cali, Benton and M-300 Laser Platform does not explicitly teach a specific velocity. Live in view of Tian, Cali, Benton and M-300 Laser Platform does teach using a laser cutting machine. Andrews teaches using a laser machine capable of achieving a specific laser cutting speed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Live in view of Tian, Cali, Benton and M-300 Laser Platform with the working conditions of Andrews for laser cutting or engraving.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Livesey in view of Tian and Cali, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Benton, as applied to claim 16 above, in view of M-300 Laser Platform and Andrews, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Takashi Matsumoto of US 2003/0052104 A1 (hereinafter, Matsumoto).
As to claim 18, Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Benton, M-300 Laser Platform, and Andrews teaches to the method of claim 17, wherein laser ablation is provided according to the following parameters:
Power: 20% to 70% of maximum rated power (M-300 Laser Platform, 6-6 Sample Materials, Deep Raster Engraving, teaches to a power of 40% of maximum rated power)
Velocity: 20% to 65% of maximum rated processing velocity (M-300 Laser Platform, 6-6 Sample Materials, Deep Raster Engraving, teaches to a speed of 40%)
Frequency: 300 ppi to 1000 ppi (M-300 Laser Platform, 6-6 Sample Materials, Deep Raster Engraving, teaches to a frequency of 300)
Number of passes: 1 to 10 (M-300 Laser Platform, 6-6 Sample Materials, Deep Raster Engraving, teaches to a pass time of 1).
Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Benton, M-300 Laser Platform, and Andrews does not explicitly teach to focal length of 25.4 mm. However, M-300 Laser Platform teaches that using a shorter focal length lens can be beneficial (M-300 Laser Platform, Section 8, Engraving Quality). Cali, paragraph [0045], teaches to M-series laser engraving and cutting system available from Universal Laser Systems, Inc. The Office notes that the recited method of the instant claim can be reached by one of ordinary skill in the art by simply choosing a different laser operating conditions to implement the recited method of laser treatment claimed in claim 1.
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation. In addition see below.
In an analogous art, Matsumoto teaches to a focal length of the collecting lens 42 being about 1 inch (25.4 mm) (Matsumoto, paragraph [0071]).
Both Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Benton, M-300 Laser Platform, and Andrews and Matsumoto relate to laser cutting. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Benton, M-300 Laser Platform, and Andrews does not explicitly teach a focal length of a specified value. Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Benton, M-300 Laser Platform, and Andrews does teach using a M-series laser engraving and cutting system. Matsumoto teaches to a shorter focal length lens.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the capacity of the working conditions of the laser system used Livesey in view of Tian, Cali, Benton, M-300 Laser Platform, and Andrews with the focal length of Matsumoto for decreasing the focal point diameter of the laser (Matsumoto, paragraph [0071]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 7, first paragraph, in response to applicant's argument that Livesay is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Livesay is reasonably pertinent to a biological implant (Livesey, paragraph [0010]), including a prosthetic heart valve (Livesey, paragraph [0010]).
On pg. 8, second paragraph, the Applicant asserts that Cali teaches away from the claimed invention because Cali does not teach that the prepared tissue is a “decellularized sterilized mammalian tissue having an extracellular matrix in which aqueous components have been removed.” While conceding Tian does teach the quoted limitation, the Applicant points out that Tian doesn’t teach laser processing. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually by stating that Tian doesn’t teach laser processing, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
More importantly, Tian, paragraph [0003], teaches to a tissue stabilization method by utilizing formaldehyde and glutaraldehyde in forming cross-links with collagen and other proteins in the tissue, wherein the tissue is often stored in a diluted aqueous solution containing glutaraldehyde (and/or formaldehyde) to maintain the tissue components in a hydrated state and to maintain a microbe-free environment (hereinafter referred to as the first stabilization method of Tian). Tian, paragraph [0004], also teaches to another tissue stabilization method by contacting the biological tissue with a non-aqueous treatment solution comprising a polyhydric alcohol and a C1-C3 alcohol and removing a portion of the treatment solution from the solution-treated biological tissue (hereinafter referred to as the second stabilization method of Tian). Tian, paragraph [0010], teaches that the biological tissue to be treated can be mammalian tissue, for example, a tissue selected from the group consisting of pericardium. Cali, paragraph [0030], teaches to laser cutting of the flexible material that includes equine pericardium which has been crosslinked and fixed in a low-concentration, buffered glutaraldehyde solution. Cali is silent to the second stabilization method of Tian. However, the laser cutting of Cali does not have to be limited to only the first stabilization method of Tian because Tian teaches that second stabilization method of Tian can replace the first stabilization method of Tian. The laser cutting of Cali can be applied to both stabilization methods of Tian because it would have been operable and one of ordinary skill in the art would have desired tissue stabilization of an implantable material prior to the operation of the laser cutting.
In short, Livesey in view of Tian does not explicitly teach laser cutting of the biological/surgical material. Livesey in view of Tian does teach to providing a “moist tissue” as a surgical/biological material. Accordingly, Cali, paragraphs [0030] and [0046], teaches that it was well known in the surgical/biological implantation art to have used laser cutting on moist tissue, or stabilized tissue. The laser cutting can be performed on moist tissue. Because Cali teaches that such materials were operable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have used the biological/surgical material having an implantable material comprising a decellularized sterilized mammalian tissue of Livesey in view of Tian with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their perspective functions, and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
The Applicant is arguing the use of impermissible hindsight even though only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time before the effective filing date was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the Applicant’s disclosure. See Remarks at pg. 8, fourth paragraph. As provided above, Livesay, Tian and Cali all relate to one another in the art of biological implantation and teach what would have been operable. For the reasons above, the Examiner respectfully disagrees that the only teaching for combination comes from Applicant’s own disclosure.
The Applicant asserts that Cali teaches a completely different process from that of Tian because Cali teaches to the performance of CO2 laser, whereas Tian teaches to tissue preparation. See Remark at pg. 9, second paragraph. Cali’s laser treatment is directed on implantable material including pericardium tissue, as with Tian’s biological tissue, paragraph [0010]. Both are directed at heart valve prosthesis (Tian, paragraph [0012] and Cali, paragraph [0021]) for improving biological implantation. For this reason, the Examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s assertion that Cali and Tian are completely different process
On pg. 10, second and third paragraphs, the Applicant states how the Applicant arrived at the claimed invention. However, the Applicant’s arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
At least for these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRYAN D. RIPA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794