DETAILED ACTION
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 20 July 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 26, 28, 30-32, 34-36, 38, 40, and 44 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 26, 28, 30-32, 34-36, and 44 are currently under examination.
Claims 38 and 40 are currently withdrawn.
Status of Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 6-8, 19, 22, 23, 26, 28, 31, 32, and 34-36 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s Amendment filed 18 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 26, 30, 31, 32, 36 , and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al (US 2013/0327648 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 2019/0379056 A1), Yushin et al (US 2017/0098823 A1), Gopalakrishnan Nair et al (US 2019/0140267 A1), and Aksu et al (US 2012/0003786 A1).
As to claims 1, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 31, 32, and 36, Grant discloses a method for electrodepositing an artificial solid-electrolyte interphase ("SEI") coating onto a surface of a pre-formed battery electrode to produce a coated battery electrode, the method comprising:
(a) providing the pre-formed battery electrode (Fig. 2 “anode substrate”) onto a conveyance apparatus (Fig. 2 [0008] “roll to roll”); wherein the pre-formed battery electrode includes a substrate and electrode constituent active material particles disposed on the substrate ([0025] active material coated onto a current collector [0046] where the current collector is copper or, aluminum [0011] as required by instant claim 15).
(b) transferring, by the conveyance apparatus, the battery electrode to an electrodeposition chamber containing a liquid solution comprising an at least first reagent ([0045] “bath”);
(c) exposing the pre-fromed battery electrode to the liquid solution in the electrodeposition chamber (Fig. 2 [0045]); and
(d) applying a voltage or current to the battery electrode relative to a counter electrode exposed to the liquid solution for a predetermined amount of time, thereby yielding the coated battery electrode comprising the artificial SEI coating wherein the artificial SEI coating is disposed on the electrode constituent active materials ([0045] “or into an anode substrate or sheet, or to form an SEI layer upon the anode”).
Grant discloses rinsing the coated battery electrode post-deposition with a rinsing solution comprising at least a solvent ([0012], [0060] claim 17 as required by instant claim 19) but fails to explicitly discloseexposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C.
Grant discloses the reaction during the lithiation process which forms a stable SEI material which includes a Li2O or LisCO3.
Grant fails to explicitly disclose wherein the active material is in the form of particles, exposing the coated battery electrode to one or more thermal treatments, and the artificial SEI coating comprises a metal oxide, a metal halide, a metal nitride, a metal chalcogenide, a metal carbide, a metal oxyhalide, a metal arsenide, or a metal phosphate.
Gopalakrishnan Nair disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes (title) via formation of a SEI film stack (Abstract which reads on instant claim 32) formed sequentially via modular process chambers ([0084]) where the current collector may be a PET film coated with copper ([0041], claim 6 as required by instant claims 15) suitable for use with a continuous process ([0033], [0056], Fig. 11). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses an SEI film stack which includes both a lithium carbonate/lithium oxide film (abstract and a metal chalcogenide film, specifically bismuth or copper chalcogenide films ([0008],[0039],[0045]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the films are suitable to be formed via a roll-to-roll processes ([0003]), using an suitable deposition process ([0082]) and allow for an ex-situ formation of a stable and efficient SEI film to inhibit lithium dendrite growth to achieve superior lithium metal cycling ([0038]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses use of the chalcogenide with the lithium oxide/carbonate inhibits dendrite growth ([0105]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the explicit use of copper selenium metal dichalcogenides ([0039]) which satisfies the instant definition of instant claim 31 option (j), where A is a transition metal and B is a chalcogen, and instant claim 10 wherein the artificial SEI comprises a transition metal dichalcogenide.
Aksu discloses methods of electroplating copper selenide films (Abstract) with copper includes as an ionic compound ([0027]) and selenium as an ionic compound ( such as selenium oxide which reads on instant claim 36 [0031]) with complexing agents ([0027]) which read on instant claim 10 of providing a liquid solution with ionic compounds and an aqueous solution 0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a metal chalcogenide film stack form ex-situ as an SEI layer as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nai integrated into the continuous method as taught by Grant because the use of the metal chalcogenides allows for the inhibition of dendrite growth and the formation ex situ allows for the formation of a stable and efficient SEI film (Gopalakrishnan Nair [0105], [0038]). It would have been obvious to explicitly use the copper selenide metal chalcogenide as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nair in the method of Grant because it is a suitable chalcogenide film to use with the lithium oxide/carbonate and thus provide the expected result of inhibiting dendrite growth and to have used a liquid solution and electrodepostion to form said copper selenide chalcogenide films as taught by Aksu in the method of Grant, as modified by Gopalakrishnan Nair, because it enables the coelectrodepostion of unfirm, smooth, and compositionally repeatable mixture films (Aksu [0022]).
Yushin dsiclsoes using porous electrode particles made of active materials (Abstract) which provides high surface area porous structure exposed to the electrolyte during operation to accommodate volume changes and reducing ion or electrode diffusion distances ([0007]).
Chen disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes ([0054]) exposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C. ([0091] claim 13 as required by instant claims 19, 22, and 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have explicitly used a porous microstructure comprising particles for the active material as taught by Yushin as the anode material structure of Grant in order to provide a high surface area porous structure exposed to the electrolyte during operation to accommodate volume changes and reducing ion or electrode diffusion distances (Yushin [0007]). See MPEP 2144.07. Thus, when using a particle in the method of Grant, the SET coating would necessarily be disposed on the electrode active materials particles because Grant deposits the SEI layer over the active materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have used a heating step as disclosed in Chen in the method of Grant because it promotes adhesion between the layers via a roll to roll process ([0096] Chen).
As to claim 6, Grant discloses wherein the battery electrode is composed of graphite, Si, Sn, Al, and lithium active metals ([0025]).
As to claim 8, Grant discloses a series of rollers for guiding the batter electrode into the electrodeposition chamber (See Fig. 2 and citation above to “roll to roll”).
As to claim 26, Grant discloses wherein the liquid comprises an electrolyte ([0010], [0046]) comprising a solvent ([0046] “non-aqueous solvent” which is deemed an organic solvent with the list in [0046]) and a lithium containing compound ([0027] [0048] which is deemed to be artificial SEI forming agents).
As to claim 30, the recited metal organic compounds are deemed optional via the “or” statement presented in claim 10 from which claim 30 depends. Thus, since the prior art discloses ionic compounds option of claim 10, claim 30 is thusly render obvious for the same rational as claim 10.
As to claim 44, Grant discloses a method for electrodepositing an artificial solid-electrolyte interphase ("SEI") coating onto a surface of a pre-formed battery electrode to produce a coated battery electrode, the method comprising:
(a) providing the pre-formed battery electrode (Fig. 2 “anode substrate”) onto a conveyance apparatus (Fig. 2 [0008] “roll to roll”); wherein the pre-formed battery electrode includes a substrate and electrode constituent active material particles disposed on the substrate ([0025] active material coated onto a current collector [0046] where the current collector is copper or, aluminum [0011]).
(b) transferring, by the conveyance apparatus, the battery electrode to an electrodeposition chamber containing a liquid solution comprising an at least first reagent ([0045] “bath”);
(c) exposing the pre-fromed battery electrode to the liquid solution in the electrodeposition chamber (Fig. 2 [0045]); and
(d) applying a voltage or current to the battery electrode relative to a counter electrode exposed to the liquid solution for a predetermined amount of time, thereby yielding the coated battery electrode comprising the artificial SEI coating wherein the artificial SEI coating is disposed on the electrode constituent active materials ([0045] “or into an anode substrate or sheet, or to form an SEI layer upon the anode”).
Grant discloses rinsing the coated battery electrode post-deposition with a rinsing solution comprising at least a solvent ([0012], [0060] claim 17) but fails to explicitly disclose exposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C.
Grant discloses the reaction during the lithiation process which forms a stable SEI material which includes a Li2O or LisCO3.
Grant fails to explicitly disclose wherein the active material is in the form of particles, exposing the coated battery electrode to one or more thermal treatments, and the artificial SEI coating comprises a metal oxide, a metal halide, a metal nitride, a metal chalcogenide, a metal carbide, a metal oxyhalide, a metal arsenide, or a metal phosphate.
Gopalakrishnan Nair disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes (title) via formation of a SEI film stack (Abstract which reads on instant claim 32) formed sequentially via modular process chambers ([0084]) where the current collector may be a PET film coated with copper ([0041], claim 6 as required by instant claims 15) suitable for use with a continuous process ([0033], [0056], Fig. 11). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses an SEI film stack which includes both a lithium carbonate/lithium oxide film (abstract and a metal chalcogenide film, specifically bismuth or copper chalcogenide films ([0008],[0039],[0045]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the films are suitable to be formed via a roll-to-roll processes ([0003]), using an suitable deposition process ([0082]) and allow for an ex-situ formation of a stable and efficient SEI film to inhibit lithium dendrite growth to achieve superior lithium metal cycling ([0038]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses use of the chalcogenide with the lithium oxide/carbonate inhibits dendrite growth ([0105]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the explicit use of copper selenium metal dichalcogenides ([0039]).
Aksu discloses methods of electroplating copper selenide films (Abstract) with copper includes as an ionic compound ([0027]) and selenium as an ionic compound ( such as selenium oxide [0031]) with complexing agents ([0027]) providing a liquid solution with ionic compounds and an aqueous solution 0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a metal chalcogenide film stack form ex-situ as an SEI layer as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nai integrated into the continuous method as taught by Grant because the use of the metal chalcogenides allows for the inhibition of dendrite growth and the formation ex situ allows for the formation of a stable and efficient SEI film (Gopalakrishnan Nair [0105], [0038]). It would have been obvious to explicitly use the copper selenide metal chalcogenide as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nair in the method of Grant because it is a suitable chalcogenide film to use with the lithium oxide/carbonate and thus provide the expected result of inhibiting dendrite growth and to have used a liquid solution and electrodepostion to form said copper selenide chalcogenide films as taught by Aksu in the method of Grant, as modified by Gopalakrishnan Nair, because it enables the coelectrodepostion of unfirm, smooth, and compositionally repeatable mixture films (Aksu [0022]).
Yushin dsiclsoes using porous electrode particles made of active materials (Abstract) which provides high surface area porous structure exposed to the electrolyte during operation to accommodate volume changes and reducing ion or electrode diffusion distances ([0007]).
Chen disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes ([0054]) exposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C. ([0091] claim 13 as required by instant claims 19, 22, and 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have explicitly used a porous microstructure comprising particles for the active material as taught by Yushin as the anode material structure of Grant in order to provide a high surface area porous structure exposed to the electrolyte during operation to accommodate volume changes and reducing ion or electrode diffusion distances (Yushin [0007]). See MPEP 2144.07. Thus, when using a particle in the method of Grant, the SET coating would necessarily be disposed on the electrode active materials particles because Grant deposits the SEI layer over the active materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have used a heating step as disclosed in Chen in the method of Grant because it promotes adhesion between the layers via a roll to roll process ([0096] Chen).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant, as modified by Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Zhu et al (US 2014/0248543 A1) and He et al (US 2019/0393482 A1).
As to claim 2, Grant discloses wherein the electrode is a copper foil 25µm thick ([0064]) but fails to disclose the other thicknesses as claimed.
Zhu discloses using porous copper of LIB anodes (Abstract, [0070]) with a porosity of 10-80 % ([0140]) with a pore size that falls within the claimed range based on Fig. 28. He discloses wherein an SEI layer has a thickness between 1 nm and 100 micrometer (Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a porous copper as taught by Zhu for the copper foil in Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because it provides a higher surface area for binding of active materials ([0105 Zhu). It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have use the thickness of He for the SEI layer of Grant, as modified by Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because such a thickness is recognized for the intended use in SEI layers. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 7, 28, 34, and 35are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Yu et al (US 2016/0254572 A1).
As to claims 7, 34, and 35, Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, fails to explicitly disclose the instantly claimed materials for the electrode.
Yu discloses forming SEI layers onto positive electrodes ([0050]) comprising an active material of LiCoO2, LiMnO2, LiNixMnyCozO2, among others for a time period of 1-24 hours ([0060] which reads on the ranges of instant claim 34) and thus is selected to allow for a solid precipitating reaction to occur on the surface of the battery electrode ([0059] via formation of the SEI layer as required by instant claim 35)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an SEI layer on the positive electrode and for the time periods of Yu in the method of Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because the formation of the SEI film on a positive electrode improves the output characteristic and lifetime characteristics of the as formed battery (Yu [0016]) and thus enable the formation of the SEI layer (Yu [0059]) using the continuous method of Grant.
As to claim 28, Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, fails to explicitly use LiClO4 for the lithium containing compound.
Yu discloses using LiClO4 for a lithium compound in forming an SEI layer ([0034]).
Thus, the prior at discloses the same method as instantly claimed except for the specific chemical used to supply lithium ions in forming the SEI layer in Grant. Yu discloses suitable compounds to supply lithium compounds for forming SEI layers.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used LiClO4 as disclosed in Yu in the method of Chen, Yushin, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because LiClO4 is a recognized compound to achieve a predictable result of supplying lithium ions for forming SEI layer. See MPEP 2143 B and 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant provides a summary of Grant on pgs. 10-11 of the response, including discussion of what Grant does not teach at pg. 11. Applicant contends that Grant does not disclose an artificial SEI layer because the reference produces a lithium containing layer. This argument is not persuasive because Grant is not specifically relied upon for providing an artificial SEI layer. Gopalakrishnan Nai discloses forming artificial SEI layers with the lithium oxide/lithium carbonate layers as recited above.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that the proposed modification of using Gopalakrishnan Nair’s layers with Grant would change the principle operation of Grant by requiring the use of a PVD system by requiring a substantial redesign as presented on pg. 12-13 of the response, this argument is not persuasive in light of the explicit teaching of Gopalakrishnan Nai and Aksu. Applicant concedes in the citation to Gopalakrishnan Nair at pg. 11 of the response that “[s]uitable methods of depositing portions of the SEI film…include, but not limited to…”. (emphasis added). Thus, while examples in Gopalakrishnan Nair may use a PVD process, the motivation to use the layer is different than motivation to use specific methods of forming the layers. The rejection at hand recognizes recognized that Gopalakrishnan Nair does not explicitly disclose using an electroplating method to form the SEI layer, but the reference is not so limited to specific methods of forming the layer and is open to any method to forming the layer when the layer is desired to be formed. Aksu discloses the specific method of plating copper selenide films where the benefits of using electroplating of the film results in uniform, smooth, and repeatable as cited above. Since Grant is already using an electroplating procedure, use of a plating solution such as Aksu would not require any substantial redesign besides the obvious exchange of one plating solution for another.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the use of Aksu would render the process of Grant unsuitable for its intended purpose because Aksu discloses using an aqueous solution instead of a molten solution on pgs. 13-14 of the response, this argument is not persuasive because the proposed combination does not replace one solution with the other, but rather an additional layer with the layers already disclosed in Grant due to the motivation of using a copper selenide layer with the lithium oxide/carbonate layer. The rejection does not replace one layer with the other, but the 3 references combined providing a SEI layer stack where the copper selenide film formed via an electrodeposition process for the reasons outlined above.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795