Detailed Action
This office action is for US application number 17/438,387 evaluates the claims as filed on August 10, 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections in this office action have been amended to address the amended claims. Examiner asserts that Macey, Coates, and Chen teach all the newly-amended limitations and are capable of performing the functions as claimed. Examiner directs Applicant to the rejection below for a more in-depth description of the limitations.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/351,417, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Application No. 16/351,417 fails to provide adequate support for a frame rotatably coupled to a distal end of the second tong of claim 21, a rotatable coupling between the frame and the distal end of the second tong and allows the clamp to be rotated away from the area which an attachment device is installed of claim 21, and the rotatable coupling between the frame and the distal end of the second tong allows a reduced dissection of claim 25.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least two attachment devices” of claim 21 line 4, and “an attachment device” of claim 21 lines 17-18, “the at least two attachment devices comprise at least two bone screws” of claim 23, and “the distal end of the first tong is a pointed end” of claim 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The amendment to the claims filed on August 10, 2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because claims 1-6 have a status of withdrawn with provided scope; however, in the claims dated November 24, 2025, Applicant cancelled claims 1-6. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
As also provided by MPEP 714(II)(H), “A claim cancelled by amendment (deleted in its entirety) may be reinstated only by a subsequent amendment presenting the claim as a new claim with a new claim number.” Applicant cancelled claims 1-6 in the claims dated November 24, 2025. Accordingly, the instant claims 1-6 as provided in the claims dated August 10, 2026 are considered to be canceled. Examiner suggests that, if Applicant intends for such scope to be claim, an amendment be provided in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121 and MPEP 714 to provide such scope as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least two attachment devices” in claim 21 line 4 and “rotatable coupling” in claim 21 line 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 21-23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 21 is/are unclear with regards to “at least two attachment devices” in line 4 and where such has been disclosed in a manner to enable one to ascertain the scope and equivalents thereof. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to the “screws or other attachment means” of ¶51 and suggests amending to clarify in a manner shown in the figures and supported by the specification.
Claim(s) 21 recites/recite the limitation "the distal end of the second tong" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “[[the]]a distal end of the second tong”.
Claim(s) 21 is/are unclear with regards to “a frame that is rotatably coupled to the distal end of the second tong, that surrounds an opening which provides access to the fixation plate area and the at least two plate holes” in lines 11-13 and how it is intended that the second tong surrounds the claimed opening. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to, and suggests amending as, “a frame wherein the frame[[that]] surrounds an opening which provides access to the fixation plate area and the at least two plate holes, [[that]] extends longitudinally along the fractured bone, and [[that]] is configured to position the fixation plate between the frame and the fractured bone;”.
Claim(s) 21 recites/recite the limitation "the rotatable coupling" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, it is unclear where such has been disclosed in a manner to enable one to ascertain the scope and equivalents thereof. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to the pin 82 and suggests amending to as “wherein a pin rotatably couples and allows” in claim 21 lines 16-17 and wherein thepin that rotatably couples
Claim(s) 21 is/are unclear with regards to “allows the clamp to be rotated away from the area which an attachment device is installed” in lines 17-18 and the missing word or phrase between “area” and “which” as well as how it can be reasonably construed that the clamp is permitted to be rotated away from the claimed area or where such is shown and originally disclosed. Examiner is interpreting this broadly and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim(s) 22 is/are unclear with regards to “the opening provides access to the fixation plate area” in lines 1-2 and the significance of repeating this limitation from claim 21 lines12-13. Examiner is interpreting this as referring to the same scope as claim 21 and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim(s) 25 is/are unclear with regards to “allows a reduced dissection” in line 3 and how such is relevant to the disclosed invention and where such is supported by the original disclosure. Examiner is interpreting this broadly and suggests amending to clarify.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for its/their dependence on one or more rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macey (US 6,579,296) in view of Coates et al. (US 5,423,826, hereinafter “Coates”).
As to claims 21 and 25, Macey discloses a system (Figs. 1-4B, col. 3 lines 38-44) capable of assisting with open fracture reduction surgery (col. 3 lines 38-44), the system comprising: a fixation plate (20, col. 3 lines 38-44) including an area within which at least two holes are located (shown with dashed lines in Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47 discloses a plurality of apertures) capable of receiving at least two attachment devices (Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47 discloses a plurality of apertures receiving fasteners); a clamp (10, Figs. 1-4B, col. 3 lines 38-44) including: a first tong (13, 16) that includes a distal end (16) which is capable of engaging a fractured bone (22, Fig. 2, col. 3 lines 40-42, col. 7 lines 17-22); a second tong (12, left portion of 14 as shown in Fig. 2) that is capable of moving coupled to the first tong (via 56, Figs. 1 and 2, abstract, col. 6 line 66 – col. 7 line 5); a frame (26, 18, and portion of 14 forming 24, Figs. 1 and 2) that surrounds an opening (30, 28, openings formed by 24 and 42, Figs. 1-4B) which provides access to the fixation plate area (Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47) and the at least two plate holes (Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47), extends longitudinally along the fractured bone (Figs. 1 and 2), and is capable of positioning the fixation plate between the frame and the fractured bone (Fig. 2). As to claim 25, Macey discloses that the distal end of the first tong is a pointed end (62, Fig. 1).
Macey is silent to the frame rotatably coupled to a distal end of the second tong, wherein a pin rotatably couples the frame and the distal end of the second tong and allows the clamp to be rotated away from the area which an attachment device is installed. As to claim 25, Macey is silent to the pin that rotatably couples the frame and the distal end of the second tong allows a reduced dissection.
Coates teaches a similar orthopedic device (150, Figs. 14-19) capable of assisting with open fracture reduction surgery (Figs. 14-19) involving clamping a fixation plate (20, Figs. 17 and 19), the orthopedic device comprising: a fixation plate (20) including an area within which at least two holes (Figs. 17 and 19, col. 13 lines 4 and 39-47) are located to receive at least two attachment devices (30, col. 13 lines 4 and 39-47); a first tong (151) that includes a distal end (164 of 151, Figs. 14, 15, 17, and 19); a second tong (152) that is capable of moving coupled to the first tong (via pivot bolt 160, Figs. 14, 17, and 19); and a frame (157) that is capable of rotating (about 165) coupled to a distal end of the second tong (164 of 152, Figs. 14, 15, 17, and 19), wherein the frame provides access to the fixation plate area (Figs. 16, 17, and 19) and the at least two plate holes (via 158s, Figs. 16, 17, and 19), extends longitudinally along the fractured bone (Figs. 16, 17, and 19), and is capable of positioning the fixation plate between the frame and the fractured bone (Figs. 17 and 19); wherein a pin (165) rotatably couples the frame and the distal end of the second tong (Figs. 14-17 and 19) and allows the clamp to be rotated away from the area which an attachment device is installed (Figs. 14-17 and 19). As to claim 25, Coates teaches that the pin that rotatably couples the frame and the distal end of the second tong allows a reduced dissection (Figs. 14-17 and 19).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the attachment of the frame to the second tong as disclosed by Macey to be rotatably coupled via a pin as taught by Coates in order to adapt to plates of various lengths and curvatures (Coates col. 14 lines 5-7), to aid in aligning each hole with a plate hole (Coates abstract, col. 13 lines 5-10) when performing fixation of a fracture of a bone (Macey col. 3 lines 39-44) and to provide easy removal for cleaning and sanitizing, i.e., so that the frame can orient relative to the contour of the particular bone and plate.
As to claim 22, the combination of Macey and Coates discloses the invention of claim 21 as well as the opening provides access to the fixation plate area (Macey Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47) and the two or more holes in the fixation plate (Macey plurality of apertures of col. 8 lines 39-40).
The combination of Macey and Coates is silent to the at least two holes comprise more than two holes.
Macey further teaches that at least an opening portion (30, 28) of the opening is shown to have a circular cross-section, but other cross-sectional shapes include but are not limited to triangular, rectangular, pentagonal, octagonal, hexagonal, oval, and/or elliptical shapes (col. 4 lines 45-50) to substantially align and guide aperture forming means 32 to facilitate an appropriate angle for reaming the bone (col. 4 lines 49-54) and, for the portion, a cylindrical shape is shown but other shapes can be employed including, but not limited to, elliptical, triangular, rectangular, pentagonal, octagonal, hexagonal, and other polygonal shapes (col. 4 lines 10-17) and is typically determined by the shape of the bone plate (col. 4 lines 17-18).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the opening as disclosed by the combination of Macey and Coates to be elliptical as taught by Macey in order to facilitate an appropriate angle for reaming the bone (Macey col. 4 lines 49-54). Further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify that the elliptical opening for facilitation angled reaming in the bone as taught by Macey is large enough to provide access to the fixation plate area within which four holes are located or where the at least two holes comprise more than two holes, since such a modification would have involved a mere specification/change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 23, the combination of Macey and Coates discloses the invention of claim 21 as well as the at least two attachment devices comprise at least two bone fasteners (fasteners of col. 8 lines 40-47 for attaching the plate to bone within a plurality of apertures, Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47, col. 3 lines 40-44 discloses securing a bone plate to bone for fracture fixation).
The combination of Macey and Coates is silent to at least two bone fasteners are at least two bone screws.
Coates further teaches the at least two attachment devices comprise at least two bone screws (30, Fig. 5, col. 13 lines 4 and 39-47).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to specify that the at least two bone fasteners as disclosed by the combination of Macey and Coates are at least two bone screws as taught by Coates in order to select a known fastener type for securing a plate to bone (Coates col. 13 lines 4 and 39-47).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macey and Coates in view of Xu et al. (CN 211704807 and corresponding machine translation, hereinafter “Xu”).
As to claim 22, the combination of Macey and Coates discloses the invention of claim 21 as well as the opening provides access to the fixation plate area (Macey Fig. 2, col. 8 lines 40-47) and the two or more holes in the fixation plate (Macey plurality of apertures of col. 8 lines 39-40).
The combination of Macey and Coates is silent to the at least two holes comprise more than two holes.
Xu teaches a similar system (Figs. 1-17, translation page 1 “Technical field”) capable of use in assisting with open fracture reduction surgery (title), the system comprising: a fixation plate (100 for 8 of Fig. 14, where translation page 10 discloses that “The navigation board 81 is provided with a hole 82, the hole 82 corresponds to the hole on the bone plate”) including an area within which at least two holes (corresponding to 82s of Fig. 14, where translation page 10 discloses that “The navigation board 81 is provided with a hole 82, the hole 82 corresponds to the hole on the bone plate”) are located to receive at least two attachment devices (“metal screws” of translation page 3); a clamp (Fig. 1) including: a first tong (6, 5, 4) that includes a distal end (6, 5); a second tong (3, 2, 1) that is moveably coupled to the first tong (Figs. 1 and 9); and a frame (8, Fig. 14) coupled to a distal end of the second tong (2, 3, Figs. 1 and 14), wherein the frame surrounds an opening (Fig. 1) which provides access to the fixation plate area and the at least two plate holes (Figs. 1 and 14) and is configured to position the fixation plate between the frame and the fractured bone (Figs. 1 and 14); wherein the opening provides access to the fixation plate area (Figs. 1 and 14), and wherein the at least two holes comprise more than two holes (Fig. 14, where translation page 10 discloses that “The navigation board 81 is provided with a hole 82, the hole 82 corresponds to the hole on the bone plate”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the at least two holes as disclosed by the combination of Macey and Coates to be more than two holes as taught by Xu in order to provide a known number of holes suitable for installing metal screws during minimally invasive operations on bone plates, with simple structure design, low processing cost and convenient use, and is a good choice in clinical operations (Xu translation page 3).
Conclusion
/AMY R SIPP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775