DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17, and 34 (and corresponding dependent claims) on pages 9-10 have been considered but are moot based on new rejections necessitated by applicant’s amendments (determine that a first repetition unit of the one or more repetition units crosses a slot boundary; and omit the first repetition unit from the repetition pattern).
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6: line 3 begins with “RUs” which should be “resource units (RUs)”.
Regarding claim 20: the claim is interpreted and objected to for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 43: line 5 includes “select a sub-channel for transmission that minimizes collision risk with other UEs”, however, while applicant has pointed to para. [43-60, 123] as support for newly added limitations, the disclosure is silent with regards to “minimize” (reduce to the smallest amount/degree) and “risk” (possibility of negative outcome). While the specification generally describes avoidance and scheduling/reservation, nothing is found regarding “minimizes collision risk with other UEs”. Accordingly, the above subject matter is not considered to describe in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 45: notwithstanding indefinite issues regarding “omit” the repetition unit based on “prior transmission success” as detailed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below, claim language includes “omit the repetition unit crossing a slot boundary based on dynamically sensed channel conditions, including interference measurements and prior transmission success”, however, while applicant has pointed to para. [43-60, 123] as support for newly added limitations, the disclosure is silent with regards to “omit” the repetition unit on any condition other than “crossing a slot boundary”. While the specification generally describes avoidance and scheduling/reservation based on LBT/sensing, nothing is found regarding “omit…based on dynamically sensed channel conditions”, nor “prior transmission success” much less “omit…based on…prior transmission success”. Accordingly, the above subject matter is not considered to describe in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 42 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 42: lines 2-3 include “ensure overall data integrity and continuity of the PSSCH”, however, while applicant has pointed to para. [43-60, 123] as support for newly added limitations while applicant has pointed to para. [43-60, 123] as support for newly added limitations, commensurate language is not found and the remaining disclosure is silent with regards to the limitation. Particularly, as commensurate language is not found, what the limitation pertains to is unclear; for example, whether the limitation pertains to A) configuration (timing, time/frequency resources, Tx power, Rx power, etc.), B) signaling processing, C) transmission of the PSSCH, D) reception of the PSSCH, E) redundancy, F) collision avoidance, or G) something else, is unclear. Examination continued on the assumption the limitation has some relation to configuration.
Regarding claim 45: line 2 and parent claim 17 indicates “omit the repetition unit”, however, line 4 includes “based on…prior transmission success” and thus, is unclear as how an omitted repetition unit has “prior transmission success”. Examination continued on the assumption some type of inadvertent idiomatic issue was introduced and the limitation is related to omitting and transmitting a repetition unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 16-18, 20, 34-35, 38, and 40-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (US 2023/0127485 A1) hereinafter Sun, in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0297221 A1) hereinafter Lee, and further in view of Awadin et al. (US 2023/0140213 A1, made of record in the OA of 12/31/2024, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/992,366, filed 3/20/2020).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a user equipment (UE) (UE 600; para. [116, 123] and Fig. 6), comprising: at least one antenna (antenna 616; para. 123 and Fig. 6); a radio operably coupled to the at least one antenna (transceiver 610 in communication with antenna 616; para. 123 and Fig. 6); and a processor operably coupled to the radio (processor 602 in communication with transceiver 610; para. 123); wherein the UE is configured to: establish communication over a sidelink channel with a second UE, including establishment of a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) with the second UE (UE initiate sidelink communication with second UE; para. 132, sidelink communication over physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); para. 28), wherein the PSSCH comprises a plurality of sub-channels (PSSCH 320 over multiple subbands 302; para. 96 and Fig. 3), wherein each sub-channel comprises a resource grid comprising a respective plurality of PRBs (sidelink transmission using frame structure of RB including PSSCH; para. 95 and Fig. 3, sidelink resources including PSSCH for data in resource blocks (RB); para. [96, 100, 136, 157] and Fig. 3 showing respective sub-channels [physical resource blocks] in resource pool 308 [resource grid] having time 304a-304d and frequency 302S0-302S2); perform sensing on at least one resource grid to determine sub-channel availability (to determine availability of sidelink resource 306, UE performs sensing on resource pool 308 [resource grid]; para. 104; PSSCH 320 over multiple subbands 302S0-302S2; para. 96 and Fig. 3); transmit data over the PSSCH to the second UE on one PRB of a determined available sub-channel (define a subset of available RBs [one RB of plurality of RBs] for sidelink transmission; para. 91, UE transmits on sidelink resource 306 [one PRB of plurality of PRBs] determined to be not reserved [available]; para. 104, PSSCH 320 over multiple subbands 302S0-302S2 having RB; para. 96 and Fig. 3, UE to UE communication using PSSCH; para. [28, 132]).
While Sun discloses a narrowband transmitter to access frequency subbands 302 for sidelink transmission, Sun does not explicitly disclose wherein the data is transmitted as a repetition pattern via one or more repetition units over a narrowband frequency domain sub-channel of the PSSCH using one or more PRBs of the respective plurality of PRBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the data is transmitted as a repetition pattern via one or more repetition units over a narrowband frequency domain sub-channel of the PSSCH (PSCCH resource unit (PRU) [repetition unit] used for PSSCH; para. [96, 104, 167], PRU/PSSCH transmitted on PRBs on subchannel; para. [104, 240-241], PRU/PSSCH transmission based on repetition level (one or more repetition unit); para. [167-168, 222], transmission on limited bandwidth (narrowband); para. 60, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by the reference) using one or more PRBs of a respective plurality of PRBs (number of PRBs (one or more) for PSSCH repetition greater than threshold; para. 170, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by the reference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lee to the system of Sun, where Sun’s sidelink communication with opportunistically licensed and unlicensed spectrum aggregation supporting vehicle-to-everything (V2X) (para. 03-04) along with Lee’s new radio (NR) for V2X (para. 02-04) improves the system by enabling services such as public safety use and V2X services in NR.
The combination of Sun and Lee does not explicitly disclose determine that a first repetition unit of the one or more repetition units crosses a slot boundary; and omit the first repetition unit from the repetition pattern.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Awadin teaches determine that a first repetition unit of the one or more repetition units crosses a slot boundary (check and determine that repetition [unit] crosses slot boundary; para. 92 and Fig. 11A steps [1, 3], use of unblind coverage enhancement for PSSCH by repetition and management of crossing slot boundary; para. [03-06, 229]); and omit the first repetition unit from the repetition pattern (drop repetition [unit] which crosses boundary; para. 95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Awadin to the modified system of Sun and Lee, where Sun and Lee’s modified system along with Awadin’s different repetition schemes (para. 66) improves data transmission coverage with relaxed latency.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun further teaches wherein the narrowband frequency domain sub-channel of the PSSCH comprises one PRB (UE includes narrowband; para. [45, 65], shared radio frequency band of sidelink system includes subchannels; para. 40, PSSCH carries data; para. [28, 35, 72], each sidelink resource 306 occupies corresponding frequency subband 302 (bandwidth); para. 96 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun further teaches wherein when transmitting over the narrowband frequency domain sub-channel, the UE is configured to transmit on a narrowband subset of the plurality of PRBs (frequency band for sidelink transmission partitioned into subbands; para. 93-94 and Fig. 3, multiple sidelink data simultaneously communicated in different subbands (subset) using sidelink resource; para. 95-96 and Fig. 3, UE includes narrowband; para. [45, 65], shared radio frequency band of sidelink system includes subchannels and channel access of sidelink in frames; para. 40), wherein the narrowband subset of the plurality of PRBs comprises fewer than all PRBs in the narrowband frequency domain subchannel (Fig. 3 showing subband occupied by both PSSCH and PSCCH and thus, using less than all PRBs in the subchannel).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 3.
Sun further teaches wherein the narrowband subset of the plurality of PRBs comprises one PRB (each sidelink resource 306 occupies corresponding frequency subband 302; para. 96 and Fig. 3, sidelink resource includes resource block; para. [50, 100]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun further teaches wherein the UE is further configured to: transmit the data over a plurality of frequency domain sub-channels of the PSSCH (frequency band for sidelink transmission partitioned into subbands and in different (plurality of) subbands; para. 93-95 and Fig. 3, PSSCH multiplexed in frequency; para. [35, 96]) using frequency hopping (sidelink communication using frequency hopping; para. [41, 100, 105, 116, 127-128]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 5.
Sun further teaches wherein the UE is further configured to: define a frequency hopping pattern over the PSSCH as comprising a plurality of predetermined RUs (sidelink control information (SCI) indicates resource assignment of PSSCH; para. 98, SCI includes hopping resource allocation field for sidelink to identify RBs (resource units) of PSSCH within sidelink resource pool (predetermined); para. 100, preconfigured resource pool; para. 103), wherein each of the predetermined RUs is located at one or more of a different time (sidelink frames in resource pool contiguous in time (different time); para. 104 and Fig. 3 showing time, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by the reference) or a different frequency (resource pool includes number of subchannels; para. 110 and Fig. 3 showing frequency); and transmit the data using the predetermined RUs in accordance with the frequency hopping pattern (SCI includes hopping resource allocation field for sidelink to identify RBs for PSSCH (data) transmission; para. 100).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun further teaches wherein the UE is configured to specify a number of the one or more repetition units using sidelink control information (aggregation level (number) for high reliability (repetitive transmission) scheduled by SCI; para. 118).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun does not explicitly disclose wherein each repetition unit is mapped to contiguous PRBs within the narrowband frequency domain sub-channel, and wherein the processor is further configured to maintain timing alignment of repetition units across consecutive slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee further teaches wherein each repetition unit is mapped to contiguous PRBs within the narrowband frequency domain sub-channel (adjacent N PRBs used for PSSCH transmission; para. 135, transmission on limited bandwidth (narrowband); para. 60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Lee to the modified system of Sun, Lee, and Awadin, where Sun, Lee, and Awadin’s modified system along with Lee’s new radio (NR) for V2X (para. 02-04) improves the system by enabling services such as public safety use and V2X services in NR.
The combination of Sun and Lee does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to maintain timing alignment of repetition units across consecutive slots.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Awadin further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to maintain timing alignment of repetition units across consecutive slots (contiguous repetitions spanning multiple slots; para. 07 and Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Awadin to the modified system of Sun, Lee, and Awadin, where Sun, Lee, and Awadin’s modified system along with Awadin’s different repetition schemes (para. 66) improves data transmission coverage with relaxed latency.
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to ensure overall data integrity and continuity of the PSSCH (PSSCH in suitable configuration; para. [35, 39, 96, 127], determining properties including RBs, resource pool, time resource pattern field, subframes, MCS of PSSCH; para. 100, tuning transceiver for PSSCH; para. 122).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 1.
Sun further teaches perform sensing of multiple resource grids within the PSSCH to identify available sub-channels based on interference measurements (to determine availability of sidelink resource 306, UE performs sensing on resource pool 308 [resource grid]; para. 104; PSSCH 320 over multiple subbands 302S0-302S2; para. 96 and Fig. 3, sidelink resources including PSSCH for data in resource blocks (RB); para. [96, 100, 136, 157] and Fig. 3 showing respective sub-channels [physical resource blocks] in resource pool 308 [resource grid] having time 304a-304d and frequency 302S0-302S2); and select a sub-channel for transmission that minimizes collision risk with other UEs (transmission in sidelink resource (selected subband) when no reservation detected, avoiding collision with another UE; para. 104, PSSCH 320 over multiple subbands 302S0-302S2 having RB; para. 96 and Fig. 3, UE to UE communication using PSSCH; para. [28, 132]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1, including baseband processor (transceiver 510/610 including radio frequency (RF) unit 514/614 processing signals; para. [117-118, 128-129] and Figs. 5-6: Sun) configured for use in a UE (Figs. 5-6: Sun) comprising: processing circuitry (processor 502/602; para. [112, 123] and Figs. 5-6: Sun).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 40, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 38.
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 17.
Sun further teaches map repetition units across non-contiguous PRBs within a narrowband frequency domain sub-channel (identify RBs when frequency hopping used for PSSCH; para. 100) to avoid interfering with ongoing sidelink transmissions from neighboring UEs (frequency hopping used for sidelink UEs to reduce collisions; para. 41).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 17.
Sun further teaches based on dynamically sensed channel conditions, including interference measurements, including interference measurements (to determine availability of sidelink resource 306, UE performs sensing; para. 104, view of channel state including detecting signal energy; para. [41, 59-60]).
The combination of Sun and Lee does not explicitly disclose omit the repetition unit crossing a slot boundary and prior transmission success.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Awadin further teaches omit the repetition unit crossing a slot boundary (drop repetition [unit] which crosses boundary; para. 95) and prior transmission success (dropped repetition compensated by transmitting using parameters similar to other repetitions; para. 115, drop repetition and combine with other repetition; para. 133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Awadin to the modified system of Sun, Lee, and Awadin, where Sun, Lee, and Awadin’s modified system along with Awadin’s different repetition schemes (para. 66) improves data transmission coverage with relaxed latency.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 16.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 34.
Sun further teaches wherein the respective plurality of PRBs comprised in a resource grid have a same sub-carrier spacing (system bandwidth partitioned into subcarriers where subcarrier spacing is fixed; para. [49, 94] and Fig. 3, sidelink resources including PSSCH for data in resource blocks (RB); para. [96, 100, 136] and Fig. 3 showing respective sub-channels [physical resource blocks] in resource pool 308 [resource grid] having time 304a-304d and frequency 302S0-302S2).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Sun, Lee, and Awadin teaches the limitation of previous claim 34.
The combination of Sun and Lee does not explicitly disclose adjusting a number and spacing of repetition units in the repetition pattern based on subchannel availability and sensed interference.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Awadin further teaches adjusting a number and spacing of repetition units in the repetition pattern based on subchannel availability and sensed interference (when repetition collides with invalid symbol [subchannel availability based on sensed interference], repetition patterns uses different parameters including spacing/duration/offset and number of repetitions; para. 116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Awadin to the modified system of Sun, Lee, and Awadin, where Sun, Lee, and Awadin’s modified system along with Awadin’s different repetition schemes (para. 66) improves data transmission coverage with relaxed latency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al. (US 2019/0342910 A1) discloses methods and apparatus for sidelink communications and resource allocation.
Bhamri et al. (US 2023/0232380 A1) discloses time-domain repetition of a set of transport blocks.
Chatterjee et al. (US 2019/0149365 A1) discloses time domain resource allocation for mobile communication.
Xiong et al. (US 2022/0038935 A1) discloses coverage for physical random access channel and repetition of CSI report on PUSCH for coverage enhancement.
US Provisional Application No. 62/992,366 (Awadin), filed 3/20/2020, is included in the instant OA.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474