DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
As a result of the amendments to the claim, the Objections over claim 61 has been withdrawn.
Also, the 112(b) rejection over Claims 61-69, 73 have been withdrawn.
All rejections not repeated in this Office Action have been withdrawn.
Claims 61-69 and 73-79 are currently pending in this Office Action. Claims 74-79 have been withdrawn due to being drawn to the non-elected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 73 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 73, the claim is indefinite because it is not clear if the claimed “processing aid” is intended to assist in both (1) “dosing and/or dispersion of the plant material or a derivative of the plant material” and (2) “addition to or removal of alcohol to the substrate or beverage to render a fortified or de-alcoholized beverage or partly de-alcoholized beverage”. That is, the claim can also be construed as requiring a processing aid that assist in solely limitation (1), and limitation (2) being a separate method step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 61-66, 69, 73 and 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 105670870A- machine translations) with evidence by Quercyl (Tanyl T) and Senanayake (Green tea extract: Chemistry, antioxidant properties and food applications – A review).
Regarding Claims 61, 63, Chen discloses a method for the manufacture of a naturally preserved beverage (Sparkling millet wine) that is substantially reduced in supplementary sulphur compounds (no recitation of sulphur compounds added), which includes the steps
a. providing a beverage substrate to a processing vessel (step 11, page 3 of the translations);
b. undertaking treatment of the substrate within the processing vessel (sterilizing as required by Claim 63, step 12, page 3 of the translations);
c. adding plant material (green tea extract, step 2, page 2 of the translations) to the substrate prior to treatment to render a naturally preserved beverage that is substantially reduced in supplementary (added) sulphur compounds (Chen does not require sulphur compounds),
wherein the plant material is from the plant family Theaceae (green tea extract, page 3 after step 13 of the translations, which is in the Camellia sinensis species and the Theaceae plant family).
Chen further teaches wherein the plant material containing simple polyphenolic components classified as condensed tannins (see evidentiary reference Quercyl identifying Tanyl T as a pure condensed tannin extracted from the leaves of the camellia sinensis plant), and repeat chemical units of the polyphenolic components. Since Chen discloses an “extract” of green tea (page 3, after step 13 of the translations), the “extract” is construed to be de-flavored, de-aromatized, and processed to enhance the bioavailability of components within the plant material and processed and augmented into an extract, derivative or infusion of the plant material.
Regarding Claim 62, Chen further teaches wherein the beverage substrate is a grain origin (full grain, step 1, page 2 of the translations).
Regarding Claims 64-66, Chen further teaches subjecting the plant material to at least one treatment step to retain and augment desired phytochemical characteristics (inactivating enzyme at high heat temperature, as required by Claims 65 and 66, see step 7, page 5 of the translations).
Regarding Claim 69, Chen further teaches wherein the phytochemical characteristics is antioxidant activity. See evidentiary reference Senanayake which discloses that Green tea extract can be used in foods to delay oxidation and enhance shelf-life of various food products (abstract).
Regarding Claim 73, Chen further teaches a processing aid to assist in the dispersion of the plant material (soaking, see step 2, page 2 of the translations). As to the step of adding or removing alcohol to the substrate or beverage, since Chen discloses a low-alcoholic beverage at 5% (see abstract), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add or remove alcohol to arrive to the desired final alcohol level.
Regarding Claim 80, Chen further teaches wherein the beverage is wine (Sparkling Millet Wine, see abstract).
Claim(s) 64, 67, and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination as applied to Claim 61, further in view of Yin et al. (CN 109430863 A).
Regarding Claims 64 and 67, Chen is silent to wherein the at least one treatment step is one of drying and stress induction. Yin is relied on to teach a method of preparing green tea extract using a step of spray drying to obtain green tea powder (page 2, third paragraph). The powder is used as an additive to preserve food as an antioxidant (see abstract). Therefore, since both Chen and Yin uses green tea extract, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use methods of obtaining green tea extract, such as drying to obtain a powder.
Regarding Claim 68, the claim is rejected in view of Claim 67 since the step of stress induction is not required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed 18 Aug 2025 has been considered, but is rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejections.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792