DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 7/5/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20200409422 A1, hereinafter Wang)
Claim 1. Wang teaches a hinge (25), comprising:
a fixed support (bottom wall of 24, fig 7);
a first rotation mechanism (284) comprising a first transmission member (281) rotatably connected to the fixed support (since they are rotatably connected to 283 which is connected to 24);
a second rotation mechanism (other instance of 284) disposed opposite to the first rotation mechanism, and comprising a second transmission member (281) rotatably connected to the fixed support (since they are rotatably connected to 283 which is connected to 24); and
a moving block (283, fig 7), wherein the first transmission member and the second transmission member are movably connected to the moving block ([0040] recites ‘The first rack member 283 is disposed between the two first gears 281, and the racks 2831 on the two opposite sides of the first rack member 283 are respectively engaged with the two first gears 281’), so as to convert rotation of the first transmission member and the second transmission member to linear motion of the moving block and to drive the moving block away from or close to the fixed support (element 2833 of 283 slides against 24 since [0051] recites ‘A guide strip protrudes from a side of the positioning strip 241 of the first positioning frame 24 facing the first rack member 283, and the guide strip corresponds to the guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283. The guide strip can be slidably received in the guide groove 2833’, see also [0040]); and
a first stopper (top wall of 24, fig 7), wherein the first stopper is mounted on the fixed support (bottom wall of 24, fig 7), the first stopper and the fixed support together form a first chute (space which 283 fits into), and the moving block is slidably disposed in the first chute ([0059] recites ‘The guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283 receives the guide stripe 2415 of the first positioning frame 24, such that the first rack member 283 can slide relatively up and down along the guide strip 2415 of the first positioning frame 24’);
wherein a wall surface (wall which 2415 protrudes from, fig 7) of the first chute is provided with a protrusion (2415), a groove (2833) is formed in the moving block, and the protrusion is slidably received in the groove ([0059] recites ‘The guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283 receives the guide stripe 2415 of the first positioning frame 24, such that the first rack member 283 can slide relatively up and down along the guide strip 2415 of the first positioning frame 24’).
Claim 9. Wang teaches A flexible display panel, comprising:
a flexible display panel main body (30, fig 1) comprising a flexible portion (31) and a first portion (33, fig 1) and a second portion (other instance of 33, fig 1, [0030]) connected to opposite ends of the flexible portion (fig 1); and
a hinge (25), comprising:
a fixed support (bottom wall of 24, fig 7);
a first rotation mechanism (284) comprising a first transmission member (281) rotatably connected to the fixed support (since they are rotatably connected to 283 which is connected to 24);
a second rotation mechanism (other instance of 284) disposed opposite to the first rotation mechanism, and comprising a second transmission member (281) rotatably connected to the fixed support (since they are rotatably connected to 283 which is connected to 24); and
a moving block (283, fig 7), wherein the first transmission member and the second transmission member are movably connected to the moving block ([0040] recites ‘The first rack member 283 is disposed between the two first gears 281, and the racks 2831 on the two opposite sides of the first rack member 283 are respectively engaged with the two first gears 281’), so as to convert rotation of the first transmission member and the second transmission member to linear motion of the moving block and to drive the moving block away from or close to the fixed support (element 2833 of 283 slides against 24 since [0051] recites ‘A guide strip protrudes from a side of the positioning strip 241 of the first positioning frame 24 facing the first rack member 283, and the guide strip corresponds to the guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283. The guide strip can be slidably received in the guide groove 2833’, see also [0040]); and
a first stopper (top wall of 24, fig 7), wherein the first stopper is mounted on the fixed support (bottom wall of 24, fig 7), the first stopper and the fixed support together form a first chute (space which 283 fits into), and the moving block is slidably disposed in the first chute ([0059] recites ‘The guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283 receives the guide stripe 2415 of the first positioning frame 24, such that the first rack member 283 can slide relatively up and down along the guide strip 2415 of the first positioning frame 24’);
wherein a wall surface (wall which 2415 protrudes from, fig 7) of the first chute is provided with a protrusion (2415), a groove (2833) is formed in the moving block, and the protrusion is slidably received in the groove ([0059] recites ‘The guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283 receives the guide stripe 2415 of the first positioning frame 24, such that the first rack member 283 can slide relatively up and down along the guide strip 2415 of the first positioning frame 24’); and
wherein the first portion is fixedly connected to the first rotation mechanism ([0068] recites ‘When the electronic device 100 needs to be flattened, the first frame 21 and the second frame 23 are pulled outwardly, so that the …. first gear 281 rotates to drive the first rack member 283 to move away from the flexible screen 30, so that the link frame 284 and the corresponding first gear 281 rotate around the first connecting shaft 282 until the bendable device 25 is flattened’), the second portion is fixedly connected to the second rotation mechanism ([0068]), and the moving block is located under the flexible portion (since 24 and 283 are in the middle, see figs 17, 18).
Claim 17. Wang teaches An electronic device, comprising a flexible display panel, and the flexible display panel comprising:
a flexible display panel main body (30, fig 1) comprising a flexible portion (31), and a first portion (33, fig 1) and a second portion (other instance of 33, fig 1, [0030]) connected to opposite ends of the flexible portion (fig 1); and
a hinge (25), comprising:
a fixed support (bottom wall of 24, fig 7);
a first rotation mechanism (284) comprising a first transmission member (281) rotatably connected to the fixed support (since they are rotatably connected to 283 which is connected to 24);
a second rotation mechanism (other instance of 284) disposed opposite to the first rotation mechanism, and comprising a second transmission member (281) rotatably connected to the fixed support (since they are rotatably connected to 283 which is connected to 24); and
a moving block (283, fig 7), wherein the first transmission member and the second transmission member are movably connected to the moving block ([0040] recites ‘The first rack member 283 is disposed between the two first gears 281, and the racks 2831 on the two opposite sides of the first rack member 283 are respectively engaged with the two first gears 281’), so as to convert rotation of the first transmission member and the second transmission member to linear motion of the moving block and to drive the moving block away from or close to the fixed support (element 2833 of 283 slides against 24 since [0051] recites ‘A guide strip protrudes from a side of the positioning strip 241 of the first positioning frame 24 facing the first rack member 283, and the guide strip corresponds to the guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283. The guide strip can be slidably received in the guide groove 2833’, see also [0040]); and
a first stopper (top wall of 24, fig 7), wherein the first stopper is mounted on the fixed support (bottom wall of 24, fig 7), the first stopper and the fixed support together form a first chute (space which 283 fits into), and the moving block is slidably disposed in the first chute ([0059] recites ‘The guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283 receives the guide stripe 2415 of the first positioning frame 24, such that the first rack member 283 can slide relatively up and down along the guide strip 2415 of the first positioning frame 24’);
wherein a wall surface (wall which 2415 protrudes from, fig 7) of the first chute is provided with a protrusion (2415), a groove (2833) is formed in the moving block, and the protrusion is slidably received in the groove ([0059] recites ‘The guide groove 2833 of the first rack member 283 receives the guide stripe 2415 of the first positioning frame 24, such that the first rack member 283 can slide relatively up and down along the guide strip 2415 of the first positioning frame 24’); and
wherein the first portion is fixedly connected to the first rotation mechanism ([0068] recites ‘When the electronic device 100 needs to be flattened, the first frame 21 and the second frame 23 are pulled outwardly, so that the …. first gear 281 rotates to drive the first rack member 283 to move away from the flexible screen 30, so that the link frame 284 and the corresponding first gear 281 rotate around the first connecting shaft 282 until the bendable device 25 is flattened’), the second portion is fixedly connected to the second rotation mechanism ([0068]), and the moving block is located under the flexible portion (since 24 and 283 are in the middle, see figs 17, 18).
Regarding Claims 2, 10, 18, Wang teaches the flexible display panel of claims 1, 9, and 17 respectively (see above), wherein the first transmission member comprises a first circular gear (281, fig 7), the second transmission member comprises a second circular gear (281), and the moving block comprises a linear gear (2831);
wherein the first circular gear and the second circular gear are meshed with the linear gear ([0040] recites ‘The first rack member 283 is disposed between the two first gears 281, and the racks 2831 on the two opposite sides of the first rack member 283 are respectively engaged with the two first gears 281’).
Regarding Claims 3, 11, 19, Wang teaches the flexible display panel of claims 2, 10, 18 wherein the moving block comprises a base portion (middle portion), the linear gear is disposed on an outside of the base portion (fig 7), and the linear gear is integrally formed with the base portion (fig 7).
Regarding Claims 4, 12, 20, Wang teaches the flexible display panel of claims 3, 11, 19 wherein the groove (2833) is formed in the base portion of the moving block (283, fig 7).
Regarding Claims 5, 13, Wang teaches the flexible display panel of claims 2, 10, wherein
the first rotation mechanism (284) further comprises a first rotation member (282, figs 7, 15) rotatably connected to the fixed support (bottom wall of 24, figs 7, 15), the second rotation mechanism (other instance of 284) further comprises a second rotation member (other instance of 282, figs 7, 15) rotatably connected to the fixed support, the first circular gear (281, fig 7) surrounds the first rotation member (fig 15), and the second circular gear (281) surrounds the second rotation member (fig 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 6, 14: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination) wherein the hinge further comprises a holding mechanism, and the holding mechanism comprises a first holding arm, a second holding arm, and a first holding member, wherein the first holding member is provided with a first protrusion and a second protrusion, a first groove is formed in the first holding arm, and a second groove is formed in the second holding arm;
wherein the first holding arm is fixedly connected to the first rotation member, the second holding arm is fixedly connected to the second rotation member, and the first rotation member and the second rotation member are rotatably connected to the first holding member;
in response to the hinge being in one of an unfolded state or a folded state, the first protrusion is received in the first groove, and the second protrusion is received in the second groove;
in response to the hinge is in another state of the unfolded state or the folded state, the first protrusion is separated from the first groove, and the second protrusion is separated from the second groove in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
No component of Wang fits the limitations of first/second holding arms since claim 6 requires the first/second holding arm is fixedly connected to the first/second rotation member. [0059] recites ‘The end of each of the two first connecting shafts 282 having the first securing section 2821 is sequentially inserted in a through hole 2803 of the connecting plate 2801, a through hole of the washer 2806, the first gear 281 of the link frame 284, the axial hole 2846 of the link frame 284, and the second gear 286’, however none of elements 2801, 2806, 284, 286 could be the first/second holding arm of claim 6. Element 284 is already mapped to first and second rotation mechanisms.
Lee (US 20230118440 A1) teaches the hinge of claim 5, wherein the hinge further comprises a holding mechanism, and the holding mechanism comprises a first holding arm (612), a second holding arm (614), and a first holding member (624, fig 6), wherein the first holding member is provided with a first protrusion (left protrusion of 624, fig 6) and a second protrusion (right protrusion of 624, fig 6), a first groove (groove of 612 nearby 624 of fig 6) is defined by the first holding arm, and a second groove (groove of 614 nearby 624 of fig 6) is defined by the second holding arm (fig 6);
wherein the first holding arm is fixedly connected to the first rotation member (figs 6, 7), the second holding arm is fixedly connected to the second rotation member (figs 6, 7), and the first rotation member and the second rotation member are rotatably connected to the first holding member (through elements 616, 618, 620);
in response to the hinge being in one of an unfolded state or a folded state, the first protrusion is received in the first groove (fig 6), and the second protrusion is received in the second groove (fig 6); in response to the hinge is in the other state of the unfolded state or the folded state, the first protrusion is separated from the first groove (fig 7), and the second protrusion is separated from the second groove (fig 7).
Although Lee teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 in isolation, it would not have been obvious to modify Wang in view of Lee in such a manner. Lee cannot be relied upon for a rejection since Lee fails to teach the amended limitations of claim 1.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular elements, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Applicant argues that Lee is overcome since the previous indicated allowable subject matter of claims 4, 12, 20 is added to the independent claims.
However, since limitations were removed from the independent claims, Wang is relied upon for rejections as shown above.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841