Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 8-10 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “common wire”. It is unclear if the common wire is the same or different from the parallelly-connection conductive means in claims 4-6, 8 since in the specification, the common wire 160, 161 and 162 are used to interconnect between string of cell. For the purpose of examination, it is considered the common wire and parallelly-connection conductive means in claims 4-6, 8-9 are the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solarworld Innovations GMBH, DE202012004526 (herein after “GMBH”) (English translation attached) in view of Cattaneo et al., “Encapsulants Characterization for Novel Photovoltaic Module Design” (Both Documents cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, GMBH teaches a solar module (Fig.13-15) comprising a plurality of common solar cells (100), said solar cells arranged in a physical matrix of N columns and M rows, wherein the pair of neighboring rows of solar cells (100) is mechanically and electrically interconnected by wire field (231/232), the single polymer conductor stripe extended laterally over the pair of neighboring rows, across all of the N columns that extends over the N columns of said the pair of neighboring rows (see Fig.13-14). Also, a common wire 220 is between each pair of the neighboring rows of solar cells or solar sub-cells, and positioned above the respective single folded segment of conductor stripe.
GMBH does not specifically teach that said at least one pair of neighboring rows of solar cells is mechanically and electrically interconnected by a single wide polymer conductor stripe, being a ductile conductive wiring connection.
However, Cattaneo et al. teaches a wire bonding technology known as Smart Wire Connection Technology (SWCT) with the aim of transforming high-efficiency solar cells into reliable modules while minimizing cell-to-module loss and cost. Cattaneo teaches that the SWCT comprises around 15 to 38 copper-based wires, coated with a low melting-point alloy, used on both sides of the solar cell, wherein the wires are embedded in a polymeric foil that is applied directly onto the metallized cell. Cattaneo teaches that SWCT result in increased cell efficiency by reducing shading on the cell (see page 148, section 2.2). The whole polymeric foil is considered to be a single folded segment of a polymer conductor stripe.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select SWCT for the interconnection (231/232) of GMBH that extends over at least two adjacent columns of said at least one pair of neighboring rows in order to increase cell efficiency by reducing shading on the cell. Moreover, simple substitution of one known interconnection (wire fields 231/232 of GMBH) for another (SWCT of Cattaneo) to obtain predictable results supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143). As for combination, single folded segment of a polymer conductor stripe comprising a width approximately of each pair of neighboring rows, the single folded segment of a polymer conductor stripe extended laterally over the pair of neighboring rows, across all of the N columns being a ductile conductive wiring connection that extends over two adjacent the N columns of said one the pair of neighboring rows. Since GMBH teaches the claimed stripe, the single folded segment of a polymer conductor stripe would be a ductile conductive wiring connection.
Regarding the limitation of “a solar power generation module for maximizing power generated from a solar module and for minimizing power degradation inflicted by light obstruction”, the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, therefore the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999)) MPEP 2111.02(II);
Regarding claim 2, modified GMBH teaches that at least one pair of neighboring cells in each column of solar cells electrically interconnected in series by at least one respective wire conductors (231/232) embedded inside said polymer conductor strip (Fig.13-15) (page 11 of English translation of GMBH).
Regarding claim 3, modified GMBH teaches that all solar cells in each pair of neighboring rows of a mutual string are electrically interconnected in series by at least one respective thin wire conductor (231/232) embedded inside said polymer conductor stripe (see Fig.13-15).
Regarding claim 4, modified GMBH teaches that wherein at least one solar cell in each string of solar cells is electrically interconnected in parallel to one or two solar cells situated in a mutual row of an adjacent string by a parallelly-connection conductive means (220; Fig.14-15).
Regarding claim 5, modified GMBH teaches that wherein said parallelly connection conductive means is an elongated common conductive wire (220) disposed between the rows of solar cells across all strings (page 9 of translation: wire or ribbon), across all strings (280; Fig.14), wherein said elongated common conductive wire 220 is conductively attached to the thin wire conductors (231/232) (See Fig.15) to locally form at least a partial conductive grid.
Regarding claim 8, modified GMBH teaches that the parallelly-connection conductive means comprise a plurality of short conductors (220; Fig.16), wherein each of short conductors mechanically interconnects adjacent solar cells (100) of adjacent strings (280), and wherein said short conductor 220 electrically interconnected in parallel said adjacent solar cells.
Regarding claim 9, the conductive wires 220 of modified GMBH are short common conductive wires.
Claim(s) 6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Solarworld Innovations GMBH, DE202012004526 (herein after “GMBH”) (English translation attached) in view of Cattaneo et al., “Encapsulants Characterization for Novel Photovoltaic Module Design” (Both Documents cited in IDS) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Krajewski, U.S. Publication No. 2012/0138117 A1.
Regarding claim 6 and 10, modified GMBH teaches that the parallelly-connection conductive means (220; Fig.14) is a wire or ribbon that is disposed between the rows of said solar cells across all strings, wherein the wires 220 is conductively attached to the thin wire conductors (231/232) to locally form at least a partial conductive grid (see Fig.14 and 15).
Modified GMBH does not specifically teach that wires 220 is embedded inside a single polymer conductor.
However, Krajewski teaches a conducing wire (502; Fig.5A) to electrically connect adjacent solar cells, wherein the wire is embedded in on a conducting polymer (504). Krajewski teaches that the polymer coating provides mechanical support to the conductive wire network with respect to the surface of the photovoltaic cell during the processing method and the operation of the photovoltaic module [0005].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add a conducting polymer to the wire 220 of modified GMBH to provide mechanical support to the conductive wire network with respect to the surface of the photovoltaic cell during the processing method and the operation of the photovoltaic module [0005].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues in substance:
None of cited references the single folded segments of polymer conductor stripe.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. GMBH teaches the single fold segment of stripe (see drawing above). Cattaneo et al is only applied to teach the material of the stripe. Cattaneo et al is not applied to teach the single fold since GMBH already has this configuration. Thus, the cited references teach the claimed amendment.
None of cited references does not teach the common wire.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. GMBH in view of Cattaneo et al teach the claimed amendment.
Conclusion
/UYEN M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726