DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
• Claims 6, 7, 21-27, 29, 30, and 32 are currently pending. Claims 1-5, 8-20, 28, and 31 are cancelled. The objections to claims 21, 26-27, and 30 are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims. The rejections of claims 28 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims. The rejections of claims 6-7 and 21-32 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that all explicit definitions mentioned in the Final Action mailed 05/16/2025 are incorporated herein and treated as set forth previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 7, 29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umebayashi (US-20180282559-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Umebayashi”), with evidence from Gould et al. (GB-2511606-A) (hereinafter referred to as “Gould”) as to the rejection of claims 6, 7, 29, and 32 only, and with evidence from Oishi et al. (US-20100187719-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Oishi”) as to the rejection of claims 29 and 32 only.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Umebayashi teaches an ink jet recording method and a method for producing printed matter using an ink composition (see Umebayashi at para. 0052), wherein the ink composition comprises:
• at least a coloring material, a resin, and an organic solvent, the ink composition does not comprise water (see Umebayashi at para. 0167, teaching a colored ink including a coloring agent and an organic solvent; also note that Umebayashi does not teach the presence of water anywhere in their disclosure; thus, Umebayashi necessarily teaches a lack of water in their ink);
• wherein the organic solvent is represented by the following general formula (1): R1-(OR2)n-O-R3 (1), wherein n: an integer of 1 or more and 4 or less, R1: an optionally branched alkyl group having 1 or more and 8 or less carbon atoms, R2: an optionally branched alkylene group having 1 or more and 4 or less carbon atoms, and R3: hydrogen or an optionally branched alkyl group having 1 or more and 4 or less carbon atoms (see Umebayashi at para. 0197, teaching the organic solvent may include ethylene glycol monomethyl ether, which reads on the general formula (1), where R1 is an alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, R2 is an alkylene group having 2 carbon atoms, and R3 is a hydrogen);
• wherein the ink composition is directly discharged onto a surface of a leather substrate by an ink jet method (see Umebayashi at para. 0288-0290, teaching the recording medium may include natural leather; also see Umebayashi at para. 0290-0294, categorizing “natural leather” separately from other coated leathers like “synthetic leathers”; natural leather is separate from coated leather, where for natural leather, the surface to be printed is obtained solely by tanning the rawhide and skin, as evidenced by Gould at pg. 4, lines 31-35; thus, it necessarily follows that when using natural leather as a substrate in the printing method of Umebayashi, “direct” printing on the leather substrate occurs, as there is no undercoat layer on the natural leather);
• wherein the resin has a weight average molecular weight of 18,000 or more and 100,000 or less, and wherein the resin comprises an acrylic resin (see Umebayashi at para. 0203-0205, teaching the colored ink may include a (meth)acrylic resin having a weight-average molecular weight of preferably 20,000 to 100,000).
Regarding claims 29 and 32, see Umebayashi at para. 0219, teaching the colored ink may include a surfactant; also see Umebayashi at Table 4 at pg. 17, teaching in their examples the use of BYK331 as a surfactant, which is a polysiloxane surfactant, as evidenced by Oishi at para. 0166; thus, Umebayashi reasonably suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a polysiloxane-based surfactant, i.e., a silicone-based resin, as exemplified in their example embodiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umebayashi, with evidence from Ueda et al. (US-20190280098-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Ueda”) as to the rejection of claims 21, 22, 24, and 25 only.
Regarding claims 21, 22, 24, and 25, while Umebayashi teaches the method outlined above, Umebayashi fails to explicitly teach the solvent represented by the general formula (1) as comprising two or more types of solvents having at least different boiling points, wherein the solvent represented by the general formula (1) comprises a first organic solvent having a flash point of 70°C or less; and a second organic solvent having a flash point of 90°C or more.
However, Umebayashi teaches “at least one” organic solvent may be used in their ink, suggesting more than one solvent may be present (see Umebayashi at para. 0193). Moreover, Umebayashi teaches both ethylene glycol monomethyl ether and triethylene glycol monobutyl ether as suitable solvents (see Umebayashi at para. 0197).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use both ethylene glycol monomethyl ether and triethylene glycol monobutyl ether as the solvent in the ink of Umebayashi, as Umebayashi teaches at least one solvent may be used and further teaches both as suitable solvents (see Umebayashi at para. 0193 and 0197). Combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06.
Ethylene glycol monomethyl ether has a flash point of 42 °C, as evidenced by Ueda at para. 0095. Thus, ethylene glycol monomethyl ether reads on the claimed first solvent. Furthermore, triethylene glycol monobutyl ether reads on the claimed second solvent, as disclosed by Applicant’s specification at pg. 11, para. 1.
Regarding claims 23, 26, 27, and 30, see Umebayashi at para. 0196 and 0199, teaching y-butyrolactone and pyrrolidone as suitable solvents, which are a cyclic ester and cyclic amide-based solvent, respectively; it would have been obvious to use either the y-butyrolactone or the pyrrolidone solvent together with the glycol ether solvent (ethylene glycol monomethyl ether) in the organic solvent of Umebayashi, as Umebayashi teaches “at least one” solvent may be used and further teaches each as suitable solvents (see Umebayashi at para. 0193, 0196, and 0199); combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), see MPEP § 2144.06.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/24/2025 have been fully considered. The Examiner agrees with Applicant that the amended claims overcome the previous prior art grounds of rejection (see Applicant’s Remarks at pg. 10-12). However, a new grounds of rejection is presented, setting forth the claims as unpatentable, see rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kamada et al. (US-20190023928-A1) teach an ink set which may be printed on natural leather (see Kamada at Abstract and para. 0106).
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/AMBER R ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731