DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application is a U.S. National Stage (371) application of PCT/US2020/025296 filed on 03/27/2020 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/951,546 filed on 12/20/2019 and to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/824,917 filed on 03/27/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2026 and 08/14/2026 have been received. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner, and all references are considered except where they were lined through.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2 are previously presented. Claims 3-16 and 18-19 are original. Claims 17 and 20-200 are cancelled at the Applicant’s request.
Thus, claims 1-16 and 18-19 are under examination.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranov et al. (US 7,767,407 B2) in view of Matos et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, (2017) 137, e31-e38).
Claim 1 recites:
“A panel for elemental analysis, comprising:
a plurality of conjugated antibodies, wherein each of the plurality of conjugated antibodies is tagged with a distinct element tag, wherein each distinct element tag is distinguishable based on its isotopic composition, and wherein the plurality of conjugated antibodies is in a lyophilized mixture, and
a lyophilized intercalator, wherein the lyophilized intercalator is included in the lyophilized mixture, and wherein the intercalator comprises iridium or rhodium”.
Regarding claim 1, Baranov teaches an elemental analysis panel or array (Column 4, lines 42-45). Baranov further teaches a plurality of tagged biologically active affinity materials or conjugated antibodies (Column 17, lines 5-12; column 44, lines 10-17). Baranov also teaches that each of the plurality of conjugated antibodies is tagged with a distinct element tag (Column 17, lines 5-12; column 44, lines 10-17). And Baranov teaches that each distinct element tag is distinguishable based on its isotopic composition (Column 43, claim 15). Baranov further teaches lyophilizing all the reagents provides standards in lyophilized form (Column 21, lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 6, Baranov teaches that each distinct element tag comprises a plurality of elemental atoms of one isotope (Column 43, claim 15).
Regarding claim 7, Baranov teaches that at least two conjugated antibodies of the plurality of conjugated antibodies are tagged with distinct element tags having different isotopes of a single element (Column 44, claim 22).
Regarding claim 8, Baranov teaches that the elemental analysis panel further comprises a biomolecule coupled to an additional element tag (Column 5, lines 13-31). Baranov further teaches that the biomolecule is not an antibody (Column 5, lines 13-31). Baranov also teaches that the additional element tag is distinguishable from each distinct element tag based on its isotopic composition (Column 5, lines 13-31).
Regarding claim 9, Baranov teaches that elemental analysis panel further comprises a non-antibody metal-containing moiety such as an aptamer complexed to a metal element comprising a metal isotope that is distinguishable from each distinct element tag based on its isotopic composition (Column 4, lines 32-41; column 7, lines 29-38).
Regarding claim 18, Baranov teaches that the elemental analysis panel further comprises a lyophilized calibration material (Columns 20-21, lines 66-67 of column 20 and lines 1-6 of column 21). Baranov further teaches that the lyophilized calibration material comprises known quantities of one or more known isotopes or element that would not interfere with elemental analysis (Column 9, lines 50-57, “The kits may also include standards … Further, the element may include more than one element, isotope or atom of an isotope and may include a different number of atoms of each isotope”; columns 20-21, lines 66-67 of column 20 and lines 1-6 of column 21). Baranov also teaches that the lyophilized calibration material is included in the lyophilized mixture (Columns 20-21, lines 66-67 of column 20 and lines 1-6 of column 21).
Regarding claim 19, Baranov teaches that the elemental analysis panel further comprises a supplemental reagent such as dilution buffers, elution buffers, wash buffers and assay buffers (Column 9, lines 50-51). Baranov further teaches that the supplemental reagent is usable for conducting an assay using the plurality of conjugated antibodies (Column 10, lines 20-30). Although Baranov does not explicitly teach that the supplemental material is lyophilized, an artisan would be motivated to lyophilize the supplemental material to increase its stability as it has been done with standards.
Regarding claim 1, Baranov does not teach an intercalator.
Regarding claim 1, Matos teaches that the intercalator is iridium which is known to bind DNA with high affinity allowing for the detection of all DNA containing cells and aiding in the identification of single-cell events (Page e35, left column, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to combine the iridium intercalator of Matos with the elemental analysis panel of Baranov because Matos teaches that iridium is known to bind DNA with high affinity allowing for the detection of all DNA containing cells and aiding in the identification of single-cell events (Page e35, left column, second paragraph). A skilled artisan would been further motivated to combine the above methods to provide a kit with a high level of stability for its components. A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the methods of Matos and Baranov because the methods are all based on using antibodies for diagnostic and treatment purposes.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to further lyophilize the tagged antibodies and intercalators and include in the kit of Baranov to maintain the stability of the used antibodies and intercalators.
Claims 2-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranov et al. (US 7,767,407 B2) and Matos et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, (2017) 137, e31-e38) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanner et al. (Pure Appl. Chem., Vol. 80, No. 12, pp. 2627–2641, 2008).
Claim 2 recites:
“The panel of claim 1, wherein the plurality of conjugated antibodies includes two or more antibodies that are raised against two or more of the group consisting of Cd45, CD45RA, CD45RO, Cd 123, CD4, CD8a, CD11C, CD57, CXCR3, CD185, CD38, CD56, CD3, CD20, CD66b, HLA-DR, IgD, CD27, CD28, CD127, CD19, CD16, CD161, CD194, CD25, CD294, CD197, CD14, CCR6, and TCR δγ”.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 10-12, the teaching of Matos and Baranov are previously discussed.
Regarding claim 2, Baranov fails to teach that the plurality of conjugated antibodies includes two or more antibodies from the group consisting of CD45, CD45RA, CD45RO, CD 123, CD4, CD8a, CD11C, CD57, CXCR3, CD185, CD38, CD56, CD3, CD20, CD66b, HLA-DR, IgD, CD27, CD28, CD127, CD19, CD16, CD161, CD194, CD25, CD294, CD197, CD14, CCR6, and TCR δγ.
Regarding claim 3, Baranov does not teach that a majority of the conjugated antibodies are specific to a cell type in human peripheral blood.
Regarding claim 4, Baranov does not teach that a majority of the conjugated antibodies are specific to a cell surface marker.
Regarding claim 5, Baranov does not teach that the plurality of conjugated antibodies comprises ten or more conjugated antibodies in the lyophilized mixture. Baranov does not teach that the plurality of
Regarding claim 10, Baranov does not teach that each distinct element tag comprises a metal element having an atomic mass greater than 80 amu.
Regarding claim 11, Baranov does not teach that each distinct element tag comprises a chelated metal.
Regarding claim 12, Baranov does not teach that each distinct element tag comprises an element that is not endogenous to human peripheral blood.
Regarding claim 2, Tanner teaches that the plurality of conjugated antibodies includes two antibodies that are respectively against CD45 and CD38 (Page 2635, Fig. 5, “CD45”, “CD38”; page 2635, second paragraph, “Also presented here for the first time are data obtained with the prototype FC-MS instrument … -CD45-159Tb, -CD38-165Ho”).
Regarding claim 3, Tanner teaches that a majority of the conjugated antibodies are specific to a cell type in human peripheral blood of a leukemia patient from the Quebec Leukemia Cell Bank (BCLQ) (Page 2635, Fig. 5, “Simultaneous 20-parameter analysis of cell surface antigens in bulk mode… a patient sample, were separately probed with a 20-member antibody panel tagged with the enriched isotopes shown.”).
Regarding claim 4, Tanner teaches that a majority of the conjugated antibodies are specific to a cell surface marker (Page 2634, last paragraph, “We report here for the first time the results of 20-parameter measurements in the bulk analysis mode. KG1a cells were stained for 20 cell surface markers… Results for a patient sample, indicated in Fig. 5 as BCLQ (Quebec Leukemia Cell Bank), show further suppression of the CD34 marker and other characteristic antigen expression differences”).
Regarding claim 5, Tanner teaches that the plurality of conjugated antibodies comprises ten or more conjugated antibodies (Page 2635, Fig. 5, “Simultaneous 20-parameter analysis of cell surface antigens in bulk mode”).
Regarding claim 10, Tanner teaches that each distinct element tag comprises a metal element having an atomic mass greater than 80 amu such as a lanthanide isotope (Page 2632, second paragraph, “After linking to the antibody, a solution of a lanthanide chloride is added, resulting in the strong chelation of the lanthanide isotope”).
Regarding claim 11, Tanner teaches that each distinct element tag comprises a chelated metal (Page 2632, second paragraph, “After linking to the antibody, a solution of a lanthanide chloride is added, resulting in the strong chelation of the lanthanide isotope”).
Regarding claim 12, Tanner teaches that each distinct element tag comprises an element that is not endogenous to human peripheral blood such as lanthanides (Page 2632, second paragraph, “After linking to the antibody, a solution of a lanthanide chloride is added, resulting in the strong chelation of the lanthanide isotope”; page 2632, Fig. 2, “The unlabeled Ab-tag can be stored and labeled with enriched lanthanide elements prior to application to the sample”).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to combine Tanner’s method for detecting surface markers of cells by elemental analysis with the methods of Matos and Baranov because Tanner suggested using their method in health and disease detection (Page 2628, fourth paragraph, “the detailed biomarker signature of individual cells allows a diseased (or healthy) cell … it can be projected that diagnosis of disease will be able to be performed earlier and with better confidence …”). A skilled artisan would have been further motivated to combine the above methods to provide a diagnostic kit with a high level of stability for its components. A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the methods of Tanner, Matos and Baranov because the methods are based on using antibodies for diagnostic and treatment purposes.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to further lyophilize the tagged antibodies against markers of cells and include in the kit of Baranov to better diagnose a disease.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baranov et al. (US 7,767,407 B2) and Matos et al. (Journal of Investigative Dermatology, (2017) 137, e31-e38) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shrawat et al. (WO 2014/060962 A1).
Claim 13 recites:
“The panel of claim 1, wherein the panel has a moisture content that is at or
less than 5% by weight”.
Regarding claims 13-16, the teachings of Matos and Baranov are previously discussed.
Regarding claim 13, Baranov fails to teach that the panel or a composition has a moisture content that is at or less than 5% by weight.
Regarding claim 14, Baranov fails to teach that the panel has a moisture content that is at or less than 3% by weight.
Regarding claim 15, Baranov fails to teach that the panel has a moisture content that is at or less than 1 % by weight.
Regarding claim 16, Baranov fails to teach that the panel has a moisture content that is at or between 0.05 and 1 % by weight.
Regarding claim 13, Shrawat teaches that the panel or a composition has a moisture content that is at or less than 5% by weight (Page 3, sixth paragraph, “wherein said composition is having moisture content less than 5% w/w”; page 4, third paragraph, “wherein a moisture content of the formulation is preferably less than about 5% by weight”).
Regarding claim 14, Shrawat teaches that the panel has a moisture content that is at or less than 3% by weight (Page 3, sixth paragraph, “wherein said composition is having moisture content less than 5% w/w”; page 4, third paragraph, “wherein a moisture content of the formulation is preferably less than about 5% by weight”).
Regarding claim 15, Shrawat teaches that the panel has a moisture content that is at or less than 1 % by weight (Page 3, sixth paragraph, “wherein said composition is having moisture content less than 5% w/w”; page 4, third paragraph, “wherein a moisture content of the formulation is preferably less than about 5% by weight”).
Regarding claim 16, Shrawat teaches that the panel has a moisture content that is at or between 0.05 and 1 % by weight (Page 3, sixth paragraph, “wherein said composition is having moisture content less than 5% w/w”; page 4, third paragraph, “wherein a moisture content of the formulation is preferably less than about 5% by weight”).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the application to combine the method of maintaining a low level of moisture in the reagents of Shrawat with the methods of Matos and Baranov because Shrawat noted that it will maintain the stability of reagents (Page 3, sixth paragraph; page 12, first paragraph). A skilled artisan would have been further motivated to combine the above methods to provide a diagnostic kit with a high level of stability for its components. A PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the methods of Shrawat, Matos and Baranov because the methods are all based on using antibodies for diagnostic and treatment purposes.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to further lyophilize the tagged antibodies and maintain a low level of moisture to increase the stability of reagents that can be used in the kit of Baranov to avoid the deterioration of reagents, antibodies and intercalators.
Response to Arguments
In further reconsideration of Applicant’s arguments filed 08/14/2026 and prior art, the 103 rejection of claims is reformulated with only two references of Baranov and Matos. Baranov teaches the lyophilization of all reagents but simply does not teach an intercalator (column 21, lines 1-6). Matos teaches an intercalator of iridium (Page e35, left column, second paragraph).
The Applicant further alleged that the cited combination of references does not teach or suggest the claimed single lyophilized mixture. The Applicant further alleged that the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose the claimed plurality of conjugated antibodies, each tagged with a distinct isotopically distinguishable element tag.
This argument is not persuasive because in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). And when a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 may bar its patentability. When considering obviousness of a combination of known elements, the operative question is thus “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (MPEP 2141. I.). In the instant case, Baranov teaches that each of the plurality of conjugated antibodies is tagged with a distinct element tag (Column 17, lines 5-12; column 44, lines 10-17). And Baranov teaches that each distinct element tag is distinguishable based on its isotopic composition (Column 43, claim 15). Baranov further provides reagents in lyophilized form (Column 21, lines 1-6). The addition of Matos intercalator would have been an advantageous addition to the method of Baranov because Matos teaches that iridium is known to bind DNA with high affinity allowing for the detection of all DNA containing cells and aiding in the identification of single-cell events (Page e35, left column, second paragraph).
Applicant’s reliance on Dr. Loh’s Declaration (called thereafter “Loh’s Declaration”) filed 08/14/2026 to overcome the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding obviousness is not acceptable because Loh’s Declaration does not compare the representative lyophilized antibody cocktail to the exact same cocktail stored for two years in non-lyophilized form. Moreover, the Declaration relied on the reference of Schultz et al. (Cytometry Part A, 95A: 910–916, 2019) to provide a rationale for lyophilizing metal-tagged antibody cocktails. While the Applicant argued that lyophilizing metal-tagged antibodies is different from lyophilizing non-metal tagged antibodies, Schultz teaches the stability of non-lyophilized metal-tagged antibody cocktails when stored frozen and in aliquots (Abstract). Schultz further teaches that the frozen aliquots yielded stable staining patterns for at least 9 months when stored at temperatures below −80 °C (Abstract). Thus, without a comparison of the performance and stability of representative lyophilized antibody cocktail to the exact same cocktail stored for two years in non-lyophilized form, the Declaration fails to overcome the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding obviousness.
Therefore, the previous rejections of claims 1-16 and 18-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103, regarding obviousness are reformulated and maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/OMAR RAMADAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678