DETAILED ACTION
In the response filed on 07 July 2026, the following occurred: claim 1 has been amended.
Now claims 1-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34, 37, 43 and 69-70 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34, 37, 43 and 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a medical information processing method, computer equipment, non-transitory computer-readable medium. The limitations of:
[… outputting …], at least one navigation [ … item …]; and in response to a first operation of a user, determining, […], a target navigation [… item …], and [… outputting …] management information of a disease of a patient matched with the target navigation … [… item …], the target navigation [… item …] being one of the at least one navigation [… item …]; wherein the at least one navigation [… item …] includes a follow-up management [… item …]; and in response to the first operation of the user, determining, […], the target navigation [… item …], and [… outputting …], the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation [… item …] include: [… outputting …], a follow-up task list in response to the first operation of the user on the follow-up management [… item …], the follow-up task list including at least one line of follow-up information, and each line of follow-up information including visit information of the patient, a follow-up time, follow-up content, and at least one second medical information operation item, and the at least one second medical information operation item including a follow-up performance [… button …], and at least one of a follow-up comparison [… button …] and a follow-up creation [… button …], wherein the follow-up performance [… button …] is […] for [… providing …] a follow-up record form corresponding to follow-up content, and the follow-up record form enables the user to know a health condition of the patient through content of the follow-up record form when following up the patient; wherein each line of follow-up information further includes a follow-up state, and the follow-up state includes one of no follow-up and being completed: a follow-up state in a line of follow-up information is no follow-up; and the method further comprises: [… outputting …], the follow-up record form corresponding to follow-up content in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up performance [… button]; and in response to an operation of [… maintaining …] content entered in the follow-up record form, changing, […], the follow-up state in the line of follow-up information from no follow-up to being completed, and changing. […], the follow-up performance [… button …] to a third detail [… button …], wherein the third detail [… button …] is […] for instructing to view a follow-up record form corresponding to a follow-up task; wherein the follow-up content is the follow-up record form; and the method further comprises: in response to an operation of opening a scale making tool [… item …], [… outputting ..], the scale making tool [… item …], the scale making tool [… item …] including a field display region and an editing region, the field display region including a plurality of fields, and the editing region being used to make the follow-up record form, wherein a follow-up record form to be made includes a plurality of target elements, and each target element is generated by using a field; and making, […], the follow-up record form in the editing region in response to an operation of making the follow-up record form, wherein the plurality of fields includes a plurality of frequently-used fields, and the plurality of frequently-used fields include at least one public frequently-used field and at least one private
frequently-used field; the public frequently-used field is used as a target element in at least two follow-up record forms to be made, and the private frequently-used field is used as a target element in one follow-up record form to be made.
, as drafted, are methods which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) via human interaction with generic computer components. That is, by a human user interacting with a medical processing apparatus comprising a display and processor (claim 1), a memory and processor (claim 69 and 70), the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people, the Examiner notes as stated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), “certain activity between a person and a computer… may fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping”. For example, by a human user interacting with a medical processing apparatus comprising a display and processor (claim 1), a memory and processor (claim 69 and 70), the claim encompasses providing a user a navigable item to interact with and manage their patient information, where at least one of the items is a follow-up management item that allows a user to interact with and be provided a follow-up task list that provides to the user various information, and an operation item for user interaction to update their provided information. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a computer, which implements the identified abstract idea. The medical processing apparatus comprising a display and processor (claim 1), a memory and processor (claim 69 and 70) are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., general purpose computers with processors and memory, performing/ implementing generic computer functions see applicant’s specification paragraphs [0073]), such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim recites the additional elements of “displaying, by the first display, at least one navigation tab… displaying, by the first display, a follow-up task list… index item… interface” and “saving content…”. The “displaying, by the first display, at least one navigation tab… displaying, by the first display, a follow-up task list… index item… interface” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., use of a generic display to present and interact with data) and amounts to merely linking of the abstract idea to particular technological environment. The “saving content…” is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a general means of storing data) and amounts to the mere storage of data, which is a form of extra-solution activity. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a medical processing apparatus comprising a display and processor (claim 1), a memory and processor (claim 69 and 70), to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic hardware components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic hardware component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”).
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “displaying, by the first display, at least one navigation tab… displaying, by the first display, a follow-up task list… index item… interface” and “saving content…” were considered extra-solution activity and/or generally linking the abstract idea to particular technological environment. The “displaying at least one navigation tab… displaying a follow-up task list… index item… interface” has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and determined to amount to be well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. As described in Shlain (2013/0073306): Figures 1-10, 35 paragraphs [0085], [0103], [0130]; Churchwell (2013/0191161): Figures 3-10, paragraphs [0071]-[0073]; Amarasingham (20150106123): Figures 5-15, paragraph [0063], [0107]; Ash (20170004271): figures 3-8, paragraphs [0056]-[0058]; use of tabs, lists and index items on a display is well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. The “saving content…” has been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and determined to amount to be well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. As described in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) “Storing and retrieving information in memory” is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions cannot provide “significantly more.” As such the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34, 37, 43 are similarly rejected because either further define the abstract idea and/or do not further limit the claim to a practical application or provide as inventive concept such that the claims are subject matter eligible.
Claim 2-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34 37 and 43 recites the additional elements of displaying various tabs (i.e., a patient management tab, an entry sub-tab, prescription template sub-tab, historical prescription sub-tab, health prescription management tab, disease assessment tab, a smart question and answer tab, a consultation tab, a statistical tab), indexes (i.e., a prescription management index), lists (i.e., a patient list, a first classification list, a second classification list, historical prescription list, health prescription list, a consultation list), items (item of saving, a follow-up creation index item, a card registration and creation index item, second detail index item, deactivation item and an invalidation item, a new health prescription creation index item, a follow-up performance index item, a follow-up comparison index item, a follow-up creation index item, a fourth detail index item) to present data, however use of various tabs and indexes, to navigate and organize various lists to display information for a user was considered above found to be well-understood, routine and conventional and is incorporated herein.
Claim 3-4, 23, 29, 31, 34 and 43 recites various boxes (i.e., a prescription text box, blank text box, a health prescription text box, patient search box, a health prescription text box, a disease assessment information text box, a question search box) and various selectors (a time selector, a follow-up content selector, disease type selector, follow-up person selector), however use of text boxes and selectors are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., generic user interface features to capture user response) and amounts to merely linking of the abstract idea to particular technological environment. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Also, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of various boxes (i.e., a prescription text box, blank text box, a health prescription text box, patient search box, a health prescription text box, a disease assessment information text box, a question search box) and various selectors (a time selector, a follow-up content selector, disease type selector, follow-up person selector) were considered generally linking the abstract idea to particular technological environment. These have been re-evaluated under the “significantly more” analysis and determined to amount to be well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. As described in Shlain (2013/0073306): Figures 1-10, 35 paragraphs [0081], [0139]; Churchwell (2013/0191161): Figures 3-10, paragraphs [0074], [0104; Flam (20120200507): Figures 8-15, paragraph [0003]; text boxes and selectable items is well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions. Well-understood, routine, and conventional elements/functions cannot provide “significantly more.” As such the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4, 31, 34, 37 and 43 recites the additional element of saving, however saving of data was already considered above, and is incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34, 37, 43 and 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0073306 (hereafter “Shlain”; already of record in the IDS), in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0191161 (hereafter “Churchwell”), in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20150186602 (hereafter “Pipke”), in further view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130325503 (hereafter “Abrahams”).
Regarding (Currently Amended) claim 1, Shlain teaches a medical information processing method applied to a medical information processing apparatus, (Shlain: paragraph [0069], “logic may be implemented as any number of computer programs, methods, objects, components, or other software elements”),
the medical information processing apparatus including a first display and a first processor, the first processor being coupled to the first display (Shlain: Figure 1, paragraph [0261], “the techniques described herein are implemented by one or more special-purpose computing devices”, claim 42, “A data processing apparatus comprising: a computer comprising one or more processors; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more sequences of instructions… a display, on a computer display unit”); the method comprising:
displaying, by the first display, at least one navigation tab (Shlain: Figures 1-2, 11-14, 35, paragraphs [0102]-[0105], “providing a consolidated view, for a healthcare provider, of patients that the provider is tracking… a table 102 of tracked patients in which each row 106 is associated with a patient and a particular Loop for that patient… selecting a patient name causes the application logic to display a popup window that displays detailed information about the patient”. The Examiner notes the various figures display at least a navigation tab under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
in response to a first operation of a user, determining, by the fist processor, a target navigation tab, and displaying, by the first display, management information of a disease of a patient matched with the target navigation tab, the target navigation tab being one of the at least one navigation tab (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 11-14, 35, paragraphs [0102]-[0105], “button which when selected causes the application logic to generate a screen display… selecting a patient name causes the application logic to display a popup window that displays detailed information about the patient”, paragraph [0108], “selecting a patient Loop within the view of FIG. 1B causes the application logic to generate and provide a display”, paragraph [0125], “selecting either the Loop name associated with a particular patient, or a particular progress bar in column 112, causes the application logic to generate and provide a Loop Feed page”, paragraph [0143], “values for Diagnosis, comorbidities, and procedures are provided in panel 214”, paragraph [0148], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting an existing patient”, paragraph [0153], “Primary diagnosis codes and secondary diagnosis codes may be used, and zero or more comorbidities may be associated”, paragraph [0174], “the Loop Details comprise values for a Primary Diagnosis, Comorbidities, and Procedures as seen at 1404, and a table 1406 of the Components of the Loop”, paragraph [0221], “the Patient name and Loop name each may comprise a hyperlink which, when selected, causes the application logic to display detailed information about the selected patient or Loop”, paragraph [0236], “Practitioners can use embodiments, to monitor acute conditions to know whether patients are improving or worsening, track patients with chronic conditions to verify management of disease, manage symptoms and side effects, and help with pre- and post-operative care”);
wherein the at least one navigation tab includes a follow-up management tab (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 11-14, 35, paragraphs [0076]-[0078], “numerous pre-defined Loop protocols are stored in a protocol library in a data repository, and healthcare providers may define new protocols at any time… Providers may view the status of a particular patient's progress with respect to any particular protocol in a consolidated view that is prioritized so that a provider may consider more rapid or particular action for a patient that is in an urgent situation… a Loop comprises a set of electronic protocols that inform a patient during follow-up… A Loop is commonly initiated following (but sometimes in advance of) a clinical encounter, and may be closed when the clinician and/or patient feel that the condition no longer needs to be tracked”, paragraphs [0102]-[0105], “button which when selected causes the application logic to generate a screen display… selecting a patient name causes the application logic to display a popup window that displays detailed information about the patient”, paragraph [0108], “selecting a patient Loop within the view of FIG. 1B causes the application logic to generate and provide a display”, paragraph [0125], “selecting either the Loop name associated with a particular patient, or a particular progress bar in column 112, causes the application logic to generate and provide a Loop Feed page”, paragraph [0143], “values for Diagnosis, comorbidities, and procedures are provided in panel 214”, paragraph [0221], “the Patient name and Loop name each may comprise a hyperlink which, when selected, causes the application logic to display detailed information about the selected patient or Loop”. The Examiner notes the patient loop tab, reads on a follow-up management tab, under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
in response to the first operation of the user, determining, by the first processor, the target navigation tab, and displaying, by the first display, the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 11-14, 35, paragraphs [0102]-[0105], “button which when selected causes the application logic to generate a screen display… selecting a patient name causes the application logic to display a popup window that displays detailed information about the patient”, paragraph [0125], “generate and provide a Loop Feed page”, paragraph [0143], “values for Diagnosis, comorbidities, and procedures are provided in panel 214”, paragraph [0148], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting an existing patient”, paragraph [0153], “Primary diagnosis codes and secondary diagnosis codes may be used, and zero or more comorbidities may be associated”, paragraph [0174], “the Loop Details comprise values for a Primary Diagnosis, Comorbidities, and Procedures as seen at 1404, and a table 1406 of the Components of the Loop”, paragraph [0163], “the Loop feed 1102 of FIG. 11 is a display, for a particular user associated with a healthcare provider, of all comments or other responses, such as check-ins, for a particular Loop of a particular patient that is associated with that particular healthcare provider”, paragraph [0221], “the Patient name and Loop name each may comprise a hyperlink which, when selected, causes the application logic to display detailed information about the selected patient or Loop”) include:
displaying, by the fist display, a follow-up [… tracker …] list in response to the first operation of the user on the follow-up management tab, the follow-up [… tracker …] list including at least one line of follow-up information, and each line of follow-up information including visit information of the patient, a follow-up time, follow-up content (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 11-14, 35, paragraph [0075], ‘patient demographics”, paragraph [0082], “a Loop is established with an End Date”, paragraphs [0106]-[0108], “Trackers may represent any of several metrics such as pain level, mood (124), appetite (126), blood pressure, weight, shortness of breath, biomarkers, or other indicators, signs, or symptoms associated with an upcoming visit or procedure, or associated with recovery or effectiveness in follow-up or pre-visit care.… selecting a patient Loop within the view of FIG. 1B causes the application logic to generate and provide a display”, paragraphs [0125]-[0126], “selecting either the Loop name associated with a particular patient, or a particular progress bar in column 112, causes the application logic to generate and provide a Loop Feed page… establish basic demographic information for users”, paragraph [0204], “instruct the patient to visit an emergency room or Primary Care Physician (PCP) clinic”, paragraph [0145], “Selecting a graphical tab or a link causes the application logic to display data in the area below the tabs that is associated with a particular selected tab or in a pop-up window or other convenient display… the Trackers tab 218 or link is selected, and the data within the tab or pop-up window displays values for existing Trackers that were previously entered and provides GUI widgets and data entry fields for adding a new Tracker… each Tracker is defined by a name, start date, end date, importance or weight value, and frequency, as summarized in a row 220”, paragraph [0235], “decrease unnecessary post-procedure, emergency room, and hospital admissions”. The Examiner notes the trackers are values for tasks of collection of data, and comprise information, time and content), and
at least one second medical information operation item, and the at least one second medical information operation item including a follow-up performance index item, and at least one of a follow-up comparison index item and a follow-up creation index item, wherein the follow-up performance index item is an index item for displaying a follow-up record form corresponding to follow-up content, and the follow-up record form enables the user to know a health condition of the patient through content of the follow-up record form when following up the patient (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 11-14, 35, paragraph [0108], “a default set of Trackers represent the template for a given Loop which may be customized by the user”, paragraph [0126], “receive input from templating unit 136 based on templates in the database 110 that define characteristics of pre-determined Loops. The templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates”, paragraph [0142], “A button 206 titled Choose a Loop Template optionally enables retrieving a Loop according to a template”, paragraph [0145], “adding a new Tracker comprises receiving user input for selecting a Tracker name using an automatically completed data entry field, entering a start date, entering an optional end date on which tracking should end, specifying an importance value, and optionally entering special directions as indicated by GUI widgets 222”, paragraph [0169], “the set of sub function buttons 1116 comprises links for selecting Loop Feed, Engagement, and Loop Details functions. Selecting any of the sub function buttons causes the application logic to generate and display an updated screen display corresponding to the selected function and to change state to process the selected function”, paragraphs [0172]-[0173], “In an embodiment, selecting the Engagement button causes the application logic to change state and display the engagement information screen as further described for FIG. 13… a particular engagement value, such as a percentage”, paragraphs [0237], “selecting a Save & Schedule Components button 4006 enables setting scheduling information and related data for particular components of a Loop”, paragraph [0259], “a historical comparison of past signs, symptoms, and other conditions”. The Examiner notes the various index items are not explicitly defined by Applicant’s specification, instead various labels are applied to various index items (i.e., an element on a user interface), and represents nonfunctional descriptive information that does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art; the label(s) applied to the data do not functionally affect the claim and the cited references teach the claimed functionality. The Examiner notes that “enables the user to know” is an intended use of the follow-up record form that is not required to occur. This feature has been fully considered by the Examiner; however, the limitation does not provide patentable distinction over the cited prior art because it is an intended use or result of the follow-up record form. The various user interface elements (i.e., buttons) that allow a user to enter engagement details (i.e., performance) and the ability to add new follow-up content forms (i.e., follow-up creation templates) or compare information (i.e., follow-up comparison) teach what is required of the claimed at least one second medical information operation item under the broadest reasonable interpretation); […]; and
the method further comprises: displaying, by the first display, the follow-up record form corresponding to follow-up content in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up performance index item (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 6, 11-16, 35, paragraph [0151], “in response to receiving input selecting the Choose a Loop Template button”, paragraph [0169], “the set of sub function buttons 1116 comprises links for selecting Loop Feed, Engagement, and Loop Details functions. Selecting any of the sub function buttons causes the application logic to generate and display an updated screen display corresponding to the selected function and to change state to process the selected function”, paragraph [0176], “a region 1508 of the display of FIG. 15 is titled My Trackers and has an associated button shown as Add New Tracker button 1514 which when selected causes the application logic to change state and display a screen configured to receive information about a new Tracker, as further described herein for FIG. 16, after which the new Tracker is added to a list in the My Trackers region 1508”): and
in response to an operation of saving content entered in the follow-up record form, changing, by the first processor, […], and changing, by the first processor, the follow-up performance index item to a third detail index item, wherein the third detail index item is an index item for instructing to view a follow-up record form corresponding to a follow-up task; wherein the follow-up content is the follow-up record form (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 6, 11-16, 35, paragraph [0076], “in response to receiving input indicating user selection of one of the response buttons or links, the application logic may update a weight value or set of weight values associated with the alert and use the weight value(s) to determine whether to send future alert messages that may be similar. Similar response buttons and weighting logic may be implemented”, paragraph [0108], “a default set of Trackers represent the template for a given Loop which may be customized by the user”, paragraph [0126], “receive input from templating unit 136 based on templates in the database 110 that define characteristics of pre-determined Loops. The templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates”, paragraph [0142], “A button 206 titled Choose a Loop Template optionally enables retrieving a Loop according to a template”, paragraphs [0237], “selecting a Save & Schedule Components button 4006 enables setting scheduling information and related data for particular components of a Loop”, paragraph [0240], “Selecting a Save button 4212 causes storing the specified values in the data repository and updating table 4206 of view (1)”. The Examiner notes the third detail index item is not explicitly defined by Applicant’s specification, instead a label is applied to an index item (i.e., an element on a user interface), and represents nonfunctional descriptive information that does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art; the label(s) applied to the data do not functionally affect the claim and the cited references teach the claimed functionality); and the method further comprises:
in response to an operation […], displaying, by the first display, […] a field display region and an editing region, the field display region including a plurality of fields, and the editing region being used to make the follow-up record form, wherein a follow-up record form to be made includes a plurality of target elements, and each target element is generated by using a field; and making, by the first processor, the follow-up record form in the editing region in response to an operation of making the follow-up record form (Shlain: Fig. 52, paragraph [0126], “Loop specifying unit 122 may receive input from templating unit 136 based on templates in the database 110 that define characteristics of pre-determined Loops. The templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates. Loop specifying unit 122 also may receive input from component specifying unit 124, which is operable to receive input defining particular components of Loops such as Trackers, Reminders, Confirmations, Medications, Care Instructions and the like. The components may be configurable and customizable using functions of unit 124 to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates”, paragraph [152], “After the automatic population of Components, a provider can modify the Components to delete one or more, add one or more, or modify the terms of a Component”, paragraphs [0194]-[0197], “a first region 2304, shown on the left side of FIG. 23… and a second region 2306, shown on the right side of FIG. 23”, paragraph [0217], “update request page that may be generated in response to a user selecting a hyperlink”, paragraph [0245], “Editing links 4710 are configured to enable editing”, paragraph [0250], “FIG. 52 illustrates an example screen display for receiving data to define a new Confirmation. In an embodiment, display 5202 comprises data entry fields”. The Examiner notes templates comprise various regions with fields and editable components which teaches what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation);
wherein the plurality of fields includes a plurality of frequently-used fields, and the plurality of frequently-used fields include at least one [… first type of …] frequently-used field and at least one [… second type of …] frequently-used field; the [… first type of …] frequently-used field is used as a target element in at least two follow-up record forms to be made, and the [… second type of …] frequently-used field is used as a target element in one follow-up record form to be made (Shlain: paragraph [0075], “specific to a diagnosis, disease, and/or procedure”, paragraph [0108], “a default set of Trackers represent the template for a given Loop which may be customized by the user”, paragraph [0126], “templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates… a diagnosis/procedure specifying unit is configured to enable a user to specify”, paragraph [0140], “fields for first name, last name, email address, and phone”, paragraph [0148], “a patient name in the Patient text entry field… patient name field”, paragraphs [0152]-[0153]], “template is for Congestive Heart Failure… a diagnosis of diabetes with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) as comorbidity may warrant a template with different Reminders or other Components than a template for diabetes with no comorbidities”, paragraph [0176], “a region 1508 of the display of FIG. 15 is titled My Trackers and has an associated button shown as Add New Tracker button 1514… a particular healthcare provider can develop a list of frequently used or referenced Trackers that can be associated with particular patient Loops using other functions”, paragraph [0185], “a particular healthcare provider 1104 can develop a list of frequently used or referenced Reminders that can be associated with particular patient Loops”, paragraph [0237], “a primary diagnosis 4004, comorbidities, procedures, and loop name are automatically loaded from the loop repository and populated into associated fields”. The Examiner interprets patient identifying information (i.e., first name) as a [… first type of …] frequently-used field and condition specific information as a [… second type of …] frequently-used field, the templates (i.e., follow-up record forms) to be made, which one of ordinary skill in the art would find prima facie obvious under the broadest reasonable interpretation teaches what is required of the claimed language).
Shlain may not explicitly teach (underlined below for clarity):
displaying a follow-up task list in response to the first operation of the user on the follow-up management tab, the follow-up task list including at least one line of follow-up information, and each line of follow-up information including visit information of the patient, a follow-up time, follow-up content,
in response to an operation of opening a scale making tool interface, displaying, by the first display, the scale making tool interface, the scale making tool interface including a field display region and an editing region, the field display region including a plurality of fields, and the editing region being used to make the follow-up record form, wherein a follow-up record form to be made includes a plurality of target elements, and each target element is generated by using a field; and making, by the first processor, the follow-up record form in the editing region in response to an operation of making the follow-up record form.
Churchwell teaches displaying a follow-up task list in response to the first operation of the user on the follow-up management tab, the follow-up task list including at least one line of follow-up information, and each line of follow-up information including visit information of the patient, a follow-up time, follow-up content (Churchwell: Figure 3, paragraph [0070], “the user device queries the server for a list of tasks in the user's task or to-do list stored on or by the system. The server returns the user's list of tasks to the user device and the user device displays the user's task list 410 in a Tasks interface such as the example Tasks interface 400 as generally shown in FIG. 3”),
in response to an operation of opening a scale making tool interface, displaying, by the first display, the scale making tool interface, the scale making tool interface including a field display region and an editing region, the field display region including a plurality of fields, and the editing region being used to make the follow-up record form, wherein a follow-up record form to be made includes a plurality of target elements, and each target element is generated by using a field; and making, by the first processor, the follow-up record form in the editing region in response to an operation of making the follow-up record form (Churchwell: paragraph [0017], “simply, quickly, and easily build and customize modular interfaces configured for accessing and input patient data at the point and time of patient care”, paragraphs [0042]-[0043], “provides tools to enable the user to configure how patient data is entered. Data capture fields with user-defined data dependencies are available for users to build custom workflows… a default or standard configuration that may be easily customized by a user to meet the specific needs of a user's medical specialty, work environment, individual workflow, and specialty patient data… provides customization tools for building custom interfaces, data reports, and filters”, paragraphs [0049]-[0050], “administrators and users will be able to redefine panes, windows, and interfaces to create customized access and input to the system”, paragraph [0077], “various designated fields”, paragraphs [0116]-[0118], “The user device displays an edit icon”, paragraph [0172], “display of a customized user interface”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to include using a task list and a tool for making an interface form as taught by Churchwell within the use of a tracker list as taught by Shlain with the motivation of “improved quality and productivity” (Churchwell: paragraph [0003]).
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive material of “displaying… the follow-up task list including…” as just displaying information such as a task list does not involve any functional use of the information (see MPEP 2111.05).]
Shlain and Churchwell may not explicitly teach (underlined below for clarity):
wherein each line of follow-up information further includes a follow-up state, and the follow-up state includes one of no follow-up and being completed: a follow-up state in a line of follow-up information is no follow-up; the method further comprises: displaying, by the first display, a follow-up record form corresponding to follow-up content in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up performance index item: and in response to an operation of saving content entered in the follow-up record form, changing, by the first processor, the follow-up state in the line of follow-up information from no follow-up to being completed, and changing. by the first processor, the follow-up performance index item to a third detail index item.
Pipke teaches wherein each line of follow-up information further includes a follow-up state, and the follow-up state includes one of no follow-up and being completed: a follow-up state in a line of follow-up information is no follow-up; the method further comprises: displaying, by the first display, a follow-up record form corresponding to follow-up content in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up performance index item: and in response to an operation of saving content entered in the follow-up record form, changing, by the first processor, the follow-up state in the line of follow-up information from no follow-up to being completed, and changing. by the first processor, the follow-up performance index item to a third detail index item (Pipke: Figures 1-2, 4, paragraph [0049], ‘The status of a follow-up can be open/pending, closed, or cancelled. When the clinician makes a scheduled contact with the patient to satisfy a follow-up, a new progress note 400 is created by the clinician, and associated with the prior follow-up by means of selecting an outstanding follow-up from the list of pending follow-ups for that patient from drop-down control 440. When this new progress note is saved, the status of the prior pending follow-up that was selected from drop down 440 is marked as closed. A previously scheduled follow-up can also be cancelled, either by opening the parent progress note and clicking the cancel button 445 associated with that follow-up, or by right-clicking on the follow-up listed in column 245 and selecting "cancel"”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to include using and updating a follow-up state as taught by Pipke within the tracking of follow-up content for various tasks list as taught by Shlain and Churchwell with the motivation of “the goals of reducing hospitalizations, reducing the cost of care, improving patient quality of life, and maximizing the number of patients that can be managed per health care worker” (Pipke: paragraph [0045]).
Shlain, Churchwell and Pipke may not explicitly teach (underlined below for clarity):
wherein the plurality of fields includes a plurality of frequently-used fields, and the plurality of frequently-used fields include at least one public frequently-used field and at least one private frequently-used field; the public frequently-used field is used as a target element in at least two follow-up record forms to be made, and the private frequently-used field is used as a target element in one follow-up record form to be made.
Abrahams teaches wherein the plurality of fields includes a plurality of frequently-used fields, and the plurality of frequently-used fields include at least one public frequently-used field and at least one private frequently-used field; the public frequently-used field is used as a target element in at least two follow-up record forms to be made, and the private frequently-used field is used as a target element in one follow-up record form to be made (Abrahams: paragraph [0034], “some fields are public, private (i.e., only accessible to the user) or restricted (i.e., accessible only to other members or a group of members specified by the user)”).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to use public/private fields as taught by Abrahams within the use of different type of fields as taught by Shlain, Churchwell and Pipke with the motivation of “improve workflow management for physicians and other healthcare professionals” (Abrahams: paragraph [0013]).
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 2, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 1, and further teach wherein the at least one navigation tab further includes a patient management tab (Shlain: Figures 1, 11-14, 35, paragraphs [0102]-[0105], “providing a consolidated view, for a healthcare provider, of patients that the provider is tracking… a table 102 of tracked patients in which each row 106 is associated with a patient and a particular Loop for that patient… selecting a patient name causes the application logic to display a popup window that displays detailed information about the patient”. The Examiner notes at least Figure 1b, has a patient management tab); and
in response to the first operation of the user, determining the target navigation tab, and displaying the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab further include: displaying at least a patient list in response to a first operation of the user on the patient management tab, the patient list including visit information of each patient of at least one patient and at least one medical operation index item corresponding to the patient (Shlain: Figures 1-3, 11-14, 35, paragraphs [0102]-[0105], “button which when selected causes the application logic to generate a screen display… selecting a patient name causes the application logic to display a popup window that displays detailed information about the patient”, paragraph [0148], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting an existing patient”, paragraph [0221], “the Patient name and Loop name each may comprise a hyperlink which, when selected, causes the application logic to display detailed information about the selected patient or Loop”, paragraph [0236], “Practitioners can use embodiments, to monitor acute conditions to know whether patients are improving or worsening, track patients with chronic conditions to verify management of disease, manage symptoms and side effects, and help with pre- and post-operative care”), and
the at least one medical operation index item including an index item for creating a treatment method of the disease of the patient (Shlain: Figures 9, 20, paragraphs [0021], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab”, paragraph [0033], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing entering a new medication”, paragraphs [0159]-[0160], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab 902… Selecting the New item causes the application logic to add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”. The Examiner notes medication is a treatment method under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive material of “displaying… the patient list including…” as just displaying information such as a patient list does not involve any functional use of the information (see MPEP 2111.05).]
Regarding (Original) claim 3, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 2, and further teach wherein the at least one medical operation index item includes a health prescription creation index item; and the method further comprises: displaying at least a health prescription text box in response to an operation of the user on a health prescription creation index item corresponding to a target patient, the health prescription text box being a blank box (Shlain: Figures 2, 9, 20, paragraphs [0021], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab”, paragraph [0033], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing entering a new medication”, paragraph [0151], “button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”, paragraphs [0159]-[0160], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab 902… Selecting the New item causes the application logic to add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”. The Examiner notes at least Figure 2, show a medications tab, which reads on what is required of a health prescription creation index item under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
presenting a medical regimen matched with a disease of the target patient in the health prescription text box in response to a second operation of the user, the medical regimen including at least one of a medication regimen, a diet regimen or an exercise regimen (Shlain: Figures 9, 20, 43, paragraphs [0187], “Name of Medication text data entry box 2008, a Form text entry field 2009 to indicate the format of the medication, a Dosage numeric entry box 2010, a units box 2012, optionally a route of administration box, and optionally a scheduled frequency of administration GUI widget that are configured to receive data values representing a name of a medication, a dosage, particular units for a medication, route of administration, and dosing frequency. A Save Medication button 2016 may be provided which when selected causes the application logic to save the Medication information in the database”, paragraph [0241], “receive a search or selection of a Loop Template … search for a stored Loop Template based upon a name, diagnosis, procedure, code or keyword”. The Examiner notes treatment regimens which could be medication, can be searched using a text box which teaches what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive material of “presenting… a medical regimen including…” as just displaying information such as a medical regimen does not involve any functional use of the information (see MPEP 2111.05).]
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 4, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 3, and further teach displaying an entry sub-tab (Shlain: Figure 6, paragraph [0151], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting a Template… in response to receiving input selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 as described above for FIG. 2… selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”; Churchwell: Figures 3-10. The Examiner notes the various figures teach display of sub-tabs); wherein presenting the medical regimen matched with the disease of the target patient in the health prescription text box in response to the second operation of the user includes:
presenting a first classification list in response to an operation of the user on the entry subtab, the first classification list including a plurality of first-level items and at least one disease type included in each first-level item, and the plurality of first-level items including a medication regimen item, a diet regimen item, and an exercise regimen item; in response to an operation of the user on a disease type corresponding to the disease of the target patient in a first-level item in the first classification list, presenting at least one entry text template corresponding to the disease type in the first-level item; and in response to an operation of the user on an entry text template, presenting content of the entry text template in the health prescription text box; or
the method further comprises: displaying a health prescription template sub-tab (Shlain: Figure 20, paragraph [0160], “the Medications tab 902… add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”, paragraph [0187], “A Save Medication button 2016 may be provided which when selected causes the application logic to save the Medication information in the database and return to a prior state”; Churchwell: Figures 3-10, paragraph [0100]. The Examiner notes the various tabs for use of prescription templates teach what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation);
wherein presenting the medical regimen matched with the disease of the target patient in the health prescription text box in response to the second operation of the user includes: presenting a second classification list in response to an operation of the user on the health prescription template sub-tab, the second classification list including at least one disease type; in response to an operation of the user on the disease type corresponding to the disease of the target patient in the second classification list, presenting at least one medical regimen template corresponding to the disease type; and in response to an operation of the user on a medical regimen template, presenting at least part of content of the medical regimen template in the health prescription text box (Shlain: Figures 20, 37-38, paragraph [0228], “FIG. 37 illustrates adding a Trackable to a Treatment… FIG. 38 comprises a pull-down menu 3702 that is accessible from a GUI widget titled Track. The menu 3702 lists a plurality of predefined Trackables. Selecting an item from the menu 3702 and selecting an Add button 3704 causes storing an instance of the selected Trackable with the current Treatment”; Churchwell: paragraph [0105]); or
the method further comprises: displaying a historical prescription sub-tab; wherein presenting the medical regimen matched with the disease of the target patient in the health prescription text box in response to the second operation of the user includes: presenting a historical prescription list associated with the disease of the target patient in response to an operation of the user on the historical prescription sub-tab; presenting content of a historical prescription in the historical prescription list in response to an operation of the user on the historical prescription list; and presenting the content of the historical prescription in the health prescription text box in response to an operation of the user on the historical prescription (Churchwell; Figures 9-10, 12, paragraph [0027], “FIG. 9 is an example Prescription History interface for the Medications interface”); or
the method further comprises: displaying an item of saving as a template, the item of saving as a template being configured to save the medical regimen presented in the health prescription text box as a new medical regimen template (Shlain: Figure 1, paragraph [0126], “receive input from templating unit 136 based on templates in the database 110 that define characteristics… The templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates… creates new templates”, paragraph [0214], “a practitioner may create a new treatment Loop by selecting a template from among a library of templates. An example library of Loops might specify acute templates or chronic templates”, paragraph [0250], “A Save Confirmation button 5214 causes the application logic to save the Confirmation data”. Shlain teaches a save template button, which teaches what is required of the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive material of “presenting… the first classification list including… the second classification list including…” as just displaying information such as a classification list does not involve any functional use of the information (see MPEP 2111.05).]
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 10, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 2, and further teach wherein the at least one medical operation index item includes a follow-up creation index item (Shlain: Figure 15, 20, 31, 37, paragraph [0176], “a region 1508 of the display of FIG. 15 is titled My Trackers and has an associated button shown as Add New Tracker button 1514 which when selected causes the application logic to change state and display a screen configured to receive information about a new Tracker”, paragraph [0213], “FIG. 31 illustrates an example graphical user interface of an embodiment that is generated by application logic for creating a new treatment Loop. As seen in FIG. 31, a treatment Loop is associated with a particular Patient and Condition. Optionally, the Loop may specify a related procedure, and one or more Medicines. Each Medicine associated with the Loop is identified by name, quantity, method of administration, periodicity, and duration”, paragraph [0282], “wherein the period is a follow-up period of care”. The Examiner notes adding a medication for follow-up teaches what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
the method further comprises: determining a follow-up task matched with a disease type corresponding to a disease of a target patient in response to an operation of the user on a follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient and a third operation of the user, the follow-up task including follow-up content matched with the disease of the target patient and a follow-up time corresponding to the follow-up content (Shlain: Figures 6, 37, 40, 44, paragraph [0050], “FIG. 37 illustrates adding a Trackable or Tracker to a Treatment”, paragraph [0151], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting a Template… in response to receiving input selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 as described above for FIG. 2… selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”, paragraph [0168], “summary region 1114 comprises a display of basic information about the current Loop such as the Loop name, patient name and phone number, status of the Loop, Start Date and End Date of the Loop, and optionally one or more graphs”, paragraph [0237], “a pop-up menu may be displayed (FIG. 43) from which the user may select a particular Loop Template. In response, a primary diagnosis 4004, comorbidities, procedures, and loop name are automatically loaded from the loop repository and populated into associated fields”; Churchwell: Figure 7, paragraph [0070], “the user device queries the server for a list of tasks in the user's task or to-do list stored on or by the system. The server returns the user's list of tasks to the user device and the user device displays the user's task list 410 in a Tasks interface such as the example Tasks interface 400 as generally shown in FIG. 3”. A disease is searched as seen in figure 6).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 23, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 10, and further teach displaying at least one follow-up task template (Shlain: Figure 20, paragraph [0126], “receive input from templating unit 136 based on templates in the database 110 that define characteristics… The templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates… creates new templates”, paragraph [0160], “the Medications tab 902… add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”, paragraph [0214], “a practitioner may create a new treatment Loop by selecting a template from among a library of templates”); wherein determining the follow-up task matched with the disease type in response to the operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient and the third operation of the user includes:
in response to the operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient and an operation of the user on a follow-up task template, determining the follow-up task template as the follow-up task matched with the disease type (Shlain: Figures 6, 37, 40, 44, paragraph [0050], “FIG. 37 illustrates adding a Trackable or Tracker to a Treatment”, paragraph [0151], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting a Template… in response to receiving input selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 as described above for FIG. 2… selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”, paragraph [0237], “a pop-up menu may be displayed (FIG. 43) from which the user may select a particular Loop Template. In response, a primary diagnosis 4004, comorbidities, procedures, and loop name are automatically loaded from the loop repository and populated into associated fields”; Churchwell: Figure 7, paragraph [0070], “the user device queries the server for a list of tasks in the user's task or to-do list stored on or by the system. The server returns the user's list of tasks to the user device and the user device displays the user's task list 410 in a Tasks interface such as the example Tasks interface 400 as generally shown in FIG. 3”); or
the method further comprises: displaying at least one preset time option and a follow-up content selector corresponding to each preset time option; wherein determining the follow-up task matched with the disease type in response to the operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient and the third operation of the user includes: in response to the operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient, selection of the user of a preset time option, and selection of the user of a follow-up content selector corresponding to the preset time option, determining follow-up content in the selected follow-up content selector and a follow-up time in the preset time option as the follow-up task matched with the disease type; or
the method further comprises: displaying a time selector and a follow-up content selector corresponding to the time selector; wherein determining the follow-up task matched with the disease type in response to the operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient and the third operation of the user includes: in response to the operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item corresponding to the target patient, selection of the user of the time selector, and the follow-up content selector corresponding to the time selector, determining follow-up content in the selected follow-up content selector and a follow-up time in the time selector as the follow-up task matched with the disease type (Shlain: Figures 6, 37, 40-41, 44, paragraph [0168], “summary region 1114 comprises a display of basic information about the current Loop such as the Loop name, patient name and phone number, status of the Loop, Start Date and End Date of the Loop, and optionally one or more graphs”, paragraph [0237], “selecting a Save & Schedule Components button 4006 enables setting scheduling information and related data for particular components of a Loop”: Churchwell: Figure 7, paragraph [0099]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 29, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 10, and further teach displaying a disease type selector; and determining the disease type corresponding to the disease of the target patient in response to an operation of the user on the disease type selector; or
the method further comprises: displaying a follow-up person selector; and associating a follow-up person with the follow-up task in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up person selector (Shlain: Figures 2, 4-5, 20, paragraph [0139], “FIG. 2 comprises user/manager identifying widgets 204 comprising a doctor selection widget”, paragraph [0148]-[0150], “The application logic may generate the display of FIG. 5 in response to receiving input selecting an Add Caregiver link or a similar button. In an embodiment, selecting the link causes the application logic to display a pop-up window 502 configured to receive values for fields 504 that define a caregiver”, paragraphs [0185]-[0186], “the new Reminder is added to a My Reminders list of reminders for the current provider 1104. In this manner, a particular healthcare provider 1104… can be associated with particular patient Loops using other functions… FIG. 20A illustrates an example screen display for a computer graphical user for a provider interface showing entering a new reminder”).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 31, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 2, and further teach displaying a card registration and creation index item (Shlain: Figures 1-4, paragraph [0103], “FIG. 1B comprises a New Patient button which when selected causes the application logic to generate a screen display configured for accepting information about a new patient to be tracked”, paragraphs [0148]-[0149], “select a New link 304 at the end of the list. In response to selecting the New link 304, the application logic causes displaying a new patient dialog as further described for FIG. 4”; Churchwell: paragraph [0132], “interface which enables the physician to add a new patient”. The Examiner notes that new user registration that is taught in both Shlain and Churchwell, and reads on what is required of a card registration and creation index under the broadest reasonable interpretation);
displaying at least basic information blank text boxes and a diagnosis information blank text box in response to an operation of the user on the card registration and creation index item, the basic information blank text boxes being configured to present basic information of a new patient, and the diagnosis information blank text box being configured to present diagnosis information of the new patient; and in response to an operation of the user of saving information presented in the basic information blank text boxes and the diagnosis information blank text box, adding part of the information presented in the basic information blank text boxes and the diagnosis information blank text box as visit information into the patient list (Shlain: Figures 1-4, paragraph [0126], “a diagnosis/procedure specifying unit is configured to enable a user to specify diagnostic code(s) including co-morbidity codes such as ICD9/10, as well as CPT codes for procedures”, paragraphs [0139]-[0140], “areas 208, 210, 212 for entering or displaying data defining a Loop name, start date, end date, diagnoses and procedures… the user may enroll a new patient using a pop-up data entry window comprising fields for first name, last name, email address, and phone”, paragraphs [0148]-[0149], “select a New link 304 at the end of the list. In response to selecting the New link 304, the application logic causes displaying a new patient dialog as further described for FIG. 4… a pop-up data entry window 402 entitled New Patient, which is configured for the application logic to receive data entry values 404 including First Name, Last Name, Email address, Phone, Date of Birth, and Gender… Selecting an Add Patient button 406 in the pop-up data entry window 402 causes the application logic to add the specified patient to the database”).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 32, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 1, and further teach wherein the at least one navigation tab further includes a health prescription management tab (Shlain: Figures 2, 9, 20, paragraphs [0021], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab”, paragraph [0033], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing entering a new medication”, paragraph [0151], “button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”, paragraphs [0159]-[0160], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab 902… Selecting the New item causes the application logic to add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”. The Examiner notes at least Figure 2, show a medications tab, which reads on what is required of a health prescription management tab under the broadest reasonable interpretation);
in response to the first operation of the user, determining the target navigation tab, and displaying the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab further include: displaying a health prescription list in response to a first operation of the user on the health prescription management tab, the health prescription list including at least one line of prescription information, each line of prescription information including visit information of a patient and at least one first medical information operation item, and the at least one first medical information operation item including a second detail index item (Shlain: Figures 9, 20, 43, paragraph [0021], “FIG. 9 illustrates an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab”, paragraphs [0159], “the Medications tab 902 is configured in the application logic to cause displaying a table 904 in the tab showing existing Medications reminders or messaging configurations that are associated with the current Loop… a Medication 906 is defined by a medication name 908, a Start Date 910, End Date 912, Frequency 914, and dosing values 916”. The Examiner notes Figure 9, at least show prescription management information with patient visit information, operational items and an index button, and teaches what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
the method further comprises: displaying a health prescription text box in response to an operation of the user on the second detail index item, a medical regimen corresponding to the line of prescription information being presented in the health prescription text box, and the medical regimen including at least one of a medication regimen, a diet regimen or an exercise regimen (Shlain: Figures 9, 20, 43, paragraph [0160], “Selecting the New item causes the application logic to add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”, paragraphs [0187], “Name of Medication text data entry box 2008, a Form text entry field 2009 to indicate the format of the medication, a Dosage numeric entry box 2010, a units box 2012, optionally a route of administration box, and optionally a scheduled frequency of administration GUI widget that are configured to receive data values representing a name of a medication, a dosage, particular units for a medication, route of administration, and dosing frequency. A Save Medication button 2016 may be provided which when selected causes the application logic to save the Medication information in the database”. This is a medication regimen under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive material of “displaying… the health prescription list including… medical regimen including” as just displaying information such as a prescription list or medical regimen does not involve any functional use of the information (see MPEP 2111.05).]
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 33, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 32, and further teach wherein each line of prescription information further includes state information, and the state information includes one of being valid, being deactivated, or being invalid (Shlain: Figure 35, paragraph [0218], “the view of FIG. 35 comprises function links titled All, Expired, None, which when selected cause generating and displaying an updated display of data and displays only for all managed users, or for expired Loops, or for which no responses have been received, or based on other filtering criteria”; Churchwell: Figure 9. The examiner notes filtering based off the displayed information reads on displaying state information under the broadest reasonable interpretation);
state information in a line of prescription information is being valid, and at least one first medical information operation item in the line of prescription information further includes a deactivation item and an invalidation item; and the method further comprises: in response to an operation of the user on the deactivation item or the invalidation item, changing the state information in the line of prescription information from being valid to being deactivated or being invalid, and hiding the deactivation item and the invalidation item (Shlain: Figures 2, 9, paragraph [0149], “Selecting a [X] icon adjacent to one of the fields signals the application logic to remove the corresponding value from the Loop”. The Examiner notes the various edit, and remove buttons shown in the various figures read on what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 34, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 32, and further teach displaying a new health prescription creation index item (Shlain: Figures 2, 9, 20, paragraphs [0021], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab”, paragraph [0033], “an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing entering a new medication”, paragraph [0151], “button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”, paragraphs [0159]-[0160], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing elements of a Medications tab 902… Selecting the New item causes the application logic to add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”. The Examiner notes at least Figure 2, show a medications tab, which reads on what is required of a health prescription creation index item under the broadest reasonable interpretation);
displaying a patient search box and a health prescription text box in response to an operation of the user on the new health prescription creation index item, the health prescription text box being a blank box; in response to an operation of querying information entered in the patient search box, determining a target patient, and displaying visit information of the target patient (Shlain: Figure 2, 11, paragraphs [0139]-[0140], “the display 202 of FIG. 2 comprises user/manager identifying widgets 204 comprising a doctor selection widget, a patient name search box… A user can add a patient to a Loop by searching for an existing patient in the patient name search box of widgets 204”, paragraph [0148], “entering characters causes the application logic to search for matching names in the database and display matches in a display box 204A adjacent to the patient name field. The user may select an existing name”, paragraph [0163], “the Loop feed 1102 of FIG. 11 is a display, for a particular user associated with a healthcare provider”. Target patient visit information is displayed as seen in at least figure 11);
presenting a medical regimen matched with a disease of the target patient in the health prescription text box in response to a second operation of the user; and in response to an operation of the user of saving the medical regimen, adding the visit information of the target patient as part of information in a new line of prescription information into the health prescription list, and associating the medical regimen of the target patient in a second detail index item in the new line of prescription information (Shlain: Figures 9, 20, 43, paragraph [151], “display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name, for an existing Loop template. For example, a user typing characters or a word in the text entry box 604 of the pop-up window 602 causes the application logic to search the database and display a list of existing Loop templates that contain the characters or word, and a user may select one of the specified Loop templates by clicking on its name 608 and selecting a Select Template button 610”, paragraphs [0187], “Name of Medication text data entry box 2008, a Form text entry field 2009 to indicate the format of the medication, a Dosage numeric entry box 2010, a units box 2012, optionally a route of administration box, and optionally a scheduled frequency of administration GUI widget that are configured to receive data values representing a name of a medication, a dosage, particular units for a medication, route of administration, and dosing frequency. A Save Medication button 2016 may be provided which when selected causes the application logic to save the Medication information in the database”, paragraph [0241], “receive a search or selection of a Loop Template … search for a stored Loop Template based upon a name, diagnosis, procedure, code or keyword”. The Examiner both a patient name and patient treatment box respectfully are displayed when a user goes to create a new prescription for a user and teaches what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Currently Amended) claim 37, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 1, and further teach
wherein the at least one second medical information operation item includes a follow-up comparison index item; and the method further comprises: in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up comparison index item, acquiring and displaying comparison results of at least two follow-up contents matched with a same disease corresponding to a patient in the line of follow-up information (Shlain: paragraph [0136], “the structured data items are displayed in comparison to comparative healthcare information based upon protocols that define communications and tracking changes in specified healthcare conditions or procedures. As examples, block 168 may involve determining one or more graphs of comparisons between trends reflected in actual responses for tracked metrics and expected paths of recovery from or preparation for a healthcare encounter such as a procedure or visit”); or
the at least one second medical information operation item includes a follow-up creation index item (Shlain: Figure 20, paragraph [0126], “receive input from templating unit 136 based on templates in the database 110 that define characteristics… The templates may be configurable and customizable to enable receiving user data that adapts existing templates or creates new templates… creates new templates”, paragraph [0160], “the Medications tab 902… add a new row 920 to the medications table in the tab and concurrently to display a pop-up data entry window for receiving values to define a new Medication”, paragraph [0214], “a practitioner may create a new treatment Loop by selecting a template from among a library of templates”); and
the method further comprises: determining a new follow-up task matched with a disease type corresponding to a disease of a target patient in response to an operation of the user on the follow-up creation index item and a third operation of the user, the new follow-up task including follow-up content matched with the disease of the patient and a follow-up time corresponding to the follow-up content; and adding the new follow-up task into the follow-up task list in response to an operation of the user of saving the new follow-up task (Shlain: Figures 6, 37, 40, 44, paragraph [0050], “FIG. 37 illustrates adding a Trackable or Tracker to a Treatment”, paragraph [0151], “a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing selecting a Template… in response to receiving input selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 as described above for FIG. 2… selecting the Choose a Loop Template button 206 causes the application logic to display a pop-up data entry window 602 configured to receive a text entry in box 604 representing a name, or keyword within a name”, paragraph [0237], “a pop-up menu may be displayed (FIG. 43) from which the user may select a particular Loop Template. In response, a primary diagnosis 4004, comorbidities, procedures, and loop name are automatically loaded from the loop repository and populated into associated fields”; Churchwell: Figure 7, paragraph [0070], “the user device queries the server for a list of tasks in the user's task or to-do list stored on or by the system. The server returns the user's list of tasks to the user device and the user device displays the user's task list 410 in a Tasks interface such as the example Tasks interface 400 as generally shown in FIG. 3”).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 43, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 1, and further teach wherein the at least one navigation tab further includes a disease assessment tab; and in response to the first operation of the user, determining the target navigation tab, and displaying the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab further include: displaying a disease assessment information text box in response to an operation of the user on the disease assessment tab; and displaying a disease assessment report corresponding to disease assessment information in response to an operation of saving information entered in the disease assessment information text box; or
the at least one navigation tab further includes a smart question and answer tab; and in response to the first operation of the user, determining the target navigation tab, and displaying the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab further include: displaying a question search box in response to an operation of the user on the smart question and answer tab; and in response to an operation of querying a question entered in the question search box, displaying at least one answer associated with the question (Shlain: Figures 16-18, 22, paragraph [0181], “includes an additional multiple choice question 1700 in the lower part of the display. Each question 1700 of this type comprises a Question text box 1702 and at least two Choice text boxes 1704, each of which is configured to receive text data entry from the provider defining the question and responsive choices”, paragraph [0191], “The particular questions, data entry boxes, and file uploading regions at 2206 are dynamically generated and are variable for each patient;”. The Examiner notes as seen in the figures a user can both create a question with answers or have a patient respond to questions with answers, in both cases the claim is taught under the broadest reasonable interpretation); or
the at least one navigation tab further includes a consultation tab; and in response to the first operation of the user, determining the target navigation tab, and displaying the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab further include: displaying a consultation list in response to an operation of the user on the consultation tab, the consultation list including at least one line of consultation information from a server, and each line of consultation information including visit information of a patient, a question summary, a consultation type, and a fourth detail index item; and displaying at least a consultation question corresponding to the line of consultation information in response to an operation of the user on the fourth detail index item (Churchwell: paragraph [0196], “the system enables the patient to enter a list of questions, treatments, or issues they wish to discuss during the patient encounter with the healthcare provider”); or
the at least one navigation tab further includes a statistical tab; and in response to the first operation of the user, determining the target navigation tab, and displaying the management information of the disease of the patient matched with the target navigation tab further include: displaying statistical information in response to an operation of the user on the statistical tab, the statistical information being information obtained by performing classified statistics on the patient and the management information of the disease of the patient (Shlain: Figures 1-2, 11-14, paragraph [0024], “FIG. 12 illustrates an example screen display for a computer graphical user interface for a provider showing a Loop Feed with graphs”, paragraph [0108], “the Tracker display comprises one or more graphical representations 124, 126, termed Trackers, of historic performance of the patient with respect to a tracked metric… A Tracker may comprise a line graph, bar graph, or other illustration”, paragraph [0079], “algorithms involving alert thresholds for trends, slopes, or durations of Trackers”, paragraph [0112], “the trend predicted by the analytics engine”. The Examiner notes selection of a tracker tab opens statistics for various classifications via use of a threshold and teaches what is required under the broadest reasonable interpretations).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
[No Patentable Weight is given to non-functional descriptive material of “displaying… the consultation list including…” as just displaying information such as a consultation list does not involve any functional use of the information (see MPEP 2111.05).]
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 69, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 1, and further teach a computer equipment, comprising a memory and a processor, the memory storing computer program instructions that, when executed on the processor, cause the processor to implement the medical information processing method according to claim 1 (Shlain: Figure 28, paragraph [0261], “computing devices… may include one or more general purpose hardware processors programmed to perform the techniques pursuant to program instructions in firmware, memory, other storage, or a combination”. Also see, claim 1, incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Regarding (Previously Presented) claim 70, Shlain, Churchwell, Pipke and Abrahams teach the limitations of claim 1, and further teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer program instructions that, when executed on a processor, cause the processor to perform one or more steps in the medical information processing method according to claim 1 (Shlain: Figure 28, paragraph [0263], “Computer system 2800… non-transitory storage media accessible to processor 2804, render computer system 2800 into a special-purpose machine that is customized to perform the operations specified in the instructions”. Also see, claim 1, incorporated herein).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 1, incorporated herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's arguments will be addressed below in the order in which they appear in the response filed on 07 July 2026.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34, 37, 43 and 69-70, the Examiner has considered the Applicant’s arguments but does not find them persuasive. The Examiner has attempted to address all of the arguments presented by the Applicant; however, any arguments inadvertently not addressed are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully submits that any such alleged abstract idea "is integrated into a practical application of that exception" rendering it patent eligible. Specifically, claim 1 has been amended and now recites… Based on this, first, Applicant respectfully submits that the amended claims now define the specific methods for making a follow-up record form, rather than disclosing them in a highly generic manner. The plurality of frequently-used fields are divided into at least one public frequently-used field and at least one private frequently-used field according to the scope of use, which facilitates the management of the plurality of frequently-used fields. It also helps the first user to quickly select a required frequently-used fields from the corresponding public frequently-used fields and the private frequently-used fields when creating a form, so as to set the frequently-used fields in the editing region to generate the target element. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully submits that humans cannot perform the aforementioned steps… Second, Applicant respectfully submits that this step also improve the efficiency of a medical information processing apparatus in making a follow-up record form, rather than merely serving as a tool for carrying out existing processes… the claimed subject matter relates to an improvement in a medical information processing method applied to a medical information processing apparatus.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is respectfully submitted, that the claimed additional elements do not recite a technical solution to a technical problem recited in Applicant’s specification. In particular, the labels used to describe a field are not an additional element, and only the additional elements are capable of providing a practical application and/or significantly more. Furthermore, the argued improvements to “help[ing] the first user to quickly select” are not technical problems rooted in computer hardware technology, the claims are at best are directed toward a human activity problems of manual entry and organization of medical data for a human user’s workflow, which may improve upon the abstract idea, nevertheless an improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea. Finally, Applicant argues improvements to the efficiency of a system, however at best this is merely application of the abstract idea on generic computer components which are not particular, they are generic off-the shelf hardware (see Applicant’s Specification paragraphs [0073]), and which as stated in 2106.05(f)(2) “claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer” does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept. Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA). Therefore, as the claimed additional elements amount to generic well-understood, routine and conventional user interface elements being applied to a manual human activity problem without providing a technical solution to a technical problem recited in Applicant’s specification the argument is not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Regarding the rejection of claims 1-4, 10, 23, 29, 31-34, 37, 43 and 69-70, the Examiner has considered the Applicant's arguments but does not find them persuasive. The Examiner has attempted to address all of the arguments presented by the Applicant; however, any arguments inadvertently not addressed are not persuasive for at least the following reasons:
Applicant argues:
Applicant deems that Shlain, Churchwell and Pipke fail to disclose or suggest distinguishing technical features of amended claim l… as for Shlain and Pipke, Shlain and Pipke do not disclose use the plurality of fields in the field display region to create a follow-up record form in the editing region of the opened scale making tool interface… Churchwell discloses that administrators and users can be able to redefine panes, windows, and interfaces, and selecting the edit icon will display a series of fields, allowing doctors to enter various allergy related data. However, redefine panes, windows, and interfaces refers to rearranging the layout within them and adjusting the layout of existing interfaces, rather than creating an entirely new form by selecting a subset of fields from a series of fields. It can be seen that panes, windows, and interfaces in Churchwell cannot be equivalent to the follow-up record form created in the present application… Based on this, Shlain discloses the contents included in a new treatment Loop created. However, Shlain does not disclose the number of fields in a particular area of the graphical user interface or the types of those fields… Pipke only discloses a new progress note 400 (which is approximately equivalent to the follow-up record form of amended claim 1 in the present application) includes multiple fields of data. However, Pipke does not disclose or involve the types of fields. That is, Pipke does not disclose or involve the series of fields included both public and private frequently-used field… It can be seen that Shlain, Churchwell and Pipke do not disclose or suggest the above distinguishing technical features of amended claim 1, nor achieve the beneficial effect achieved by amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is respectfully submitted, that the argued limitation is taught by the combination of newly added Abrahams within the teachings of Shlain, Churchwell and Pipke. In particular, Shlain teaches a plurality of frequently-used fields (see above but at least paragraph [0176]) and further uses these frequently used fields to customize follow-up record forms (see above but at least paragraph [0126]). Furthermore, Shlain teaches a name field (i.e., a first type of frequently-used field) and diagnosis specific fields (a second type of frequently-used fields), and uses these fields as targets in follow-up records to be made, in combination with newly applied Abrahams explicitly showing public/private fields see above but at least paragraph [0034], one of ordinary skill in the art would find it prima facie obvious to combine with the motivation of “improve workflow management for physicians and other healthcare professionals” Abrahams paragraph [0013]. Finally, the scale making tool as argued, is not explicitly defined in Applicant’s specification and amounts to a label applied to portions of a user interface and represents nonfunctional descriptive information that does not distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art; the labels applied to the data do not functionally affect the claim and the cited references teach the claimed functionality. Therefore, it is the combination of Churchwell and Pipke within the teachings of Shlain which teaches the argued limitation with the motivation of “improved quality and productivity” (Churchwell: paragraph [0003]).
In addition, the Examiner respectfully notes that the cited reference was never applied as a reference under 35 U.S.C. 102 against the pending claims. As such, the Examiner respectfully submits that the issue at hand is not whether the applied prior art specifically teaches the claimed features, per se, but rather, whether or not the prior art, when taken in combination with the knowledge of average skill in the art, would put the artisan in possession of these features. Regarding this issue, it is well established that references are evaluated by what they suggest to one versed in the art, rather than by their specific disclosures, In re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545 (CCPA 1969). The issue of obviousness is not determined by what the references expressly state but by what they would reasonably suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art, as supported by decisions in In re DeLisle 406 Fed 1326, 160 USPQ 806; In re Kell, Terry and Davies 208 USPQ 871; and In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 1074, 5 USPQ 2d 1596, 1598 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (citing In re Lalu, 747 F.2d 703, 705, 223 USPQ 1257, 1258 (Fed. Cir. 1988)). Further, it was determined in In re Lamberti et al, 192 USPQ 278 (CCPA) that:
(i) obviousness does not require absolute predictability;
(ii) non-preferred embodiments of prior art must also be considered; and
(iii) the question is not express teaching of references, but what they would suggest.
According to In re Jacoby, 135 USPQ 317 (CCPA 1962), the skilled artisan is presumed to know something more about the art than only what is disclosed in the applied references. In In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1977), every reference relies to some extent on knowledge of persons skilled in the art to complement that which is disclosed therein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3684
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684