Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 14, 17, 23, 24, and 26-31 are currently pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections previously applied in view of Brown have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Brown.
In regards to amended claim 14, Applicant argues that Canfield cannot be used to cure the deficiencies of a base reference because “Canfield does not disclose or teach the amended arrangement in which each connecting rod has a distal end directly rotatably connected to the supporting element by a first spherical or semi-spherical joint” (page 7, arguments). Examiner kindly points out that Canfield is relied upon below in order to teach the subject matter directed towards the claimed crank system and connecting rod opposite end connected to a crank, not the distal end directly and rotatably connected to the supporting element. Please see at least spherical joints (28) comprising balls (30) within the newly provided reference of Ballantyne below.
Please see the updated grounds of rejection provided below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
at least three handling means (…) configured for handling the supporting element to which they are connected in order to arrange the supported card with an inclination useful for its treatment in claims 14 and 27. Examiner is relying upon handling means 3, 23 (page 6, lines 16-25) for sufficient structure for performing the claimed functions.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, please amend “connect to a rank” to read “connected to a crank”.
In claim 27, please amend “each of the first end is rotatably…” to read “first ends”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 has been amended to recite “wherein each second spherical or semi-spherical joint is a ball-type joint via a second spherical joint or a second semi-spherical joint”. It is unclear what is being imparted by the recitation, as a second spherical joint or a second semi-spherical joint has previously established antecedent basis, i.e. there may be an erroneous duplication within the claim. For the purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted so as to provide an ‘or’ statement, as a ball-type joint is spherical and thus lack of the optional ‘or’ would impart a contradiction between a ball-type joint and a semi-spherical joint.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 and 26-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ballantyne (US 5,740,699).
Regarding claim 24, Ballantyne discloses a device for positioning a card within a printer (wherein Examiner acknowledges the intended use of the device with a card, wherein the prior art is designed as a plate 14 which is capable of supporting and retaining an element; furthermore, claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69), the device comprising:
a basic structure (12, Figure 1);
a support element (14) defining a bearing plane (see Figure 1 regarding the surface of element 14) and configured to receive and secure a card at a desired focal distance relative to a laser source of the printer (see Figure 1; see also Col. 2, lines 19-27; wherein Col. 3, lines 51-57 disclose that the device is usable in other tool environments; wherein in the context of the claimed invention, the support element comprises a bearing plane configured for receiving and retaining a workpiece, wherein the plate 14 comprises a bearing plane on which a workpiece can be placed and retained, i.e. the claim does not positively recite a physical retaining structure aside from a bearing plane, and thus Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention under broadest reasonable interpretation; see also Examiner’s explanation of intended use in the Abstract above); and
a plurality of linear actuators each extending between a first end and a second end (see Figure 1 regarding actuators 16a, 16b, and 16c, as well as extendible means 32, each having a first and second end),
the first end of at least a portion of the plurality of linear actuators being rotatably coupled to the support element via a spherical or a semi-spherical joint (see spherical joints 28 comprising balls 30, Figure 1, see also Col. 2, lines 34-39),
at least one linear actuator of the plurality of linear actuators being rotatably coupled to the basic structure at the second end (see u-joints 26 which rotatably couple the actuators 16a, 16b, and 16c to the base 12; see Col. 2, lines 60-67), and
at least one other linear actuator (32) of the plurality of linear actuators having the second end directly fastened to the basic structure (12) without a rotational joint such that the other linear actuator is constrained to only linear movement relative to the basic structure (wherein tube 34 of element 32 extends rigidly from base 12 along axis C; see Col. 2, lines 35-43 and Col. 3, lines 1-8),
wherein the plurality of linear actuators are configured to vertically and rotatably position the support element (14) at a desired incline and distance with respect to the laser source within the printer (see Col. 2, lines 19-67 and positions 14-1, 14-2, 14-3, 14-4 in Figure 2; wherein Examiner also recognizes the intended use of the claimed invention within the context of a printer having a laser, however, the claimed invention is drawn towards an apparatus, not the combination of the apparatus and a printer having a laser, and thus the printer and laser source are not a part of the claimed invention; wherein the prior art meets the functional limitations required, please see the above citations regarding the movement of plate 14).
Regarding claim 26, Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ballantyne further discloses wherein the at least one linear actuator that is rotatably coupled to the basic structure at the second end is rotatably coupled to the basic structure via an electric motor coupled to the basic structure and a connector coupling the linear actuator and the electric motor (wherein each actuator 16a, 16b, 16b is rotatably coupled to the base 12 via motor 22 which is coupled to the base 12, see Figure 1, and wherein there is a motor 22 connected to ball screw 24, see Col. 2, lines 19-34).
Regarding claim 27, Ballantyne discloses card positioning device for use inside a printer (wherein Examiner acknowledges the intended use of the device with a card, wherein the prior art is designed as a plate 14 which is capable of supporting and retaining an element; furthermore, claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69)), the card positioning device comprising:
a supporting element (14) comprising a bearing plane (see Figure 1 regarding the surface of element 14) and configured for receiving a card from an external supplying means and for retaining the card on the bearing plane for handling (see Figure 1; see also Col. 2, lines 19-27; wherein Col. 3, lines 51-57 disclose that the device is usable in other tool environments; wherein in the context of the claimed invention, the support element comprises a bearing plane configured for receiving and retaining a workpiece, wherein the plate 14 comprises a bearing plane on which a workpiece can be placed and retained, i.e. the claim does not positively recite a physical retaining structure aside from a bearing plane, and thus Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention under broadest reasonable interpretation; see also Examiner’s explanation of intended use in the Abstract above); and
at least three handling means, each extending between a first end and a second end (see actuators 16a, 16b, 16c; see Col 2, lines 20-26 and 46-67; see also extensible element 32), each of the first end is rotatably connected to the supporting element (14) via a first spherical joint or a first semi-spherical joint (see spherical joints 28 comprising balls 30, Figure 1, see also Col. 2, lines 34-39; see also u-joint of element 32 which is semi-spherical), and at least two of the second ends of the at least three handling means are each rotatably connected to a basic structure (see base 12) via a second spherical joint or a second semi-spherical joint (see u-joints 26 which rotatably couple at least two of the actuators 16a, 16b, and 16c to the base 12; see Col. 2, lines 60-67),
wherein each second spherical or semi-spherical joint is a ball-type joint via a second spherical joint or a second semi-spherical joint (please see the 112b rejection provided above, wherein Examiner is treating the claim as an ‘or’, and wherein see joints 26 have an annular configuration, i.e. semi-spherical), and
wherein cooperative actuation of the at least three handling means provides both inclination and vertical movement of the supporting element relative to the basic structure to maintain a controlled inclination angle and focal distance of the card with respect to a laser source of the printer (see Col. 2, lines 19-67 and positions 14-1, 14-2, 14-3, 14-4 in Figure 2; wherein Examiner also recognizes the intended use of the claimed invention within the context of a printer having a laser, however, the claimed invention is drawn towards an apparatus, not the combination of the apparatus and a printer having a laser, and thus the printer and laser source are not a part of the claimed invention; wherein the prior art meets the functional limitations required, please see the above citations regarding the movement of plate 14).
Regarding claim 28, Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ballantyne further discloses wherein the at least three handling means comprise three handling means (please see a combination of three elements selected from 16a, 16b, 16c, and 32).
Regarding claim 29, Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ballantyne further discloses wherein one of the three handling means has the second end directly fastened to the basic structure without a rotational joint such that the one of the three handling means has only a linear movement with respect to the basic structure (wherein within the scope of claim 29, the three handling means comprise two of actuators 16a, 16b and 16c, and the third handling means comprises extensible element 32; wherein element 32 is fastened to and extends rigidly from base 12 along axis C; see also Col. 2, lines 35-43 and Col. 3, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 30, Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ballantyne further discloses wherein the at least three handling means comprise four handling means (see elements 16a, 16b, 16c, and 32).
Regarding claim 31, Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Ballantyne further discloses wherein the at least three handling means comprise linear actuators (wherein elements 16a, 16b, 16c are linear actuators, i.e. within the scope of claim 31, the at least three handling means comprise the linear actuators, see also Col. 2, lines 19-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballantyne (US 5740599) in view of Canfield (US 5699695).
Regarding claim 14, Ballantyne discloses a card positioning device for use inside a printer (wherein Examiner acknowledges the intended use of the device with a card, wherein the prior art is designed as a plate 14 which is capable of supporting and retaining an element; furthermore, claim analysis is understood as highly fact-dependent, thus is only limited by positively recited elements. Therefore, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459; see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69.), the card positioning device comprising:
a supporting element (14) comprising a bearing plane (see Figure 1 regarding the surface of element 14) configured for receiving a card from an external supplying means and for retaining the card on the bearing plane for handling (see Figure 1; see also Col. 2, lines 19-27; wherein Col. 3, lines 51-57 disclose that the device is usable in other tool environments; wherein in the context of the claimed invention, the support element comprises a bearing plane configured for receiving and retaining a workpiece, wherein the plate 14 comprises a bearing plane on which a workpiece can be placed and retained, i.e. the claim does not positively recite a physical retaining structure aside from a bearing plane, and thus Ballantyne discloses the claimed invention under broadest reasonable interpretation; see also Examiner’s explanation of intended use in the Abstract above);
at least three handling means, each under a control unit to arrange an inclination of the supporting element for positioning the card at a selected angle and substantially constant distance with respect to a laser source of the printer (see actuators 16a, 16b, 16c; see Col 2, lines 20-26 and 46-67; see also Col. 2, lines 44-45 disclosing a robotic system, i.e. a controlled system),
wherein each of the at least three handling means comprising a connecting rod system having a distal end directly and rotatably connected to the supporting element (14; see Figure 1 regarding the rod configuration of the actuators 16a, 16b, and 16c) by a first spherical joint or a first semi-spherical joint (see spherical joints 28 comprising balls 30, Figure 1, see also Col. 2, lines 34-39) and an actuating means (wherein each linear actuator includes a motor 22 for actuating movement, see Col. 2, lines 23-39 and 46-53); and
a connecting element (see element 32) comprising a first end and a second end (see Figure 1), wherein the first end of the connecting element is rotatably connected to the supporting element (14) through a second spherical or second semi-spherical joint (see joint 42, which is a U-joint that is shown as semi-spherical), the second end of the connecting element is directly fastened to a basic structure (12) without a rotational joint and is not rotatably connected to the basic structure (wherein tube 34 of element 32 extends rigidly from base 12 along axis C; see Col. 2, lines 35-43 and Col. 3, lines 1-8), and the at least three handling means are rotatably connected to the basic structure (see u-joints 26 which rotatably couple the actuators 16a, 16b, and 16c to the base 12; see Col. 2, lines 60-67; see also the combination statement as applied below, wherein the rods 60 of Canfield are also rotatably connected to support plate 46 as they are configured to pivot), and
wherein cooperative actuation of the connecting-rod-crank systems provides controlled inclination of the supporting element around at least two spatial axes for generating multiple laser incident angles (see Col. 2, lines 19-67 and positions 14-1, 14-2, 14-3, 14-4 in Figure 2; wherein Examiner also recognizes the intended use of the claimed invention within the context of a printer having a laser, however, the claimed invention is drawn towards an apparatus, not the combination of the apparatus and a printer having a laser, and thus the printer and laser source are not a part of the claimed invention; wherein the prior art meets the functional limitations required, please see the above citations regarding the movement of plate 14).
However, Ballantyne does not explicitly teach each of the handling means comprises a connecting rod-crank system such that the connecting rods also have an opposite end connect to a rank rotatably connected to the actuating means.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor for controlled motion devices, Canfield (US 5699695) teaches three actuators (50) mounted on support plate (46), with drive shafts (54) of actuators (50) intermittently rotating or oscillating, and wherein the rotation or oscillation is converted to reciprocation of connecting rods (60) through cranks (56) that are fixed to the drive shaft (54) and at the opposite end to connecting rods (60; see also Col. 6, lines 46-67), i.e. a connecting-rod-crank system (Figure 4) including connecting rods (60) which are rotatably connected at one end and having an opposite end connected to a crank (56) rotatably connected to an actuating means (50, 54; see Figure 4, and Col. 6, lines 46-67).
Both Ballantyne and Canfield are directed towards the field of systems designed to use actuators and linked elements to effect a desired orientation of a distal end plate; please see at least the Abstract of both. Ballantyne specifically intimates and suggests alternative forms of the actuators in Col. 3, lines 50-57. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ballantyne to include the crank control mechanism as taught by Canfield. One would be motivated to do so because the controlling motions may be in excess of 180 degrees, thus allowing greater flexibility for operations and access to a workpiece, please see Col. 7, lines 1-16 of Canfield. Canfield also notes that the motion imparted by the actuators (50) can be constrained such that the motion is held fixed (Col. 7, lines 1-16). The incorporation of the teachings of Canfield would provide an optional supplemental movement in the device of Ballantyne, and may be fixed or selectively used when desired. The additional reciprocation ability would increase the overall shortening/lengthening capabilities of the actuators of Ballantyne. Furthermore, the implementation of a crank in the context of a motion system using actuators and a plate would be have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, and would be another way to achieve the degree of freedom motion transfer, which is suggested by Ballantyne.
Regarding claim 17, Ballantyne as modified by Canfield teaches the invention as applied above, wherein modified Ballantyne further teaches wherein the supporting element (Ballantyne: see element 14) is rotatably coupled to the basic structure (12) through a third spherical or a third semi-spherical joint (see joints 26 in Ballantyne which have an annular configuration, i.e. semi-spherical, as well as the crank and pivotal connection shown in Figure 4 of Canfield, i.e. also a semi-spherical joint which serves to couple the plate element 14 to the base 12 of Ballantyne as modified).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballantyne (US 5740599) in view of Canfield (US 5699695), and in further view of BIELESCH (DE-102017211254-A1).
Regarding claim 23, Ballantyne as modified by Canfield teaches the invention as applied above. However, modified Ballantyne does not explicitly teach the invention is a printer comprising the card positioning device of claim 14. However, Bielesch teaches using a card positioning device in a plastic card treatment device, i.e. a printer (please see at least [0001-0005] describing applying laser radiation to achieve different markings, i.e. applying print via laser; see [0011-0012] regarding the intended workpiece, including at least identify cards, identification cards, access cards, driving licenses).
Both Bielesch and modified Ballantyne use positioning devices, and Ballantyne is silent regarding the specific application of the system. Ballantyne intimates and suggests systems within manufacturing, machining, or industrial processes; see at least Col. 3, lines 51-57. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the positioning device of claim 14 within the context of a printer, as taught by Bielesch. One would be motivated to do so not only because Ballantyne suggests wide applicability of the device, but also because the benefits of the device of Ballantyne having optimized strength (Col. 3, lines 9-19) would have lent itself to the highly detailed and technical field taught by Bielesch.
Conclusion
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723