DETAILED ACTION
The previous prior art rejection under Tohi (US 20160280819) in view of Ichino (WO
2016152711) maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohi (US
20160280819) in view of Ichino (WO 2016152711), both cited in previous Office Action.
The rejection can be found in the NON-FINAL office action mailed 4/24/2025 and is herein incorporated
by reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Tohi and Ichino do not teach thermoplastic elastomer composition.
Applicant submits that Tohi does not provide any motivation to modify the propylene-based copolymer (B1) to make the ethylene-a-olefin-nonconjugated polyene copolymer (A) of claim 1.
Examiner disagrees. As discussed during the interview held on 4/23/2026, Tohi clearly discloses non-conjugated polyene copolymer (see 1168).
Applicant argues that Tohi does not teach or suggest that the propylene-based copolymer (B1) is related to the method for producing a propylene-based copolymer.
However, independent claim 1 and dependent claims 3-8 and 17-19 drawn to a composition and do not stipulate a method of making it.
Applicant argues that Tohi does not disclose or suggest that the copolymer (CO) is equivalent to the copolymer (7B-2)
Examiner disagrees. Tohi teaches Propylene-α-Olefin Copolymer (7B-2) (see 2081). In addition, Tohi clearly discloses that a propylene-based copolymer (B1) contains a propylene component in an amount of 95 to 51 mol %, contains an α-olefin component, which is at least one selected from ethylene, 1-butene, 4-methylpentene-1,1-hexene, 1-octene and 1-decene, in an amount of 5 to 49 mol %, and contains a polyene component, which is at least one selected from conjugated or non-conjugated dienes (see 0098).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765