DETAILED ACTION
RCE filed 11/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 14, and 16 have been amended.
Claims 7, 9, and 10 have been cancelled. Claim 19 was previously cancelled.
Claims 22 and 23 have been newly added.
Claims 1-6, 8, 11-18, and 20-23 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 14-17, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cirik et al. (US20200213067A1; supported by Provisional Application 62/787592), hereafter Cirik, in view of Cui et al. (US20220132527A1), hereafter Cui, and Huang et al. (US2021), hereafter Huang.
Regarding claim 1,
Cirik (Title: Simultaneous Bandwidth Parts Switching) discloses a method (Fig. 24-28) comprising decoding a radio resource control (RRC) message including an indication to switch operation of a user equipment (UE) from a first bandwidth part (BWP) to a second BWP (Fig. 24; receive RRC configuration for 1st & 2nd cells, initiate/trigger BWP switching for the 2nd cell; Fig. 28, steps 2810-2820; change of active BWP), wherein switching operation from the first BWP to a second BWP imposes a change to at least one predetermined parameter of the first BWP (Fig. 28, step 2820) and causing a switch to the second BWP during an allowed interruption duration to at least one active serving cell (Fig. 28, steps 2840-2850; paragraph 194; RRC processing during time duration of change of 2nd cell), wherein the allowed interruption duration is determined based at least in part on the RRC message including the indication and on the change to the at least one predetermined parameter of the first BWP (Fig. 28, steps 2830-2850; see also Fig. 16-27 and associated paragraphs).
Cirik does not expressly disclose a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap, or AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling.
Cui discloses analogous art of scheduling restriction for intra-frequency measurement (Title) including a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap (paragraphs 35-36; partially overlapping FR1/FR2 and SSB based intra-frequency measurement within SMTC window) while Huang further discloses analogous art of paging and measurement in NR idle (Title) including AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling (Fig. 9; paragraphs 39-42; in order to acquire fine timing and proper AGC, UEs power on/wake up in an SMTC window for AGC, SSBs available in the window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Cirik by a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap, and AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling, as shown by Cui and Huang, thereby ensuring proper AGC for successful message reception while managing power usage for intra- and inter-frequency measurements over different frequency ranges.
Regarding claims 11, 14, and 21,
Cirik discloses a user equipment (UE) device (Fig. 3, wireless device 110) comprising one or more baseband processors (Fig. 3, processor 314) and memory storing instructions (Fig. 3, memory 315 storing instructions 316) which, when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising decoding a radio resource control (RRC) message including an indication to switch operation of a user equipment (UE) from a first bandwidth part (BWP) to a second BWP (Fig. 24; receive RRC configuration for 1st & 2nd cells, initiate/trigger BWP switching for the 2nd cell; Fig. 28, steps 2810-2820; indication to change/alter active BWP), wherein switching operation from the first BWP to a second BWP imposes a change to at least one predetermined parameter of the first BWP (Fig. 28, steps 2840-2850; paragraph 194; RRC processing during time duration of change of 2nd cell) and causing a switch to the second BWP during an allowed interruption duration to at least one active serving cell (Fig. 28, steps 2840-2850; paragraph 194; RRC processing during time duration of change of 2nd cell), wherein the allowed interruption duration is determined based at least in part on the RRC message including the indication and on the change/altering to the at least one predetermined parameter of the first BWP (Fig. 28, steps 2830-2850; see also Fig. 16-27 and associated paragraphs).
Cirik does not expressly disclose a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap, or AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling.
Cui discloses analogous art of scheduling restriction for intra-frequency measurement (Title) including a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap (paragraphs 35-36; partially overlapping FR1/FR2 and SSB based intra-frequency measurement within SMTC window) while Huang further discloses analogous art of paging and measurement in NR idle (Title) including AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling (Fig. 9; paragraphs 39-42; in order to acquire fine timing and proper AGC, UEs power on/wake up in an SMTC window for AGC, SSBs available in the window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Cirik by a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap, and AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling, as shown by Cui and Huang, thereby ensuring proper AGC for successful message reception while managing power usage for intra- and inter-frequency measurements over different frequency ranges.
Regarding claims 16 and 20,
Chervyakov discloses an access node (AN) (Fig. 3, base stations 120A-B) comprising a transceiver (Fig. 3, interfaces 320A-B), one or more processors (Fig. 3, processor 321A-B) and memory storing instructions (Fig. 3, memory 322, instructions 323A-B) which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising generating a radio resource control (RRC) message including an indication to switch operation from a first bandwidth part (BWP) to a second BWP (Fig. 24; receive RRC configuration for 1st & 2nd cells, initiate/trigger BWP switching for the 2nd cell; Fig. 28, steps 2810-2820; indication to change active BWP), wherein switching operation from the first BWP to a second BWP imposes a change to at least one predetermined parameter of the first BWP (Fig. 28, steps 2840-2850; RRC processing during time duration) and transmitting the RRC message, wherein the RRC message causes interruption to at least one active serving cell other than the AN (Fig. 28, steps 2840-2850; paragraph 194; RRC processing during time duration of change of 2nd cell) according to an allowed interruption duration determined based at least in part on the RRC message including the indication and on the change to the at least one predetermined parameter of the first BWP (Fig. 28, steps 2830-2850; see also Fig. 16-27 and associated paragraphs).
Cirik does not expressly disclose a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap, or AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling.
Cui discloses analogous art of scheduling restriction for intra-frequency measurement (Title) including a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap (paragraphs 35-36; partially overlapping FR1/FR2 and SSB based intra-frequency measurement within SMTC window) while Huang further discloses analogous art of paging and measurement in NR idle (Title) including AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling (Fig. 9; paragraphs 39-42; in order to acquire fine timing and proper AGC, UEs power on/wake up in an SMTC window for AGC, SSBs available in the window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Cirik by a first and second frequency range of the first and second BWPs that partially overlap or do not overlap, and AGC settling time based on a SSB-based measurement timing configuration (SMTC) periodicity and a number of one or more SSBs needed for AGC settling, as shown by Cui and Huang, thereby ensuring proper AGC for successful message reception while managing power usage for intra- and inter-frequency measurements over different frequency ranges.
Regarding claim 2, 12, and 17,
The combination of Cirik, Cui, and Huang discloses the allowed interruption duration as a sum of TRRCprocessingDelay comprises a length of the RRC procedure delay and TbwpswitchDelayRRC comprises a length of an RRC-based BWP switch delay (Fig. 18-28; paragraph 345, 474-489; Fig. 22 shows total switching delay as sum of RRC processing delay and BWP switching delay).
Regarding claim 4,
The combination of Cirik, Cui, and Huang discloses the indication to switch operation from the first BWP to the second BWP imposes a change to the at least one parameter from a predetermined list of parameters (paragraph 191, 196, 227, 256; changes to active BWP of one or more higher layer common/dedicated parameters of logical channels, etc.).
Regarding claim 5, 6, and 15,
The combination of Cirik, Cui, and Huang discloses causing the interruption to the at least one serving cell comprises refraining from receiving downlink signals from the at least one serving cell or refraining from transmitting uplink signals to the at least one serving cell (Fig. 28, step 2850; delaying change of 1st active BWP until change of 2nd active BWP is completed; paragraph 331-344, 393-400; not monitoring/transmitting on PDCCH/PUCCH of deactivated BWP).
Claims 3, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik, Cui, and Huang, and further in view of Siomina et al. (US20220140975A1), hereafter Siomina.
Regarding claim 3, 13, and 18,
The combination of Cirik, Cui, and Huang does not expressly disclose the allowed interruption duration begins after the last slot containing the RRC message.
Siomina discloses the allowed interruption duration begins after the last slot containing the RRC message (paragraph 178, 185; interruption on PSCell and activated SCells during switching including the last slot where SRS transmission is configured via RRC).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the combination of Cirik, Cui, and Huang by beginning the allowed interruption duration after the last slot containing the RRC message, as shown by Siomina, thereby providing for efficient switching for aligned cells.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 22, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on newly-cited references Cui and Huang for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477