Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1, 8, 15-25] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou (US 20140328260 A1) in view of Aris (US 20170273056A1).
In regards to claims 1, 15, 19 and 20 Papasakellariou teaches receiving, through higher layer signaling, configuration information for multi-downlink (DL) data transmission scheduling; [0072] With SPS, a PDSCH or a PUSCH transmission is configured to the UE, by the NodeB, through higher layer signaling, such as Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, and occurs at predetermined Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) and with predetermined parameters as informed by the higher layer signalin
receiving, from a base station (BS), downlink control information (DCI) scheduling N DL data transmissions, where N is an integer greater than 1; [0006] The method further includes indicating, by a value of the at least one field of binary elements, a number for the one or more TTIs in which the base station transmits one or more respective PDSCHs to the UE when the DCI format can schedule multiple PDSCH transmissions to the UE in respective multiple TTIs.
receiving the N DL data transmissions based on the DCI; [0011] the one or more PDSCHs scheduled by a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format that includes at least one field consisting of binary elements and is transmitted by the base station in a Physical Downlink Control CHannel (PDCCH) in a first TTI, the receiver configured to receive the one PDSCH in the one TTI or receive the one or more PDSCHs in the one or more TTI.
A base station (BS) comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory operatively coupled to the at least one processor, [0003] A communication system includes a DownLink (DL) that conveys signals from transmission points such as Base Stations (BSs) or NodeBs to User Equipments (UEs) and an UpLink (UL) that conveys signals from UEs to reception points such as NodeBs at least one processor; and at least one memory operatively coupled to the at least one processor [0063] UE 116 includes antenna 305, radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, transmit (TX) processing circuitry 315, microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. UE 116 also comprises speaker 330, main processor 340, input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, keypad 350, display 355, and memory 360. Memory 360 further comprises basic operating system (OS) program 361 and a plurality of applications 362
Papasakellariou does not teach determining N hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) for the N DL data transmissions TBs, wherein the DCI includes HARQ process information set to a value of a specific HARQ process ID, and wherein, for determining the N HARQ-process IDs for the multi-DL transmissions based on the specific HARQ process ID, the UE: allocates the specific HARQ process ID to a first DL transmission among the N DL data transmissions, and allocates N-1 HARQ process ID to remaining N-1 DL transmissions sequentially by increasing the specific HARQ process ID by 1 for each of the remaining N-I DL transmission with a modulo operation.
However Aris does teach determining N hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifiers (IDs) for the N DL data transmissions TBs, wherein the DCI includes HARQ process information set to a value of a specific HARQ process ID, [0005] The DCI format further includes a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process number field that is represented by ┌log.sub.2(N.sub.HARQ)┐ bits and indicates a HARQ process number n.sub.HARQ from a total of N.sub.HARQ HARQ processes. HARQ process number n.sub.HARQ applies for the first PUSCH transmission, HARQ process number (n.sub.HARQ+j−1)mod N.sub.HARQ applies for a j-th of the PUSCH transmissions,
and wherein, for determining the N HARQ-process IDs for the multi-DL transmissions based on the specific HARQ process ID, [0144] when an UL grant schedules PUSCH transmissions in 4 SFs and indicates a first HARQ process number n.sub.HARQ for a PUSCH transmission in the first SF, from a total of N.sub.HARQ HARQ processes, the HARQ process number for PUSCH transmissions in the second, third, and fourth SFs are respectively (n.sub.HARQ+1)modN.sub.HARQ, (n.sub.HARQ+2)modN.sub.HARQ, and (n.sub.HARQ+3)modN.sub.HARQ. Therefore, a HARQ process number associated with a j-th PUSCH transmission, 1<j≦N.sub.SF, is (n.sub.HARQ−1)modN.sub.HARQ.
the UE allocates the specific HARQ process ID to a first DL transmission among the N DL data transmissions, [0146] Then, in the present example, the first-SF index field has a value of ‘01’. The HARQ process number field has a value of n.sub.HARQ indicating a HARQ process from a total of N.sub.HARQ processes. The UE transmits a data TB for HARQ process with number n.sub.HARQ in a first PUSCH in SF#6 1220 and transmits a data TB for HARQ process with number (n.sub.HARQ+1)modN.sub.HARQ in a second PUSCH in SF#6 1230.
and allocates N-1 HARQ process ID to remaining N-1 DL transmissions sequentially by increasing the specific HARQ process ID by 1 for each of the remaining N-I DL transmission with a modulo operation [0144] from a total of N.sub.HARQ HARQ processes, the HARQ process number for PUSCH transmissions in the second, third, and fourth SFs are respectively (n.sub.HARQ+1)modN.sub.HARQ, (n.sub.HARQ+2)modN.sub.HARQ, and (n.sub.HARQ+3)modN.sub.HARQ. Therefore, a HARQ process number associated with a j-th PUSCH transmission, 1<j≦N.sub.SF, is (n.sub.HARQ−1)modN.sub.HARQ.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Papasakellariou and Hermont before him or her, to modify the method of Papasakellariou to include the HARQ configurations as taught by Aris.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission estimation accuracy. (0121 by Aris).
Regarding claim 8, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach wherein a maximum number of DL data transmissions TBs schedulable by the DCI is determined based on the configuration information.[0088] multi-TTI scheduling or cross-TTI scheduling can also be used to reduce DL control signaling overhead and support for such scheduling can also be extended in the DL.
Regarding claim 16, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a wireless signal under control of the at least one processor [0063] UE 116 includes antenna 305, radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, transmit (TX) processing circuitry 315, microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325.
Regarding claim 17, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach wherein the apparatus is a user equipment (UE) configured to operate in a wireless communication system. [0050] UEs 111-116 may be any wireless communication device, such as, but not limited to, a mobile phone, mobile PDA and any mobile station (MS).
Regarding claim 18, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach wherein the apparatus is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processing device [0059] Each of the components in FIGS. 2A and 2B can be implemented using only hardware or using a combination of hardware and software/firmware. As a particular example, at least some of the components in FIGS. 2A and 2B can be implemented in software while other components may be implemented by configurable hardware.
Regarding claim 21, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach A non-transitory medium readable by a processor and recorded thereon instructions that cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1. [0069] The memory 360 is coupled to the main processor 340. Part of the memory 360 could include a random access memory (RAM), and another part of the memory 360 could include a Flash memory or other read-only memory (ROM).
Regarding claim 22, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach wherein the N DL data transmissions are related to N physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmissions. [0011] the receiver configured to receive the one PDSCH in the one TTI or receive the one or more PDSCHs in the one or more TTIs.
Regarding claim 24, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach transmitting HARQ-acknowledgement (ACK) information for the N DL data transmissions based on N HARQ processes associated with the N HARQ process IDs. [0144] For a FDD system, a conventional timeline for a TTI where UE 116 transmits a HARQ-ACK signal is defined relative to a TTI of a respective PDCCH/EPDCCH detection. For example, in FDD UE 116 transmits a HARQ-ACK signal 4 TTIs after a TTI of a respective PDCCH/EPDCCH detection.
Regarding claim 25, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does teach wherein the higher layer signaling is a radio resource control (RRC) signaling. [0072] With SPS, a PDSCH or a PUSCH transmission is configured to the UE, by the NodeB, through higher layer signaling, such as Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, and occurs at predetermined Transmission Time Intervals (TTIs) and with predetermined parameters as informed by the higher layer signaling.
Regarding claim 23, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou does not teach wherein the modulo operation is performed based on a total number of HARQ process numbers configured in the UE.
However, Aris does teach wherein the modulo operation is performed based on a total number of HARQ process numbers configured in the UE. [0144] the HARQ process number for PUSCH transmissions in the second, third, and fourth SFs are respectively (n.sub.HARQ+1)modN.sub.HARQ, (n.sub.HARQ+2)modN.sub.HARQ, and (n.sub.HARQ+3)modN.sub.HARQ. Therefore, a HARQ process number associated with a j-th PUSCH transmission, 1<j≦N.sub.SF, is (n.sub.HARQ−1)modN.sub.HARQ.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Papasakellariou and Hermont before him or her, to modify the method of Papasakellariou to include the HARQ configurations as taught by Aris.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission estimation accuracy. (0121 by Aris).
Claim [6] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou in view of Aris further in view of Ying (US 20210345366 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Papasakellariou and Aris teaches the limitations of the parent claim.
Papasakellariou and Aris do not teach wherein the UE is not configured to use 64-quadrature amplitude modulation (64QAM).
However, Ying does teach wherein the UE is not configured to use 64-quadrature amplitude modulation (64QAM) for the PDSCH; [0083] In an example, if high SE is configured by RRC for PDSCH transmission (e.g., mcs-Table in PDSCH-Config is set to ‘qam256’ or mcs-Table in SPS-config is set to ‘qam256’), high SE table (e.g., Table 1) and I.sub.MCS indicated by MCS field may be used for determining the modulation order and/or the target code rate for the corresponding PDSCH.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Papasakellariou, Aris and Ying before him or her, to modify the method of Papasakellariou and Aris to include DCI information as taught by Ying.
The motivation for doing so would be improved reliability of transmissions. (Paragraph 0076 by Ying)].
Relevant Prior Art
The following lists some relevant prior art not relied upon in the rejection above:
Prior art Takeda et al. (US-20180199314-A1) teaches, scheduling multiple transport blocks within the same component carrier, layer and TTI using DCI with a HARQ feedback for each TB.
Prior art Chen et al. (US-20170207878-A1) teaches, methods for determining higher modulation orders for control and data channels using multiple MCS tables, focusing on how UEs and base stations select modulation schemes for different subframe sets.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new rejection above.
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466