DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed August 20, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 and 5 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 7 are cancelled as previously indicated.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-9 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAMURA (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2014/0334313 A1) in view of Lu et al. (hereinafter Lu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2010/0265829 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 6, Nakamura teaches a management method and management device (network performance apparatus, 10A, figures 21 and 22), managing a packet circulating network comprising a master device (master station, figure 22) and a plurality of slave devices (slave stations, figure 22) connected to the master device, the management device comprising:
a memory (network information storing unit, figure 21) storing in advance a network configuration information (network-configuration information) which describes a designed network configuration created by a user (design data relation information) ([0174]; [0246]; [0272]; teaches storing network configuration information which comprises design connection relation information related to the network); and a processor (control unit, figure 21), coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to implement:
an actual configuration information acquisition unit (21, figure 21), acquiring actual configuration information of the actual network from the master device ([0246]; [0272]; teaches acquiring the actual, real network connection relation information from the master station and network); a ring topology detection unit (21, figure 21), detecting a ring topology configured from the slave devices based on the actual configuration information ([0246]; [0272]; teaches acquiring the actual, real network relation information and determining the topology of the slave station and network, which may be a ring topology), and identifiably displaying the ring topology in an actual network configuration diagram displayed based on the actual configuration information and displaying a network configuration diagram based on the network configuration information and displaying a network configuration diagram based on the network configuration information side by side with the actual network configuration diagram (display unit, figure 21) ([0174]; [0246]; [0272]; teaches graphically displaying the design connection relation information and the actual, real network connection relation information in order to compare the information side by side to highlight differences).
However, Nakamura does not explicitly disclose wherein the actual configuration information comprises slave connection information of each of the slaves and each of the slave connection information comprises between-port connection information, and the ring topology detection unit traces connection relationship between an input port and output port in an order of data packets circulation from an output port of one of the slave devices located upstream and the output port of an other one of the slave devices located downstream and detects the ring topology based on the between-port connection information included in the slave connection information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lu teaches and suggests wherein the actual configuration information comprises slave connection information (list of connection between nodes/SW/ports) of each of the slaves (transit node/SW) and each of the slave connection information comprises between-port connection information (port to port connections; figure 2), and the ring topology detection unit traces connection relationship between an input port (first ring port) and output port (second ring port) in an order of data packets (LLDP messages) circulation from an output port of one of the slave devices located upstream and the output port of an other one of the slave devices located downstream and detects the ring topology based on the between-port connection information included in the slave connection information ([0012]; “…determines whether a topology of the links discovered from an arbitrary one of the ports configured to participate in the domain form a conceptual ring. The topology of the discovered links forms a conceptual ring when each of the ports configured to participate in the domain are accounted for in the discovered links…”; [0013]; [0031]; [0040]; [0042]; teaches discovery the topology of the link in order to discover the ring topology based on the port to port connection information related to the links between the nodes/SW; figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate discovery the topology of the link in order to discover the ring topology based on the port to port connection information related to the links between the nodes/SW as taught by Lu with the method of detecting ring topology as disclosed by Nakamura for the purpose of discovering and managing the topology of the network in order to insure proper operation and performance of the network, as suggested by Lu.
Claims 3, 4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAMURA (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2014/0334313 A1) in view of Lu et al. (hereinafter Lu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2010/0265829 A1), and further in view of TANIGUCHI et al. (hereinafter Taniguchi) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0266229 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Nakamura, as modified by Lu, discloses determining the topology of the slave devices to be that of a ring topology, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the ring topology detection unit determines, based on slave information representing unique information per type of each of the slave devices, whether the ring topology is supported for each of the slave devices from which the ring topology is configured.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Taniguchi teaches and suggests wherein the ring topology detection unit determines, based on slave information representing unique information per type of each of the slave devices, whether the ring topology is supported for each of the slave devices from which the ring topology is configured ([0149]; [0240]; teaches information about the slave node including node type and ring ID regarding the ring topology).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information about the slave node including node type and ring ID regarding the ring topology as taught by Taniguchi with the method of detecting ring topology as disclosed by Nakamura, as modified by Lu, for the purpose of monitoring and managing topology, as suggested by Taniguchi.
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Nakamura, as modified by Lu, discloses determining the topology of the slave devices to be that of a ring topology, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the ring topology detection unit identifiably displays the slave device not supporting the ring topology in the actual network configuration diagram displayed based on the actual configuration information.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Taniguchi teaches and suggests wherein the ring topology detection unit identifiably displays the slave device not supporting the ring topology in the actual network configuration diagram displayed based on the actual configuration information ([0068]; [0149]; [0240]; teaches displaying information about the slave node including ring ID regarding the support ring topology on a screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate displaying information about the slave node including node type and ring ID regarding the ring topology on a screen as taught by Taniguchi with the method of detecting ring topology as disclosed by Nakamura, as modified by Lu, for the purpose of monitoring and managing topology, as suggested by Taniguchi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
November 6, 2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477