32DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 08th, 2025 has been entered. Claim 1 remains pending in
the application. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 35: “and the first power supply unit.” should read “and the first power supply unit,”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsumori (WO 2018055770), hereinafter Mitsumori in view of Choi et al. (KR 20060059619), hereinafter Choi Yamakawa et al. (US Patent No. 11,863,099), hereinafter Yamakawa, and Park et al. (KR 20100092192), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 1, Mitsumori discloses a refrigerant cycle system (Fig. 2) comprising:
a refrigerant cycle (Fig. 2, outdoor unit A, indoor units B1-B6) including a heat source unit (Fig. 2, outdoor unit A), a first utilization unit group (Fig. 2, indoor units B1-B3), and a second utilization unit group (Fig. 2, indoor units B4-B6), wherein the first utilization group and the second utilization group include a plurality of utilization units (Fig. 2, indoor units B1-B6);
a first power feed unit (Fig. 2, auxiliary power supply 40) that differs from the heat source unit and, when the individual power source of each of the plurality utilization units of the first utilization unit group has been interrupted, feeds auxiliary power to each of the utilization units of the first utilization unit group of which the power source has been interrupted (Paragraph 28, the circuit breaker 31 is opened by the user, the power supply from the main power supply 30 to the indoor unit B1 is cut off, so the DC voltage Vp output from the rectifier circuit 60 becomes zero. On the other hand, since the circuit breaker 41 is closed, the DC voltage Vq boosted by the booster circuit 83 is applied to the power supply lines P2 and N2. The DC voltage Vq is higher than the DC voltage (zero level) Vp of the power supply lines P1 and N1. Therefore, the DC voltage Vq of the power supply lines P2 and N2 on the auxiliary power supply 40 side is applied to the drive circuit 63 and the power supply circuit 64 via the power supply lines P1 and N1. Thus, since the DC voltage Vq boosted by the booster circuit 83 is set lower than the DC voltage Vp output from the rectifier circuit 60 connected to the main power supply 30, the main power supply 30 is connected while it is connected. Power is supplied from the main power supply 30 to the power supply lines P1 and N1. On the other hand, when the circuit breaker 41 is opened, power is supplied to the power supply lines P1 and N1 from the auxiliary power supply 40 side, and a relay or the like is not required for switching the power supply);
a second power feed unit (Fig. 2, main power supply 30) that differs from the heat source unit and, when the individual power source of each of the plurality of utilization units of the second utilization unit group has been interrupted, feeds auxiliary power to each of the utilization units of the second utilization unit group of which the power source has been interrupted (Paragraph 28, the circuit breaker 31 is opened by the user, the power supply from the main power supply 30 to the indoor unit B1 is cut off, so the DC voltage Vp output from the rectifier circuit 60 becomes zero. On the other hand, since the circuit breaker 41 is closed, the DC voltage Vq boosted by the booster circuit 83 is applied to the power supply lines P2 and N2. The DC voltage Vq is higher than the DC voltage (zero level) Vp of the power supply lines P1 and N1. Therefore, the DC voltage Vq of the power supply lines P2 and N2 on the auxiliary power supply 40 side is applied to the drive circuit 63 and the power supply circuit 64 via the power supply lines P1 and N1. Thus, since the DC voltage Vq boosted by the booster circuit 83 is set lower than the DC voltage Vp output from the rectifier circuit 60 connected to the main power supply 30, the main power supply 30 is connected while it is connected. Power is supplied from the main power supply 30 to the power supply lines P1 and N1. On the other hand, when the circuit breaker 41 is opened, power is supplied to the power supply lines P1 and N1 from the auxiliary power supply 40 side, and a relay or the like is not required for switching the power supply);
a first transmission line that connects the heat source unit and the first power feed unit to each other (see annotated Fig. 3 of Mitsumori below, first transmission line A);
a second transmission line that connects the first power feed unit and the second power feed unit via the each of the first utilization unit group (see annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori below, second transmission line B),
a third transmission line that connects the second power feed unit and the each of the utilization units of the second utilization group (see annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori below, third transmission line C),
wherein the heat source unit, the first utilization unit group, and the second utilization unit group each include a communication unit for communicating with other units (Fig. 2, remote control type operating device 22, indoor controller 70, outdoor controller 90; Pg. 5, paragraph 19, A cable 21 is led out from each of the indoor units B1 to B6, and a remote control type operating device 22 for setting operation conditions (operation on, operation off, target indoor temperature, etc.) is connected to each cable 21. By operating these operating devices 22, the indoor units B1 to B6 can be selectively turned on and off, and the target indoor temperature Ts of the installation locations (air-conditioned rooms) of the indoor units B1 to B6 is able to be individually set; Pg7, paragraph 24; The communication circuit 65 operates by the DC voltage Vd2 of the power supply circuit 64, and performs data communication between the indoor controller 70 and the operation device 22 which is a so-called remote controller via the communication line 21a of the cable 21. The communication circuit 66 operates with the DC voltage Vd2 of the power supply circuit 64, and performs data communication between the indoor controller 70 and the outdoor controller 90 through the communication line 50. The drive circuit 67 operates with the DC voltage Vd <b> 2 of the power supply circuit 64 and drives the flow rate adjustment valve 10 in accordance with a command from the indoor controller 70; Further, the teachings of Mitsumori at least imply communication between the heat source unit, the first utilization unit group, and the second utilization unit since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)),
wherein the second power feed unit is connected to the first power feed unit via the second transmission line, and to the heat source unit via the each of the utilization units of the first utilization unit group and the first power feed unit (see annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori below, main power supply 30 is connected to the auxiliary power supply 40 via second transmission line B and the outdoor unit A via indoor units B1-B3 and auxiliary power supply 40),
the first power feed unit supplies auxiliary power via the second transmission line (See annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori below, the auxiliary power supply 40 is connected to indoor units B1-B3 via second transmission line B),
the second power feed unit supplies auxiliary power via the third transmission line (See annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori below, the main power supply 30 is connected to indoor units B4-B6 via third transmission line C).
However, Mitsumori does not disclose each of the plurality of utilization units has an individual power source; and
the utilization unit whose individual power source is interrupted outputs the interruption signal to the heat source unit via one of the first transmission line, the second transmission line, and the third transmission line.
Choi teaches wherein the first utilization group and the second utilization group each having an individual power source respectively (Fig. 1 of Choi depicts indoor units 30 each having an individual power source 1); and
the utilization unit whose individual power source is interrupted outputs the interruption signal to the heat source unit via transmission lines (Pg. 4, The switching unit 54 intercepts the emergency power input from the auxiliary power supply unit 60 to the main board unit 32 of the indoor unit 30. In one embodiment, the switching unit 54 may be implemented as an electronic relay. The switching controller 52 intermittently controls the switching unit 54 according to whether the main power is input. In the preferred embodiment, the switching control unit 52 turns off the switching unit 54 when the main power is input from the output terminal of the breaker 20, and conversely, if the main power is not input from the output terminal of the breaker 20. The switching unit 54 is turned on; Further, the control unit 52 and the switching unit 54 of Choi are connected via lines that transmit power and/or information and are considered to be equivalent to the claimed transmission lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigerant cycle of Mitsumori of claim 1 wherein each of the utilization groups includes an individual power supply and the utilization unit whose individual power source is interrupted outputs the interruption signal to the heat source unit via one of the first transmission line, the second transmission line, and the third transmission line as taught by Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow for power to be supplied during a loss of power emergency (Choi, Abstract).
Mitsumori as modified does not disclose the heat source unit, the first power feed unit, the each of the utilization units of the first utilization group, the second power feed unit, and the each of the utilization units of the second utilization group are connected in series by the first transmission line, the second transmission line and the third transmission line.
However, as evidenced by Mitsumori, there is a recognized problem or need in the art to connect the heat source unit, the first power feed unit, the each of the utilization units of the first utilization group, the second power feed unit, and the each of the utilization units of the second utilization group with the first transmission line, the second transmission line and the third transmission line (See annotated Fig. 2-3 of Mitsumori below).
Further, to a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that connection of the heat source unit, the first power feed unit, the each of the utilization units of the first utilization group, the second power feed unit, and the each of the utilization units of the second utilization group with the first transmission line, the second transmission line and the third transmission line makes it possible to effectively deliver primary and auxiliary power to the system components (Paragraph 28, the circuit breaker 31 is opened by the user, the power supply from the main power supply 30 to the indoor unit B1 is cut off, so the DC voltage Vp output from the rectifier circuit 60 becomes zero. On the other hand, since the circuit breaker 41 is closed, the DC voltage Vq boosted by the booster circuit 83 is applied to the power supply lines P2 and N2. The DC voltage Vq is higher than the DC voltage (zero level) Vp of the power supply lines P1 and N1. Therefore, the DC voltage Vq of the power supply lines P2 and N2 on the auxiliary power supply 40 side is applied to the drive circuit 63 and the power supply circuit 64 via the power supply lines P1 and N1. Thus, since the DC voltage Vq boosted by the booster circuit 83 is set lower than the DC voltage Vp output from the rectifier circuit 60 connected to the main power supply 30, the main power supply 30 is connected while it is connected. Power is supplied from the main power supply 30 to the power supply lines P1 and N1. On the other hand, when the circuit breaker 41 is opened, power is supplied to the power supply lines P1 and N1 from the auxiliary power supply 40 side, and a relay or the like is not required for switching the power supply), before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to try options regarding the connection of the HVAC components such that the system is connected in series rather than parallel, since there are known and finite possible option, in order to discover which option yields greatest success. There are two possible options: series connection and parallel connection. One having ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions, identified in part by Mitsumori Fig. 3, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143, Section I, Paragraph E). Moreover, the recitation, “the heat source unit, the first power feed unit, the each of the utilization units of the first utilization group, the second power feed unit, and the each of the utilization units of the second utilization group are connected in series by the first transmission line, the second transmission line and the third transmission line” is not a patentably distinct feature of the claims as the particular placement of HVAC components in a refrigerant cycle system was held to be an obvious matter of design choice (MPEP 2144.04, Section VI, Paragraph C).
Moreover, Mitsumori as modified does not disclose the first transmission line, the second transmission line, and the third transmission line to transmit the communication and feed auxiliary power.
Yamakawa teaches using a single line to transmit both communications and power within an HVAC system (Col. 7, lines 1-4, When the outdoor unit 110 is connected to the indoor unit 150 with three lines, and no communication line is included, the communication unit 136 performs communication with power lines).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first transmission line, the second transmission line, and the third transmission line of the refrigerant cycle system of Mitsumori as modified to transmit the communication and feed auxiliary power as taught by Yamakawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the number of parts within the system to reduce overall system complexity.
Further, Mitsumori as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the first power feed unit and the second power feed unit each include a communication unit for communicating with other units.
Park teaches an auxiliary power unit to include a communication unit for communicating with other units (Fig. 3, auxiliary power supply 40, communication unit 40b; Pg. 8, paragraph 59-61, The connection unit 180 is connected to the communication unit 40b provided externally, receives data from the communication unit, applies the data to the control unit 110, and transmits data to be transmitted to the communication unit 40b in response to a control command of the control unit 110. The auxiliary power supply 40 includes an auxiliary power supply 40a and a communication unit 40b, and a communication line 80 is connected to the auxiliary power supply 40a and the communication unit 40b, respectively. The auxiliary power supply 40a supplies emergency power to the indoor unit by using the power component of the communication line 80, and the communication unit 40b extracts the data component of the communication line 80 so that the received data is applied to the indoor unit. Allow data to be transmitted over communication line 80. In some cases, the auxiliary power supply 40 may further include a power extraction unit that separates the power component and the data component of the communication line 80).
Mitsumori as modified fails to teach wherein the first power feed unit and the second power feed unit each include a communication unit for communicating with other units, however Park teaches that it is a known method in the art of HVAC emergency power transmission to include a communication unit in power feed units for communicating with other units. This is strong evidence that modifying Mitsumori as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing communication between system components). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitsumori as modified by Park and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing communication between system components.
Further, the recitations “when each utilization unit of the first utilization unit group and each utilization unit of the second utilization unit group detects that the power from the power source has been interrupted, an interruption signal is transmitted to the heat source unit via the first transmission line and the first power supply unit,
upon receiving the interruption signal, the heat source unit transmits an opening degree adjustment instruction to the utilization unit for which the power supply has been interrupted, via the first transmission line and the first power supply unit” are contingent limitations that are not required limitations of the claims as the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, still requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur (MPEP 211.04, Section II).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Mitsumori
Annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, specifically “Applicant submits that the main power supply 30 and the auxiliary power supply 40 disclosed in Mitsumori do not possess features corresponding to a communication unit. Further, none of the cited prior art references disclose a power supply unit that includes a communication section capable of communicating with other units (Pg. 5 of response)”, filed October 08th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (KR 20100092192).
Applicant's arguments filed October 08th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the second power feed unit not continuously supply power to each utilization unit and only supply power when the power supply is interrupted) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues on Pg. 6 of the response, “The Examiner also asserts that the second transmission line and the third transmission line recited in claim 1 are disclosed as transmission line B in the annotated Figure 2 of Mitsumori. However, transmission line B merely supplies electric power from the main power supply 30 or the auxiliary power supply 40 to the indoor units and is not used for communication purposes. Therefore, transmission line B does not correspond to the claimed transmission lines that are used for communication.” However, this argument is not persuasive as the second transmission line and the third transmission line are denoted as line B and C, respectively, in annotated Fig. 2 of Mitsumori, not just line B. Further, Yamakawa, not Mitsumori is relied upon to teach transmission lines that can transmit both power and communications (Col. 7, lines 1-4, When the outdoor unit 110 is connected to the indoor unit 150 with three lines, and no communication line is included, the communication unit 136 performs communication with power lines). See the rejection of claim 1 above.
The rejection of independent claim 1 is maintained for at least the reasons described herein.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 October 21st, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763