DETAILED ACTION
In Request for Continued Examination filed on 02/18/2026, claims 16-17, and 22-36 are pending. Claims 30-34 are withdrawn based on the restriction requirement. Claims 16 and 35-36 are currently amended. Claims 16-17, 22-29, and 35-36 are considered in the current Office Action.
Status of Previous Objections/Rejections
35 USC 103 rejections of claims have been maintained. See Response to argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Dependent claims 23 and 25-26 further narrowed the optional limitations of claim 16 as language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation, as in claim 16.
The Examiner is interpreting the limitation “setting motor” as “the at least one setting motor is connected in terms of movement or operatively connected to the at least one specification element by means of the at least one linear drive and/or by means of the at least one rotary drive.” which corresponds to [0021] of specification.
The Examiner is interpreting the limitation “entirety of the extruder nozzle” recited in claim 1 including a discharge opening configured to discharge the material, a plurality of peripheral walls defining the discharge opening and any inner element arranged within the extruder nozzle which is consistent with Figure 8 of the instant application. The Examiner also wish to point out, [0029] of the instant application discloses “the at least one cover element may differ from the extruder nozzle” which indicated that the cover element is not part of the extruder nozzle but part of the extruder head instead.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 16 and 35-36 recite the limitation “at least one specification element” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus a function limitation because of the combination of a non-structural generic placeholder “specification element” and functional limitation “designed to be variably adjustable for purposed of variably settably specifying at least a part of a strand cross section of the strand of building material being discharged” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure in the specification is “Elements 7a, 7b, 8, 8a, 8b, 30a, 30b in Figures ([0064])”, “the at least one specification element has at least one of the peripheral walls 7a, 7b ([0069])”, “the at least one specification element has at least one inner element 30a, 30b ([0077])”, and “the at least one specification element comprises at least one in particular rectangular cover element 8, 8a, 8b ([0088])”.
Claim 16 and 35-36 recites the limitation “at least one setting apparatus” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus a function limitation because of the combination of a non-structural generic placeholder “setting apparatus” and functional limitation “designed for variably setting the at least one specification element” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure in the specification is “the at least one setting motor 213E, 217aE, 217bE, 218aE, 218bE is designed for the variable setting of the at least one specification element 7a, 7b, 8, 8a, 8b, 30a, 30b ([0102])” and “it has at least one in particular electric and/or hydraulic and/or pneumatic setting motor or adjusting motor ([0017])”.
Claims 16 and 35-36 recites the limitation “movement deflecting mechanism” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus a function limitation because of the combination of a non-structural generic placeholder “movement deflecting mechanism” and functional limitation “to move the at least one specification element” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure in the specification is “in particular at least one lever mechanism and/or at least one belt, chain and/or toothed gear mechanism ([0020])”.
Claim 16 and 36 recites the limitation “at least one inner element” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus a function limitation because of the combination of a non-structural generic placeholder “at least one inner element” and functional limitation “designed for variably setting the at least one specification element” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure in the specification is “in particular at least partially arranged spaced apart from the extruder nozzle or at least one peripheral wall of the extruder nozzle, in particular in/counter to the at least one extent direction. In particular, the at least one inner element may extend from the extruder nozzle or from at least one peripheral wall of the extruder nozzle, in particular orthogonally, in particular in/counter to the at least one extent direction and/or inward ([0026])”.
Claims 16, 27, and 35 recites the limitation “at least one cover element” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus a function limitation because of the combination of a non-structural generic placeholder “at least one cover element” and functional limitation “designed to be variably settable for purposes of variably settably covering at least a part of the discharge opening for purposes of variably settably specifying at least a part of the strand cross section” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure in the specification is “the at least one cover element may be designed to completely cover the discharge opening and the at least one cover element may be planar or flat ([0029])”.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “a deflecting device” has been interpreted under 112(f) as a means plus a function limitation because of the combination of a non-structural generic placeholder “deflecting device” and functional limitation “to deflect a flow of building material in the direction of the discharge opening.” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure in the specification is “a deflecting device 9 has a fishhook shape, in particular deviating from an "L" ([0101])”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2019/0001544 (“Kozar et al” hereinafter Kozar) in view of KR101948547 (“Bin et al” hereinafter Bin), machine translation provided in previous Office Action, and US5,950,988 (Nardick).
Regarding Claim 16, Kozar teaches an extruder head (Figure 5) for extrusion of a strand of building material for 3D printing of a structural part ([0001]), comprising:
an extruder nozzle (Figure 5, apparatus 110), the extruder nozzle having a discharge opening configured to discharge the strand of building material out of the extruder head in a discharge direction (Figure 5, apparatus 110 has an outlet 132. Extrudable material 140 enters sleeve 126 through sleeve inlet 148 and exits sleeve 126 through sleeve outlet 132 [0038]), wherein an entirety of the extruder nozzle is made of metal (Figure 8 and [0097], material of sleeve 126 along plurality of grooves 162 and plurality of sleeve segments 160 comprises non-porous materials, such as metal. Sleeve and sleeve segments formed the entirety of extruder nozzle based on the interpretation of the limitation, thus, it meets the claimed limitation);
at least one specification element (Figure 3, plurality of cable tubes 118, support tube 116, plurality of cables 128, and second sleeve end 188), the at least one specification element being configured to be variably adjustable and thereby variably settably specify at least a part of a strand cross section of the strand of building material being discharged (Figure 5, [0116], pushing plurality of cables 128 in first direction 190, perpendicular to flow direction 184 and toward central axis 194 of sleeve channel 152 , defined by sleeve 126, to move corresponding portions of second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in first direction 190. Plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049].); and
at least one setting apparatus (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises motor. The motor is an electric motor, pneumatic motor, hydraulic motor, electromagnetic motor, or other similar motor [0045]), the at least one setting apparatus being configured to variably set the at least one specification element ([0113]-[00114], operating plurality of actuators 122 promotes automated changing of at least one of the size or the shape of sleeve outlet 132 by pushing or pulling the plurality of cables 128), and the at least one setting apparatus is designed and arranged such that, in a first extent direction which differs from the discharge direction, the extruder head extends below the discharge opening, in case of a maximum opening height, by at most the maximum opening height, and/or, in at least one second extent direction which differs from the discharge direction, extends to a side of the discharge opening, in the case of a maximum opening width, by at most the maximum opening width (see annotated Figure 5, the plurality of actuator 122 pushes and/or pulls the second sleeve end 188 to adjust the width of the discharge opening, from a maximum opening width to a minimum opening width or vice versa [0113]-[00114]).
wherein the at least one setting apparatus has at least one setting motor (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 and [0113]-[00114]), the at least one setting motor is configured to variably set the at least one specification element ([0113]-[00114]), the at least one setting motor is arranged, counter to the first extent direction, above (see annotated Figure 5, plurality of actuator 122 are located above the extruder nozzle), counter to the discharge direction, behind, and/or, counter to the at least one second extent direction, to the side of, the extruder nozzle (the limitation following “or” is interpreted as optional limitation, thus, no patent weight is given), and
the at least one setting apparatus has at least one linear drive (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises screw-type linear actuators [0045] which are example of linear drive motor), the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one linear drive (Figure 5, [0116], pushing plurality of cables 128 in first direction 190, perpendicular to flow direction 184 and toward central axis 194 of sleeve channel 152 , defined by sleeve 126, to move corresponding portions of second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in first direction 190. Plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049]), and at least one of:
(i) the extruder nozzle has multiple peripheral walls (Figure 5, first sleeve end 186), the multiple peripheral walls peripherally define the discharge opening (Figure 5, the first sleeve end 186 peripherally formed around the discharge opening and defined the discharge opening), the at least one specification element has at least one of the multiple peripheral walls (Figure 5, plurality of cable tubes 118 formed a peripheral walls), the at least one peripheral wall being configured to be variably settable and thereby variably settably define an outer edge of a flow cross section of building material within the extruder nozzle and variably settably specify an outer edge of the strand cross section during the discharge of the strand of building material (see annotated Figure 5, plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049]), and/or
(ii) the at least one specification element has at least one inner element (Figure 5, second sleeve end 188), the at least one inner element is configured to be variably settably arranged within the extruder nozzle and thereby variably settably define an inner edge of a flow cross section of building material within the extruder nozzle and variably settably specify an inner edge of the strand cross section during the discharge of the strand of building material (see annotated Figure 5, the plurality of actuator 122 pushes and/or pulls the second sleeve end 188 to adjust the width of the discharge opening, from a maximum opening width to a minimum opening width or vice versa [0113]-[00114]).
Kozar fails to teach the at least one setting apparatus has at least one movement deflecting mechanism, the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one movement deflecting mechanism, and/or
(iii) the at least one specification element has at least one cover element, the at least one cover element is configured to be variably settable and thereby variably settably cover at least a part of the discharge opening and variably settably specify at least a part of the strand cross section by way of at least one uncovered part of the discharge opening during the discharge of the strand of building material.
However, Bin teaches the at least one setting apparatus has at least one movement deflecting mechanism (Figure 17, rails 27), the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one movement deflecting mechanism (Figure 17 and [0031], the first and second deformable section blocking members 21 and 22 can be slid along the rails 27 and the operation of the power member 29 changes the degree (area and shape) of the blocking plate 28 along the rail 27 to cover the exhaust port), and/or
(iii) the at least one specification element has at least one cover element (Figure 14, shielding plate 28), the at least one cover element is configured to be variably settable and thereby variably settably cover at least a part of the discharge opening and variably settably specify at least a part of the strand cross section by way of at least one uncovered part of the discharge opening during the discharge of the strand of building material ([0031], the operation of the power member 29 changes the degree (area and shape) of the blocking plate 28 along the rail 27 to cover the exhaust port, thereby changing the size and shape of the exhaust port And the shape and size of the concave and convex portions formed in the 3D print strip are changed).
Kozar and Bin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing with a nozzle with an adjustable exit section. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Kozar such that it teaches abovementioned limitations as taught by Bin to change the size and shape of the exhaust port and change the shape and size of the concave and convex portions formed in the 3D print strip ([0031]).
The modified Kozar fails to teach the at least one movement deflecting mechanism is a lever mechanism.
However, Nardick teaches the at least one movement deflecting mechanism is a lever mechanism (Figure 4 actuator lever 35 and Col. 3, lines 26-38).
Kozar and Nardick are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of apparatus for discharging material and control the flow of materials from the discharged end. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the at least one movement deflecting mechanism as taught by the Kozar such that it teaches abovementioned limitations as taught by Nardick to control the opening of the valve member which will result in variably control the shape and size of the discharged end and thus the amount of materials being discharged from the discharged opening (Col. 2, lines 12-19). Furthermore, the combination of the known elements provides a predictable result, namely, another known way to control the size and shape of the discharged end. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding Claim 17, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, wherein the extruder nozzle has, proceeding from the discharge opening in the case of the maximum opening height and/or the maximum opening width, counter to the discharge direction, a taper counter to the first and/or at least one second extent direction (Kozar, Figure 7, the movement of the second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in the combination of first and second direction formed a taper), and the at least one setting motor is arranged below or to the side of the extruder nozzle at the taper (Figures 5 and 7, one of the pluralities of actuator 122 is arranged to the side of the extruder nozzle).
Regarding Claim 22, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, wherein the at least one linear drive is a threaded spindle drive (Kozar, Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises screw-type linear actuators [0045] which comprises a threaded spindle).
Regarding Claim 23, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, wherein the extruder head includes (i) (see rejection above for claim 16).
Regarding Claim 24, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 23, further comprising: an expandable hose, wherein the expandable hose is arranged and designed to seal off the peripheral walls against a peripheral discharge of building material (Kozar, Figure 5, compression clamp 144 helps form a seal between sleeve 126 and feed tube 112 to prevent leakage of extrudable material 140 out from within tube channel 150 and sleeve channel 152).
Regarding Claim 25, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, wherein the extruder head includes (ii) (see rejection above for claim 16).
Regarding Claim 26, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, wherein the extruder head includes (iii) (see rejection above for claim 16).
Regarding Claim 27, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 26, wherein the at least one cover element is configured to be variably settable and thereby separate off the discharged strand of building material from the extruder head at the discharge opening (Bin, Figures 9 and 14, the operation of the power member 29 changes the degree (area and shape) of the blocking plate 28 along the rail 27 to cover the exhaust port, thereby changing the size and shape of the exhaust port [0031]. The blocking plate 28 can be operate to block off the discharge opening for mix A and only allow for the discharge of mix B (Figure 9). Thus, the apparatus as taught by the modified Kozar is capable of being used as intended as discussed above and thus meets all of the structural limitations as claimed).
Regarding Claim 28, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, wherein the extruder nozzle has multiple peripheral walls (Kozar, Figure 5, first sleeve end 186), the peripheral walls peripherally define the discharge opening (Figure 5, the first sleeve end 186 peripherally formed around the discharge opening and defined the discharge opening), and at least one of the multiple peripheral walls is configured to be peripherally pivoted open in or counter to the first extent direction (Figure 5 and [0062]).
Regarding Claim 29, the modified Kozar teaches the extruder head as claimed in claim 16, Kozar fails to teach a deflecting device, wherein the deflecting device is arranged upstream of the discharge opening and is designed to deflect a flow of building material in the direction of the discharge opening.
However, Bin teaches a deflecting device, wherein the deflecting device is arranged upstream of the discharge opening and is designed to deflect a flow of building material in the direction of the discharge opening (see annotated Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Kozar to incorporated a deflecting device, wherein the deflecting device is arranged upstream of the discharge opening and is designed to deflect a flow of building material in the direction of the discharge opening as taught by Bin to achieve different adherence strength at different portion of the manufactured article ([0022]).
Claim(s) 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2019/0001544 (“Kozar et al” hereinafter Kozar) in view of KR101948547 (“Bin et al” hereinafter Bin), machine translation provided in previous Office Action.
Regarding Claim 35, Kozar teaches an extruder head (Figure 5) for extrusion of a strand of building material for 3D printing of a structural part ([0001]), comprising:
an extruder nozzle (Figure 5, apparatus 100), the extruder nozzle having a discharge opening configured to discharge the strand of building material out of the extruder head in a discharge direction (Figure 5, apparatus 110 has an outlet 132. Extrudable material 140 enters sleeve 126 through sleeve inlet 148 and exits sleeve 126 through sleeve outlet 132 [0038]), wherein an entirety of the extruder nozzle is made of metal (Figure 8 and [0097], material of sleeve 126 along plurality of grooves 162 and plurality of sleeve segments 160 comprises non-porous materials, such as metal. Sleeve and sleeve segments formed the entirety of extruder nozzle based on the interpretation of the limitation, thus, it meets the claimed limitation);
at least one specification element (Figure 3, plurality of cable tubes 118, support tube 116, plurality of cables 128, and second sleeve end 188), the at least one specification element being configured to be variably adjustable and thereby variably settably specify at least a part of a strand cross section of the strand of building material being discharged (Figure 5, [0116], pushing plurality of cables 128 in first direction 190, perpendicular to flow direction 184 and toward central axis 194 of sleeve channel 152 , defined by sleeve 126, to move corresponding portions of second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in first direction 190. Plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049].); and
at least one setting apparatus (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises motor. The motor is an electric motor, pneumatic motor, hydraulic motor, electromagnetic motor, or other similar motor [0045]), the at least one setting apparatus being configured to variably set the at least one specification element ([0113]-[00114], operating plurality of actuators 122 promotes automated changing of at least one of the size or the shape of sleeve outlet 132 by pushing or pulling the plurality of cables 128), and the at least one setting apparatus is designed and arranged such that, in a first extent direction which differs from the discharge direction, the extruder head extends below the discharge opening, in case of a maximum opening height, by at most the maximum opening height, and/or, in at least one second extent direction which differs from the discharge direction, extends to a side of the discharge opening, in the case of a maximum opening width, by at most the maximum opening width (see annotated Figure 5, the plurality of actuator 122 pushes and/or pulls the second sleeve end 188 to adjust the width of the discharge opening, from a maximum opening width to a minimum opening width or vice versa [0113]-[00114]),
wherein the at least one setting apparatus has at least one setting motor (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 and [0113]-[00114]), the at least one setting motor is configured to variably set the at least one specification element ([0113]-[00114]), the at least one setting motor is arranged, counter to the first extent direction, above (see annotated Figure 5, plurality of actuator 122 are located above the extruder nozzle), counter to the discharge direction, behind, and/or, counter to the at least one second extent direction, to the side of, the extruder nozzle (the limitation following “or” is interpreted as optional limitation, thus, no patent weight is given), and
the at least one setting apparatus having at least one linear drive (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises screw-type linear actuators [0045] which are example of linear drive motor), the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one linear drive (Figure 5, [0116], pushing plurality of cables 128 in first direction 190, perpendicular to flow direction 184 and toward central axis 194 of sleeve channel 152 , defined by sleeve 126, to move corresponding portions of second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in first direction 190. Plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049]).
Kozar fails to teach the at least one specification element has at least one cover element, the at least one cover element is configured to be variably settable and thereby variably settably cover at least a part of the discharge opening and variably settably specify at least a part of the strand cross section by way of at least one uncovered part of the discharge opening during the discharge of the strand of building material.
However, Bin teaches the at least one specification element has at least one cover element (Figure 14, shielding plate 28), the at least one cover element is configured to be variably settable and thereby variably settably cover at least a part of the discharge opening and variably settably specify at least a part of the strand cross section by way of at least one uncovered part of the discharge opening during the discharge of the strand of building material ([0031], the operation of the power member 29 changes the degree (area and shape) of the blocking plate 28 along the rail 27 to cover the exhaust port, thereby changing the size and shape of the exhaust port and the shape and size of the concave and convex portions formed in the 3D print strip are changed).
Kozar and Bin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing with a nozzle with an adjustable exit section. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Kozar such that it teaches abovementioned limitations as taught by Bin to change the size and shape of the exhaust port and change the shape and size of the concave and convex portions formed in the 3D print strip ([0031]).
Regarding Claim 36, Kozar teaches an extruder head (Figure 5) for extrusion of a strand of building material for 3D printing of a structural part ([0001]), comprising:
an extruder nozzle (Figure 5, apparatus 110), the extruder nozzle having a discharge opening configured to discharge the strand of building material out of the extruder head in a discharge direction (Figure 5, apparatus 110 has an outlet 132. Extrudable material 140 enters sleeve 126 through sleeve inlet 148 and exits sleeve 126 through sleeve outlet 132 [0038]), an entirety of the extruder nozzle is made of metal (Figure 8 and [0097], material of sleeve 126 along plurality of grooves 162 and plurality of sleeve segments 160 comprises non-porous materials, such as metal. Sleeve and sleeve segments formed the entirety of extruder nozzle based on the interpretation of the limitation, thus, it meets the claimed limitation);
at least one specification element (Figure 3, plurality of cable tubes 118, support tube 116, plurality of cables 128, and second sleeve end 188), the at least one specification element being configured to be variably adjustable and thereby variably settably specify at least a part of a strand cross section of the strand of building material being discharged (Figure 5, [0116], pushing plurality of cables 128 in first direction 190, perpendicular to flow direction 184 and toward central axis 194 of sleeve channel 152 , defined by sleeve 126, to move corresponding portions of second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in first direction 190. Plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049]); and
at least one setting apparatus (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises motor. The motor is an electric motor, pneumatic motor, hydraulic motor, electromagnetic motor, or other similar motor [0045]), the at least one setting apparatus being configured to variably set the at least one specification element, and the at least one setting apparatus is designed and arranged such that, in a first extent direction which differs from the discharge direction, the extruder head extends below the discharge opening, in case of a maximum opening height, by at most the maximum opening height, and/or, in at least one second extent direction which differs from the discharge direction, extends to a side of the discharge opening, in the case of a maximum opening width, by at most the maximum opening width (see annotated Figure 5, the plurality of actuator 122 pushes and/or pulls the second sleeve end 188 to adjust the width of the discharge opening, from a maximum opening width to a minimum opening width or vice versa [0113]-[00114]), wherein
the at least one setting apparatus has at least one setting motor (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 and [0113]-[00114]), the at least one setting motor is configured to variably set the at least one specification element ([0113]-[00114]), the at least one setting motor is arranged, counter to the first extent direction, above (see annotated Figure 5, plurality of actuator 122 are located above the extruder nozzle), counter to the discharge direction, behind, and/or, counter to the at least one second extent direction, to the side of, the extruder nozzle (the limitations following “or” are interpreted as optional limitation, thus, no patent weight is given),
the at least one setting apparatus having at least one linear drive (Figure 3, plurality of actuator 122 comprises screw-type linear actuators [0045] which are example of linear drive motor), the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one linear drive (Figure 5, [0116], pushing plurality of cables 128 in first direction 190, perpendicular to flow direction 184 and toward central axis 194 of sleeve channel 152 , defined by sleeve 126, to move corresponding portions of second sleeve end 188 of sleeve 126 in first direction 190. Plurality of cable tubes 118 help to protect, guide, and prevent binding of plurality of cables 128 as they are pulled or pushed by plurality of actuators 122 [0049]), and
Kozar fails to teach the at least one setting apparatus has at least one movement deflecting mechanism, the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one movement deflecting mechanism, and the at least one specification element has at least one inner element, the at least one inner element being configured to be variably settably arranged within an internal flow path of the extruder nozzle and thereby variably settably define an inner edge of a flow cross section of building material within the extruder nozzle and variably settably specify an inner edge of the strand cross section during the discharge of the strand of building material.
However, Bin teaches the at least one setting apparatus has at least one movement deflecting mechanism (Figure 17, rails 27), the at least one setting motor being connected in terms of movement to the at least one specification element by way of the at least one movement deflecting mechanism (Figure 17 and [0031], the first and second deformable section blocking members 21 and 22 can be slid along the rails 27 and the operation of the power member 29 changes the degree (area and shape) of the blocking plate 28 along the rail 27 to cover the exhaust port) and the at least one specification element has at least one inner element (Figure 7, partitioning wall 12), the at least one inner element being configured to be variably settably arranged within an internal flow path of the extruder nozzle (Figure 7, the partitioning wall 12 is located within the inner flow path of the nozzle 100 and [0024]) and thereby variably settably define an inner edge of a flow cross section of building material within the extruder nozzle ([0021], the inner space of the 3D printing nozzle 100 is divided by the partition wall 12) and variably settably specify an inner edge of the strand cross section during the discharge of the strand of building material ([0024]).
Kozar and Bin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of additive manufacturing with a nozzle with an adjustable exit section. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Kozar such that it teaches abovementioned limitations as taught by Bin to change the size and shape of the exhaust port ([0031]) and to have a partitioning wall within the inner flow path of the nozzle as separation barrier to simultaneously discharge two kinds of 3D cement to effectively prevent material separation between the first and second layers of the 3D cemented laminate material ([0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues Kozar fails to discloses that its alleged “an entirety of extruder nozzle is made of metal” since the sleeve and opening of Kozar must be flexible for Kozar to operate.
The Examiner respectfully disagreed. The Examiner is interpreting the limitation “entirety of the extruder nozzle” recited in claim 1 including a discharge opening configured to discharge the material, a plurality of peripheral walls defining the discharge opening and any inner element arranged within the extruder nozzle which is consistent with Figure 8 of the instant application. The Examiner also wish to point out, [0029] of the instant application discloses “the at least one cover element may differ from the extruder nozzle” which indicated that the cover element is not part of the extruder nozzle but part of the extruder head instead. In this case, Kozar discloses material of sleeve 126 along plurality of grooves 162 and plurality of sleeve segments 160 comprises non-porous materials, such as metal (Figure 8 and [0097]). Sleeve and sleeve segments formed the entirety of extruder nozzle based on the interpretation of the limitation, thus, it meets the claimed limitation. Furthermore, the Examiner also wish to point out that some metal, such as aluminum, is known to be flexible, and thus can be used in the apparatus of Kozar to meet the functional limitation of the sleeve to be flexible while being a metal composition.
Conclusion
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754