Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 3/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112(b), though Applicant’s amendments have overcome some of the previous rejections under 35 USC 112(b), indefiniteness issues still remain within the claims. Regarding claims 1, 19 & 21, the phrase “which training mode is limited in time” is still unclear. Applicant argues on pages 10-11 that claims 1, 19, and 21 are definite because the phrase “training mode is limited in time,” as supported by the specification, would be understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art to mean a training mode carried out for a finite, predefined duration rather than continuously or indefinitely. Examiner submits it is still unclear whether the time that the training mode is limited to is determined when it goes into the training mode or whether the limited time of the training mode is due to the stopping or interrupting of the training mode once spasming/fatigue of the user reaches a certain threshold. Applicant’s arguments fail to address this inconsistency, and as such, are found to be unpersuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments against Martin individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection was based on a combination of references in which Gumery and Maceachern provides the supplemental teachings to Martin – i.e., Martin teaches inspiratory muscle training and stopping/reducing training when the patient cannot sustain the load; Gummery teaches respiratory EMG detection and processing, and Maceachern teaches EMG-based fatigue detection and fatigue alerts, which yields the obvious combination of using EMG-based fatigue monitoring in Martin’s training system to determine when to reduce or stop training in accordance with the outstanding rejection. Case in point, regarding the argument that Martin’s “reduce inspiratory flow can occur for numerous reasons”, examiner submits that Maceachern’s fatigue metrics supply a more specific EMG-based signal, so the combination is not relying on flow reduction alone. Likewise with the argument against Gumery individually [“void of any disclosure as to a training mode of respiratory muscles”], Examiner submits that the rejection was based on a combination of references in which Martin provides the training mode and Gumery provides EMG respiratory sensing. As for Maceachern, Examiner submits that Maceachern teaches at least acquiring EMG signals, determining muscle fatigue from EMG, using frequency changes in the EMG signal, and issuing a fatigue alert to prevent overtraining as reflected in the outstanding rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: detection device, breathing influencing device, and control device in claims 1, 19 & 21.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. As described in the specification, the detection device comprises one or more sensors, sensor elements, electrodes or electrode pairs, surface electrodes, pressure sensors, volume sensors, flow sensors, or gas concentration sensors, the breathing influencing device comprises a plurality of sensors that detect the extent of breathing difficulty and convert the breathing difficulty into signals, an inhalation part and an exhalation part, and pneumatic structures such as flexible tubes and a mask that allow the device to be coupled to a person, and the control device is any desired controller or processor or a programmable or programmed hardware component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 19, 21 and associated dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "which training mode is limited in time" at lines 10-11, and “wherein the control device is configured to stop or to interrupt the training mode as a function of the information of the muscle state” at lines 15-16. The phrase "which training mode is limited in time" is unclear because it is unclear whether the time that the training mode is limited to is determined when it goes into the training mode or whether the limited time of the training mode is due to the stopping or interrupting of the training mode once spasming/fatigue of the user reaches a certain threshold. The Examiner respectfully requests clarification of this claim limitation. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that the training mode occurs for a predetermined period of time. Claims 19 & 21 are similarly rejected and interpreted.
Dependent claims are similarly rejected and interpreted as their base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-15, 17-21 & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20090229611, hereinafter referenced as "Martin"--previously cited-- in view of US Patent Application Publication 20100256513, hereinafter referenced as "Gumery"—previously cited—and in further view of US Patent Application Publication 20150272501 –as previously cited--, hereinafter referenced as “Maceachern”.
With respect to claim 1, Martin teaches a device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person, the device comprising:
a detection device (i.e., a sensing assembly) for detecting various parameters such as pressure and flow of the breath of a user (see Martin, par 0039, 0043, 0046, fig. 1);
a breathing influencing device (i.e., a ventilator that supplies breathing gases to a patient) (see Martin, par 0037 & 0039, fig. 1); and
a control device (i.e., a microcontroller assembly processing system) (see Martin, par 0039, 0044, fig. 1) for controlling the detection device and the breathing influencing device,
wherein the control device is further configured to operate the breathing influencing device as a function of the information on the muscle state in a training mode, which is limited in time, with a training intensity (i.e., the breathing influencing device is operated based upon information regarding a person’s muscle state such as inspiratory pressure while training at a predetermined training intensity and for a predetermined period of time) (see Martin, par 0014, 0026, 0035, 0041, 0051),
wherein the control device is configured to stop or to interrupt the training mode as a function of the information on the muscle state, wherein the stopping or the interruption of the training mode is carried out as a function of a signal, wherein the signal indicates at least one of: sustained spasms and muscle fatigue above a threshold considered to be intolerable (i.e., a valve supplying breathing gas to a patient ceases to deliver flow to a patient if a inspiratory training pressure is not maintained by the patient, and further when the patient is experiencing fatigue which inhibits them from sustaining an inspiratory negative pressure, low inspiratory flow rates and tidal volumes are detected by sensors causes the system to automatically implement reducing the inspiratory training pressure) (see Martin, par 0014 & 0046).
Martin further teaches an evaluation module that evaluates patient efforts by using the patient’s muscle state information to determine if the patient is working at the ideal training intensity (see Martin, par 0022), and determining a training mode based upon the patient’s response to training, such as their inspiratory flow rate or tidal volume (see Martin, par 0046).
Martin does not teach that the detection device detects one or more electromyographic signals of a person, nor that the control device is configured to determine in the training mode information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of the person based on the one or more electromyographic signals, nor that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm.
Gumery teaches detecting one or more electromyographic signals of a person (i.e., detecting electromyographic activity of a patient’s thorax to determine the beginning of thoracic inspiratory contractions) (see Gumery, par 0006-0007, 0019, fig. 1), and a control device that is configured to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of the person based on the electromyographic signal (i.e., a digital processor that receives the digitized electromyographic signal and performs analysis on the signals to determine parameters such as delay, sliding averages, or a comparison to a threshold) (see Gumery, par 0025-0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to detect electromyographic signals of a person, and to determine in the training mode information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of a person based upon the electromyographic signal, as taught by Gumery, because detecting electromyographic signals and using them in the control device to determine information on a muscle state of a person provides another metric for analyzing a patient’s respiratory state that can be used to assess what training the person needs (see Gumery, par 0005).
Martin as modified by Gumery fails to teach the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm.
Maceachern teaches systems, methods, and devices for acquiring and processing physiological signals, wherein the systems, methods, and devices acquire a plurality of electrical signals, including EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0049). The acquired EMG signals can be used to track muscle fatigue of a user by measuring decreases in mean and median frequencies of the EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0054). Further, a fatigue alert based upon the tracked fatigue can alert the user of when a fatigue trend is identified, such that the user does not overtrain their muscles (see Maceachern, par 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin as modified by Gumery such that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm because that enables a user to prevent overtraining their muscles when fatigue is detected based upon the user’s EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0054).
With respect to claim 2, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device in accordance with claim 1. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to carry out the training mode such that it is difficult for the person to breathe for a duration of time for training the inspiratory muscles (i.e., the breathing influencing device increases the power of breathing range for the user for a duration of time in order to strengthen the inspiratory muscles of the user) (see Martin, par 0054-0056).
With respect to claim 8, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1.
Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to output parameters of the training mode and/or parameters of a breathing performance of the person during the duration of the training mode or subsequent to the training mode of the breathing influencing device (i.e., as an output variable, the inspiratory training pressure is provided to the user) (see Martin, par 0061-0063),
wherein the control device is further configured to carry out the output optically and/or haptically and/or acoustically and relative to a given target variable for the person (i.e., visual feedback is provided on a ventilator display that allows a user to obtain immediate feedback regarding their training efforts) (see Martin, par 0021, 0060-0063).
With respect to claim 9, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 8. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to allow a training person or the person whose inspiratory muscles are influenced to parameterize an operation of the breathing influencing device in the training mode [0020, 22, 24, 51, 55].
With respect to claim 10, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to provide feedback on a training course and/or attainment of a goal by maneuvers of the breathing influencing device (i.e., the ventilator controlled by the control device provides training parameters that can be displayed during training and used as goals or targets to provide patient feedback) (see Martin, par 0060).
With respect to claim 11, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of signals that indicate an intensity of an expiratory activity (i.e., the patient inspired flow is monitored by the device to determine evidence of fatigue of the patient which determines the muscle state of the patient and the inspiratory training pressure they can endure) (see Martin, par 0046).
With respect to claim 12, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 11. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to determine an acceptable target intensity of the fatigue and/or of the spasm and/or of an expiratory activity, and wherein the acceptable target intensity is configured as a target range or goal that is variable over time (i.e., the patient inspired flow is monitored by the device to determine evidence of fatigue of the patient which determines the muscle state of the patient and the inspiratory training pressure they can endure) (see Martin, par 0046).
With respect to claim 13, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 11. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to determine an acceptable target intensity of the fatigue and/or of the spasm and/or of an expiratory activity, and wherein the acceptable target intensity is configured as a target range or goal that is constant over time (i.e., the patient inspired flow is monitored by the device to determine evidence of fatigue of the patient which determines the muscle state of the patient and the inspiratory training pressure they can endure, which is a pre-selected value) (see Martin, par 0034, 0036, 0042, 0046, 0053).
With respect to claim 14, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of signals that comprise information on diaphragm muscles and/or on intercostal muscles and/or antagonist muscles (i.e., the muscle state information is determined upon the inspiratory muscles that are used to generate airflow into the lungs, such as the diaphragm and intercostal muscles) (see Martin, par 0012).
With respect to claim 15, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1. Martin further teaches that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of a pneumatic signal (i.e., the ventilator has a pneumatic subsystem, and therefore uses pneumatic signals to quantify the muscle state of the person) (see Martin, par 0037, 0044).
With respect to claim 17, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1. Martin further teaches that the control device is further configured to carry out a maneuver to determine the muscle state of the person by targeted stressing (i.e., the inspiratory muscles strength training is done at a high intensity to characterize the muscle state of the patient) (see Martin, par 0017, 0055).
With respect to claim 18, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 17. Martin further teaches that the control device is further configured to output the results of the maneuver and/or parameters of a breathing performance always relative to target values for the person and/or parameters of the training mode (see Martin, par 0021, 0060-0063).
With respect to claim 19, Martin teaches a breathing unit for ventilating a person, comprising a device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of the person, the device comprising:
a detection device (i.e., a sensing assembly) for detecting various parameters such as pressure and flow of the breath of a user (see Martin, par 0039, 0043, 0046, fig. 1);
a breathing influencing device (i.e., a ventilator that supplies breathing gases to a patient) (see Martin, par 0037 & 0039, fig. 1); and
a control device (i.e., a microcontroller assembly processing system) (see Martin, par 0039, 0044, fig. 1) for controlling the detection device and the breathing influencing device,
wherein the control device is further configured to operate the breathing influencing device as a function of the information on the muscle state in a training mode, which training mode is limited in time, with a training intensity (i.e., the breathing influencing device is operated based upon information regarding a person’s muscle state such as inspiratory pressure while training at a predetermined training intensity) (see Martin, par 0014, 0026, 0041, 0051),
wherein the control device is configured to stop or to interrupt the training mode as a function of the information on the muscle state, wherein the stopping or the interruption of the training mode is carried out as a function of a signal, wherein the signal indicates at least one of: sustained spasms and muscle fatigue above a threshold considered to be intolerable (i.e., a valve supplying breathing gas to a patient ceases to deliver flow to a patient if a inspiratory training pressure is not maintained by the patient, and further when the patient is experiencing fatigue which inhibits them from sustaining an inspiratory negative pressure, low inspiratory flow rates and tidal volumes are detected by sensors causes the system to automatically implement reducing the inspiratory training pressure) (see Martin, par 0014 & 0046).
Martin further teaches an evaluation module that evaluates patient efforts by using the patient’s muscle state information to determine if the patient is working at the ideal training intensity (see Martin, par 0022), and determining a training mode based upon the patient’s response to training, such as their inspiratory flow rate or tidal volume (see Martin, par 0046).
Martin does not teach that the detection device detects one or more electromyographic signals of a person, nor that the control device is configured to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of the person based on the one or more electromyographic signals, nor that the control device is configured to determine in the training mode the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm.
Gumery teaches detecting one or more electromyographic signals of a person (i.e., detecting electromyographic activity of a patient’s thorax to determine the beginning of thoracic inspiratory contractions) (see Gumery, par 0006-0007, 0019, fig. 1), and a control device that is configured to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of the person based on the electromyographic signal (i.e., a digital processor that receives the digitized electromyographic signal and performs analysis on the signals to determine parameters such as delay, sliding averages, or a comparison to a threshold) (see Gumery, par 0025-0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin to detect electromyographic signals of a person, and to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of a person based upon the electromyographic signal, as taught by Gumery, because detecting electromyographic signals and using them in the control device to determine information on a muscle state of a person provides another metric for analyzing a patient’s respiratory state that can be used to assess what training the person needs (see Gumery, par 0005).
Martin as modified by Gumery fails to teach the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm.
Maceachern teaches systems, methods, and devices for acquiring and processing physiological signals, wherein the systems, methods, and devices acquire a plurality of electrical signals, including EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0049). The acquired EMG signals can be used to track muscle fatigue of a user by measuring decreases in mean and median frequencies of the EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0054). Further, a fatigue alert based upon the tracked fatigue can alert the user of when a fatigue trend is identified, such that the user does not overtrain their muscles (see Maceachern, par 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin as modified by Gumery such that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm because that enables a user to prevent overtraining their muscles when fatigue is detected based upon the user’s EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0054).
With respect to claim 20, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the breathing unit for ventilating a person in accordance with claim 19. Martin further teaches that the control device is further configured to carry out the training mode as a change in a breathing assist of the person, which change is limited in time (i.e., the breathing unit is used for assisted breathing to prevent or reduce the weakening of inspiratory muscles to reduce the weaning time after treatment with a ventilator), for training the inspiratory muscles of the person (see Martin, par 0026).
With respect to claim 21, Martin teaches a process comprising the steps of:
providing a program code, the program code is executed on a computer, on a processor or on a programmable hardware component (see Martin, par 0066-0069);
providing a device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person, the device comprising:
a detection device (i.e., a sensing assembly) for detecting various parameters such as pressure and flow of the breath of a user (see Martin, par 0039, 0043, 0046, fig. 1);
a breathing influencing device (i.e., a ventilator that supplies breathing gases to a patient) (see Martin, par 0037 & 0039, fig. 1); and
a control device (i.e., a microcontroller assembly processing system) (see Martin, par 0039, 0044, fig. 1) for controlling the detection device and the breathing influencing device,
wherein the control device is further configured to operate the breathing influencing device as a function of the information on the muscle state in a training mode, which training mode is limited in time, with a training intensity (i.e., the breathing influencing device is operated based upon information regarding a person’s muscle state such as inspiratory pressure while training at a predetermined training intensity) (see Martin, par 0014, 0026, 0041, 0051),
wherein the control device is configured to stop or to interrupt the training mode as a function of the information on the muscle state, wherein the stopping or the interruption of the training mode is carried out as a function of a signal, wherein the signal indicates at least one of: sustained spasms and muscle fatigue above a threshold considered to be intolerable (i.e., a valve supplying breathing gas to a patient ceases to deliver flow to a patient if a inspiratory training pressure is not maintained by the patient, and further when the patient is experiencing fatigue which inhibits them from sustaining an inspiratory negative pressure, low inspiratory flow rates and tidal volumes are detected by sensors causes the system to automatically implement reducing the inspiratory training pressure) (see Martin, par 0014 & 0046).
Martin further teaches an evaluation module that evaluates patient efforts by using the patient’s muscle state information to determine if the patient is working at the ideal training intensity (see Martin, par 0022), and determining a training mode based upon the patient’s response to training, such as their inspiratory flow rate or tidal volume (see Martin, par 0046).
Martin does not teach that the execution of the program code enables the detection device to detect an electromyographic signal of a person, nor that the execution of the program code enables the control device to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of the person based on an electromyographic signal, nor that the execution of the program code enables the control device to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm.
Gumery teaches detecting one or more electromyographic signals of a person (i.e., detecting electromyographic activity of a patient’s thorax to determine the beginning of thoracic inspiratory contractions) (see Gumery, par 0006-0007, 0019, fig. 1), and a control device that is configured to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of the person based on the one or more electromyographic signals (i.e., a digital processor that receives the digitized electromyographic signal and performs analysis on the signals to determine parameters such as delay, sliding averages, or a comparison to a threshold) (see Gumery, par 0025-0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the program code of Martin to detect electromyographic signals of a person, and to determine information on a muscle state of an inspiratory muscle of the inspiratory muscles of a person based upon the electromyographic signal, as taught by Gumery, because detecting electromyographic signals and using them in the control device to determine information on a muscle state of a person provides another metric for analyzing a patient’s respiratory state that can be used to assess what training the person needs (see Gumery, par 0005).
Martin in view of Gumery fails to teach that the execution of the program code enables the control device to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm.
Maceachern teaches systems, methods, and devices for acquiring and processing physiological signals, wherein the systems, methods, and devices acquire a plurality of electrical signals, including EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0049). The acquired EMG signals can be used to track muscle fatigue of a user by measuring decreases in mean and median frequencies of the EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0054). Further, a fatigue alert based upon the tracked fatigue can alert the user of when a fatigue trend is identified, such that the user does not overtrain their muscles (see Maceachern, par 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Martin as modified by Gumery such that the control device is configured to determine the information on the muscle state as a function of the one or more electromyographic signals that indicate an intensity of fatigue and/or an intensity of a spasm because that enables a user to prevent overtraining their muscles when fatigue is detected based upon the user’s EMG signals (see Maceachern, par 0054).
With respect to claim 23, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the respiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1, and further teaches the control device is further configured to determine the intensity of the fatigue and/or the intensity of the spasm prior to failure of the inspiratory muscle to perform a respiratory task (i.e., acquired EMG signals can be used to track muscle fatigue of a user by measuring decreases in mean and median frequencies of the EMG signals, and further, a fatigue alert based upon the tracked fatigue can alert the user of when a fatigue trend is identified, such that the user does not overtrain their muscles) (see Maceachern, par 0054).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin as modified by Gumery and Maceachern as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 20150359450 --as previously cited-- hereinafter referenced as "Lee".
With respect to claim 22, Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern teaches the device for influencing the inspiratory muscles of a person in accordance with claim 1. Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern fails to teach the control device is configured, during determination of the information on the muscle state for the one or more electromyographic signals, to carry out an evaluation, weighting, and summary to provide a summarized signal, wherein the summarized signal comprises parameters that are weighted more than other parameters.
Lee teaches a method, system, and computer program product storing a program for physiological signal analysis wherein the system includes a syndrome evaluation module that uses syndrome weight parameters to determine a syndrome grade of small summed intervals of the physiological signal for analysis that are output as a determination result (see Lee, par 0010-0019, 0023-0026, 0029, 0064, 0067, 0077, claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Martin in view of Gumery and in further view of Maceachern such that the control device is configured, during determination of the information on the muscle state for the one or more electromyographic signals, to carry out an evaluation, weighting, and summary to provide a summarized signal, wherein the summarized signal comprises parameters that are weighted more than other parameters because weight parameters in the evaluation of a subject/user can be used as criteria for the physiological condition analysis of the subject/user that uses the system (see Lee, par 0076).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSE CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791