DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
On page 12, applicant alleges that “Watanabe fails to teach or indicate the technical relationship between D10 particle size, D50 particle size and D90 particle size of the hollow particles.” However, no technical relationship between the particles has been claimed. Applicant has only claimed size requirements for the particles. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “technical relationship between” particle sizes) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Objections
4. Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, lines 2-3 should read “the refractive indexa Cauchy model”; lines 6-7 should read “according to the Cauchy model reflect quantities”; lines 8-10 should read “wherein an A value,” “a B value,” and “a C value”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 USC 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, lines 2-3, the applicant claims “refractive index characteristic of the reddening-resistant layer satisfies Equation 6 according to Cauchy model.” It is unclear what “characteristic” of the refractive index the claim is referring to. For the purposes of this Office action, the examiner will interpret the claim to read “refractive index
In lines 6-7, applicant claims “wherein A, B and C … reflect quantity of voids.” It is unclear how A, B, and C “reflect” these quantities—whether the variables directly represent the quantities, or indirectly correspond to them. Since A, B, and C must be decimal values, it is further unclear how a fraction of a void could exist. For the purposes of this Office action, the examiner will interpret the claim to read “
Regarding claim 17, line 2, applicant claims “in the optical laminate.” However, according to claim 1, the optical laminate comprises an optical functional layer, a reddening-resistant layer, and a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer. It is unclear whether “in the optical laminate” refers to one/multiple layers within the laminate, or the laminate as a whole. For the purposes of this Office action, the examiner will interpret such that “in the optical laminate” refers to at least one layer within the laminate.
In line 3, applicant claims “an absolute value … is within 1.2.” It is unclear how a value could be “within” another single value. For the purposes of this Office action, the examiner will interpret “within 1.2” to read “less than or equal to 1.2.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP 2006235336 A, of record) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 20150277012 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a display device ([0189]-[0190]), comprising:
a cover glass ([0190], glass) and
an optical laminate ([0189], polarizing plate) attached to the cover glass,
wherein the optical laminate comprises an optical functional layer ([0189], iodine-based polarizer) and a reddening-resistant layer formed on at least one side of the optical function layer ([0190], anti-reflection film),
wherein the optical functional layer is an iodine-based polarizing layer ([0189]),
wherein the reddening-resistant layer is a void-containing layer or a laminate comprising the void-containing layer ([0025]-[0026], the anti-reflection film includes voids of hollow particles),
wherein the void-containing layer comprises a binder and hollow particles ([0025]),
wherein the hollow particles have a D10 particle diameter in a range from 25 to 50 nm, a D50 particle diameter in a range from 50 to 95 nm and a D90 particle diameter in a range from 100 nm to 200 nm in cumulative curve of particle weights ([0028]).
Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose wherein the optical laminate further comprises a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer for adhesion with the cover glass.
However, Nakamura teaches a similar optical display device, and discloses wherein an optical laminate comprises a pressure-sensitive adhesive layer for adhesion with cover glass ([0013]; [0145]-[0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Watanabe and Nakamura such that a pressure-sensitive adhesive was used, motivated by binding together the components of the device.
Modified Watanabe fails to disclose wherein the reddening-resistant layer is located between the cover glass and the optical functional layer.
However, it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The rearrangement in this case does not modify the operation of the device because simply changing the order of the components with respect to one another would still allow operation of the components to execute their functions. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to change the order of the components, motivated by optimizing the optical characteristics of the device.
Regarding claim 3, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the reddening-resistant layer satisfies Equation 4 below:
[Equation 4]
HL ≤ 0.9 × HP
wherein HL is a thermal diffusivity of a laminate of a polymer film and the reddening-resistant layer formed on one side of the polymer film, and HP is the thermal diffusivity of the polymer film ([0008] and [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the reddening-resistant layer exhibits at least one peak within a scattering vector range of 0.06 to 0.209 nm-1 in a log value graph of scattering intensity of small angle X-ray scattering ([0075] and [0101]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the binder comprises a polymer derived from a polyfunctional acrylate having 2 to 10 polymerizable functional groups ([0151]-[0152], terminal methacrylate group-containing silicone RMS-033).
Regarding claim 11, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the void-containing layer does not comprise solid particles ([0025]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the reddening-resistant layer has a thickness of 200 nm or more ([0187], 6 µm).
Regarding claim 13, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the reddening-resistant layer does not form a surface of an outermost layer in the optical laminate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the optical laminate further comprises an additional layer ([0187], TAC-TD80U), and wherein the reddening-resistant layer is disposed between the additional layer and the optical functional layer (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Watanabe discloses wherein the distance between the reddening-resistant layer and the optical functional layer is 90 µm or less ([0187], TAC-TD80U is 80 µm thick).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, modified Watanabe discloses refractive index characteristic of the reddening-resistant layer satisfies Equation 6 according to Cauchy model,
[Equation 6]
n
λ
=
A
+
B
λ
2
+
C
λ
4
,
wherein A, B and C in Equation 6 according to Cauchy model reflect quantity of voids in the reddening-resistant layer,
wherein A value satisfying Equation 6 of the reddening-resistant layer is 1.1 to 1.5, B value satisfying Equation 6 of the reddening-resistant layer is from 0 to 0.01 and C value satisfying Equation 6 of the reddening-resistant layer is from 0 to 0.001,
wherein n(λ) is the refractive index of the reddening-resistant layer at a wavelength of λ, and λ is any one wavelength in a range of 300 to 1800 nm (Watanabe - [0020]), and
wherein the reddening-resistant layer satisfying Equation 6 has a refractive index in a range of 1.1 to 1.5 based on a wavelength of 550 nm (Nakamura - [0008] and [0028]).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, modified Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose in the optical laminate after a heat-proof test, an absolute value of Δa* in color coordinate a* of CIE L*a*b* space according to Equation 1 is within 1.2,
Δa*=a*a–a*i [Equation 1],
Δa* is a change amount of the color coordinate a*,
a*a is a color coordinate a* value after the heat-proof test, and a*i is a color coordinate a* value before the heat-proof test.
However, due to the nature of optics/optical engineering, the process of optical design includes manipulation of variables such as index of refraction, materials used, system size, lens shapes, and other concerns, in order to allow an optical system to meet its particular utility. This manipulation would normally be considered routine experimentation since the results are governed by known optics/physics equations and are known to be result-effective (unless the particular range of values meets secondary considerations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust modified Watanabe such that the above expression was satisfied, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to change the Δa* value of the system such that the expression was satisfied, motivated by optimizing the versatility of the device in different environments.
9. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Nakamura, and further in view of Tomoi et al. (US 20160263868 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 4, modified Watanabe fails to explicitly disclose wherein the reddening-resistant layer comprises a surface having a surface area ratio of 0.02 or more as measured by an atomic force microscope.
However, Tomoi teaches an optical display device comprising laminate film, wherein the film comprises a surface having a surface area ratio of 0.02 of more as measured by an atomic force microscope ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Watanabe and Tomoi such that the film was to comprise a surface having a surface area ratio of 0.02 of more as measured by an atomic force microscope, motivated by “producing a laminate having high adhesive strength at the interface between layers” ([0035]).
Conclusion
/D. J. J./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/TRAVIS S FISSEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872