DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Status of Claims
Receipt of Arguments/Remarks filed on 03/23/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-10,13 and 22-30 stand cancelled. No claims were amended. Claims 31-33 are new. Claims 1-12,14-21 and 31-33 are pending and under examination.
The following rejections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
However, there is no English translation of the non-English language foreign priority application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant only enjoys priority to PCT/CN2020/077026 filed on 02/27/20.
Claims 11,12,15-18 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (Preprint from “bioRxiv” online journal, 18 Nov 2018), cited on an IDS and in previous office action, in view of the English translation of Guo et al. (CN109022478, Published 18 Dec 2018) cited on an IDS dated 09/26/2025, and Noderer et al. (Mol. Syst Biol. 28 Aug 2014; 10(8):748).
Regarding claims 11,12 and 31, Fan et al. teach circular RNAs are stable due to resistance to the degradation by exonucleases (Intro, page 2) and that some circRNAs have been shown to be translated through IRES driven cap-independent translation, and teach the screening of random 10-nt library using a cell-based reporter system and identified a large number of AU-rich motifs capable of initiating circRNA translation, and that these IRES-like elements are significantly enriched in circRNAs vs linear mRNA and are sufficient to drive robust translation of circRNAs containing solely the coding sequences (Abstract and page 4). Fan et al. teach a library of random 10-nt sequences was inserted before the start codon of circRNA-enriched GFP, and the library was transfected into 293 T cells to generate circRNAs that can be translated into intact GFP, cells with the translated circRNA were recovered and then sequenced the inserted fragments to identify the IRES-like elements that drive circRNA translation, including comparing the resulting 10-mers to extract and identify hexamers that are significantly enriched in the cells with GFP fluorescence (Results, pages 5-6). Fan et al. teach that the enriched sequences are generally AU-rich, and the hexamers have strong dinucleotide biases toward AT, AG and GA (page 6, top). Fan et al. teach the IRES-like element hexamers were inserted into a circRNA reporter for translation of GFP (Figure 1E Legend, page 29). Therefore, Fan et al. teach a circular RNA having IRES-like hexamers inserted into an expression cassette for expressing a foreign protein (the GFP).
Fan et al. does not teach the nucleotide sequence of translation initiation element is at least 90% identical to a sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40.
However, before the effective filing date, Guo et al. teach a need to develop a new DNA element that can enhance protein translation efficiency (paragraphs 0007,0009). Guo et al. teach a nucleic acid construct of formula II from 5’ to 3’: Z1-Z2-Z3-Z4-Z5 (II) wherein Z1,Z2,Z3,Z4 and Z5 are respectively elements used to constitute the construct, each “-“ is a bond or a nucleotide linking sequence; Z1 is the 5’ leading sequence of tobacco mosaic virus Ω sequence, Z2 is an oligomeric chain of adenine deoxynucleotides, Z3 is the translation initiation codon, Z4 is a serine codon, and Z5 is a coding sequence of the exogenous protein, and that Z2,Z3 AND Z4 constitute the Kozak sequence (paragraphs 0033-0043). Guo et al. teach the Kozak sequence used includes 6-12 adenine deoxynucleoside oligomer chains, a translation initiation codon (such as ATG, ATA, ATT, GTG, TTG, etc.) and a serine codon (such as TCT, TCC, TCA,TCG, AGT, AGC, etc.) and is derived from Kluveromyces (paragraph 0123). Guo et al. teach that the novel DNA element contained in the present invention has the potential for further optimization (paragraph 0167).
Guo et al. also teach a vector comprising the nucleic acid construct (paragraphs 0050,0152), and a genetically engineered cell with one or more sites of the genome integrated with the construct, including eukaryotic cells such as yeast cells, and prokaryotic cells including E. coli, Streptomyces, Agrobacterium, higher animal cells, insect cells (paragraphs 0051,0154,0157).
Guo et al. teach a method for high throughput in-vitro synthesis of exogenous proteins by providing the nucleic acid construct in the presence of a yeast in vitro protein synthesis system and incubating the yeast in vitro protein synthesis system for a period of time under suitable conditions thereby synthesizing the exogenous protein (paragraphs 0064,0160,0161). Guo et al. teach when the DNA element of the present invention is used in an in vitro yeast protein synthesis system, the relative light value of the synthesized luciferase activity is enhanced by approximately 22.3 times compared to a DNA element containing only the Ω sequence (paragraph 0164).
Additionally, Noderer et al. teach using fluorescence-activated cell sorting and high-throughput DNA sequencing (FACS-seq) to determine the efficiency of start codon recognition for all possible translation initiation sites (TIS) utilizing start codons, and measured translation from a genetic reporter library (Abstract). Noderer et al. teach a genetic reporter system where different TIS sequences of interest were used to initiate translation of green fluorescent protein, and developed a TIS reporter library by inserting TIS sequences with randomly chosen bases flanking the AUG start codon at positions -6 to -1, +4 and +5 (i.e. NNNNNNAUGNN) (Results page 2, left column, and Fig 1A).
Noderer et al. teach “with some optimization, we believe that FACS-seq can be applied to libraries approaching 106 sequences, with the practical limit being determined by the time required to sort the library. Our ability to analyze such as large number of sequences was dependent on the precision of the readout from our translation reporter….Massively parallel methods like FACS-seq enable the thorough analysis of a desired sequence space such that one can now predict the behavior of all sequence elements employed in the genome” (page 10, right column).
Noderer et al. also teach PD-31 mouse pre-B lymphocytes were transduced with the entire TIS reporter library (Page 2, right column).
Regarding claim 15, Fan et al. teach reporter circRNAs that encode GFP and the IRES-like elements have m6A sites in order to drive circRNA translation (Figure Legend, Figure 2B, page 30).
Regarding claim 16, Fan et al. teach a vector comprising the circular RNA comprising the hexamer inserted into the circRNA GFP reporter (Figure Legend: Fig 1E, page 29).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Fan et al. teach the hexamers were inserted into the circRNA reporter containing GFP, which was transfected into 293T cells (Figure Legend: Fig 1E, page 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to optimize the nucleotide sequence used for translation initiation as taught by Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. in prokaryotic to eukaryotic cell types, as optimization is required in order to increase the amounts of protein produced, to arrive at the circular RNA construct of the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. There would be a reasonable expectation of success, because Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. all pertain to analyzing and optimizing sequences for translation initiation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to optimize the nucleotide sequence used as a translation initiation element in a circular RNA construct comprising a translation initiation element and an expression cassette comprising a nucleotide sequence encoding a foreign protein, because Fan et al. teach screening of a random 10-nt library using a cell-based reporter system and identified a large number of AU-rich motifs capable of initiating circRNA translation, and that these IRES-like elements are significantly enriched in circRNAs and are sufficient to drive robust translation of circRNAs. Additionally, Guo et al. teach a need to develop a new DNA element that can enhance protein translation efficiency and the Kozak sequence used includes 6-12 adenine deoxynucleoside oligomer chains, a translation initiation codon and a serine codon and that the novel DNA element contained in the present invention has the potential for further optimization. Therefore, Guo et al. teach the range of 6-12 adenines in the new DNA element to enhance protein translation and optimization thereof. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would also be motivated by the teachings of Noderer et al., using fluorescence-activated cell sorting and high-throughput DNA sequencing (FACS-seq) to determine the efficiency of start codon recognition for all possible translation initiation sites (TIS) utilizing start codons, and measured translation from a genetic reporter library and that different TIS sequences of interest were used to initiate translation of green fluorescent protein, and developed a TIS reporter library by inserting TIS sequences with randomly chosen bases flanking the AUG start codon at positions -6 to -1, +4 and +5 (i.e. NNNNNNAUGNN). An ordinary artisan could use the teachings of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. regarding screening and analyzing of various lengths and sequences containing different numbers and positions of A’s that provide translation initiation to optimize the translation initiation element in the circular RNA construct to arrive at any of the translation initiation sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 of the instant claims.
Accordingly, the limitations of claims 11,12,15-18 and 31 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments, filed 03/23/2026, have been fully considered and are partially persuasive regarding claim 14 which requires the entire sequence, and therefore the rejection is withdrawn for claim 14. However, the arguments were not found persuasive for claims 11,12 and 15-18 and the rejection stands for these claims.
Applicant argues on page 7 of response that obviousness requires a suggestion of all limitations of a claim, and the office must explain whether a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation that the claimed combination of limitations would be successful when assessing the applied references in the manner suggested. Applicant argues none of the cited references, alone or in combination to teach or suggest the claimed TI element, and that Fan at best teaches IRES-like hexamers while each of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 is a 12-mer, and the office admits that Fan fails to teach a TI element that is at least 90% identical to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. Applicant argues that Guo at best teaches a Kozak sequence comprising (i) a 6-12 adenine deoxynucleoside oligomer chain, (ii) a translation initiation codon (ATG, ATA, ATT, GTG, or TTG); and (iii) a serine codon (TCT, TCC, TCA, TCG, AGT or AGC), and that Guo’s Kozak sequences differ from any of the recited SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. Applicant argues that none of SEQ ID NOs: 1-40 contains a serine codon at the 3’ end and none of SEQ ID NOs: 21-40 contains six consecutive adenine deoxynucleosides at the 5’ end. Applicant argues on page 8, that the combination of Noderer, Yang, Gregorio and/or Pandolfi fails to cure the defects as none of those references are cited for any teachings related to the recited TI element of Guo’s Kozak sequence. Without all of the elements taught there cannot be a reasonable expectation of success in making or using the claimed products.
This is not found persuasive. It is noted that the claimed invention is a circular RNA that has a sequence structure as recited and the T1 element of the RNA has a sequence that has certain sequence identity to recited SEQ ID Nos. The RNA or the sequence as instantly presented do not recite any other structural or functional limitations. Contrary to applicants’ arguments, the instant claimed sequences do not have to include a serine codon to still meet the structure of the sequences taught by Guo et al. In addition, the instant claims do not exclude additional components in the construct, as limiting language such as consisting of is not recited and the TI element only requires 90% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. SEQ ID NO: 1 of Guo et al. is a nucleic acid sequence of the construct (paragraph 0031). Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 1 of Guo et al. with the instant claimed sequences showed that some of the instant claimed sequences meet the structural limitations of at least 90% identity to the claimed SEQ ID NOs.
For example, alignment of SEQ ID NO: 1 of Guo et al. (Qy) with instant SEQ ID NO: 4 (Db) is shown below and the sequence of Guo et al. has at least 90% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 4 and meets the structural limitations of the TI element recited in instant claims 11 and 31.
Therefore, Guo et al. teach a sequence that meets the structural limitations of the claims, and the Examiner maintains there would be a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the instant claims. Obviousness does not require absolute predictability, however, at least some degree of predictability is required. Evidence showing there was no reasonable expectation of success may support a conclusion of nonobviousness. NOTE: MPEP 2143.02.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 that the Office’s rationale of relying on Guo’s teachings is questionable if not entirely erroneous, and that Fan’s teachings are directed to identification of IRES-like hexamers for circular RNA translation, and that a skilled artisan given Fan’s teachings would understand that circular RNAs require special translation initiation elements which are structurally different from those for linear nucleic acid molecules, and that Guo’s Kozak sequences are designed for in vitro translation of linear nucleic acid molecules and the Office fails to explain why a skilled artisan would have been directed to use Guo’s Kozak sequences to replace the IRES-like hexamers for Fan’s circular RNA translation with any reasonable expectation of success. Applicant argues on page 8 that Guo teaches Kozak sequences derived from Kluveromyces and that Kozak sequences for the yeast system differ from those in other species (paragraph 0123). In contrast Fan identified and characterized the IREs-like elements for translation initiation of circRNAs in 293T cells and the Office fails to provide any scientifically supported rationale why a skilled artisan would have been directed to use any yeast Kozak sequences as IRES-like elements in mammalian cells, let alone with any reasonable expectation of success.
This is not found persuasive. Regarding Applicants argument about circular RNA vs. linear RNA translation initiation elements, Fan et al. taught a library of random 10-nt sequences was inserted before the start codon of circRNA-coded GFP26, which was transfected into 293T cells to generate circRNAs that can be translated into intact GFP (Methods and Supplementary Data 1). The green cells with active circRNA translation can be recovered with fluorescence-activated cell sorting (FACS), and used RT-PCR with junction-specific primers to amplify the inserted sequences from circRNAs. The inserted decamers can be subsequently sequenced to identify the IRES-like elements that drive circRNA translation (results page 5). 97 hexamers were identified that were significantly enriched in green cells and the enriched sequences are generally A- and U-rich and have a strong dinucleotide bias toward AC, AG, AT and GA. Most consensus motifs are AU-rich motifs and enriched in 3′-UTR of linear mRNA (Results, page 6). Therefore, the IRES-like sequences identified by Fan et al. were from linear mRNA, and therefore supports there would be a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Applicants argument that the Office has not provided any scientifically supported rationale why a skilled artisan would have been directed to use any yeast Kozak sequences as IRES-like elements in mammalian cells, the Examiner points to the 103 rejection which stated that Guo et al. taught a genetically engineered cell with one or more sites of the genome integrated with the construct, including eukaryotic cells such as yeast cells, and prokaryotic cells including E. coli, Streptomyces, Agrobacterium, as well as higher animal cells and insect cells (See paragraphs 0051,0154,0157 of Guo et al). Guo et al. also teach that the coding sequence of the exogenous protein comes from animals, plants or pathogens (paragraph 0045). Therefore, Guo et al. teach the yeast Kozak sequences can be used in higher animal cells, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so including using the Kozak sequences of Guo et al. in the 293T cells taught by Fan et al. Applicant has not provided any evidence that this would not work, but rather only arguments. In addition, Guo et al. teach the structural requirements of the recited TI element in instant claims 11,12,15-18 and 31. Note MPEP 2112.01: "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705,709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 that the Office’s allegation regarding optimization lacks any scientific basis, and that there is no evidence on the record that the artisan would know how to exactly optimize Guo’s Kozak sequences. Applicant argues Guo’s claim 1 requires its Kozak sequence to have the structure Z2-Z3-Z4 and any changes of Z2, Z3 or Z4 should be avoided as it would have rendered Guo’s sequences unsatisfactory for the intended purpose and therefore is unclear how Guo’s Kozak sequence could have been optimized and arrive at the claimed TI sequences. Guo simply offers a broad intent to optimize, more as an invitation for future experimentation than a concrete plan, without providing specific guidance or clear indication of its likelihood of success.
This is not found persuasive. The instant claimed sequences do not have to include a serine codon to still meet the structure of the sequences taught by Guo et al. In addition, the instant claims do not exclude additional components in the construct, as the claim recites “has” that is considered as comprising and the TI element only requires 90% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 1-40. In addition, the rejection also included the teachings of Norderer et al. which Applicant does not provide any arguments about, for teachings regarding determining efficiency of start codon recognition for all possible translation initiation sites and screened different TIS sequences for translation initiation of GFP and also disclosed that with some optimization that FACS-seq can be applied to libraries approaching 106 sequences and that massively parallel methods like FACS-seq enable thorough analysis of a desired sequence space such that one can now predict the behavior of all sequence elements employed in the genome (office action page 6). Since Fan et al., Guo et al. and Norderer et al. are all geared toward translation initiation elements, screening and identifying sequences that drive translation of a foreign protein, and identifying optimal codons for translation initiation sites, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the instant claims.
Applicant argues on page 9 that one would not arrive at the instant claims given Guo’s teachings that Z2 preferably should be 8-10 adenine oligomer chain, and thus Guo’s preferred sequences would be 14-16 nt (adding the translation initiation codon and serine codon), and Guo’s experimental data suggest that a 10 adenine deoxynucleoside oligomer chain outperformed both a 6 adenine and 8 adenine deoxynucleoside oligomer chain and therefore the most preferred Kozak sequence of Guo would include 16 nt and in contrast the presently claimed TI elements (SEQ ID NOs 1-40) are all 12-mers, and there is no evidence on the record that a skilled artisan would have been directed to optimize Guo’s Kozak sequences to the length of the presently recited TI elements, with any reasonable expectation of success.
This is not found persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments about preferred sequences and embodiments of Guo, the rejection is made under 103 and does not need to exemplify all embodiments, only suggest. “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiment.” In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). MPEP 2123. See In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 553 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (“A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.”). MPEP 2145.
Applicant argues on page 9 that the Office appears to be picking and choosing among elements of the cited references to create a certain combination of elements (applying Guo’s Kozak sequences as TI elements for Fan’s circular RNA’s) and such picking and choosing using the framework of the claims relies upon impermissible hindsight absence some reasonable rationale to do so.
This is not found persuasive. See MPEP 2145 X.A. "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Fan et al. Guo et al., and Noderer et al. as applied to claims 11,12,15-18 and 31 and further in view of Yang et al. (Cell Research 27:626-641, Published 10 March 2017), cited on an IDS, and Gregorio et al. (Methods Protoc., 12 March 2019, 2, 24, pages 1-34).
The teachings of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. as applicable to claims 11,12,15-18 and 31 are described above.
Guo et al. also teach a method for high throughput in-vitro synthesis of exogenous proteins by providing the nucleic acid construct in the presence of a yeast in vitro protein synthesis system and incubating the yeast in vitro protein synthesis system for a period of time under suitable conditions thereby synthesizing the exogenous protein (paragraphs 0064,0160,0161).
Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. do not teach a reaction system that contains other components for the reaction selected from the group consisting of spliceosomes, ribosomes, translation initiation factor EIF4G2, translation initiation factor EIF4A, translation initiation factor EIF4B, and combinations thereof, or that the reaction system and method of synthesizing protein in vitro is cell-free.
However, before the effective filing date, Yang et al. teach circRNAs, vectors encoding a circular RNA construct (Figures 1A and 1C), and transfection of the circRNA into 293 cells (Figure 1B and page 629, left column). Yang et al. teach circRNA translation needs to be initiated through a mechanism fundamentally different from linear mRNA, and that eukaryotic translation is initiated by EIF4 complex (page 630, right column). Yang et al. teach the investigation of EIF4G2 in translation initiation of circRNAs, and found that translation of circRNA may be initiated by an EIF4G2-dependent mechanism similar to other IRESs (page 631, left column). Yang et al. teach that in order to further understand m6A-driven translation of circRNAs, the expression of GFP encoded by circRNA in stable cell lines was examined and found that EIF4G2 depletion significantly reduced protein translation from circRNA, but that overexpression of EIF4G2 increased GFP translation from circRNA by co-expressing EIF4G2 with the circRNA (page 631, left column). Therefore, Yang et al. teach the production of a protein (GFP) by incubating the translation initiation factor EIF4G2 with the circRNA.
Gregorio et al. teach cell-free protein synthesis (CFPS), which is a platform technology that provides new opportunities for protein expression, metabolic engineering, therapeutic development and education, and provide advantages over in vivo protein expression including its open system, the elimination of reliance on living cells, and the ability to focus all system energy on production of the protein of interest (Abstract, page 1). Gregorio et al. teach that metabolic and cytotoxic burdens placed on the cell when trying to produce large quantities of recombinant proteins in vivo are obviated in CFPS, and the CFPS platform is amenable to direct manipulation of the environment of protein production because it is an open system, and in some cases high protein titers can be achieved (Page 2, first paragraph). Gregorio et al. also teach that the CFPS reactions are flexible in their setup, allowing users to utilize a variety of formats to achieve desired protein titer, making CFPS optimally suited for production of difficult-to-synthesize proteins, large proteins, proteins encoded by high GC content genes, membrane proteins and virus-like particles (page 2, first paragraph).
Gregorio et al. teach a variety of commercial CFPS kits are available, including cell-extract-based CFPS kits, and PURExpress kit which is comprised of a reconstitution of purified components of the transcription and translation machinery from E coli, which uses 10 translation factors including ribosomes (Section 2.1, page 4). Gregorio et al. teach CFPS reactions are most easily, quickly and cheaply set up in a batch format because all necessary reactants are added to a single tube and incubated for protein synthesis to occur (Section 2.3, page 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to provide the optimized circular RNA construct of Fan et al. Guo et al. and Noderer et al. in an in vitro cell-free reaction system with the translation initiation factor EIF4G2 with a reasonable expectation of success. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Yang et al. also pertains to circRNAs encoding for GFP and translation initiation, and Gregorio et al. teaches cell-free translation machinery for cell-free protein synthesis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide the translation initiation factor EIF4G2 in a reaction system with the optimized circRNA of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al., because Yang et al. teach circRNA translation needs to be initiated through a mechanism fundamentally different from linear mRNA, and that eukaryotic translation is initiated by EIF4 complex (page 630, right column), and found that translation of circRNA may be initiated by an EIF4G2-dependent mechanism similar to other IRESs (page 631, left column). Yang et al. teach overexpression of EIF4G2 increased GFP translation from circRNA by co-expressing EIF4G2 with the circRNA (page 631, left column). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a cell-free in vitro reaction system comprising the optimized circular RNA construct of Fan et al. Guo et al. and Noderer et al. and translation initiation factor EIF4G2 of Yang et al. because Gregorio et al. teach there are many benefits to using cell-free protein synthesis including its open system, the elimination of reliance on living cells, and the ability to focus all system energy on production of the protein of interest, and production of high protein titers, as well as the availability of a variety of commercial CFPS kits such as the PURExpress kit which is comprised of a reconstitution of purified components of the transcription and translation machinery from E coli, which uses 10 translation factors including ribosomes. Accordingly, the limitations of claim 19 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to provide a method for synthesizing protein in vitro using a cell-free reaction system by incubating the reaction system comprising the optimized circular RNA construct of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. with the EIF4G2 translation initiation factor of Yang et al. based on the protein synthesis method of Guo et al. and cell free protein synthesis taught by Gregorio et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Fan et al. and Yang et al. both pertain to circRNA and Guo et al. teach a method for high throughput in-vitro synthesis of exogenous proteins by providing the nucleic acid construct in the presence of a yeast in vitro protein synthesis system and incubating the yeast in vitro protein synthesis system for a period of time under suitable conditions thereby synthesizing the exogenous protein (paragraphs 0064,0160,0161), and Gregorio et al. teach cell-free translation machinery for cell-free protein synthesis. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motived to provide the translation initiation factor EIF4G2 in a reaction system used in the protein synthesis method with the optimized circRNA of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al., because Yang et al. teach overexpression of EIF4G2 increased GFP translation from circRNA by co-expressing EIF4G2 with the circRNA (page 631, left column). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide a cell-free in vitro method for synthesizing protein because Gregorio et al. teach there are many benefits to using cell-free protein synthesis including its open system, the elimination of reliance on living cells, and the ability to focus all system energy on production of the protein of interest, and production of high protein titers, as well as the availability of a variety of commercial CFPS kits such as the PURExpress kit which is comprised of a reconstitution of purified components of the transcription and translation machinery from E coli, which uses 10 translation factors including ribosomes. Accordingly, the limitations of claim 19 would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al., Guo et al., Noderer et al., Yang et al. and Gregorio et al. as applied to claims 19 and 20 above, and further in view of US 20170298347 (Pandolfi et al.), Published 19 October 2017.
Claim Interpretation: The preamble of claim 21 recites “A kit for synthesizing protein in vitro”, however this is just an intended use and is not being considered a claim limitation.
The teachings Fan et al., Guo et al., Noderer et al., Yang et al. and Gregorio et al. as applicable to claims 19 and 20 are described above.
Additionally, Gregorio et al. teach different cell-free protein synthesis platforms that use different vessels and conditions in Table 3 on page 23. Gregorio et al. teach the E. coli cell free protein synthesis platform can use many reaction vessels and that the yield increases as the surface area to reaction volume ratio increases (Table 3, page 23).
Fan et al., Guo et al., Noderer et al., Yang et al. and Gregorio et al. do not teach that the kit for synthesizing a protein in vitro comprising a first container comprising the construct of claim 11, a second container containing other components required for the synthesizing reaction, and a label or instructions for using the kit.
However, before the effective filing date, Pandolfi et al. teach novel fusion-circular RNAs and complements thereof [0003]. Pandolfi et al. teach a kit including a suitable container containing a nucleic acid sequence (e.g. an expression vector) encoding an f-circRNA or complement thereof and optional reagents for use with the vector, and it may be desirable to provide the components of the kit separately in two or more containers (one container for the expression vector and another for other reagents), and the components can be combined according to instructions provided with the kit [0343].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to provide the optimized circRNA construct of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. and translation initiation factor, EIF4G2 of Yang et al. in an in vitro cell free kit for protein synthesis as taught by Gregorio et al., and to provide multiple containers, one for each of the circRNA construct and the EIF4G2 translation initiation factor, and instructions for using the kit based on the teachings of Pandolfi et al., with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to keep the components (circRNA construct and translation initiation factor(s) separate until the time needed and to combine the components according to the provided instructions as taught by Pandolfi et al. [0343] to use for in vitro cell-free protein synthesis as taught by Gregorio et al.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 8, that the combination of Noderer, Yang, Gregorio and/or Pandolfi fails to cure the defects as none of those references are cited for any teachings related to the recited TI element of Guo’s Kozak sequence. Without all of the elements taught there cannot be a reasonable expectation of success in making or using the claimed products.
This is not found persuasive. The response to Applicant’s arguments regarding Fan et al. and Guo et al. used in the 103 rejection of claims 11,12 and 14-18 has been explained above in the response to arguments section regarding the 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claims 11,12 and 14-18. No new arguments have been presented for these additional references and therefore, claims 19-21 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claims 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Fan et al. Guo et al., and Noderer et al. as applied to claims 11,12,15-18 and 31 and further in view of Yang et al. (Cell Research 27:626-641, Published 10 March 2017), cited on an IDS and cited above.
The teachings of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. as applicable to claims 11,12,15-18 and 31 have been described above.
Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. do not teach wherein the Z2 element is selected from the group consisting of a poly A sequence, multiple cloning site, an aptamer, an miRNA binding site, a translation enhancement element, and a combination thereof.
Before the effective filing date, Yang et al. teach circRNAs, vectors encoding a circular RNA construct (Figures 1A and 1C), and transfection of the circRNA into 293 cells (Figure 1B and page 629, left column). Yang et al. teach N6-methyl adenosine (m6A) is the most abundant internal modification of RNAs in eukaryotes, and that m6A is reported to have multifaceted effects on translation: m6A in the 3’UTRs was found to increase translation efficiency through binding of YTHDF1 (page 627, left column).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the optimized circular RNA construct of Fan et al., Guo et al. and Noderer et al. with m6A’s in the 3’ UTR of the circRNA construct as a translation enhancement element as taught by Yang et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Yang et al. taught that m6A in the 3’UTRs was found to increase translation efficiency, and therefore placing the m6A’s 3’ of the nucleotide sequence encoding the foreign protein in the circRNA construct would have a reasonable expectation of success of increasing translation efficiency of the foreign protein. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Yang et al. also pertains to circRNAs encoding for GFP and translation initiation.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date.
Conclusion
Claims 14 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11,12,15-21,31 and 33 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment (new claims) necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE L SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/RAM R SHUKLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1635