Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Examiner can’t ascertain the meets and bounds of the claims because the Examiner can not determine the structure claimed or how they connect to one another.
It is not clear what the bottom face is.
For purposes of Examination the art is considered to meet the claim limitations.
Regarding claims including 31-32, it is not clear what the meets and bounds of the term shank is and how it would be located in the axial direction as claimed. The term shank is defined as, “a long, narrow part of a tool connecting the handle to the operational end”. The figures show a portion that can be considered a long narrow part connected to the tool or cutting tool face or shank (See figures).
Further, the term “chip discharge flute” as in claim 32 is not defined. It’s not clear what that structure is.
For purposes of Examination the art is considered to meet the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camco (EP 0764760 A2) (cited by applicant), in view of Farrarons (EP 0628369).
Camco (EP 0764760 A2) (cited by applicant), teaches two pillar two cylindrical members with a edge area that has a recess with sides as claimed (See figures).
Caco shows a slanted surface (See figures); meeting claims 18 and rendering obvious claim 16 to optimize the angel for cutting applications.
Camco may not teach all the limitations.
Farrarons (EP 0628369) teaches a cutting tool with substantially identical structure, having a smaller and larger cylindrical members and an inclined section going inward (to the extent defined); compare to applicant’s figures (See figures, including Figure 18).
The front faces (17) of the cutting inserts (15) are machined to form concave teeth (see claims).
Farrarons (EP 0628369) teaches concave and convex shaped inclines (See figures).
Regarding claims 30 at least, Farrarons (EP 0628369) teaches the same polycrystalline diamond coating of the drill hard surface in the same geometry claimed and disclosed in the instant specification to the extent to which the geometry/structure or shape of the claimed figure can be determined (See figures).
Regarding claim 29, it would have bene obvious to provide the Claimed Youngs modulus in order to provide a hard material for a cutting tool without breaking absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 27, the cutting tool is a carbide and coated at the end portion with polycrystalline diamond (see abstract and claims).
Claims do not clearly describe the connection and geometry of the object or materials claimed. It is not clear what the structure claimed is. Specifically, (1) it is not clear what the “inward” incline direction is, (2) where the base material is or what it is; (3) where the incline portion is located.
Further claims to incline portions or walls are not clear.
For purposes of examination the cited art is considered to meet the claim limitations to the extent the claims define a discernable structure.
Regarding claims including 32, it is not clear what the meets and bounds of the term shank is and how it would be located in the axial direction as claimed. The term shank is defined as, “a long, narrow part of a tool connecting the handle to the operational end”. The figures show a portion that can be considered a long narrow part connected to the tool or cutting tool face or shank (See figures).
Further, the term “chip discharge flute” is not defined. It s not clear what that structure is.
The art teaches a cutting edge as claimed (See figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill a the time of filing to provide different inclined geometry to optimize cutting ability (especially within the disclosed embodiments), to the extent to which the claims meaning can be determined.
Regarding the new limitations, to the extent the applicant has properly defined the configuration of the art is considered to teach the same or substantially identical structure, or alternatively it would have been obvious to provide the claimed structure absent a showing of criticality; additionally it is not clear that any difference (which can’t be ascertained based on the claims) it is not clear that there is a functional difference which amounts to a patentable distinction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL H MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783