DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The indicated allowability of claims 7–9 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to SCAPS, SAMLight, and Scanbox. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4 June 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it recites phrases which can be implied (“The invention relates to a method,” and “The invention further relates to a corresponding marking apparatus”). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification is objected to because page 3, lines 18–19, of the as-filed specification mention “claim 1” and “claim 13.” Because claim 2 is canceled, claim 13 will be renumbered. It is best practice to strike mentions of the claims given that they are subject to amendments throughout prosecution.
Page 11, line 1, of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “If a plurality [[a]] of light beams.”
Page 12, line 4, of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “A detail of Fig. 3 [[in]] is shown in Fig. 4.”
The use of the term “QR code” (“Code” should be capitalized), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, ℠, or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 7–9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 should be amended to replace “a constant speed” with “the constant speed” to recognize the antecedent basis for the limitation.
Claim 7, line 5, should be amended to recite “wherein the movement.”
The last four lines of claim 7 are fairly ungrammatical. The Office’s best suggestion is that the passage should be amended to recite, “wherein controlling the scanning means including moving the deflection direction not merely over the marking area, but, to start at the respective starting point, a dummy vector is added to the image line vector, the dummy vector being constituted of only second pixel values.” Other suitable amendments are available.
Claim 8, lines 2–3, should be amended to recite “wherein [[in]] the line by line movement.”
Claim 8, line 7, should be amended to recite “wherein every second line.”
Claim 9 is objected to due to dependency upon an objected-to claim.
Claim Interpretation
Comment: The “light emitting means” of claims 1 and 13, the “scanning means” of claims 1 and 13, and the “control means” of claim 13 are formulated as limitations to be interpreted under § 112(f), but they are not, as the structure attributable to the light emitting means and scanning means are well-known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand the claimed “control means” to be a computer or the like. See MPEP § 2181.I.C.: “Examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to a claim limitation that uses the term ‘means’ or generic placeholder associated with functional language, unless that term is (1) preceded by a structural modifier, defined in the specification as a particular structure or known by one skilled in the art, that denotes the type of structural device (e.g., ‘filters’), or (2) otherwise modified by sufficient structure or material for achieving the claimed function.”
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites that “in the line by line movement of the deflection direction, directly neighboring lines have antiparallel movement directions.” The claim is indefinite because what is meant by “antiparallel” is not completely clear given the specification. Page 12, lines 13–14, with respect to fig. 4, recite that, “to minimize the required marking time, consecutive lines are scanned in antiparallel directions, as shown with the arrows 6.” However, antiparallel lines are in no way depicted in fig. 4, as instead the lines are simply bidirectional, which is incompatible with the definition of antiparallel. Therefore, what Applicant means by “antiparallel” is unclear.
Claim 9 is rejected due to dependency upon a rejected claim.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “in particular” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
It seems that every limitation in claim 4 is now a part of amended claim 1 on its lines 11–15.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by © 2016 SCAPS Scanner Card Interface NPL (cited by Applicant, hereinafter “SCAPS”).
Claims 1 and 4: SCAPS discloses a method for applying a marking within a marking area on an object, the method comprising:
emitting at least one laser beam with a light emitting means (p. 5, “laser scanner system,” “laser radiation,” where a light emitting means is necessary and inherent given the laser radiation); and
moving a scanning means (p. 5, “laser scanning system”) to deflect the light beam line by line over the marking area (shown in fig. 2 on p. 13), while the light emitting means is switched between being activated or deactivated according to the marking to be applied (i.e. according to the bitmap mentioned on p. 12),
wherein the moving the scanning means comprises,
for each start of a line movement of the laser beam over the object,
moving the scanning means such that its deflection direction points at a line starting point outside the marking area (i.e. the initial line at the “aceleration_time” position in fig. 2); and
controlling the speed of the scanning means, wherein the controlling includes accelerating the scanning means such that its deflection direction from the line starting point towards the marking area and moving the deflection direction via the scanning means at a constant speed within the marking area (p. 12 mentions “the marking speed itself,” where table 6 on p. 12 mentions that the “m_acceleration_time” (related to the “aceleration_time” in fig. 2) is the “time until scanner achieves desired speed,” where the marking area ends at the “deceleration_time” area in fig. 2),
wherein the light emitting means is deactivated while the deflection direction points somewhere outside the marking area (pp. 12–13 and fig. 2 are sufficiently clear that marking only occurs at the appropriate marking speed, which is achieved via the acceleration and ends at the start of the deceleration).
Comment: A reference such as the © 2016 SCAPS SAMLight Manual NPL (cited by Applicant) provides a similar and corollary disclosure (pp. 183–184, figure 117) with additional details that the Office would rely on as necessary to show that the SCAPS reference clearly suggests what is claimed here.
Claim 13: SCAPS discloses a marking apparatus for applying a marking within a marking area on an object, the marking apparatus comprising:
a light emitting means for emitting at least one light beam used for marking (p. 5, “laser scanner system,” “laser radiation,” where a light emitting means is necessary and inherent given the laser radiation);
a scanning means for deflecting the light beam (p. 5, “laser scanning system”); and
a control means (SCAPS’s entire disclosure is directed to control means) for moving the scanning means to deflect the light beam line by line over the marking area (shown in fig. 2 on p. 13) while switching the light emitting means between being activated or deactivated according to the marking to be applied (i.e. according to the bitmap mentioned on p. 12),
wherein the control means is adapted to
move the scanning means, for each start of a line movement of the light beam over the object, such that a deflection direction of the scanning means points at a line starting point outside the marking area (i.e. the initial line at the “aceleration_time” position in fig. 2); and
accelerate the scanning means such that its deflection direction is accelerated from the line starting point towards the marking area, wherein the deflection direction is moved within the scanning means with a constant speed within the marking area (p. 12 mentions “the marking speed itself,” where table 6 on p. 12 mentions that the “m_acceleration_time” (related to the “aceleration_time” in fig. 2) is the “time until scanner achieves desired speed,” where the marking area ends at the “deceleration_time” area in fig. 2); and
deactivate the light emitting means while the deflection direction points somewhere outside the marking area (pp. 12–13 and fig. 2 are sufficiently clear that marking only occurs at the appropriate marking speed, which is achieved via the acceleration and ends at the start of the deceleration).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu (CN 1223492 A, cited by the Office).
SCAPS does not explicitly disclose that the constant speed of the deflection direction is set by a constant rotational speed of the scanning means.
However, scanning means are often constituted by rotating mirrors. Xu discloses one such example (mirrors 52, 54). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the scanning means for use with SCAPS as the rotating mirrors of Xu as a well-known means of scanning for laser marking.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the set (constant) marking speed was most likely achieved, or would best be achieved, by a constant speed of the scanning means, since nothing else so simple would be so likely to result in a constant scanning speed of the laser.
Comment: A reference such as Shimada et al. (US Pub. 2008/0193726) discloses an opposite teaching, where it suggests that a constant rotating mirror scanning speed would likely not achieve a desired constant scanning speed because of the distance between the mirrors and the object to be processed. However, this does not diffuse the application of Xu here, since this concern only applies for larger objects that are lased at greater distances, and further, the claimed constant speed would not truly be achieved by a constantly rotating mirror except when laser marking on an exactly curved surface, which is obviously not in play here, and the inexactly constant marking speed from the claimed constant scanning rotation is an ignorable imperfection.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the Pothen et al. NPL (cited by Applicant).
SCAPS does not disclose that an acceleration of a movement of the deflection direction becomes smaller while the deflection direction moves from the line starting point to the marking area.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood, just like the driver of a car trying to stably reach a desired speed quickly (without compensatory braking), that this would be achieved effectively by rapid acceleration at the start followed by slowed acceleration to minimize a jerking motion of the scanning means when the means begins processing the bitmap at the appropriate scanning speed.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the Domino NPL (cited by the Office).
Claim 6: SCAPS does not disclose that one raw image line to be marked is represented by several neighboring lines of the line by line movement of the deflection direction.
However, such technique is already known, as disclosed in Domino, which discloses a lines mode that marks one line of a marking using multiple lines (see p. 5).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mark the single raw image lines for the bitmap of SCAPS using the several neighboring lines taught by Domino to improve the grading and compensate for machine vibration, as taught by Domino.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of © 2016 SCAPS SAMLight Manual NPL (cited by Applicant, hereinafter “SAMLight”).
SCAPS discloses a dummy vector (the acceleration and deceleration lines in fig. 2 constitute dummy vectors).
SCAPS does not explicitly disclose that, from raw image data, several image line vectors are derived, each image line vector being constituted of a string of first pixel values for which the light emitting means are activated and second pixel values for which the light emitting means are deactivated, the movement of the scanning means is determined via the lengths and number of the image line vectors, wherein for controlling the scanning means is to move its deflection direction not merely over the marking area but to start at the respective line starting point, a dummy vector is added to the image line vector, the dummy vector being constituted of only second pixel values.
However, SAMLight discloses that, from raw image data (see figure 113 on p. 181, “the graphic”), several image line vectors are derived (ibid., following naturally from “bitmap” and “lines”), each image line vector being constituted of a string of first pixel values for which the light emitting means are activated and second pixel values for which the light emitting means are deactivated (a natural result of the “black and white mode”), the movement of the scanning means is determined via the lengths and number of the image line vectors (see figure 117 on p. 184).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to join the raw image processing of SAMLight to the scanning taught by SCAPS to provide for image processing to determine the image to be scanned.
Neither SCAPS nor SAMLight (which also discloses some dummy vectors in its figure 117) disclose that the dummy vector is constituted of only second pixel values.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that this is effectively the result of the dummy vectors of SCAPS and SAMLight, since marking does not take place in the acceleration and deceleration lengths.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of the Scanbox NPL (cited by the Office).
Claim 8: SCAPS discloses that, in the line by line movement of the deflection direction, directly neighboring lines have antiparallel movements (see fig. 2; see also the § 112(b) rejection above).
SCAPS does not disclose that, for compensating a displacement between directly neighboring lines due to acceleration of the deflection direction leading to a mark for the respective line being shifted towards its respective line starting point, every second line is displaced by a common adjustable amount.
However, such a feature is taught by Scanbox, which teaches a compensation technique for bidirectional scanning where pixels are shifted in one direction (effectively illustrated in the first figure of the reference).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the line shifting compensation taught by Scanbox into the SCAPS scanning to improve its image-producing accuracy.
Claim 9: Modified as per claim 9 above, Scanbox discloses determining a value for the common adjustable amount that comprises,
producing a reference marking (illustrated in the first figure);
analyzing the reference marking to determine the displacement between directly neighboring lines (the reference discussing analyzing the misalignment shown in the reference markings); and
setting the common adjustable amount dependent on the determine displacement (i.e. the bishift discussed in the reference).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (US Pub. 2004/0241340).
SCAPS does not disclose directing, simultaneously, a plurality of light beams onto the scanning means to simultaneously produce several line marks.
However, Sato discloses a similar reference including direction, simultaneously, a plurality of light beams (16a–16f) onto scanning means (31) to simultaneously produce several line marks (via 17a–17f).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the plurality of light beams with the SCAPS scanning technique to shorten production time.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCAPS as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Xu (CN 1223492 A, cited by the Office).
SCAPS does not disclose that the scanning means comprises at least two deflection elements, in particular mirrors, that are rotatable about different axes, and wherein the two deflection elements are jointly controlled to create the line by line movement.
However, Xu discloses a similar apparatus, including scanning means comprising at least two deflection elements, in particular mirrors (52, 54), that are rotatable about different axes (evident from fig. 3), and wherein
the two deflection elements are jointly controlled to create the line by line movement (illustrated in figs. 16 and 17, disclosing a method conventional to the reference itself, but nonetheless capable with its scanning means).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the scanning means disclosed by Xu to perform the scanning taught by SCAPS as a known and effective scanning means for laser marking.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, SCAPS and other similar references of record show a transverse movement of the deflection direction, but these are done in separate jumps rather than being joined to an acceleration or deceleration phase.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed line starting points depending on the 1st first pixel value of the line using the “skywriting” scanning technique that is otherwise claimed.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761