DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. A. Regarding claim 1, the Applicant argues that the combination of Jen and Khoryaev fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitations in claim 1.
However, the Examiner maintains that the combination of Jen and Khoryaev teaches all the claimed limitations in claim 1 as shown in the rejection below
Therefore, the combination of Jen and Khoryaev is proper and the Office Action is being made FINAL as shown below.
B. The rejection of all the dependent claims, by virtue of their dependency from the independent claims, is also being made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jen (US 2010/0323720), (hereinafter, Jen) in view of Khoryaev et al., (US 2022/0110085), (hereinafter, Khoryaev).
Regarding claim 1, Jen discloses a method for positioning of a wireless communications device performed by a network node (= using UE for handling position measurement, see [0080]), comprising:
determining uplink positioning resources dedicated for uplink-based positioning (= receive an uplink grant assigned by a network, see [0082]; with the assigned uplink grant, transmit positioning measurement report at the resource of the assigned grant, see [0084]; and the assigned uplink grant may be scheduled for the measurement report, see [0086]), the uplink positioning resources being usable by the wireless communications device to transmit an uplink reference signal to facilitate uplink-based positioning of the wireless communications device (= receive an uplink grant assigned by a network, see [0082]; and with the assigned uplink grant, transmit positioning measurement report at the resource of the assigned grant, see [0084]); and
transmitting, to the wireless communications device while the wireless communications device is in connected mode, positioning configuration information indicating at least the uplink positioning resources to be used by the wireless communications device (= assigned UL grant may be configured in a positioning configuration associated with the positioning measurement, assigned upon request by the UE, see [0086]),
and wherein the positioning configuration information is valid for the wireless communications device while within a cell of the network node or a group of cells including the network node (= base station generates reference signal, see [0046]).
Jen explicitly fails to mention facilitating of uplink-based positioning while the wireless communications device is in an “idle mode” and “wherein uplinkbased positioning involves one or more network nodes measuring the uplink reference signal transmitted by the wireless communications device.”
However, Khoryaev, which is an analogous art equivalently discloses that an idle/inactive or connected UE that does not have system information on DL PRS can provide a positioning request (MsgA) to a serving gNB; gNB can indicate configuration to the UE via Positioning Response carrier in MsgB; and the positioning response can contain UL SRS/PRS transmission resources (resource ID), their type (periodic/semi-persistent/aperiodic) and UL SRS/PRS sequence ID etc (see, [0061 and 0054]); and at 316, the serving gNB can provided the calculated coordinate to a UE, see [0062]) and
“wherein uplinkbased positioning involves one or more network nodes measuring the uplink reference signal transmitted by the wireless communications device”(= after transmission of UL PRS by the UE at 514, the gNB sends measurement report based on UL PRS to the location Function at 516, see [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Khoryaev with Jen for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes procedures for an optimized positioning mechanism for UEs in RRC_IDLE of RRC_INACTIVE state, whereby the mechanism helps to reduce latency between a positioning request and coordinated estimation; and helps to spend less power for positioning related signaling as well as spectrum resources.
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned in claim 1, Jen explicitly fails to disclose the method, wherein the uplink positioning resources dedicated for uplink-based positioning in idle mode specify at least one of a time/frequency resource allocated to the uplink positioning resources, a time offset relative to a reference time, a periodicity of the uplink positioning resources, a duration of the uplink positioning resources, or a sequence identifier of the uplink positioning resources.
However, Khoryaev which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the method, wherein the uplink positioning resources dedicated for uplink-based positioning in idle mode specify at least one of a time/frequency resource allocated to the uplink positioning resources, a time offset relative to a reference time, a periodicity of the uplink positioning resources, a duration of the uplink positioning resources, or a sequence identifier of the uplink positioning resources (see, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Khoryaev with Jen for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes procedures for an optimized positioning mechanism for UEs in RRC_IDLE of RRC_INACTIVE state, whereby the mechanism helps to reduce latency between a positioning request and coordinated estimation; and helps to spend less power for positioning related signaling as well as spectrum resources.
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned in claim 1, Jen further discloses the method wherein the uplink positioning resources are specific to the wireless communications device (see, [0025, 0045 and 0051]).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned in claim 1, Jen further discloses the method wherein the uplink positioning resources are assigned to a group of wireless communications devices that includes the wireless communications devic(see, [0025, 0045 and 0051]).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned in claim 1, Jen further discloses the method wherein the positioning configuration information further indicates uplink data resources for downlink-based positioning measurement results, and wherein the method further comprises receiving downlink-based measurement information from the wireless communications device using the uplink data resources (see, 0048-49]).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned in claim 1, Jen explicitly fails to disclose that the method further comprising transmitting an activation signal to the wireless communications device to initiate uplink-based positioning of the wireless communications device while in idle mode.
However, Khoryaev which is an analogous art equivalently disclose that the method further comprising transmitting an activation signal to the wireless communications device to initiate uplink-based positioning of the wireless communications device while in idle mode (see, [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Khoryaev with Jen for the benefit of achieving a communication system that includes procedures for an optimized positioning mechanism for UEs in RRC_IDLE of RRC_INACTIVE state, whereby the mechanism helps to reduce latency between a positioning request and coordinated estimation; and helps to spend less power for positioning related signaling as well as spectrum resources.
Allowable Subject Matter
3 Claims 13-14, 17-21, 24 and 27 are allowable.
CONCLUSION
4. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.