DETAILED ACTION
This Office action regarding Application No. 17/441,777 to Yamashiro et al., assigned to SANYO Electric Co., Ltd., Japan, filed 09/22/2021 and published as U.S. PG Publication 2022/0181740 on 06/09/2022, is in response to applicant’s arguments / remarks and claim amendment filed 11/19/2025. Applicants’ response is fully considered.
Status of the Claims
In the response filed 11/19/2025 applicant has amended claim 1 limitation in line 8, “…fasteners to fasten…” by changing it to “…bolts to fix…” so that the limitation reads, “…bolts to fix the plurality of fastening members to pair of end plates, …”
The status of the claims stands as follows:
Currently Amended 1
Previously Presented 2-6, 8-14
Canceled 7, 17
Withdrawn 15-16
4.5 New 18
Claims 1-6, 8-16, 18 are currently pending. Claims 1-6, 8-14, 18 are under full consideration. Claims 15-16 have been previously withdrawn from consideration for being non-elected claims without traverse in a response to a previously presented restriction/election requirement of the claims.
Withdrawal of Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
The rejection of Claim 1-6, 8-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been overcome by the amendment of independent claim 1. Therefore, the rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections- 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-6, 8-14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terauchi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0321575) in view of Ishibashi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0099027; cited in the information disclosure statement, IDS, filed 02/10/2023)
The following rejection has been presented in the previous non-final Office action dated 08/19/2025 and is maintained in this Office action. It has been modified where appropriate to address the amendment of the claims.
Regarding claim 1 Terauchi discloses a power supply device (Terauchi paragraph 0007, 0027) includes a battery stack 2 having a plurality of battery cells 1 that are stacked (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2, paragraph, 0007, 0027, 0030) and each battery cell is prismatic in shape (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2). The battery cell 1 is a non-aqueous electrolyte battery that is a lithium-ion secondary battery (Terauchi paragraph 0041).
The battery stack has a pair of end plates 3 (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2, paragraph 0030), the endplates disposed at both ends of the battery stack 2 in the stacking direction of the battery stack (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2, paragraph 0048).
The battery stack has binding bars 4 whose both ends are coupled to the pair of end plates 3 and disposed at opposite sides faces of the battery stack to fasten the end plates 3 (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0007, 0030). The binding bars 4 are equivalent to the claimed plurality of fastening members 4.
Terauchi discloses bolts 8 fix the binding bars 4, equivalent to the claimed plurality of fastening member 4, to the pair of end plates 3 (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2), wherein engagement block 5 is fixed to each end plate 3 with bolt 8, so that binding bars 4, equivalent the fastening members, couples to the pair of end plates 3 (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2, paragraph 0056, 0062).
The binding bars 4, equivalent to the fastening members, include a plate-shaped bar 6 and engagement blocks 5 (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0030). The plate-shaped bar 6 extends in the direction of the battery stack 2 (Terauchi Fig. 2). The plate-shaped bar 6 is equivalent to the fastening body 6, and the engagement blocks 5 are equivalent to the locking block 5.
The engagement blocks 5, equivalent to the locking block, are joined to an inner face of the of each of both ends in the longer direction of plate-shaped bar 6 (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0030).
Terauchi discloses each of the end plates 3 include a fitting parts 3a in an outer peripheral surface of each of the end plates 3 and configured to guide engagement 5 into the fitting part (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0030). The end plate 3 also has a stopper 3b close to the battery stack 2 and abutting the engagement block 5 (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0030).
The plate-shaped bar 6 (equivalent to the fastening body), and the engagement block 5, (equivalent to the locking block) are fixed to each other (Terauchi Fig. 2, 5), wherein the fixing area between the two is considered equivalent to the joint interface including fixing hole 6a (Terauchi Fig. 5, paragraph 0064).
Terauchi is silent about the area of the engagement block 5, equivalent to the locking block 5, and plate-shaped bar 6, equivalent to the fastening body, are joined by surfaces defined as a local joint and a surface joint. Terauchi is also silent about the relative area of the two joining surfaces, equivalent to the surface of local joint 15 and to the surface of the surface joint 16.
Ishibashi discloses a battery stack 2 having a plurality of battery cells 1 and a pair of end plates 3 disposed on both ends of the battery stack, and a pair of binding bars 4, and reinforcing member 5 interposed between each end plates 3 and each binding bar 4 (Ishibashi Fig. 1, paragraph 0008, 0037).
The reinforcing member 5 of Ishibashi has a recess 52 forming a joining surface with the binding bar 4 (Ishibashi Fig. 9, paragraph 0063) and the binding bar 4 has the joining area other than contacting the recess 52 of the reinforcing member 5 (Ishibashi Fig. 2, 7), the portion of the binding bar 4 contacting the recess 52 is considered equivalent to the claimed local joint, and the rest of the joining portion of the binding bar 4 is considered equivalent to the claimed surface joint, and the local joint has an area smaller than the surface joint.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the joining of the engagement block and the plate shaped bar of Terauchi by the disclosure of Ishibashi and made the joining of the engagement block and the plate shaped bar at more than one portion such as disclosed by Ishibashi (Ishibashi Fig. 1, 2, 7, paragraph 0008, 0037) and considered equivalent to the claimed local joint and surface joint, for a durable joining of the locking block and the plate-shaped bar. Such is modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 1C).
Regarding claim 3 Terauchi discloses the engagement bock 5 is fixed to plate-shaped bar 6 by welding though the fixing hole 6a (Terauchi paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 4 Terauchi discloses the joining of the engagement block 5 to the plate-shaped bar 6 by spot welding (Terauchi paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 5 Terauchi discloses the engagement block 5 is coupled to plate-shaped bar 6 in the fitted configuration (Terauchi paragraph 0062), the fitting configuration is considered equivalent to the mechanical joining.
Regarding claim 6 the fitted configuration (Terauchi paragraph 0062) is considered equivalent to the joining together of the engagement block 5 and the plate-shaped bar 6 by swaging.
Regarding claim 8 Terauchi discloses the engagement bock 5 is fixed to plate-shaped bar 6 by welding through the fixing hole 6a (Terauchi paragraph 0054), and the fixing holes 6a at a plurality of places (Terauchi Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9 discloses each of the end plates 3 has a screw hole 3c in the bottom part of the fitting part 3a (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0067), and the plate-shaped bar 6 (equivalent to the fastening member) has a through hole 5a, 5b and the through hole coincide with the screw hole 3c when the end plates are joined (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2), and the engagement block 5 is fixed to the fitting part of each of the end plates with a bolt 8 being inserted through the through-hole 5b and being screwed in the internal screw hole 3c (Terauchi Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10 Terauchi discloses the through holes 5a, 5b are multiple disposed on a straight line in the direction of extension of the engagement block 5 (equivalent to the locking block), and the local joint region corresponding to 6a is outside of the plurality of through holes 5a, 5b (Terauchi Fig. 1, 2, 3).
Regarding claim 11 Terauchi discloses the through holes 5a, 5b are multiple disposed on a straight line in the direction of extension of the engagement block 5 (equivalent to the locking block), (Terauchi Fig. 1,2, 3). Terauchi is silent about the local joint region corresponding to 6a is closer to the battery pack relative to the straight line. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have made it closer to the battery pack since such a modification is only change in position without changing its function. And according to the MPEP the Shifting the position of parts within a device will not render the device patentable if the position change does not alter the device's operation (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP § 2144.04 VI. C.).
Regarding claim 12 Terauchi discloses plurality of through-holes in the plate-shape bar 6 (equivalent to the fastening body) and plurality of through-holes 5a, 5b in the engagement block 5 (equivalent to the locking block) (Terauchi Fig. 2, 3). Terauchi is silent about the relative internal diameters of the through-holes for allowing the passing of the head of the bolt and not allowing the passing of the head of the bolt respectively. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have change the diameters of the through-holes to allow the passing of the head of the bolt or not allowing depending on which side of the joining of the head of the bolt is desired since such a change in the diameters of the through-holes and the orientation of the bolt is a matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular orientation of the bolt was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (See MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 13 Terauchi discloses the disclosed power supply device 100 is mounted on the vehicle to supply power to a motor 93 for driving the vehicle, where the power supply device 100 has been placed on the chassis of the car (Terauchi paragraph 0066), the vehicle has a body and a wheel that is drives by the motor of the vehicle (Terauchi Fig. 11, 12). Thus, the vehicle is an electrified vehicle supplied power by the power supply device.
Regarding claim 14 Terauchi discloses the power storge device is equipped with the power supply device, and a power supply controller configured to allow the battery cells to be charged by power from an externally connected device and is configured to control charging to the battery cells (Terauchi paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 18 Terauchi discloses the engagement block 5, considered equivalent to the claimed locking block 5, has a shape of a plate having uniform thickness (Terauchi Fig. 2, paragraph 0007, 0031).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terauchi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0321575) in view of Ishibashi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0099027; cited in IDS filed 02/10/2023) as applied for claim 1, and further in view of Talwar (U.S. PG Publication 2007/0017960)
The following rejection was present in the previous non-final Office action dated 08/19/2025 and is maintained in this Office action.
The discussion of Terauchi and Ishibashi as applied to claim 1 is full incorporated here and relied upon for the limitation of the claim in this section.
Regarding Claim 2 Terauchi discloses the engagement block 5 (equivalent to the locking block) and the plate-shaped bar (equivalent to the fastening body) are joined together by welding (Terauchi paragraph 0062), but Terauchi is silent that they are joined by an adhesive.
Talwar discloses a method of joining at least two adjoining work pieces by friction stir (Talwar Title, Abstract). Talwar discloses that the use of adhesive bonding is increasing dramatically as it eliminates drilling holes and installation of fasteners; it is highly desirable to replace fasteners, fusion, friction, and spot-welded joints with adhesive bonded joints; adhesive bonded joints spread loads more evenly and result in smooth surface conditions; and in particular, adhesive bonding results in the elimination of stress risers at fasteners and weld locations (Talwar paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery stack and method of Terauchi and used adhesive bonding instead of weld joining to join the engagement block 5 (equivalent to the locking block) and the plate-shaped bar (equivalent to fastening body) as disclosed by Talwar for the numerous benefits disclosed by Talwar (Talwar paragraph 0003). Such is a modification is considered the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP 2143 1C).
Response to Argument
In the response filed 11/19/2025 applicant has amended claim 1 wherein the limitation the “fasteners to fasten the plurality of fastening members to the pair of end plates” has been amended, wherein the “fasteners” is replaced by “bolts to fix the plurality of fastening members to the pair of end plates”, and indicated that support for which is found in Fig. 2 and 4 and in paragraph [0065] and [0088] of the instant specification, and has included detailed descriptions of all relevant drawings and written description in the instant specification. Examiner notes, as is noted above in this Office action, the amendment of the claim overcomes the previously presented rejection under 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement of fasteners to fasten plurality of fastening members to the pair of end plats. Therefore, the rejection under 112(a) is withdrawn.
Applicant also traverses the rejection of the claims under 103 over the applied references of Terauchi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0321575) in view of Ishibashi et al. (U.S. PG Publication 2020/0099027) and argues that the combination of the references does not provide for all the aspects of the claims, nor there is any rationale to modify the combination so as to derive the current invention. Applicant presents the text of claim 1 and notes possible advantages the present invention provides. Applicant then argues that Terauchi would not satisfy the instantly claimed three, distinct fastening elements.
Examiner notes that the claimed fastening elements the local joint and the surface joint are not qualified by any physical features or attributes or mode of joining, and are, therefore, given their broadest reasonable interpreted of being mere regions or surfaces or elements of joining the two elements the locking block and the fastening body. The local joint and the surface joint are not qualified by any feature such as the joint is a welding joint or an adhesive joint or any other joint so as to make any distinction between them. Further, no distinction between the local joint and the surface joint of the instant application can be made with similar features of the applied references. It is also noted here that limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim (MPEP 2111). It is, therefore, suggested that the feature “local joint” and “surface joint” are sufficiently qualified to distinguish them from each other, and from the applied prior art.
Therefore, examiner notes that the joint elements local joint and surface joint are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the previously presented rejection is still considered proper, and that the applied references render the claimed invention obvious. The rejection presented in the previous non-final Office action is made final in this Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR M KEKIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722