DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-10 includes applicant disagrees with cited portions of Jeon (US 2019/0253986 A1) teaches for a transmission of the preamble part of the random access signal in the second method, the control circuitry selects the resource from among SS-PBCH blocks associated with a SS-RSRP which is greater than a second SS-RSRP threshold different from the first SS-RSRP threshold, and further includes “paragraphs [0258], [0260], [0352], [0354], [0537], [0538], [0551], and [0558] of Jeon do not mention a "threshold"”, and “Paragraph [0289] of Jeon mentions only one "RSRP threshold". Paragraph [0290] of Jeon mentions only one "RSRP threshold"”, points to CSI-RSRP, and further argues “nothing has been found, or pointed to, in Jeon which teaches or suggests that the first RSRP threshold and the second RSRP threshold mentioned in paragraph [0291] are used in different methods for transmitting a random access signal and/or that the first threshold for the beam failure recovery procedure and the second threshold for the beam failure recovery procedure mentioned in paragraph [0589] are used in different methods for transmitting a random access signal. For example, nothing has been found, or pointed to, in Jeon which teaches or suggests that, for a transmission of a preamble part of a random access signal in a 2-step random access procedure, which the Office asserts corresponds to the "first method" recited in claim 19, resources are selected based on the first RSRP threshold mentioned in paragraph [0291] and that, for a transmission of a preamble part of a random access signal in a 4-step random access procedure, which the Office asserts corresponds to the "second method" recited in claim 19, resources are selected based on the second RSRP threshold mentioned in paragraph [0291]. By way of another example, nothing has been found, or pointed to, in Jeon which teaches or suggests that, for a transmission of a preamble part of a random access signal in a 2-step random access procedure, which the Office asserts corresponds to the "first method" recited in claim 19, resources are selected based on the first threshold for the beam failure recovery procedure mentioned in paragraph [0589] and that, for a transmission of a preamble part of a random access signal in a 4-step random access procedure, which the Office asserts corresponds to the "second method" recited in claim 19, resources are selected based on the second threshold for the beam failure recovery procedure mentioned in paragraph [0589]”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s arguments regarding para. [0258], [0260], [0352], [0354], [0537], [0538], [0551], and [0558] merely point to selected portions without context while the paragraphs are cited to show reference signals include SSB [SS-PBCH]. Further, Jeon discloses reference signals (RSs) include SSB (see cited para. [352, 354], as well as para. [241, 338]), and Jeon measures a RS to determine RSRP (see cited para. 258, as well as para. [338, 356, 360]), thus, Jeon clearly associates “threshold” to RS/SSB/RSRP. Cited para. 289 associates RSRP threshold and SSB and PRACH resource, where PRACH resource includes preamble as described in cited para. 352. Cited para. 290 associates RSRP threshold and SSB and PRACH resource (preamble) for contention based RACH and cited para. 291 RSRP threshold and SSB and PRACH resource (preamble) for contention free RACH, thus different thresholds of RSRP for different RACH methods. The examiner’s stance: is supported at least by cited para. 289 which discloses “The RACH configuration 1210 may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least one of following: … an RSRP threshold for a selection of a SS block and corresponding PRACH resource, … a set of one or more random access preambles for a system information request … a set of one or more random access preambles for beam failure recovery request” [emphasis added], where para. 213 discusses system information request RACH procedure and para. 291 discusses the beam failure RACH procedure, thus, Jeon clearly teaches different RSRP thresholds (threshold for beam failure recovery, and threshold for other than beam failure recovery with the specific example of system information request); is further supported by para. 344 describing contention-free and contention-based PRACH resource with orthogonality; and is further supported by para. [356, 360] explicitly describing first and second threshold related to RSRP. Accordingly, Jeon discloses a first RSRP threshold that is associated with a first method and a second RSRP threshold that is associated with a second method, and teaches for a transmission of the preamble part of the random access signal in the second method, the control circuitry selects the resource from among SS-PBCH blocks associated with a SS-RSRP which is greater than a second SS-RSRP threshold different from the first SS-RSRP threshold as cited in para. [258, 260, 289-291, 352, 354, 537-538, 551, 558, 589] on page 9 of the OA of 11/5/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-21, 23-24, 27, 31-33, 35-36, and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0314812 A1, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/824,135, filed 3/26/2019 and made of record in the OA of 2/2/2024) hereinafter Xu in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2020/0120713 A, all citations are supported by US Provisional Application No. 62/744,043, filed 10/10/2018 and made of record in the OA of 2/2/2024) hereinafter Yerramalli, and further in view of Jeon et al. (US 2019/0253986 A1) hereinafter Jeon.
Regarding claim 19, Xu teaches a terminal (wireless device (UE) 110; para. 44 and Figs. 1-4), comprising: control circuitry (processor 314; para. 66-69 and Fig. 3) that, in operation, selects one of a first method and a second method (UE performs contention free (2 step) random access (RACH) procedure based on condition; para. [138, 160], UE switches [selecting between at least two methods] to 2-step RACH; para. [231, 242], 4 step RACH; para. 160), the first method being for transmitting a random access signal including a preamble part and a data part that is different from the preamble part (2 step / contention free RACH [first method] performed with two messages; para. [135, 160], 2 step RACH includes first message including preamble (Msg1) and uplink transport block (Msg3); para. [228, 231], preamble on Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) [preamble part] and Msg3 on Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) [data part]; para. [100, 143]), the second method being for transmitting the random access signal including the preamble part but not including the data part (4 step / contention based RACH [second method] performed with four messages; para. [135, 160], first message being Msg1 [1220] including preamble while data in Msg3 [third message thus, not included in first message]; para. 137 and Fig. 12, data via PUSCH; para. 100); and transmission circuitry (communication interface 310 including transceiver; para. 71 and Figs. 3-4) that, in operation, transmits the random access signal using a resource based on the selected method (RACH configuration includes set of preambles [resources] for beam failure recover and set of preambles for other than beam failure recovery; para. 136, UE uses contention free / 2 step RACH and corresponding preamble for beam failure recovery request and 4 step RACH and corresponding preamble for other than beam failure recovery; para. 137-139), wherein: transmissions of the random access signal are performed by using power ramping that increases transmit power as compared to a previous transmission (transmissions of preamble by UE at initial preamble power and at power-ramping factor [power increased compared to previous transmission power]; para. [135-136, 140]), a step of the power ramping being indicated by a base station method (power-ramping factor in RACH configuration transmitted by base station; para. 136), for a transmission of the preamble part of the random access signal in the first method (2 step / contention free RACH for beam recovery [first method]; para. 138), the control circuitry selects the resource from among synchronization signal-physical broadcast channel (SS-PBCH) blocks associated with a synchronization signal-Reference Signal Received Power (SS-RSRP) which is greater than a first SS-RSRP threshold (preamble for contention free RACH selected based on synchronization signal (SS) with reference signal received power (RSRP) above threshold; para. 137-139, SS blocks include physical broadcast channel (PBCH); para. 103).
While Xu discloses contention free random access for beam failure and contention based random access [non-beam failure] and RSRP, and target reception power value for preamble, Xu does not explicitly disclose power ramping being different between the first method and the second method, a target receive power value for the preamble part included in the random access signal transmitted by the transmission circuitry is independently configured for the first method and the second method, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yerramalli teaches power ramping being different between the first method and the second method (power ramping size configured differently between 2-step and 4-step RACH procedures; para. 84), a target receive power value for the preamble part included in the random access signal transmitted by the transmission circuitry is independently configured for the first method and the second method, respectively (preambleReceivedTargetPower for 2-step and 4-step RACH configured differently / separately; para. 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yerramalli to the system of Xu, where Xu’s efficient power control (para. 41) along with Yerramalli’s selection of power levels (para. 83-86) improves efficiency during different RACH procedures having different power levels.
While the combination of Xu and Yerramalli discloses different RSRP thresholds for 2-step and 4-step RACH procedures and use of SS-PBCH, the combination of Xu and Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose for a transmission of the preamble part of the random access signal in the second method, the control circuitry selects the resource from among SS-PBCH blocks associated with a SS-RSRP which is greater than a second SS-RSRP threshold different from the first SS-RSRP threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches for a transmission of the preamble part of the random access signal in the second method, the control circuitry selects the resource from among SS-PBCH blocks associated with a SS-RSRP which is greater than a second SS-RSRP threshold different from the first SS-RSRP threshold (RSRP threshold for selection of SSB [different thresholds] and corresponding RACH resource that includes preamble sets including a set of preambles for beam recovery [RSRP thresholds for preambles for beam recovery and RSRP thresholds for preambles other than preambles for beam recovery]; para. [289, 352], contention free / 2-step RACH preamble using RSRP threshold for beam recovery and contention based / 4-step RACH preamble using RSRP threshold [RSRP for non-beam recovery]; para. 290-291, beam recovery configuration includes thresholds [RSRP different from contention based / 4-step RACH] for associated reference signals and preambles; para. 589, reference signals include SSB [SS-PBCH]; para. [258, 260, 354, 537-538, 551, 558]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Jeon to the modified system of Xu and Yerramalli, where Xu and Yerramalli’s modified system along with Jeon’s beam failure recovery (para. [289, 291, 293]) improves efficiency during RACH procedures for beam failure recovery having different power levels.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
While the combination of Xu and Yerramalli discloses selection of preamble based on SS/PBCH with RSRP above threshold and sets of preambles for beam failure recovery / 2-step RACH, the combination of Xu and Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry selects the first method when a channel quality is greater than a first threshold, or selects the second method when the channel quality is equal to or less than the first threshold.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches wherein the control circuitry selects the first method when a channel quality is greater than a first threshold, or selects the second method when the channel quality is equal to or less than the first threshold (initiating [selecting] contention free / 2 step RACH for beam failure; para. 291, beam failure occurs when channel below RSRP threshold; para. 335, examiner notes the use of alternative language here, thus, only one of the alternative features need to be shown by reference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Jeon to the modified system of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon, where Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon’s modified system along with Jeon’s beam failure recovery (para. [289, 291, 293]) improves efficiency during RACH procedures for beam failure recovery having different power levels.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 20.
The combination of Xu and Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose wherein the channel quality is received quality of a downlink signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon teaches wherein the channel quality is received quality of a downlink signal (initiating [selecting] contention free / 2 step RACH for beam failure; para. 291, beam failure occurs when Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) below RSRP threshold; para. 335).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Jeon to the modified system of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon, where Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon’s modified system along with Jeon’s beam failure recovery (para. [289, 291, 293]) improves efficiency during RACH procedures for beam failure recovery having different power levels.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
Xu further teaches wherein the first method begins with a transmission of message A of the first method (2 step RACH includes first message [message A] including preamble (Msg1) and uplink transport block (Msg3); para. [228, 231]), wherein the message A is a message including a preamble (2 step RACH includes first message including preamble (Msg1) and uplink transport block (Msg3); para. [228, 231]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
Xu further teaches reception circuitry that receives message B which is a response to a transmission of message A of the first method (UE receives Msg2 1230 being random access response [message B] for 2 step RACH procedure; para. 141-142 and Fig. 12, 2 step RACH [first method] includes first message [message A]; para. [228, 231]), wherein, the control circuitry considers a random access procedure of the first method is successfully completed (2 step / contention free random access procedure successful; para. 142) when a demodulation process of the message B including identification information of the terminal is successfully performed (2 step RACH procedure successfully completed upon reception of random access response [message B] including Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of UE; para. 142, demodulation of downlink channels; para. [90, 104]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
Xu further teaches wherein after transmitting message A of the first method, when message B which is a response to the message A is not received within a specified period (UE starts window based on timer to monitor for a response [message B] in 2 step / contention free RACH [first method] for beam recovery; para. [136, 141-142]), the transmission circuitry performs a retransmission of the message A of the first method (UE signals multiple preamble transmissions [message A including data for 2 step / contention free RACH] until successful random access response while a timer for random access response is running; para. 141-142).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 19.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 20.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 21.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 23.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24.
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 31.
While Xu discloses target reception power value for preamble, Xu does not explicitly disclose the target receive power value for the preamble part is independently configured for the first method and the second method, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yerramalli teaches the target receive power value for the preamble part is independently configured for the first method and the second method, respectively (preambleReceivedTargetPower for 2-step and 4-step RACH configured differently / separately; para. 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yerramalli to the modified system of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon, where Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon’s modified system along with Yerramalli’s selection of power levels (para. 83-86) improves efficiency during different RACH procedures having different power levels.
Claim(s) 25-26, 29, 37-39, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Yerramalli, further in view of Jeon, and further in view of Freda et al. (US 2019/0320467 A1) hereinafter Freda.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
Xu further teaches reception circuitry (communication interface 310 including transceiver; para. 71 and Figs. 3-4) that receives message B which is a response to a transmission of message A of the first method (UE receives Msg2 1230 being random access response [message B] for 2 step RACH procedure; para. 141-142 and Fig. 12, 2 step RACH [first method random access] includes first message [message A]; para. [228, 231]).
While the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon discloses retransmission of data for negative acknowledgement (NACK), the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein, in response to receiving the message B including a request for retransmission, the transmission circuitry performs a retransmission of the data part without the preamble part.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Freda teaches wherein, in response to receiving the message B including a request for retransmission (eMSG2 [message B] includes hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback for retransmission of data portion; para. [127, 129-130]), the transmission circuitry performs a retransmission of the data part without the preamble part (transceiver 120; para. 32 and Fig. 1B, eRACH procedure retransmits data portion only in response to eMSG2 including HARQ feedback for retransmission of data portion; para. [129-130, 132] and Fig. 5 steps 608-614).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Freda to the modified system of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon, where Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon’s modified system along with Freda’s enhanced random access response (RAR) (para. 302) to improve reliability of latency sensitive services such as ultra-reliable-low latency communications (URLLC) service.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, Jeon, and Freda teaches the limitation of previous claim 25.
Xu further teaches wherein the message B includes uplink resource information (random access response (RAR) [message B] includes uplink resource information including uplink (UL) grant; para. 143).
The combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon does not explicitly disclose the transmission circuitry performs the retransmission of the data part by using the uplink resource information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Freda teaches the transmission circuitry performs the retransmission of the data part by using the uplink resource information (transceiver 120; para. 32 and Fig. 1B, eRAR indicates use of UL grant for retransmission of data of eMSG1; para. 334, eRACH procedure retransmits data portion only in response to eMSG2 including HARQ feedback for retransmission of data portion; para. [129-130, 132] and Fig. 6 steps 608-614).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Freda to the modified system of Xu, Yerramalli, Jeon, and Freda, where Xu, Yerramalli, Jeon, and Freda’s modified system along with Freda’s enhanced random access response (RAR) (para. 302) to improve reliability of latency sensitive services such as ultra-reliable-low latency communications (URLLC) service.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon teaches the limitation of previous claim 19.
While the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon discloses a maximum number of preamble transmissions and switching to different RACH procedures, the combination of Xu, Yerramalli, and Jeon does not explicitly disclose wherein when a random access procedure is not completed after a defined number of message A transmissions of the first method, the control circuitry switches to the second method.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Freda teaches wherein when a random access procedure is not completed after a defined number of message A transmissions of the first method (fallback from eRACH procedure [first method] after allowable retransmission; para. 220, eRACH includes eMSG1 [message A]; para. 127), the control circuitry switches to the second method (UE performs fallback from eRACH procedure [2 step RACH] to legacy RACH procedure [4 step RACH] after allowable retries; para. 220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Freda to the modified system of Xu, Yerramalli, Jeon, and Freda, where Xu, Yerramalli, Jeon, and Freda’s modified system along with Freda’s enhanced random access response (RAR) (para. 302) to improve reliability of latency sensitive services such as ultra-reliable-low latency communications (URLLC) service.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 25.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 26.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 27.
Regarding claim 41, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 29.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peisa et al. (US 2020/0107235 A1) discloses a multi-beam random access procedure in handover execution.
Jung et al. (US 2019/0053171 A1) discloses a method and apparatus for determining transmit power during a random access procedure.
US Provisional Application Nos. 62/824,135 (Xu) and 62/744,043 (Yerramalli) made of record in the OA of 2/2/2024, are not included in the instant OA.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474