DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s response filed on 11/12/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1, 10, 12, 21, 23, 24, and 32 have been amended.
Claim 37 has been added.
Claim(s) 3-6, 9, 11, 14-17, 22, 25-28, and 33-36 have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, 18-21, 23, 24, 29-32, and 37 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks (Page 7-8), filed on 11/12/2025, regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. For further details, please refer to the below explanation.
The applicant states, “A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would have understood that, at most, Guo discusses reporting HARQ-ACK feedback for a PDSCH using the same spatial domain transmission filter as a Msg3 transmission. A POSITA would appreciate that reporting HARQ-CK feedback for a PDSCH is not the same ‘transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request – acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback for MsgB,’ as recited in claim 1. Furthermore, using the same spatial domain transmission filter as Msg3 is different from---and does not teach or suggest---the claimed feature of ‘using a spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA,’ at least because the claimed ‘MsgB’ is part of a ‘two-step random access procedure,’ whereas Msg3 is part of a four-step random access procedure. Accordingly, a POSITA would have found that GUO does not overcome the deficiencies of Li.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the interpretation of Msg1-4 from 4-step RA compared to MsgA-B in 2-step RA being different to the extent as detailed above. One of POSITA would have understood that 2-step RACH is a consolidation of steps from 4-step RACH for the purposes of reducing latency and improving efficiency. MsgA would be the consolidation of Msg1 and Msg3 from 4-step RACH and MsgB would be the consolidation of Msg2 and Msg4 from 4-step RACH. As such, the aspects as detailed by Li and Guo regarding Msg1-4 are significant in the function of the instant application invention process of 2-step RACH. Additionally, Li discloses on ¶0150, “In a second example, a 2-step based RA for NR unlicensed can be utilized as an alternative to a 4-stp based RA to reduce an initial access latency compared to the 4-step RA.”
Given the above disclosures, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-13, 23-24, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2019/0132882 A1), hereinafter “Li” in view of Guo et al. (US 2019/0141693 A1), hereinafter “Guo”.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method comprising:
transmitting a first message of a two-step random access procedure, wherein the first message comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with MsgA (see Li [Fig. 8], Msg1; also see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”; also see Li [Pg. 10, ¶0152], “The transmission contents in step 801 and 802 of the 2-step RA are called Msg1 and Msg2, respectively.”);
receiving a second message of the two-step random access procedure, wherein the second message comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with MsgB (see Li [Fig. 8], Msg2; also see Li [Pg. 2, ¶0012], “… the transceiver to receive a responded random access (Re-RA) message … a second portion of the Re-RA message is carried by a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH.”);
determining a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource based on the second message (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0344], “… a RAR for 2-step RA can include one or multiple of the following fields similar to 4-step RA from Rel-15: RAPID (random access preamble ID), backoff indicator, UL grant, and timing advance command.”); and
transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request – acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback for MsgB on the determined PUCCH resource (see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”).
Li does not explicitly disclose using a spatial domain transmission filter that was used in a last physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA.
Guo discloses using a spatial domain transmission filter that was used in a last physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission, wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA (see Guo [Pg. 23, ¶0336], “As shown in FIG. 20, a gNB (e.g., 102 and 103 illustrated in FIG. 1), at step 2005, sends SystemInformationBlockType1 message, in which a first set of PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK are configured. … At step 2015, the UE reports HARQ-ACK for that PDSCH in one of those PUCCH resources using the same spatial domain transmission filter as Msg3 transmission. …”; also see Guo [Pg. 16, ¶0245], “In one example, the UE may transmit the PUCCH with the spatial domain transmission filter same to the spatial domain filter to transmit msg1 or msg3 successfully during random access procedure.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate using a spatial domain transmission filter that was used in a last physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission as detailed by Guo, onto the system of Li, in order to provide more efficient beam management in the system (see Guo [Pg. 3, ¶0058], “… one or more of the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for efficient beam management in an advanced wireless communication system.”).
Regarding claim 2, Li combined with Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second message comprises an uplink grant field that indicates one or more resources (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0344], “… a RAR for 2-step RA can include one or multiple of the following fields similar to 4-step RA from Rel-15: RAPID (random access preamble ID), backoff indicator, UL grant, and timing advance command.”), and wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the uplink grant field (see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”; Note: It is understood that the UL grant may be either PUCCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (see Li [Pg. 6, ¶0103], “… a processor 340 …”); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (see Li [Pg. 6, ¶0103], “… a memory 360.”):
transmitting a first message of a two-step random access procedure, wherein the first message comprises a physical shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with MsgA (see Li [Fig. 8], Msg1; also see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”; also see Li [Pg. 10, ¶0152], “The transmission contents in step 801 and 802 of the 2-step RA are called Msg1 and Msg2, respectively.”);
receiving a second message of the two-step random access procedure, wherein the second message comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with MsgB (see Li [Fig. 8], Msg2; also see Li [Pg. 2, ¶0012], “… the transceiver to receive a responded random access (Re-RA) message … a second portion of the Re-RA message is carried by a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH.”);
determining a physical uplink channel (PUCCH) resource based on the second message (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0344], “… a RAR for 2-step RA can include one or multiple of the following fields similar to 4-step RA from Rel-15: RAPID (random access preamble ID), backoff indicator, UL grant, and timing advance command.”), and
transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request – acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback for MsgB on the determined PUCCH resource (see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”).
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA.
Guo discloses wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA (see Guo [Pg. 23, ¶0336], “As shown in FIG. 20, a gNB (e.g., 102 and 103 illustrated in FIG. 1), at step 2005, sends SystemInformationBlockType1 message, in which a first set of PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK are configured. … At step 2015, the UE reports HARQ-ACK for that PDSCH in one of those PUCCH resources using the same spatial domain transmission filter as Msg3 transmission. …”; also see Guo [Pg. 16, ¶0245], “In one example, the UE may transmit the PUCCH with the spatial domain transmission filter same to the spatial domain filter to transmit msg1 or msg3 successfully during random access procedure.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate using a spatial domain transmission filter that was used in a last physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission as detailed by Guo, onto the system of Li, in order to provide more efficient beam management for the system (see Guo [Pg. 3, ¶0058], “… one or more of the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for efficient beam management in an advanced wireless communication system.”).
Regarding claim 13, Li combined with Guo discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the second message comprises an uplink grant field that indicates one or more resources (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0344], “… a RAR for 2-step RA can include one or multiple of the following fields similar to 4-step RA from Rel-15: RAPID (random access preamble ID), backoff indicator, UL grant, and timing advance command.”), and
wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the uplink grant field (see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”; Note: It is understood that the UL grant may be either PUCCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 23, Li discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (see Li [Pg. 5, ¶0085], “… a controller/processor 225 …”); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (see Li [Pg. 5, ¶0085], “… a memory 230 …”):
receiving a first message of a two-step random access procedure, wherein the first message comprises a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission associated with MsgA (see Li [Fig. 8], Msg1; also see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”; also see Li [Pg. 10, ¶0152], “The transmission contents in step 801 and 802 of the 2-step RA are called Msg1 and Msg2, respectively.”);
transmitting a second message of the two-step random access procedure, wherein the second message comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission associated with MsgB (see Li [Fig. 8], Msg2; also see Li [Pg. 2, ¶0012], “… the transceiver to receive a responded random access (Re-RA) message … a second portion of the Re-RA message is carried by a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH.”) physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource to monitor based on the second message (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0344], “… a RAR for 2-step RA can include one or multiple of the following fields similar to 4-step RA from Rel-15: RAPID (random access preamble ID), backoff indicator, UL grant, and timing advance command.”); and
receiving hybrid automatic repeat request – acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback for MsgB on the PUCCH resource (see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”).
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback is transmitted using a spatial domain transmission filter, and wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA.
Guo discloses wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback is transmitted using a spatial domain transmission filter, and wherein the spatial domain transmission filter is used for the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA (see Guo [Pg. 23, ¶0336], “As shown in FIG. 20, a gNB (e.g., 102 and 103 illustrated in FIG. 1), at step 2005, sends SystemInformationBlockType1 message, in which a first set of PUCCH resources for HARQ-ACK are configured. … At step 2015, the UE reports HARQ-ACK for that PDSCH in one of those PUCCH resources using the same spatial domain transmission filter as Msg3 transmission. …”; also see Guo [Pg. 16, ¶0245], “In one example, the UE may transmit the PUCCH with the spatial domain transmission filter same to the spatial domain filter to transmit msg1 or msg3 successfully during random access procedure.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback is transmitted using a spatial domain transmission filter that was used in a last physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission as detailed by Guo, onto the system of Li, in order to provide more efficient beam management for the system (see Guo [Pg. 3, ¶0058], “… one or more of the UEs 111-116 include circuitry, programing, or a combination thereof, for efficient beam management in an advanced wireless communication system.”).
Regarding claim 24, Li combined with Guo discloses the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the second message comprises an uplink grant field that indicates the PUCCH resource (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0344], “… a RAR for 2-step RA can include one or multiple of the following fields similar to 4-step RA from Rel-15: RAPID (random access preamble ID), backoff indicator, UL grant, and timing advance command.”; also see Li [Pg. 11, ¶0159], “UE transmits HARQ-ACK information in PUCCH or PUSCH in response to the correct Msg2 reception.”; Note: It is understood that the UL grant may be either PUCCH or PUSCH).
Regarding claim 37, Li combined with Guo discloses the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback comprises transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback for MsgB and the PUSCH transmission associated with MsgA in the same active uplink bandwidth part (BWP) (see Li [Pg. 23, ¶0350], “In another sub-example, in response to a successful 2-step RA, the UE can promote the temporary UE identity to C-RNTI and respond to gNB the HARQ-ACK information through PUCCH/PUSCH.”; also see Li [Pg. 9, ¶0130], “If a UE need to transmit data information and UCI in a same UL subframe, it may multiplex both in a PUSCH. UCI includes Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information, …”; also see Li [Pg. 14, ¶0212], “In on example, the Msg1 for initial access UEs can be contained within the initial active UL bandwidth part (BWP).”; Note: HARQ-ACK is multiplexed with Data (i.e., Msg3 in 4-step RACH)).
Claim(s) 7, 18, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2019/0132882 A1), hereinafter “Li” in view of Guo et al. (US 2019/0141693 A1), hereinafter “Guo” in further view of Jeon et al. (US 2019/0253986 A1), hereinafter “Jeon”.
Regarding claim 7, Li combined with Guo discloses the method of claim 1.
Li combined with Guo does not completely disclose comprising:
receiving a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET); and
using a same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block and for a physical random access channel (PRACH) associated regardless of whether or not the UE is provided a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is provided for the CORESET.
Jeon discloses receiving a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET) (see Jeon [Pg. 9, ¶0240], “A Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) 515 may carry the DCI 517 from a base station to a wireless device.”; also see Jeon [Pg. 21, ¶0325], “A base station (e.g., a gNB) may transmit one or more PDCCHs in one or more control resource sets CORESETs …”); and using a same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block and for a physical random access channel (PRACH) associated regardless of whether or not the UE is provided a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is provided for the CORESET (see Jeon [Pg. 12, ¶0261], “A base station may indicate spatial QCL parameters between DL RS antenna port(s) and DM-RS antenna port(s) of a DL data channel …”; also see Jeon [Pg. 25, ¶0364], “The wireless device may keep monitoring the PDCCH in the first CORESET until receiving an indication for QCL parameters of a second PDCCH in a second CORESET …”; Note: It is understood that the system will use the same QCL parameters unless otherwise signaled to change and is regardless of TCI states as they do not rely on it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate receiving, for a user equipment (UE), a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET); and using a same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties as for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block the UE used for a physical random access channel (PRACH) associated regardless of whether or not the UE is provided a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the CORESET as detailed in Jeon, onto the combined system of Li and Guo, in order to improve system performance as a whole (see Jeon [Pg. 20, ¶0319], “One or more such enhancements may increase system throughput and/or a rate of data transmission, may reduce battery consumption of a wireless device, …”).
Regarding claim 18, Li combined with Guo discloses the apparatus of claim 12.
Li combined with Guo does not completely disclose wherein the operations comprise:
receiving a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET), and
using the same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block and for a physical random access channel (PRACH) association regardless of whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is provided for the CORESET.
Jeon discloses receiving a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET) (see Jeon [Pg. 9, ¶0240], “A Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) 515 may carry the DCI 517 from a base station to a wireless device.”; also see Jeon [Pg. 21, ¶0325], “A base station (e.g., a gNB) may transmit one or more PDCCHs in one or more control resource sets CORESETs …”); and using a same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block the UE used for a physical random access channel (PRACH) associated regardless of whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is provided for the CORESET (see Jeon [Pg. 12, ¶0261], “A base station may indicate spatial QCL parameters between DL RS antenna port(s) and DM-RS antenna port(s) of a DL data channel …”; also see Jeon [Pg. 25, ¶0364], “The wireless device may keep monitoring the PDCCH in the first CORESET until receiving an indication for QCL parameters of a second PDCCH in a second CORESET …”; Note: It is understood that the system will use the same QCL parameters unless otherwise signaled to change and is regardless of TCI states as they do not rely on it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate receiving, for a user equipment (UE), a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET); and using a same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties as for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block the UE used for a physical random access channel (PRACH) associated regardless of whether or not the UE is provided a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the CORESET as detailed in Jeon, onto the combined system of Li and Guo, in order to improve system performance as a whole (see Jeon [Pg. 20, ¶0319], “One or more such enhancements may increase system throughput and/or a rate of data transmission, may reduce battery consumption of a wireless device, …”).
Regarding claim 29, Li combined with Guo discloses the apparatus of claim 23.
Li combined with Guo does not completely disclose wherein the operations comprises transmitting a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET), wherein transmitting the second message comprises transmitting the second message such that the same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties are used for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block and for a physical random access channel (PRACH) association regardless of whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is provided for the CORESET.
Jeon discloses transmitting a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET) (see Jeon [Pg. 9, ¶0240], “A Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) 515 may carry the DCI 517 from a base station to a wireless device.”; also see Jeon [Pg. 21, ¶0325], “A base station (e.g., a gNB) may transmit one or more PDCCHs in one or more control resource sets CORESETs …”); wherein transmitting the second message comprises transmitting the second message such that the same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties are used for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block and for a physical random access channel (PRACH) associated regardless of whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for the CORESET (see Jeon [Pg. 12, ¶0261], “A base station may indicate spatial QCL parameters between DL RS antenna port(s) and DM-RS antenna port(s) of a DL data channel …”; also see Jeon [Pg. 25, ¶0364], “The wireless device may keep monitoring the PDCCH in the first CORESET until receiving an indication for QCL parameters of a second PDCCH in a second CORESET …”; Note: It is understood that the system will use the same QCL parameters unless otherwise signaled to change and is regardless of TCI states as they do not rely on it).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate transmitting a DCI message on a control resource set (CORESET), wherein transmitting the second message comprises transmitting the second message such that the same demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) antenna port quasi co-location properties are used for a synchronization signal (SS) physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block and for a physical random access channel (PRACH) association regardless of whether a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state is provided for the CORESET as detailed in Jeon, onto the combined system of Li and Guo, in order to improve system performance as a whole (see Jeon [Pg. 20, ¶0319], “One or more such enhancements may increase system throughput and/or a rate of data transmission, may reduce battery consumption of a wireless device, …”).
Claim(s) 8, 10, 19-21, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 2019/0132882 A1), hereinafter “Li” in view of Guo et al. (US 2019/0141693 A1), hereinafter “Guo” in further view of Cirik et al. (US 2019/0357262 A1), hereinafter “Cirik”.
Regarding claim 8, Li combined with Guo discloses the method of claim 1.
Li combined with Guo does not completely disclose comprising:
receiving information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field.
Cirik discloses comprising:
receiving information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field (see Cirik [Pg. 33, ¶0280], “The indication by the one or more DCIs may be, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCI … The one or more fields may comprise at least one of: … a PUCCH resource indicator; a TPC command for a scheduled PUCCH; and/or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate comprising: receiving information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field as detailed by Cirik, onto the combined system of Li and Guo, in order to reduce complexity at a wireless device (see Cirik [Pg. 33, ¶0280], “Reusing an existing DCI format … may reduce blind decoding complexity at a wireless device.”).
Regarding claim 10, Li combined with Guo and Cirik discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the MsgB (see Cirik [Pg. 16-17, ¶0152], “The second transmission (e.g., Msg B) may comprise transmitting, by the base station (e.g., base station 120) to a wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) after or in response to the first message, one or more messages indicating an equivalent and/or similar content of Msg2 1230 and contention resolution 1250 of a four-step random access procedure.”) includes a PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field (see Cirik [Pg. 53, ¶0494], “The base station 2702 may send (e.g., transmit) an RAR to the wireless device 2704 (e.g., at time T2), for example, on DL-BWP.”; Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], ”A base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more DCIs indicating an active BWP switching, a BWP activation, a BWP deactivation, or a PDSCH scheduling on the active BWP, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCIs. … a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”), and
wherein transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback comprises using a slot that is based on the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field of the MsgB (see Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], “… a second field indicating a time domain resource assignment; a PUCCH resource indicator; a TPC command for scheduled PUCCH; and/or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”; Note: It is understood the HARQ feedback will be transmitted using a combination of the one or more fields as indicated by the DCI which includes the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.).
Regarding claim 19, Li combined with Guo discloses the apparatus of claim 12.
Li combined with Guo does not completely disclose wherein the operations comprise:
receiving information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field.
Cirik discloses wherein operations comprise:
receiving information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field (see Cirik [Pg. 33, ¶0280], “The indication by the one or more DCIs may be, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCI … The one or more fields may comprise at least one of: … a PUCCH resource indicator; a TPC command for a scheduled PUCCH; and/or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate comprising: receiving information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field as detailed by Cirik, onto the system of Li, in order to reduce complexity at a wireless device (see Cirik [Pg. 33, ¶0280], “Reusing an existing DCI format … may reduce blind decoding complexity at a wireless device.”).
Regarding claim 20, Li combined with Guo and Cirik disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the second message includes a HARQ feedback timing indicator (see Cirik [Pg. 53, ¶0494], “The base station 2702 may send (e.g., transmit) an RAR to the wireless device 2704 (e.g., at time T2), for example, on DL-BWP.”; Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], ”A base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more DCIs indicating an active BWP switching, a BWP activation, a BWP deactivation, or a PDSCH scheduling on the active BWP, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCIs. … a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”).
Regarding claim 21, Li combined with Guo and Cirik disclose the apparatus of claim 12, wherein MsgB (see Cirik [Pg. 16-17, ¶0152], “The second transmission (e.g., Msg B) may comprise transmitting, by the base station (e.g., base station 120) to a wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) after or in response to the first message, one or more messages indicating an equivalent and/or similar content of Msg2 1230 and contention resolution 1250 of a four-step random access procedure.”) includes a PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field (see Cirik [Pg. 53, ¶0494], “The base station 2702 may send (e.g., transmit) an RAR to the wireless device 2704 (e.g., at time T2), for example, on DL-BWP.”; Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], ”A base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more DCIs indicating an active BWP switching, a BWP activation, a BWP deactivation, or a PDSCH scheduling on the active BWP, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCIs. … a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”), and
wherein transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback comprises using a slot that is based on the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field of the MsgB (see Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], “… a second field indicating a time domain resource assignment; a PUCCH resource indicator; a TPC command for scheduled PUCCH; and/or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”; Note: It is understood the HARQ feedback will be transmitted using a combination of the one or more fields as indicated by the DCI which includes the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.).
Regarding claim 30, Li combined with Guo discloses the apparatus of claim 23.
Li combined with Guo does not completely disclose wherein the operations further comprise transmitting information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, and
wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set.
Cirik discloses wherein the operations comprise transmitting information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, and wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field (see Cirik [Pg. 33, ¶0280], “The indication by the one or more DCIs may be, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCI … The one or more fields may comprise at least one of: … a PUCCH resource indicator; a TPC command for a scheduled PUCCH; and/or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein the operations comprise transmitting information that provides a configuration of a PUCCH resource set, wherein the second message includes a PUCCH resource indicator field that identifies a resource within the PUCCH resource set, wherein the determined PUCCH resource is based on the PUCCH resource indicator field as detailed by Cirik, onto the combined system of Li and Guo, in order to reduce complexity at a wireless device (see Cirik [Pg. 33, ¶0280], “Reusing an existing DCI format … may reduce blind decoding complexity at a wireless device.”).
Regarding claim 31, Li combined with Guo and Cirik disclose the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the second message includes a HARQ feedback timing indicator (see Cirik [Pg. 53, ¶0494], “The base station 2702 may send (e.g., transmit) an RAR to the wireless device 2704 (e.g., at time T2), for example, on DL-BWP.”; Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], ”A base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more DCIs indicating an active BWP switching, a BWP activation, a BWP deactivation, or a PDSCH scheduling on the active BWP, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCIs. … a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”).
Regarding claim 32, Li combined with Guo and Cirik disclose the apparatus of claim 23, wherein MsgB (see Cirik [Pg. 16-17, ¶0152], “The second transmission (e.g., Msg B) may comprise transmitting, by the base station (e.g., base station 120) to a wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) after or in response to the first message, one or more messages indicating an equivalent and/or similar content of Msg2 1230 and contention resolution 1250 of a four-step random access procedure.”) includes a PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field (see Cirik [Pg. 53, ¶0494], “The base station 2702 may send (e.g., transmit) an RAR to the wireless device 2704 (e.g., at time T2), for example, on DL-BWP.”; Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], ”A base station may send (e.g., transmit) one or more DCIs indicating an active BWP switching, a BWP activation, a BWP deactivation, or a PDSCH scheduling on the active BWP, for example, based on at least one of: one or more values of one or more fields of the one or more DCIs. … a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”), and
wherein receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback comprises receiving the HARQ-ACK feedback in a slot that is based on the PDSCH-to-HARQ feedback timing indicator field of the MsgB (see Cirik [Pg. 39, ¶0333], “… a second field indicating a time domain resource assignment; a PUCCH resource indicator; a TPC command for scheduled PUCCH; and/or a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.”; Note: It is understood the HARQ feedback will be transmitted using a combination of the one or more fields as indicated by the DCI which includes the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462