DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 10, the Examiner believes that the term “electrochemical CO2 reduction unit” means that a process other than a microbiological electrochemical reaction is being used. Otherwise, Tran would still read on this term under 35 U.S.C. § 103 because of Tran’s paragraph [0007].
Regarding claim 14, the Examiner believes that the term “variance” means the difference between two values in this context, but it may also refer to the statistical concept of calculating variance, which is based on the concept of a standard deviation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 14 recites:
“The system according to claim 10, further comprising a computer implemented system for a fermentation simulation tool for simulating a fermentation method, said computer implemented system comprising at least one processor, a user interface, a control system interface configured to adjust one or more process parameters of the fermentation method, a memory comprising computer readable medium storing instructions for simulating the fermentation method, wherein the instructions for simulating the fermentation method configure the processor for:
(vi) selecting at least one process parameter of the fermentation method, for which current measured values are determined during the course of the fermentation method;
(vii) comparing a respective current measured value of the at least one selected process parameter of the fermentation method with a corresponding estimated value of a model parameter estimated by a process model for the at least one process parameter,
(viii) comparing a variance between the respective current measured value and the corresponding estimated value for the at least one selected process parameter with a predetermined threshold value; and
(ix) changing the at least one defined model parameter employed in the process model when the predetermined threshold value is exceeded by the variance: wherein (vii) to (ix) with a respective changed model parameter are executed until the variance is placed below the predetermined threshold value.”
Claim 15 recites:
“wherein in cases that, after a predetermined number of repetitions of steps (vii) to (ix), the predetermined threshold value is met by the variance, the fermentation method is discontinued and a warning is generated as an output on the user interface.”
The above limitations are an abstract idea without significantly more as the structure of the claim limitation recites only components of a computer and a limitation of the mind:
a computer implemented system
at least one processor
a user interface
a control system interface
a memory comprising computer readable medium
That is, except for the computer components, nothing in the claim limitation precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the independent claim 10 and dependent claims 14-15 only recite the additional elements of those in the system of the parent claim, independent claim 10 such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the system of parent claim 10 are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity when expressed at this level of generality, as evidenced by Tran (US 20130065282) (previously cited) (for the preamble of dependent claims 14-15) or modified Tran (for the body of dependent claims 14-15). The claims are not patent eligible.
The limitations as explained above, are not patent eligible. This is for the following reasons, as listed from claim 14, limitation-by-limitation with an explanation for rejection for each limitation:
The system according to claim 10 – The invention contains a system that is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as evidenced by Tran.
further comprising a computer implemented system – The invention is a generic computer component.
for a fermentation simulation tool for simulating a fermentation method – The invention is a mathematical concept.
said computer implemented system comprising at least one processor, a user interface, a control system interface configured to adjust one or more process parameters of the fermentation method, a memory comprising computer readable medium storing instructions – The invention contains generic computer components.
instructions for simulating the fermentation method – The invention contains mere instructions, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
wherein the instructions for simulating the fermentation method configure – The invention contains mere instructions, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
the processor – The invention contains a generic computer component.
for: (vi) selecting at least one process parameter of the fermentation method, for which current measured values are determined during a course of the fermentation method – This is a mental step as well as mere data gathering.
(vii) comparing a respective current measured value of the at least one selected process parameter of the fermentation method with a corresponding estimated value of a model parameter estimated by a process model for the at least one process parameter – The invention contains a mental step that contains mathematical and computational concepts.
(viii) comparing a variance between the respective current measured value and the corresponding estimated value for the at least one selected process parameter with a predetermined threshold value; and – The invention contains a mental step that has mathematical and computational concepts.
(ix) changing the at least one defined model parameter employed in the process model when the predetermined threshold value is exceeded by the variance: wherein (vii) to (ix) with a respective changed model parameter are executed until the variance is placed below the predetermined threshold value. – The invention contains a mental step that has mathematical and computational concepts.
The limitations as explained above, are not patent eligible. This is for the following reasons, as listed from claim 15, limitation-by-limitation with an explanation for rejection for each limitation:
The system according to claim 14 – The invention contains a system that is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as evidenced by modified Tran.
wherein in cases that, after a predetermined number of repetitions of steps (vii) to (ix) – The invention contains mere instructions, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
the predetermined threshold value is met by the variance, – The invention contains a mental step that has mathematical and computational concepts.
the fermentation method is discontinued and a warning is generated as an output – The invention contains mere instructions, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
on the user interface. – The invention contains a generic computer component.
Relevant topics in the MPEP include multiple sections under § 2106.05.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US 20130065282) (previously cited) in view of Sivasankar (US 20120228147) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, Tran discloses a system for cultivating a microorganism (abstract) capable of utilizing an organic feedstock (paragraphs [0020]-[0021] and [0039]) said system comprising one or more bioreactors for cultivating said microorganism (paragraphs [0020]-[0021] and [0039]), a CO2 capturing unit for capturing CO2 from the one or more bioreactors (paragraph [0041] “at least a portion of the stream exiting the secondary bioreactor is recycled to a primary reactor”), a CO2 reduction unit for reducing the CO2 to an organic feedstock (paragraphs [0018]-[0019]), and one or more conduits to introduce the organic feedstock into the one or more bioreactors (paragraph [0020]).
Tran does not disclose an electrochemical CO2 reduction unit, as interpreted by the Examiner above.
Regarding the limitation “an electrochemical CO2 reduction unit”, Sivasankar discloses this limitation (abstract and paragraph [0006]).
In the analogous art of system and processes for reducing carbon dioxide into formic acid and/or industrial chemicals (acid), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tran with the electrochemical CO2 reduction unit of Sivasankar in order to convert carbon dioxide emissions into fuels and industrial chemicals (Sivasankar, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Tran discloses an electrolysis unit for electrolysis of water (paragraph [0084]) and a conduit to introduce H2 (Fig. 1, element 103) from the electrolysis unit (paragraph [0084]) to the CO2 reduction unit (paragraph [0019]).
Tran does not disclose the electrochemical CO2 reduction unit, as interpreted by the Examiner above.
Regarding the limitation “the electrochemical CO2 reduction unit”, Sivasankar discloses this limitation (abstract and paragraph [0006]).
In the analogous art of system and processes for reducing carbon dioxide into formic acid and/or industrial chemicals (acid), it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Tran with the electrochemical CO2 reduction unit of Sivasankar in order to convert carbon dioxide emissions into fuels and industrial chemicals (Sivasankar, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, Tran discloses one or more conduits for introducing H2 (Fig. 1, element 103) into the one or more bioreactors (paragraphs [0018]-[0019]).
Regarding the limitation “and/or O2”, the limitation is claimed in the alternative. No further rejection is necessary at this time.
Regarding claim 13, Tran discloses one or more inlets for introducing substrate (paragraph [0125] and Fig. 1, elements 102 and 103) into the one or more bioreactors (paragraph [0125]-[0126]) and one or more outlets (paragraphs [0125] and [0127]) for product formed (paragraph [0127] “remove the biomass for lipid extraction”) in the one or more bioreactors (paragraph [0125]-[0126]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US 20130065282) (previously cited) and Sivasankar (US 20120228147) (previously cited) as applied to claim 10, in view of Bluck (US 20120310413) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 14, Tran does not disclose: a computer implemented system for a fermentation simulation tool for simulating a fermentation method, said computer implemented system comprising at least one processor, a user interface, a control system interface configured to adjust one or more process parameters of the fermentation method, a memory comprising computer readable medium storing instructions for simulating the fermentation method, wherein the instructions for simulating the fermentation method configure the processor for:
(vi) selecting at least one process parameter of the fermentation method, for which current measured values are determined during a course of the fermentation method;
(vii) comparing a respective current measured value of the at least one selected process parameter of the fermentation method with a corresponding estimated value of a model parameter estimated by a process model for the at least one process parameter,
(viii) comparing a variance between the respective current measured value and the corresponding estimated value for the at least one selected process parameter with a predetermined threshold value; and
(ix) changing the at least one defined model parameter employed in the process model when the predetermined threshold value is exceeded by the variance: wherein (vii) to (ix) with a respective changed model parameter are executed until the variance is placed below the predetermined threshold value.
Bluck discloses:
a computer implemented system (paragraph [0007]) for a fermentation simulation tool (paragraph [0007]) for simulating a fermentation method (paragraph [0007]), said computer implemented system comprising at least one processor (paragraph [0007], a user interface (paragraph [0007]), a control system interface (paragraph [0006]) configured to adjust one or more process parameters of the fermentation method (paragraph [0006]), a memory (paragraph [0007]) comprising computer readable medium (paragraph [0007]) storing instructions (paragraph [0007] “simulation tool”) for simulating the fermentation method (paragraph [0007]), wherein the instructions for simulating the fermentation method (paragraph [0007]) configure the processor for (paragraph [0007]):
(vi) selecting at least one process parameter of the fermentation method (paragraph [0018] “operating parameter”), for which current measured values are determined during the course of the fermentation method (paragraph [0038] “periodic intervals”);
(vii) comparing a respective current measured value (paragraph [0038]) of the at least one selected process parameter of the fermentation method (paragraph [0018]) with a corresponding estimated value of a model parameter estimated by a process model (paragraph [0038]) for the at least one process parameter (paragraph [0038]),
(viii) comparing a variance between the respective current measured value and the corresponding estimated value for the at least one selected process parameter with a predetermined threshold value (paragraph [0038] “compared to the concentrations and/or values predicted by the first principles model. Any discrepancies may be accounted for” and paragraph [0043]); and
(ix) changing the at least one defined model parameter employed in the process model when the predetermined threshold value is exceeded by the variance (paragraph [0038] “by adjusting the equations and/or rate constants used in the equations … tuning the model through the use of feedback” and paragraph [0047]): wherein (vii) to (ix) with a respective changed model parameter are executed until the variance is placed below a predetermined threshold value (paragraphs [0006], [0038], and [0054] “feedback, which may be provided on a periodic basis and/or aperiodic basis, may allow for improved accuracy of the model” and paragraph [0047] “tuning” the parameters over time for a more accurate model).
In the analogous art of simulated fermentation processes, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the bioreactor system of modified Tran with the simulated fermentation process of Bluck in order to increase quality control for the sake of decreasing the variability in product output between each fermentation run (Bluck, paragraph [0004]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US 20130065282) (previously cited) in view of Sivasankar (US 20120228147) (previously cited) and Bluck (US 20120310413) (previously cited) as applied to claim 14, further in view of Joksch (US 20180082011) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 15, Tran does not disclose wherein in cases that, after a predetermined number of repetitions of (vii) to (ix), the predetermined threshold value is met by the variance, the fermentation method is discontinued and a warning is generated as output on the user interface.
Joksch discloses wherein in cases that, after a predetermined number of repetitions of (vii) to (ix), the predetermined threshold value is met by the variance, the fermentation method is discontinued and a warning is generated as output on the user interface (abstract and paragraph [0015]).
In the analogous art of monitoring bioprocesses, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Tran with the monitoring of bioprocesses of Joksch in order to provide a method for monitoring bioprocesses, in which a prediction quality of a process model employed to predict a bioprocess can be easily evaluated and increased and detected variances between the process model and the course of the bioprocess can be evaluated accordingly in terms of quality (Joksch, paragraph [0009]).
Additional Prior Art References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Walther (US 20100330633) (newly cited) – This invention is an integrated system and process for bioproduct production.
Ng (“Ethanol Production by Thermophilic Bacteria: Fermentation of Cellulosic Substrates by Cocultures of Clostridium thermocellum and Clostridium thermohydrosulfuricum”) (newly cited) – This non-patent literature describes a co-culture of bacteria producing multiple carbon-containing products including carbon dioxide, acetate, and ethanol.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding pgs. 6-10 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, regarding the claim set, claims 1-15 are presented, claims 1-9 are withdrawn, and claims 10-15 are examined.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, these claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101. The claims are currently generally linking an abstract idea related to the field of endeavor with an insignificant post solution activity.
Regarding claim 14, the claim comprises the system according to claim 10, and additionally:
a computer implemented system
at least one processor
a user interface
a control system interface
a memory comprising computer readable medium.
Accordingly, the invention contains a system that is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as evidenced by Tran. The additional components comprise generic computer components that are used for an insignificant post solution activity.
The abstract ideas involved include:
selecting at least one process parameter of the fermentation method …
comparing a respective current measured value of the at least one selected process parameter of the fermentation method with a corresponding estimated value of a model parameter …
comparing a respective current measured value of the at least one selected process parameter of the fermentation method …
comparing a variance between the respective current measured value and the corresponding estimated value …
changing the at least one defined model parameter employed in the process model …
wherein a respective changed model parameter are executed until the variance is placed below the predetermined threshold value.
Regarding claim 15, again, the invention contains a system that is well-understood, routine, and conventional, as evidenced by Tran. The additional components comprise generic computer components (i.e. the user interface) that are used for an insignificant post solution activity (i.e. the fermentation method is discontinued and a warning is generated as an output).
The abstract ideas include:
“wherein in cases that, after a predetermined number of repetitions of steps (vii) to (ix), the predetermined threshold value is met by the variance, the fermentation method is discontinued and a warning is generated as an output on the user interface”.
Therefore, for claims 14-15, there is currently no practical application.
Regarding pgs. 10-12 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, Tran discloses a CO2 capturing unit in paragraph [0041], as a structure to hold the CO2 is inherent to Tran’s disclosure; also, the instant specification discloses that CO2 capturing unit could be any structure (specification, pg. 1, lines 33-34). Tran discloses at least a portion of the stream exiting the secondary bioreactor is recycled to a primary reactor (paragraph [0041]). According to paragraph [0107] of Tran, a skilled person would understand that carbon dioxide could be provided to the fermentation in gas and/or aqueous forms. Tran paragraph [0128] states that CO2 can be recycled back to the primary bioreactor for use as a substrate. This would mean the carbon dioxide would need to be captured through a CO2 capturing unit to be fed back to the primary reactor.
Regarding pg. 12 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, Tran discloses CO2 from an external source, but this could be in addition and in parallel to the structure of the instant invention, due to “comprising” language given in independent claim 10. Applicant attempts to claim a “closed-loop system” but does not use “consisting of” language to constitute a closed system. Adding Sivasankar’s electrochemical unit to Tran would also fall under this argument, as it would be in addition and in parallel to the structure of the instant invention’s claimed matter. In addition the claims never recite “closed loop”.
Regarding pg. 13 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, converting carbon dioxide emissions into fuels and industrial chemicals is a satisfactory motivation for combining Tran with Sivasankar. Formic acid is cited as one potential product from carbon dioxide, and the carbon dioxide is provided by previously cited Tran.
Regarding pgs. 14-17 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, regarding headings, “The Proposed Modification Would Render Tran's System Unfit for Its Intended Purpose”, “There Is No Reasonable Expectation of Success”, “The References Teach Away from the Proposed Combination”, and “The Expected Beneficial Result of the Combination Would Be Undermined”, the following arguments apply:
Sivasankar could be used in parallel with the Tran system, bypassing the primary reactor to emit to the secondary reactor, then any trace oxygen could be removed from the recycle loop stream back to the primary reactor. This structural arrangement would allow Tran to be used for its intended purpose as well as used with the electrochemical CO2 reduction unit of Sivasankar.
There is an expectation of success when combining the output of formic acid from Sivasankar’s structure with the Tran system, as the yeast of Tran can metabolize formic acid. The oxygen-containing portions recycled back to the primary reactor of Tran may or may not need to be deoxygenated as described above in Tran (paragraph [0128]) for the bacteria to survive and output a product as described in Tran. This is because there are microbes that can survive under anaerobic, optionally oxygenated conditions, or even oxygenated conditions.
The references do not teach away from the proposed combination, as Tran only discloses oxygen removal in certain embodiments of the recycle gas stream. Additionally, the references do not teach away from the proposed combination because although there are advantages to biological processing of gas conversion into fuels and chemicals, the chemical catalytic processing of the gas conversion into fuels and chemicals can be accomplished as well (though it may not be preferred in Tran) given the evidence supplied in Tran (paragraph [0007]), regardless of any disclosures in the Additional Prior Art section.
The references do not undermine the expected beneficial result of the combination, as Tran’s system is not strictly anaerobic, but rather removes oxygen only in a preferred embodiment. Even so, Tran’s system’s embodiment uses a deoxygenated gas recycle stream rather for this purpose, so oxygen in one part of the system may be present, while it is not present in the primary reactor.
Regarding pg. 17 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, Bluck reads on the claim limitations as described in the rejection above. Motivation has been given for the combination of references, which together read upon claim 14. Bluck’s fermentation process can read on the yeast fermentation runs of the instant invention (see paragraph spanning pgs. 3-4 of the instant specification about yeast cells).
Regarding pg. 18 of 19 of the Applicant arguments, Joksch reads on the claim limitations as described in the rejection above. The limitations are to be read broadly, allowing for the limitation of a “fermentation method” which could be any method of fermentation (e.g. a set of instructions for a fermentation or even the simulation of the fermentation) to be discontinued.
Regarding the dependent claims, these claims are rejected for the same reason as the base claim upon which they depend.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.G.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799