DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 7 August 2025 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-7 and 9-19 are cancelled.
Claim 20 is new.
Claims 1, 8, and 20 are pending.
The amendment to claim 1 has overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejection has been withdrawn.
The amendment to claim 1 has overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (KR 10-2017-0134163—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Ha”) and as evidenced by Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”) set forth in the last Office action have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (KR 10-2017-0134163—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Ha”) and as evidenced by Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”) set forth in the last Office action have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montenegro et al. (US 2018/0019405 A1) (hereafter “Montenegro”) in view of Nomura et al. (US 2009/0160323 A1) (hereafter “Nomura”).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 20: Montenegro discloses an organic light emitting device comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an organic material layer provided between the positive electrode and the negative electrode {Device E5 described in Table 6 and paragraph [0187]-[0190]}.
The organic material layer comprises a hole transport layer {(Device E5 described in Table 6 and paragraph [0187]-[0190]), (Device E5: The hole transport layer comprises compound HIL3, which can be equated with a hole transport material, because it transports holes.), (p. 196, Compound HIL3)}.
The organic material layer comprises an electron blocking material, having the structure shown below {(Device E5 described in Table 6 and paragraph [0187]-[0190]), (Device E5: The electron blocking layer comprises compound HTM4, which can be equated with an electron blocking material, because it is the material of the electron blocking layer.), (p. 198, Compound HTM4)}.
Montenegro does not teach a similar device except for having a hole transport material that is not the instant Compound EB25.
However, Montenegro teaches for the hole-injection or hole-transport layers, any suitable charge transport materials can be used {paragraph [0135]}.
Nomura teaches the compounds for use in hole transporting layers of organic light emitting devices {paragraphs [0017]-[0018], [0021], and [0129]}.
Nomura exemplifies the compound shown below {paragraph [0015]}.
Nomura teaches that the compounds of the disclosure of Nomura enable devices having low power usage and low driving voltage {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Montenegro such that compound HIL3 of Montenegro was replaced with the compound of Nomura, shown above, as hole transport material of Montenegro, based on the teaching of Nomura. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a compound known to enable organic light-emitting devices having low power usage and low driving voltage, as taught by Nomura.
In the resultant device, the only hole transporting material is the compound of Nomura, and the only electron blocking material is the compound HTM4 of Montenegro.
Montenegro as modified by Nomura teaches the claimed invention above but fails to teach that the hole transport material has a HOMO absolute value of 4.30 eV to 4.60 eV, and a reversibility value (Ir/If) of 0.83 or higher within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at the time of measuring cyclic voltage current, and the electron blocking material has a reversibility value (Ir/If) of more than 0.5 within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at time of measuring cyclic voltage current. It is reasonable to presume that the hole transport material having a HOMO absolute value of 4.30 eV to 4.60 eV, and a reversibility value (Ir/If) of 0.83 or higher within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at the time of measuring cyclic voltage current, and the electron blocking material having a reversibility value (Ir/If) of more than 0.5 within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at time of measuring cyclic voltage current is inherent to Montenegro as modified by Nomura. Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials and like processes which would result in the claimed property.
The compound of Nomura has a structure similar to that of the instant Compound HTL1 {p. 74}. Table 2 of the specification teaches that compound HTL1 has a HOMO energy level of 4.57 eV. Table 2 of the specification additionally teaches that compound HTL1 has a reversibility value (Ir/If) of 0.889 within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at the time of measuring cyclic voltage current. Given the structural similarities between the compound of Nomura and the instant compound HTL1 (the only difference being a phenyl vs a biphenyl as a substituent of the amine N), the HOMO energy level of the compound of Nomura would be similar to that of the instant Compound HTL1 and the compound of Nomura would have a reversibility (Ir/If) similar to 0.889 within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at the time of measuring cyclic voltage current.
The compound HTM4 of Montenegro has the structure of the instant compound EB11 {p. 77}. Table 2 of the specification teaches that compound EB11—which has the structure of HTM4 of Montenegro—has a reversibility value (Ir/If) of 0.97 within an oxidation range at a scan rate of 100 mV/s at time of measuring cyclic voltage current.
The difference between the reversibility values for each compound is less than 0.15.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Montenegro product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977). Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though the rejection is based on Section 103 instead of 102. In re Skoner, et al. (CCPA) 186 USPQ 80.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786