DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hueng (US6015041) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 24th, 2021) in view of Mclean (US20090297895) further in view of Hsu (US20050153180).
Regarding Claim 1, Hueng discloses a power supply (rechargeable device; col. 2, line 45), comprising:
a set of hydrogen gas generators (col. 2, line 45), including a first hydrogen storage device (hydrogen storage device, col. 2, line 40-55), a set of heaters including a first heater (heat transferring surface acts as first heater; col. 2, line 20-35), and a first releasable fluid inlet couple and first releasable fluid outlet coupling (fluid manifold-50 includes fluid inlet and fluid outlet, Fig. 2A, col. 6, line. 25-35);
wherein the first hydrogen storage device comprises:
a pressure vessel (container-20 acts as pressure vessel, col. 9, line 55 ), having a first fluid inlet and a first fluid outlet (conduit-22 contains inlet and outlet portion, col. 7/8, line 65/line10-20), comprising therein a thermally conducting network thermally coupled to the first heater (matrix thermally couples to heat transferring surface acts as thermally conducting network, col. 2, line 20-30, ), wherein the pressure vessel is arranged to receive therein a hydrogen storage material in thermal contact (col. 8, line 10), at least in part, with the thermally conducting network (matrix that thermally couples to heat transferring surface, col. 2, line. 20-30).
Huang discloses a second releasable fluid inlet coupling couple able to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling (fluid manifold-50 includes fluid inlet and fluid outlet, Fig. 2A, col. 6, line. 25-35).
Huang does not directly disclose wherein the thermally conductive network has one or more of a lattice geometry, a gyroidal geometry, or a fractal geometry in either or both of two dimension and three dimensions.
However, Huang discloses wherein the matric can be formed of several segments or one segment, or can be formed of an aluminum form material (col. 8, line 8-20). Huang further discloses wherein the matrix can form a network of open cells (col. 2, line 42-60). Huang further discloses wherein the matrix can be shaped in a lattice shape (Fig. 3B).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Huang to have wherein the thermally conductive network has one or more of a lattice geometry, a gyroidal geometry, or a fractal geometry in either or both of two dimension and three dimensions.
Huang discloses wherein the hydrogen storage device disclosed can be used for mobile power sources (col. 4, line 20-25). Huang further discloses wherein the hydrogen storage device can be used for a fuel cell (col. 4, line 20-26). Huang does not directly disclose having a first electrical outlet.
Mclean disclose a fuel cell power supply ([0034]), that can contain fuel cells ([0034]). Mclean further discloses wherein the fuel cell is connect to at least one electrical power consumer ([0011]). Mclean further discloses wherein the electrical power consumer is connected to the fuel cells through an electric bus ([0030]). Mclean teaches that this structure provides for a fuel cell that can be connected to various electronic devices ([0030]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of Mclean to having a first electrical outlet. This modified structure would yield the expected result of being able to connect Huang’s power device to various electronically powered devices.
Huang does not disclose a set of electrical generators, including a first electrical generator, configured to generate electricity using hydrogen gas, selected from a group comprising a fuel cell and an electrical generator comprising a heat engine.
McLean discloses a set of electrical generators, including a first electrical generator, configured to generate electricity using hydrogen gas, selected from a group comprising a fuel cell and an electrical generator comprising a heat engine (fuel cell acts as electrical generator, [0013], [0023], [0034]). McLean further discloses wherein the first electrical generator comprises a second fluid inlet in fluid communication with the second releasable fluid inlet coupling (Fig. 2 shows an inlet into the fuel cell array-22 that is an inlet path for hydrogen).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of McLean to have a set of electrical generators, including a first electrical generator, configured to generate electricity using hydrogen gas, selected from a group comprising a fuel cell and an electrical generator comprising a heat engine, and wherein the first electrical generator comprises a second fluid inlet in fluid communication with the second releasable fluid inlet coupling.
The examiner notes that “a second releasable fluid inlet coupling coupleable to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling or a first releasable electrical outlet coupling coupleable to the first electrical outlet, or both a second releasable fluid inlet coupling coupleable to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling and a first releasable electrical outlet coupling coupleable to the first electrical outlet” under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim only requires one of these elements to be disclosed in the prior art. Therefore, since Huang discloses a second releasable fluid inlet coupling couple able to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling, Huang discloses this limitation.
Huang does not directly disclose wherein the set of hydrogen storage devices includes 2 hydrogen storage devices; and wherein the power supply comprises a mass flow controller, MFC, inline with the first releasable fluid inlet coupling, wherein the MFC is electrically actuatable for remote activation via a controller, to control the flow of hydrogen therethrough.
Hsu discloses a fuel cell power system that includes a plurality of hydrogen storage devices and a mass flow controller (fuel cell power system, [001], plurality of hydrogen storage canisters-42, [0020], mass flow controller-47 arranged at hydrogen supply pipeline, [0025]). Hsu further discloses wherein the mass flow controller is an integrated device ([0025]). Hsu discloses wherein the mass flow controllers are controlled by a control device ([0044]). Hsu teaches that this structure provides improved high energy conversion efficiency ([002]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of Hsu to have wherein the set of hydrogen storage devices includes 2 hydrogen storage devices; and wherein the power supply comprises a mass flow controller, MFC, inline with the first releasable fluid inlet coupling, wherein the MFC is electrically actuatable for remote activation via a controller, to control the flow of hydrogen therethrough.
Regarding Claim 3, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang in view of McLean discloses the use of a fuel cell.
McLean further discloses wherein the fuel cell can be a proton exchange membrane fuel cell, , an alkaline fuel cell, or a phosphoric acid fuel cells.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein the fuel cell can be a proton exchange membrane fuel cell, an alkaline fuel cell, or a phosphoric acid fuel cells.
Regarding Claim 4 & 18, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang does not directly disclose a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a third releasable fluid inlet coupling and/or a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
McLean discloses hydrogen generators that generate hydrogen gas ([0019]). McClean further discloses wherein the hydrogen generators are placed in connection with the fuel cell, where the hydrogen is delivered to the fuel cells ([0034]). McClean further discloses a fuel flow inlet to the electrochemical cell (Fig. 1, fuel flow-18, [0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a third releasable fluid inlet coupling and/or a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
Regarding Claim 5, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang in view of McLean discloses a first hydrogen gas generator.
McLean further discloses wherein the hydrogen gas generator can comprise an electrolysis cell ([0019]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein the first hydrogen gas generator comprises an electrolysis cell selected from a group comprising an alkaline electrolysis cell and a proton exchange membrane or electrolysis cell.
Regarding Claim 6, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang in view of McLean discloses a hydrogen gas generator.
McLean further discloses wherein the hydrogen gas generator is activated when activated by a stimulus ([0019]). McLean further discloses wherein the hydrogen gas generators are placed within the fuel cell which has an electrical outlet ([0034-0035], Fig. 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein a first electrical outlet is couplable to the first hydrogen gas separator.
Regarding Claim 8, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses a housing comprising a set of walls, including a first walls arranged to house the set of hydrogen storage devices (container-20 acts as housing that contains the hydrogen storage device, col. 7, line 35-45).
Huang does not directly disclose wherein the first electrical outlet is through the first wall.
Mclean further discloses wherein the fuel cell is connect to at least one electrical power consumer ([0011]). Mclean further discloses wherein the electrical power consumer is connected to the fuel cells through an electric bus ([0030]). McLean discloses wherein the electric bus is exiting a housing that contains the hydrogen storage devices (Fig. 1, electric bus-22, [0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein the first electrical outlet is through the first wall.
Regarding Claim 9 & 10, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang does not directly disclose wherein a controller configured to control the first heater based, at least in part, on a rate of electrical energy output via the electrical outlet.
McLean discloses that thermoelectrical heat pumps can control the heaters to determine how much heat is communicated between the endothermic apparatus and electric power consumers, where the heat applied is related to the current applied to the thermoelectric heat pump ([0036], [0044]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein a controller configured to control the first heater based, at least in part, on a rate of electrical energy output via the electrical outlet.
Regarding Claim 11, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang further discloses wherein the first hydrogen storage device comprises the hydrogen storage device material and wherein the hydrogen storage material comprises and/or is a solid hydride and/or a liquid organic hydrogen carrier, LOHC (col. 3, line 52- 60).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang does not directly discloses wherein the first electrical outlet is coupleable to the first hydrogen gas generator.
Mclean disclose a fuel cell power supply ([0034]), that can contain fuel cells ([0034]). Mclean further discloses wherein the fuel cell is connect to at least one electrical power consumer ([0011]). Mclean further discloses wherein the electrical power consumer is connected to the fuel cells through an electric bus ([0030]). McLean further discloses wherein the hydrogen gas generator is activated when activated by a stimulus ([0019]). McLean further discloses wherein the hydrogen gas generators are placed within the fuel cell which has an electrical outlet ([0034-0035], Fig. 1). Mclean teaches that this structure provides for a fuel cell that can be connected to various electronic devices ([0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein the first electrical outlet is coupleable to the first hydrogen gas generator.
Regarding Claim 19, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Huang discloses a second releasable fluid inlet coupling couple able to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling (fluid manifold-50 includes fluid inlet and fluid outlet, Fig. 2A, col. 6, line. 25-35).
Huang does not directly disclose a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
McLean discloses hydrogen generators that generate hydrogen gas ([0019]). McClean further discloses wherein the hydrogen generators are placed in connection with the fuel cell, where the hydrogen is delivered to the fuel cells ([0034]). McClean further discloses a fuel flow inlet to the electrochemical cell (Fig. 1, fuel flow-18, [0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
Regarding Claim 20, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses a second releasable fluid inlet coupling couple able to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling (fluid manifold-50 includes fluid inlet and fluid outlet, Fig. 2A, col. 6, line. 25-35).
Huang does not directly disclose a set of hydrogen gas generators, a third releasable fluid inlet coupling and a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
McLean discloses hydrogen generators that generate hydrogen gas ([0019]). McClean further discloses wherein the hydrogen generators are placed in connection with the fuel cell, where the hydrogen is delivered to the fuel cells ([0034]). McClean further discloses a fuel flow inlet to the electrochemical cell (Fig. 1, fuel flow-18, [0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a third releasable fluid inlet coupling and a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
Regarding Claim 21, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang discloses a second releasable fluid inlet coupling couple able to the first releasable fluid outlet coupling (fluid manifold-50 includes fluid inlet and fluid outlet, Fig. 2A, col. 6, line. 25-35).
Huang does not directly disclose a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a third releasable fluid inlet coupling and a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
McLean discloses hydrogen generators that generate hydrogen gas ([0019]). McClean further discloses wherein the hydrogen generators are placed in connection with the fuel cell, where the hydrogen is delivered to the fuel cells ([0034]). McClean further discloses a fuel flow inlet to the electrochemical cell (Fig. 1, fuel flow-18, [0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Huang with the teachings of McLean to have wherein a set of hydrogen gas generators, including a first hydrogen gas generator configured to generate hydrogen gas, a third releasable fluid inlet coupling and a second releasable fluid outlet couplable to the first releasable fluid inlet coupling.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hueng (US6015041) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 24th, 2021) in view of Mclean (US20090297895) further in view of Hsu (US20050153180) further in view of Olsommer (US20130302706) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on September 24th, 2021).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu discloses the limitations as set forth above. Huang in view of McLean do not directly disclose wherein a first arrangement, wherein the first hydrogen gas generator, the first hydrogen storage device and the first electrical generator are mutually uncoupled; and a second arrangement, wherein the first hydrogen gas generator and the first electrical generator are fluidically coupled via the first hydrogen storage device.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, “mutually uncoupled” can mean that the
Olsommer discloses a first hydrogen gas generator (gas production menas-1, [0054]), and first hydrogen storage device (pressurized storage means-5, [0056]), and a first electrical generator (fuel cell-8). Olsommer further discloses wherein these structures are fluidically coupled via the hydrogen storage device (Fig. 1 shows that they are connected through hydrogen fluid lines). Olsommer further discloses two operating modes, a gas production and storage operating mode and a fuel cell operating mode, wherein in the gas production and storage operating mode the first electrical generator is not coupled to the hydrogen gas generator and hydrogen storage device, which is achieved through the use of three way valves ([0020], [0031-0032]). Olsommer teaches that this structure provides an economic benefit to the overall power supply device ([0037]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Huang with the teachings of Olsommer to have wherein a first arrangement, wherein the first hydrogen gas generator, the first hydrogen storage device and the first electrical generator are mutually uncoupled; and a second arrangement, wherein the first hydrogen gas generator and the first electrical generator are fluidically coupled via the first hydrogen storage device. This modification would yield the expected result of economic benefits to the power supply.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 7th, 2026 have been fully considered. The examiner has filed a second final rejection. The examiner has corrected the Hsu reference number to correctly cite the proper prior art. The examiner further notes that Claim 18 rejection is combined with the claim 4 rejection and is rejected in view of Huang in view of McLean further in view of Hsu under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728