DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Response filed on 12/01/2025 for the above identified application.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/01/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 10, 16, 18, and 19 are amended. Claims 21-22 are new. Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-22 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10,12, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. (US 2019/0384815 A1 hereinafter Patel) in view of Cartan (US 2014/0380219 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Patel teaches a device configured to perform data analytics ([0013] a method of processing data indicative of an input; [0024] fig. 1 illustrates a system 10 that may perform various aspects of the techniques described in this disclosure for constrained natural language processing; system 10 includes a host device 12 and a client device 14), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store multi-dimensional data ([0026] host device 12 includes a database 26; [0029] data stored to databases 26) ; and
one or more processors configured to ([0104] the device 12/14 includes a processor, system memory 416; [0110] the system memory 416 may include instructions that cause the processor 412 to perform the functions ascribed in this disclosure):
present, via a third pane of a user interface and in response to a current input entered via a first pane of the user interface, a graphical representation of a format for visually representing the multi-dimensional data, the first pane of the user interface configured to receive the current input according to a constrained natural language, a second pane of the user interface configured to provide an interactive log of previous inputs, and the third pane of the user interface providing a visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0024] constrained natural language processing (CNLP); [0026] the host device includes CNLP unit; [0032] host device 12 attempts to process data 19 indicative of inputs provided via a conversational interaction with client device 14; host device 12 dynamically prompt user 16 for various inputs 19, present clarifying questions, present follow-up questions, or otherwise interact with the user in a conversational manner to elicit input 19; user 16 may likewise enter the inputs 19 as sentences or even fragments, thereby establishing a simulated dialog with host device 12 to identify one or more intents 23 (i.e., receive current input according to constrained natural language); [0037] CNLP unit 22 may parse inputs 19, which may include natural language statements that may also be referred to as “utterances”; [0115]-[0116] language sub-surface specifying a natural language containment hierarchy defining a grammar for a natural language as a hierarchical arrangement of a plurality of language sub-surfaces; CNLP unit 22 may receive input 19 that conforms with the portion of the language provided by the exposed language sub-surface , and process input 19 to identify intent 23 of user 16 from a plurality of intents 23 associated with the language; [0071] an example utterance for the pattern “Plot a bubble chart with x-axis Year, y-axis Population using bubble color Continent and size of the bubble GDP”; [0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog (i.e., second pane), and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25 (i.e., third pane); text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs (i.e., first pane); result presentation portion 202 presents results 25 that are responsive to identifying an intent associated with the ‘PLOT a BUBBLE CHART’ pattern (i.e., graphical representation of a format/ bubble chart for visually representing the multi-dimensional data); [0089] fig. 3C shows the text entry field 300/ first pane);
receive, via the user interface element and for the aspect of the one or more aspects of the graphical representation of the format for visually representing the multi- dimensional data, an indication of a dimension of the plurality of dimensions of the multi-dimensional data ([0037] CNLP unit 22 may parse inputs 19, which may include natural language statements that may also be referred to as “utterances”; [0071] an example utterance for the pattern “Plot a bubble chart with x-axis (i.e., aspect) Year (i.e., dimension), y-axis (i.e., aspect) Population (i.e., dimension) using bubble color Continent and size of the bubble GDP; [0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog, and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25; text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs; result presentation portion 202 presents results 25 that are responsive to identifying an intent associated with the ‘PLOT a BUBBLE CHART’ pattern - thus, the user utterance “Plot a bubble chart with x-axis Year, y-axis Population using bubble color Continent and size of the bubble GDP" provides indication of dimension (Year, Population) for the aspects (X-axis, Y-axis); [0090] as shown in FIG. 3D, interface unit 20 has presented interface 21E responsive to user 16 entering input 19 specifying “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” as shown in recorded dialog field 350; responsive to entering input 19 server 28 obtain results 25 presented as table 352 in result presentation field 202. See fig. 3D - the user input/ dialog “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” providing the indication of a dimension (i.e., state, wins, losses) is received in the dialog field 350 (i.e., via user interface element) for the aspect (i.e., table column) of the graphical representation of the format (i.e., results obtained in table));
associate, based on the indication, the dimension to the aspect to generate a visual representation of the multidimensional data ([0071] an example utterance for the pattern “Plot a bubble chart with x-axis (i.e., aspect) Year (i.e., dimension), y-axis (i.e., aspect) Population (i.e., dimension) using bubble color Continent and size of the bubble GDP; [0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog, and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25; text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs; result presentation portion 202 presents results 25 that are responsive to identifying an intent associated with the ‘PLOT a BUBBLE CHART’ pattern - thus, in the user utterance “Plot a bubble chart with x-axis Year, y-axis Population using bubble color Continent and size of the bubble GDP", based on the user indication the dimension (Year, Population) will be associated with the aspects (X-axis, Y-axis) and results will be presented accordingly in the result presentation portion 202;[0090] as shown in FIG. 3D, interface unit 20 has presented interface 21E responsive to user 16 entering input 19 specifying “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” as shown in recorded dialog field 350; responsive to entering input 19 server 28 obtain results 25 presented as table 352 in result presentation field 202. See fig. 3D - it shows that in response to the user input/ dialog “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” (i.e., indication of dimension/ state), the dimension (i.e., state, wins, losses) associated with the aspect (i.e., table column) to generate the visual representation of the data (i.e., results obtained in table)), the aspect of the one or more aspects of the graphical representation of the format for visually representing the multi-dimensional data being different than the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0071] an example utterance for the pattern “Plot a bubble chart with x-axis (i.e., aspect) Year, y-axis (i.e., aspect) Population using bubble color Continent and size of the bubble GDP"; [0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog, and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25; text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs; result presentation portion 202 presents results 25 (i.e., visual representation of the multi-dimensional data) that are responsive to identifying an intent associated with the ‘PLOT a BUBBLE CHART’ pattern - thus, the aspects (X-axis, Y-axis) of the graphical representation of the format (bubble chart) is different than the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data (presented results));
generate data indicative of an input that (i) conforms to the constrained natural language ([0006] this disclosure describes techniques for constrained natural language processing (CNLP) that expose language sub-surfaces in a constrained manner; a natural language surface refers to the permitted set of potential user inputs (e.g., utterances), such as, the set of utterances that the natural language processing system is capable of correctly processing; [0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog (i.e., second pane), and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25 (i.e., third pane); text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs 19 (i.e., first pane) - thus, the user input received by first the pane; [0089] as shown in fig. 3C, the interface unit presented interface 21D responsive to user 16 entering input 19 as text “Show” in text entry field 300 of text presentation portion 200; server analyze input 19 to automatically perform an autocomplete operation to expose one of language sub-surfaces denoted by autocomplete entries shown in autocomplete presentation field 302 overlaid over text presentation field 200; [0037] CNLP unit 22 may parse inputs 19, which may include natural language statements that may also be referred to as “utterances”; [0115]-[0116] language sub-surface specifying a natural language containment hierarchy defining a grammar for a natural language as a hierarchical arrangement of a plurality of language sub-surfaces; CNLP unit 22 may receive input 19 that conforms with the portion of the language provided by the exposed language sub-surface , and process input 19 to identify intent 23 of user 16 from a plurality of intents 23 associated with the language - thus, constrained natural language processing exposes language sub-surfaces; the user inputs 19 include natural language statements/ utterances and based on the user input entry, one of language sub-surfaces/ autocomplete entries are presented (i.e., generating data of an input that conforms to the constrained natural language)), and (ii) would result in generation of the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data by causing the dimension to be associated to the aspect when the data indicative of an input is received by the first pane ([0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog (i.e., second pane), and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25 (i.e., third pane); text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs 19 (i.e., first pane) - thus, the user input received by first the pane; [0090] as shown in FIG. 3D, interface unit 20 has presented interface 21E responsive to user 16 entering input 19 (i.e., received by the first pane) specifying “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” as shown in recorded dialog field 350; responsive to entering input 19 server 28 obtain results 25 presented as table 352 in result presentation field 202. See figs. 3C and 3D - it shows that based on the user input “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” (i.e., data indicative of input received by the first pane/ text entry field), the dimension (i.e., state, wins, losses) is associated with the aspect (i.e., table column) in the visual representation of the data (i.e., results obtained in table));
present, via the user interface element, the generated data indicative of the input ([0089] as shown in fig. 3C, the interface unit presented interface 21D responsive to user 16 entering input 19 as text “Show” in text entry field 300 of text presentation portion 200; server analyze input 19 to automatically perform an autocomplete operation to expose one of language sub-surfaces denoted by autocomplete entries shown in autocomplete presentation field 302 overlaid over text presentation field 200. See fig. 3C - it shows based on the user entering input 19, one of language sub-surfaces exposed/ autocomplete entries presented in 302 (i.e., generated data indicative of input presented via the user interface element)); and
present, via the third pane of the user interface, the visual representation of the multidimensional data ([0090] as shown in FIG. 3D, interface unit 20 has presented interface 21E responsive to user 16 entering input 19 specifying “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” as shown in recorded dialog field 350; responsive to entering input 19 server 28 obtain results 25 presented as table 352 in result presentation field 202. See fig. 3D - it shows the visual representation of the multidimensional data/ results table presented in third pane/ presentation field 202).
However, Patel fails to expressly teach wherein receive, via the third pane of the user interface, a selection of an aspect of one or more aspects of the graphical representation of the format for visually representing the multi-dimensional data; and in response to receiving the selection of the aspect, present, via a user interface element, a plurality of dimensions of the multi-dimensional data.
In the same field of endeavor, Cartan teaches wherein receive, via the third pane of the user interface, a selection of an aspect of one or more aspects of the graphical representation of the format for visually representing the multi-dimensional data ([0069] the sunburst interface widget comprises a sunburst wheel where levels of information are represented as rings and categories are represented as wedges; [0070] each dimension tile corresponds to a ring on the sunburst wheel - thus, the dimension tiles/ rings represent aspects of the graphical representation of the wheel format; [0071] reordering the tiles reorders the rings on the sunburst wheel (e.g., see FIG. 1B and FIG. 2C); using the dimension tiles, users can select categories to be shown or hidden in the sunburst wheel and its tandem table; this filters the wedges/ categories shown in each ring; [0138] fig. 5A is a schematic 5A00 representation of a dimension tile shelf used for configuring and displaying multidimensional data using tandem interactive screen interfaces; [0140] a wedge drop target 504 is provided in the wheel; various widgets can be dragged, and dropped; a dimension tile array 508 is presented to the user, and the user can drag and drop dimension tiles onto wedge drop target 504 or onto dimension shelf drop target 503, or drop target 510 (i.e., selecting aspect/ drop target of the graphical representation of the wheel format via the third pane/ drop target zones)); and in response to receiving the selection of the aspect, present, via a user interface element, a plurality of dimensions of the multi-dimensional data ([0070] each dimension tile corresponds to a ring on the sunburst wheel; [0071] reordering the tiles reorders the rings on the sunburst wheel (e.g., see FIG. 1B and FIG. 2C); tapping/clicking on a dimension tile (i.e., selection of aspect) shows the dimension values it contains, such as filter screen interface 108 (i.e., presenting a plurality of dimensions via user interface element); using the dimension tiles, users can select categories to be shown or hidden in the sunburst wheel and its tandem table; this filters the wedges (categories) shown in each ring (dimension); [0103] FIG. 4A depicts a dimension tile filtering widget 4A00 to implement filtering in systems supporting configuring and displaying multidimensional data using tandem interactive screen interfaces; one or more instances of dimension tile filtering widget 402 or any aspect thereof may be implemented; [0104] filters such as the dimension tile filtering widget 402 may be implemented in any interface; each dimension tile contains controls for filtering visualization as illustrated in FIG. 4A; the filter controls enable the user to choose which information is included into analysis or is excluded from it; [0106] the filter panel lists all items belonging to the dimension; there is a selection control (e.g., checkbox) for each item; [0105] the filter panel can be expanded/collapsed under the downward arrow 403 of the tile - thus, in response to selecting a tile (i.e., selection of an aspect), the filter panel listing items belonging to that particular tile is displayed (i.e., presenting via the user interface element a plurality of dimensions of the multi-dimensional data). See figs. 1B, 4A, 4B, 4C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein receive, via the third pane of the user interface, a selection of an aspect of one or more aspects of the graphical representation of the format for visually representing the multi-dimensional data; and in response to receiving the selection of the aspect, present, via a user interface element, a plurality of dimensions of the multi-dimensional data, as suggested in Cartan into Patel. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide an interactive, touch-friendly interface element and serves not only as a way to visualize a fixed view of data but to easily change views and access related information for each view (Cartan [0017]), thereby enhancing user experience.
As to dependent Claim 3, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Cartan further teaches wherein process the dimension of the multi-dimensional data to create a new dimension of the multi- dimensional data ([0070] each dimension tile corresponds to a ring on the sunburst wheel; [0071] reordering the tiles reorders the rings on the sunburst wheel (e.g., see FIG. 1B and FIG. 2C); using the dimension tiles, users can select categories to be shown or hidden in the sunburst wheel and its tandem table; this filters the wedges/ categories shown in each ring - thus, the categories/ dimensions are shown or hidden in the sunburst wheel based on user selection of categories (i.e., processing dimension to create new dimension of the multi- dimensional data)), and wherein the one or more processors are configured to, when configured to associate the dimension to the aspect, associate the new dimension to the aspect to generate the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0070] each dimension tile corresponds to a ring on the sunburst wheel; [0071] reordering the tiles reorders the rings on the sunburst wheel (e.g., see FIG. 1B and FIG. 2C); using the dimension tiles, users can select categories to be shown or hidden in the sunburst wheel and its tandem table; this filters the wedges/ categories shown in each ring - thus, when the user select categories using the tiles (i.e., associating the dimension to the aspect), information in the sunburst wheel will be shown or hidden accordingly (i.e., associating new dimension/ user selected category to the aspect/ ring to generate the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data/ sunburst wheel)).
As to dependent Claim 8, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Patel further teaches the third pane of the user interface ([0087] FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog (i.e., second pane), and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25 (i.e., third pane)). Cartan further teaches wherein present at least a portion of the multi-dimensional data in addition to the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0068] adjacent to the sunburst wheel is a tandem table 132 showing the values (e.g., text values, numeric values) (i.e., portion of multi-dimensional data) corresponding to the selected slice).
Claims 10, 12 and 17 are method claims corresponding to the device claims 1, 3, and 8 above and therefore, rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 19 is a medium claim corresponding to the device claim 1 above and therefore, rejected for the same reasons. Patel further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon ([0104] the device 12/14 includes a processor, system memory 416; [0110] the system memory 416 may include instructions that cause the processor 412 to perform the functions ascribed in this disclosure; the system memory 416 may be a computer-readable storage medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform various functions).
As to dependent Claim 20, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Cartan further teaches wherein present, via the third pane of the user interface, the graphical representation of the format for visually representing the multi-dimensional data prior to populating the graphical representation of the format for the multi-dimensional data with the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0140] a wedge drop target 504 is provided in the wheel; various widgets can be dragged, and dropped; a dimension tile array 508 is presented to the user, and the user can drag and drop dimension tiles onto wedge drop target 504; [0102] as shown in FIG. 3, drop zones made active over a portion of a wheel; any dimension tile from any location in a tandem group 302 can be dragged, and dropped onto a drop zone target; the dimension of the dragged tile becomes the dimension of the ring comprising the drop zone target. See figs. 3 and 5B, which shows the wheel/ graphical representation of the format presented via drop zone 304-1/ third pane prior to populating the graphical representation of the format for the multi-dimensional data with the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data).
As to dependent Claim 21, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Patel further teaches wherein the generated data indicative of the input is presented on the user interface at a portion of the user interface that is different from the first pane ([0089] as shown in fig. 3C, the interface unit presented interface 21D responsive to user 16 entering input 19 as text “Show” in text entry field 300 of text presentation portion 200; server analyze input 19 to automatically perform an autocomplete operation to expose one of language sub-surfaces denoted by autocomplete entries shown in autocomplete presentation field 302 overlaid over text presentation field 200. See fig. 3C - it shows based on the user entering input 19, one of language sub-surfaces exposed/ autocomplete entries (i.e., generated data indicative of input) presented in 302 (i.e., portion of the user interface that is different from the first pane/ text entry field)).
Claims 4-7 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Cartan, further in view of Anand et al. (US 2017/0139404 A1 hereinafter Anand).
As to dependent Claim 4, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Cartan further teaches wherein present, via the user interface, a preview of the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data (([0070] each dimension tile corresponds to a ring on the sunburst wheel; [0071] reordering the tiles reorders the rings on the sunburst wheel (e.g., see FIG. 1B and FIG. 2C); tapping/clicking on a dimension tile shows the dimension values it contains, such as filter screen interface 108; using the dimension tiles, users can select categories to be shown or hidden in the sunburst wheel and its tandem table; this filters the wedges/ categories shown in each ring - thus, presenting a preview as the user reorders tiles or filters wedges).
However, Patel and Cartan fail to expressly teach wherein confirm that the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible; and present when the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible, the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data.
In the same field of endeavor, Anand teaches wherein confirm that the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible and present when the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible, the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0024] each data item selected by the user in the data display instructions typically includes an associated data display type, such as indicators, value boxes, gauges, plots, trends, charts, grids, visualizations of vessels such as tanks or vats, or any other data visualization types; [0033] the menu in the left-hand pane provides various models and widgets that provide visualizations of operational data items, and the composer section in the right-hand pane provides a blank canvas that may be used to arrange the data items as the user desires them to be presented; [0040] the widget could display a blue boarder to indicate that the widget is compatible with the data type of the tag and is able to visualize this type of tag, or could display a red color to indicate that the widget is incompatible with the data type of the tag and thus unable to visualize the tag - thus, presenting the visual representation when the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein confirm that the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible and present when the association of the dimension to the aspect is compatible, the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data, as suggested in Anand into Patel and Cartan. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide for improved visualizations of information items (Anand [0013]).
As to dependent Claim 5, Patel, Cartan, and Anand teach all the limitations of claim 4. Anand further teaches wherein when configured to associate the dimension to the aspect, present, via the user interface and when the association of the dimension to the aspect is not compatible, an indication that the association of the dimension to the aspect is not compatible, and an option to correct the association of the dimension to the aspect ([0040] the widget could display a blue boarder to indicate that the widget is compatible with the data type of the tag and is able to visualize this type of tag, or could display a red color to indicate that the widget is incompatible with the data type of the tag and thus unable to visualize the tag; when the user attempts to drag an incompatible “Start Command” data tag onto the gauge widget, which reacts by displaying a red boarder color on the gauge widget and a notification of “Invalid data type” to the user ).
As to dependent Claim 6, Patel, Cartan, and Anand teach all the limitations of claim 4. Anand further teaches wherein when configured to present the preview of the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data, present an option to edit the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data ([0023] the display composer interface provides a visualization layout editor for the user to customize the display; [0038] dragging a data tag value from the left-hand “Model” toolbox panel to the right-hand display design canvas side will result in the value being displayed visually with a compatible widget, but the user is able to edit the properties of the default widget to select a different display type from a list of compatible widgets, such as an indicator, value box, trend diagram, or any other type of visualization element; the user could assign a different data tag value to the widget by editing the widget's properties).
As to dependent Claim 7, Patel, Cartan, and Anand teach all the limitations of claim 6. Anand further teaches wherein when configured to present the option to edit the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data, present the option to edit one or more of a color, a title, text, and descriptors associated with the visual representation of the multi-dimensional data ([0024] the user can define the size, shape, display style (i.e., gauge, trend, chart, indicator, value box, or some other display type), and other properties of each data item that is selected for display in the data display instructions; [0038] dragging a data tag value from the left-hand “Model” toolbox panel to the right-hand display design canvas side will result in the value being displayed visually with a compatible widget, but the user is able to edit the properties of the default widget to select a different display type from a list of compatible widgets, such as an indicator, value box, trend diagram, or any other type of visualization element).
Claims 13-16 are method claims corresponding to the device claims 4-7 above and therefore, rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Cartan, further in view of Wang (CN 112256789 A).
As to dependent Claim 9, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Patel further teaches wherein the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data includes a bar chart, a line chart, a gauge, a bubble plot, a graph ([0079] data visualization pattern in the system, such as “plot_histogram” and “plot_line_chart”, etc.; [0087] result presentation portion 202 presents a bubble chart showing win-to-loss ratios for opportunity owners (i.e., gauge) in the context of the sales manager productive application 100C). Cartan further teaches wherein the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data includes a pie chart (([0069] the sunburst interface widget comprises a sunburst wheel where levels of information are represented as rings and categories are represented as wedges).
However, Patel and Cartan fail to expressly teach wherein the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data includes an area chart, a radar chart, a scatter plot, a density map, a Gantt Chart, and a treemap.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data includes an area chart, a radar chart, a bubble plot, a scatter plot, a density map, a Gantt Chart, and a treemap ([0071]-[0078] shape data of chart types includes Gantt chart, radar chart, treemap, heat map, area map, Scatter chart, bubble chart, etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data includes an area chart, a radar chart, a scatter plot, a density map, a Gantt Chart, and a treemap, as suggested in Wang into Patel and Cartan. Doing so would be desirable because it would clearly and effectively convey and communicate information, making the expression of data more intuitive and would improve the efficiency of data communication (Wang [0004]).
Claim 18 is a method claim corresponding to the device claim 9 above and therefore, rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel in view of Cartan, further in view of Gautam et al. (US 9,665,662 B1 hereinafter Gautam).
As to dependent Claim 22, Patel and Cartan teach all the limitations of claim 1. Patel further teaches wherein the generated data indicative of the input is presented on the user interface at a portion of the user interface ([0089] as shown in fig. 3C, the interface unit presented interface 21D responsive to user 16 entering input 19 as text “Show” in text entry field 300 of text presentation portion 200; server analyze input 19 to automatically perform an autocomplete operation to expose one of language sub-surfaces denoted by autocomplete entries shown in autocomplete presentation field 302 overlaid over text presentation field 200. See fig. 3C - it shows based on the user entering input 19, one of language sub-surfaces exposed/ autocomplete entries (i.e., generated data indicative of input) presented in 302 (i.e., portion of the user interface)).
However, Patel and Cartan fail to expressly teach wherein the data indicative of the input is presented at a portion of the user interface that at least partially covers the third pane.
In the same field of endeavor, Gautam teaches wherein the data indicative of the input is presented at a portion of the user interface that at least partially covers the third pane (column 16, lines 45 to 53 - as shown in fig.. 7 the user can select a dimension from a drill down drop box 701 to be used for interactive filtering of the answer based on an age-group 705, a deal type, a deal name, etc.; the dimensions in the drop box 701 can be the dimensions selected by the user during a setup. See fig. 7 - it shows data indicative input/ 701 presented at a portion of the user interface that at least partially covers the third pane/ 703).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the data indicative of the input is presented at a portion of the user interface that at least partially covers the third pane, as suggested in Gautam into Patel and Cartan. Doing so would be desirable because it would provide real-time data analysis, reporting and business intelligence related to data stored in various sources (Gautam, column 1, lines 44 to 48).
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §112: Applicant’s amendments have overcome the 112 rejections previously set forth.
35 U.S.C. §103: In the remarks, applicant argues that:
(a) The cited references do not teach or suggest, ".. generate data indicative of an input that (i) conforms to the constrained natural language, and (ii) would result in generation of the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data by causing the dimension to be associated to the aspect when the data indicative of an input is received by the first pane," as recited in amended independent claims 1, 10, and 19.
(b) Dependent claims 21-22 depend from independent claim 1, and therefore, are allowable over the cited references.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
As to point (a), the combination of Patel and Cartan do teach "generate data indicative of an input that (i) conforms to the constrained natural language, and (ii) would result in generation of the visual representation of the multi- dimensional data by causing the dimension to be associated to the aspect when the data indicative of an input is received by the first pane," as recited in amended independent claims 1, 10, and 19. Patel teaches techniques for constrained natural language processing (CNLP) that expose language sub-surfaces in a constrained manner; CNLP unit 22 may parse inputs 19, which may include natural language statements that may also be referred to as “utterances”; language sub-surface specifying a natural language containment hierarchy defining a grammar for a natural language as a hierarchical arrangement of a plurality of language sub-surfaces; CNLP unit 22 may receive input 19 that conforms with the portion of the language provided by the exposed language sub-surface , and process input 19 to identify intent 23 of user 16 from a plurality of intents 23 associated with the language; FIGS. 3A-3H illustrate interfaces 21B-21H presented by interface unit of host device that facilitate sales manager productivity analytics; as shown in fig. 3A, the interface includes a text presentation portion 200 by which to display dialog (i.e., second pane), and a results presentation portion 202 that presents results 25 (i.e., third pane); text presentation portion 200 may include a text entry field with which user 16 may interact to enter inputs 19 (i.e., first pane) - thus, the user input received by first the pane; as shown in fig. 3C, the interface unit presented interface 21D responsive to user 16 entering input 19 as text “Show” in text entry field 300 of text presentation portion 200; server analyze input 19 to automatically perform an autocomplete operation to expose one of language sub-surfaces denoted by autocomplete entries shown in autocomplete presentation field 302 overlaid over text presentation field 200; as shown in FIG. 3D, interface unit 20 has presented interface 21E responsive to user 16 entering input 19 (i.e., received by the first pane) specifying “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” as shown in recorded dialog field 350; responsive to entering input 19 server 28 obtain results 25 presented as table 352 in result presentation field 202 (see [0006], [0024], [0037], [0087]-[0090], [0115]-[0116]). Thus, Patel teaches that constrained natural language processing exposes language sub-surfaces; the user inputs 19 include natural language statements/ utterances and as shown in figs. 3A-3D, based on the user input entry, one of language sub-surfaces/ autocomplete entries are presented (i.e., generating data of an input that conforms to the constrained natural language); based on the user input “Show me the ratio of wins to losses for each state” (i.e., data indicative of input received by the first pane), the dimension (i.e., state, wins, losses) is associated with the aspect (i.e., table column) in the visual representation of the data (i.e., results obtained in table). According to MPEP 2111, examiner is obliged to give the terms or phrases their broadest interpretation definition awarded by one of an ordinary skill in the art unless applicant has provided some indication of the definition of the claimed terms or phrases. Accordingly, the combination of Patel and Cartan is considered to teach the features recited in amended independent claims 1, 10, and 19.
As to point (b), as noted above, the combination of Patel and Cartan is considered to teach the subject matter of claims 1, 10, and 19. See the 103 rejections above for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REJI KARTHOLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143