DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s claims and the Declaration of Dr Enningga filed on 08-01-2025 have been entered. Claims 4, 8, 15 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 16- 20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 08-05-2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08-05-2024.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 16-17 are under consideration.
Priority
This application is a CON of PCT/NL2020/050043 filed on 01/28/2020, which claims priority from foreign applications No NETHERLANDS 2022464 filed on 01/28/2019 and NETHERLANDS 2024515 filed on 12/19/2019.
Maintained - Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9-14, 16-17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-13, 15-16 of copending Application No. 17443623 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Pending claim 1 is directed to a method for the treatment of pancreatic cancer, comprising administering to a human patients- in need thereof of autologous to the human patient dendritic cells loaded with an allogeneic to the human patient mesothelioma lysate, wherein the mesothelioma lysate is obtained by a method comprising: (i) providing human mesothelioma cells from at least two different mesothelioma tumour cell lines; (ii) inducing necrosis in said tumour cells; and (iii) lysing the necrotic tumour cells to obtain a lysate wherein the administering is intradermal or intravenous.
Co-pending claim 1 is directed to a method for the treatment of pancreatic cancer, comprising administering to a human patient in need thereof a CD40 agonist in combination with autologous to the human patient dendritic cells loaded with an allogeneic to the human patient mesothelioma lysate, wherein the mesothelioma lysate is obtained by a method comprising: (i) providing human mesothelioma tumour cells from at least two different mesothelioma tumour cell lines; (ii) inducing necrosis in the tumour cells; and (iii) lysing the necrotic tumour cells to obtain a lysate. wherein the administering of the CD40 agonist is intradermal or intravenous; and wherein the administering of the dendritic cells is intradermal or intravenous.
Thus, a comparison of claim 1 from the ‘623 application and instant claim 1 shows that claim 1 from the ‘623 application is encompassed by and anticipates instant claim 1, necessarily making instant claim 1 obvious over the co-pending claim from the ‘623 application. It is noted that the method of instant claim 1 recites the term “comprising”. The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (MPEP 2111.03 (I)).
Pending claim 9 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein induction of necrosis of the mesothelioma tumour cells is achieved by subjecting the cells to freeze-thawing cycles.
Co-pending claim 7 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the induction of necrosis of the mesothelioma tumour cells is achieved by subjecting the cells to freeze-thawing cycles.
Pending claim 10 is directed to The method according to claim 1, wherein after inducing necrosis and lysing of the tumour cells, the lysate obtained is subjected to at least 50 Gy irradiation.
Co-pending claim 8 is directed to the method according to claim 1, further comprising (iv) subjecting the lysate obtained to at least 50 Gy irradiation.
Co-pending claim 9 is directed to the method according to claim 1, further comprising (iv) subjecting the lysate obtained to at least 100 Gy irradiation.
Pending claim 11 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the mesothelioma tumour cells provided comprise tumour cells from at least three mesothelioma tumour cell lines.
Co-pending claim 10 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the mesothelioma tumour cells provided comprise tumour cells from at least three mesothelioma tumour cell lines.
Pending claim 12 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the mesothelioma tumour cells are chosen from two or more of the following cell lines: Thorr 01 (deposit No. DSM ACC3192), Thorr 02 (deposit No. DSM ACC3193), Thorr 03 (deposit No. DSM ACC3191), Thorr 05 (deposit No. DSM ACC3194), Thorr 06 (deposit No. DSM ACC3195).
Co-pending claim 11 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the mesothelioma tumour cells are chosen from two or more of the following cell lines: Thorr 01 (deposit No. DSM ACC3192), Thorr 02 (deposit No. DSM ACC3193), Thorr 03 (deposit No. DSM ACC3191), Thorr 05 (deposit No. DSM ACC3194), Thorr 06 (deposit No. DSM ACC3195).
Pending claim 13 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the lysate comprises at least three mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens.
Co-pending claim 12 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the lysate comprises at least three mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens.
Pending claim 14 is directed to the method according to claim 13, wherein the mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens are selected from the group consisting of: RAGEI/MOK, Mesothelin, EphA2, Survivin, WTI, MUCI, RAB38/NY-MEL-l, BING4, MAGE Al2, HER-2/Neu, Glypican, and LMP2.
Co-pending claim 13 is directed to the method according to claim 12, wherein the mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens are selected from the group consisting of RAGEl/MOK, Mesothelin, EphA2, Survivin, WTl, MUCl, RAB38/NY-MEL-l, BmG4, MAGE Al2, HER-2/Neu, Glypican, and LMP2.
Pending claim 16 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the dendritic cells are loaded with between 1 tumour cell equivalents per 100 dendritic cells to 10 tumour cell equivalents per 1 dendritic cell.
Co-pending claim 15 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the dendritic cells are loaded with between 1 tumour cell equivalents per 100 dendritic cells to 10 tumour cell equivalents per 1 dendritic cell.
Pending claim 17 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein the patient is administered 1*106 to 1*109 loaded dendritic cells per dose.
Co-pending claim 16 is directed to the method according to claim 1, wherein 1*106 to 1*109. loaded dendritic cells are administered per dose.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08-01-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant requests that the rejection be held in abeyance until indication by the Office of allowable claims in one of the co-pending applications.
Response to Arguments:
While Applicant has requested that the rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter can be identified, a request of abeyance does not overcome or address an issue of obvious double patenting between claims in the instant case and US patent application. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Maintained -Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 9-12, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al (Clin Exp Med (2012) 12:173–180, DOI 10.1007/s10238-011-0159-0) in view of Hegmans et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0352200 A1, Pub. Date: Dec. 10, 2015) (Applicant own work).
Regarding to claim 1, Rong et al teach “A phase I pilot trial of MUC1-peptide-pulsed dendritic cells in the treatment of advanced pancreatic cancer” (title) and assess the toxicity and immunological response induced by the intradermal (i.d.) administration of MUC1-peptide-pulsed dendritic cells (DCs) in advanced pancreatic cancer patients. Patients with recurrent lesions or metastasis after surgery, and immunohistochemistry positive for MUC1 were treated in cohorts that received 3–6 x 106 DCs i.d. for three or four vaccines. Each vaccine was composed of autologous DCs pulsed with MUC1-peptide (Abstract). Immature DCs are able to take up antigens, and they can activate T cells after maturation and migration into lymphoid organs . DCs pulsed with immunogenic peptides; tumor cell lysates and gene-transfected DCs can induce primary T-cell responses (Page 174, left column, 1st para.).
Rong et al do not teach the lysate is obtained by using at least two different mesothelioma tumor cell lines. However, Hegmans et al cures the deficiency.
Hegmans et al teach “a method for the preparation of an immunogenic lysate from mesothelioma tumor cells, …… to dendritic cells loaded with the lysate” (Abstract), and “method for the preparation of an immunogenic lysate comprising the steps of: i) providing allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells from at least two different cell lines; ii) inducing necrosis or apoptosis in the tumor cells; iii) lysing the necrotic or apoptotic tumor cells, such that a lysate is obtained” ([0012], page 2). Hegmans et al stated that “Preferably, the dendritic cells cultured are autologous dendritic cells. The advantage of using autologous dendritic cells is that immune reactions of the patients against these dendritic cells is avoided and that the immunological reaction is triggered against the antigens from the mesothelioma tumor cells, which were present in the lysate” ([0061], Page 5).
It is noted that Rong et al teach treating pancreatic cancer with DCs pulsed with tumor cell lysates can induce primary T-cell responses (Page 174, left column, 1st para) and stated that “the advantage of tumor lysate-pulsed DCs is that may present more epitopes and may elicit a stronger immune response” (Page 177, right column, 2nd para.), and Hegmans et al teach a method for the preparation of an immunogenic lysate from mesothelioma tumor cells to prepare dendritic cells loaded with the lysate (Abstract); therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of prior art to prepare dendritic cells loaded with the mesothelioma lysate to treat pancreatic cancer.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of treating pancreatic cancer as taught by Rong et al to prepare autologous dendritic cells loaded with a lysate by using an immunogenic lysate with allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells from at least two different cell lines, inducing necrosis or apoptosis in the tumor cells and lysing the necrotic or apoptotic tumor cells as taught by Hegmans et al with a reasonable expectation of success. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Hegmans et al stated that “Allogeneic DC-based immunotherapy showed an increased survival rate of the treated mice compared to untreated mice, as is shown in Figure I. Besides an increase in the amount of CD8 positive cytotoxic T cells, the percentage of IFN-gamma and granzyme B production per cell was higher in allogeneic DC treated mice compared to non-treated mice. The killing capacity of splenocytes from allogeneic treated mice were highly increased when cells were co-cultured with chromium labelled AC29 tumor cells” ([0103], page 8). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Hegmans et al were successful in using allogeneic tumor lysate to increase survival rate of the treated mice compared to untreated mice, provide detailed instructions for using pulsed dendritic cells in immunotherapy for treating cancers with the use of immunogenic peptide or lysate.
Regarding to claim 2, Rong et al teach patients had undergone pretreatment, including surgery, chemotherapy, or target therapy (Page 174, left column, last para.).
Regarding to claim 5, Rong et al teach adjuvant radiation, chemotherapy, or both have been employed to improve patients’ survival rate and life quality (Page 173, right column, Introduction). Rong et al teach Table 1: Patient characteristics showing chemotherapy after surgery.
Regarding to claim 9, Hegmans et al teach necrosis of the allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells, can be achieved by methods commonly known in the prior art. However, subjecting the cells to freeze thawing cycles is particularly preferred. Preferably, the cells are made necrotic and lysed by freezing at temperatures below-70 degrees Celsius and thawing at temperatures of more than 30 degrees Celsius ([0046], page 4).
Regarding to claim 10, Hegmans et al teach “preferably the tumor cells are treated with at least 50 Gy irradiation …... This way it is avoided that any of the tumor cells remains viable” ([0047], page 4).
Regarding to claim 11, Hegmans et al teach “in order to obtain a good immunogenic response it is preferred to use a mixture of allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells, ……, preferably at least three mesothelioma tumor cell-lines…”. ([0030], page 3).
Regarding to claim 12, Hegmans et al teach presently six human mesothelioma cell lines have been developed that provide particularly good results. These cell lines have been deposited at “Deutsche Sammlung von Mikro-organismen and Zellkulturen' in Germany, hereinafter DSMZ. The cell lines were given the following codes and accession numbers: Thorr 01 (deposit No. DSMACC3191), Thorr O2 (deposit No. DSMACC3192), Thorr 03 (deposit No. DSM ACC3193), Thorr 04 (deposit No. DSM ACC3194), Thorr (05 (deposit No. DSMACC3195), Thorr 06 (deposit No. DSMACC3196) ([0043], page 4).
Regarding to claim 16, Hegmans et al teach that “preferably, the dendritic cells are loaded with at least 0.1 tumor cell equivalents per dendritic cell (1 tumor cell per 10 dendritic cell), ……most preferably at least one tumor cell equivalent per dendritic cell” ([0064], page 5).
Regarding to claim 17, Hegmans et al teach that “preferably, a dosage of the composition administered to a patient comprises 1*103 to 1*1010 loaded dendritic cells ……” ([0068], page 5).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al (Clin Exp Med (2012) 12:173–180, DOI 10.1007/s10238-011-0159-0) in view of Hegmans et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0352200 A1, Pub. Date: Dec. 10, 2015) (Applicant own work)as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 9-12, 16-17 above, and further in view of Aerts et al (Clin Cancer Res; 24(4), doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-17-2522, published Online: December 12, 2017) (Applicant own work).
The teachings of Rong et al, Hegmans et al are as described above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
The above references do not specifically teach the median progression free survival of the patients is extended to at least 18 months after pancreatic cancer resection and the median progression free survival of the patients is extended compared to such patients treated with chemotherapy alone. However, Aerts et al cures the deficiency.
Regarding to claim 3, Aerts et al teach autologous dendritic cells pulsed with allogeneic tumor cell lysate in mesothelioma (Title). Aerts et al also teaches Figure 4A (see below): Overall survival and RECIST responses after first vaccination. Swimmer plot of patients in phase I clinical trial with MesoPher treatment. Overall survival of patients since date of first vaccination is represented by the filled bars. Patients treated with chemotherapy prior to inclusion in the study are depicted with a gray diamond. The other patients were treatment naïve (Page 774).
Except for patient 7, all patient survived ~18 months since date of first vaccination. Since Patient 7 with no prior chemotherapy pretreatment survived ~16 months which is lower than 22 months of patient 6 , for example, there should be additive effects of MesoPher and chemotherapy pretreatment treatment. Thus, survival of the patients is extended compared to such patients treated with chemotherapy alone.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to combine the teachings of prior art to modify and combine the method of Rong et al and Hegmans et al with the teachings of Aerts et al of using autologous dendritic cells pulsed with allogeneic tumor cell lysate in mesothelioma that resulted in the median progression free survival of the patients is extended to at least 18 months after pancreatic cancer resection. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Aerts et al teach the DC immunotherapy significantly improved survival in tumor bearing mice and the use of MesoPher can help to extend survival of patients to more than 18 months (Figure 4A and page 774). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Aerts et al were successful in extending median progression free survival of the patients to at least 18 months with detailed instructions for using DC immunotherapy and MesoPher in both mouse and human.
Claims 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al (Clin Exp Med (2012) 12:173–180, DOI 10.1007/s10238-011-0159-0) in view of Hegmans et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0352200 A1, Pub. Date: Dec. 10, 2015) (Applicant own work) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 9-12, 16-17 above, and further in view of Conroy et al (N Engl J Med 2018;379:2395-406. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa1809775, December 20, 2018).
The teachings of Rong et al, Hegmans et al are as described above and are incorporated herein in their entirety. The above references do not specifically teach gemcitabine or folfrinox. However, Conroy et al cures the deficiency.
Regarding to claim 6, Conroy et al teaches that “among patients with metastatic pancreatic cancer, combination chemotherapy with fluorouracil, leucovorin, irinotecan, and oxaliplatin (Folfirinox) leads to longer overall survival than gemcitabine therapy. We compared the efficacy and safety of a modified FOLFIRINOX regimen with gemcitabine as adjuvant therapy in patients with resected pancreatic cancer” (see Abstracts).
Regarding to claim 7, Conroy et al teach “gemcitabine at a dose of 1000 mg per square meter of body-surface area was delivered by means of a 30-minute intravenous infusion on days 1, 8, and 15 every 28 days for 24 weeks (6 cycles)” (Page 2397, left column, last para.).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to combine the teachings of prior art to modify and combine the method of the above references with the teachings of Conroy et al of using gemcitabine as adjuvant chemotherapy to improve efficacy and safety of gemcitabine regime as adjuvant therapy, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Conroy et al stated that “in this trial involving patients with resected pancreatic adenocarcinoma, adjuvant chemotherapy with a modified FOLFIRINOX regimen led to significantly longer disease-free survival, overall survival, metastasis-free survival, and cancer specific survival” (Page 2403, 2nd para.). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Conroy et al were successful in using adjuvant therapy in patients with resected pancreatic cancer with improved efficacy and safety, with detailed instruction and working examples.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et al (Clin Exp Med (2012) 12:173–180, DOI 10.1007/s10238-011-0159-0) in view of Hegmans et al (Pub. No.: US 2015/0352200 A1, Pub. Date: Dec. 10, 2015) (Applicant own work) as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 9-12, 16-17 above, and further in view of Deicher et al (Cancer Cell Int (2018) 18:85, DOI: 10.1186/s12935-018-0585-0, Published online: 18 June 2018).
The teachings of Rong et al, Hegmans et al are as described above and are incorporated herein in their entirety.
The above references do not specifically teach three mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens and wherein the mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens are selected from the group consisting of RAGEl/MOK, Mesothelin, EphA2, Survivin, WT1, MUCl, RAB38/NY-MEL-l, BING4, MAGE Al2, HER-2/Neu, Glypican, and LMP2. However, Deicher et al cure the deficiency.
Regarding to claim 13 and 14 , Deicher et al teaches targeting dendritic cells in pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (Title). There is also growing evidence for the effectiveness of vaccination with DCs pulsed with tumor antigens to initiate adaptive cytolytic immune responses via T cells. Most experience with DC-based vaccination has been gathered for MUC1 and WT1 antigens, where clinical studies in advanced pancreatic cancer have provided encouraging results (Abstract). Deicher et al also teaches MUC1, WT1 and Mesothelin antigens in Table 1: Published series on dendritic cell-based immunotherapy in pancreatic cancer (Page 4).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to combine the teachings of prior art to modify the method of the above references by using mesothelioma cancer cell associated antigens such as MUC1, WT1 and Mesothelin antigens as taught by Deicher et al, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Deicher et al stated that” DC-based vaccination with MUC1 and WT1 antigens have provided encouraging results” (Abstract) and “Tumor lysates allow for a broad selection of tumor associated antigens (TAAs) and thereby a more comprehensive tumor attack.” (Page 3, left column, last para) . One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so because Deicher et al provided examples and instructions of using MUC1, WT1 and Mesothelin antigens for dendritic cell-based immunotherapy in pancreatic cancer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and Declaration under 37 C.F.R. §1.132 by Ilona Enninga filed on 08-01-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
1. Applicant argue that as explained in the declaration (par. 10-11), both Rong and Hegmans teach the treatment of a cancer with DCs loaded with antigens or lysates from that same cancer. This is contrary to the method as claimed which teaches the treatment of pancreatic cancer with DCs being loaded with a lysate obtained from mesothelioma tumor cell lines (Remarks, page 5).
Response to Arguments:
It is noted that there is no teachings/ statement from Rong et al and Hegmans et that DCs have to be loaded with antigens or lysates from that same cancer. In fact, Rong et al teach treating pancreatic cancer with DCs pulsed with tumor cell lysates can induce primary T-cell responses (Page 174, left column, 1st para) and stated that “the advantage of tumor lysate-pulsed DCs is that may present more epitopes and may elicit a stronger immune response” (Page 177, right column, 2nd para.), and Hegmans et al teach a method for the preparation of an immunogenic lysate from mesothelioma tumor cells to prepare dendritic cells loaded with the lysate (Abstract) and in order to obtain a good immunogenic response it is preferred to use a mixture of allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells, from at least two mesothelioma tumor cell-lines, preferably at least three mesothelioma tumor cell-lines ([0030], page 3). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of prior art to prepare dendritic cells loaded with tumor lysate with more epitopes such as the mesothelioma lysate to treat pancreatic cancer.
2. Applicant argue that Rong fails to teach a treatment for pancreatic cancer that uses DCs loaded
with a lysate obtained from unrelated cancer cells (i.e. mesothelioma cells).
Hegmans fails to remedy these deficiencies. Hegmans teaches a method for the preparation of an immunogenic lysate from allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells (Abstract and [0012]), which lysate can be used in the treatment of mesothelioma by loading dendritic cells with said lysate ([0087] and [0090]).
At the time of filing of the present application, it was unknown that a replacement of pancreatic-cancer-specific peptides with a lysate obtained from mesothelioma cell lines would be able to activate autologous dendritic cells obtained from a pancreatic cancer patient to react against the pancreatic cancer affecting said patient. Furthermore, the skilled person would not reasonably expect that treatment of pancreatic cancer by an agent specifically designed to treat mesothelioma would be successful, in particular because the prior art suggests to treat cancer with DCs loaded with antigens or lysates from that same cancer (Remarks, page 5-6).
Response to Arguments:
Before the time of filing of the present application, it was known that autologous dendritic cells can be activated with a tumor lysate with more epitopes: Rong et al teach treating pancreatic cancer with DCs pulsed with tumor cell lysates can induce primary T-cell responses (Page 174, left column, 1st para) and stated that “the advantage of tumor lysate-pulsed DCs is that may present more epitopes and may elicit a stronger immune response” (Page 177, right column, 2nd para.). Hegmans et al stated that “Allogeneic DC-based immunotherapy showed an increased survival rate of the treated mice compared to untreated mice, as is shown in Figure 1. Besides an increase in the amount of CD8 positive cytotoxic T cells, the percentage of IFN-gamma and granzyme B production per cell was higher in allogeneic DC treated mice compared to non-treated mice. The killing capacity of splenocytes from allogeneic treated mice were highly increased when cells were co-cultured with chromium labelled AC29 tumor cells” ([0103], page 8). Thus, a skilled person would reasonably expect that treatment of pancreatic cancer by using allogeneic DC-based immunotherapy specifically designed to treat mesothelioma would be successful.
It is also noted that Hegmans et al teach that “in order to obtain a good immunogenic response it is preferred to use a mixture of allogeneic mesothelioma tumor cells, from at least two mesothelioma tumor cell-lines, preferably at least three mesothelioma tumor cell-lines” ([0030], page 3). Thus, Hegmans et al teach using different kind of epitopes from lysate of different kind of cancers (in this case different kind of mesothelioma) to treat another kind of cancer so that the concept of using different cancer-derived lysate for treating different cancer is not new before the time of filing of the present application.
3. Applicant argue that as explained in the declaration, Rong may disclose the use of specific single antigens that may also be found in some mesotheliomas to pulse dendritic cells for pancreatic cancer, but it does not teach or suggest the use of a mesothelioma cancer cell line lysate for treating of this specific cancer type. A single purified antigen that is known to also be expressed in some mesotheliomas is something completely different than a lysate made from mesothelioma cancer cell lines. The declaration emphasizes (par. 12 and 13), that a lysate is a biologically and immunologically distinct composition, comprising a heterogeneous mix of cellular components including proteins, lipids, nucleic acids, and metabolites. This property of lysates stands in contrast to the precise and controlled administration of a known peptide like MUC I to DCs. The cited prior art does not suggest that a complex lysate obtained from a mesothelioma cell line could be an appropriate or effective replacement for a purified pancreatic-cancer-specific antigen (Remark, page 6).
Response to Arguments:
As explained above, Rong et al teach treating pancreatic cancer with DCs pulsed with tumor cell lysates can induce primary T-cell responses (Page 174, left column, 1st para) and stated that “the advantage of tumor lysate-pulsed DCs is that may present more epitopes and may elicit a stronger immune response” (Page 177, right column, 2nd para.). Thus, the cited prior art does suggest that a complex lysate obtained from a lysate could be an appropriate or effective replacement for a purified pancreatic-cancer-specific antigen.
4. Applicant argue that the inventors have surprisingly found that a lysate from cultured and irradiated mesothelioma cells is capable of eliciting a robust and polyvalent immune response against a pancreatic cancer. This goes beyond what a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably predict or attempt without explicit rationale (Remark, Page 6).
Response to Arguments:
According to MPEP 716.02, Allegations of Unexpected Results, Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In the instant case, since Rong et al teach “the advantage of tumor lysate-pulsed DCs is that may present more epitopes and may elicit a stronger immune response” (Page 177, right column, 2nd para.) and Hegmans et al teach a method for the preparation of an immunogenic lysate from mesothelioma tumor cells to prepare dendritic cells loaded with the lysate (Abstract); therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of prior art to prepare dendritic cells loaded with the mesothelioma lysate to treat pancreatic cancer, and it is expected to have the same results.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/KHOA NHAT TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/PETER PARAS JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1632