CTFR 17/444,137 CTFR 85636 DETAILED ACTION Response to Amendment This Office Action is responsive to applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on January 23, 2026 after the non-final rejection of the application. The Amendment filed 1/23/26 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are pending, of which claims 1-4, 13, 16-18, 27, and 29-30 were amended . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejections of [ amended claims 1-4, 13, 16-18, 27, and 29-30 ] have been considered but are not persuasive / moot. a/ Applicant submits that neither DAMNAJNAOVIC , nor SHAO , nor the combination thereof, disclose "transmit an uplink communication to a network entity and receive a downlink communication from the network entity, in accordance with the full duplex operation of the UE, and in accordance with the first indication and the second indication," as recited in amended claim 1. Amended independent claims 1, 16, and 29-30 are now rejected using the combination of Kang, Yeh, Marinier, Rayman, Shao, and John. Consequently, the rejections of claims 1-20 is still to be maintained. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claim at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 16, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 20230134318 A1) hereinafter Kang, in view of Yeh et al. (US 20200119890 A1) , hereinafter Yeh . Regarding claim 1: Kang discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (terminal, Fig.10) , comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (memory(s), element 104 in Fig.11); and one or more processors coupled with one or more memories, at least one processor of the one or more processors (processors coupled with memory, elements 102 and 104 in Fig.11) , configured to cause the UE to: receive a message (receive downlink control information {DCI}, [0216]) that includes: a first indication of one or more selected cells associated with one or more component carriers (DCI includes first information related to a scheduled cell associated with component carriers {CC} [0217 and 0190] or first information on scheduled cell and CCs [0232] ); and a second indication of one or more uplink and downlink beam pairs of the UE (second information related to scheduled DL/UL physical channel [0217]) ; and Kang also discloses determining scheduling single CC or muti-CC [0233]. Kang does not disclose DL/UL in the second information can be one or more uplink and downlink beam pairs of the UE for full duplex operation of the UE per each of the plurality of component carriers, and transmitting an uplink communication and receiving a downlink. Yeh , from the same field of endeavor, teaches a second indication related to DL/UL can be one or more uplink and downlink beam pairs of the UE for full duplex operation of the UE per each of the plurality of component carriers ({second} scheduling of DL-UL pair of full duplex mobile device {FD MDs}, which transmits and receives traffic simultaneously [0101] or FD MDs can be scheduled with simultaneous DL and UL transmissions, e.g., DL/UL pair [0105]) , and transmitting an uplink communication to a network entity and receiving a downlink communication from the network entity, in accordance with the full duplex operation of the UE and in accordance with the first indication and the second indication (and transmitting uplink communication to base station and receiving downlink communications at same time and frequency to/from base station, e.g., full duplex operation {[0036] and signaling between elements 206, 207 and 201]} based on scheduling [0101]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit an uplink communication and receive a downlink communication via a full duplex mode, based at least in part on selected cells and scheduled uplink/ downlink beam pairs; thus achieving high spectrum efficiency for various channels/ component carriers models and deployment environments -- Yeh [0026]). Regarding claim 2; Kang in view of Yeh discloses all features of claim 1. Kang further discloses the first indication of the one or more selected cells includes one or more of: a physical cell identification (cell identifier or ID [0102]) , or a serving cell identification. Regarding claim 3; Kang in view of Yeh discloses all features of claim 1. Kang does not, while Yeh further discloses determining the second indication of at least one downlink and uplink beam pair to use for each of the one or more selected cells (base station 101 provides a FD air interface to serve FD cell 102 [0027] which connects to FD-MD [Fig.1 and [0036]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a downlink/ uplink beam pair to use for each selected cell; thus efficiently controlling transmissions from UE to each selected cell, for the benefit of ensuring proper link adaptation -- while preventing interference to receptions at UE . Regarding claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 1 above, except that claim 16 is from the base station’s perspective and wherein Kang [in claim 16 ] also discloses a base station (“base station” in Fig.10) for wireless communication, comprising a memory (memory, element 204 in Fig.10) and one or more processors (processor, element 202 in Fig.10) being implemented to perform claimed functionalities. Regarding claim 29: Claim 29 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 1 above, except that claim 29 is in a method claim format. Regarding claim 30: Claim 30 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 16 above, except that claim 30 is in a method claim format . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-13, 17 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yeh , and further in view of Marinier et al. (US 20200145079 A1) , hereinafter Marinier . Regarding claim 7: Kang in view of Yeh discloses all features of claim 1, and -- Kang does not, while Yeh further discloses transmitting the uplink communication and receive the downlink communication (transmitting uplink communication to base station and receiving downlink communications at same time and frequency to/from base station, e.g., full duplex operation {[0036] and signaling between elements 206, 207 and 201]} based on scheduling [0101]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a downlink/ uplink beam pair to use for each selected cell; thus efficiently controlling transmissions from UE to each selected cell, for the benefit of ensuring proper link adaptation -- while preventing interference to receptions at UE . Kang in view of Yeh does not further disclose applying an uplink and downlink beam pair, of the one or more uplink and downlink beam pairs, to multiple selected cells of the one or more selected cells or multiple physical cell identifications; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for data communications, as suggested in Marinier ’s disclosure as below. Marinier, from the same field of endeavor, discloses applying an uplink and downlink beam pair, of the one or more uplink and downlink beam pairs, to multiple selected cells of the one or more selected cells or multiple physical cell identifications (using multiple beam processes to support spatial diversity, or multiplexing, multi-point operation and mobility, e.g., beam process 1 for TRP 1, beam process 3 for TRP2, see para.50 in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply an uplink and downlink beam pair, of the one or more uplink and downlink beam pairs, to multiple selected cells of the one or more selected cells or multiple physical cell; thus efficiently controlling transmissions from UE to multiple selected cells, for the benefit of ensuring proper link adaptation while preventing interference to receptions at UE ( Marinier [0035]). Regarding claim 8: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all features of claim 7. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose, while Marinier discloses applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining that the message indicates a first selected cell or physical cell identification to use the uplink and downlink beam pair (using beam process 1, e.g., referred to uplink and downlink pair, to TRP 1, see para.50 in Marinier ); applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining, based at least in part on pre-configured information at the UE, that the first selected cell or physical cell identification is associated with a second selected cell or physical cell identification (using beam process associated with pre-configured time/ frequency resources, [see para.59 in Marinier] wherein beam processes are connected to multiple TRPs, [see para.60 in Marinier), and current and new TRP are associated in a mobility event [see para.137 in Marinier ); and applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining, in accordance with the first selected cell or physical cell identification being associated with the second selected cell or physical cell identification, to apply the uplink and downlink beam pair to the first selected cell or physical cell identification and the second selected cell or physical cell identification (using beam processes associated with different TRPs, e.g., first and second cell, see para.183 in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the uplink and downlink beam pair to the first selected cell or physical cell identification and the second selected cell or physical cell identification based on pre-configured information; thus efficiently controlling transmissions from UE to multiple selected cells, for the benefit of ensuring proper link adaptation to cells in a timely manner with reduced delay (Marinier [0035]). Regarding claim 9: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all features of claim 7. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose, while Marinier discloses applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining that the message indicates a first selected cell or physical cell identification and a second selected cell or physical cell identification to use the uplink and downlink beam (maintaining one beam process for operation with multiple points, e.g., TRPs., [0008] in Marinier); apply the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining that the message indicates selected cells or physical cell identifications per cell group are to use the uplink and downlink beam pair (use a default beam process for synchronized transmissions from multiple TRPs, e.g., for synchronized TRPs group, see [0048] in Marinier). Thus, it is obvious to determine that the message indicates all selected cells or physical cell identifications per cell group are to use the uplink and downlink beam pair; thus enabling the coordination between TRPs which use different resources ( Marinier [0074]) Regarding claim 10: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all features of claim 7. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose, while Marinier further teaches applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining that the message indicates a first selected cell or physical cell identification to use the uplink and downlink beam pair (using first beam process for first TRP, see [0075[ in Marinier) and indicates a second selected cell or physical cell identification to use another uplink and downlink beam pair (using second beam process for second TRP, see [0075] in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a first selected cell or physical cell identification to use the uplink and downlink beam pair, and indicates a second selected cell or physical cell identification to use another uplink and downlink beam pair; thus enabling the coordination between TRPs which use different resources - Marinier [0074] Regarding claim 11: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all features of claim 7. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose, while Marinier further teaches applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining in accordance with frequencies of the multiple selected cells (each beam process associated with different TRPs using dedicated frequency resource, see [0184] in Marinier) that the UE supports using the uplink and downlink beam pair for the multiple selected cells that have a same bandwidth part (using beam processes associated with different TRPs have identical resource block sizes, e.g., bandwidth part, see [0183] in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support using the uplink and downlink beam pair for the multiple selected cells that have a same bandwidth part; thus enabling the coordination between TRPs/ cells which use same resources, e.g., bandwidth part ( Marinier [0074]) Regarding claim 12: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all features of claim 7. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose, while Marinier further teaches applying the uplink and downlink beam pair in accordance with determining, based at least in part on frequencies of the multiple selected cells, that the UE supports using the uplink and downlink beam pair for the multiple selected cells that have different bandwidth parts (using each beam process associated with dedicated frequency resource associated with different TRPs, e.g., different bandwidth, see [0184] in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support using the uplink and downlink beam pair for the multiple selected cells that have different bandwidth part; thus enabling the coordination between TRPs which use different resources, e.g., bandwidth parts - Marinier [0074] Regarding claim 13: Kang in view of Yeh discloses all features of claim 1. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose the second indication of at least one downlink and uplink beam pair to use for multiple component carriers of the one or more component carriers. Marinier, from the same field of endeavor, discloses an indication of at least one downlink and uplink beam pair to use for multiple component carriers of the one or more component carriers (determination of beams used in reception and transmission in a bi-directional beam process based on frequency band, e.g., including component carriers, that UE is accessing or to which the UE is connected, see [0046 and 0058] in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate at least one downlink and uplink beam pair to use for multiple component carriers of the one or more component carriers; thus improving reception or transmission performance via increased diversity that comes with using multiple component carriers -- Marinier [0170] . Regarding claim 17: Claim 17 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 3 above, except that claim 17 is from the base station’s perspective Regarding claim 21: Claim 21 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 7 above, except that claim 21 is recited from the base station’s perspective. Regarding claim 22: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all features of claim 21. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose, while Marinier further discloses an indication of a first selected call or physical cell identification to use the to use the uplink and downlink beam pair (configured with beam process associated with TRP 1, see [0050] in Marinier); and wherein, in accordance with pre-configured information at the UE, the first selected cell or physical cell identification is associated with a second selected cell or physical cell identification (configuration is maintained at UE to different TRPs [see para.61 in Marinier] or beam correspondence is predetermined for transmit and receive beams [see [0099] in Marinier], wherein TRP1 and TRP2 are connected to UE [see elements 402, 410, 108 in Fig.4 in Marinier). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the uplink and downlink beam pair to the first selected cell or physical cell identification and the second selected cell or physical cell identification based on pre-configured information at the UE; thus ensuring finding such process in a shorter period of time (Marinier [0177]). Regarding claim 23: Claim 23 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 9 above, except that claim 23 is from the base station’s perspective. Regarding claims 24-26: Claim 24-26 are rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claims 10-12 above, except that claims 24-26 are recited from the base station’s perspective. Regarding claim 27: Claim 27 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 13 above, except that claim 27 is recited from the base station’s perspective . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yeh , and further in view of Rahman et al. (US 20200413390 A1) , hereinafter Rahman . Regarding claim 4: Kang in view of Yeh discloses all limitations of claim 3. Kang in view of Yeh does not disclose at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identification that indicates an uplink direction for a first beam and a downlink direction for a second beam. Rahman, from the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identification that indicates an uplink direction for a first beam and a downlink direction for a second beam (using DL-TCI field in the DL-related DCI to select an DL RX beam for UE and indicate DL RX beam selection, [0106] and using UL-TCI field in the UL-related DCI to select an UL TX beam for the UE and indicate the UL TX beam selection [0116]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to base on TCI states indicating the direction of beams; Regarding claim 5: Kang in view of Yeh and Rahman discloses all limitations of claim 4. Kang further discloses wherein the first beam is associated with one or more of: an uplink shared channel (determining beam [0168] associated with physical uplink shared channel {PUSCH} [0105]), an uplink reference signal, or a physical random access channel (PRACH [0104] ). Regarding claims 18-19: Claims 18-19 are rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claims 4-5 above, respectively, except that claims 18-19 are recited from the base station’s perspective . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yeh and Rahman , and further in view of Shao et al. (US 20210211893 A1) , hereinafter Shao . Regarding claim 6: Kang in view of Yeh and Rahman discloses all limitations of claim 4. Kang in view of Yeh and Rahman does not disclose wherein the second beam is associated with one or more of: a control resource set identification, a downlink shared channel, or a downlink reference signal. Shao discloses wherein the second beam is associated with one or more of: a control resource set identification, a downlink shared channel, or a downlink reference signal (identifier of {second} beam is associated with downlink reference signal [0128]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the beam associated with downlink channel; thus enabling the transmission of downlinks -- Shao [0009]. Regarding claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 6 above, respectively, except that claim 20 is recited from the base station’s perspective . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14-15 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier, and further in view of John Wilson (US 20190082438 A1) , hereinafter John . Regarding claim 14: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all limitations of claim 13. Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier does not further disclose an indication of a cell group, that includes the multiple component carriers, wherein the cell group is a master cell group or a secondary cell group and using the at least one downlink and uplink beam pair in a cell group. John, from the same field of endeavor, teaches an indication of a cell group, that includes the multiple component carriers, to use the at least one downlink and uplink beam pair (master cell group (MCG) may exchange information to facilitate establishing a beam pair link with PSCell, using multiple component carriers, para.53 and para.196); wherein the cell group is a master cell group or a secondary cell group (master cell group {MCG} or secondary cell group {SCG}, [0053]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a cell group including multiple component carriers, to use the at least one downlink and uplink beam pair; thus improving reception or transmission performance via increased diversity that comes with using multiple component carriers. Regarding claim 15: Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier discloses all limitations of claim 13. Kang further discloses determining an indication of a set of aggregated component carriers, that includes the multiple component carriers (carrier aggregation having carrier #1 and carrier #2 [0189]). Kang in view of Yeh and Marinier does not disclose using the uplink and downlink beam pair in a set of aggregated component carriers. John, from the same field of endeavor, discloses the indication of the at least one downlink and uplink beam pair to use for the multiple component carriers comprises an indication of a set of aggregated component carriers, that includes the multiple component carriers, to use the uplink and downlink beam pair (beam pair link procedures may be used in carrier aggregation operations, [0097]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the uplink and downlink beam pair operating in carrier aggregation including multiple component carriers. Regarding claim 28: Claim 28 is rejected for substantially same reason as applied to claim 14 above, respectively, except that claim 28 is from the base station’s perspective . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAMQUYEN THAI whose telephone number is (571)270-7245. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and videoconferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.Q.T./ /AYMAN A ABAZA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 2 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 3 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 5 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 6 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 7 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 8 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 9 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 10 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 11 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 12 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 13 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 14 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 15 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 16 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 18 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 19 Art Unit: 2465 Application/Control Number: 17/444,137 Page 20 Art Unit: 2465