DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 01/28/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3 - 13 are amended; Claims 2, 14 – 16 are cancelled; No claims are added. Claims 1, 3 - 13 are currently pending and subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 - 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 9 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fodor et al. (US 20180192357 A1) in view of Kim et al. (WO 2017217584 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fodor et al. discloses a method for performing, by a user equipment (Fodor et al., FIG. 1, UE A1), measurement report in a wireless communication system (Fodor et al., [0085] a Full-Duplex (FD) bearer for an FD capable UE allows the simultaneous transmission/reception for the UE, where the coexistence of different types of bearers gives rise to new types of interference in relation to [0091] Full-Duplex (FD) and Half-Duplex (HD) measurements done on radio resources carrying FD and HD radio bearers respectively may require new sets of signaling information element (IE) and [0101] the base station knows whether the UE is scheduled for HD, bidirectional FD or three-node FD communication and so it can instruct and configure the UE to perform HD, bidirectional FD and three-node FD measurements), the method comprising:
receiving a first measurement resource from a base station (Fodor et al., [0094] each of the HD and FD traffic measurements performed may be tagged or associated with its respective ‘resource identifier’ i.e. HD and FD traffic measurements with HD resource ID and FD resource ID respectively, to allow the target UE to determine which measurement (FD or HD) to perform in relation to [0095] one or more HD and FD traffic measurement results along with at least the resource ID are transmitted to at least one second network node and/or one or more UEs);
performing a first measurement based on the first measurement resource (Fodor et al., [0095] the information associated with the actual traffic measurement results is transmitted to the second network node in relation to [0102] the base station can specify thresholds on certain measurement values that must be met in order for the UE to actually send a measurement report and [0103] the FD specific measurements, e.g. measured experienced self interference or UE-to-UE interference are FD specific and require from the UE that such measurements can be performed and reported); transmitting a first measurement report to the base station (Fodor et al., [0097] the information associated with the actual traffic measurement results is transmitted to the second network node in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds);
receiving a second measurement resource from the base station (Fodor et al., [0100] the base station may send a measurement configuration and request message to the UE, to request measurements performed by the UE related to traffic measurement data or radio measurement data);
performing a second measurement based on the second measurement resource (Fodor et al., [0100] the UE may report the measured DL/UL user plane throughput, average and peak bit rates over a past time window and measured signal strength on specific radio resource blocks);
transmitting a second measurement report to the base station (Fodor et al., [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds); and
performing a handover procedure based on the second measurement report (Fodor et al., [0105] the base station may use these measurements to decide on requesting a handover for the UE to another base station);
wherein the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference measurement and a first measurement result of the first measurement (Fodor et al., [0103] the FD specific measurements, e.g. measured experienced self interference or UE-to-UE interference are FD specific in relation to [0105] if the reported signal-to-(UE-to-UE interference) is lower than threshold and the UE reports higher than threshold reference signal measured from the target base station, the serving base station decides to hand over the UE to that target base station, thus, target base station combines FD specific measurements with reference signal measurements),
wherein the second measurement report comprises second information indicating a self-interference cancellation measurement and a second measurement result of the second measurement (Fodor et al., [0094] each of the HD and FD traffic measurements performed may be tagged or associated with its respective ‘resource identifier’ i.e. HD and FD traffic measurements with HD resource ID and FD resource ID respectively in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds).
Fodor et al. does not expressly disclose the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [page 2, 4th par] 5G communication system supports the operation of the full duplex radio (FDR) mode, however self-interference caused by the operation of the FDR mode may deteriorate the communication performance) discloses measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success (Kim et al., [page 3, 2nd par] a UE receiving a downlink signal from a base station and transmitting feedback information including a NACK signal for the downlink signal to the base station, wherein the feedback information indicates that the reason for transmitting the NACK signal is that the terminal has failed to remove the self-interference signal in relation to [page 12, 6th par] the success/failure of the self-interference cancellation can be determined based on the result of the detection success/failure of the final received signal) and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure (Kim et al., [page 3, 10th – 11th par] the BS transmitting downlink control information including information for instructing the terminal to operate in a half duplex mode based on the feedback information to the terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Fodor et al. in order to inform the BS of the self-interference removal success/failure (Kim et al., [page 4,2nd par]).
Regarding claim 3, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose in case that the user equipment performs communication with the base station based on a full duplex radio (FDR), the user equipment simultaneously performs uplink signal transmission and downlink signal reception in a single frequency band (Fodor et al., [0039] the node is capable of in-band full duplex, FD, communication and half duplex, HD, communication with any of the plurality of UE's, wherein in-band FD communication is the simultaneous transmission and reception of signals on a same frequency).
Regarding claim 4, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose the user equipment, performs a first and second self-interference cancellation operation for the downlink signal reception, the first and second self-interference cancellation operation resulting in the first information and the second information, respectively Fodor et al., [0022] two measurement steps are defined in which the first network node measures traffic measurement data related to in-band full duplex, FD, communication between any of the first plurality of UE's in the first cell and the first network node and related to half duplex, HD, communication).
Regarding claim 5, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose in a first case that the first or second measurement resource is operated in a half duplex radio (HDR) mode by the user equipment operating based on a full duplex radio (FDR) mode, the measurement report comprises a measurement result (Fodor et al., [0100] the UE may report the measured DL/UL user plane throughput, average and peak bit rates over a past time window and measured signal strength on specific radio resource blocks) and the handover procedure is performed based on the measurement result (Fodor et al., [0105] the base station may use these measurements to decide on requesting a handover for the UE to another base station), and
wherein in a second case that the first or second measurement resource is operated in the FDR mode by the user equipment operating based on the FDR mode, the measurement report comprises the measurement result and the second information indicating the self-interference cancellation success (Kim et al., [page 13, 6th par] the UE may transmit an indicator, e.g. a SIC Success Flag, indicating success or failure of self-interference to a base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH) and the handover procedure is performed based on the measurement result and the second information (Fodor et al., [0105] if the reported signal-to-(UE-to-UE interference) is lower than threshold and the UE reports higher than threshold reference signal measured from the target base station, the serving base station decides to hand over the UE to that base station). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose the base station changes configuration information for the user equipment based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure (Kim et al., [page 13, 6th par] the UE may transmit an indicator, e.g. a SIC Success Flag, indicating success or failure of self-interference to a base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH), and wherein the second measurement resource is determined based on the changed configuration information (Kim et al., [page 13, 6th par] the UE may transmit an indicator, e.g. a SIC Success Flag, indicating success or failure of self-interference to a base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose the changed configuration information comprises at least one of transmission power control information (Fodor et al., [0129] if the second network node uses HD transmission on these PRBs, it may transmit with lower power to the UEs on one or more of these RB and/or configure the UEs to transmit with lower power on one or more of these RBs), duplex mode change information or resource re-allocation information (Kim et al., [page 15, 1st par] when self-interference cancellation (SIC) Success Flag = 0, the UE may be operated in a half duplex radio (HDR) mode). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose the first measurement and the second measurement are performed based on at least one among received signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), and signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) (Fodor et al., [0053] the radio measurement data comprises any of signal quality measurement data such as Signal-to-Noise ratio, SNR, data, Signal-to-interference-plus-noise, SINR, ratio).
Regarding claim 10, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose the first measurement result and the second measurement result comprise information related to at least one of the RSRP, the RSRQ or the SINR (Fodor et al., [0053] the radio measurement data comprises any of signal quality measurement data such as Signal-to-Noise ratio, SNR, data, Signal-to-interference-plus-noise, SINR, ratio in relation to [0100] the UE may report the measured DL/UL user plane throughput, average and peak bit rates over a past time window and measured signal strength on specific radio resource blocks).
Regarding claim 11, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. disclose the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure (Kim et al., [page 13, 6th par] the UE may transmit an indicator, e.g., a SIC Success Flag, indicating success or failure of self-interference to a base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH in relation to [page 14, 1st par] SIC Success Flag = 0 (False): when failure of self-interference removal at the terminal when decoding the packet) and the second information indicating the self-interference cancellation success are each configured as one-bit information (Kim et al., [page 13, 6th par] the UE may transmit an indicator, e.g., a SIC Success Flag, indicating success or failure of self-interference to a base station through a PUCCH or a PUSCH in relation to [page 13, 10th par] SIC Success Flag = 1 (True): when the self-interference removal success at the terminal when decoding the packet). The motivation is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Fodor et al. discloses a user equipment (Fodor et al., FIG. 1, UE A1) configured to perform measurement report in a wireless communication system (Fodor et al., [0085] a Full-Duplex (FD) bearer for an FD capable UE allows the simultaneous transmission/reception for the UE, where the coexistence of different types of bearers gives rise to new types of interference in relation to [0091] Full-Duplex (FD) and Half-Duplex (HD) measurements done on radio resources carrying FD and HD radio bearers respectively may require new sets of signaling information element (IE) and [0101] the base station knows whether the UE is scheduled for HD, bidirectional FD or three-node FD communication and so it can instruct and configure the UE to perform HD, bidirectional FD and three-node FD measurements), the user equipment comprising: a transceiver (Fodor et al., [0036] a UE that may decide not to use FD on a radio resource inherently comprises a transceiver); and a processor coupled to the transceiver (Fodor et al., [0036] a UE that may decide not to use FD on a radio resource inherently comprises a processor), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a first measurement resource from a base station (Fodor et al., [0094] each of the HD and FD traffic measurements performed may be tagged or associated with its respective ‘resource identifier’ i.e. HD and FD traffic measurements with HD resource ID and FD resource ID respectively, to allow the target UE to determine which measurement (FD or HD) to perform in relation to [0095] one or more HD and FD traffic measurement results along with at least the resource ID are transmitted to at least one second network node and/or one or more UEs);
perform a first measurement based on the first measurement resource (Fodor et al., [0095] the information associated with the actual traffic measurement results is transmitted to the second network node in relation to [0102] the base station can specify thresholds on certain measurement values that must be met in order for the UE to actually send a measurement report and [0103] the FD specific measurements, e.g. measured experienced self interference or UE-to-UE interference are FD specific and require from the UE that such measurements can be performed and reported);
transmit a first measurement report to the base station (Fodor et al., [0097] the information associated with the actual traffic measurement results is transmitted to the second network node in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds);
receive a second measurement resource from the base station (Fodor et al., [0100] the base station may send a measurement configuration and request message to the UE, to request measurements performed by the UE related to traffic measurement data or radio measurement data);
perform a second measurement based on the second measurement resource (Fodor et al., [0100] the UE may report the measured DL/UL user plane throughput, average and peak bit rates over a past time window and measured signal strength on specific radio resource blocks);
transmit a second measurement report to the base station (Fodor et al., [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds); and
perform a handover procedure based on the second measurement report (Fodor et al., [0105] the base station may use these measurements to decide on requesting a handover for the UE to another base station);
wherein the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self- interference measurement and a first measurement result of the first measurement (Fodor et al., [0103] the FD specific measurements, e.g. measured experienced self interference or UE-to-UE interference are FD specific in relation to [0105] if the reported signal-to-(UE-to-UE interference) is lower than threshold and the UE reports higher than threshold reference signal measured from the target base station, the serving base station decides to hand over the UE to that target base station, thus, target base station combines FD specific measurements with reference signal measurements),
wherein the second measurement report comprises second information indicating a self- interference measurement and a second measurement result of the second measurement (Fodor et al., [0094] each of the HD and FD traffic measurements performed may be tagged or associated with its respective ‘resource identifier’ i.e. HD and FD traffic measurements with HD resource ID and FD resource ID respectively in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds).
Fodor et al. does not expressly disclose the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [page 2, 4th par] 5G communication system supports the operation of the full duplex radio (FDR) mode, however self-interference caused by the operation of the FDR mode may deteriorate the communication performance) discloses measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success (Kim et al., [page 3, 2nd par] a UE receiving a downlink signal from a base station and transmitting feedback information including a NACK signal for the downlink signal to the base station, wherein the feedback information indicates that the reason for transmitting the NACK signal is that the terminal has failed to remove the self-interference signal in relation to [page 12, 6th par] the success/failure of the self-interference cancellation can be determined based on the result of the detection success/failure of the final received signal) and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure (Kim et al., [page 3, 10th – 11th par] the BS transmitting downlink control information including information for instructing the terminal to operate in a half duplex mode based on the feedback information to the terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Fodor et al. in order to inform the BS of the self-interference removal success/failure (Kim et al., [page 4,2nd par]).
Regarding claim 13, Fodor et al. discloses a method for receiving, by a base station (Fodor et al., FIG. 1, BS), a measurement report in a wireless communication system (Fodor et al., [0085] a Full-Duplex (FD) bearer for an FD capable UE allows the simultaneous transmission/reception for the UE, where the coexistence of different types of bearers gives rise to new types of interference in relation to [0091] Full-Duplex (FD) and Half-Duplex (HD) measurements done on radio resources carrying FD and HD radio bearers respectively may require new sets of signaling information element (IE) and [0101] the base station knows whether the UE is scheduled for HD, bidirectional FD or three-node FD communication and so it can instruct and configure the UE to perform HD, bidirectional FD and three-node FD measurements), the method comprising:
transmitting a first measurement resource Fodor et al., [0094] each of the HD and FD traffic measurements performed may be tagged or associated with its respective ‘resource identifier’ i.e. HD and FD traffic measurements with HD resource ID and FD resource ID respectively, to allow the target UE to determine which measurement (FD or HD) to perform in relation to [0095] one or more HD and FD traffic measurement results along with at least the resource ID are transmitted to at least one second network node and/or one or more UEs) to a user equipment (Fodor et al., FIG. 1, UE A1); receiving the a first measurement report from the user equipment (Fodor et al., [0097] the information associated with the actual traffic measurement results is transmitted to the second network node in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds); and
transmitting a second measurement resource to the user equipment (Fodor et al., [0100] the base station may send a measurement configuration and request message to the UE, to request measurements performed by the UE related to traffic measurement data or radio measurement data);
receiving a second measurement report from the user equipment (Fodor et al., [0097] the information associated with the actual traffic measurement results is transmitted to the second network node in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds); and
performing a handover procedure based on the second measurement report (Fodor et al., [0105] the base station may use these measurements to decide on requesting a handover for the UE to another base station);
wherein the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self- interference cancellation measurement and a first measurement result related to the first measurement resource (Fodor et al., [0103] the FD specific measurements, e.g. measured experienced self interference or UE-to-UE interference are FD specific in relation to [0105] if the reported signal-to-(UE-to-UE interference) is lower than threshold and the UE reports higher than threshold reference signal measured from the target base station, the serving base station decides to hand over the UE to that target base station, thus, target base station combines FD specific measurements with reference signal measurements),
wherein the second measurement report comprises second information indicating a self- interference cancellation measurement and a second measurement result related to the second measurement resource (Fodor et al., [0094] each of the HD and FD traffic measurements performed may be tagged or associated with its respective ‘resource identifier’ i.e. HD and FD traffic measurements with HD resource ID and FD resource ID respectively in relation to [0104] the UE sends the measurement report, i.e. at least the measurement data, to the serving base station according to the instructions and thresholds).
Fodor et al. does not expressly disclose the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure.
Kim et al., for example, from an analogous field of endeavor (Kim et al., [page 2, 4th par] 5G communication system supports the operation of the full duplex radio (FDR) mode, however self-interference caused by the operation of the FDR mode may deteriorate the communication performance) discloses measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success (Kim et al., [page 3, 2nd par] a UE receiving a downlink signal from a base station and transmitting feedback information including a NACK signal for the downlink signal to the base station, wherein the feedback information indicates that the reason for transmitting the NACK signal is that the terminal has failed to remove the self-interference signal in relation to [page 12, 6th par] the success/failure of the self-interference cancellation can be determined based on the result of the detection success/failure of the final received signal) and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure (Kim et al., [page 3, 10th – 11th par] the BS transmitting downlink control information including information for instructing the terminal to operate in a half duplex mode based on the feedback information to the terminal).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the first measurement report comprises first information indicating a self-interference cancellation failure or success and wherein the first measurement result is ignored by the base station based on the first information indicating the self-interference cancellation failure as taught by Kim et al. with the system of Fodor et al. in order to inform the BS of the self-interference removal success/failure (Kim et al., [page 4,2nd par]).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fodor et al. - Kim et al., as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Haustein et al. (US 20230189382 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Fodor et al. - Kim et al. do not expressly disclose the first measurement resource and the second measurement resource comprise at least one of a channel status information-reference signal (CSI-RS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB).
Haustein et al., for example from ana analogous field of endeavor (Haustein et al., [0020] in case of a radio link failure (RLF), NR RLF report content required for MDT includes: a latest radio measurement results of the serving and neighbouring cells, including SSB/CSI-RS index and associated measurements in the serving and neighbouring cells) discloses a measurement configuration comprising at least one of a channel status information-reference signal (CSI-RS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Haustein et al., [0114] a device may be configured for measuring or determining at least one of a PHY-layer parameter such as a bit error rate (BER), a block error rate (BLER), one or more modulation coding scheme levels (MCS levels), RSRP, RSRQ, SNR, SINR of a beam that is measured, for example, on a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information (CSI)-reference signals (RS)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective date of the claimed invention to combine the first measurement resource and the second measurement resource comprise at least one of a channel status information-reference signal (CSI-RS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB) as taught by Haustein et al. with the combined system of Fodor et al. - Kim et al. in for optimising or assisting bidirectional communication (Haustein et al., [0114]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20180013466 A1) is cited to show signal detection of an estimated SI channel and a desired channel, where the success or failure of the Self-IC can be determined according to whether the final received signal is successfully detected or not and a relationship between the success or failure of the Self-IC and the success or failure of detecting the received signal, which is similar to aspects of the claimed invention.
/L.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416