DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/28/25 has been entered.
Claims 1-2,4-8,10-14 and 16-18 remain pending within the application.
The amendment filed 8/28/25 is sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejections of claims 1-2,4-8,10-14 and 16-18. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment filed 8/28/25 is sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 103(a) rejections of claims 1-2,4-8,10-14 and 16-18. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2,4-8,10-14 and 16-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedman United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0300057 in view of Rhodes United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0060201.
Regarding claim 1, Friedman discloses a data processing method, comprising:
extracting, from to-be-tested codes submitted by a user in submission information of a current test task (Friedman, para [0081], determining whether a request has been received from the user to add, remove, update, or otherwise query information associated with one or more of the origin repositories), a first sub-directory in which a dependent package required for constructing a model is located (Friedman, para [0082], fig 2 element 235, origin repository with corresponding metadata defining dependencies extracted. Packages, patterns, or other Software in the new origin repository may be downloaded to one or more locally stored cached repositories),
wherein the current test task is used for testing the to-be-tested codes to construct a computer model (Friedman, para [0038], fig 2, development environment used for testing), and the first sub-directory corresponds to a memory address of a dependent package required for the to-be-tested codes (Friedman, para [0022, 48], “wherein the user may define a name for the new origin repository 115 and further provide a location where information for the new origin repository 115 can be obtained. The repository metadata server 170 may then contact the new origin repository 115 using the location provided by the user and retrieve metadata describing the new origin repository 115 and any packages and patterns contained therein.” A location where information can be obtained represents an address);
acquiring a second sub-directory in codes of a historical test task (Friedman, para [0086], fig 2, element 250, acquires dependencies);
obtaining the dependent package from a local storage module (Friedman, para [0087], fig 2 element 255, obtains dependent packages);
obtaining the dependent package from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal, in a case where the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory (Friedman, para [0087], fig 2 element 255, in response to resolving the dependencies for the particular component, operation 255 may include automatically adding any required dependencies to the appliance, and may further include automatically removing any conflicting dependencies from the appliance); and
storing the dependent package obtained from the dependent package storage library into the local storage module (Friedman, para [0056, 60], fig 1, element 145 repository database stores packages to be accessed for dependency resolution); and
constructing the computer model according to the dependent package (Friedman, para [0089], building a bootable image of the appliance, wherein one or more virtual machines may be launched to create a contained build environment within which the appliance image may be generated).
Friedman does not explicitly disclose:
comparing the first sub-directory with the second sub-directory to obtain a comparison result, and determining, according to the comparison result, whether the dependent package has been stored in a local storage module of a terminal that runs the current test task,
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is the same as the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package from the local storage module;
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package according to the first sub-directory from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal.
Rhodes discloses:
comparing the first sub-directory with the second sub-directory to obtain a comparison result, and determining, according to the comparison result, whether the dependent package has been stored in a local storage module of a terminal that runs the current test task (Rhodes, para [0237], compare the received key against those already stored in subdirectory 316 to see if the key and its corresponding blob are already stored on the device; Rhodes, para [0174], with regards to fig 6A element 603, determines if blob is locally stored),
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is the same as the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package from the local storage module (Rhodes, para [0176], with regards to fig 6A, (elements 615, 605 and 608), steps for obtaining directory contents following comparison at 603);
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package according to the first sub-directory from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal (Rhodes, para [0174], with regards to fig 6A, elements, pull or get request of (steps 610 and 612), attempts to request document form another (remote) server. If successful (step 607), returns directory contents (step 608)).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the obtaining of directories to include verification. The motivation for doing so would have been engaging in both ongoing and ad-hoc collaborations, and thus need the advantages of both centralized and decentralized systems (Rhodes, para [0008]).
Regarding claim 7, Friedman discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory communicatively connected with the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor, the instructions being executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform operations of:
extracting, from to-be-tested codes submitted by a user in submission information of a current test task, a first sub-directory in which a dependent package required for constructing a model is located (Friedman, para , fig 2 element 235, origin repository with corresponding metadata defining dependencies extracted. Packages, patterns, or other Software in the new origin repository may be downloaded to one or more locally stored cached repositories),
wherein the current test task is used for tested the to-be-tested codes to construct a computer model (Friedman, para [0038], fig 2, development environment used for testing) and the first sub- directory corresponds to a memory address of a dependent package required for the codes of the current test task (Friedman, para [0022, 48], “wherein the user may define a name for the new origin repository 115 and further provide a location where information for the new origin repository 115 can be obtained. The repository metadata server 170 may then contact the new origin repository 115 using the location provided by the user and retrieve metadata describing the new origin repository 115 and any packages and patterns contained therein.” A location where information can be obtained represents an address);
acquiring a second sub-directory in codes of a historical test task (Friedman, para [0086], fig 2, element 250, acquires dependencies);
obtaining the dependent package from a local storage module (Friedman, para [0087], fig 2 element 255, obtains dependent packages);
obtaining the dependent package from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal, in a case where the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory (Friedman, para [0087], fig 2 element 255, in response to resolving the dependencies for the particular component, operation 255 may include automatically adding any required dependencies to the appliance, and may further include automatically removing any conflicting dependencies from the appliance); and
storing the dependent package obtained from the dependent package storage library into the local storage module (Friedman, para [0056, 60], fig 1, element 145 repository database stores packages to be accessed for dependency resolution); and
constructing the computer model according to the dependent package (Friedman, para [0089], building a bootable image of the appliance, wherein one or more virtual machines may be launched to create a contained build environment within which the appliance image may be generated).
Friedman does not explicitly disclose:
comparing the first sub-directory with the second sub-directory to obtain a comparison result, and determining, according to the comparison result, whether the dependent package has been stored in a local storage module of a terminal that runs the current test task,
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is the same as the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package from the local storage module;
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package according to the first sub-directory from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal.
Rhodes discloses:
comparing the first sub-directory with the second sub-directory to obtain a comparison result, and determining, according to the comparison result, whether the dependent package has been stored in a local storage module of a terminal that runs the current test task (Rhodes, para [0237], compare the received key against those already stored in subdirectory 316 to see if the key and its corresponding blob are already stored on the device; Rhodes, para [0174], with regards to fig 6A element 603, determines if blob is locally stored),
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is the same as the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package from the local storage module (Rhodes, para [0176], with regards to fig 6A, (elements 615, 605 and 608), steps for obtaining directory contents following comparison at 603);
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package according to the first sub-directory from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal (Rhodes, para [0174], with regards to fig 6A, elements, pull or get request of (steps 610 and 612), attempts to request document form another (remote) server. If successful (step 607), returns directory contents (step 608)).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the obtaining of directories to include verification. The motivation for doing so would have been engaging in both ongoing and ad-hoc collaborations, and thus need the advantages of both centralized and decentralized systems (Rhodes, para [0008]).
Regarding claim 13, Friedman discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer instructions for enabling a computer to perform operations of:
extracting, from to-be-tested codes submitted by a user in submission information of a current test task (Friedman, para [0081], determining whether a request has been received from the user to add, remove, update, or otherwise query information associated with one or more of the origin repositories), a first sub-directory in which a dependent package required for constructing a model is located (Friedman, para [0082], fig 2 element 235, origin repository with corresponding metadata defining dependencies extracted. Packages, patterns, or other Software in the new origin repository may be downloaded to one or more locally stored cached repositories),
wherein the current test task is used for testing the to-be-tested codes to construct a computer model (Friedman, para [0038], fig 2, development environment used for testing), and the first sub- directory corresponds to a memory address of a dependent package required for the codes of the to-be-tested codes (Friedman, para [0022, 48], “wherein the user may define a name for the new origin repository 115 and further provide a location where information for the new origin repository 115 can be obtained. The repository metadata server 170 may then contact the new origin repository 115 using the location provided by the user and retrieve metadata describing the new origin repository 115 and any packages and patterns contained therein.” A location where information can be obtained represents an address);
acquiring a second sub-directory in codes of a historical test task (Friedman, para [0086], fig 2, element 250, acquires dependencies);
obtaining the dependent package from a local storage module (Friedman, para [0087], fig 2 element 255, obtains dependent packages);
obtaining the dependent package from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal, in a case where the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory (Friedman, para [0087], fig 2 element 255, in response to resolving the dependencies for the particular component, operation 255 may include automatically adding any required dependencies to the appliance, and may further include automatically removing any conflicting dependencies from the appliance); and
storing the dependent package obtained from the dependent package storage library into the local storage module (Friedman, para [0056, 60], fig 1, element 145 repository database stores packages to be accessed for dependency resolution); and
constructing the computer model according to the dependent package (Friedman, para [0089], building a bootable image of the appliance, wherein one or more virtual machines may be launched to create a contained build environment within which the appliance image may be generated).
Friedman does not explicitly disclose:
comparing the first sub-directory with the second sub-directory to obtain a comparison result, and determining, according to the comparison result, whether the dependent package has been stored in a local storage module of a terminal that runs the current test task,
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is the same as the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package from the local storage module;
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package according to the first sub-directory from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal.
Rhodes discloses:
comparing the first sub-directory with the second sub-directory to obtain a comparison result, and determining, according to the comparison result, whether the dependent package has been stored in a local storage module of a terminal that runs the current test task (Rhodes, para [0237], compare the received key against those already stored in subdirectory 316 to see if the key and its corresponding blob are already stored on the device; Rhodes, para [0174], with regards to fig 6A element 603, determines if blob is locally stored),
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is the same as the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package from the local storage module (Rhodes, para [0176], with regards to fig 6A, (elements 615, 605 and 608), steps for obtaining directory contents following comparison at 603);
when the comparison result indicates that the first sub-directory is different from the second sub-directory, obtaining the dependent package according to the first sub-directory from a dependent package storage library independent from the terminal (Rhodes, para [0174], with regards to fig 6A, elements, pull or get request of (steps 610 and 612), attempts to request document form another (remote) server. If successful (step 607), returns directory contents (step 608)).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the obtaining of directories to include verification. The motivation for doing so would have been engaging in both ongoing and ad-hoc collaborations, and thus need the advantages of both centralized and decentralized systems (Rhodes, para [0008]).
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedman United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0300057 in view of Rhodes United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0060201 in further view of Leet United States Patent Application Publication US 2013/0067587.
Regarding claim 2, Friedman in view of Rhodes discloses the method of claim 1. Friedman in view of Rhodes does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Leet discloses wherein, after extracting the first sub-directory in which the dependent package required for constructing the model is located, the method comprises:
generating a first encrypted value of a message-digest algorithm of the first sub- directory (Leet, para [0040], generates hash codes); and
comparing the first encrypted value with a second encrypted value of the message- digest algorithm of the second sub-directory (Leet, para [0040], with regards to fig 1, verifiers may be calculated for sets of blocks of different granularities (e.g., a first hash code for a set of ten objects 106, and a second hash code for respective single objects 106 of the object set 104), thereby enabling an identification of the general areas of an object 106).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the obtaining of directories to include verification. The motivation for doing so would have been to verify the integrity of the archive when obtaining a package of data (Leet, para [0001]).
Regarding claim 8, Friedman in view of Rhodes discloses the electronic device of claim 7. Friedman in view of Rhodes does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Leet discloses wherein, after extracting the first sub-directory in which the dependent package required for constructing the model is located, the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to further perform operations of: generating a first encrypted value of a message-digest algorithm of the first sub- directory (Leet, para [0040], generates hash codes); and
comparing the first encrypted value with a second encrypted value of the message- digest algorithm of the second sub-directory (Leet, para [0040], with regards to fig 1, verifiers may be calculated for sets of blocks of different granularities (e.g., a first hash code for a set of ten objects 106, and a second hash code for respective single objects 106 of the object set 104), thereby enabling an identification of the general areas of an object 106).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the obtaining of directories to include verification. The motivation for doing so would have been to verify the integrity of the archive when obtaining a package of data (Leet, para [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, Friedman in view of Rhodes discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13. Friedman in view of Rhodes does not disclose the additional limitations of the present claim.
Leet discloses wherein, after extracting the first sub-directory in which the dependent package required for constructing the model is located, the computer instructions are executable by the computer to enable the computer to further perform operations of: generating a first encrypted value of a message-digest algorithm of the first sub- directory (Leet, para [0040], generates hash codes); and
comparing the first encrypted value with a second encrypted value of the message- digest algorithm of the second sub-directory (Leet, para [0040], with regards to fig 1, verifiers may be calculated for sets of blocks of different granularities (e.g., a first hash code for a set of ten objects 106, and a second hash code for respective single objects 106 of the object set 104), thereby enabling an identification of the general areas of an object 106).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the obtaining of directories to include verification. The motivation for doing so would have been to verify the integrity of the archive when obtaining a package of data (Leet, para [0001]).
Claims 4-6, 10-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedman United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0300057 in view of Rhodes United States Patent Application Publication US 2009/0060201 in further view of Kim United States Patent Application Publication US 2007/0162538.
Regarding claim 4, Friedman in view of Rhodes discloses the method of claim 1. Friedman in view of Rhodes does not disclose the additional limitations of claim 4.
Kim discloses wherein the obtaining the dependent package from the dependent package storage library, in the case where the first sub-directory is different from the second sub- directory, comprises:
acquiring a total encrypted value of the message-digest algorithm of a general directory of the dependent package storage library (Kim, para [0105], server contains encryption module that encode files that will be transmitted to device); and
obtaining the dependent package from the general directory of the dependent package storage library, in a case where the total encrypted value is equal to the first encrypted value (Kim, para [0113], authentication key provided with encoded filed to match and decode files and file structure at device).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Friedman in view of Rhodes in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 4. Kim additionally discloses further comprising: obtaining compiling information, in a case where the total encrypted value is not equal to the first encrypted value; and obtaining the dependent package according to the compiling information (Kim, para [0113], authentication key provided with encoded filed to match and decode files and file structure at device. Examiner interpretation: if authentication key doesn’t match then it would not be equal).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, Friedman in view of Rhodes in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 5. Kim additionally discloses further comprising: storing the dependent package obtained according to the compiling information, in the dependent package storage library (Kim, para [0203], package list contains directory structure, as shown in fig 15. When receiving the package list, package stored according to structure).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Friedman in view of Rhodes discloses the electronic device of claim 7. Friedman in view of Rhodes does not disclose the additional limitations of claim 10.
Kim additionally discloses wherein the obtaining the dependent package from the package storage library independent from the terminal, in the case where the first sub-directory is different from the second sub- directory, comprises:
acquiring a total encrypted value of the message-digest algorithm of a general directory of the dependent package storage library (Kim, para [0105], server contains encryption module that encode files that will be transmitted to device); and
obtaining the dependent package from the general directory of the dependent package storage library, in a case where the total encrypted value is equal to the first encrypted value (Kim, para [0113], authentication key provided with encoded filed to match and decode files and file structure at device).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Friedman in view of Rhodes in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 10. Kim additionally discloses wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to further perform operations of: obtaining compiling information, in a case where the total encrypted value is not equal to the first encrypted value; and obtaining the dependent package according to the compiling information (Kim, para [0113], authentication key provided with encoded filed to match and decode files and file structure at device. Examiner interpretation: if authentication key doesn’t match then it would not be equal).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Friedman in view of Rhodes in view of Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 11. Kim additionally discloses wherein the instructions are executable by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to further perform an operation of: storing the dependent package obtained according to the compiling information, in the dependent package storage library(Kim, para [0203], package list contains directory structure, as shown in fig 15. When receiving the package list, package stored according to structure).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 16, Friedman in view of Rhodes discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13. Friedman in view of Rhodes does not disclose the additional limitations of claim 16
Kim discloses wherein the obtaining the dependent package from the dependent package storage library independent from the terminal, in the case where the first sub-directory is different from the second sub- director, comprises:
acquiring a total encrypted value of the message-digest algorithm of a general directory of the dependent package storage library (Kim, para [0105], server contains encryption module that encode files that will be transmitted to device); and
obtaining the dependent package from the general directory of the dependent package storage library, in a case where the total encrypted value is equal to the first encrypted value (Kim, para [0113], authentication key provided with encoded filed to match and decode files and file structure at device).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 17, Friedman in view of Rhodes in view of Kim discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 16. Kim additionally discloses wherein the computer instructions are executable by the computer to enable the computer to further perform operations of: obtaining compiling information, in a case where the total encrypted value is not equal to the first encrypted value; and obtaining the dependent package according to the compiling information (Kim, para [0113], authentication key provided with encoded filed to match and decode files and file structure at device. Examiner interpretation: if authentication key doesn’t match then it would not be equal).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Friedman in view of Rhodes in view of Kim discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17. Kim additionally discloses wherein the computer instructions are executable by the computer to enable the computer to further perform an operation of: storing the dependent package obtained according to the compiling information, in the dependent package storage library (Kim, para [0203], package list contains directory structure, as shown in fig 15. When receiving the package list, package stored according to structure).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the extraction of a subdirectory and obtaining corresponding information to include the steps of transmitting and checking the data based on the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been efficiently transmitting and storing large size content (Kim, para [0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOPE C SHEFFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2141