Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 17-23, 25-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. 2021/0227604 A1) in view of CHENG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0322024 A1) in further view of Park et al (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0385409 Al).
1, Huang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: determining a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a sidelink connection; and communicating with a second UE using the sidelink connection in accordance with the DRX mode configuration [par 0005, a second User Equipment (UE) for performing sidelink communication. In one embodiment, the method includes the second UE being (pre-)configured with a sidelink resource pool in a carrier or cell, wherein a DRX (Discontinuous Reception) pattern is associated to the sidelink resource pool. The method also includes the second UE selecting a resource in the sidelink resource pool based on the DRX pattern, wherein a specific message becomes available for transmission in the second UE. The method further includes the second UE transmitting the specific message on the resource toa plurality of UEs comprising at least a first UE],
wherein a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and a corresponding physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) are scheduled to occur during a DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0212, 0495, The sidelink resource pool could be (further) (pre- )configured with a specific time duration, cycle, or period among in a periodic manner. The first UE in the specific time duration may need to wake up and/or perform monitoring or sensing the sidelink resource pool. the first UE could transmit a
sidelink transmission (e.g., P2V sidelink transmission) to the second UE and/or surrounding or nearby UEs. The sidelink transmission could be SCI (scheduling PSSCH). The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first VE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. Option 1: Receiver UE transmits HARQ-NACK on PSFCH it fails to decode the corresponding TB after decoding the associated PSCCH].
Haung fail to show transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI), triggering a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE, wherein a gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfies a threshold; and forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold.
In an analogous art CHENG show transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI), triggering a channel state information (CSI) report [par 0069, The UE may associate the CSI request field in the SCI format directly with a CSI report ID. For example, if a value of the CSI request field in the SCI format is “11”, the UE may directly trigger a CSI report with ID #3],
wherein a gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfies a threshold [par 0051, 0081, a CSI report transmitted in an SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “n” may be based on an SL reference signal located on a single SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “nCSI_ref”. A time threshold on (n-nCSI_ref) may indicate a closest valid slot/subframe/subslot/symbol for the RS used for CSI measurement before the UE is triggered for CSI reporting. For example, if the time threshold is 8 and the CSI report is transmitted in slot n, the slot nCSI_ref may not be a valid slot for CSI measurement if nCSI_ref<n−8, and the slot nCSI_ref may be a valid slot for CSI measurement if n−8≤nCSI_ref<n. The UE may perform CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting only when the channel condition is better than a quality threshold. The triggering condition (e.g., the quality threshold) may be configured in the configuration-SL];
and forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold [par 0067, 0052, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
Huang and Cheng fail to show wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE
In an analogous art Park fail show wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0070-0084, 0156, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base Station. In order for the transmitting UE to request a CSI report from the peer receiving UE operating in a power saving mode, the transmitting UE may set the wake-up bit of the SCI to “ON”, and at the same time may include a bit for triggering the CSI! report in the SCI and then set the “ON” to the resultant information].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
2. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the method of claim 1, wherein first lengths of a DRX cycle for the sidelink connection and a DRX on duration of the first UE are integer multiples of a second length of a PSFCH periodicity; and wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message on the sidelink connection during the DRX on duration of the second UE and using a PSFCH resource[Huang par 0306, 0495, Each PSFCH is mapped to a time, frequency, and code resource. The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first UE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. In one embodiment, the length of specified duration, cycle, or period in time domain is an integer multiple of the length of the DRX pattern in time domain. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be in unit of resource in the sidelink resource pool].
3, Huang, CHENG, and Park discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the DRX on duration of the first UE and the DRX cycle end in a slot that includes a PSFCH occasion, wherein the PSFCH occasion includes the PSFCH resource [par 0554, a first device performing sidelink communication with a second device using a sidelink resource pool. PSFCH resources of the sidelink resource pool are configured, periodically with a period of N Slots, in slots of the sidelink resource pool. In step 2015, the first device selects a first candidate resource in the sidelink resource pool, wherein the first candidate resource is in asleep time of the DRX pattern of the second device. For example, the sleep time may correspond to an original sleep time of the second device, such as asleep time with which the second device is configured (via the DRX pattern, for example) before the first device transmits the signal].
4, Huang, CHENG, and Park illustrates the method of claim 1, Huang and CHENG fail to show further comprising: scheduling a PSSCH transmission to the second UE, wherein the PSSCH transmission and an associated PSFCH transmission are communicated during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: transmitting the PSSCH transmission to the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and receiving the associated PSFCH transmission from the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE
In an analogous art Park show further comprising: scheduling a PSSCH transmission to the second UE [par 0069, the UE may be aware of the start symbol of the PSCCH and/or the number of symbols of the PSCCH. For example, the SCI may include SL scheduling information. For example, the UE may transmit at least one SCI to another UE to schedule the PSSCH. For example, one or more SCI formats may be defined],
wherein the PSSCH transmission and an associated PSFCH transmission are communicated during the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0097,0106, For example, when the receiving UE operates in resource allocation mode 1 or 2, the receiving UE may receive a PSSCH from the transmitting UE, and transmit HARQ feedback for the PSSCH in a sidelink feedback control information (SFCI) format on a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). For example, in resource allocation mode 1, a time between the PSFCH and the PSSCH may be configured or preconfigured. In unicast and groupcast, when a retransmission is needed on SL, this may be indicated to the BS by an in-coverage UE using a PUCCH];
and wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: transmitting the PSSCH transmission to the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0172, In addition, the SCI may be transmitted through a PSCCH, and the PSCCH may include a paging RNTI for the second UE. The second UE may identify the received PSCCH using its own paging RNTI. In addition, the SCI may be received before or within the DRX OnDuration period. When SCI is received before the DRX OnDuration period, the corresponding information can be transmitted before the offset period begins from the start time point of the DRX OnDuration period];
and receiving the associated PSFCH transmission from the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0171, 0173, Therefore, even when the first UE does not have traffic or data to be transmitted to the second UE, for the purpose of monitoring the sidelink radio connection, it is indicated that the first UE will awake in the OnDuration period, the HARQ feedback or CSI report can be requested, and the resultant information is included in the SCI so that the resultant SCI can be transmitted to the second UE. In addition, the first UE may further include traffic indication information indicating that there is no traffic to be transmitted from the first UE to the second UE, in the SCI. For example, if the first UE requests HARQ feedback for sidelink radio link monitoring even though there is no traffic to be transmitted to the second terminal],
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
5. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the method of claim 4, wherein the associated PSFCH transmission is communicated during a DRX on duration of the first UE [par 0144, 0145, At least for transmission perspective of a UE in a carrier, at least TDM between PSCCH/PSSCH and PSFCH is allowed for a PSFCH format for sidelink in a Slot. It is supported, in a resource pool, that within the slots associated with the resource pool, PSFCH resources can be (pre)configured periodically with a period of N slot(s)].
6. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the method of claim 1, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: transmitting receiving the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park show wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: transmitting receiving the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on
duration of the second UE [par 0154, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CS! Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base station].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
7. Huang, CHENG, and Park demonstrate the method of claim 6, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: transmitting a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE to enable generation of the CSI report.
In an analogous art Park show wherein communicating with the second UE comprises: transmitting a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE to enable generation of the CSI report [par 0156, The receiving UE, which has confirmed that the wake-up bit is set to ON in the SCI, can operate in an active state in the DRX OnDuration period without skipping the DRX OnDuration period. At this time, when the receiving UE confirms that the CSI report trigger bit is set to 1 in the SCI transmitted by the transmitting UE, the receiving UE may transmit the CSI report to the transmitting UE in the DRX OnDuration period|.
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
9. Huang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a second user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving control signaling from a first UE [par 0005, a second User Equipment (UE) for performing sidelink communication. In one embodiment, the method includes the second UE being (pre-)configured with a sidelink resource pool in a carrier or cell, wherein a DRX (Discontinuous Reception) pattern is associated to the sidelink resource pool. The method also includes the second UE selecting a resource in the sidelink resource pool based on the DRX pattern, wherein a specific message becomes available for transmission in the second UE. The method further includes the second UE transmitting the specific message on the resource to a plurality of UEs comprising at least a first UE],
wherein a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and a corresponding physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) are communicated during a DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0212, 0495, The sidelink resource pool could be (further) (pre- )configured with a specific time duration, cycle, or period among in a periodic manner. The first UE in the specific time duration may need to wake up and/or perform monitoring or sensing the sidelink resource pool. the first UE could transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., P2V sidelink transmission) to the second UE and/or
surrounding or nearby UEs. The sidelink transmission could be SCI (scheduling PSSCH). The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first VE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. Option 1: Receiver UE transmits HARQ-NACK on PSFCH it fails to decode the corresponding TB after decoding the associated PSCCH].
Huang fail to show communicating with the first UE using a sidelink connection in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration of the second UE, receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a channel state information (CSI) report triggered by the SCI is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE, determining that a gap between the SCI and CSI report satisfies a threshold; and dropping transmission of the CSI report based in part on the gap between the SCI and CSI report satisfying the threshold
In an analogous art CHENG determining that a gap between the SCI and CSI report satisfies a threshold[par 0051, 0081, a CSI report transmitted in an SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “n” may be based on an SL reference signal located on a single SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “nCSI_ref”. A time threshold on (n-nCSI_ref) may indicate a closest valid slot/subframe/subslot/symbol for the RS used for CSI measurement before the UE is triggered for CSI reporting. For example, if the time threshold is 8 and the CSI report is transmitted in slot n, the slot nCSI_ref may not be a valid slot for CSI measurement if nCSI_ref<n−8, and the slot nCSI_ref may be a valid slot for CSI measurement if n−8≤nCSI_ref<n. The UE may perform CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting only when the channel condition is better than a quality threshold. The triggering condition (e.g., the quality threshold) may be configured in the configuration-SL];
and dropping transmission of the CSI report based in part on the gap between the SCI and CSI report satisfying the threshold[par 0067, 0052, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
Huang and CHENG fail to show communicating with the first UE using a sidelink connection in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration of the second UE, receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a channel state information (CSI) report triggered by the SCI is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park show communicating with the first UE using a sidelink connection in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration of the second UE[par 0126, Alternatively, the BS may transmit the resultant information to the transmitting UE, so that the transmitting UE may inform the receiving UE of the corresponding information through a PC5 RAC signal. In addition, the transmitting UE can recognize a message transmission time point at which the transmitting UE transmits the message by referring to the DRX OnDuration start time of the receiving UE operating in the power saving mode and a wakeup time (offset information) at which the receiving UE wakes up to receive the SCI (i.e., SCI including the wake-up bit) from the transmitting UE],
receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a channel state information (CSI) report triggered by the SCI is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0154, 0155, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base station. In addition, the SCI may include traffic indication information. The receiving UE may receive the SCI upon receiving offset information from the BS or the transmitting UE, before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period. The receiving UE decodes the SCI and uses the wake-up bit to recognize whether to wake up in the DRX OnDuration period, and can recognize whether there is traffic to be received using the traffic indication information. In addition, the receiving UE may recognize whether to transmit the HARQ feedback using the HARQ feedback trigger bit. For example, when the wake-up bit included in the SCI is set to 1, the traffic indication information is set to 0, and the CSI report trigger bit is set to 1]
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
10. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the method of claim 9, wherein first lengths of a DRX cycle for the sidelink connection and a DRX on duration for the first VE are integer multiples of a second length of a PSFCH periodicity; and wherein communicating with the first UE comprises: transmitting a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message on the sidelink connection during a DRX on duration and using a PSFCH resource[par 0306, 0495, Each PSFCH is mapped to a time, frequency, and code resource. The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first UE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. In one embodiment, the length of specified duration, cycle, or period in time domain is an integer multiple of the length of the DRX pattern in time domain. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be in unit of resource in the sidelink resource pool].
11. Huang, CHENG, and Park creates the method of claim 10, wherein the DRX on duration of the first UE and the DRX cycle end in a slot that includes a PSFCH occasion, wherein the PSFCH occasion includes the PSFCH resource [Huang ,par 0554, a first device performing sidelink communication with a second device using a sidelink resource pool. PSFCH resources of the sidelink resource pool are configured, periodically with a period of N Slots, in slots of the sidelink resource pool. In step 2015, the first device selects a first candidate resource in the sidelink resource pool, wherein the first candidate resource is in asleep time of the DRX pattern of the second device. For example, the sleep time may correspond to an original sleep time of the second device, such as a sleep time with which the second device is configured (via the DRX pattern, for example) before the first device transmits the signal].
12 Huang, CHENG, and Park teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving information identifying a scheduling of a PSSCH transmission by the first UE, wherein the PSSCH transmission and an associated PSFCH transmission are communicated during the DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0109, If a UE receives a PSSCH in a resource pool and a ZYX field in a SCI format 0_2 scheduling the PSSCH reception indicates to the UE to report HARQ-ACK information for the PSSCH reception, the UE provides the HARQ-ACK information in a PSFCH transmission in the resource pool. The UE transmits the PSFCH in a first slot that includes PSFCH resources and is at least a number of slots, provided by MinTimeGapPSFCH, of the resource pool after a last slot of the PSSCH reception];
Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein communicating with the first UE comprises: receiving the PSSCH transmission from the first UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and transmitting the associated PSFCH transmission to the first UE during the DRX on the duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park show wherein communicating with the first UE comprises: receiving the PSSCH transmission from the first UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0124, The transmitting UE may include a wake-up bit and traffic indication information in a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) either before the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE or within the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE, and may transmit the resultant information to the receiving UE],
and transmitting the associated PSFCH transmission to the first UE during the DRX on the duration of the second UE [par 0109, For example, when the transmitting UE transmits the PSSCH in slot #X to slot #N to the receiving UE, the receiving UE may transmit a HARQ feedback for the PSSCH in slot #(N+A) to the transmitting UE. For example, slot #(N+A) may include PSFCH resources].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
13. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the method of claim 12, wherein the associated PSFCH transmission is communicated during a DRX on duration of the first UE [Huang, par 0144, 0145, At least for transmission perspective of a UE in a carrier, at least TDM between PSCCH/PSSCH and PSFCH is allowed for a PSFCH format for sidelink in a Slot. It is supported, in a resource pool, that within the slots associated with the resource pool, PSFCH resources can be (pre)configured periodically with a period of N slot(s)].
14. Huang, CHENG, and Park provide the method of claim 9, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein communicating with the first UE comprises: transmitting the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park show wherein communicating with the first UE comprises: transmitting the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0154, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake- up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base station].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
15. Huang, CHENG, and Park create the method of claim 14, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein communicating with the first VE comprises: receiving a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and generating the CSI
report based at least in part on receiving the CSI RS.
In an analogous art Park show wherein communicating with the first VE comprises: receiving a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and generating the CSI report based at least in part on receiving the CSI RS[par 0093, 0156, the transmitting UE may transmit a channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) to the receiving UE, and the receiving UE may measure a CQ! or RI using the CSI-RS. The receiving UE, which has confirmed that the wake-up bit is set to ON in the SCI, can operate in an active state in the DRX OnDuration period without skipping the DRX OnDuration period. At this time, when the receiving UE confirms that the CSI report trigger bit is set to 1 in the SCI transmitted by the transmitting UE, the receiving UE may transmit the CSI report to the transmitting UE in the DRX OnDuration period).
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
17. Huang create a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions [par 0585, A sample storage medium may be coupled to a machine such as, for example, a computer/processor (which may be referred to herein, for convenience, as a “processor’) such the processor can read information (e.g., code) from and write information to the storage medium. A sample storage medium may be integral to the processor. The processor and the storage medium may reside in an ASIC. The ASIC may reside in user equipment. In the alternative, the processor and the storage medium may reside as discrete components in user equipment];
and one or more processors, configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the UE to: determine a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration for a sidelink connection; [par 0005, a second User Equipment (UE) for performing sidelink communication. In one embodiment, the method includes the second UE being (pre- )configured with a sidelink resource pool in a carrier or cell, wherein a DRX (Discontinuous Reception) pattern is associated to the sidelink resource pool. The method also includes the second UE selecting a resource in the sidelink resource pool based on the DRX pattern, wherein a specific message becomes available for transmission in the second UE. The method further includes the second UE transmitting the specific message on the resource to a plurality of UEs comprising at least a first UE},
wherein a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and a corresponding physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) are communicated during a DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0212, 0495, The sidelink resource pool could be (further) (pre- )configured with a specific time duration, cycle, or period among in a periodic manner. The first UE in the specific time duration may need to wake up and/or perform monitoring or sensing the sidelink resource pool. the first UE could transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., P2V sidelink transmission) to the second UE and/or surrounding or nearby UEs. The sidelink transmission could be SCI (scheduling PSSCH). The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first VE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. Option 1: Receiver UE transmits HARQ-NACK on PSFCH it fails to decode the corresponding TB after decoding the associated PSCCH].
Haung fail to show transmit a sidelink control information (SCI), triggering a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE, wherein a gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfies a threshold; and forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold.
In an analogous art CHENG show transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI), triggering a channel state information (CSI) report [par 0069, The UE may associate the CSI request field in the SCI format directly with a CSI report ID. For example, if a value of the CSI request field in the SCI format is “11”, the UE may directly trigger a CSI report with ID #3],
wherein a gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfies a threshold [par 0051, 0081, a CSI report transmitted in an SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “n” may be based on an SL reference signal located on a single SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “nCSI_ref”. A time threshold on (n-nCSI_ref) may indicate a closest valid slot/subframe/subslot/symbol for the RS used for CSI measurement before the UE is triggered for CSI reporting. For example, if the time threshold is 8 and the CSI report is transmitted in slot n, the slot nCSI_ref may not be a valid slot for CSI measurement if nCSI_ref<n−8, and the slot nCSI_ref may be a valid slot for CSI measurement if n−8≤nCSI_ref<n. The UE may perform CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting only when the channel condition is better than a quality threshold. The triggering condition (e.g., the quality threshold) may be configured in the configuration-SL];
and forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold [par 0067, 0052, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
Huang and Cheng fail to show wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE
In an analogous art Park fail show wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0070-0084, 0156, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base Station. In order for the transmitting UE to request a CSI report from the peer receiving UE operating in a power saving mode, the transmitting UE may set the wake-up bit of the SCI to “ON”, and at the same time may include a bit for triggering the CSI! report in the SCI and then set the “ON” to the resultant information].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
18. Huang, CHENG, and Park provide the UE of claim 17, wherein first lengths of a DRX cycle for the sidelink connection and a DRX on duration of the first UE are integer multiples of a second length of a PSFCH periodicity; and wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the first UE to: receive a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message on the sidelink connection during the DRX on duration of the second UE and using a PSFCH resource[par 0306, 0495, Each PSFCH is mapped to a time, frequency, and code resource. The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first VE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. In one embodiment, the length of specified duration, cycle, or period in time domain is an integer multiple of the length of the DRX pattern in time domain. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be in unit of resource in the sidelink resource pool].
19. Huang, CHENG, and Park display the UE of claim 18, wherein the DRX on duration of the first UE and the DRX cycle end in a slot that includes a PSFCH occasion, wherein the PSFCH occasion includes the PSFCH resource[par 0554, a first device performing sidelink communication with a second device using a sidelink resource pool. PSFCH resources of the sidelink resource pool are configured, periodically with a period of N Slots, in slots of the sidelink resource pool. In step 2015, the first device selects a first candidate resource in the sidelink resource pool, wherein the first candidate resource is in asleep time of the DRX pattern of the second device. For example, the sleep time may correspond to an original sleep time of the second device, such as a sleep time with which the second device is configured (via the DRX pattern, for example) before the first device transmits the signal].
20. Huang, CHENG, and Park define the UE of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: schedule a PSSCH transmission to the second UE, wherein the PSSCH transmission and an associated PSFCH transmission are communicated during the DRX on duration of the second UE [Huang par 0109, if a UE receives a PSSCH in a resource pool and a ZYX field in a SCI format 0_2 scheduling the PSSCH reception indicates to the UE to report HARQ- ACK information for the PSSCH reception, the UE provides the HARQ-ACK information in a PSFCH transmission in the resource pool. The UE transmits the PSFCH in a first slot that includes PSFCH resources and is at least a number of slots, provided by MinTimeGapPSFCH, of the resource pool after a last slot of the PSSCH reception];
Huang and CHENG wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit the PSSCH transmission to the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and receive the associated PSFCH transmission from the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit the PSSCH transmission to the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second[par 0124, The transmitting UE may include a wake-up bit and traffic indication information in a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) either before the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE or within the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE, and may transmit the resultant information to the receiving UE],
and receive the associated PSFCH transmission from the second UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0109, For example, when the transmitting UE transmits the PSSCH in slot #X to slot #N to the receiving UE, the receiving UE may transmit a HARQ feedback for the PSSCH in slot #(N+A) to the transmitting UE. For example, slot #(N+A) may include PSFCH resources].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
21. Huang, CHENG, and Park illustrate the UE of claim 20, wherein the associated PSFCH transmission is communicated during a DRX on duration of the first UE[par 0144, 0145, At least for transmission perspective of a UE in a carrier, at least TDM between PSCCH/PSSCH and PSFCH is allowed for a PSFCH format for sidelink in a Slot. It is supported, in a resource pool, that within the slots associated with the resource pool, PSFCH resources can be (pre)configured periodically with a period of N slot(s)].
22. Huang, CHENG, and Park demonstrate the UE of claim 17, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit and receive the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous Park show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit and receive the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0156, The receiving UE, which has confirmed that the wake-up bit is set to ON in the SCI, can operate in an active state in the DRX OnDuration period without skipping the DRX OnDuration period. At this time, when the receiving UE confirms that the CSI report trigger bit is set to 1 in the SCI transmitted by the transmitting UE, the receiving UE may transmit the CSI report to the transmitting UE in the DRX OnDuration period].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
23. Huang, CHENG, and Park convey the UE of claim 22, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE to enable generation of the CSI report.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the second UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE to enable generation of the CSI report [par 0093, 0156, the transmitting UE may transmit a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) to the receiving UE, and the receiving UE may measure a CQI or RI using the CSI-RS. The receiving UE, which has confirmed that the wake-up bit is set to ON in the SCI, can operate in an active state in the DRX OnDuration period without skipping the DRX OnDuration period. At this time, when the receiving UE confirms that the CSI report trigger bit is set to 1 in the SCI transmitted by the transmitting UE, the receiving UE may transmit the CSI report to the transmitting UE in the DRX OnDuration period].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
25. Huang describe a second user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors[par 0585, A sample storage medium may be coupled to a machine such as, for example, a computer/processor (which may be referred to herein, for convenience, as a “processor’) such the processor can read information (e.g., code) from and write information to the storage medium. A sample storage medium may be integral to the
processor. The processor and the storage medium may reside in an ASIC. The ASIC may reside in user equipment. In the alternative, the processor and the storage medium may reside as discrete components in user equipment|;,
configured to execute the processor- executable instructions and cause the UE to: receive control signaling from a first UE [par 0005, a second User Equipment (UE) for performing sidelink communication. In one embodiment, the method includes the second UE being (pre- )configured with a sidelink resource pool in a carrier or cell, wherein a DRX (Discontinuous Reception) pattern is associated to the sidelink resource pool. The method also includes the second UE selecting a resource in the sidelink resource pool based on the DRX pattern, wherein a specific message becomes available for transmission in the second UE. The method further includes the second UE transmitting the specific message on the resource to a plurality of UEs comprising at least a first UE],
wherein a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) and a corresponding physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) are communicated during a DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0212, 0495, The sidelink resource pool could be (further) (pre- )configured with a specific time duration, cycle, or period among in a periodic manner. The first UE in the specific time duration may need to wake up and/or perform monitoring or sensing the sidelink resource pool. the first UE could transmit a sidelink transmission (e.g., P2V sidelink transmission) to the second UE and/or surrounding or nearby UEs. The sidelink transmission could be SCI (scheduling PSSCH). The sidelink transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first VE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. Option 1: Receiver UE transmits HARQ-NACK on PSFCH it fails to decode the corresponding TB after decoding the associated PSCCH].
Huang fail to show communicating with the first UE using a sidelink connection in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration of the second UE, receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a channel state information (CSI) report triggered by the SCl is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE, determine that a gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying a threshold, dropping transmission of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold.
In an analogous art CHENG determining that a gap between the SCI and CSI report satisfies a threshold[par 0051, 0081, a CSI report transmitted in an SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “n” may be based on an SL reference signal located on a single SL slot/subframe/subslot/symbol index “nCSI_ref”. A time threshold on (n-nCSI_ref) may indicate a closest valid slot/subframe/subslot/symbol for the RS used for CSI measurement before the UE is triggered for CSI reporting. For example, if the time threshold is 8 and the CSI report is transmitted in slot n, the slot nCSI_ref may not be a valid slot for CSI measurement if nCSI_ref<n−8, and the slot nCSI_ref may be a valid slot for CSI measurement if n−8≤nCSI_ref<n. The UE may perform CSI measurement and/or CSI reporting only when the channel condition is better than a quality threshold. The triggering condition (e.g., the quality threshold) may be configured in the configuration-SL];
and dropping transmission of the CSI report based in part on the gap between the SCI and CSI report satisfying the threshold[par 0067, 0052, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
Huang and CHENG show communicating with the first UE using a sidelink connection in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration of the second UE, receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a channel state information (CSI) report triggered by the SCl is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park show communicating with the first UE using a sidelink connection in accordance with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode configuration of the second UE, receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), [par 0126, Alternatively, the BS may transmit the resultant information to the transmitting UE, so that the transmitting UE may inform the receiving UE of the corresponding information through a PC5 RAC signal. In addition, the transmitting UE can recognize a message transmission time point at which the transmitting UE transmits the message by referring to the DRX OnDuration start time of the receiving UE operating in the power saving mode and a wakeup time (offset information) at which the receiving UE wakes up to receive the SCI (i.e., SCI including the wake-up bit) from the transmitting UE],
receiving a sidelink control information (SCI), wherein a channel state information (CSI) report triggered by the SCI is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE [par 0154, 0155, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CSI Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SCI before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base station. In addition, the SCI may include traffic indication information. The receiving UE may receive the SCI upon receiving offset information from the BS or the transmitting UE, before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period. The receiving UE decodes the SCI and uses the wake-up bit to recognize whether to wake up in the DRX OnDuration period, and can recognize whether there is traffic to be received using the traffic indication information. In addition, the receiving UE may recognize whether to transmit the HARQ feedback using the HARQ feedback trigger bit. For example, when the wake-up bit included in the SCI is set to 1, the traffic indication information is set to 0, and the CSI report trigger bit is set to 1]
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
26. Huang, CHENG, and Park provide the UE of claim 25, wherein first lengths of a DRX cycle for the sidelink connection and a DRX on duration for the first UE are integer multiples of a second length of a PSFCH periodicity; and wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the UE: transmit a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback message on the sidelink connection during a DRX on duration and using a PSFCH resource[par 0306, 0495, Each PSFCH is mapped to a time, frequency, and code resource. The sidelink
transmission could indicate a DRX pattern of the first VE. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be equal to the length of the specific duration, cycle, or period in time domain. In one embodiment, the length of specified duration, cycle, or period in time domain is an integer multiple of the length of the DRX pattern in time domain. The length of the DRX pattern in time domain may be in unit of resource in the sidelink resource pool].
27. Huang, CHENG, and Park display the UE of claim 26, wherein the DRX on duration of the first UE and the DRX cycle end in a slot that includes a PSFCH occasion, wherein the PSFCH occasion includes the PSFCH resource[par 0554, a first device performing sidelink communication with a second device using a sidelink resource pool. PSFCH resources of the sidelink resource pool are configured, periodically with a period of N Slots, in slots of the sidelink resource pool. In step 2015, the first device selects a first candidate resource in the sidelink resource pool, wherein the first candidate resource is in asleep time of the DRX pattern of the second device. For example, the sleep time may correspond to an original sleep time of the second device, such as a sleep time with which the second device is configured (via the DRX pattern, for example) before the first device transmits the signal].
28. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the UE of claim 25, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE: receive information identifying a scheduling of a PSSCH transmission by the first UE, wherein the PSSCH transmission and an associated PSFCH transmission are communicated during the DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0109, if a UE receives a PSSCH in a resource pool and a ZYX field in a SCI format 0.2 scheduling the PSSCH reception indicates to the UE to report HARQ-ACK information for the PSSCH reception, the UE provides the HARQ- ACK information in a PSFCH transmission in the resource pool. The UE transmits the PSFCH in a first slot that includes PSFCH resources and is at least a number of slots, provided by MinTimeGapPSFCH, of the resource poo! after a last slot of the PSSCH reception];
Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the UE to: receive the PSSCH transmission from the first UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and transmit the associated PSFCH transmission to the first UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE
In an analogous art Park show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the UE to: receive the PSSCH transmission from the first UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0124, The transmitting UE may include a wake-up bit and traffic indication information in a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) or SCI (Sidelink Control Information) either before the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE or within the DRX OnDuration period of the receiving UE, and may transmit the resultant information to the receiving UE],
and transmit the associated PSFCH transmission to the first UE during the DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0109, For example, when the transmitting UE transmits the PSSCH in slot #X to slot #N to the receiving UE, the receiving UE may transmit a HARQ feedback for the PSSCH in slot #(N+A) to the transmitting UE. For example, slot #(N+A) may include PSFCH resources].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation
29, Huang, Cheng, and Park teach the UE of claim 28, wherein the associated PSFCH transmission is communicated during a DRX on duration of the first UE[par 0144, 0145, At least for transmission perspective of a UE in a carrier, at least TDM between PSCCH/PSSCH and PSFCH is allowed for a PSFCH format for sidelink in a slot. It is supported, in a resource pool, that within the slots associated with the resource pool, PSFCH resources can be (pre)configured periodically with a period of N slot(s)].
30. Huang, CHENG, and Park provide the second UE of claim 25, Huang and CHENG fail to show where wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the second UE to: transmit the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE.
In an analogous art Park show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the UE to: transmit the CSI report triggered by the SCI during the DRX on duration of the second UE[par 0154, the transmitting UE may transmit an SCI including a wake-up bit and a CS! Report trigger bit to the receiving UE. In addition, the transmitting UE may transmit the SC! before the offset value begins from the start time of the DRX OnDuration period, upon receiving the offset information set by the RRC signal or system information from the base Station].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
31. Huang, CHENG, and Park disclose the second UE of claim 25, Huang and CHENG fail to show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the second UE to: receive a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and generate the CSI report based at least in part on receiving the CSI RS.
In an analogous art Lee show wherein the one or more processors, to communicate with the first UE, are configured to cause the second UE to: receive a CSI reference signal (RS) during the DRX on duration of the second UE; and generate the CSI report based at least in part on receiving the CSI RS[abstract, par 0093, transmitting a PSCCH (Physical Sidelink Control Channel) including SCI (Sidelink Control Information) to a second terminal; and receiving an HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request) feedback or a CSI (Channel State Information) report from the second terminal on the basis of the SCI, wherein the SCI includes information indicating that the second terminal is woken up during an OnDuration period, and information for requesting the HARQ feedback or the SCI report. The transmitting UE may transmit a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) to the receiving UE, and the receiving UE may measure a CQI or RI using the CSI-RS. For example, the CSI-RS may be referred to as an SL CSI-RS. For example, the CSI-RS may be confined to PSSCH transmission. For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the CSI-RS in PSSCH resources to the receiving UE].
Before the invention was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, CHENG, and Park because to provide a method for efficiently transmitting and receiving information for sidelink wireless connection monitoring by a sidelink UE supporting a power saving operation.
32, Huang, CHENG, and Park creates the method of claim 1, Huang and Park fail to show wherein forgoing receipt of the CSI report comprises: forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold, wherein the threshold comprises a threshold period of time from transmission of the SCI.
In an analogous art CHENG show wherein forgoing receipt of the CSI report the threshold comprises: forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold, wherein the threshold comprises a threshold period of time from transmission of the SCI[par 0067, 0052, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, Park, and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
33,Huang, Cheng, and Park convey the method of claim 32, Huang and Park fail to show wherein the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold comprises the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold.
In an analogous art Cheng show wherein the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold comprises the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold [par 0067, 0052, 0055, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, Park, and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
34, Huang, Cheng, and Park defines the first UE of claim 17, Huang and Park fail to show wherein the one or more processors, to forgo receipt of the CSI report, are further configured to cause the first UE to, forgo receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold, wherein the threshold comprises a threshold period of time from transmission of the SCI.
In an analogous art CHENG show wherein the one or more processors, to forgo receipt of the CSI report, are further configured to cause the first UE to, forgo receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold, wherein the threshold comprises a threshold period of time from transmission of the SCI [par 0067, 0052, 0055, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, Park, and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
35, Huang, Cheng, and Park teaches the first UE of claim 34, Huang and Park fail to show wherein the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold comprises the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold.
In an analogous art CHENG show wherein the gap between the SCI and the CSI report satisfying the threshold comprises the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold[par 0067, 0052, 0055, 0096, the UE may drop the CSI report if a time difference between a transmission of the SL RS and a transmission of the CSI report is greater than the time threshold. The CSI report may be considered an outdated CSI report if the time difference is greater than the time threshold and the UE may ignore the outdated CSI report or may not update the CSI for the triggered CSI report in slot n. The time threshold may be predefined or configured in the configuration-SL. The first SCI format may include a CSI request field that triggers the UE to generate a CSI report. The CSI request field in the first SCI format may indicate information (e.g., index or resource allocation) of an RS for CSI measurement. The examiner interpretation the SL RS/ configuration SL is interpreted as sidelink information SCI. Therefore the paragraph shows a time difference between the report and this information, the report is drop]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Huang, Park, and Cheng because this addresses issue of how to support CSI measurement with different time domain behaviors such as periodic, semi-persistent, and aperiodic (P/SP/AP), and how to support CSI measurement and CSI report in a two-stage SL control information (SCI) framework [Cheng par 0034]
Response to Arguments
Applicant respectfully submits that HUANG, LEE, and PARK do not disclose each and every feature recited in claim 1. For example, HUANG, LEE, and PARK do not disclose at least "transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) triggering a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the CSI report is scheduled for a resource within the DRX on duration of the second UE, wherein a gap between the SCI and the CSI report is greater than a threshold; and forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold," as recited in claim 1.
However, LEE does not disclose or suggest "transmitting a sidelink control information (SCI) triggering a channel state information (CSI) report wherein a gap between the SCI and the CSI report is greater than a threshold," as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added).
Additionally, the Office Action concedes that HUANG and LEE do not disclose "forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold," as recited in claim 1, and instead relies on paragraphs 70-84 and 156 of PARK for allegedly disclosing these features (See Office Action, page 5).
However, PARK does not describe forgoing receipt of a CSI report, much less "forgoing receipt of the CSI report based at least in part on the gap between the SCI and the CSI report being greater than the threshold," as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added).
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that claim 1 is patentable over HUANG, LEE, and PARK. Independent claims 9, 17, and 25, recite similar features. Therefore, independent claims 1, 9, 17, and 25, and the claims that depend thereon, are patentable over the cited sections of HUANG, LEE, and PARK.
The applicants argument are moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468