DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
It is noted that even though the RCE Transmittal letter checked the box for Amendment/Reply, it is noted that the RCE submission submitted on 9/2/25 does not include any claim amendments or new claims.
Pending claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 11 have been previously examined in the instant application. Further, Applicants have not provided any arguments with respect to the Final Rejection dated 7/30/24.
Therefore, the following rejections of record dated 7/30/24 have been maintained:
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No.11147767 in view of US 20070196396 to Pilgaonkar et al.
Both instant claims and the patented claims are directed to gastroretentive dosage forms comprising active agents and a swelling agent, in a bilayer tablet (instant claim 5). Instant claims recite multilayered and further claim 5 is directed to a bilayer tablet of patented claims. Patented bi-layered tablet meets instant claimed multi-layered tablet. The above patent claims carbidopa, levodopa or a combination thereof as the active agent as well as recite the swelling agent, polyethylene oxide, of instant claims 6 and 7. Instant claim 1 also recites a release retardant agent, whereas the patented claims recite a swelling retardant agent, ethyl cellulose. Therefore, the dosage form of the patented claims provides the same swelling index as claimed in the instant claim 11. The above patented claims lack the additional excipients of claim 9. Instant claims recite release retardant whereas patented claims state swelling retardant.
Pilgaonkar teaches controlled release oral composition comprising one or more active agents having low bioavailability, one or more solubilizers, one or more swelling agents, which in combination with a swelling enhancer, swells in the presence of water in the gastric fluid, so as to provide retention of the dosage form in the stomach and gradually erodes within the gastrointestinal tract over a prolonged period of time (abstract; [0001], [0020-0025], 0035& 0050). Pilgaonkar teaches additional excipients such as lubricants, disintegrants etc [0057] in the tablet. Pilgaonkar teaches a multi-layered tablet having either an instant release layer and a gastroretentive sustained release layer, or one or more gastroretentive sustained release layers [0026]. Pilgaonkar teaches a number of active agents [0064]. Pilgaonkar teaches surfactants as solubilizers [0065]-[0070]. For the swelling agent, Pilgaonkar teaches the instant claimed polyethylene oxide, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, of instant claim 7 [0072-0076]. For the swelling enhancers, Pilgaonkar also teaches instant claimed low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose, crosslinked PVP, crosslinked polyacrylic acid etc [0078], and states that the swelling enhancer allows a rapid and dramatic increase in the size of the tablets [0080]. Pilgaonkar teaches that a synergistic combination of a swelling agent and a swelling enhancer allows rapid swelling and maintenance of integrity by polymeric network formed by swelling of the polymers [0081]. Pilgaonkar also teaches additional excipients such as fillers, disintegrants, binders, lubricants etc [0053-0056]. Pilgaonkar teaches that the solid composition can be in the form of a multi-layer system in which the first layer releases the drug immediately and the second layer provides an expanding nature of the dosage system, thereby making the system to have a greater retention in the stomach [0057].
Thus, both Pilgaonkar and patented claims are directed to gastroretentive compositions and therefore one of an ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the swelling ethylcellulose of the patented claims also acts as a release retardant and further polyethylene oxide acts as a swelling property, as described by Pilgaonkar. While Pilgaonkar does not use the term release retardant, Pilgaonkar teaches swellable properties of various polymers i.e., polyethylene oxide, HPMC of different viscosities such K4M and K100M (table 1), which also acts to control or retard the release of the active agent upon swelling. It is noted that while the reference teaches Methocel K4M as a swelling polymer, instant specification describes the same as a release retardant (see page 6, 1st full paragraph). Hence, one of an ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the swelling enhancer of Pilgaonkar also act as a release retardant and the swelling index of the instant claim 11. Further, one of an ordinary skill in the art would have been able to choose the optimum excipients such as lubricants, fillers, disintegrants as in the tablet of the patented claims depending on the desired effect.
3. Claims 1, 3-7, 9 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11-14 of copending Application No. 16/943851 (US 20210121398) in view of US 20070196396 to Pilgaonkar et al.
Both instant claims and the copending claims are directed to gastroretentive dosage forms comprising active agents and a swelling agent, in a bilayer tablet (instant claim 5). Instant claims recite multilayered and further claim 5 is directed to a bilayer tablet of copending claims. Thus, copending bi-layered tablet meets instant claimed multi-layered tablet. The above copending claims carbidopa, levodopa or a combination thereof as the active agent and hence meet instant combination. Copending claims recite the swelling agent, polyethylene oxide, of instant claims 6 and 7.
Instant claim 1 also recites a release retardant agent, whereas the copending claims recite a swelling retardant agent, ethyl cellulose. Further instant claim 8 recites hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, lower viscosity, not recited by the copending claims. Copending claims lack the instant release retardant agent (claim 1) and the additional excipients of claim 9. Therefore, the dosage form of the patented claims provides the same swelling index as claimed in the instant claim 11. The above copending claims lack the additional excipients of claim 9. Instant claims recite release retardant whereas copending claims state swelling retardant.
In this regard, Pilgaonkar teaches controlled release oral composition comprising one or more active agents having low bioavailability, one or more solubilizers, one or more swelling agents, which in combination with a swelling enhancer, swells in the presence of water in the gastric fluid, so as to provide retention of the dosage form in the stomach and gradually erodes within the gastrointestinal tract over a prolonged period of time (abstract; [0001], [0020-0025], 0035& 0050). Pilgaonkar teaches a multi-layered tablet having either an instant release layer and a gastroretentive sustained release layer, or one or more gastroretentive sustained release layers [0026]. Pilgaonkar teaches a number of active agents [0064]. Pilgaonkar teaches surfactants as solubilizers [0065]-[0070]. For the swelling agent, Pilgaonkar teaches the instant claimed polyethylene oxide, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, of instant claim 7 [0072-0076]. For the swelling enhancers, Pilgaonkar also teaches instant claimed low-substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose, crosslinked PVP, crosslinked polyacrylic acid etc [0078], and states that the swelling enhancer allows a rapid and dramatic increase in the size of the tablets [0080]. Pilgaonkar teaches that a synergistic combination of a swelling agent and a swelling enhancer allows rapid swelling and maintenance of integrity by polymeric network formed by swelling of the polymers [0081]. Pilgaonkar also teaches additional excipients such as fillers, disintegrants, binders, lubricants etc [0053-0056]. Pilgaonkar teaches that the solid composition can be in the form of a multi-layer system in which the first layer releases the drug immediately and the second layer provides an expanding nature of the dosage system, thereby making the system to have a greater retention in the stomach [0057].
Thus, both Pilgaonkar and patented claims are directed to gastroretentive compositions and therefore one of an ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the swelling ethylcellulose of the copending claims also acts as a release retardant and further polyethylene oxide acts as a swelling property, as described by Pilgaonkar. While Pilgaonkar does not use the term release retardant, Pilgaonkar teaches swellable properties of various polymers i.e., polyethylene oxide, HPMC of different viscosities such K4M and K100M (table 1), which also acts to control or retard the release of the active agent upon swelling. It is noted that while the reference teaches Methocel K4M as a swelling polymer, instant specification describes the same as a release retardant (see page 6, 1st full paragraph). Hence, one of an ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the swelling enhancer of Pilgaonkar also act as a release retardant and the swelling index of the instant claim 11. Further, one of an ordinary skill in the art would have been able to choose the optimum excipients such as lubricants, fillers, disintegrants as in the tablet of the patented claims depending on the desired effect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11033521 to Chase et al in view of US 2011/0229569 to Pilgaonkar et al (Pilgaonkar) and US 20070196396 to Pilgaonkar et al (Pilgaonkar ‘396).
Chase teaches treatment of Parkinson’s disease by administration of a combination of levodopa (LD) and carbidopa (CD) in the form of a multi-score bilayered tablet, the tablet comprising a pharmaceutical composition comprising an admixture of CD/LD and a pharmaceutical carrier (col. 1, l 20-34 & col. 6, l 57-63). The multiscore tablet is a bilayered tablet consisting of two-score or three-score top layer comprising CD/LD, and a bottom layer comprising a pharmaceutical carrier without active ingredient, and wherein each score of said top layer penetrates said bottom layer without cutting it (col. 2, l 18-24 & col. 9, l 47-58). The pharmaceutical carriers include cellulose, polyalkylene glycols, alginates etc (col. 10, l 22-45). Example 1 of Chase is directed to a bilayer tablet with carbidopa and levodopa in a single layer and a second layer comprising a pharmaceutical excipient.
Chase teaches a second layer comprising a carrier material but does not explicitly teach the instant claimed swelling or gastroretentive agent.
Pilgaonkar teaches an oral gastrointestinal dosage form comprising fenugreek fibers that have excellent swelling property (0014-0019]. The composition further includes other swelling and mucoadhesive polymers for gastroretention and include the instant claimed (claims 6 and 7) polyalkylene oxide and hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose [0050-0051]. Pilgaonkar teaches retardant polymers in [0055-0056]. The gastroretentive composition is in the form of a bi-layered or trilayered solid dosage form. In particular, the bilayered system is adapted to deliver a pharmaceutical agent from the first layer, a second agent from the second layer, the second agent may be same or different from the first layer [0059]. In a particular embodiment, Pilgaonkar teaches a solid pharmaceutical composition for oral administration contains two layers: one comprising of active ingredient along with a suitable release retardant and the other layer comprising fenugreek fibers in combination with other excipients [0060]. Pilgaonkar teaches several active agents to delivered from the bilayered tablet, and suggests the instant claimed levodopa [0044]. Even though Pilgaonkar fails to exemplify or teach levodopa with sufficient specificity, levodopa is taught as a suitable active agent in the multilayer composition.
Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches controlled release oral composition comprising one or more active agents having low bioavailability, one or more solubilizers, one or more swelling agents, which in combination with a swelling enhancer, swells in the presence of water in the gastric fluid, so as to provide retention of the dosage form in the stomach and gradual erodes within the gastrointestinal tract over a prolonged period of time (abstract; [0001], [0020-0025], 0035& 0050). Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches that a synergistic combination of a swelling agent and a swelling enhancer allows rapid swelling and maintenance of integrity by polymeric network formed by swelling of the polymers [0081]. Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches a multi-layered tablet having either an instant release layer and a gastroretentive sustained release layer, or one or more gastroretentive sustained release layers [0026]. Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches that the solid composition can be in the form of a multi-layer system in which the first layer releases the drug immediately and the second layer provides an expanding nature of the dosage system, thereby making the system to have a greater retention in the stomach [0057]. [0058] teaches that the controlled release layer includes one or more solubilizers, one or more biocompatible swelling agent and a swelling enhancer [0058]. For the swelling agent, Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches the instant claimed polyethylene oxide, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, and combinations thereof of instant claims 6 and 7 [0072-0076]. While the reference does not use the term release retardant, Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches swellable properties of various polymers i.e., polyethylene oxide, HPMC of different viscosities such K4M and K100M (table 1). For claim 9, Pilgaonkar ‘396 also teaches additional excipients such as fillers, disintegrants, binders, lubricants etc [0053-0056]. Pilgaonkar ‘396 does not specify the claimed swelling index of instant claims 4 and 11. However, a product and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Pilgaonkar teaches the same swelling agents [0075] of instant claims and hence the property of claims 4 and 11 is inherent. Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches a number of active agents such as levodopa [0064] but exemplifies actives such as simvastatin, azithromycin etc. Even though Pilgaonkar ‘396 fails to exemplify or teach levodopa with sufficient specificity, the reference levodopa as a suitable active agent in the multilayer composition. It would have been obvious for one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the bilayered composition of Chase comprising carbidopa and levodopa and further modify the composition by including a swelling polymer, such as polyethylene oxide or hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, and a gastroretentive polymer such as fenugreek fiber in the same or second layers of the composition, so as to arrive at the instant claimed composition. One of an ordinary skill in the art would have modified the bilayered tablet composition of Chase because both Pilgaonkar and Pilgaonkar ‘396 references teach that the inclusion of swelling polymers and gastroretentive polymers enables the retention of the dosage form in the stomach, which gradually erodes within the gastrointestinal tract over a prolonged time period, enables the release of the drug near absorption site to ensure better absorption of the drug resulting in increased bioavailability, which further reduces the dose and the frequency needed ([0045-0048] in Pilgaonkar ‘396 & [0014 & 0042] of Pilgaonkar). One of an ordinary skill in the art would have employed the swelling polymer and gastroretentive polymer (meets the instant release retardant) in the same or different layers of the bilayered tablet of Chase with an expectation to optimize the rate or speed of release of the drug from the drug containing layer. Pilgaonkar ‘396 teaches that a synergistic combination of a swelling agent and a swelling enhancer allows rapid swelling and maintenance of integrity by polymeric network formed by swelling of the polymers.
Response to Arguments
Applicants have not provided any arguments in the submission dated 9/2/25, regarding the Double patenting rejections or Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103. Therefore, the rejections dated 7/30/34 have been maintained.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKSHMI S CHANNAVAJJALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611