DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed August 26, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 3, 14, 15, 27, and 29 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 28 are cancelled.
Claims 31 and 32 have been newly added.
Claims 1, 3-27, and 29-32 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-20, 22-27, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (hereinafter He1) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0307023 A1) in view of MIAO et al. (hereinafter Miao) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0036738 A1), and further in view of BACK et al. (hereinafter Back2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0109359 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 27, He1 teaches and disclose a transmitting user equipment (UE) (transmitter UE, figure 3) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 3); and one or more processors (processor, figure 3), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
receive sidelink reference signals (sidelink CSI-RS; [0431]) from a receiving UE (receiver UE, figure 3), via a reception channel (PSCCH/PSSCH) of the transmitting UE, over a bandwidth associated with the transmission channel (PSCCH/PSSCH) of the transmitting UE ([0310]; bandwidth of the PSCCH/PSSCH), based at least in part on the indication, wherein the reception channel is over the sidelink connection (SL, figure 5; [0098]; [0100]) ([0431]; [0432]; “…sidelink CSI-RS from a receiver UE to a transmitter UE can be triggered by a DCI format that schedules a sidelink resource. A field in the DCI format can indicate a sidelink CSI-RS resource for transmission…”; teaches the transmitter UE receives a sidelink CSI-RS from a receiver UE based in part on configuration information including sidelink resource information); and
transmit, to the receiving UE and via the transmission channel (PSCCH/PSSCH) over the sidelink connection, a unicast sidelink communication (V2X, sidelink communication; [0098]; [0100]) ([0493]; “…the UE transmits, to the second UE via the sidelink, the at least one of aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic using the reserved resources…”; teaches transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources).
However, He1 does not explicitly disclose estimate a frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE based at least in part on the sidelink reference signals.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Miao teaches and suggests estimate a frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE based at least in part on the sidelink reference signals ([0060]; [0085]; [0090]; teaches estimating a frequency response of the sidelink channel based on the sidelink reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate estimating a frequency response of the sidelink channel based on the sidelink reference signals as taught by Miao with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1 for the purpose of more accurately characterize the channel response of the sidelink bandwidth in order to improve system performance, as suggested by Miao ([0060]).
However, He1, as modified by Miao, does not explicitly disclose receive, via configuration information, an indication that: the transmitting UE is to determine a tone reservation for sidelink communications over a transmission channel of the transmitting UE, wherein the transmission channel is over a sidelink connection; and a unicast communication having the tone reservation applied based at least in part on the estimated frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 teaches and suggests receive, via configuration information, an indication that: the transmitting UE (UE1, figures 18-20) is to determine a tone reservation for sidelink communications over a transmission channel of the transmitting UE, wherein the transmission channel is over a sidelink connection ([0370]; [0400]; [0415]; teaches determining the reserved tones for sidelink communications over channel of a sidelink connection); and a unicast communication having the tone reservation applied based at least in part on the estimated frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE ([0179]; [0180]; [0352]; [0370]; [0400]; [0415]; teaches transmitting a unicast communication between the transmitting UE and receiving UE having tone reservation applied based on a channel response/condition of the sidelink communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the reserved tones for sidelink communications over channel of a sidelink connection as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 3, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose apply the tone reservation to a set of subcarriers of the transmission channel based at least in part on measured energy or estimated capacity on the set of subcarriers of the transmission channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests apply the tone reservation to a set of subcarriers of the transmission channel based at least in part on measured energy or estimated capacity on the set of subcarriers of the transmission channel ([0352]; [0394]; “…maximum power available for a reserve tones may be limited to the energy per resource element (EPRE) of the PSSCH…”; [0415]; teaches applying reserve tones based in part on measured energy of the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying reserve tones based in part on measured energy of the channel as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 4, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose wherein application of the tone reservation is based at least in part on a set of parameters comprising one or more of: channel conditions of a reception channel or the transmission channel, a relative speed between the transmitting UE and the receiving UE, a Doppler spread estimated from the sidelink reference signals, an allocation size, an allocation location in a frequency domain, or an estimated signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests wherein application of the tone reservation is based at least in part on a set of parameters comprising one or more of: channel conditions of a reception channel or the transmission channel or an estimated signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio ([0280]; [0370]; [0415]; teaches tone reservation is based on channel conditions, such as SINR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate tone reservation is based on channel conditions, such as SINR as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 5, He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, further teaches transmit a request for the receiving UE to transmit the sidelink reference signals over a bandwidth associated with the transmission channel ([0433]; [0435]; teaches transmitting a request for CSI-RS for PSCCH/PSSCH).
Regarding claim 6, He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, further teaches establish a unicast link with the receiving UE before receiving the sidelink reference signals ([0432]; [0479]; teaches establishing a link between the transmitter UE and receiver UE in order to receive a sidelink reference signal thus before receiving reference signals).
Regarding claim 7, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose receive, before transmitting the unicast sidelink communication, a first indication of a capability of the receiving UE to communicate using channel aware tone reservation for the unicast sidelink communication, or transmit, before transmitting the unicast sidelink communication, a second indication of a capability of the transmitting UE to communicate using the channel aware tone reservation for the unicast sidelink communication.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests receive, before transmitting the unicast sidelink communication, a first indication of a capability of the receiving UE to communicate using channel aware tone reservation for the unicast sidelink communication ([0223]; [0224]; [0225]; teaches the UEs communicating capability information indicating the tone reservation/peak reduction tone (PRT) configuration before transmitting the unicast communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UEs communicating capability information indicating the tone reservation/peak reduction tone (PRT) configuration before transmitting the unicast communication as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 9, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose receive, via the receiving UE, a first indication to apply channel aware tone reservation to the reference signals, or transmit, to the receiving UE, a second indication that channel aware tone reservation is applied to the reference signals.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests receive, via the receiving UE, a first indication to apply channel aware tone reservation to the reference signals, or transmit, to the receiving UE, a second indication that channel aware tone reservation is applied to the reference signals ([0406]; [0415]; teaches transmitting a unicast communication between the transmitting UE and receiving UE having tone reservation applied based on determining the subcarriers to apply the tone reservation using the reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a unicast communication between the transmitting UE and receiving UE having tone reservation applied based on determining the subcarriers to apply the tone reservation using the reference signals as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 10, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose receive the first indication via a sidelink control channel, transmit the second indication via a sidelink control channel, receive the first indication via a sidelink data channel, or transmit the second indication via a sidelink data channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests receive the first indication via a sidelink control channel, transmit the second indication via a sidelink control channel, receive the first indication via a sidelink data channel, or transmit the second indication via a sidelink data channel ([0186]; [0411]; teaches the UE transmits an indication that reserved tones are applied to the reference signals via a PSCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE transmits an indication that reserved tones are applied to the reference signals as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claims 11 and 24, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose an indication that channel aware tone reservation is applied to the sidelink reference signals, an indication of a number of subcarriers of the transmission channel that have tone reservation applied, a number of slots for which channel aware tone reservation is applied, or an indication of the subcarriers of the transmission channel that have tone reservation applied.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 teaches and suggests an indication that channel aware tone reservation is applied to the sidelink reference signals, an indication of a number of subcarriers of the transmission channel that have tone reservation applied, a number of slots for which channel aware tone reservation is applied, or an indication of the subcarriers of the transmission channel that have tone reservation applied ([0415]; “…the number and/or pattern of the reserved tones may be determined…the UE may transmit an SL signal based on the number of reserved tones…”; teaches the UE transmits an indication regarding the number of reserved tones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE transmits an indication regarding the number of reserved tones as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 12, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose transmit an indication that a subsequent unicast sidelink communication does not have tone reservation applied.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further suggests transmit an indication that a subsequent unicast sidelink communication does not have tone reservation applied ([0415]; teaches the UE transmits an indication of the number of reserved tones including no reservation tones thus suggesting the subsequent sidelink transmission does not have reservation tones applied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE transmits an indication of the number of reserved tones including no reservation tones thus suggesting the subsequent sidelink transmission does not have reservation tones applied as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 13, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose transmit the unicast sidelink communication having channel aware tone reservation applied and having fixed location tone reservation applied to the transmission channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests transmit the unicast sidelink communication having channel aware tone reservation applied and having fixed location tone reservation applied to the transmission channel ([0411]; “…the UE may adjust the number or amount of the reserved tones…when information about the positions or number of reserved tones…”; [0415]; teaches the UE then transmits a sidelink communication based the number of reserved tones including the position of the reserved tones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE then transmits a sidelink communication based the number of reserved tones including the position of the reserved tones as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claims 14 and 29, He1 teaches and disclose a receiving user equipment (UE) (receiver UE, figure 3) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (memory, figure 3); and one or more processors (processor, figure 3), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
transmit sidelink reference signals (sidelink CSI-RS; [0431]) to the transmitting UE (transmitter UE, figure 3), via a reception channel (PSCCH/PSSCH) of the transmitting UE, over a bandwidth associated with the transmission channel (PSCCH/PSSCH) of the transmitting UE ([0310]; bandwidth of the PSCCH/PSSCH), based at least in part on the indication, wherein the reception channel is over the sidelink connection (SL, figure 5; [0098]; [0100]) ([0431]; [0432]; “…sidelink CSI-RS from a receiver UE to a transmitter UE can be triggered by a DCI format that schedules a sidelink resource. A field in the DCI format can indicate a sidelink CSI-RS resource for transmission…”; teaches the receiver UE transmits a sidelink CSI-RS to a transmitter UE based in part on configuration information including sidelink resource information); and
receive, from the transmitting UE and via the transmission channel (PSCCH/PSSCH) over the sidelink connection, a unicast sidelink communication (V2X, sidelink communication; [0098]; [0100]) ([0493]; “…the UE transmits, to the second UE via the sidelink, the at least one of aperiodic traffic or periodic traffic using the reserved resources…”; teaches transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources).
However, He1 does not explicitly disclose an estimated frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE, wherein the estimated frequency response is estimated by the transmitting UE based at least in part on the sidelink reference signals.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Miao teaches and suggests an estimated frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE, wherein the estimated frequency response is estimated by the transmitting UE based at least in part on the sidelink reference signals ([0060]; [0085]; [0090]; teaches estimating a frequency response of the sidelink channel based on the sidelink reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate estimating a frequency response of the sidelink channel based on the sidelink reference signals as taught by Miao with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1 for the purpose of more accurately characterize the channel response of the sidelink bandwidth in order to improve system performance, as suggested by Miao ([0060]).
However, He1 does not explicitly disclose receive, via configuration information, an indication that: a transmitting UE is to determine a tone reservation for sidelink communications over a transmission channel of the transmitting UE, wherein the transmission channel is over a sidelink connection, and a unicast sidelink communication having the tone reservation applied based at least in part on an estimated frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 teaches and suggests receive, via configuration information, an indication that: a transmitting UE (UE1, figures 18-20) is to determine a tone reservation for sidelink communications over a transmission channel of the transmitting UE, wherein the transmission channel is over a sidelink connection ([0370]; [0400]; [0415]; teaches determining the reserved tones for sidelink communications over channel of a sidelink connection), and a unicast sidelink communication having the tone reservation applied based at least in part on an estimated frequency response of the reception channel of the transmitting UE ([0179]; [0180]; [0352]; [0370]; [0400]; [0415]; teaches transmitting a unicast communication between the transmitting UE and receiving UE having tone reservation applied based on a channel response/condition of the sidelink communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the reserved tones for sidelink communications over channel of a sidelink connection as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claims 15 and 30, He1, as modified by Miao, discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources and estimate a frequency response of a transmission channel of the transmitting UE based at least in part on measurement of the unicast sidelink communication, but does not explicitly disclose decode the unicast sidelink communication based at least in part on the estimated frequency response of the transmission channel of the transmitting UE and the tone reservation being applied to a set of weakest subcarriers of the transmission channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests decode the unicast sidelink communication based at least in part on the tone reservation being applied to a set of weakest subcarriers (peak reduction tone) of the transmission channel ([0352]; [0370]; [0406]; [0415]; teaches the UE estimates a frequency response of the channel and determines that a number of reserved tones and a pattern of the reserved tone is to be applied based on consideration of the frequency response, such as CBR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE estimates a frequency response of the channel and determines that a number of reserved tones and a pattern of the reserved tone is to be applied based on consideration of the frequency response as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 16, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the set of weakest subcarriers of the transmission channel are weakest based at least in part on measured energy or estimated capacity on the set of weakest subcarriers of the transmission channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests wherein the set of weakest subcarriers of the transmission channel are weakest based at least in part on measured energy or estimated capacity on the set of weakest subcarriers of the transmission channel ([0352]; [0394]; “…maximum power available for a reserve tones may be limited to the energy per resource element (EPRE) of the PSSCH…”; [0415]; teaches applying reserve tones based in part on measured energy of the channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate applying reserve tones based in part on measured energy of the channel as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 17, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose wherein application of the tone reservation is based at least in part on a set of parameters comprising one or more of: channel conditions of a reception channel or the transmission channel, a relative speed between the transmitting UE and the receiving UE, a Doppler spread estimated from the sidelink reference signals, an allocation size, an allocation location in a frequency domain, or an estimated signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests wherein application of the tone reservation is based at least in part on a set of parameters comprising one or more of: channel conditions of a reception channel or the transmission channel or an estimated signal-to-interference-plus-noise-ratio ([0280]; [0370]; [0415]; teaches tone reservation is based on channel conditions, such as SINR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate tone reservation is based on channel conditions, such as SINR as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 18, He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, further teaches receive a request for the receiving UE to transmit the sidelink reference signals over a bandwidth associated with the transmission channel ([0433]; [0435]; teaches transmitting a request for CSI-RS for PSCCH/PSSCH).
Regarding claim 19, He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, further teaches establish a unicast link with the transmitting UE before transmitting the sidelink reference signals ([0432]; [0479]; teaches establishing a link between the transmitter UE and receiver UE in order to receive a sidelink reference signal thus before receiving reference signals).
Regarding claim 20, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of: transmit, before receiving the unicast sidelink communication, a first indication of a capability of the receiving UE to communicate using channel aware tone reservation for the unicast sidelink communication, or receive, before receiving the unicast sidelink communication, a second indication of a capability of the transmitting device to communicate using the channel aware tone reservation for the unicast sidelink communication.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests transmit, before receiving the unicast sidelink communication, a first indication of a capability of the receiving UE to communicate using channel aware tone reservation for the unicast sidelink communication ([0223]; [0224]; [0225]; teaches the UEs communicating capability information indicating the tone reservation/peak reduction tone (PRT) configuration before transmitting the unicast communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UEs communicating capability information indicating the tone reservation/peak reduction tone (PRT) configuration before transmitting the unicast communication as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 22, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose transmit, to the transmitting UE, a first indication to apply channel aware tone reservation to the reference signals, or receive, from the transmitting UE, a second indication that channel aware tone reservation is applied to the reference signals.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests transmit, to the transmitting UE, a first indication to apply channel aware tone reservation to the reference signals, or receive, from the transmitting UE, a second indication that channel aware tone reservation is applied to the reference signals ([0406]; [0415]; teaches transmitting a unicast communication between the transmitting UE and receiving UE having tone reservation applied based on determining the subcarriers to apply the tone reservation using the reference signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a unicast communication between the transmitting UE and receiving UE having tone reservation applied based on determining the subcarriers to apply the tone reservation using the reference signals as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 23, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose transmit the first indication via a sidelink control channel, receive the second indication via a sidelink control channel, transmit the first indication via a sidelink data channel, or receive the second indication via a sidelink data channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests transmit the first indication via a sidelink control channel, receive the second indication via a sidelink control channel, transmit the first indication via a sidelink data channel, or receive the second indication via a sidelink data channel ([0186]; [0411]; teaches the UE transmits an indication that reserved tones are applied to the reference signals via a PSCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE transmits an indication that reserved tones are applied to the reference signals as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 25, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose receive an indication that a subsequent unicast sidelink communication does not have tone reservation applied.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further suggests receive an indication that a subsequent unicast sidelink communication does not have tone reservation applied ([0415]; teaches the UE transmits an indication of the number of reserved tones including no reservation tones thus suggesting the subsequent sidelink transmission does not have reservation tones applied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE transmits an indication of the number of reserved tones including no reservation tones thus suggesting the subsequent sidelink transmission does not have reservation tones applied as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 26, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose receive the unicast sidelink communication having channel aware tone reservation applied and having fixed location tone reservation applied to the transmission channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests receive the unicast sidelink communication having channel aware tone reservation applied and having fixed location tone reservation applied to the transmission channel ([0411]; “…the UE may adjust the number or amount of the reserved tones…when information about the positions or number of reserved tones…”; [0415]; teaches the UE then transmits a sidelink communication based the number of reserved tones including the position of the reserved tones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the UE then transmits a sidelink communication based the number of reserved tones including the position of the reserved tones as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 31, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting a unicast sidelink communication having tone reservation applied further comprises: applying the tone reservation to a set of subcarriers of the transmission channel based at least in part on measured energy or estimated capacity on the set of subcarriers of the transmission channel.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Back2 further teaches and suggests wherein the transmitting a unicast sidelink communication having tone reservation applied further comprises: applying the tone reservation to a set of subcarriers of the transmission channel based at least in part on measured energy or estimated capacity on the set of subcarriers of the transmission channel ([0352]; [0394]; [0395]; [0411]; [0415]; teaches determining the reserved tones based in part on energy per resource element (EPRE) of the subcarriers associated with the sidelink communications).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining the reserved tones based in part on energy per resource element (EPRE) of the subcarriers associated with the sidelink communications as taught by Back2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of reducing PAPR of an OFDM signal by utilizing a tone reservation method, as suggested by Back2.
Regarding claim 32, He1 discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose transmitting a request for the receiving UE to transmit the sidelink reference signals over a bandwidth associated with the transmission channel of the transmitting UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Miao teaches and suggests transmitting a request for the receiving UE to transmit the sidelink reference signals over a bandwidth associated with the transmission channel of the transmitting UE ([0031]; [0061]; [0085]; teaches transmitting a request to transmit a sidelink reference signals over a bandwidth associated with the sidelink transmission channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting a request to transmit a sidelink reference signals over a bandwidth associated with the sidelink transmission channel as taught by Miao with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of more accurately characterize the channel response of the sidelink bandwidth in order to improve system performance, as suggested by Miao ([0060]).
Claims 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (hereinafter He1) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0307023 A1) in view of BACK et al. (hereinafter Back2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0109359 A1), and further in view of He et al. (hereinafter He2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0029340 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, discloses transmission between the transmitter and receiver UE via sidelink communication using the reserved resources, but does not explicitly disclose a capability to estimate a set of weakest subcarriers and decode the unicast sidelink communication based at least in part on the tone reservation being applied to the set of weakest subcarriers, one or more reciprocity-based parameters, an overlap in frequency between a first allocation for transmissions by the transmitting UE and a second allocation for transmissions by the receiving UE, or a relative speed between the transmitting UE and the receiving UE.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, He2 teaches and suggests a capability to estimate a set of weakest subcarriers and decode the unicast sidelink communication based at least in part on an overlap in frequency between a first allocation for transmissions by the transmitting UE and a second allocation for transmissions by the receiving UE ([0141]; “…the UE may use the resources that overlap with minimum number of other UEs in the frequency domain…the UE may use the resources that overlap with minimum number of other UEs both in the time domain and frequency domain…”; [0227]; teaches overlap in frequency between a first allocation for transmissions by the transmitting device and a second allocation for transmissions by the receiving device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate overlap in frequency between a first allocation for transmissions by the transmitting device and a second allocation for transmissions by the receiving device as taught by He2 with the method and apparatus for sidelink communication as disclosed by He1, as modified by Miao and Back2, for the purpose of exchanging information for sidelink V2X communication, as suggested by He2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-27, and 29-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
November 15, 2025