DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Application Status
Support for the amendments are within the instant application specification.
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed on 6/29/2026 in response to the Final Rejection mailed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged. This listing of claims replaces all prior listings of claims in the application.
Claims 1-26 are pending
Claims 14-20 remain withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claims 1-13, 21-26 are pending and examined on the merits.
Applicant’s remarks filed on 6/29/2026 in response to the Final Rejection mailed on 4/1/2026 have been fully considered and are not deemed persuasive to overcome at least one of the rejections and/or objections as previously applied.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anton et al (2015, US 9,175,315 B2. Date Filed: Jun. 17, 2011, Date of Patent: Nov. 3, 2015, cited on PTO-892 filed 9/6/2024) {herein Anton} as evidenced by Oh et al. (Date Published: 14 November 2019, crystals, cited on PTO-892 dated 4/1/2026) {herein Oh} is maintained. The rejection has been modified in view of Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 to recite ‘…obtained from fermentation… and … b) after the fermentation’; addition of claims 21-22, 25-26. See MPEP 2131.01 regarding multiple reference 102 rejections.
Claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26 are drawn to a method of reducing the free fatty acid content in a grain oil, wherein the method comprises: a) providing a first composition obtained from fermentation and comprising a first grain oil portion, wherein the first composition has a first free fatty acid content based on the total weight of the first grain oil portion of the first composition; b) after the fermentation, exposing the first grain oil portion to an alcohol component and an esterase enzyme component including an enzyme defined by EC 3.1.1.3 to esterify at least a portion of the first free fatty acid content and form a second composition comprising a second grain oil portion, wherein the second composition has a second free fatty acid content based on the total weight of the second grain oil portion of the second composition, wherein the second free fatty acid content is less than the first free fatty acid content, wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from greater than 0 and up to 0.05 % w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion; c) separating the second composition into an oil fraction and an aqueous fraction, wherein the second composition has a first minerals content from 30 to 5,000 ppm, and the oil fraction has a second minerals content from 20 to 200 ppm, wherein the second minerals content is less than the first minerals content; and wherein the grain oil is corn oil.
With respect to claims 1-2, 21-22, 25-26, Anton teaches a method for producing alcohol esters of fatty acids during a fermentation process from corn oil (feedstock) (column 9, lines 6-7). Furthermore, dried distillers' grains with solubles (DDGS) are a co-product or by-product from a fermentation of the feedstock (column 16, lines 21-22). The fermentation medium comprising alcohol, fermentable carbon source, and free fatty acids (column 9, lines 8-9), of which Examiner is interpreting to be the first composition recited in the instant application claim 1 since said composition is obtained from fermentation. With reference to the first composition having a first free fatty acid content based on the total weight of the first grain oil portion of the first composition, as recited in the instant application claim 1, it is the Examiner’s position that Anton’s method would necessarily yield a first composition having a first free fatty acid content based on the total weight of the first grain oil portion of the first composition especially since Anton teaches a fermentation medium comprising alcohol, fermentable carbon source, and free fatty acids (column 9, lines 8-9), which is the first composition recited in the instant application claim 1. As such, Examiner is interpreting the first mineral composition to be a fermentation medium comprising alcohol, fermentable carbon source, and free fatty acids (column 9, lines 8-9). Since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ mineral composition of the first composition with that of the prior art, the burden is on the Applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art (i.e., that the first composition of the prior art does not possess the same mineral composition of the claimed first composition). See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594. Said first grain oil portion is exposed to an alcohol component after fermentation as the first composition is comprised of a fermentation medium comprising alcohol, fermentable carbon source, and free fatty acids (column 9, lines 8-9). Anton further teaches contacting the fermentation medium with one or more enzymes capable of esterifying the free fatty acids with the alcohol whereby the free fatty acids are esterified with the alcohol to form alcohol esters of fatty acids (column 9, lines 10-45). In some embodiments, the enzyme catalyst can be a lipase derived from Bacillus (column 23, lines 17-19) or an esterase (column 5, line 4). Evidentiary reference of Oh is cited to demonstrate that Bacillus is a major source of carboxylic-ester hydrolase (CEHs), EC 3.1.1.3 (page 2, para 1 and table 1), which is a triacylglycerol lipase, as recited in the instant application claim 22. As such, Examiner is interpreting the claimed ‘EC 3.1.1.3’ as the same enzyme taught by Anton. With reference to the esterification of at least a portion of the first free fatty acid content to form a second composition comprising a second grain oil portion and having a second free fatty acid content based on the total weight of the second grain oil portion of the second composition, as recited in the instant application claim 1, it is the Examiner’s position that Anton’s method would necessarily yield a second composition comprised of the first free fatty acid content as Anton teaches contacting the fermentation medium with one or more enzymes capable of esterifying the free fatty acids with the alcohol whereby the free fatty acids are esterified with the alcohol to form alcohol esters of fatty acids (column 9, lines 10-45), which is the claimed second composition. As such, Examiner is interpreting the second composition to be free fatty acids that are esterified with the alcohol to form alcohol esters of fatty acids (column 9, lines 10-45) (page 2, para 1 and table 1) and has a second free fatty acid content based on the total weight of the second grain oil portion of the second composition. Since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ free fatty acid content of the second composition with that of the prior art, the burden is on the Applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art (i.e., that the free fatty acid content of the second composition of the prior art does not possess the same free fatty acid composition of the claimed second composition). See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594. Anton further teaches carboxylic acid, an alcohol component, can be separated from the alcohol esters and recycled back into the fermentation vessel (column 31, lines 43-49). Anton further teaches 4 wt % corn oil can be treated with amylase and subsequently treated with 0.1 ppm of lipase for the conversion of 30% to 99% fatty acid content in lipids to free fatty acids (column 34, lines 59-67), specifically into carboxylic acid (free fatty acids) (column 22, lines 58-61). Absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that 0.1 ppm of lipase is within the recited range of an esterase enzyme component present in an amount from greater than 0 and up to 0.05 % w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion. Additionally, it is the Examiner’s position that Anton’s method would necessarily yield a second free fatty acid content that is less than the first free fatty acid content, especially since Anton teaches the lipase (catalyst) is added at 0.1 ppm of lipase (column 34, lines 62). As such, absent evidence otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that Anton teaches the second free fatty acid content is less than the first free fatty acid content as recited in the instant application claim 1. In addition, since Anton teaches the introduction of 0.1 ppm of lipase for the conversion of 30% to 99% fatty acid content in lipids to free fatty acids (column 34, lines 59-67), said lipase is an exogenous lipase enzyme component since it is introduced from an outside source. Anton further teaches in some embodiments, the concentration of the carboxylic acid (free fatty acid) in the fermentation vessel exceeds the solubility limit in the aqueous phase and results in the production of a two-phase fermentation mixture comprising an organic phase and an aqueous phase (column 23, lines 6-10). Examiner is interpreting said teaching by Anton to be separating the second composition into an oil fraction and an aqueous fraction as recited in claim 1 of the instant application. With reference to the mineral content limitations of claim 1 of the instant application and those dependent therefrom, it is the Examiner’s position that Anton’s method would necessarily yield a first minerals content from 30 to 5,000 ppm and a second minerals content from 20 to 200 ppm especially since Anton teaches the lipase (catalyst) is added at 0.1 ppm of lipase (column 34, lines 62), which is within the claimed ranged of enzyme of 0 to up to 0.05% w/w. As such, Examiner is interpreting the second mineral content would be less than the first mineral content. Since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ mineral content of the first and second oil fractions with the first and second oil fractions of the prior art, the burden is on the applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art (i.e., that the first and second mineral content of the prior art does not possess the same mineral composition of the claimed first and second mineral content). See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.
With respect to claim 3, Anton teaches a method wherein within some embodiments, the oleic acid content of normal corn oil is about 24 wt % (column 21, lines 22-23). It is well-known in the art that oleic acid is a type of fatty acid. As such, Examiner is interpreting the oleic acid taught by Anton to be the same fatty acid recited in the instant application claim 3. After hydrolysis by the catalyst, the corn oil fatty acid is at least about 10% (column 32, line 67).
With respect to claim 4, Anton teaches a method wherein lipids can be directly transesterfied by the catalyst to produce alcohol esters (column 3, lines 30-31). Examiner is interpreting the composition before the addition of the catalyst to be the first grain oil composition with the first grain oil. Furthermore, Examiner is interpreting alcohol esters as fatty acid alkyl esters as they are comprised of alcohol and fatty acids due to esterification. Anton further teaches the ester-containing organic phase can be separated from the fermentation medium after the percent conversion of COFA is at least 100% (column 32, lines 65-67 and column 33, line 1). Examiner is interpreting the resulting composition to be a second grain oil composition with a second grain oil. Additionally, Examiner is interpreting the teaching of ‘the ester-containing organic phase can be separated from the fermentation medium after the percent conversion of COFA is at least 100% (column 32, lines 65-67 and column 33, line 1) by Anton to be ‘the second fatty acid alkyl ester content is greater than the first fatty acid alkyl ester content’ as recited in the instant application claim 4 as at least 100% of the COFA is converted into an ester-containing organic phase, at which Examiner is interpreting as fatty acid alkyl ester.
With respect to claim 5, Anton teaches a method wherein the fatty acid alkyl ester content is less than 20% of the total weight of the first grain oil portion of the first composition with the teaching of the conversion of about 100% of COFA, based on total weight, to an ester-containing organic phase (column 33, lines 1-3). Examiner is interpreting 0% conversion of COFA to fatty acid alky ester within the first composition as the first composition is interpreted as being before the addition of the catalyst. Furthermore, Examiner is interpreting the conversion of about 100% COFA, based on total weight, into an organic ester phase to be the same as 100% conversion of COFA into fatty alkyl ester as Anton teaches the transesterification of COFA into alcohol esters by the catalyst in the presence of alcohol (column 3, lines 30-31). Examiner is interpreting fatty acid ethyl esters to be the same as alcohol esters as they are comprised of fatty acids and alcohol through the process of esterification (Anton: column 10, lines 55-56).
With respect to claim 6, Anton teaches a method wherein the water phase including suspended and dissolved solids may be centrifuged to produce a wet cake and thin stillage (column 42, lines 36-38). Examiner is interpreting the recitation ‘optionally evaporating at least a portion of water from the thin stillage to condense the thin stillage into a syrup; and b) separating the thin stillage or syrup into the oil fraction and the aqueous fraction’ as not being a required limitation of the claims due to the recitation ‘optionally.’
With respect to claims 7-8, Anton teaches a method wherein milled grain and one or more enzymes are combined to generate a slurried grain (corn processed by the hammer mill) (column 41, lines 27-30). Examiner is interpreting the slurried grain to be a first grain oil portion. The slurried grain is cooked and liquified, resulting in cooked mash (column 41, lines 30-31). The cooked mash is then filtered to generate a wet cake and a filtrate (column 41, lines 31-33). Examiner is interpreting the filtrate to be the first oil composition, containing the first oil fraction and first aqueous fraction. Examiner is interpreting the filtrate as an emulsion as it is comprised of 2 liquids that do not naturally mix together (oil and water). The water phase may be centrifuged to produce a wet cake and thin stillage (column 42, lines 36-38). Anton further teaches the emulsion can be separated by exposing it to sodium hydroxide and heat (column 113, lines 50-51). Examiner is interpreting the exposure of the emulsion to sodium hydroxide and heat as breaking the emulsion to separate the first oil fraction into the second oil fraction and the second aqueous phase, with the product being comprised of both the second oil fraction and the aqueous phase. Furthermore, Examiner is interpreting said teaching to be the same as ‘breaking the emulsion comprises exposing the emulsion to an alkali base’ as recited in claim 8 as it is well-known in the art that sodium hydroxide is an alkali base. Additionally, it is the Examiner’s position that given that Anton teaches the addition of sodium hydroxide to the emulsion, the pH would rise to 7 or above as sodium hydroxide is an alkali base that is well-known in the art to increase the pH of samples. Examiner is interpreting the resulting oil from the breaking of the emulsion of the thin stillage as being the second oil fraction. The split also provides thin stillage which may be pumped to evaporators for further processing (column 42, lines 43-44). In another embodiment, the thin stillage may also be evaporated to generate a syrup (column 43, lines 38-50). Examiner is interpreting the evaporation of the thin stillage into a syrup as separating the first oil fraction from the second oil fraction with the second oil fraction being the syrup.
With respect to claim 9, Anton teaches a method of combining the grain oil composition feedstock (milled grain) with water to form an oil-water mixture (slurried grain) (column 41, lines 27-33) at about 50g/L (column 28, line 29) which Examiner is interpreting as 5% water, based on the oil-water mixture composition. Anton further teaches the mixture is exposed to a temperature of 50C to form an aqueous and emulsion-like phase, wherein the aqueous layer was drained (column 113, lines 52-56). The oil phase was recovered (column 113, line 57). Since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ grain oil product with the grain oil product of the prior art, the burden is on the applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art (i.e., that the grain oil product of the prior art does not possess the same mineral content as the claimed grain oil). See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594.” Absent otherwise, it is the Examiner’s position that Anton would necessarily have a grain oil product with minerals content from 0 to less than 20 ppm.
For the reasons stated herein, the teachings of Anton anticipates claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26.
RESPONSE TO REMARKS: Beginning on p. 8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant in summary contends that the Office Action is correct in noting this portion of Anton does mention 0.1 ppm of lipase, the use of lipase is for "conversion of the available fatty acid content in lipids to free fatty acids," which is the hydrolysis of the fatty acid portion of a triglyceride (e.g., lipids) to glycerol and free fatty acids. The present application on the other hand recites that the esterase enzyme component is to esterify free fatty acids, which is a different reaction than noted by Anton in the above passage. Applicant contends that esterification is reacting a fatty acid with alcohol to form an ester while Anton's hydrolysis is converting a triglyceride to glycerol and a fatty acid.
This argument is found to be not persuasive. Examiner contends that Anton teaches a method for producing alcohol esters of fatty acids during a fermentation process from corn oil (feedstock) (column 9, lines 6-7). It is known by those of ordinary skill in that art that said reaction produces alcohol esters of fatty acids during a fermentation process which relies exactly on the esterification of free fatty acids. Ultimately, this process combines a free fatty acid with an alcohol, forming an ester molecule.
Applicant contends that the methods of the present application only expose the first grain oil portion to the alcohol component and the esterase enzyme component "after the fermentation" to esterify free fatty acids and reduce the free fatty acid content. Applicant contends that no other embodiment or other figure of Anton describes or suggests adding Anton's lipase catalyst after fermentation for esterification.
This argument is found to be not persuasive. Examiner contends that Anton teaches contacting the fermentation medium with one or more enzymes capable of esterifying the free fatty acids with the alcohol whereby the free fatty acids are esterified with the alcohol to form alcohol esters of fatty acids (column 9, lines 10-45).
Applicant contends that Anton also fails to describe such features of its lipase addition relative to esterification. To the extent Anton mentions any lipase after fermentation, it discusses hydrolysis of FABE (e.g., the reaction of a fatty acid butyl ester (FABE) into butanol and fatty acids), which again is not the same reaction as esterifying fatty acids with alcohol and necessarily leads to an increase in fatty acids not a reduction.
This argument is found to be not persuasive. Examiner contends that Anton teaches the enzyme catalyst can be a lipase derived from Bacillus (column 23, lines 17-19), which is EC 3.1.1.3. Supporting the Examiner’s position is the evidentiary reference of Oh, which is cited to demonstrate that Bacillus produces EC 3.1.1.3 (page 2, para 1 and table 1), which is a triacylglycerol lipase. Said enzyme is recited by Applicant in the instant application claim 1 as having the activity of esterifying fatty acids with alcohol.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anton et al (2015, US 9,175,315 B2. Date Filed: Jun. 17, 2011, Date of Patent: Nov. 3, 2015, cited on PTO-892 dated 9/6/2024) {herein Anton} as applied to claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26 above as evidenced by Oh et al. (Date Published: 14 November 2019, crystals, cited on PTO-892 dated 4/1/2026) {herein Oh}.
Claim 23 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from 0.012 to 0.05 w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion.
Claim 24 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from 0.012 to 0.02 w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion.
The teachings of Anton as applied to claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26 are set forth in the 102a1 rejection above.
However, Anton does not teach the method of claim 23, wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from 0.012 to 0.05 w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion (claim 23). Anton does not teach the method of claim 24, wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from 0.012 to 0.02 w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion (claim 24).
With respect to claims 23-24, although the references of Anton does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 23 (wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from 0.012 to 0.05 w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion), claim 24 (wherein the esterase enzyme component is present in an amount from 0.012 to 0.02 w/w of the weight of the first grain oil portion), MPEP 2144.05 states"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05 IIA)." One of ordinary skill would desire to optimize the amount of esterase enzyme component depending on the particular application. It would be routine for one to arrive at the amount for the application they intend on using the esterase enzyme. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 10-13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anton et al (2015, US 9,175,315 B2. Date Filed: Jun. 17, 2011, Date of Patent: Nov. 3, 2015, cited on PTO-892 dated 9/6/2024) {herein Anton} as applied to claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26 above in view of Wang et al (2016, Research Article, cited on PTO-892 dated 4/1/2026) {herein Wang} and Schurz et al (2008, WO 2008/012072 A1, Date Filed: July, 24, 2007, Date Published: January, 31, 2008, machine translated, cited on PTO-892 dated 9/6/2024) {herein Schurz) as evidenced by Oh et al. (Date Published: 14 November 2019, crystals, cited on PTO-892 dated 4/1/2026) {herein Oh} and Jackson et al. (2020, Wine Science (Fifth Edition) pages 573-723, doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-816118-0.00008-8, cited on PTO-892 dated 9/6/2024) {herein Jackson} is maintained.
Claim 10 is drawn to the method of claim 9, further comprising bleaching the grain oil product.
Claim 11 is drawn to the method of claim 10, wherein bleaching comprises contacting the grain oil product with an oxidizing gas under conditions to form a bleached grain oil product.
Claim 12 is drawn to the method of claim 11, wherein the grain oil product has a color value chosen from a red color value greater than 15 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, a yellow color value greater than 70 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, and combinations thereof, and wherein the bleached grain oil product has a color value chosen from a red color value less than 5 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, a yellow color value less than 30 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, and combinations thereof
Claim 13 is drawn to the method of claim 11, wherein the bleached grain oil product has a Brookfield viscosity in the range from 20 to less than 40 centiPoise (cP) when measured at 40°C and #SC 418 spindle.
The teachings of Anton as applied to claims 1-9, 21-22, 25-26 are set forth in the 102a1 rejection above.
However, Anton does not teach the method of claim 10, comprising bleaching the grain oil product (claim 10). Anton does not teach the method of claim 11, wherein bleaching comprises contacting the grain oil product with an oxidizing gas under conditions to form a bleached grain oil product (claim 11). Anton does not teach to the method of claim 12, wherein the grain oil product has a color value chosen from a red color value greater than 15 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, a yellow color value greater than 70 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, and combinations thereof, and wherein the bleached grain oil product has a color value chosen from a red color value less than 5 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, a yellow color value less than 30 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, and combinations thereof (claim 12). Anton does not teach the method of claim 13, wherein the bleached grain oil product has a Brookfield viscosity in the range from 20 to less than 40 centiPoise (cP) when measured at 40°C and #SC 418 spindle (claim 13).
With respect to claims 10-11, Wang teaches a method wherein ozone was used to bleach grain oil, including corn oil (abstract and page 7, para 3), which is an oxidizing gas (page 2, para 2).
However, Wang does not teach the method of claim 12 wherein the grain oil product has a color value chosen from a red color value greater than 15 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, a yellow color value greater than 70 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, and combinations thereof, and wherein the bleached grain oil product has a color value chosen from a red color value less than 5 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, a yellow color value less than 30 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale according to AOCS Cc 13J-97, and combinations thereof (claim 12). Wang does not teach the method of claim 13, wherein the bleached grain oil product has a Brookfield viscosity in the range from 20 to less than 40 centiPoise (cP) when measured at 40°C and #SC 418 spindle (claim 13).
With respect to claim 12, Schurz teaches a method wherein a Lovibond red color number of 16.5 is achieved after bleaching (page 11, lines 421-422) to remove oxidation accelerators (page 1, line 17). Adsorptive cleaning can significantly improve the taste, color and storage stability of oils (page 1, lines 17-18). Examiner is interpreting absorptive cleaning as bleaching. The color numbers in oils (Lovibond color numbers) were determined according to AOCS Cc 13b-45 (page 8, lines 323-324). Examiner is interpreting the recitation of AOCS Cc 13J-97 with the instant application claim 12 to fit within the recited range of AOCS Cc 13b-45 by Schurz (page 8, lines 323) as it is well-known in the art that AOCS Cc 13b-45 encompasses AOCS Cc 13J-97. Lovibond yellow color number of 26 is obtained (page 12, line 485).
With respect to claim 13, since Anton, in view of Wang and Schurz teaches the structure of the bleached grain oil, it is the Examiner’s interpretation that the bleached grain oil product would necessarily have a Brookfield viscosity in the range from 20 to less than 40 centiPoise (cP) when measured at 40°C and #SC 418 spindle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Anton whom teaches a method of reducing the free fatty acid content in a grain oil or combine the teachings of Wang and Schurz because Wang teaches a method wherein ozone was used to bleach grain oil, including corn oil (abstract and page 7, para 3), which is an oxidizing gas (page 2, para 2). Schurz teaches grain oil with a Lovibond red color number of 16.5 (Schurz: page 11, lines 421-422) and a Lovibond yellow color number of 26 (Schurz: page 12, line 485) after bleaching said grain to serve as an indication of improved taste, color and storage stability of oils (Schurz: page 1, lines 17-18). While Anton teaches a method for producing a product alcohol wherein the method comprises providing a biomass feedstock comprised of oil (Anton: column 9, lines 19-21) and wherein in some embodiments, the lipase (catalyst) may be 0.5 ppm (Anton: column 34, lines 62-62).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to either use the teachings of Anton by itself or combine the teachings of Wang and Schurz because Wang provides the motivation for Anton to bleach the gain oil by utilizing ozone as ozone has been widely used in the food industry as an effective antimicrobial agent for Deoxynivalenol (DON) detoxification which is a secondary metabolite produced by Fusarium fungi, is a common contaminant of corn (page 1, para 1). Additionally, ozone rapidly decomposes (half-life of 20–50 min) to molecular oxygen, leaves no residue, can be generated on site, and requires no storage and subsequent disposal of chemical containers (Wang: page 2, para 2). While Schurz provides the motivation for Anton to achieve a Lovibond color number red of greater than 15 and a yellow color value less than 30 according to the AOCS Cc13J-97 as said colors are an indication of very little mineral content (Schurz: page 3, lines 101-102) which could negatively affect the quality of the grain oil. One would have a reasonable expectation of success and predictability since the method taught by Anton satisfies the need for alternative extractive fermentation methods which do not necessitate the partitioning of the product alcohol between the fermentation medium and the extractant as a means to reduce the toxic effect of the product alcohol (such as butanol) on the microorganism (Anton: column 20, lines 4-10). Anton further teaches esterification of a product alcohol with a carboxylic acid during fermentation can provide improvements in the fermentation performance (Anton: column 20, lines 59-51). While Wang and Schultz provide the standard for improving the quality of the grain oil via bleaching with ozone and ensuring its quality by measuring the red and yellow color on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale.
One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to make and use the claimed method for bleaching grain oil using ozone to obtain a red color that is greater than 15 and the yellow color that is less than 30 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale because Wang provides the basic method for bleaching grain oil using ozone. Schultz provides the teaching of a grain oil with a red color greater than 15 and the yellow color less than 30 on the LOVIBOND RYBN color scale as indications of very little mineral content (page 3, lines 101-102), thereby good quality grain oil. While Anton provides the method for producing grain oil by utilizing fatty acids, alcohol and an esterase. Therefore there would be a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the above invention. Therefore, the above invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Beginning on p. 10 of Applicants’ remarks, Applicants in summary contends the secondary references are cited for other reasons and fail to overcome the deficiencies of Anton noted above.
Examiner contends the secondary reference Wang provides the motivation for Anton to bleach the gain oil by utilizing ozone as ozone has been widely used in the food industry as an effective antimicrobial agent for Deoxynivalenol (DON) detoxification which is a secondary metabolite produced by Fusarium fungi, is a common contaminant of corn (page 1, para 1). While Schurz provides the motivation for Anton to achieve a Lovibond color number red of greater than 15 and a yellow color value less than 30 according to the AOCS Cc13J-97 as said colors are an indication of very little mineral content (Schurz: page 3, lines 101-102) which could negatively affect the quality of the grain oil.
Conclusion
Status of the claims
Claims 1-26 are pending
Claims 14-20 remain withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Claims 1-13, 21-26 are pending and examined on the merits.
Claims 1-13, 21-26 are rejected.
No claims are in condition for allowance.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICA NICOLE JONES-FOSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1656
/SUZANNE M NOAKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656