DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 09/26/2025.
Claims 2, 7, 20, 28, and 33 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-19, 21-27, 29-32, and 34-35 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filled on 05/27/2025 with respect to rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 19, 21, 23-24, 26-27, 29, and 31 have been fully considered but not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that “Applicant respectfully submits that MEDINA and FALAHATI do not disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1. For example, MEDINA and FALAHATI do not disclose at least "receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations," as recited in amended claim 1. Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate features of previously presented claim 7. Regarding claim 7, the Office Action concedes that MEDINA and FALAHATI do not disclose "receive, from a base station or the second UE, configuration information indicating the configuration," as recited in previously presented claim 7. See Office Action, pages 12-13. However, the Office Action relies on HUANG for allegedly disclosing these features. See id..” on page 12.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
According to Paragraph [005], [0044], [0074], [0075], [0101] of FALAHATI et al. (US 2019/0268920) below:
[0005] There is generally disclosed a method of operating a user equipment (or, more generally, a first radio node) in a radio access network. The user equipment (or first radio node) is configured with a reference time resource. The reference time resource is available in one or more slots for transmission of a scheduling request by the user equipment. Moreover, the reference time resource comprises a reference symbol R, wherein each of the one or more slots has a slot duration that is based on a number N of symbols in the slot. The user equipment or first radio node further is configured with a requesting periodicity P indicating a periodicity with a time period shorter than the slot duration. The method comprises transmitting a scheduling request message at a request transmission symbol T which is based on the reference symbol R and the periodicity ¶
[0044] FIG. 1 shows configuration for scheduling requests. Several consecutive slots are shown, each of which has a slot duration based on a number of symbols in the slot, e.g. 14, or 12, or a different number (for NR, it may be 14). For each slot, there is configured a reference time resource for a scheduling request (SR), which is referred to as configured PUCCH resource for SR. This may be configured with RRC signaling and/or semi-statically. A reference symbol R is associated to this resource and configured implicitly or explicitly with the resource. It should be noted that the resource may extend over more than one symbol in time. There is also configured a periodicity P for scheduling requests SR, which corresponds to a period shorter than the slot duration, e.g. to a number of symbols fewer than the symbols of the slot. The other available symbols (and/or associated resources or symbol ranges) in a slot may be determined, e.g. automatically, by the UE or network node (for reception or scheduling). It may be considered that a PUCCH resource configured for SR has starting symbol S.sub.SR within a slot, which may be the reference symbol. The SR periodicity may be P=L.sub.SR, with L.sub.SR for example 2 or 7 symbols, or another value, in particular between 2 and 7. In total, per slot, the following PUCCH resources for SR are defined with start positions S.sub.SR,n=S.sub.SR,0+n.Math.L.sub.SR, with S.sub.SR,0=mod(S.sub.SR, L.sub.SR) and [00001]𝑛=0,1,.Math..Math..Math.𝐿𝐿SR-1 with L the slot length in symbols. For the starting slot, it may be configured or configurable, or predetermined, whether any start positions (corresponding to available symbols) earlier than the reference symbol are available.
[0074] A resource pool generally may indicate and/or comprise resources, in particular time-frequency resources, e.g. time and frequency intervals, which may be contiguous or interrupted, and/or code resources. A resource pool may in particular indicate and/or comprise resource elements and/or resource blocks, e.g. PRBs. A radio node like a user equipment may be considered to be configured with a resource pool if it received corresponding control signaling configuring it therewith. Such control signaling may in particular be transmitted by a receiving radio node as described herein. The control signaling may in particular be higher layer signaling, e.g. MAC and/or RRC signaling, and/or may be semi-static or semi-persistent. In some cases, the responding radio node or user equipment may be considered configured with a resource pool, if it is informed about a corresponding configuration, e.g. that it may access resources in the pool for transmitting. Such a configuration in some cases may be predefined, e.g. based on a standard and/or default configuration. A resource pool may be dedicated to one responding radio node or user equipment, or in some cases shared between several. It may be considered that a resource pool may be general, or for specific types of signaling, e.g. control signaling or data signaling. A transmission resource pool may in particular be for control signaling, e.g. uplink control signaling and/or sidelink control signaling, and/or may be dedicated to the user equipment/responding radio node. It may be considered that a resource pool comprises a plurality of resource structures, which may be arranged in subpools or groups, e.g. pertaining and/or according to type of (received or scheduled) signaling or type of response control signaling. Each group or subpool may comprise a number of resource structures, wherein the number may be representable by an indicator and/or bit field of the selection control information. For example, the maximum number of resource structures in a group may correspond to the maximum number of different values representable by the bit field or indicator. Different groups may have different numbers of resource structures. It may generally be considered that a group comprises a smaller number of resource structures than representable by the indicator or bit field. A resource pool may represent a search space and/or space of availability of resources and/or resource structures available for specific signaling. In particular, a transmission resource pool may be considered to represent a (time/frequency and/or code) domain or space of resources available for response control signaling.
[0075] Configuring a radio node, in particular a terminal or user equipment, may refer to the radio node being adapted or caused or set and/or instructed to operate according to the configuration.
Configuring may be done by another device, e.g., a network node (for example, a radio node of the network like a base station or eNodeB) or network, in which case it may comprise transmitting configuration data to the radio node to be configured. Such configuration data may represent the configuration to be configured and/or comprise one or more instruction pertaining to a configuration, e.g. a configuration for transmitting and/or receiving on allocated resources, in particular frequency resources. A radio node may configure itself, e.g., based on configuration data received from a network or network node. A network node may utilize, and/or be adapted to utilize, its circuitry/ies for configuring. Allocation information may be considered a form of configuration data. Configuration data may comprise and/or be represented by configuration information, and/or one or more corresponding indications and/or message/s.
[0101] Scheduling a device, or for a device, and/or related transmission or signaling, may be considered comprising, or being a form of, configuring the device with resources, and/or of indicating to the device resources, e.g. to use for communicating. Scheduling may in particular pertain to a transmission timing structure, or a substructure thereof (e.g., a slot or a mini-slot, which may be considered a substructure of a slot). It may be considered that a border symbol may be identified and/or determined in relation to the transmission timing structure even if for a substructure being scheduled, e.g. if an underlying timing grid is defined based on the transmission timing structure. Signaling indicating scheduling may comprise corresponding scheduling information and/or be considered to represent or contain configuration data indicating the scheduled transmission and/or comprising scheduling information. Such configuration data or signaling may be considered a resource configuration or scheduling configuration. It should be noted that such a configuration (in particular as single message) in some cases may not be complete without other configuration data, e.g. configured with other signaling, e.g. higher layer signaling. In particular, the symbol configuration may be provided in addition to scheduling/resource configuration to identify exactly which symbols are assigned to a scheduled transmission. A scheduling (or resource) configuration may indicate transmission timing structure/s and/or resource amount (e.g., in number of symbols or length in time) for a scheduled transmission.
(Emphasis added).
FALAHATI discloses receive configuration data/configuration information from a network node [See ¶ 75], wherein the configuration data to be configured and/or comprise one or more instruction pertaining to a configuration, e.g. a configuration for transmitting and/or receiving on allocated resources on the resource pool for control signaling, e.g. sidelink control signaling [See ¶¶ 74-75], wherein the request transmission symbol T/ (reference time resources) are for the scheduling request (SR), which is referred to as configured PUCCH resources for SR; the resources associated to an available symbol associated to control signaling and control channel, such as PUCCH or PSCCH, (e.g., UCI and/or SCI), used for scheduling request [See ¶¶ 44-45]; indicated that the user equipment is configured with a resource pool configuration may be predefined, e.g. based on a standard and/or default configuration with a plurality of resource structures that is dedicated or scheduled (reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations) [See ¶ 74], wherein transmitting a scheduling request message at a request transmission symbol T/ (reference time resource) which is based on the reference symbol R and the periodicity, that applied for sidelink communication [See ¶¶ 43-44].
In view of above, MEDINA and FALAHATI disclose each and every feature recited in amended claim 1, in particular "receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations,".
Further, Applicant argues that “Instead, the cited portions of HUANG recite "carrier list is configured or preconfigured for the relay UE and/or the remote UE, 10 including carrier position in the frequency domain (e.g. RB index, offset relative to anchor carrier) and time domain indication of the resource pool corresponding to the carrier (e.g. starting position, bitmap, bitmap mapping rules)." See HUANG, paragraph 84. Thus, HUANG describes a pre-configuration of a carrier list. However, a configuration of a carrier list does not disclose or suggest "receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations," as recited in amended claim 1” on page 12.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument above.
According to Paragraph [0056], [0083], [0086] of HUANG et al. (EP 3721664) below:
[0056] In one embodiment of the present teaching, the resource pool content indicated by the non-anchor carrier resource pool indication message includes at least one of the following: the control transmission resource pool and the data transmission resource pool of the remote UE on the non-anchor carrier, a dedicated resource pool for scheduling request of the remote UE. The resources in the control transmission resource pool of the remote UE can be scheduled for transmitting data, as shown in FIG. 9.
The dedicated resource pool for remote UE scheduling request can only be used to transmit the scheduling request when the remote UE actively transmits data.
[0083] A resource scheduling method is used for scheduling a remote UE on a non-anchor carrier.
When a remote UE has a service data transmission request, a scheduling request is transmitted in a dedicated resource pool for remote UE scheduling request on a non-anchor carrier.
The scheduling request may be transmitted in the control information or service data of the D2D communication.
The scheduling request includes information of service data packet size, and/or remote UE identification information. After receiving the scheduling request from the remote UE, the relay UE allocates resources for the remote UE and transmits the resource allocation information in the transmission resource pool of the D2D communication of the relay UE on the non-anchor carrier, to indicate the allocated resources for the remote UE. The resource allocation information may be transmitted in the control information or service data of the D2D communication. The transmission resource pool of the D2D communication of the relay UE may include a D2D broadcast transmission resource pool, and/or a D2D unicast transmission resource pool, and/or a D2D multicast transmission resource pool.
[0084] In a sixth embodiment, a carrier list is configured or preconfigured for the relay UE and/or the remote UE, including carrier position in the frequency domain (e.g. RB index, offset relative to anchor carrier) and time domain indication of the resource pool corresponding to the carrier (e.g. starting position, bitmap, bitmap mapping rules). The relay UE and/or the remote UE acquires resource pool configuration information on the carrier, e.g. from the BS. The relay UE and/or the remote UE selects one of the carriers according to the service type or priority, the delay requirement, the measured load of the carrier, etc. or randomly selects one of the carriers as its own working carrier. On the selected working carrier, the relay UE and/or the remote UE sends a discovery or communication signal in a corresponding resource pool.
The relay UE and/or the remote UE receives the discovery or communication signal in the corresponding resource pool on the selected working carrier.
[0086] The configuration information further includes information of a resource pool on a sidelink communication carrier or a PRB, and specifically includes discovery resource pool information and/or communication resource pool information. For example, the configuration information may include one or more of the following resource pools: a discovery signal transmission resource pool of a relay UE,
a discovery signal transmission resource pool of a remote UE, a communication signal transmission resource pool of a relay UE, a communication signal transmission resource pool of a remote UE, a discovery signal reception resource pool of a relay UE, a discovery signal reception resource pool of a remote UE, a communication signal reception resource pool of a relay UE, and a communication signal reception resource pool of a remote UE. Some of these resource pools may overlap. For example, the discovery signal transmission resource pool of the relay UE and the discovery signal reception resource pool of the remote UE may overlap. The configuration parameters of the resource pool include the period of the resource pool, and/or the bitmap indicating the sub-frames included in the resource pool, and/or the number of times the bitmap is repeated
(Emphasis added).
However, HUANG discloses acquire/receive resource pool configuration information on the carrier, e.g. from the BS [See ¶ 84], wherein the configuration information includes information of a resource pool on a sidelink communication carrier or a PRB, and specifically includes discovery resource pool information and/or communication resource pool information which include a communication signal transmission resource pool of a remote UE/ relay UE [See ¶ 86;], wherein the resource pool content indicated by the non-anchor carrier resource pool indication message includes a dedicated resource pool for scheduling request of the remote UE (that is, the dedicated resource pool for remote UE scheduling request can only be used to transmit the scheduling request) [See ¶¶ 56, 83].
Thus, the combined of MEDINA and HUANG also discloses the all features from the amended claim 1 that incorporated with the limitation from claim 7.
Independent claims 19, 23, and 27, as amended, recited with similar features as of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1, 19, 23, and 27 and the claims that depend thereon, are not patentable over the cited combination of references MEDINA and FALAHATI, or MEDINA and HUANG.
Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 16, has been fully considered and is persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 16 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 4, 8, 13, 15, 18, 19, 23, 27, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over MEDINA et al. (WO 2020/035142) in view of HUANG et al. (EP 3721664).
Regarding claim 1, MEDINA discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig. 3, page 15 line 21; a sidelink communication device (i) 301 /(first UE)], comprising:
a memory [Fig. 3, page 15 line 21; implicitly having a memory 406]; and
one or more processors [Fig. 3, page 16 line 15; processor 305], coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit, to a second UE, a request for a sidelink resource allocation [Fig. 4, page 21 lines 1-4; (step 411) transmit, to sidelink communication device (j) 331 /(second UE), scheduling request], wherein the request is transmitted on a first set of sidelink resources [Fig. 5, page 22 lines 15-20; wherein the SR message is transmitted on the resources with the value range may be indicated explicitly or implicitly, e.g., based on the location in time and/or frequency of the radio resource (preference list X.sub.m and/or the exclusion list X.sub.m (in Fig. 5))], wherein the request includes an indication of one or more sidelink carriers corresponding to the sidelink resource allocation [Fig. 4, page 20 lines 22-33; wherein the SR message one or more carrier indicators, identifying one or more candidate carriers to be considered for resource selection; one or more resource pool indicators, identifying one or more candidate resource pools to be considered for resource selection; a preference list X.sub.m of one or more resources to be considered as preferred choices for resource selection on carrier m and resource pool p, for one or more carriers and/or resource pools; an exclusion list X.sub.m P of one or more resources to be excluded from resource selection on carrier m and resource pool p, for one or more carriers and/or resource pools]; and
receive scheduling information identifying the sidelink resource allocation [Fig. 4, page 21 lines 6-9; (step 413) receive a Scheduling Grant, SG, message indicating one or more radio resources selected by the sidelink communication device (J) 331 for transmission of sidelink data by the sidelink communication device (i) 301].
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations.
However, HUANG discloses disclose receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information [¶ 84; acquire/receive resource pool configuration information on the carrier, e.g. from the BS] indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources [¶ 86; the configuration information includes information of a resource pool on a sidelink communication carrier or a PRB, and specifically includes discovery resource pool information and/or communication resource pool information which include a communication signal transmission resource pool of a remote UE/ relay UE], wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations [¶¶ 56, 83, ; wherein the resource pool content indicated by the non-anchor carrier resource pool indication message includes a dedicated resource pool for scheduling request of the remote UE (that is, the dedicated resource pool for remote UE scheduling request can only be used to transmit the scheduling request)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations” as taught by LUO in the system of MEDINA, so that it would provide enable a sidelink communication between a relay UE and the remote UE with a limited bandwidth [see HUANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of MEDINA and HUANG discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured for the first UE.
However, HUANG discloses wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured for the first UE [Fig. 14, ¶ 83; wherein the dedicated resource pool is configured for remote UE/first UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured for the first UE” as taught by HUANG in the system of MEDINA, so that it would to enable a sidelink communication between a relay UE and the remote UE with a limited bandwidth [see HUANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 8, the combined system of MEDINA and HUANG discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration corresponds to a resource pool associated with the sidelink resource allocation.
However, HUANG discloses wherein the configuration corresponds to a resource pool associated with the sidelink resource allocation [¶ 86, wherein the configuration information further includes information of a resource pool on a sidelink communication carrier or a PRB, and specifically includes discovery resource pool information and/or communication resource pool information].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the configuration corresponds to a resource pool associated with the sidelink resource allocation” as taught by HUANG in the system of MEDINA, so that it would to enable a sidelink communication between a relay UE and the remote UE with a limited bandwidth [see HUANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 13, the combined system of MEDINA and HUANG discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of sidelink resources is selected from a plurality of sets of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations.
However, HUANG discloses wherein the first set of sidelink resources is selected from a plurality of sets of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations [¶¶ 60,84; wherein the first set of sidelink resources is selected from a plurality of sets of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first set of sidelink resources is selected from a plurality of sets of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations” as taught by HUANG in the system of MEDINA, so that it would to enable a sidelink communication between a relay UE and the remote UE with a limited bandwidth [see HUANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 15, the combined system of MEDINA and HUANG discloses the first UE of claim 1,
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is transmitted on a sidelink control channel or a sidelink shared channel.
However, HUANG discloses wherein the request is transmitted on a sidelink control channel or a sidelink shared channel [¶ 60; wherein the request is transmitted on a sidelink control channel or a sidelink shared channel].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the request is transmitted on a sidelink control channel or a sidelink shared channel” as taught by HUANG in the system of MEDINA, so that it would to enable a sidelink communication between a relay UE and the remote UE with a limited bandwidth [see HUANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 18, the combined system of MEDINA and HUANG discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein the scheduling information from the second UE is received on a second set of sidelink resources associated with a set of sidelink resources on which the request is transmitted.
However, HUANG discloses wherein the scheduling information from the second UE is received on a second set of sidelink resources associated with a set of sidelink resources on which the request is transmitted [See Fig. 5, ¶ 43; At operation 508, wherein the scheduling resource included in the sidelink control from the relay UE/second UE using a resource in one second resource pool on the second carrier].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the scheduling information from the second UE is received on a second set of sidelink resources associated with a set of sidelink resources on which the request is transmitted” as taught by HUANG in the system of MEDINA, so that it would to enable a sidelink communication between a relay UE and the remote UE with a limited bandwidth [See HUANG; ¶ 5].
Regarding claim 19, the claims recite a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors (Fig. 10; bandwidth-limited device is a relay UE or a peer UE, which comprising a memory; and one or more processors), coupled to the memory, configured to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 19 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, the claim recites a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors (eNB/base station, implicitly comprises a memory; and one or more processors), coupled to the memory, configured to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 23 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, the claim recites a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 27 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the claim recites the method of claim 27 to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 4; therefore, claim 30 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 4.
Regarding claim 34, the claim recites the method of claim 19 to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 8; therefore, claim 34 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 8.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 19, 21, 23-24, 26-27, 29, 31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over MEDINA et al. (WO 2020/035142) in view of FALAHATI et al. (US 2019/0268920).
Regarding claim 1, MEDINA discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Fig. 3, page 15 line 21; a sidelink communication device (i) 301 /(first UE)], comprising:
a memory [Fig. 3, page 15 line 21; implicitly having a memory 406]; and
one or more processors [Fig. 3, page 16 line 15; processor 305], coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit, to a second UE, a request for a sidelink resource allocation [Fig. 4, page 21 lines 1-4; (step 411) transmit, to sidelink communication device (j) 331 /(second UE), scheduling request], wherein the request is transmitted on a first set of sidelink resources [Fig. 5, page 22 lines 15-20; wherein the SR message is transmitted on the resources with the value range may be indicated explicitly or implicitly, e.g., based on the location in time and/or frequency of the radio resource (preference list X.sub.m and/or the exclusion list X.sub.m (in Fig. 5))], wherein the request includes an indication of one or more sidelink carriers corresponding to the sidelink resource allocation [Fig. 4, page 20 lines 22-33; wherein the SR message one or more carrier indicators, identifying one or more candidate carriers to be considered for resource selection; one or more resource pool indicators, identifying one or more candidate resource pools to be considered for resource selection; a preference list X.sub.m of one or more resources to be considered as preferred choices for resource selection on carrier m and resource pool p, for one or more carriers and/or resource pools; an exclusion list X.sub.m P of one or more resources to be excluded from resource selection on carrier m and resource pool p, for one or more carriers and/or resource pools]; and
receive scheduling information identifying the sidelink resource allocation [Fig. 4, page 21 lines 6-9; (step 413) receive a Scheduling Grant, SG, message indicating one or more radio resources selected by the sidelink communication device (J) 331 for transmission of sidelink data by the sidelink communication device (i) 301].
Although, MEDINA discloses all aspect of invention set forth above, MEDINA does not explicitly disclose receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations.
However, FALAHATI discloses receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information [¶ 75; receive configuration data/configuration information from a network node] indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources [¶¶ 74-75; represent the configuration to be configured and/or comprise one or more instruction pertaining to a configuration, e.g. a configuration for transmitting and/or receiving on allocated resources on the resource pool for control signaling, e.g. sidelink control signaling], wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations [See ¶¶ 44-45; wherein the request transmission symbol T/ (reference time resources) are for the scheduling request (SR), which is referred to as configured PUCCH resources for SR; the resources associated to an available symbol associated to control signaling and control channel, such as PUCCH or PSCCH, (e.g., UCI and/or SCI), used for scheduling request; See ¶ 74 above, the user equipment is configured with a resource pool configuration that may be predefined, e.g. based on a standard and/or default configuration with a plurality of resource structures that is dedicated or scheduled (reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations)], wherein the request is transmitted on a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, [¶¶ 5-6, 15, 44; wherein transmitting a scheduling request message at a request transmission symbol T/ (reference time resource) which is based on the reference symbol R and the periodicity, that applied for sidelink communication, See ¶ 43]. .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “receive, from a base station or a second UE, configuration information indicating a configuration of a first set of sidelink resources, of a set of periodic sidelink resources, wherein the first set of sidelink resources are reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations” as taught by FALAHATI in the system of MEDINA, so that it would allowing efficient control signaling, in particular for handling scheduling requests, e.g. transmission from a user equipment (UE) to a network (e.g., a network node) indicating that the UE desires resources for uplink transmission. [see FALAHATI; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of sidelink resources is associated with a periodicity.
However, FALAHATI discloses wherein the first set of sidelink resources is associated with a periodicity [¶¶ 5-6, 44; wherein transmitting a scheduling request message at a request transmission symbol T which is based on the reference symbol R and the periodicity P].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first set of sidelink resources is associated with a periodicity” as taught by FALAHATI in the system of MEDINA, so that it would allowing efficient control signaling, in particular for handling scheduling requests, e.g. transmission from a user equipment (UE) to a network (e.g., a network node) indicating that the UE desires resources for uplink transmission. [see FALAHATI; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA does not explicitly disclose wherein a configuration of the first set of sidelink resources indicates at least one of: a periodicity associated with the first set of sidelink resources, a number of sidelink resources included in the first set of sidelink resources, a time duration of the first set of sidelink resources, or a number of frequency resources of the first set of sidelink resources.
However, FALAHATI discloses wherein a configuration of the first set of sidelink resources indicates at least one of: a periodicity associated with the first set of sidelink resources, a number of sidelink resources included in the first set of sidelink resources, a time duration of the first set of sidelink resources, or a number of frequency resources of the first set of sidelink resources [¶¶ 5-6, 44, 74; wherein a configuration of the first set of sidelink resources indicates at least one of: a periodicity associated with the first set of sidelink resources, a number of sidelink resources included in the first set of sidelink resources, a time duration of the first set of sidelink resources, or a number of frequency resources of the first set of sidelink resources].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein a configuration of the first set of sidelink resources indicates at least one of: a periodicity associated with the first set of sidelink resources, a number of sidelink resources included in the first set of sidelink resources, a time duration of the first set of sidelink resources, or a number of frequency resources of the first set of sidelink resources” as taught by FALAHATI in the system of MEDINA, so that it would allowing efficient control signaling, in particular for handling scheduling requests, e.g. transmission from a user equipment (UE) to a network (e.g., a network node) indicating that the UE desires resources for uplink transmission. [see FALAHATI; ¶ 4].
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 1.
MEDINA further discloses wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured on a particular sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers [page 23 lines 1-3; wherein the exclusion list X.sub.m p may include any resource in which (the sidelink communication device (Z) 301 is aware that) a neighboring sidelink communication device (Z) is scheduled to receive (on carrier m and resource pool p)], wherein the one or more sidelink carriers are associated with the first UE[page 23 lines 1-3; the sidelink communication device (Z) 301/(first UE) may decide whether or not to include a specific resource in the exclusion list based on a measured signal strength P.sub associated with the sidelink communication device (Z) 301/(first UE)] .
Regarding claims 19 and 21, the claims recite a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors (Fig. 10; bandwidth-limited device is a relay UE or a peer UE, which comprising a memory; and one or more processors), coupled to the memory, configured to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claims 1 and 5; therefore, claims 19 and 21 rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1 and 5.
Regarding claims 23, 24, and 26, the claims recite a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors (eNB/base station, implicitly comprises a memory; and one or more processors), coupled to the memory, configured to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claims 1, 5, and 3 respectively; therefore, claim 23, 24, and 26 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1, 5, and 3 respectively.
Regarding claims 27, 29, 31, and 35, the claims recite a method of wireless communication performed by a first user equipment (UE) to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claims 1, 3, 5, and 9 respectively; therefore, claims 27, 29, 31, and 35 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 1, 3, 5, and 9 respectively.
Claims 6, 25, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over MEDINA et al. (WO 2020/035142) in view of FALAHATI et al. (US 2019/0268920), and further in view of LUO et al. (US 2022/0353856).
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of MEDINA and LUO discloses the first UE of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration corresponds to a set of priority levels for a transmission on the sidelink resource allocation.
However, LUO discloses wherein the configuration corresponds to a set of priority levels for a transmission on the sidelink resource allocation [¶¶ 66, 197; wherein the configuration corresponds to a set of priority levels for a transmission on the sidelink resource allocation].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the configuration corresponds to a set of priority levels for a transmission on the sidelink resource allocation” as taught by LUO in the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI, so that it would provide a resource allocation, provisioning, and release mechanism to enable low-power and efficient use of sidelink communication resources [see LUO; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 25, the claim recites the base station of claim 24 to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 6; therefore, claim 25 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 6.
Regarding claim 32, the claim recites the method of claim 31 to perform the functions of the first UE recited as in claim 6; therefore, claim 32 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 6.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over MEDINA et al. (WO 2020/035142) in view of FALAHATI et al. (US 2019/0268920), and further in view of TANG et al. (CA 3066679).
Regarding claim 10, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured on a particular sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers associated with the first UE.
However, TANG discloses wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured on a particular sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers associated with the first UE [page 9, Page 11, page 26; wherein the multiple carriers may include a first-type carrier and a second-type carrier, the first-type carrier being configured to transmit data on an SL and the second-type carrier being configured to transmit data on at least one of a UL, a DL and the SL allocated for the terminal device the particular sidelink carrier/(first-type carrier and a second-type carrier) through a dedicated RRC signaling].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the first set of sidelink resources is configured on a particular sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers associated with the first UE” as taught by TANG in the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI, so that it would provide a resource allocation, provisioning, and release mechanism to enable low-power and efficient use of sidelink communication resources [see TANG; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 11, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein each sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers is associated with a respective set of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations.
However, TANG discloses wherein each sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers is associated with a respective set of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations [¶¶ 84, 86-87; wherein each sidelink carrier of the plurality of sidelink carriers is associated with a respective set of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein each sidelink carrier of the one or more sidelink carriers is associated with a respective set of sidelink resources dedicated or reserved for requests for sidelink resource allocations” as taught by TANG in the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI, so that it would provide a resource allocation, provisioning, and release mechanism to enable low-power and efficient use of sidelink communication resources [see TANG; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 12, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the sidelink resource allocation is scheduled on the one or more sidelink carriers.
However, TANG discloses wherein the sidelink resource allocation is scheduled on the one or more sidelink carriers [¶¶ 84, 86-87; wherein the sidelink resource allocation is scheduled on the plurality of sidelink carriers].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the sidelink resource allocation is scheduled on the one or more sidelink carriers” as taught by TANG in the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI, so that it would provide a resource allocation, provisioning, and release mechanism to enable low-power and efficient use of sidelink communication resources [see TANG; ¶ 2].
Claims 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over MEDINA et al. (WO 2020/035142) in view of FALAHATI et al. (US 2019/0268920), and further in view of Faurie et al. (US 2016/0338095).
Regarding claim 14, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is generated using a sequence.
However, Faurie discloses wherein the request is generated using a sequence [¶ 45; Table 1, wherein the request is generated using a sequence].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the request is generated using a sequence” as taught by Faurie in the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI, so that it would to provide avoid or reduce substantially scheduling transmissions that may overlap with D2D transmissions by considering the resource configuration used for D2D transmissions and reduce by extending the resource allocation period [see Faurie; ¶ 31].
Regarding claim 17, the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI discloses the first UE of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the request is transmitted via a sidelink shared channel based at least in part on the first UE being scheduled with a sidelink resource for transmission to the second UE.
However, Faurie discloses wherein the request is transmitted via a sidelink shared channel based at least in part on the first UE being scheduled with a sidelink resource for transmission to the second UE [¶¶ 41-42, 49; wherein the request is transmitted via a sidelink shared channel based at least in part on the first UE being scheduled with a sidelink resource for transmission to the second UE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the request is transmitted via a sidelink shared channel based at least in part on the first UE being scheduled with a sidelink resource for transmission to the second UE” as taught by Faurie in the combined system of MEDINA and FALAHATI so that it would to provide avoid or reduce substantially scheduling transmissions that may overlap with D2D transmissions by considering the resource configuration used for D2D transmissions and reduce by extending the resource allocation period [see Faurie; ¶ 31].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 246