DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In communications filed on 02/17/2026. Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-20 are amended. Claims 21-23 newly added. Claims 1-23 are pending in this examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims for newly added limitation have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's arguments regarding 35 USC 112(b) rejection for claim3 1-20 filed on 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner refers application to 35 112(b) rejection section below for more detail.
Examiner withdraws the first and second rejection issued in last office action and issue a new office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recites “a first workflow object stored in the first user context is configured for execution in a first user context …. the first workflow object for execution in the second user context, wherein finding the first workflow object for execution in the second user context”, which renders the claimed limitations indefinite, because if the first workflow object is stored in the first user context, then how did it end up in the second user context since the user have different user context? Is the first workflow object shared between two users, and that is reason it ends up in bother user context? However, If the first workflow object configured to execute in the first user context , does the service agent changed the configuration parameter to be executed in the second user context too? Applicant in the argument / Remarks filed on 02/17/2026 on page 16 states that as described in the specification, rather than the first workflow object that is stored in the first user context being executed in the first user context (as previously recited in claim 1 as noted above), the computer-implemented service agent (which can execute in both first and second user contexts with more permissive administrative permissions), executes the first workflow object in the second user context (rather than in the first user context) on behalf of the workflow initiator, without having to copy the first workflow object into the second user context. However, Applicant statement does not address the examiner concern mentioned above.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 cure the deficiency of claims 1, 8, and 15 by stating the first workflow object is executed in the two or more user contexts including the second user context, however this statement still contradicts the statement of “a first workflow object stored in the first user context is configured for execution in the first user context” in claim 1.
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-19, 12-14, and 16-17, 19-23 do not cure the deficiency of claims 1, 8, and 15 and are rejected under 35 USC 112, 2nd paragraph, for their dependency upon claims 1, 8, and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. (US2016/0335448)issued to Staley ,.and in view of US Patent No. ( US2018/0349408) issued to Jewell.
Regarding claim 1, 8, and 15 Staley discloses A method for implementing broker-assisted workflows, the method comprising: configuring a content management system with a hierarchy of content objects [see FIG 1, and associated text for more detail, client devices (102 A-C, and content management system (104), [¶15, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of content management system environment 100 according to one embodiment. Environment 100 includes client devices 102A, 102B, and 102C, and content management system 104 connected to a network 106. Although illustrated environment 100 only includes three client devices 102, other embodiments include additional client devices 102 (e.g., millions of client devices 102)], and [¶1, The described embodiments pertain in general to content management systems, and more specifically to collection folders in which a user can store content items without being able to access content items stored by other users], and
wherein the hierarchy of content objects is partitioned into two or more user contexts comprising a first user context and a second user context that are different from each other, the two or more user contexts are determined at least by partitioning the hierarchy of the content objects [Abstract, a content management system allows a user to create a collection folder to which a submitting user can add content items without being able to access content items added to the folder by other submitting users. A collection folder is created in a namespace of a collecting user and folder is made available to multiple submitting users to allow the submitting users to add items to the folder. When a submitting user first request to store a content item in the collection folder, the content management system creates a sub-folder associated with the submitting user in the collection folder and stores the content item in the sub-folder (equated to hierarchy of content) The submitting user is given rights to the sub-folder but is not given rights to sub-folders created for other submitting users], and [ ¶¶20-21, 32-33, 37], and
the hierarchy of content objects comprises a plurality of hierarchical levels
[¶37, the folder module 208 manages the creation of folders. A user requests to create a new folder via a user interface of client application 108, or via a web interface provided by the content management system 104. The folder module 208 creates the folder in the user's name space in the content storage 204 at the particular hierarchy and with the particular name supplied by the user. The folder may be included within an existing folder as a sub-folder], and [¶56, The synchronization module 216 synchronizes changes to folders across systems. A folder may be changed, for example, when a user modifies a content item in the folder or reorganizes a folder (e.g., the hierarchy of the folder)], and
a first workflow object stored in the first user context is configured for execution in the first user context [¶37, The folder module 208 manages the creation of folders. A user requests to create a new folder via a user interface of client application 108, or via a web interface provided by the content management system 104. The folder module 208 creates the folder in the user's name space in the content storage 204 at the particular hierarchy and with the particular name supplied by the user. The folder may be included within an existing folder as a sub-folder], and
a computer-implemented service agent configured to execute in the first and second user contexts with administrative permissions [¶9, The collecting user can access each content item stored in the collection folder (the items in each sub-folder). In one embodiment, the collecting user can also share the collection folder with another user and provide the user with administrative rights that allow the user to access the content items in the collection folder.
[¶21, At the request of the collecting user, the content management system 104 can share the collection folder with a user and provide the user with administrative rights to the collection folder. Having administrative rights to the collection folder allows the user to perform similar actions to those of the collecting user (e.g., access items provided by some or all submitting users). The collecting user is able to control the level of administrative rights that the user possesses. Continuing with the teacher example from above, the teacher can give a teacher's assistant administrative rights to the collection folder to allow the assistant to access and grade the assignments submitted by the students], and [¶41, The folder module 208 stores the folder criteria, an indication that the folder is a collection folder, and any seed content items provided by the user in the content storage 204 with the collection folder. The folder module 208 also stores information with the collection folder indicating that the collecting user has administrative rights to the collection folder. In one embodiment, the administrative rights include the collecting user be able to access each content item stored in the collection folder, modify content items in the folder, add content items to the folder (e.g., seed content items), modify folder criteria (e.g., the collecting user can change the expiration time of the folder), and access analytics information of the collection folder (e.g., the number of submitting users that have added content items to the collection folder).
receiving a workflow trigger from an event raised by a workflow initiator in the second user context [¶¶8, The submitting user is given write rights to the sub-folder, which allow the submitting user to add additional items to the sub-folder. The submitting user may also be given read rights to be able to access items that submitting user has stored in the sub-folder. The collecting user can access each content item stored in the collection folder (the items in each sub-folder). In one embodiment, the collecting user can also share the collection folder with another user and provide the user with administrative rights that allow the user to access the content items in the collection folder], and [¶20, Content management system 104 is a computer system that allows users to provide content items for storage and allows users to access stored content items. For each user that has an account with the content management system 104, the content management system 104 maintains a namespace for the user. A user can provide content items to the content management system 104 for storage under the user's namespace. Further, through a client device 102 a user can access content items stored by the content management system 104 under the user's namespace], and [¶¶25-27, 41-43, 47], and
in response to the workflow trigger, finding, the first workflow object for execution in the second user context, wherein finding the first workflow object for execution in the second user context comprises [¶33, The content storage 204 stores content items provided by user for storage. In one embodiment, for each use that has an account with the content management system 104, the content storage 204 includes a namespace that stores content items uploaded by the user to the system 104 for storage and content items shared with the user. The content items included in a namespace may be organized into folders as directed by a user. A folder may also include one or more folders within it, which are referred to as sub-folders. Further, a user's namespace may include folders created by the user as well as folders shared with user by other users, as described in more detail below with reference to the share module 210], and [¶¶25-2742-43], and
searching for one or more candidate workflow objects in multiple hierarchical levels of the plurality of hierarchical levels of the hierarchy of content objects
[¶33, The content storage 204 stores content items provided by user for storage. In one embodiment, for each use that has an account with the content management system 104, the content storage 204 includes a namespace that stores content items uploaded by the user to the system 104 for storage and content items shared with the user. The content items included in a namespace may be organized into folders as directed by a user. A folder may also include one or more folders within it, which are referred to as sub-folders. Further, a user's namespace may include folders created by the user as well as folders shared with user by other users, as described in more detail below with reference to the share module 210], and [ ¶¶44, 46], and
selecting the first workflow object from the one or more identified candidate workflow objects based at least in part upon an analysis of the one or more candidate workflow objects identified during traversing the multiple hierarchical levels
[¶46, Additionally, the share module 210 determines whether any of the submitting user's has an account with the content management system 104. To make the determination, for each submitting user, the share module 210 checks whether the communication identifier provided for the user is included in the account storage 202. If the communication identifier is included in the account storage 202, the share module 210 identifies the submitting user and the user's namespace in the content storage 204. The share module 210 adds the collection folder to the submitting user's namespace. Adding the collection folder to the submitting user's namespace allows the user to see that the folder has been shared with the user when the user accesses his namespace. Additionally, by the submitting user's namespace including the collection folder the submitting user can conveniently add content items to folder without having to provide a reference to the folder, such as a reference included in an invitation sent to the submitting user], and [¶51, Once the identifying information of the user is obtained and verified if necessary, the item module 212 determines whether the user has write rights to the collection folder and whether adding the content item satisfies the folder criteria provided by the collecting user for the folder. If the user does not have write rights or adding the item does not satisfy the folder criteria, the item module 212 denies the user's request. On the other hand, if the user has write rights and folder criteria are satisfied, the item module 212 determines whether a sub-folder is already included in the collection folder for the user.[¶¶54-55, When a user requests to access a sub-folder or an item included in a sub-folder of a collection folder, the item module 212 identifies the identifying information of the user. Based on the identifying information and the information stored in the content storage 204, the item module 212 determines whether the user has rights for the sub-folder or administrative rights that allow the user to perform the requested action. The analytics module 214 generates analytics information for collection folders. When a user with the appropriate administrative rights requests analytics information for a collection folder, the item module 212 generates the analytics information and sends the information to a client device 102 of the user for display. The analytics information is generated by analyzing the collection folder in the content storage 204. In one embodiment, the analytic information generated by the item module 212 includes a number of users that have submitted content items for the collection folder. The item module 212 determines the number by counting the number of sub-folders in the collection folder. Additional analytics information may also include the number of potential submitters, which is determined based on the number of invitations sent out by the share module 210 for the collection folder. Other analytics information that may be generated for the collection folder is a list of names of users that have stored content items in the folder and a breakdown of different times that user submitted content items]; and
and executing the first workflow object in the second user context on behalf of the workflow initiator in the second user context without copying the first workflow object into the second user context [¶41, The folder module 208 stores the folder criteria, an indication that the folder is a collection folder, and any seed content items provided by the user in the content storage 204 with the collection folder. The folder module 208 also stores information with the collection folder indicating that the collecting user has administrative rights to the collection folder. In one embodiment, the administrative rights include the collecting user be able to access each content item stored in the collection folder, modify content items in the folder, add content items to the folder (e.g., seed content items), modify folder criteria (e.g., the collecting user can change the expiration time of the folder), and access analytics information of the collection folder (e.g., the number of submitting users that have added content items to the collection folder)], and [¶47, If the collecting user requests to share the collection folder with a user and to provide the user (administrative user) with administrative rights, the share module 210 stores with the collection folder an indication that the administrative user has administrative rights and which specific administrative rights the collecting user granted the administrative user. The administrative rights that can be granted by the collecting user include the administrative user being able to access each content item added stored in the collection folder (or items stored in specific sub-folders of the collection folder), modify content items in the folder (or items in specific sub-folders), add content items to the folder (or items to specific sub-folders), modify folder criteria, and access analytics information for the collection folder. In one embodiment, the share module 210 sends a message to the administrative user notifying the user that the collection folder has been shared with him and that the user has administrative rights to the folder. Further, if the administrative user has an account with the content management system 104, share module 210 adds the collection folder to the user's namespace in the content storage 204], and [¶¶54-55, When a user requests to access a sub-folder or an item included in a sub-folder of a collection folder, the item module 212 identifies the identifying information of the user. Based on the identifying information and the information stored in the content storage 204, the item module 212 determines whether the user has rights for the sub-folder or administrative rights that allow the user to perform the requested action. The analytics module 214 generates analytics information for collection folders. When a user with the appropriate administrative rights requests analytics information for a collection folder, the item module 212 generates the analytics information and sends the information to a client device 102 of the user for display. The analytics information is generated by analyzing the collection folder in the content storage 204. In one embodiment, the analytic information generated by the item module 212 includes a number of users that have submitted content items for the collection folder. The item module 212 determines the number by counting the number of sub-folders in the collection folder. Additional analytics information may also include the number of potential submitters, which is determined based on the number of invitations sent out by the share module 210 for the collection folder. Other analytics information that may be generated for the collection folder is a list of names of users that have stored content items in the folder and a breakdown of different times that user submitted content items].
Staley does not explicitly disclose; however, Jewell discloses :
at least by traversing the multiple hierarchical levels, and examining respective content of each traversed hierarchical level of the multiple hierarchical levels, and identifying the one or more candidate workflow objects during traversing the multiple hierarchical levels [ see FIG 1, see item # 102 ( content management server), data store (102) System 100 includes a content management server 102 executing a content management module 104 to manage data resources (files, folders or other discrete sets of data) stored in data store 110, which may include one or more file systems, databases or other data stores to store managed items. According to one embodiment, content management server 102 may provide a cloud-based file storage system that provides file synchronization across multiple devices, file sharing and other features], and [¶14, According to one embodiment, the instructions are further executable to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system. The local peers of the additional container objects and the local peers of the selected objects can be arranged in a local hierarchy that reflects at least a portion of the content navigation hierarchy. Changes to the additional container objects at the content management system to the local peers of the selected objects.], and [ see FIG 2, ¶¶53-53], and [ see FIG 1, file 1 in user A home, and file 1 in User B home . and corresponding text for more details, ¶¶ 46, 63, 65, 72, 134].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Staley by incorporating “ content management server ”, as taught by Jewell. One could have been motivated to do so in order to execute instructions to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system, and further to communicate with a remote content management system to determine a set of objects in a content navigation hierarchy, the set of objects comprises files and folders. The instructions can be further executable to provide a user interface with controls to allow a user to independently select multiple objects in the content navigation hierarchy for synchronization. The instructions can thus be executable to receive an input, via the interface, the input selecting objects from the set of objects. [ Jewell, ¶¶11, 14].
Regarding claims 2, and 16, Staley does not explicitly disclose; however, Jewell discloses further comprising traversing, by the computer-implemented service agent traversing through a plurality of folders at the multiple hierarchical levels of the plurality of hierarchical levels of the hierarchy of the content objects to search for a second workflow object, wherein neither the first workflow object nor the second workflow object is copied into the second user context for execution by the computer-implemented service agent in the second user context) [ see FIG 1, see item # 102 ( content management server), data store (102) System 100 includes a content management server 102 executing a content management module 104 to manage data resources (files, folders or other discrete sets of data) stored in data store 110, which may include one or more file systems, databases or other data stores to store managed items. According to one embodiment, content management server 102 may provide a cloud-based file storage system that provides file synchronization across multiple devices, file sharing and other features], and [¶14, According to one embodiment, the instructions are further executable to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system. The local peers of the additional container objects and the local peers of the selected objects can be arranged in a local hierarchy that reflects at least a portion of the content navigation hierarchy. Changes to the additional container objects at the content management system to the local peers of the selected objects.], and [ see FIG 2, ¶¶53-53], and [ see FIG 1, file 1 in user A home, and file 1 in User B home . and corresponding text for more details, ¶¶ 46, 63, 65, 72, 134].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Staley by incorporating “ content management server ”, as taught by Jewell. One could have been motivated to do so in order to execute instructions to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system, and further to communicate with a remote content management system to determine a set of objects in a content navigation hierarchy, the set of objects comprises files and folders. The instructions can be further executable to provide a user interface with controls to allow a user to independently select multiple objects in the content navigation hierarchy for synchronization. The instructions can thus be executable to receive an input, via the interface, the input selecting objects from the set of objects. [ Jewell, ¶¶11, 14].
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Staley does not explicitly disclose; however, Jewell discloses wherein traversing through the plurality of folders comprises traversing folders in a third user context, wherein the third user context is different from the first and second user contexts, the computer-implemented service agent searching to for the second workflow object [¶8, Some online file storage systems rely on a desktop synchronization application installed on the client device to synchronize files between the client device and a content management server. Typically, the desktop synchronization application is configured to synchronize a highest level folder and all subfolders and files. However, there are cases in which a user may want to sync some subset of related files, but not other related files. For example, a user may have a mix of large and small files in a project folder stored on a remote content management system, but may only wish to sync the smaller files to his or her client computer. With conventional solutions, the user must create separate folders on the remote content management system for the large and small files and ensure that the folder containing the larger files is not in the folder hierarchy under folder containing the small files. Furthermore, if the user decides that a file that was being synchronized should no longer be synced, the user must change the folder/file hierarchy at the remote content management system to move the file to a folder that is not being synched], and [¶14, According to one embodiment, the instructions are further executable to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system. The local peers of the additional container objects and the local peers of the selected objects can be arranged in a local hierarchy that reflects at least a portion of the content navigation hierarchy. Changes to the additional container objects at the content management system to the local peers of the selected objects], and [¶31, Ease of access is another advantage provided by embodiments as disclosed herein. In some prior systems, users opened files for editing directly from a content management server and every time there was a save request, a synchronous save of the file to the content management server was required. In embodiments as presented herein, an architecture is provided where the user's client device maintains a local cache and such editing of files can be provided separately from a content management server for an enterprise containing the same files. Synchronization may be performed between the user's client device and the content management server asynchronously from a user saving the file].
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Staley discloses the first workflow object is executed in the two or more user contexts including the second user context by executing the computer-implemented service agent with a permission that is more permissive than the administrative permissions [¶9, The collecting user can access each content item stored in the collection folder (the items in each sub-folder). In one embodiment, the collecting user can also share the collection folder with another user and provide the user with administrative rights that allow the user to access the content items in the collection folder], and [¶21, At the request of the collecting user, the content management system 104 can share the collection folder with a user and provide the user with administrative rights to the collection folder. Having administrative rights to the collection folder allows the user to perform similar actions to those of the collecting user (e.g., access items provided by some or all submitting users). The collecting user is able to control the level of administrative rights that the user possesses. Continuing with the teacher example from above, the teacher can give a teacher's assistant administrative rights to the collection folder to allow the assistant to access and grade the assignments submitted by the students], and [¶41, The folder module 208 stores the folder criteria, an indication that the folder is a collection folder, and any seed content items provided by the user in the content storage 204 with the collection folder. The folder module 208 also stores information with the collection folder indicating that the collecting user has administrative rights to the collection folder. In one embodiment, the administrative rights include the collecting user be able to access each content item stored in the collection folder, modify content items in the folder, add content items to the folder (e.g., seed content items), modify folder criteria (e.g., the collecting user can change the expiration time of the folder), and access analytics information of the collection folder (e.g., the number of submitting users that have added content items to the collection folder).
Staley does not explicitly disclose, however Jewell discloses wherein the second workflow object comprises executable code [¶48, In some cases, when a file is received from content management server 102, the synchronization manager 160a, 160b may further prompt the operating system 152a, 152b to open the cached file using the appropriate editing application 156a, 156b. Thus, for example, if .doc files are associated with a particular word processing editing application 156a at client device 150a and File 1 is a .doc file, synchronization manager 160a can prompt operating system 152a to open File 1 in the appropriate word processing application associated with the .doc extension], and
and the computer-implemented service agent is executed in the two or more user contexts rather than copying the first workflow object into the two or more user contexts
[ see FIG 1, see item # 102 ( content management server), data store (102) System 100 includes a content management server 102 executing a content management module 104 to manage data resources (files, folders or other discrete sets of data) stored in data store 110, which may include one or more file systems, databases or other data stores to store managed items. According to one embodiment, content management server 102 may provide a cloud-based file storage system that provides file synchronization across multiple devices, file sharing and other features], and [¶14, According to one embodiment, the instructions are further executable to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system. The local peers of the additional container objects and the local peers of the selected objects can be arranged in a local hierarchy that reflects at least a portion of the content navigation hierarchy. Changes to the additional container objects at the content management system to the local peers of the selected objects.], and [ see FIG 2, ¶¶53-53], and [ see FIG 1, file 1 in user A home, and file 1 in User B home . and corresponding text for more details, ¶¶ 46, 63, 65, 72, 134].
Regarding claims 6, and 13 Staley discloses wherein the third-party facility hosts a workflow object that is triggered to gather the requested information [see FIG 1 , content management system ( # 104)].
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20 Staley does not explicitly disclose, however, Jewell discloses when the computer-implemented service agent does not identify the one or more candidate workflow object during the traversal while searching for the one or more candidate workflow objects, further comprising the computer-implemented service agent traversing one or more higher hierarchical levels than the multiple hierarchical levels in the plurality of hierarchical levels; and searching for the one or more candidate workflow objects at least by examining the respective content of each of the one or more higher hierarchical levels [ see FIG 1, see item # 102 ( content management server), data store (102) System 100 includes a content management server 102 executing a content management module 104 to manage data resources (files, folders or other discrete sets of data) stored in data store 110, which may include one or more file systems, databases or other data stores to store managed items. According to one embodiment, content management server 102 may provide a cloud-based file storage system that provides file synchronization across multiple devices, file sharing and other features], and [¶14, According to one embodiment, the instructions are further executable to traverse the content navigation hierarchy to identify a set of additional container objects above each selected object in the content navigation hierarchy and create local peers of the additional container objects in the local file system. The local peers of the additional container objects and the local peers of the selected objects can be arranged in a local hierarchy that reflects at least a portion of the content navigation hierarchy. Changes to the additional container objects at the content management system to the local peers of the selected objects.], and [ see FIG 2, ¶¶53-53], and [ see FIG 1, file 1 in user A home, and file 1 in User B home . and corresponding text for more details, ¶¶ 46, 63, 65, 72, 134].
Regarding claims 21-23, Staley discloses wherein execution of the first workflow object in the second user context moves a file from the first user context to the second user context. [¶19, the two namespaces are organized the same, the namespaces include the same content items, and the content items are synchronized. For example, if a content item stored by the content management system 104 under the user's namespace is modified (e.g., edited, deleted, or moved between folders), the local copy of the content item is modified in the same way on the client device 102. Similarly, if a local copy of a content item in the client device's namespace is modified 102, the content item stored by the content management system 104 in the user's namespace is also modified.
Furthermore, Jewell also discloses this limitation as : [¶65, A user may access and edit a local copy of content through an editing application (e.g., editing application 156a, 156b), change the structure of the cache by adding/removing folders or take other actions that change the cache. For example, if File 1 is a word processing document, a user may edit File 1 using a word processing editing application 156a in the same manner he or she would use the word processing application to edit other word processing documents. As the user makes changes to the file, such changes can be saved to the local copy of the file (the local peer file) stored in local cache. In other words, the changes by the editing application are stored to the local file system where the local cache storing the files resides. Changes to items in the local cache 162a, 162b (e.g., creation, deletion, editing of files and folders) may be detected by the respective synchronization manager 160a, 160b and synchronized to server 102], and [¶101, On the other hand, if a notification is received to move a file or folder from a non-synchronized folder to a folder hard selected for synchronization, selection filter 276 generates a create event to create a local peer of the moved file or folder in the local peer of the synchronized destination folder. Selection filter 276 adds the appropriate node for the moved file or folder to the selective synchronization node model 275 as a hard sync selection and selection tree module 272 adds the node to SSM 274. If the moved item is a folder, selection tree module 272 may also communicate with server 290 (via sync agent 202) to update the selection tree model and SSM 274 with information for the subfolders and files of the moved folder. Selection tree module 272 generates events to cause remote downlink module 232 to update RVM 214 to add the file that was the subject of the move or add the folder that was subject to the move and the decedents of the folder].
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. (US2016/0335448) issued to Staley ,and in view of US Patent No. ( US2018/0349408) issued to Jewell, and further and in view of KR 20110078106 A issued to HWANG KYU BEOM, hereinafter, “Beom”.
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Staley , and Jewell do not explicitly disclose, however, , Beom discloses , wherein the first workflow object is a script, and execution of the first workflow object causes a further event to gather requested information from a third-party facility [¶60, In addition, the file system management unit 102, when a check is performed on the folder, the file type of the file to be scanned in the folder, for example, a file type such as EXE, SCRIPT, PDF, etc., is stored in the folder information DB 104. Can be stored. In the case of a file type, when a diagnostic code (algorithm) is added to diagnose the type in the engine, the folder containing the type sets a dirty flag], and [¶79, As illustrated in FIG. 3, in performing a check on a corresponding folder through the scan engine 108, the file system manager 102 performs a check (S300), and checks a file type of a scan target file in the corresponding folder, For example, file types such as EXE, SCRIPT, and PDF may be stored in the folder information DB 104 (S302)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Staley , and Jewell with the teaching of Beom in order to manipulate content items for access permission by performing and checking a file type of a scan target file in the corresponding folder stored in the folder information DB [ Beom, ¶60. 79].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See 892 form submitted with this office action for more relevant references.
Caruana ( US2015/0370878) [0033] A repository object node can be an object-oriented view of one or more content items 114 in a CMS repository 110. A CMS repository 110 can include functionality for retrieving and setting properties, traversing associations between content items, and performing actions relating to content management, such as for example check-in, check-out, and transformations (e.g. edit, revise, delete, etc.) relating to one or more content items maintained by a CMS repository.
CHU(US2014/0229578) [¶31, In various embodiments, content item-transfer module 132 may track content items that are uploaded to data store 134 or downloaded from data store 134. When a content item is uploaded to data store 134, content-item-transfer module 132 may notify notification module 114, which may provide a link to a designated recipient that specifies a location where the content item can be downloaded], and [¶¶39-40, the link includes a link to a web page. For example, the link may include a uniform resource locator (URL) to the web page. More generally, the URL may specify where the content item is located on data store 134 in FIG. 1(equated to traversal). When activated by the designated recipient, notification client 126B in FIG. 1 displays the web page on client device 110B. This web page includes one or more icons or buttons that the designated recipient can activate to download the content item. Note that the content item may be associated with a container that includes multiple content items, including at least one that was previously uploaded. In this embodiment, the link may be associated with the container. Depending on the privileges defined by the sender, the designated recipient may be able to access or download other content items in the container in addition to the content item], and [¶42] Process 200 is further illustrated in FIG. 3, which shows the interaction among client device 110A, content management system 118 and client device 110B. For example, a user of client device 110A may wish to upload and share a content item with at least the user of client device 110B (the designated recipient)], and[¶45, In one embodiment, the selection interface allows the user to access a website which is hosted in content management system 118. This website provides a content-item system view into the user's account on content management system 118 and allows the user to navigate through a hierarchical directory structure].
Lansing (US2021/0105280) [ [0010] The ordered combination of steps of the embodiments serves in the context of practical applications that perform steps for automatically generating a folder and file hierarchy of sharable objects in a content management system based on features or other aspects of a particular third-party collaboration system. As such, herein-disclosed techniques for automatically generating a folder and file hierarchy of sharable objects in a content management system based on features or other aspects of a particular third-party collaboration system overcome long standing yet heretofore unsolved technological problems associated with reconciling users and features of a third-party collaboration system with users and features of a content management system that arise in the realm of computer systems], and [0084] The shown embodiment implements a portion of a computer system, presented as system 7A00, comprising one or more computer processors to execute a set of program code instructions (module 7A10) and modules for accessing memory to hold program code instructions to perform: storing a plurality of content objects at a content management system (module 7A20); initiating inter-system sharing between the content management system and a third-party system (module 7A30); reconciling between users of the content management system and users of the third-party system (module 7A40); forming a generated content object hierarchy at the content management system based on a hierarchy at the third-party system (module 7A50); mapping permissions between the content management system and the third-party system (module 7A60); and enabling access by users of the third-party system to the generated content object hierarchy of the content management system (module 7A70).
Pearl (US2017/0048285) [ MANAGING FLOW-BASED INTERACTIONS WITH CLOUD-BASED SHARED CONTENT, ¶ 0049] In general, a workspace can be associated with a set of users or collaborators 175 (e.g., creator user 108a or an administrative user 108b) which have access to the content included therein. The levels of access (e.g., based on permissions or rules) of each user or collaborator to access the content in a given workspace may be the same or may vary among the users. Each user may have their own set of access rights to every piece of content in the workspace, or each user may have different access rights to different pieces of content. Access rights may be specified by a user associated with a workspace and/or a user who created/uploaded a particular piece of content to the workspace, or any other designated user or collaborator].
Anderson (US11354142) [ A contextual navigation and action user experience framework that facilitates workflows across multiple contexts and levels of object hierarchy is disclosed. Exemplary features include a swapper interface, an action toolbar with contextual buttons and contextual tabs, and a toolkit that provides an overview portal to view alerts, cross reference information, and perform actions on objects and insights that are important to the user across an entire product suite].
Xu (US10140467) [ FIG. 5 illustrates an example method for setting a workflow control on a content item and synchronizing the workflow control amongst client devices and the content management system in accordance with some embodiments].
Drewary (US2014/0230011) [ A user interface for a virtual file management system that provides user access to managed content on mobile devices. The system comprises storage domains storing the managed content distributively using file systems, and a data infrastructure that organizes the managed content into a virtual file system. The data infrastructure includes a component that maintains policies defining controls for permissible operations on the managed content, the permissible operations including the file system primitives. A client application including a user interface is hosted on the mobile devices and is coupled to the data infrastructure and the storage domains and includes an enforcement component that retrieves and enforces the policies by applying the controls on the mobile devices].
Tulkoff (US8671119) [ Systems and methods are described which facilitate content management in a network environment. Content types can be modeled by end users based on data usage and automatically generated by a content management system based on a user-defined data model. From these content types, content type objects may be generated. The data may then be examined to acquire a key set, and a content instance object generated for each datum found which matches a content type. This content instance object can then be associated with the datum using one or more key values, saved, and subsequently used to manage the data. These methods and systems allow data to be migrated to a content management system without any modification to the existing data repository or its associated structures].
Patel (US2020/0065313) [ Methods, systems and computer program products for managing content objects in a content management system. A metadata template is assigned to a content object of the content management system. Extensible metadata pertaining to the content object is allocated in accordance with the assigned metadata template. Various operations over the content object result in population of the allocated extensible metadata. When the content object is subjected to a workflow, the execution flow and/or the form of responses associated with execution of the workflow are informed by the populated extensible metadata. A single content object can take on an association with multiple sets of extensible metadata and each set of extensible metadata can take on association with a respective workflow].
SAUNDERS JASON (EP2884408) [ A content management system for content items stored in a store on a computing device enables user interaction with the content items independently of the structure of the store. The content management system is arranged to receive a first instruction from a user to associate at least one first identifier with at least one folder record and to associate the first identifier with the folder record accordingly. The content management system is arranged to receive a second instruction from a user to associate at least one second identifier with at least one content item and to associate the second identifier with the content item accordingly. The content management system is further arranged to create a user interface comprising a folder corresponding to the folder record and to assign the content item to the folder in the user interface in dependence on a comparison between the first identifier and the second identifier].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHRIAR ZARRINEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496