DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: It is unclear where Specification refers to “engagement surface,” and it is unclear where the Specification refers to a feature comprising a combination of aperture and engagement surface wherein exterior portion defines first part of engagement surface and interior portion defines second part of engagement surface.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed “engagement surface,” and a feature being a combination of aperture and engagement surface wherein exterior portion defines first part of engagement surface and interior portion defines second part of engagement surface. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. It is unclear where Specification provides written description support for “engagement surface,” and for a feature comprising a combination of aperture and engagement surface wherein exterior portion defines first part of engagement surface and interior portion defines second part of engagement surface. It is noted that the Specification refers to “engagement features” (e.g., Specification at paragraph 49). However, these, as best understood, constitute alternatives to the already claimed diffusion bonding that is claimed. None of the citations to the Specification or Figures of the Response at page 7 appear to relate to this specific language. To the extent that “engagement surface” is something other than “engagement features”, it is unclear how there is support unless it is merely a restatement of “faces” that are inherently present when aperture is formed where there are exterior and interior portions. To the extent that “engagement surface” relates to “engagement features” it is unclear how the citations provided by applicant are relevant. It is further unclear how this language does or does not relate to the aperture of the type depicted in Figure 5b in terms of written description support.
CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, it is unclear what is meant by “engagement surface”. There is no apparent description in the Specification or apparent definition in the prior art. The arguments appear to characterize it as the “face” of the aperture, but it is unclear how this would constitute an engagement, particularly since the Specification appears to relate the term engagement to means of joining exterior and interior portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. USPA 2012/0244385 in view of Ganchrow USPA 2016/0164186. Hsu teaches housing (paragraph 2) for electronic device (paragraphs 4 and 19) of first metal or exterior portion (paragraphs 21 and 23) and second metal (Figure 3; and paragraph 32) of interior portion that defines interior volume (Figure 3) wherein the thickness of first metal can be more than 25 microns (paragraph 24) and wherein first and second metal are diffused into each other by diffusion bonding (paragraph 23). As mentioned, Hsu teaches that the diffusion layer is an outer surface of housing, from which it follows that the second metal is present at the interior portion defining interior volume. Hsu teaches that the titanium nitride diffusion layer forms at the outer surface. Thus, this titanium is the first metal, by itself or in combination with the metal of the blank that forms the metal material in Hsu. Hsu teaches that this diffused layer has much higher hardness than the base metal, meeting the hardness relationship being claimed (paragraph 26), Hsu teaches that diffusion layer can be up to 125 microns, rendering obvious this thickness (paragraph 24). Thus, the innermost portion of the diffusion layer may be identified with the claimed “diffused bonded” feature of Claim 1 and the remainder of at least 25 microns thickness, on exterior surface portion, may be identified with the claimed “exterior portion comprising a first metal”. Hsu does not teach “a feature”. Ganchrow teaches provision of aperture in phone housing for antennas (Figures 5a and 5b; and paragraphs 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare article with such a feature suggested by Ganchrow in order to provide effective housing for intended electronic device. In doing so, aperture defined by both first and second metal would be expected to be obtained (i.e., one comparable to what is shown in Figure 5b of the Specification). Hsu teaches that titanium nitride forms by diffusion bonding (paragraphs 23 and 31). Regarding Claim 3, Hsu, as mentioned above, suggests effective thickness of diffusion layer in total is 125 microns (paragraph 24). Thus, in doing so, the interface zone necessarily would be less than ca. 1 mm. Regarding Claim 4, Hsu teaches titanium in the titanium nitride. As well, this diffusion layer forms on material that can also contain stainless steel, titanium, or aluminum (alloy) (paragraph 32), rendering obvious titanium, aluminum, or steel. Regarding Claim 5, as mentioned above, Hsu suggests the blank can be aluminum (alloy) (paragraph 32), rendering obvious claimed second metal. Regarding Claim 7, as mentioned above, Hsu suggests the blank can be aluminum (alloy) (paragraph 32). Upon treatment with titanium nitride, the outermost material would be a different titanium concentrated aluminum alloy from that of the untreated blank, the composition of which would be what is now that of the interior metal material. Thus, there would be expected to be two different aluminum alloys as required.
Response to Amendment
In view of applicant’s amendments and arguments, applicant traverses the section 103 rejection over Hsu in view of Ganchrow of the Office Action mailed on 3 December 2025. Applicant argues that Ganchrow fails to teach or suggest an aperture having a face defined by interior and exterior portion as claimed. However, as acknowledged by applicant, Ganchrow teaches forming aperture (“slots”) in the housing (Figure 7: 710, 720). For the reasons of the rejection, it would have been obvious to form such aperture in the housing of Hsu. Noting that the housing of Hsu has structure of exterior and interior portion, the resulting slit aperture rendered obvious by Ganchrow can be characterized as having claimed aperture with a face defined by “first part” being in the exterior portion of housing of Hsu and claimed “second part” being in the interior portion of the housing of Hsu. Thus, in Hsu’s Figure 4 the aperture with engagement face could be present as a slit in the thickness direction with the first part/exterior portion being in 14 and the second part /interior portion being in 12. Thus, while Ganchrow does not show claimed aperture engagement surface of two separate metals, the slit of Ganchrow when introduced into Hsu’s housing does and it would be obvious to do so for the reasons of the rejection. It is further remarked that it is unclear how the introduction of “engagement surface” limitation in view of arguments relating to “face” is to be thought as changing or narrowing claim scope if it is supposed to. Rejection is maintained.
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claim 6, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the subject matter of this claim. Particularly, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed combination of materials in the claimed context. For example, Hsu USPA 2012/0244385 fails to teach or suggest this combination of materials. See Hsu (entire document).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784
3 April 2026