Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1, 3-5, 1416-20, 23-27, 29 and 35-36 are amended. Claim 38 is added. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, 16-20, 23-27, 29, 31-36 and 38 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 3/12/2026 with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 10-14, 16-20, 23-27, 29 and 31-36, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4-6, 10-14, 17-19, 23-24, 27, 29 and 31-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US. Pub. No. 2020/0177336 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0215136 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0254940 A1) and further in view ZHOU et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0266844 A1, referred to here as ZHOU’844).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See Fig. 8; Communication apparatus (Terminal) 800), comprising: one or more memories (See Fig. 8; Memory 804); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (See Fig. 8; Processor 801), configured to:
determine a timing for a reference signal measurement (See Par. [116]-[118], [131] and Fig. 3; Step 303 & 305 of Li for a reference to the access network device sends first configuration information for a reference signal to the terminal device. Configuration information includes a reference signal sending time, a RS period, a RS time-domain resource location [RS sending time is mapped to the signal reference timing]); and
measure, for a secondary cell activation procedure, a reference signal in a reference signal burst of the quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [109] of Li for a reference to the SS burst comprises a plurality of synchronization signal bursts) based at least in part on determining the timing for the reference signal measurement (See Par. [118]-[119], [131] and Fig. 3; Step 306 & 307 of Li for a reference to the terminal device receives the first reference signal and measures it based on the first configuration information [Including the measurement timing], and obtains a channel measurement results for the secondary cell for a plurality of reference signals).
Li does not explicitly disclose receive radio resource control signaling that includes information identifying a quantity of reference signal bursts, and a gap length between reference signal bursts of the quantity of reference signal bursts; determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: the information in the radio resource control signaling, and a plurality of slots following a feedback message transmission, wherein the feedback message transmission is associated with a physical downlink shared channel conveying a medium access control control element that is associated with a secondary cell activation procedure, and a reference signal occasion indicated in the medium access control control element. The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst.
However, Zhou discloses receive radio resource control signaling that includes information identifying a quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [193], [198]-[199], [219] of Zhou for a reference to receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) signalling, from the eNB, that includes the number of synchronization signal bursts (SS Bursts quantity) information), and a gap length between reference signal bursts of the quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [159], [219. [262] of Zhou for a reference to the gNB may provide (via broadcasting an RRC message) configuration information including the configured offset (gap length) between reference signal bursts of the plurality of reference signal bursts); determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: the information in the radio resource control signaling (See Par. [197]-[199] of Zhou for a reference to the gNB may provide (via broadcasting an RRC message) SS burst sets periodicity and quantity information per frequency carrier to UE, and based on SS burst sets periodicity and quantity, derives the reference signals measurement timing/duration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou to Li. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving power consumption and data transmission latency when performing SCell activation. (Zhou; Par. [324])
The combination of Li and Zhou does not explicitly disclose determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: a plurality of slots following a feedback message transmission, wherein the feedback message transmission is associated with a physical downlink shared channel conveying a medium access control control element that is associated with a secondary cell activation procedure, and a reference signal occasion indicated in the medium access control control element. The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst.
However, Tang discloses determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: a plurality of slots following a feedback message transmission, wherein the feedback message transmission is associated with a physical downlink shared channel conveying a medium access control control element that is associated with a secondary cell activation procedure (See Par. [63], [157]-[159] and Fig. 9 of Tang for a reference to a PDSCH 931 is received at the UE 101 which carries a MAC CE command 941 including an SCell activation command. After a delay of THARQ 910, a HARQ ACK 932 can be fed back to the base station 105. An activation delay, Tactivation_time 902, can be a sum of the periods 911, 913n, and 914n for the SCell (Plurality of subframes/Slots). After the fine time tuning [Sum of delay subframes], a CSI measurement and reporting process can be performed during the period TCSI_reporting 903n. [Therefore, the timing of the RS measurement is based on the delay slots following the HARQ feedback]) , and a reference signal occasion indicated in the medium access control control element (See Par. [80]-[81], [92] and Fig. 3 of Tang for a reference to the timing of the RS measurements is based on the reference signal period 931 on which the MAC CE 341 for single SCell activation can be received. The MAC CE 341 can be carried in a PDSCH 331 transmitted on the PCell 110).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang to the combination of Li and Zhou. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by reducing the secondary cell activation delay when the activation is dependent on the receipt of the PDSCH command as well as the feedback sent to the UE compared to uncertainty delay. (Tang; Par. [98])
The combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang, specifically Li discloses wherein a reference signal resource, for the reference signal, occurs a threshold gap period after the feedback message transmission (See Par. [99], [142], [144]-[145] and Fig. 1& 5 of Li for a reference to that in response to the activation command, CSI measurements are done on the first RS, and results are fed back to the access network device (at t1 activation command is received). The Duration t is for CSI measurement and reporting. T2 is the time on which the second RS is received. The threshold is t. The second RS occupies a time slot t2, which is the first duration after feedback (CSI Report + threshold).
The combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose the reference signal is a tracking reference signal.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses the reference signal is a tracking reference signal (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang, specifically Li discloses wherein the reference signal occurs in a first reference signal burst after the feedback message transmission (See Par. [99] and Fig. 1 of Li for a reference to the timing of the RS measurements is determined based on CSI reporting [Feedback] timing. For example, the terminal device receives the activation command in subframe N and CSI reporting occurs in subframe N + 8. Therefore, RS measurement timing is determined between subframe N and Subframe N + 8 (First occasion after CSI reporting]) [RS received after feedback in N+8 for valid CSI report for SCell at N+24]).
The combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose the reference signal is a tracking reference signal.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses the reference signal is a tracking reference signal (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and ZHOU’844, specifically Li discloses wherein a configuration of the reference signal measurement is determined based at least in part on the radio resource control signaling (See Par. [124], [131] and Fig. 1 of Li for a reference to the access network device may send the first configuration information of the first signal reference to the terminal device, to perform SCell measurements, in a radio resource control (RRC) signalling).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and ZHOU’844, specifically Li discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a configuration of the reference signal measurement based at least in part on the medium access control control element (See Par. [124], [131], [185] of Li for a reference to the access network device may send the first configuration information of the first reference signal to the terminal device, to perform SCell measurements, as a part of a medium access control control element (MAC CE)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Li and Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing of the reference signal measurement is based at least in part on an activation or deactivation in at least one of: a downlink control information or the medium access control control element.
However, Tang discloses wherein the timing of the reference signal measurement is based at least in part on an activation or deactivation in at least one of: a downlink control information or the medium access control control element (See Par. [63], [157]-[159] and Fig. 9 of Tang for a reference to a PDSCH 931 is received at the UE 101 which carries a MAC CE command 941 including an SCell activation command. After a delay of THARQ 910, a HARQ ACK 932 can be fed back to the base station 105. An activation delay, Tactivation_time 902, can be a sum of the periods 911, 913n, and 914n for the SCell (Plurality of subframes/Slots). After the fine time tuning [Sum of delay subframes], a CSI measurement and reporting process can be performed during the period TCSI_reporting 903n. [Therefore, the timing of the RS measurement is based on the delay slots following the HARQ feedback]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang to the combination of Li and Zhou. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by reducing the secondary cell activation delay when the activation is dependent on the receipt of the PDSCH command as well as the feedback sent to the UE compared to uncertainty delay. (Tang; Par. [98])
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses a network entity for wireless communication (See Fig. 6; Wireless Network Device 600), comprising: one or more memories (See Fig. 6; Memory 604); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (See Fig. 6; Processor 601), configured to:
determine a timing for a reference signal (See Par. [116]-[118], [131] and Fig. 3; Step 303 & 305 of Li for a reference to the access network device sends first configuration information for a reference signal to the terminal device. Configuration information includes a reference signal sending time, a RS period, a RS time-domain resource location [RS sending time is mapped to the signal reference timing]); and
transmit, for a secondary cell activation procedure, the reference signal in a reference signal burst of the quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [109] of Li for a reference to the SS burst comprises a plurality of synchronization signal bursts) based at least in part on determining the timing for the reference signal (See Par. [118]-[119], [131] and Fig. 3; Step 306 & 307 of Li for a reference to the terminal device receives the first reference signal and measures it based on the first configuration information [Including the measurement timing], and obtains a channel measurement results for the secondary cell).
Li does not explicitly disclose transmit radio resource control signaling that includes information identifying a quantity of reference signal bursts, and a gap length between reference signal bursts of the quantity of reference signal bursts; determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: the information in the radio resource control signaling, and a plurality of slots following a feedback message transmission, wherein the feedback message transmission is associated with a physical downlink shared channel conveying a medium access control control element that is associated with a secondary cell activation procedure, and a reference signal occasion indicated in the medium access control control element. The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst.
However, Zhou discloses transmit radio resource control signaling that includes information identifying a quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [193], [198]-[199], [219] of Zhou for a reference to receiving, by the UE, a radio resource control (RRC) signalling, from the eNB, that includes the number of synchronization signal bursts (SS Bursts quantity) information), and a gap length between reference signal bursts of the quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [159], [219. [262] of Zhou for a reference to the gNB may provide (via broadcasting an RRC message) configuration information including the configured offset (gap length) between reference signal bursts of the plurality of reference signal bursts); determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: the information in the radio resource control signaling (See Par. [197]-[199] of Zhou for a reference to the gNB may provide (via broadcasting an RRC message) SS burst sets periodicity and quantity information per frequency carrier to UE, and based on SS burst sets periodicity and quantity, derives the reference signals measurement timing/duration).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou to Li. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving power consumption and data transmission latency when performing SCell activation. (Zhou; Par. [324])
The combination of Li and Zhou does not explicitly disclose determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: a plurality of slots following a feedback message transmission, wherein the feedback message transmission is associated with a physical downlink shared channel conveying a medium access control control element that is associated with a secondary cell activation procedure, and a reference signal occasion indicated in the medium access control control element. The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst.
However, Tang discloses determine a timing for a reference signal measurement based at least in part on: a plurality of slots following a feedback message transmission, wherein the feedback message transmission is associated with a physical downlink shared channel conveying a medium access control control element that is associated with a secondary cell activation procedure (See Par. [63], [157]-[159] and Fig. 9 of Tang for a reference to a PDSCH 931 is received at the UE 101 which carries a MAC CE command 941 including an SCell activation command. After a delay of THARQ 910, a HARQ ACK 932 can be fed back to the base station 105. An activation delay, Tactivation_time 902, can be a sum of the periods 911, 913n, and 914n for the SCell (Plurality of subframes/Slots). After the fine time tuning [Sum of delay subframes], a CSI measurement and reporting process can be performed during the period TCSI_reporting 903n. [Therefore, the timing of the RS measurement is based on the delay slots following the HARQ feedback]) , and a reference signal occasion indicated in the medium access control control element (See Par. [80]-[81], [92] and Fig. 3 of Tang for a reference to the timing of the RS measurements is based on the reference signal period 931 on which the MAC CE 341 for single SCell activation can be received. The MAC CE 341 can be carried in a PDSCH 331 transmitted on the PCell 110).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang to the combination of Li and Zhou. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by reducing the secondary cell activation delay when the activation is dependent on the receipt of the PDSCH command as well as the feedback sent to the UE compared to uncertainty delay. (Tang; Par. [98])
The combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses The measured reference signal is a tracking reference in a reference signal burst (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 13.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 14.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Li and Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein the feedback message transmission comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) transmission for the physical downlink shared channel.
However, Tang discloses wherein the feedback message transmission comprises a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) transmission for the physical downlink shared channel ((See Par. [63], [157]-[159] and Fig. 9 of Tang for a reference to a PDSCH 931 is received at the UE 101 which carries a MAC CE command 941 including an SCell activation command. After a delay of THARQ 910, a HARQ ACK 932 can be fed back to the base station 105)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang to the combination of Li and Zhou. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by reducing the secondary cell activation delay when the activation is dependent on the receipt of the PDSCH command as well as the feedback sent to the UE compared to uncertainty delay. (Tang; Par. [98])
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 31.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 31.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 31.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Li and Zhou does not explicitly disclose wherein each reference signal burst comprises a respective plurality of reference signals in a respective reference signal occasion.
However, Tang discloses wherein each reference signal burst comprises a respective plurality of reference signals in a respective reference signal occasion ((See Par. [59]-[60] of Tang for a reference to the base station can perform a beam sweeping to transmit a sequence [Plurality] of SSBs (referred to as an SSB burst set) towards different directions to cover a cell. Each SSB among the SSB burst set is transmitted with a different transmission (Tx) beam).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tang to the combination of Li and Zhou. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by reducing the secondary cell activation delay when the activation is dependent on the receipt of the PDSCH command as well as the feedback sent to the UE compared to uncertainty delay. (Tang; Par. [98])
The combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose the reference signal is a tracking reference signal.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses the reference signal is a tracking reference signal (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 35.
Regarding claim 37, Li does not explicitly disclose wherein the information in the radio resource control signaling further identifies a gap length between reference signal bursts of the quantity of reference signal bursts.
However, Zhou discloses wherein the information in the radio resource control signaling further identifies a gap length between reference signal bursts of the quantity of reference signal bursts (See Par. [159], [219. [262] of Zhou for a reference to the gNB may provide (via broadcasting an RRC message) configuration information including the configured offset (gap length) between reference signal bursts of the plurality of reference signal bursts).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhou to Li. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving power consumption and data transmission latency when performing SCell activation. (Zhou; Par. [324])
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose wherein each reference signal burst comprises a respective plurality of tracking reference signals in a respective reference signal occasion.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses wherein each reference signal burst comprises a respective plurality of tracking reference signals in a respective reference signal occasion (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
6. Claims 3, 7-8, 12, 16, 20, and 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhou et al. in view of Tang et al. in view of ZHOU’844 et al. and further in view of Cui et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0361029 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose wherein a reference signal resource, for the reference signal, is in a downlink slot after the feedback message transmission.
However, Cui discloses wherein a reference signal resource, for the reference signal, is in a downlink slot after the feedback message transmission (See Par. [29]-[31], [33] and Fig. 2 of Cui for a reference to the MAC CE carrying the reference signal occupies slot # n + m [m is a positive integer above 1; can be 1 or more], which comes after THARQ [Feedback] for downlink transmission; Period 206).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by efficiently handling the activation/deactivation of multiple secondary cells with reducing the process delay. (Cui; Par. [22-23])
The combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and Cui does not explicitly disclose the reference signal is a tracking reference signal.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses the reference signal is a tracking reference signal (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and ZHOU’844 does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to determine the timing for the reference signal measurement, are configured to: determine the timing for the reference signal measurement based at least in part on an occurrence of a collision between a first reference signal resource and a semi-statically configured uplink symbol.
However, Cui discloses wherein the one or more processors, to determine the timing for the reference signal measurement, are configured to: determine the timing for the reference signal measurement based at least in part on an occurrence of a collision between a first reference signal resource and a semi-statically configured uplink symbol (See Par. [30], [31]-[34] and Fig. 2 & 3 of Cui for a reference to the timing of the SSB-based measurements is determined based on the HARQ feedback. the first HARQ period 206 is configured by the network for HARQ preparation time. the UE may still wait until the first HARQ period 206 has passed to send the first HARQ feedback 204 and proceed to the first RF tuning/AGC settling 210. Timing is adjusted to avoid collision [This complies with (IEEE) 802.16 standard that implements semi-static configuration for UL symbols]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by efficiently handling the activation/deactivation of multiple secondary cells with reducing the process delay. (Cui; Par. [22-23])
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and ZHOU’844 does not explicitly disclose wherein the reference signal measurement occurs during a second reference signal resource after the first reference signal resource.
However, Cui discloses wherein the reference signal measurement occurs during a second reference signal resource after the first reference signal resource (See Par. [30], [33] and Fig. 2 & 3 of Cui for a reference to the timing of the SSB-based measurements is determined based on the HARQ feedback. the first HARQ period 206 is configured by the network for HARQ preparation time. the UE may still wait until the first HARQ period 206 has passed to send the first HARQ feedback 204 and proceed to the first RF tuning/AGC settling 210).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by efficiently handling the activation/deactivation of multiple secondary cells with reducing the process delay. (Cui; Par. [22-23])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and ZHOU’844 does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing for the reference signal measurement is based at least in part on a start of a radio frame.
However, Cui discloses wherein the timing for the reference signal measurement is based at least in part on a start of a radio frame (See Par. [43]-[44] and Fig. 2 & 3 of Cui for a reference to the MAC CE carrying the activation command is received in the first slot [Start of the radio frame]. Based on the configurations in the MAC CE, the timing of the RS measurements is determined).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by efficiently handling the activation/deactivation of multiple secondary cells with reducing the process delay. (Cui; Par. [22-23])
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to determine the timing for the reference signal, are configured to: determine the timing for the reference signal based at least in part on an occurrence of a collision between a first reference signal resource and a semi-statically configured uplink symbol, wherein the reference signal occurs during a second reference signal resource after the first reference signal resource.
However, Cui discloses wherein the one or more processors, to determine the timing for the reference signal, are configured to: determine the timing for the reference signal based at least in part on an occurrence of a collision between a first reference signal resource and a semi-statically configured uplink symbol (See Par. [30], [31]-[34] and Fig. 2 & 3 of Cui for a reference to the timing of the SSB-based measurements is determined based on the HARQ feedback. the first HARQ period 206 is configured by the network for HARQ preparation time. the UE may still wait until the first HARQ period 206 has passed to send the first HARQ feedback 204 and proceed to the first RF tuning/AGC settling 210. Timing is adjusted to avoid collision [This complies with (IEEE) 802.16 standard that implements semi-static configuration for UL symbols]), wherein the reference signal occurs during a second reference signal resource after the first reference signal resource (See Par. [30], [33] and Fig. 2 & 3 of Cui for a reference to the timing of the SSB-based measurements is determined based on the HARQ feedback. the first HARQ period 206 is configured by the network for HARQ preparation time. the UE may still wait until the first HARQ period 206 has passed to send the first HARQ feedback 204 and proceed to the first RF tuning/AGC settling 210).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by efficiently handling the activation/deactivation of multiple secondary cells with reducing the process delay. (Cui; Par. [22-23])
The combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and Cui does not explicitly disclose the reference signal is a tracking reference signal.
However, ZHOU’844 discloses the reference signal is a tracking reference signal (See Par. [73], [89], [91], [101] of ZHOU’844 for a reference to the SS blocks may be organized into SS burst sets to support beam sweeping. The UE may measure the path loss reference signals (PL RS) to determine downlink channel quality between the UE and the BS. The RS can be any RS: PUSCH DMRS, CSIRS, Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), and SRS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ZHOU’844 to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by improving system flexibility, spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards using OFDMA with a cyclic prefix (CP) on the downlink (DL) and on the uplink (UL) to better support mobile broadband Internet access. (ZHOU’844; Par. [5])
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12.
7. Claim 11 and 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Zhou et al. in view of Tang et al. in view of ZHOU’844 and further in view of Harada et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0076250 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses wherein the timing for the reference signal measurement (See Par. [193] of Li for a reference to the RS sending time [Timing] is a subframe offset value of the sending time of the first RS relative to the sending time of the activation command).
The combination of Li, Zhou, Tang and ZHOU’844 does not explicitly disclose the timing for the reference signal measurement is based at least in part on a static offset value.
However, Harada discloses the timing for the reference signal measurement is based at least in part on a static offset value (See Par. [45]-[46], [63], [66] and Fig. 4 of Harada for a reference to an Scell activation MAC-CE in a PDSCH is received on Slot n. The terminal 10 to returns HARQ feedback for PDSCH including the activation command on Slot n+K1+3. A Delay of few (plurality of) slots that is statically configured , follows the HARQ feedback, before the RS measurement is performed and CSI is reported. [Therefore, the timing of the RS measurement is based on the delay slots following the HARQ feedback]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Harada to the combination of Li, Zhou and Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improving the system’s performance, by increasing frequency utilization efficiency, and reducing power consumption of the terminal through reducing a time gap associated with feedback. (Harada; Par. [50])
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manolakos et al. (US. Pub. No. 2023/0224851 A1) discloses techniques for selecting measurement gap periods for positioning user equipment, UE, in 5G NR.
Rahman et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0022180 A1) discloses wireless communication systems for beam management and training.
Yu et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0258066 A1) discloses methods and devices for beam selection in a mobile device.
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413