DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection
Previous Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant essentially argues that the amended limitations are not disclosed by the applied art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See the rejection below for citations explaining how the applied references disclose the amended limitations.
The Examiner would like to point out that the references are similar to the claimed limitations and as such are analogous. Essentially, the claims require a retransmission of combined sidelink transmissions using network coding and the network coded transmission is based on location information of network nodes and mobile phones. Fallgren discloses a relay system utilizing of linear coding to retransmit information based on location of the mobile device being at a cell edge. Fallgren utilized D2D communications. Reimann discloses sidelink transmissions with forward error correction (FEC) which is a linear encoding. Reimann discloses determining location of a mobile device being in coverage or out of coverage.
Previous Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/23/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Fallgren does not disclose does not teach “receive ... an indication to perform network coding for a communication,” as recited in claim | with emphasis added.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fallgren discloses an advertisement sent by a device asking for help. Fallgren discloses that the purpose of help that the second wireless device 122 is looking for, e.g. improve Bit Error rate (BER) of system information, improve downlink/uplink bit rate, reduce uplink transmit power, improve uplink Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ), performance (0059-0062). Thus the beacon and advertisement contains an indication for network coding because the wireless device may be out of coverage or at the edge of coverage (0059).
Applicant argues that Fallgren does not teach “determining whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or a second network node,” and “selectively transmit ... the communication using network coding.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fallgren discloses different types of relays in 0060, including Compress and Forward (CF), Decode and Forward (DF) and etc. The CF relay will perform channel encoding and transmit the received data and the decode and forward will also encode the received data and transmit to the network (311-331). The CF is also used when it is closer to the Base station i.e. network.
Thus Fallgren discloses all of the claimed and argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-22, 24 and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140171062 A1 herein Fallgren US 20220046527 A1 herein Chang in view of US 20160049962 A1 herein Li.
Claim 1, Fallgren discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node (Fig. 1: 110; 121, 123 and 124), comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (Fig. 7: 730, 750), configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), an indication to perform network coding for a retransmission of a communication (Fig. 2: 207),
wherein the network coding is associated with a linear system for encoding communications (0060, various types of coding for retransmissions, e.g. nLF, EF and CF coding, where the information is coded for error rates; the term erasure coding is understood to be coding for errors in transmission; 0331, Zero Forcing (ZF), Minimum Mean Square Error (MMSE) are forms of linear coding); and
determine whether the network coding for retransmission is to be performed by first network node or a second network node (Fig. 2: 208; 0059, position of the mobile device at cell edge); wherein whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node is based at least is part on at least one of a location of the first network node, a location of the second network node or a location of the UE (0059, position of mobile device at cell edge)
selectively transmit, from the first network node to one or more other UEs, and based at least in part on the determining (0041).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose determine whether combining the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication into the single network-coded communication is to be performed by the first network node or a second network node, wherein whether the combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node is based at least in part on at least one of a location of the first network node, a location of the second network node, or a location of the UE; selectively transmit, from the first network node to one or more other UEs and based at least in part on the determining, the single network-coded communication using the network coding.
Chang discloses determine whether combining the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication into the single network-coded communication (0009, 0019, combining data units of a plurality remote terminals on a sidelink transmission to a base station; 0188, 0212, retransmission); wherein whether the combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node is based at least in part on at least one of a location of the first network node, a location of the second network node, or a location of the UE (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal); selectively transmit, from the first network node to one or more other UEs and based at least in part on the determining, the single network-coded communication using the network coding (0224-0227, transmission of a multiplexed data unit to a UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Fallgren in view of Chang may not explicitly disclose wherein the network coding is used to encode a set of original data, including the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication, into a set of encoded data, and the network coding is associated with a linear system, for encoding communications, that includes variables, corresponding to the set of original data, and linearly independent constraints corresponding to the set of encoded data.
Li discloses wherein the network coding is used to encode a set of original data, including the communications (0007, set of information bits), into a set of encoded data (0007, encoded into a codeword (c)), and the network coding is associated with a linear system (0010, encoding in a linear manner), for encoding communications, that includes variables (0004, variables), corresponding to the set of original data (0002, variable (information bits of the codeword), and linearly independent constraints corresponding to the set of encoded data (0008, parity matrix, i.e. set of encoded data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include low density parity check (LDPC) code as taught by Li so as to protect the information and to fight the negative effects of the transmission channel and recover the information at the receiver (0021).
Claim 2, Fallgren in view of Chang discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren disclose wherein the one or more processors, to selectively transmit the communication using network coding, are configured to refrain from transmitting the communication based at least in part on determining that the network coding is to be performed by the second network node (0210-0213, informing devices of resources to use for communications between the devices).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose the single network-coded communication; combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication is to be performed by the second network node.
Chang discloses single network-coded communication (02243-0227); combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication is to be performed by the second network node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 3, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren discloses wherein determining whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node is based at least in part on whether the first network node is a closest network node, of the first network node and the second network node, to the UE (0059, based on location of devices near cell edge; 0210-0213).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication.
Chang discloses disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 4, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node based at least in part on a boundary associated with the first network node (0059, close to the second mobile device, 0192).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication.
Chang discloses disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 5, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the second network node, an indication that the first network node will not transmit communications received from the UE if the UE is within an area relative to or associated with the first network node (Fig. 2: 209).
Claim 12, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the second network node, an indication that the first network node has determined to transmit the communication using network coding (Fig. 4: 403-406).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication.
Chang discloses disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 13, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 12. Fallgren discloses wherein the indication that the first network node has determined to transmit the communication using network coding comprises at least one of an identifier associated with the communication or an identifier associated with the UE (Fig. 4: 406, 0045).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication.
Chang discloses disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 14, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to monitor for at least one of a feedback collection communication received from the second network node, a network coding communication received from the second network node, or an acknowledgement message transmitted from the UE to the second network node (0020, first beacon).
Claim 15, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 14. wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node based at least in part on the monitoring (0020, beacon measurement).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication.
Chang discloses disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 16, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the second network node, an indication that the second network node will not perform network coding (0020, requiring help/assistance), and transmit, to the second network node, based at least in part on the indication that the second network node will not perform network coding, an indication that the first network node will perform network coding (0020, second beacon signal for performing relaying).
Claim 17, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren discloses wherein determining whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or the second network node comprises determining whether the network coding is to be performed by the first network node or a network node of a plurality of network nodes including the second network node (Fig. 1: 121, 123, 124; plurality of wireless devices).
Fallgren may not explicitly disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication.
Chang discloses disclose combining of the retransmission of the first sidelink communication and the second sidelink communication node (0143-0146, location base transmission of multiplexed sidelink communications from a relay terminal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include multiplexing packets by a relay as taught by Chang so as to ensure dynamic selection of relay terminals based on relay selection location areas so as to provide services in non-coverage areas (0005).
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 21, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 22, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 24, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 12.
Claim 25, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Fallgren discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions (0230).
Claim 26, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 27, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 28, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 29, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 30, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallgren in view of Chang in view of Li in view of US 20160255668 A1 herein Wei.
Claim 6, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 5. Fallgren may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the indication that the first network node will not transmit the communications received from the UE that is within the area based at least in part on determining that there is a blockage between the first network node and the UE.
Wei wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit the indication that the first network node will not transmit the communications received from the UE that is within the area based at least in part on determining that there is a blockage between the first network node and the UE (0024-0025, status indicator of user equipment based with remote UE is outside of coverage). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include status indicators as taught by Wei so as to enhance proximity services between user devices (0004).
Claim 7, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 5. Fallgren may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication that the first network node will not transmit the communications received from the UE that is within the area comprises one or more of a location-based average reference signal received power, an identifier associated with the area, or a global navigation satellite system identification associated with the area.
Wei discloses wherein the indication that the first network node will not transmit the communications received from the UE that is within the area comprises one or more of a location-based average reference signal received power, an identifier associated with the area, or a global navigation satellite system identification associated with the area (0024-0025, status indicator of user equipment based with remote UE is outside of coverage). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include status indicators as taught by Wei so as to enhance proximity services between user devices (0004).
Claim 8, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 5. Fallgren may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication that the first network node will not transmit the communications received from the UE that is within the area includes a bit, wherein a first state of the bit indicates that the first network node will selectively transmit communications received from the UE that is within the area and a second state of the bit indicates that the first network node will not transmit communications received from the UE that is within the area.
Wei discloses wherein the indication that the first network node will not transmit the communications received from the UE that is within the area includes a bit, wherein a first state of the bit indicates that the first network node will selectively transmit communications received from the UE that is within the area and a second state of the bit indicates that the first network node will not transmit communications received from the UE that is within the area (0024-0025, status indicator of user equipment based with remote UE is outside of coverage). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include status indicators as taught by Wei so as to enhance proximity services between user devices (0004).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallgren in view of Chang in view of Li in view of US 20200044973 A1 herein Hei.
Claim 9, Fallgren discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Fallgren may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the second network node, an indication that the first network node will not transmit any communications using network coding due to an overload state of the first network node.
Hei discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to the second network node, an indication that the first network node will not transmit any communications using network coding due to an overload state of the first network node (0025, load status). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fallgren to include load indications as taught by Hei so as to dynamically regenerate a route while avoiding a congested relay device (0006).
Claim 10, Fallgren in view of Hei discloses the apparatus of claim 9. Fallgren discloses wherein the indication that the first network node will not transmit any communications using network coding comprises at least one of a start time at which the first network node will not transmit any communications using network coding or an end time at which the first network node will resume transmitting communications using network coding (0216).
Claim 11, Fallgren in view of Hei discloses the apparatus of claim 9. wherein the indication that the first network node will not transmit any communications using network coding includes a bit, wherein a first state of the bit indicates that the first network node is in an overload state and a second state of the bit indicates that the first network node is not in an overload state (0025, Fig. 8: S46 and S43).
Claim 23, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230047127 A1 - A method for providing media content within a media distribution network. The method comprises transforming source media content into an interim format, thereby providing transformed content. Furthermore, the method comprises storing the transformed content on at least one core storage unit. In addition, the method comprises receiving a request for the source media content from a client. The method further comprises encoding the transformed content or intermediate coded content derived therefrom into encoded content suitable for transmission over a core network and/or an edge network, as well as sending the encoded content via the core network and/or the edge network to the client.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2419