DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 18 August 2025, regarding application number 17/448,688.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-11, 13-19 and 21-25 remain pending in the application, while claims 2, 5-6, 12 and 20 have been cancelled. Claims 24-25 are new.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the final office action mailed 17 April 2025. Therefore, the objections and rejections have been withdrawn. However, 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections remain outstanding as a result of the claim amendments. See full details below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 18 August 2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claim 1 and its dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 7-8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, claims 7-8 would be allowable over the prior art, but are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). See full details below.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejections of independent claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
a. “control programmed to control…” in claims 1, 7, 9, 11 and 21.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses the corresponding structure for the “control” in paragraph [0107] of the specification filed on 03 December 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 7-8
Claim 7 recites “a third gripper for gripping a second plug” and "a fourth gripper for gripping the cable", but then later states "control the third gripper to grip the cable and the fourth gripper to grip the second plug". Therefore, it is unclear which of the third and fourth gripper grips the second plug and which of the third and fourth gripper grips the cable. As such, claims 7-8 are indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear. For the purpose of examination, "control the third gripper to grip the cable and the fourth gripper to grip the second plug" will be read as "control the fourth gripper to grip the cable and the third gripper to grip the second plug". It is recommended to amend the claim language in this manner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-11, 13, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (US 20190160673 A1 and Hirata hereinafter), in view of Nishioka et al. (JP 2018088747 A and Nishioka hereinafter) .
Regarding Claim 1
Hirata teaches a device for an automated establishment of a plug-in connection of a plug arranged at a cable to a plug mating element and for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see all Figs., especially Figs. 1 and 8; [0006]), the device comprising:
a first gripper for gripping the plug (see Figs. 1 and 3, suction head 32; [0006], [0051] and [0068 "The control device 14 then causes the suction head 32 to suck and hold the connector body 111 of the connector 110 (Connector Body Holding Step: Step S1)."]);
a first handling unit (see Fig. 1, robotic arm 13A; [0039]) having a first base (see Fig. 1, second link 21b; [0043]), a first end member (see Figs. 1 and 3, first coupling link 31; [0049]-[0051]) and a plurality of first axes for positioning the first end member with respect to the first base (see Fig. 1, J3 and/or J4 and/or elevating part 22a and/or rotary part 22b; [0044]-[0046]), the first gripper being attached to the first end member (see Fig. 1); and
at least one second gripper for gripping the cable, wherein the second gripper is a mechanical gripper comprising two gripping elements moveable with respect to each other between which the cable is gripped (see Figs. 1 and 3, holding unit 42; [0006], [0055 "The holding unit 42 is a mechanism which holds harnesses 112 of a connector 110 with the play in a direction which intersects with the extending directions of the harnesses 112 (i.e., the first direction D1)."]-[0057] and [0070]),
a second handling unit (see Fig. 1, robotic arm 13B; [0039]) having a second base (see Fig. 1, second link 21b; [0043]), a second end member (see Figs. 1 and 3, second coupling link 41; [0053]-[0055]) and a plurality of second axes for positioning the second end member with respect to the second base (see Fig. 1, J3 and/or J4 and/or elevating part 22a and/or rotary part 22b; [0044]-[0046]), the second gripper being arranged at the second end member (see Fig. 1), and
a control programmed to control the first gripper and the first handling unit to grip the plug arranged on the cable and to establish the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element (see Figs. 5-11, all, especially Fig. 8; [0006], [0065], [0068 "The control device 14 then causes the suction head 32 to suck and hold the connector body 111 of the connector 110 (Connector Body Holding Step: Step S1)."] and [0075 "Next, as illustrated in FIG. 8, in the workspace P2, the connector body 111 of the connector 110 is positioned above the socket 102 of the substrate 101. Then, the connector 110 is moved downwardly, and the connector body 111 is fitted into the socket 102 to engage the socket 102 with the connector body 111."]) and further programmed to control the second gripper and the second handling unit to grip the cable and to position the cable (see Figs. 5-11, all, especially Figs. 7-8 and 11; [0006], [0057], [0070 "Thus, the intermediate part A1 of the harnesses 112 of the connector 110 is held by the through-hole 49 of the holding unit 42 with the play (Harness Holding Step: Step S2)."]-[0073]).
Hirata is silent regarding position the cable in the cable passage during and/or after establishing the plug-in connection.
Nishioka teaches a device for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see all Figs., especially 9-10 cable 60 and groove 54; [0006]), the device comprising:
at least one second gripper for gripping the cable, wherein the second gripper is a mechanical gripper comprising two gripping elements moveable with respect to each other between which the cable is gripped (see first hand 12 with claw portions 22 and pressing portion 38 in most Figs., especially Figs. 3 and 9-10; [0006], [0012]-[0015] and [0053], especially [0013 "The first hand 12 hooks and holds a part of the cable 60, and has a pair of claws 22 and an opening/closing drive unit 24 ."]),and
a control programmed further programmed to control the second gripper and the second handling unit to grip the cable and to position the cable in the cable passage during and/or after establishing the plug-in connection (see Figs. 8-10, all; [0010 "...the groove 54 is an example of a "cable laying portion."], [0052 "When the first hand 12 moves beyond the other connector 52 , the cable 60 is laid in the groove 54 and an excess portion 64 of the cable 60 is produced on the side beyond the other connector 52. The portion of the cable 60 that is laid in the groove 54 will hereinafter be referred to as the laid portion 66 .."]-[0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Hirata to further position the cable in the cable passage during and/or after establishing the plug-in connection, as taught by Nishioka, in order to press any excess length of the cable into the cable passage to secure the cable in place.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the first gripper and the second gripper are movable together via at least one of a plurality of movement axes of a third handling unit (see Fig. 1, carriage 12 and/or base shaft 16; [0039]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
Hirata further teaches wherein the base of the first handling unit and the base of the second handling unit are arranged at a common support element that is movable via the third handling unit (see Fig. 1, base shaft 16 and/or first links 21a; [0039]-[0043]).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the second gripper has a pressing element for pressing the cable into a mount of the cable passage and the control is programmed to control the second handling unit and/or the second gripper such that the cable is pressed into the mount by the pressing element.
Nishioka teaches wherein the second gripper has a pressing element for pressing the cable into a mount of the cable passage and the control is programmed to control the second handling unit and/or the second gripper such that the cable is pressed into the mount by the pressing element (see Figs. 9-10, pressing portion 38 and groove 54; [0010 "...the groove 54 is an example of a "cable laying portion."], [0018 "The second hand 32 has a pressing portion 38 for pressing the cable 60."], [0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to include a pressing element for pressing the cable into a mount of the cable passage and to control the second gripper to press the cable into the mount by the pressing element, as taught by Nishioka, in order to press any excess length of the cable into the cable passage to secure the cable in place.
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 9 (as discussed above in claim 9),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the pressing element is arranged at the second gripper such that the pressing element is movable via an actuator with respect to the gripping elements of the second gripper, and the control is programmed to control the actuator to press the pressing element onto the cable gripped by the gripping elements such that the cable is pressed into the mount by the pressing element.
Nishioka teaches wherein the pressing element is arranged at the second gripper such that the pressing element is movable via an actuator with respect to the gripping elements of the second gripper, and the control is programmed to control the actuator to press the pressing element onto the cable gripped by the gripping elements such that the cable is pressed into the mount by the pressing element (see Figs. 9-10, pressing portion 38; [0018 "The second hand 32 has a pressing portion 38 for pressing the cable 60."], [0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to arrange the pressing element at the second gripper such that the pressing element is movable via an actuator with respect to the gripping elements of the second gripper such that the cable is pressed into the mount by the pressing element, as taught by Nishioka, in order to press any excess length of the cable into the cable passage to secure the cable in place.
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the gripping elements of the second gripper are designed as guide elements and the control is programmed such that the second gripper is traveled along the cable to guide it (see Figs. 5-11, all, especially Figs. 7 and 11, D1; [0006] and [0071 "Next, the control device 14 controls the second robotic arm 13B to move the holding unit 42 in the first direction D1 and in a direction separating from the suction head 32 and the connector body 111 (Holding Position Changing Step: Step S3). As described above, since the second holding part 19 holds the intermediate part A1 of the harnesses 112 of the connector 110 with the play in the directions which intersect with the first directions D1, the second holding part 19 can be smoothly moved in the first directions D1 with respect to the first holding part 18."]-[0073])
Hirata is silent regarding the second gripper is traveled along the cable to guide it along the cable passage after the plug has been gripped by the first gripper or after the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element has been established.
Nishioka teaches wherein the gripping elements of the second gripper are designed as guide elements and the control is programmed such that the second gripper is traveled along the cable to guide it along the cable passage after the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element has been established (see Figs. 4-10, all, especially Figs. 1 and 8; [0010 "The cable laying device 10 of this embodiment shown in FIG. 1 is suitably used to lay a cable 60 connecting a pair of connectors 50, 52 in a groove 54 provided between the pair of connectors 50, 52."] and [0038]-[0062], especially [0038 "At this time, the control unit 20 adjusts the center of the circular hole-shaped holding portion 28 to coincide with the center of the held portion 62 . Even when the first hand 12 is lowered, a shape-retaining force acts on the cable 60, so the center of the held portion 62 is held at a fixed position."] and [0051 "(Step S7) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 8, the control unit 20 controls the first driving unit 14 to move the first hand 12 along the first elliptical trajectory 40 calculated in steps S5 and S6 described above."]-[0052 "When the first hand 12 moves beyond the other connector 52 , the cable 60 is laid in the groove 54 and an excess portion 64 of the cable 60 is produced on the side beyond the other connector 52 .The portion of the cable 60 that is laid in the groove 54 will hereinafter be referred to as the laid portion 66."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to guide the second gripper along the cable passage after the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element has been established, as taught by Nishioka, in order to press any excess length of the cable into the cable passage to secure the cable in place.
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the first gripper has a plug-in actuator for moving the plug into a plugged-in position with the plug mating element and/or has a compensation unit that permits a compensation movement of the gripper with respect to the handling unit in at least one operating mode (see Figs. 5-11, all, especially Fig. 8; [0006], [0065], [0068 "The control device 14 then causes the suction head 32 to suck and hold the connector body 111 of the connector 110 (Connector Body Holding Step: Step S1)."] and [0075 "Next, as illustrated in FIG. 8, in the workspace P2, the connector body 111 of the connector 110 is positioned above the socket 102 of the substrate 101. Then, the connector 110 is moved downwardly, and the connector body 111 is fitted into the socket 102 to engage the socket 102 with the connector body 111."]).
Regarding Claim 15
Modified Hirata teaches a method for the automated establishment of a plug-in connection of a plug arranged at a cable to a plug mating element, and for the automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage using the device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the method comprises:
gripping and plugging the plug by the first gripper (see Figs. 5-11, all, especially Fig. 8; [0006], [0065], [0068 "The control device 14 then causes the suction head 32 to suck and hold the connector body 111 of the connector 110 (Connector Body Holding Step: Step S1)."] and [0075 "Next, as illustrated in FIG. 8, in the workspace P2, the connector body 111 of the connector 110 is positioned above the socket 102 of the substrate 101. Then, the connector 110 is moved downwardly, and the connector body 111 is fitted into the socket 102 to engage the socket 102 with the connector body 111."]);
gripping the cable by the second gripper (see Figs. 5-11, all, especially Figs. 7-8 and 11; [0006], [0057], [0070 "Thus, the intermediate part A1 of the harnesses 112 of the connector 110 is held by the through-hole 49 of the holding unit 42 with the play (Harness Holding Step: Step S2)."]-[0073]).
Hirata is silent regarding positioning the cable in the cable passage by operating the second handling unit for moving the second gripper gripping the cable.
Nishioka teaches wherein the method comprises:
gripping the cable by the second gripper (see Fig. 3, all; [0006] and [0012]-[0015], especially [0013 "The first hand 12 hooks and holds a part of the cable 60, and has a pair of claws 22 and an opening/closing drive unit 24 ."]); and
positioning the cable in the cable passage by operating the second handling unit for moving the second gripper gripping the cable (see Figs. 9-10, all; [0010 "...the groove 54 is an example of a "cable laying portion."], [0052 "When the first hand 12 moves beyond the other connector 52 , the cable 60 is laid in the groove 54 and an excess portion 64 of the cable 60 is produced on the side beyond the other connector 52. The portion of the cable 60 that is laid in the groove 54 will hereinafter be referred to as the laid portion 66 .."]-[0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to position the cable in the cable passage by operating the second handling unit for moving the second gripper gripping the cable, as taught by Nishioka, in order to press any excess length of the cable into the cable passage to secure the cable in place.
Regarding Claim 18
Modified Hirata teaches the device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata further teaches wherein the first handling unit and the second handling unit are each a multi-axis robot (see Fig. 1, robotic arms 13A-13B; [0039]).
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Hirata teaches the device according to claim 4 (as discussed above in claim 4),
Hirata further teaches wherein a first movement space of the first and second handling units is smaller than a second movement space of the third handling unit (see Fig 1, all; [0039]-[0041]; the movement space of the robotic arms 13A-13B is smaller than the movement space of the carriage 12 because the carriage is free to move around it's environment via its wheels 12a, while the robotic arms 13A-13B are restricted to being fixed to the carriage 12a.).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishioka, in view of Ichinose et al. (US 20180272463 A1 and Ichinose hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 14
Nishioka teaches a gripper for gripping a cable (see all Figs., especially 9-10; [0006]), wherein the gripper has at least two gripping elements for mechanically gripping the cable between the at least two gripping elements (see first hand 12 and claw portions 22 in most Figs., especially Fig. 3; [0006] and [0012]-[0015], especially [0013 "The first hand 12 hooks and holds a part of the cable 60, and has a pair of claws 22 and an opening/closing drive unit 24 ."]), and a pressing element for pressing the cable into a mount while it is gripped by the at least two gripping elements (see Figs. 9-10, pressing portion 38 and groove 54; [0010 "...the groove 54 is an example of a "cable laying portion."], [0018 "The second hand 32 has a pressing portion 38 for pressing the cable 60."], [0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]), wherein the gripper is configured to be guided along the cable while the cable is gripped between the at least two gripping elements (see Figs. 4-10, all, especially Fig. 8; [0038]-[0062], especially [0038 "At this time, the control unit 20 adjusts the center of the circular hole-shaped holding portion 28 to coincide with the center of the held portion 62 . Even when the first hand 12 is lowered, a shape-retaining force acts on the cable 60, so the center of the held portion 62 is held at a fixed position."] and [0051 "(Step S7) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 8, the control unit 20 controls the first driving unit 14 to move the first hand 12 along the first elliptical trajectory 40 calculated in steps S5 and S6 described above."]) and to press the cable into the mount (see Figs. 9-10, pressing portion 38 and groove 54; [0018 "The second hand 32 has a pressing portion 38 for pressing the cable 60."], [0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]).
Nishioka is silent regarding wherein the pressing element is a roller rotationally supported on the gripper, and
the roller is guided along the cable in rolling contact with the cable to press the cable into the mount.
Ichinose teaches a gripper for gripping a cable (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1; [0012]), has a pressing element for pressing the cable into a mount while (see Figs. 1 and 3-4, pressing roller 23 and/or 33; [0012 "...the first and second press rollers to move the first and second press rollers on the lead wire while pressing the lead wire..."], [0031]-[0032 "The cylinder 21 can apply predetermined pressure to the lead wire 12 via the press roller 23."] and [0044]), wherein the pressing element is a roller rotationally supported on the gripper (see Figs. 3-4, pressing roller 23 and/or 33 and rotational axis 22j and/or 32j; [0031 "The (electrical) cylinder 21, a press member 22, and a press roller 23 constitute the press mechanism 20 (a first press mechanism), and the press roller 23 (a first press roller) can perform a rotational operation centering around a rotational axis 22 j of the press member 22"] and [0056]), and the roller is guided along the cable in rolling contact with the cable to press the cable into the mount (see Figs. 1 and 3-4, all; [0012 "...the first and second press rollers to move the first and second press rollers on the lead wire while pressing the lead wire..."]-[0014], [0031]-[0032 "The cylinder 21 can apply predetermined pressure to the lead wire 12 via the press roller 23."] and [0044]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pressing element of the gripper of Nishioka to be a roller rotationally supported on the gripper and to be guided along the cable in rolling contact with the cable to press the cable into the mount, as taught by Ichinose, in order to press the cable while moving along the cable to reduce unintentional displacement of the cable.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Nishioka) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Sverdlov et al. (US 20220089237 A1 and Sverdlov hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 16
Modified Hirata teaches the method according to claim 15 (as discussed above in claim 15),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the plug-in connection is a connection of cabling a battery module during manufacture of a vehicle having a hybrid and/or electric drive, the battery module comprising the plug mating element, the method comprising connecting the battery module to a second battery module or to a controller of the vehicle via the cable.
Sverdlov teaches a device for an automated establishment of a plug-in connection of a plug arranged at a cable to a plug mating element and for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see all Figs., especially Figs. 71 and 180E; [0010] and [4191]-[4200]), the device comprising:
a control programmed to control the first gripper and the first handling unit to grip the plug arranged on the cable and to establish the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element (see [4191]-[4200], especially [4195 "In a fourth step, an electrical connection is provided between the battery modules 1130 a of the battery pack (S1114, FIG. 180E). This is achieved by connecting a Flex PCB cable to each of the battery modules in the row 1130 a."], [4198 "In a fifth step, a housing 1141 is applied to the battery pack (S1115, FIG. 180F). The end of the Flex PCB is attached to the electrical connector. The top cover 1141 a is attached to the base plate using screws or removable urethane adhesive."] and [4200 "The assembly of these components by robots enhances safety, so that engineers have reduced exposure to the high voltage of the HVBMs."]);
wherein the plug-in connection is a connection of cabling a battery module during manufacture of a vehicle having a hybrid and/or electric drive, the battery module comprising the plug mating element, the method comprising connecting the battery module to a second battery module or to a controller of the vehicle via the cable (see Figs. 71 and 180E, all; [4155] and [4191]-[4200], especially [4195 "In a fourth step, an electrical connection is provided between the battery modules 1130 a of the battery pack (S1114, FIG. 180E). This is achieved by connecting a Flex PCB cable to each of the battery modules in the row 1130 a."], [4198 "In a fifth step, a housing 1141 is applied to the battery pack (S1115, FIG. 180F). The end of the Flex PCB is attached to the electrical connector. The top cover 1141 a is attached to the base plate using screws or removable urethane adhesive."] and [4200 "The assembly of these components by robots enhances safety, so that engineers have reduced exposure to the high voltage of the HVBMs."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to connect a cabling of a battery module during manufacture of a vehicle having a hybrid and/or electric drive, the battery module including the plug mating element, as taught by Sverdlov, in order to enhance safety by reducing human exposure to high voltages.
Regarding Claim 17
Modified Hirata teaches the device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the control is configured for cabling battery modules during manufacture of a vehicle.
Sverdlov teaches wherein the control is configured for cabling battery modules during manufacture of a vehicle (see Figs. 71 and 180E, all; [4155] and [4191]-[4200], especially [4195 "In a fourth step, an electrical connection is provided between the battery modules 1130 a of the battery pack (S1114, FIG. 180E). This is achieved by connecting a Flex PCB cable to each of the battery modules in the row 1130 a."], [4198 "In a fifth step, a housing 1141 is applied to the battery pack (S1115, FIG. 180F). The end of the Flex PCB is attached to the electrical connector. The top cover 1141 a is attached to the base plate using screws or removable urethane adhesive."] and [4200 "The assembly of these components by robots enhances safety, so that engineers have reduced exposure to the high voltage of the HVBMs."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to be configured for cabling battery modules during manufacture of a vehicle, as taught by Sverdlov, in order to enhance safety by reducing human exposure to high voltages.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Nishioka) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20160297075 A1 and Lee hereinafter) .
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Hirata teaches the device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the first gripper has an alignment element and the control is configured to control the device to bring the alignment element into contact with at least one side surface of the plug mating element to align the plug with the plug mating element.
Lee teaches a device (see all Figs.; [0009]-[0011]) for an automated establishment of a plug-in connection of a plug arranged at a cable to a plug mating element and for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see "flexible object 20" and "connector C" in most Figs, [0009]-[0011] and [0030]), the device comprising:
a first gripper for gripping the plug (see "moving part 300" in most Figs, [0009]-[0011], [0030] and [0033]);
a first handling unit (see "apparatus 10" in most Figs, [0009]-[0012], [0030]-[0032] and [0038]) having a first base) and
a control programmed to control the first gripper and the first handling unit to grip the plug arranged on the cable and to establish the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element (see all Figs., especially 6A-6C; [0009]-[0011] and [0050]-[0053]);
wherein the first gripper has an alignment element and the control is configured to control the device to bring the alignment element into contact with at least one side surface of the plug mating element to align the plug with the plug mating element (see Figs. 6A-6C, fixing part 400; [0011] and [0050]-[0054], especially [0052 "...the fixing part 400 contacts the board B to which the connector C is combined, and the flexible object 20 contacts the connector C. Movement of the fixing part 400 is limited by the board B in a moving direction."] and [0053 "...the movement of the fixing part 400 is limited by the board B in the moving direction, and the moving part 300 may continue to move toward the connector C such that it allows the flexible object 20 to engage with the connector C by pressing the flexible object 20."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to include an alignment element and to control the device to bring the alignment element into contact with at least one side surface of the plug mating element to align the plug with the plug mating element, as taught by Lee, in order to stably engage the plug with the plug mating element.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Nishioka) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ichinose.
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Hirata teaches the device according to claim 9 (as discussed above in claim 9),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the pressing element is a roller rotationally supported on the second gripper, with a pressing surface of the pressing element being configured for being in contact with the cable while the second gripper is guided along the cable, in order to apply a pressing force onto the cable to press the cable into the mount.
Nishioka teaches wherein a pressing surface of the pressing element being configured for being in contact with the cable while the second gripper is guided along the cable, in order to apply a pressing force onto the cable to press the cable into the mount (see Figs. 9-10, pressing portion 38 and groove 54; [0010 "...the groove 54 is an example of a "cable laying portion."], [0018 "The second hand 32 has a pressing portion 38 for pressing the cable 60."], [0053 "(Step S8) Subsequently, as shown in FIG. 9, the control unit 20 controls the second driving unit 34 to move the second hand 32 and cause the second hand 32 to press down on a part of the installation target 66. At this time, more specifically, a part of the installation portion 66 on the side of the other connector 52 is pressed down by the pressing portion 38 of the second hand 32. The portion of the laid portion 66 that is pressed down by the second hand 32 will hereinafter be referred to as a pressed portion 70."] and [0062]).
Ichinose teaches a device for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1; [0012]), the device comprising:
a second handling unit (see Fig. 1, vibration bonding apparatus 100; [0025]);
wherein the second gripper has a pressing element for pressing the cable into a mount of the cable passage and the control is programmed to control the second handling unit such that the cable is pressed into the mount by the pressing element (see Figs. 1 and 3-4, pressing roller 23 and/or 33; [0012 "...the first and second press rollers to move the first and second press rollers on the lead wire while pressing the lead wire..."], [0031]-[0032 "The cylinder 21 can apply predetermined pressure to the lead wire 12 via the press roller 23."] and [0044]).
wherein the pressing element is a roller rotationally supported on the second gripper, with a pressing surface of the pressing element being configured for being in contact with the cable in order to apply a pressing force onto the cable to press the cable into the mount (see Figs. 3-4, rotational axis 22j and/or 32j; [0031 "The (electrical) cylinder 21, a press member 22, and a press roller 23 constitute the press mechanism 20 (a first press mechanism), and the press roller 23 (a first press roller) can perform a rotational operation centering around a rotational axis 22 j of the press member 22"] and [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the device of modified Hirata to include a pressing roller rotationally supported on the second gripper, with a pressing surface of the pressing element being configured for being in contact with the cable while the second gripper is guided along the cable to apply a pressing force onto the cable to press the cable into the mount, as taught by Nishioka and Ichinose, in order to press any excess length of the cable into the cable passage to secure the cable in place and to reduce unintentional displacement of the cable.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Nishioka) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hariki et al. (US 20040266276 A1 and Hariki hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 23
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata is silent regarding wherein the second gripper has two rollers as gripping elements between which the cable is gripped, with the rollers being rotatably supported on the second gripper.
Hariki teaches a device for an automated establishment of a plug-in connection of a plug arranged at a cable to a plug mating element and for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see all Figs.; [0008],), the device comprising:
a first gripper for gripping the plug (see Fig. 2-6, second hand 21; [0008] and [0026]);
a first handling unit (see Fig. 2-6, second robot 20; [0008] and [0025]); and
at least one second gripper for gripping the cable, wherein the second gripper is a mechanical gripper comprising two gripping elements moveable with respect to each other between which the cable is gripped (see Fig. 2-6, first hand 11; [0008] and [0025]-[0026]),
a second handling unit (see Fig. 2-6, first robot 10; [0008] and [0025]), and
a control programmed to control the first gripper and the first handling unit to grip the plug arranged on the cable and to establish the plug-in connection of the plug with the plug mating element (see Fig. 4, steps S4-S5; Fig. 6, steps SS4-SS6; [0014], [0026], [0036]-[0038] and [0043]-[0046]) and further programmed to control the second gripper and the second handling unit to grip the cable (see Fig. 4, steps S1-S3; Fig. 5, steps SS1-SS2; [0008], [0026] and [0031]-[0034]);
wherein the second gripper has two rollers as gripping elements between which the cable is gripped, with the rollers being rotatably supported on the second gripper (see Fig. 2, rolls 11r; Figs. 4-5, all; [0013], [0026], [0033]-[0034] and [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the second gripper of the device of modified Hirata to include two rollers as gripping elements between which the cable is gripped, with the rollers being rotatably supported on the second gripper, as taught by Hariki, in order to straighten the cable and thereby reduce instability of the position and posture of the plug.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata (as modified by Nishioka) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mukou (US 20200122342 A1 and Mukou hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 24
Modified Hirata teaches the device in accordance with claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Hirata is silent regarding further comprising:
a third gripper for gripping a second plug arranged on a second end of the cable, and
a third handling unit having a third base, a third end member and a plurality of third axes for positioning the third end member with respect to the third base, the third gripper being arranged at the third base,
wherein the control is further programmed to control the third gripper and the third handling unit to grip the second plug arranged on the second end of the cable and to establish a second plug-in connection of the second plug with a second plug mating element.
Mukou teaches a device for an automated establishment of a plug-in connection of a plug arranged at a cable to a plug mating element and for an automated mounting of the cable to a cable passage (see all Figs.; [0007]), the device comprising:
further comprising:
a third gripper for gripping a second plug arranged on a second end of the cable (see Figs. 2-3 and 6, movable chuck unit (pressing portion, movable holding portion) 7 of second holding unit/portion 32; [0007], [0026]-[0031] and [0088]), and
a third handling unit having a third base (see Figs. 2-3, second holding unit/portion 32; [0008] and [0043]-[0045]), a third end member and a plurality of third axes for positi