Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 17, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-17, and 19-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant's arguments filed March 17, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 12, and 15, the applicant argues “Chang, as evidenced by figure 3 (reproduced right) and the supporting specification, does not teach a switch that selectively couples communication between the RF connector (Chang ref. 304) and the antenna (Id. ref. 108). Rather, Chang's switch 312 (Id. ref 312) is part of a matching network (Id. refs 314a-d). that adjusts impedance characteristics but does not control the connection path between the RF connector and the antenna. In figure 3 of Chang, the element labeled 304 that the Examiner interprets as an ‘RF connector’ is described as a trace in the specification. The trace 304 is connected to the antenna 108 via conductive element (Id. ref 308). The switch 312 is not positioned to selectably couple or decouple trace 304 (the mapped ‘RF connector’) from antenna 108. Instead, it is configured to alter impedance matching via different matching networks 314a-d. As Chang states: ‘Switch 312 may be mounted on antenna circuit board 208 and may be electrically coupled to antenna 108 via a trace or other suitable conductive element.’(Id. ¶ 0040). This confirms that switch 312 is connected to antenna 108 via trace 304. In other words, trace 304 is not communicatively coupled to the antenna 108 using switch 312; instead, it is permanently connected via the conductive element 308. The switch is simply used to adjust impedance; it does not control the communication path between the RF connector and the antenna. This is materially different from what is claimed. Each independent claim requires a switch that selectably communicatively couples the RF connector and the antenna-meaning the switch must be capable of connecting or disconnecting the RF signal path between these two elements. Chang's switch 312 lacks this capability. At no point does Chang describe or depict switch 312 operating to selectively establish or break the communication path between the RF connector and the antenna. Instead, the RF path is constant, and the switch operates exclusively within the impedance matching circuitry.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, and contends that, with a broad and reasonable interpretation, the limitation “the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and an antenna” of claims 1, 12, and 15 does not require the RF connector to be disconnected from an antenna by the switch. The limitation does not include language that states that the switch couples and decouples or disconnects the RF connector and an antenna and can be interpreted as a switch capable of altering the communicative coupling between the RF connector and an antenna by selecting different states of communicative coupling between the RF connector and an antenna as taught by Chang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki (US PGPUB 2005/0093753 A1) in view of Chang et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0131091 A1), hereinafter known as Chang.
Regarding claim 1, Masaki teaches (Fig. 1, 5) a circuit assembly for installation in a laptop lid (12), comprising: a plurality of connectors (21, 22) for wired communication with a base of a laptop (11); and an Rf connector (21) for wired Rf communication with the base (11) but does not specifically teach a tuner, wherein the Rf connector is couplable to the tuner; and a switch, wherein: the Rf connector is coupled to the switch, and the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and an antenna.
However, Chang teaches (Fig. 2-3) a tuner (314), wherein the Rf connector (304) is couplable to the tuner (312, 314); and a switch (312), wherein: the Rf connector is coupled to the switch (312), and the switch (312) is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and an antenna (108).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Chang to include “a tuner, wherein the Rf connector is couplable to the tuner; and a switch, wherein: the Rf connector is coupled to the switch, and the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and an antenna,” as taught by Chang, for the purpose of simplifying design and improved robustness (see also [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the tuner includes at least one of: an impedance tuning circuit for coupling to an antenna, or an aperture tuning circuit for coupling to the antenna.
However, Chang teaches (Fig. 2-3) wherein the tuner (312, 314) includes at least one of: an impedance tuning circuit (314) for coupling to an antenna (108), or an aperture tuning circuit for coupling to an antenna.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Chang to include “wherein the tuner includes at least one of: an impedance tuning circuit for coupling to an antenna, or an aperture tuning circuit for coupling to the antenna,” as taught by Chang, for the purpose of simplifying design and improved robustness (see also [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, Masaki does not specifically teach further comprising: a microcontroller which is coupled to at least one of the connectors of the plurality of connectors; wherein the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to the tuner; and wherein the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner.
However, Chang teaches (Fig. 2-3) a microcontroller ([0021], [0040]) which is coupled to at least one of the connectors of the plurality of connectors; wherein the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to the tuner ([0021], [0040]); and wherein the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner ([0021], [0040]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Chang to include “a microcontroller which is coupled to at least one of the connectors of the plurality of connectors; wherein the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to the tuner; and wherein the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner,” as taught by Chang, for the purpose of simplifying design and improved robustness (see also [0044]).
Regarding claim 12, Masaki teaches (Fig. 1, 5) a laptop lid (12), comprising: a circuit assembly including: a plurality of connectors (21, 22) for wired communication with a base of a laptop (11), an Rf connector (21) for wired Rf communication with the base (11), but does not specifically teach a tuner, wherein the Rf connector is couplable to the tuner, and a switch coupled to the Rf connector; and an antenna coupled to the switch of the circuit assembly, the antenna being for wireless communication, wherein the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and the antenna.
However, Chang teaches (Fig. 2-3) a tuner (314), wherein the Rf connector (304) is couplable to the tuner (312, 314); and a switch (312) coupled to the Rf connector; and an antenna (108) coupled to the switch (312) of the circuit assembly, the antenna being for wireless communication, wherein the switch (312) is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and the antenna (108).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the laptop lid of Masaki with Chang to include “a tuner, wherein the Rf connector is couplable to the tuner, and a switch coupled to the Rf connector; and an antenna coupled to the switch of the circuit assembly, the antenna being for wireless communication, wherein the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and the antenna,” as taught by Chang, for the purpose of simplifying design and improved robustness (see also [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Masaki further teaches (Fig. 5) further comprising a plurality of antennas (A, A’) for selectably coupling to the Rf connector (21).
Claims 6-8, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki in view of Chang as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Ramasamy et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0215765 A1), hereinafter known as Ramasamy.
Regarding claim 6, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to select the antenna for coupling by controlling the switch based on a signal from a sensor.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the microcontroller (232) is configured to select the antenna (222) for coupling by controlling the switch based on a signal from a sensor ([0058], [0072]-[0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “wherein the microcontroller is configured to select an antenna for coupling by controlling the switch based on a signal from a sensor,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of improving wireless performance (see also [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the sensor is for determining a laptop configuration associated with at least one of: a closed configuration, a standard open configuration, or a tent configuration.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the sensor ([0065]) is for determining a laptop configuration associated with at least one of: a closed configuration ([0070]), a standard open configuration ([0070]), or a tent configuration.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “wherein the sensor is for determining a laptop configuration associated with at least one of: a closed configuration, a standard open configuration, or a tent configuration,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of determining optimal tuning or antenna patterns (see also [0074]).
Regarding claim 8, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to: receive a control signal from the base, and control at least one of the tuner or the switch based on the control signal.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the microcontroller (232) is configured to: receive a control signal from the base (224), and control at least one of the tuner or the switch based on the control signal ([0062], [0064], [0071]-[0072]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “wherein the microcontroller is configured to: receive a control signal from the base, and control at least one of the tuner or the switch based on the control signal,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of improving pattern diversity (see also [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner by selecting an active antenna configuration from a plurality of stored configurations.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the microcontroller (232) is configured to control the tuner by selecting an active antenna configuration from a plurality of stored configurations ([0058], [0070], [0074]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “wherein the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner by selecting an active antenna configuration from a plurality of stored configurations,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of determining an optimized configuration (see also [0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Masaki does not specifically teach further comprising a tuner circuit configured to aid in controlling the antenna configuration based on stored tuner states.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) a tuner circuit (216, 202) configured to aid in controlling the antenna configuration based on stored tuner states ([0074]-[0075]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “a tuner circuit configured to aid in controlling the antenna configuration based on stored tuner states,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of determining an optimized configuration (see also [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Masaki does not specifically teach further comprising a proximity sensor coupled to a microcontroller for determining coupling of the Rf connector and the antenna.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) a proximity sensor (246) coupled to a microcontroller (232) for determining coupling of the Rf connector and the antenna ([0056], [0058]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the laptop lid of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “a proximity sensor coupled to a microcontroller for determining coupling of the Rf connector and the antenna,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of determining an optimized configuration (see also [0056]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki in view of Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Silvanto et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0113493 A1), hereinafter known as Silvanto.
Regarding claim 9, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein: the plurality of connectors is at a first end of a printed circuit board for alignment with a first hinge, and the Rf connector is at a second end of the printed circuit board for alignment with a second hinge.
However, Silvanto teaches (Fig. 2 and 3A) wherein: a plurality of connectors ([0061]) is at a first end of a printed circuit board (312) for alignment with a first hinge (202), and a connector (310) is at a second end of the printed circuit board (312) for alignment with a second hinge (210, 300).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the circuit assembly of Masaki with Silvanto to include “a Rf connector is at a second end of the printed circuit board for alignment with a second hinge,” as taught by Silvanto, for the purpose of protecting the RF connector (see also [0065]).
Claims 15-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masaki in view of Chang and Ramasamy.
Regarding claim 15, Masaki teaches (Fig. 1 and 5) A computer laptop assembly, comprising: a laptop lid (12), a laptop base (11) an Rf connector (21) through a hinge connecting the laptop base (11) to the laptop lid (12), wherein the laptop lid includes: a circuit assembly including: a plurality of connectors (21, 22) for wired communication with the base of a laptop (11), the Rf connector (21) which is configured for wired Rf communication with the laptop base (11), but does not specifically teach a modem, a tuner, wherein the Rf connector is couplable to the tuner, a microcontroller which is coupled to at least one of the plurality of connectors, wherein: the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to the tuner; and the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner, the Rf connector which is configured for wired Rf communication with the laptop base, and a switch coupled to the Rf connector; and the laptop lid further including: an antenna coupled to the switch, the antenna being for wireless communication; wherein the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and the antenna.
However, Chang teaches (Fig. 2-3) tuner (314), wherein the Rf connector (304) is couplable to the tuner (312, 314), a microcontroller ([0021], [0040]) which is coupled to at least one of the plurality of connectors, wherein: the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to the tuner ([0021], [0040]); and the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner ([0021], [0040]), the Rf connector which is configured for wired Rf communication ([0021], [0040]), and a switch (312) coupled to the Rf connector ([0021], [0040]); and the laptop lid further including: an antenna (108) coupled to the switch (312), the antenna (108) being for wireless communication; wherein the switch (312) is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and the antenna (108).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the computer laptop assembly of Masaki with Chang to include “a tuner, wherein the Rf connector is couplable to the tuner, a microcontroller which is coupled to at least one of the plurality of connectors, wherein: the microcontroller is communicatively coupled to the tuner; and the microcontroller is configured to control the tuner, the Rf connector which is configured for wired Rf communication, and a switch coupled to the Rf connector; and the laptop lid further including: an antenna coupled to the switch, the antenna being for wireless communication; wherein the switch is configured to selectably communicatively couple the Rf connector and the antenna,” as taught by Chang, for the purpose of simplifying design and improved robustness (see also [0044]).
Masaki in view of Chang does not specifically teach a modem.
However, Ramasamy teaches a modem ([0050]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the computer laptop assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “a modem,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of operating according to standards commonly used in the art (see also [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Masaki does not specifically teach further comprising a plurality of sensors in the laptop base and the laptop lid for determining a laptop configuration.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) a plurality of sensors for determining a laptop configuration ([0064]-[0065], [0070]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the computer laptop assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “a plurality of sensors for determining a laptop configuration,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of determining optimal tuning or antenna patterns (see also [0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of sensors includes at one of: a hall sensor, an accelerometer, or a gyrometer.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the plurality of sensors includes at one of: a hall sensor, an accelerometer, or a gyrometer ([0064]-[0065]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the computer laptop assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “a plurality of sensors for determining a laptop configuration,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of determining optimal tuning or antenna patterns (see also [0074]).
Regarding claim 19, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to select the antenna for coupling by controlling the switch based on a signal from a sensor.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the microcontroller (232) is configured to select an antenna (222) for coupling by controlling the switch based on a signal from a sensor ([0058], [0072]-[0073]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the computer laptop assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “wherein the microcontroller is configured to select an antenna for coupling by controlling the switch based on a signal from a sensor,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of improving wireless performance (see also [0073]).
Regarding claim 20, Masaki does not specifically teach wherein the microcontroller is configured to control at least one of the switch or the tuner based on a plurality of sensor information including sensor information associated with a laptop configuration.
However, Ramasamy teaches (Fig. 2) wherein the microcontroller (232) is configured to control at least one of the switch or the tuner (236) based on a plurality of sensor information including sensor information associated with a laptop configuration ([0058], [0070]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the computer laptop assembly of Masaki with Ramasamy to include “wherein the microcontroller is configured to control at least one of the switch or the tuner based on a plurality of sensor information including sensor information associated with a laptop configuration,” as taught by Ramasamy, for the purpose of improving wireless performance (see also [0073]).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845