DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
Applicant’s responses and amendments filed 23 June 2026 and 24 August 2026 are acknowledged and entered.
The amendments filed 23 June 2026 amended Claims 1, 6-7, and 29-30 and canceled Claims 15, 18, and 22-24. Applicant has not amended, canceled, or added any claim since the after final response filed 23 June 2026.
Response to Amendment
The advisory action dated 02 July 2026 explained that the claim objections, 112b, and 102 rejections were withdrawn.
Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the 103 rejection; the 103 rejection is maintained.
The NSDP rejections are maintained.
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are examined.
Arguments applicable to newly applied rejections to amended or newly presented claims are addressed below. Arguments that are no longer relevant are not addressed.
Rejections not reiterated here are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS(es) has been considered. See signed IDS(es).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 15 recite … the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO [#]. “Nucleotide sequence” is not defined in the Spec. so it’s interpreted according to its plain meaning: a sequence of nucleotides wherein nucleotides are organic molecules composed of a nitrogenous base, a pentose sugar and a phosphate.
THE FOLLOWING REJECTIONS ARE MAINTAINED BUT UPDATED IN RESPONSE TO THE CLAIM AMENDMENTS OF 23 June 2026 (as described in the Advisory action dated 02 July 2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over International Publication Number WO2018/007475 (published 11 January 2018, “WO475”; of record on IDS), US Patent No. 9238042 (issued 19 January 2016, “US042”; of record), and Bonora (et al. 1997. Synthesis and Characterization of High-Molecular Mass Polyethylene Glycol-Conjugated Oligonucleotides. Bioconjugate Chem. 8[6]:793–797, “Bonora”, of record).
This rejection is maintained and updated.
NOTE: all citations to WO475 and US042 cite to the p. # of the PDF document.
WO475 teaches antisense splice-switching oligonucleotides with improved characteristics that enhance clinical applicability for treating, ameliorating, and/or delaying neuromuscular disorders, such as DMD.
Regarding limitations of Claim 1: WO475 teaches (p. 89, Table 3) SEQ ID NO 4568, which is shown in the following modified excerpt of the table:
That shows that the underlined nts are LNA nts, all the linkages are PS linkages, and the AON consists of 2’-O-methyl RNA monomers. WO475 teaches (p. 9 L15-25) BNA modification comprises LNA monomers and (p. 89 L24) AONs comprising BNA mods induce much higher exon skipping:
implementation of at least one BNA scaffold-modified nucleotide (resulting in an LNA monomer) in an AON improves exon 51 skipping levels when compared to an iso-sequential AON without a BNA scaffold modification… compared to the AON without a BNA scaffold modification (SEQ ID NO 452), the AONs with LNA nucleotides induced 10- to 40-fold higher exon 51 skipping levels.
Therefore, WO475 teaches that SEQ ID NO 4568 possesses the exact nt sequence of claimed SEQ ID NO 22333 and is the same as nt sequence as claimed SEQ ID NO 22333, down to the modification (i.e., some limitations of Claim 1). Note that while the claims do not verbally recite that the AON comprises 2’-OMe mods, the SEQ Listing and instant Spec. disclose (¶360) SEQ ID NO 22333 comprises 2’-OMe mods linked by PS linkages.
The following alignments show that WO475 SEQ ID NO 4568 has the exact same nt sequence as instant SEQ ID NO 22333:
BET81395
ID BET81395 standard; RNA; 18 BP.
XX
AC BET81395;
XX
DT 22-FEB-2018 (first entry)
XX
DE Human dystrophin (DMD) gene exon 51 skipping antisense oligo, SEQ 4568.
XX
KW DMD gene; Dystrophin gene; antisense oligonucleotide; antisense therapy;
KW becker muscular dystrophy; duchenne dystrophy; gene regulation;
KW genetic disorder; genetic-disease-gen.; growth-disorder-gen.;
KW locked nucleic acid; muscular-gen.; neuroprotective; phosphorothioate;
KW prophylactic to disease; spinal muscular atrophy; splice-switching; ss;
KW therapeutic.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Synthetic.
XX
FH Key Location/Qualifiers
FT modified_base 1..2
FT /*tag= a
FT /mod_base= OTHER
FT /note= "OTHER = BNA scaffold modified base"
FT modified_base 6
FT /*tag= b
FT /mod_base= OTHER
FT /note= "OTHER = BNA scaffold modified base"
FT modified_base 18
FT /*tag= c
FT /mod_base= OTHER
FT /note= "OTHER = BNA scaffold modified base"
XX
CC PN WO2018007475-A1.
XX
CC PD 11-JAN-2018.
XX
CC PF 05-JUL-2017; 2017WO-EP066845.
XX
PR 05-JUL-2016; 2016EP-00177973.
XX
CC PA (BIOM-) BIOMARIN TECHNOLOGIES BV.
XX
CC PI Van Deutekom JC, De Visser PC;
XX
DR WPI; 2018-02968E/08.
XX
CC PT Oligonucleotide for composition used for preventing, treating or delaying
CC PT e.g. Duchene muscular dystrophy comprises substituted monomers linked by
CC PT phosphorothioate and/or phosphodiester linkages, and monomer containing
CC PT bicyclic nucleic acid.
XX
CC PS Example 3; SEQ ID NO 4568; 107pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to pre-mRNA splice switching or modulating
CC oligonucleotides with bicyclic scaffold moieties, useful in preventing,
CC treating or delaying genetic disorders. The antisense splice-switching
CC oligonucleotides comprise substituted monomers linked by phosphorothioate
CC and/or phosphodiester linkages, and monomers containing bicyclic nucleic
CC acids. The antisense splice-switching oligonucleotides have improved
CC characteristics and enhanced clinical applicability, useful in treating
CC Duchene muscular dystrophy, Becker muscular dystrophy and spinal muscular
CC dystrophy. The invention also provides a composition comprising the
CC antisense splice-switching oligonucleotide; and a method for preventing
CC and treating Duchene muscular dystrophy by administering the
CC oligonucleotide or the composition to a subject. Using the antisense
CC splice-switching oligonucleotides binding affinity to target strands is
CC increased, immunostimulatory effects are decreased, and biodistribution,
CC intra-tissue distribution and cellular uptake is improved. The present
CC sequence is a human dystrophin (DMD) gene exon 51 skipping antisense
CC oligo used in the therapeutic/prophylactic methods of the invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 18 BP; 4 A; 4 C; 5 G; 0 T; 5 U; 0 Other;
2 18 100.0 18 BET77417 -- 509 Human dystrophin (DMD) gene exon 51 skipping antisense oligo, SEQ 590.
ALIGNMENT:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 18; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18 SEQ ID NO 22333
||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18 WO475 SEQ ID NO 4568
The image of Table 3 above shows that the mods of SEQ ID NO 4568 are the exact same mods as SEQ ID NO 22333. Here is a snapshot of a portion of WO475 Table 3 right above a modified snapshot of the instant application’s Table 1 and relevant text. The snapshots show the sequences and mod patterns are identical:
Therefore, WO475 teaches limitations of Claim 1 besides for the 5’-terminal triethylene glycol (TEG).
Regarding Claim some limitations of Claims 16 and 29-30: WO475 also teaches (p. 68 L20-25) the composition can be used as a medicament and can comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
WO475 teaches that (p. 13 L20-40) their invention provides an oligo that preferably… consists of 2’-O-methyl RNA monomers connected through a PS… backbone. The same passage teaches that all uracils of the AON have been substituted by … 5-methyluracil.
WO475 does not teach that the AON consists of an AON and one TEG group at the 5’-terminus (Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30).
However, US042, drawn to antisense oligos for modulating a different target, teaches appending TEG to an AON. US042 teaches (Col 3 L45-61) the AONs of their invention can be splice-switching AONs and can include LNA:
There are several antisense or RNA interference chemistries available and known to those skilled in the art. One important feature of certain antisense chemistries is the ability to hybridize to a target RNA without causing degradation of the target by RNase H, as with 2'-deoxy oligonucleotides (“antisense oligonucleotides” hereafter “AON”). Such compounds may also be referred to as splice-switching oligomers (SSOs) if they alter pre-mRNA splicing and translation suppressing oligomers (TSOs) if they block mRNA translation. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that TSOs and SSOs include, but are not limited to, 2' O-modified oligonucleotides and ribonucleosidephosphorothioates as well as peptide nucleic acids (PNA), morpholinos, locked nucleic acids (LNA), and other polymers lacking ribofuranosyl-based linkages. [emphasis added.]
Regarding the claimed 5’-terminal TEG of the claims: US042 teaches (Col 34-35 L58-5) a short-interfering RNA (siRNA) (i.e., an AON is a species of siRNA) can be modified to stabilize one or more 3’- or 5’-termini and such modifications can be non-nucleotidic compounds including TEG. Furthermore, US042’s Fig. 1b shows an ethylene glycol appended to the 5’-terminus of an AON.
US042 also teaches (Col 27 L1-45) adding chemical moieties to improve an AON and teaches the moieties may be covalently attached. As discussed US042 teaches TEG is one such moiety as it increases resistance to nucleases. US042 teaches (same §) linkages that include PO and PS linkages.
Altogether, US042 teaches splice-switching AONs and placing TEG on either of the 3’- or 5’-termini of an AON.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the splice-switching AON for inducing splice switching in exon 51 to treat DMD, wherein the AON comprises SEQ ID NO 4568 of WO475 with the 5’- (or 3’-) terminal TEGs of US042 for the benefit of stabilizing the AON against exonucleases. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US042 teaches placing a TEG at either terminus can stabilize the AON against nucleases. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because WO475 teaches (p. 3 L20-25) modifying AONs to resist nucleases and an artisan would have readily realized that the 3’- or 5’-terminal TEGs of US042 are yet another way to protect the AON. One would have been motivated to choose WO475’s SEQ ID NO 4568 out of all the sequences in that document because WO475 teaches (p. 43 L20-21) SEQ ID NO 4568 is one of only 10 most preferred sequences. Modifying the splice-switching AON comprising SEQ ID NO 4568 of WO875 with the 3’- or 5’-terminal TEGs of US042 would have produced all the limitations of Claims 1 and 16.
WO475 and US042 do not explicitly teach that the TEG is attached to the AON through a PO or PS linkage (i.e., Claims 6-7 and 29-30).
However, Bonora, drawn to synthesis and characterization of polyethylene glycol-conjugated oligonucleotides, teaches conjugating a polyethylene glycol moiety to the 3’ end of an antisense oligo. That is shown in this excerpt of Fig. 1:
That figure shows that MPEG is linked to the AON via a PO linkage (a limitation of Claim 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AON wherein the AON comprises a 5’- (or 3’-) terminal TEG of WO475 and US042 with the PO linkage that attaches a terminal ethylene glycol moiety of Bonora for the benefit of improving stability of the molecule (i.e., the TEG of US042) and doing so using a linkage known to be suitable for attaching an ethylene glycol moiety to an AON (i.e., the PO of Bonora). One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US042 teaches stabilizing an AON by placing a 3’- or 5’-terminal TEG and because Bonora shows that their larger ethylene glycol moiety (PEG) was attached using a PO linkage indicating that adding an ethylene glycol moiety to an AON via a PO linkage was routine and customary. An artisan would have understood that they could use the same linkage that Bonora used to attach a larger PEG moiety to attach a smaller TEG moiety because PEG is merely a form of ethylene glycol that incorporates more subunits but that both TEG and PEG have the same atoms available to link to a PO linkage. Modifying the AON comprising a 5’- (or 3’-) terminal TEG of WO475 and US042 by attaching it via a PO linkage of Bonora would have produced the limitations of Claims 6 and 29.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the TEG of US042 to the AON of WO475, US042, and Bonora via the PS linkage of WO475 for the benefit of producing a stable molecule. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because WO475 allows for—even prefers—PS linkages, as described in WO475 (p. 44 L20-30) which discloses preferred embodiments comprising the SEQ ID NOs 4565 and 4568 linked by only PS backbone linkages, and because artisans know that (WO475 p. 13 L20-35) PS linkages are more stable than natural PO linkages. Attaching the TEG group to the AON of WO475, US042, and Bonora using the PS linkage of WO475 would have produced the limitations of Claims 7 and 30.
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO475, US042, and Bonora as applied to Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 above, and further in view of Gaziova (et al. 2014. Chemically defined polyethylene glycol siRNA conjugates with enhanced gene silencing effect. Bioorg. Medicin. Chem. 22:2320-2326, “Gaziova”, of record).
WO475, US042, and Bonora teach a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of a nt sequence that is exactly the same as the nt sequence of claimed SEQ ID NO 22333, wherein a TEG group is attached to the 5’-terminus of the AON.
US042 teaches 5’-terminal TEG stabilizes an oligont against nucleases.
WO475, US042, and Bonora do not teach yet another reason to apply TEG.
However, Gaziova, drawn to PEG–siRNA conjugates with enhanced gene silencing effects teaches (§Abstract) therapeutic application of RNAi can suffer from poor bioavailability caused by rapid degradation and elimination but that a PEG comprising only 12 ethylene glycol units enhances the pharmacokinetic properties of such RNAi biomacromolecules.
Gaziova teaches (§3. Discussion ¶1) PEGylation increases circulation time and masks immunostimulatory effects of modified oligonucleotides. Gaziova teaches (§3. Discussion ¶2) PEG can reduce RNAi potency but that reduction in potency is proportional to length of the PEG chains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the TEG of US042 to the AON of WO475, US042, and Bonora specifically for the specific benefits taught by Gaziova: increasing circulation time and masking immunostimulatory effects. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because WO475 teaches (p. 8 L8-11) modifying their AON to decrease immunostimulatory effects and increase biostability and because Gaziova teaches PEG, including short PEG, produces the outcomes of increased biostability and masking of immunostimulatory effects. Gaziova’s teaching that reduction in potency is proportional to length of the PEG chains would have motivated an artisan to use the shorter triethylene species of PEG disclosed by US042. Therefore, the outcome of a TEGylated AON reducing immunostimulatory effects vs the same AON without TEG would have been obvious in view of WO475, US042, Bonora, and Gaziova. Therefore, all limitations of Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 would have been obvious in view of WO475, US042, Bonora, and Gaziova.
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO475, US042, and Bonora as applied to Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 above, and further in view of Tateishi-Karimata (et al. 2016. G-Quadruplexes with Tetra(ethylene glycol)-Modified Deoxythymidines are Resistant to Nucleases and Inhibit HIV-1 Reverse Transcriptase. ChemBioChem 17:1399, “Karimata”).
This rejection is new.
WO475, US042, and Bonora teach a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of a nt sequence that is exactly the same as the nt sequence of claimed SEQ ID NO 22333, wherein a TEG group is attached to the 5’-terminus of the AON.
US042 teaches 5’-terminal TEG stabilizes an oligont against nucleases.
WO475, US042, and Bonora do not teach yet another reason to apply TEG.
However, Karimata teaches modifying oligonucleotides with tetraethylene glycol stabilizes the nucleic acid relative to unmodified nucleic acid. Karimata teaches:
(§Abstract) the TEG-modified G-quadruplexes were stabilized relative to unmodified DNA and TEG-modified deoxythymidines protected the DNA oligonucleotide from degradation by various nucleases in human serum. Thus, DNA oligonucleotides modified with TEG have potential in therapeutic applications.
Karimata teaches (§Main text ¶2-3 and final two ¶) nucleic acids are unstable because nucleases degrade them in serum and in cells but that PEGs of various lengths facilitate oligont uptake into mammalian cells, enhance pharmacokinetics, and provide nuclease resistance through steric hindrance that inhibits nuclease binding.
Karimata teaches the mechanism by which PEGs of various lengths, including US042’s TEG and their own tetraethylene glycol (also called TEG by Karimata, further referred to as “TEG4”), impart nuclease resistance: steric hindrance that inhibits nuclease binding. That is a generic mechanism that will always be expected to protect any nucleic acid from nucleases, no matter what kind of nucleic acid is linked to the TEG or TEG4 or PEG.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the TEG of US042 to the AON of WO475, US042, and Bonora specifically for the specific benefits taught by Karimata: protecting the nucleic acid from nucleases. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because WO475 teaches (p. 12 L20-27) including in their AON a modification to provide the RNA with nuclease protection and increased stability in a bodily fluid and Karimata teaches PEG and TEG4 do exactly that. Karimata indicates TEG4 increases stability against nucleases and teaches using any PEG to increase stability against nucleases; since US042 teaches 5’-terminal TEG for just that purpose, it would have been obvious to try using 5’-terminal TEG on WO475’s AON.
Therefore, all limitations of Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 would have been obvious in view of WO475, US042, Bonora, and Karimata.
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO475, US042, Bonora and Gaziova as applied to Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 in the 103 rejection above, and further in view of Kilanowska (and Studzinska. 2018. In vivo and in vitro studies of antisense oligonucleotides – a review. RSC Adv. 10:34501, “Kilanowska”, of record).
This rejection is maintained and updated.
The teachings of WO475, US042, Bonora, and Gaziova as applicable to Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 have been described above.
WO475, US042, Bonora and Gaziova teach a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of one AON and a 5’-terminal TEG wherein the antisense oligonucleotide comprises SEQ ID NO 22333
WO475, US042, Bonora and Gaziova do not teach yet another reason to apply TEG.
However, Kilanowska, drawn to a review about AON, teaches that (§3. FDA/EMA approved antisense Therapies-3.10 Golodirsen [Vyondys 53™], Table 1) the FDA has approved the drug Golodirsen which is a 25-mer ASO for treating DMD. Kilanowska teaches that Golodirsen has a triethylene chain at its 5’end. That would have indicated to an artisan that the triethylene chain of Kilanowska is commonly used in exon-skipping AONs.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AON of WO475, US042, Bonora and Gaziova with the 5’ TEG of Kilanowska for the benefit of improving stability of an AON using a moiety that is comprised by an FDA approved drug that treats the same condition as the AON sequences of WO475. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because Kilanowska teaches that Golodirsen is an AON drug for treating DMD that comprises a triethylene chain at its 5’ end, and the AON of WO875, US042, Bonora and Gaziova is also an AON for exon skipping. Modifying the hydroxyalkoxylated AON of WO475, US042, Bonora and Gaziova with the 5’ TEG of Kilanowska would have produced the limitations of Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of US Pat No. 12331293 (reference application, “US293”) in view of International Publication Number WO2018/007475 (published 11 January 2018, “WO475”; of record on IDS). All references are of record. This rejection is maintained and updated.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to (Claim 1) a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of an ASO and a TEG group, wherein the AON consists of the nt sequence of SEQ ID NO 22333 and the 5’-terminal monomer of the AON is linked to the TEG group, to (Claims 6-7) the AON wherein the TEG group can be attached to the AON through a PO or PS linker, and to (Claims 16 and 29-30) pharmaceutical compositions comprising the AON consisting of the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333 or the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333-PO or -PS.
The issued US293 claims are directed to a compound comprising first and second AONs linked by a linking moiety wherein the first AON consists of the base sequence of SEQ ID NO 14; wherein the linking moiety can be a PEG, TEG, or HEG; wherein the AON comprises various modifications including BNA or LNA scaffold mods.
An artisan would not know what is instant SEQ ID NO 22333 or US293 SEQ ID NO 14 so they would go to each SEQ listing and find that those are identical sequences, as shown by the following alignment:
US-17-309-140A-14
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 18; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
Therefore, both claim sets are directed to AONs comprising the same sequence and a TEG moiety. Even though the App140 claims recite a first and second AON, an artisan would have known they could use each piece individually. Furthermore, the SEQ listings show that at least US293 SEQ ID NO 15980 (claimed in App140 Claim 12) has the exact same modifications as instant SEQ ID NO 22333. Therefore, it would not be possible to use the compounds of the US293 without the compounds of the instant claims.
Furthermore, although the US293 claims don’t explicitly recite using TEGylated SEQ ID NO 14 by itself, an artisan would have known that they could do so because WO475 teaches (p. 89, Table 3; p. 9 L15-25; p. 89 L24; p. 68 L20-25) using that nucleic acid sequence to induce skipping of exon 51. Therefore, the instant claims would have been obvious in view of the US293 claims and WO475.
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-14 of copending Application No. 18179064 (reference application, “App064”) in view of US Patent No. 9238042 (issued 19 January 2016, “US042”, of record), Bonora (et al. 1997. Synthesis and Characterization of High-Molecular Mass Polyethylene Glycol-Conjugated Oligonucleotides. Bioconjugate Chem. 8[6]:793–797, “Bonora”, of record), Gaziova (et al. 2014. Chemically defined polyethylene glycol siRNA conjugates with enhanced gene silencing effect. Bioorg. Medicin. Chem. 22:2320-2326, “Gaziova”) and Tateishi-Karimata (et al. 2016. G-Quadruplexes with Tetra(ethylene glycol)-Modified Deoxythymidines are Resistant to Nucleases and Inhibit HIV-1 Reverse Transcriptase. ChemBioChem 17:1399, “Karimata”).
This rejection is updated.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to (Claim 1) a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of an ASO and a TEG group, wherein the AON consists of the nt sequence of SEQ ID NO 22333 and the 5’-terminal monomer of the AON is linked to the TEG group, to (Claims 6-7) the AON wherein the TEG group can be attached to the AON through a PO or PS linker, and to (Claims 16 and 29-30) pharmaceutical compositions comprising the AON consisting of the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333 or the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333-PO or -PS.
The copending App064 claims are directed to an AON comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NOs including SEQ ID NO 4568 (recited in App064 Claim 12) wherein the AON has a fully PS backbone, at last one 5-methyl C, and at least one BNA mod; wherein the AON can have other mods; and to methods of using the AON to treat DMD.
An artisan would not know what is claimed SEQ ID NO 22333 or App064 SEQ ID NO 4568 so they would consult the SEQ listing and find that the sequence are identical, as shown by the following alignment:
US-18-179-064-4568
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 72.2%;
Matches 13; Conservative 5; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
||:|||::|:|:||||||
Db 1 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 18
Furthermore, they wouldn’t know what is instant SEQ ID NO 22333 so they would consult the SEQ listing and find that it is identical to the sequence and mod pattern shown in App064 Claim 12. Therefore, both claim sets are directed to AONs comprising the same sequence.
The App064 claims don’t teach a TEG.
US042 teaches (Col 3 L45-61) splice-switching AONs that can include LNA and that (Col 34-35 L58-5) a short-interfering RNA (siRNA) (i.e., an AON is a species of siRNA) can be modified to stabilize one or more 3’- or 5’-terminus and such modifications can be non-nucleotidic compounds including triethylene glycol or hexaethylene glycol. Bonora, drawn to synthesis and characterization of polyethylene glycol-conjugated oligonucleotides, teaches a PEG linked to an AON via a PO linkage. That is shown in this excerpt of Fig. 1:
In addition, Gaziova teaches (§Abstract; §3. Discussion ¶1-2) pharmacokinetic, immunological, and persistence benefits of using PEG chains and, specifically, shorter PEG chains. Karimata teaches PEGs of various lengths and specifically TEG4 increase oligonucleotide resistance to nucleases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AON of the App064 claims with the terminal TEG of US042, Gaziova, and Karimata and attach it with the PO linkage of Bonora for the benefits of improving stability of the molecule, masking immunostimulatory effects, and increasing circulation time. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US042 teaches adding a terminal TEG to improve nuclease resistance (which indicates that conjugating TEG to the AON improves its stability), Gaziova teaches doing so to mask immunostimulatory effects and increase circulation time, and Karimata teaches PEGs of various lengths and specifically TEG4 increase oligonucleotide resistance to nucleases. One would have attached the TEG via a PS linkage because US042 teaches (Col 25, 27) attaching moieties and PS linkages.
Therefore, it would not be possible to use the compounds of the instant claims without the compounds of the App064 claims, US042, Bonora, Gaziova, and Karimata.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 28-31 of copending Application No. 18192480 (“App480”) in view of WO475, US042, Bonora, Gaziova, and Karimata.
This rejection is updated.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to (Claim 1) a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of an ASO and a TEG group, wherein the AON consists of the nt sequence of SEQ ID NO 22333 and the 5’-terminal monomer of the AON is linked to the TEG group, to (Claims 6-7) the AON wherein the TEG group can be attached to the AON through a PO or PS linker, and to (Claims 16 and 29-30) pharmaceutical compositions comprising the AON consisting of the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333 or the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333-PO or -PS.
The copending App480 claims are directed to an AON comprising or consisting of the sequence of SEQ ID NOs including SEQ ID NO 79; wherein the AON has at least one modification and can have various modifications including LNAs; and to methods of inducing skipping of exon 51 in a subject with DMD.
An artisan would not know what is instant SEQ ID NO 22333 or App480 SEQ ID NO 79 so they would go to each SEQ listing and find that those are identical sequences, as shown by the following alignment:
US-18-192-480-79
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 72.2%;
Matches 13; Conservative 5; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
||:|||::|:|:||||||
Db 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
Therefore, both claim sets are directed to AONs comprising the same sequence.
The App480 claims do not recite the specific mod pattern of instant SEQ ID NO 22333 or TEG, but those are in the prior art.
WO475, also directed to AONs for skipping exon 51, teaches (p. 89, Table 3) SEQ ID NO 4568 which has the exact same modification pattern. WO475 teaches (p. 43 L20-21) SEQ ID NO 4568 is one of only 10 most preferred sequences. In addition, those modifications are encompassed by the App480 claims. Therefore, an artisan would have been motivated to modify the AON of the App480 claims with the mod pattern of WO475 SEQ ID NO 4568 for the benefit of using a specific AON sequence that comes highly recommended.
US042 teaches (Col 3 L45-61) splice-switching AONs that can include LNA and that (Col 34-35 L58-5) a short-interfering RNA (siRNA) (i.e., an AON is a species of siRNA) can be modified to stabilize one or more 3’- or 5’-terminus and such modifications can be non-nucleotidic compounds including triethylene glycol or hexaethylene glycol. Bonora, drawn to synthesis and characterization of polyethylene glycol-conjugated oligonucleotides, teaches a PEG linked to an AON via a PO linkage. That is shown in this excerpt of Fig. 1:
In addition, Gaziova teaches (§Abstract; §3. Discussion ¶1-2) pharmacokinetic, immunological, and persistence benefits of using PEG chains and, specifically, shorter PEG chains. Karimata teaches PEGs of various lengths and specifically TEG4 increase oligonucleotide resistance to nucleases.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the AON of the App480 claims with the modifications of WO475 and the terminal TEG of US042, Gaziova, and Karimata and attach it with the PO linkage of Bonora for the benefits of using a preferred sequence and mods, improving stability of the molecule, masking immunostimulatory effects, and increasing circulation time. One would have been motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success because US042 teaches adding a terminal TEG to improve nuclease resistance (which indicates that conjugating TEG to the AON improves its stability), Gaziova teaches doing so to mask immunostimulatory effects and increase circulation time, and Karimata teaches PEGs of various lengths and specifically TEG4 increase oligonucleotide resistance to nucleases. One would have attached the TEG via a PS linkage because US042 teaches (Col 25, 27) attaching moieties and PS linkages.
Therefore, it would not be possible to use the compounds of the App480 without the compounds of the instant claims, and it would not be possible to use the compounds of the instant claims without the compounds that would have been obvious in view of the App480 claims and WO475, US042, Bonora, Gaziova, and Karimata.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-18 of copending Application No. 18311789 (reference application, “App789”).
This rejection is updated.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to (Claim 1) a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of an ASO and a TEG group, wherein the AON consists of the nt sequence of SEQ ID NO 22333 and the 5’-terminal monomer of the AON is linked to the TEG group, to (Claims 6-7) the AON wherein the TEG group can be attached to the AON through a PO or PS linker, and to (Claims 16 and 29-30) pharmaceutical compositions comprising the AON consisting of the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333 or the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333-PO or -PS.
The copending App789 claims are directed to a method of treating a subject with DMD by administering to the subject AON1 at certain doses and/or intervals.
An artisan would not know what is instant SEQ ID NO 22333 or App789 AON1 so they would go to the SEQ listing and the App789 Spec. and find that (¶32) they comprise identical sequences, as shown by the following alignment:
US-18-311-789-1
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 72.2%;
Matches 13; Conservative 5; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
||:|||::|:|:||||||
Db 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
Furthermore, App789 defines (¶32) that AON1 comprises a TEG at its 5’end and the same modifications as instant SEQ ID NO 22333. An artisan wouldn’t necessarily know what linkages are encompassed by App789’s “phosphate group” so they would go to the Spec. and find (¶31) that means a phosphate (PO) or phosphorothioate (PS) linkage. Therefore, both claim sets are directed to AONs comprising the same sequence and a TEG moiety.
Therefore, it would not be possible to use the compounds of the instant claims without the compounds of the App789 claimed methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-42 of copending Application No. 19205950 (reference application, “App950”) in view of WO475.
This rejection is updated.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are directed to (Claim 1) a hydroxyalkoxylated AON consisting of an ASO and a TEG group, wherein the AON consists of the nt sequence of SEQ ID NO 22333 and the 5’-terminal monomer of the AON is linked to the TEG group, to (Claims 6-7) the AON wherein the TEG group can be attached to the AON through a PO or PS linker, and to (Claims 16 and 29-30) pharmaceutical compositions comprising the AON consisting of the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333 or the TEGylated AON of SEQ ID NO 22333-PO or -PS.
The copending App950 claims are directed to compounds for exon skipping and a method of treating a subject with DMD by administering to the compounds. The compounds comprise certain sequences and can comprise a TEG and a BNA. App950 claim 17 recites the compound comprises the base sequence of SEQ ID NO 14. App950 claims recite different modification patterns that encompass the same modification pattern as claimed SEQ ID NO 22333.
An artisan would not know what is instant SEQ ID NO 22333 or App950 SEQ ID NO 14 so they would go to the SEQ listing and the App950 Spec. and find that they comprise identical sequences, as shown by the following alignment:
US-19-205-950-14
Query Match 100.0%; Score 18; DB 1; Length 18;
Best Local Similarity 72.2%;
Matches 13; Conservative 5; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GGUAAGUUCUGUCCAAGC 18
||:|||::|:|:||||||
Db 1 GGTAAGTTCTGTCCAAGC 18
Therefore, both claim sets are directed to AONs comprising the same sequence and a TEG moiety. Even though the copending claims recite a first and second AON, an artisan would have known they could use each piece individually.
Furthermore, although the App950 claims don’t explicitly recite using TEGylated SEQ ID NO 14 by itself, an artisan would have known that they could do so because WO475 teaches (p. 89, Table 3; p. 9 L15-25; p. 89 L24; p. 68 L20-25) using that nucleic acid sequence to induce skipping of exon 51. Therefore, the instant claims would have been obvious in view of the App950 claims and WO475. In addition, instant Claim 15 now recites only the AON nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO 22345 and that is recited (although it’s called by a different SEQ ID NO) in the copending claims.
Therefore, it would not be possible to use the compounds of the App950 without the compounds of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 and 24 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Each 24 August 2026 argument and the June arguments are addressed under the appropriate heading below. p. # and ¶1 refer to the first full ¶ on a page of Applicant’s remarks.
Arguments that are no longer relevant are not addressed.
103
Applicant argues against the 103 rejection on pp. 5-8 of the response filed 24 August 2026 and pp. 4-18 of the response filed 23 June 2026.
In general, the arguments aren’t found persuasive because the art (US042, Gaziova, and Karimata) teaches PEGylation—including short PEG species, TEG and TEG4—inhibits nucleases which increases circulation time. An artisan would have expected that increased accumulation in the heart or another tissue would be an inevitable outcome of PEG’s known functions. Longer half-life, better uptake, increased circulation time, and nuclease inhibition would all allow a molecule to persist longer in the body which increases the likelihood that it will reach (and be taken up by) an organ.
As stated previously, some benefits would have been expected when adding a TEG to any AON simply based on the teachings of US042 and Karimata that TEG and TEG4 protect against nucleases and of Gaziova that PEG increases circulation time and masks immunostimulatory effects. Protection from nucleases allows the TEG-AON to persist in the blood stream and the longer it persists, the more likely it will accumulate in the heart.
Applicant argues (p. 6 ¶2) the effect of ASO backbone on PEG/TEG moiety is unpredictable and depends on several variables. Applicant argues (p. 6 ¶3) Shokrzadeh’s PEG has no effect on a compound comprising a PO backbone but induces higher silencing activity when attached to a compound comprising a PS backbone. Applicant argues those results are inconsistent with Examiner’s assertion that benefits imparted by TEG have nothing to do with any particular nucleotide sequence.
Those arguments aren’t persuasive because the rejection asserts that it would have been obvious to link the TEG of US042 to the AON of WO475. WO475’s AON has as PS backbone, so based on Shokrzadeh’s data (where PEG induces higher silencing activity when attached to a compound comprising a PS backbone), a person of ordinary skill would have expected TEG to improve gene silencing. Furthermore, the rejection now discusses Karimata who teaches an oligont attached to TEG4 which is a small PEG very close in size to the claimed TEG. Karimata teaches “PEGs of various lengths” have positive effects including providing nuclease resistance via steric hindrance.
Regarding the prior assertion about TEG’s effects having nothing to do with any particular nucleotide sequence, that should now be amended to “TEG’s effects having nothing to do with any particular nucleoside sequence”.
Regarding sequence effects, Applicant also argues that (p. 7 ¶2) the Gaziova reference demonstrates these allegedly “sequence-specific” effects of TEG. However, those arguments aren’t persuasive because Gaziova teaches later in that ¶ (§3. Discussion ¶5, see p. 2324, top right) that they were only able to observe PEG-induced improvements in the CXCR4-targeting siRNA because it was less efficacious than the anti-bcl-2 siRNA. Specifically, Gaziova teaches:
In contrast to the highly active anti-bcl-2 siRNA (1+2), the wild-type CRCX4-targeted sequence (7+8) is only moderately efficient with a depletion of the corresponding mRNA of less than 74%. This value leaves some room for improvement, and the sense conjugate duplex (7+10) showed enhanced potency (83% mRNA reduction). A similar effect is arguably inherently impossible for those sequences that are already highly efficient in their unmodified form, as is the case for the bcl-2 targeted siRNA 1+2. [emphasis added]
In any case, Gaziova’s teaching doesn’t detract from Karimata’s teaching that PEG of various lengths (including their short TEG4) prevent nuclease degradation via a generic mechanism: steric hindrance. As explained in the 103 rejection, that is a generic mechanism that will always be expected to protect any nucleic acid from nucleases, no matter what kind of nucleic acid is linked to the TEG or TEG4 or PEG.
Regarding the arguments (p. 7 ¶2) that Ikeda teaches that RNA conjugated to PEG at the 5’-terminus had a shorter half-life than RNA conjugated at the 3’-terminus, Ikeda teaches (§PEGYLATION OF NUCLEIC ACID-Oligonucleotide PEGylation ¶3) the increased stability may be attributed to the rigid cyclopentyl structure joining PEG and RNA in the novel conjugate, which might enable more effective shielding of the RNA by PEG. Ikeda’s statement indicates that 5’- or 3’- attachment for PEG doesn’t matter as much as the physical structure of the molecule and the steric hindrance that PEG provides to prevent nuclease attack. Notably, steric hindrance that inhibits nuclease binding is the same mechanism Karimata teaches is responsible for increasing nucleic acid stability in serum.
Furthermore, the source publication cited by Ikeda (i.e., Ikeda et al. 2012. Facile solid-phase synthesis of a highly stable poly(ethylene glycol)–oligonucleotide conjugate. J. Mater. Chem. B. 1[4]:529, “Ikeda2”) teaches (§Abstract) PEGylation at the 5’-terminus is widely used. That indicates that 5’-terminal TEGylation would have been obvious to try. Since Ikeda doesn’t show serum stability of non-PEGylated nucleotides (Fig. 2; see also Ikeda2 Fig. 5), it is not clear that 5’-PEGylation is detrimental (i.e., a true “teaching away”) or just that Ikeda’s 3’-PEGylation via a cyclopentyl structure was better in their experiments. Since Ikeda didn’t compare the include non-PEGylated AON in their comparison, it is not possible to determine that 5’-terminal TEG does not improve stability. And, US042 teaches 5’-PEGylation to increase nuclease resistance, Ikeda2 teaches 5’-PEGylation is widely used, and Karimata teaches a general mechanism by which PEGylation, including short TEG4, imparts nuclease resistance; all of those references indicate that 5’-PEGylation is beneficial.
Therefore, an artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in improving nuclease resistance of an AON by linking a TEG to its 5’-end.
Applicant’s arguments (p. 8 ¶1) are not persuasive because specifically Karimata teaches a general mechanism by which short TEG4 increases stability in serum: steric hindrance prevents nuclease binding. Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Karimata indicates that PEGylation intrinsically increases oligont stability. Since Shokrzadeh reports PEGylation of an oligont comprising a PS backbone, an artisan would have been motivated to add any PEG of various lengths (including short TEG4 of Karimata or the shorter TEG of US042) to WO475’s PS-backboned AON. Since Ikeda teaches “shielding” (i.e., steric hindrance) is responsible for the increase they saw, an artisan would have understood that is a general mechanism, particularly in view of Karimata. As discussed above, Gaziova noted that they were not able to perceive further improvements to the bcl-2 ASO because it already performed so well.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments about unexpected results (p. 8 ¶3 and 23 June 2026 Remarks pp. 13-18, ¶ numbering starts at §C), those aren’t persuasive. Applicant asserts (p. 13 ¶1) the data “demonstrate improvements that go far beyond what nuclease resistance would predict” but they don’t describe what extent of improvements one would expect from improving nuclease resistance, how an artisan would make that determination, or how one would determine what goes beyond that amount.
ATTORNEY ARGUMENTS CANNOT TAKE THE PLACE OF EVIDENCE
The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965). Examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration include statements regarding unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, inoperability of the prior art, invention before the date of the reference, and allegations that the author(s) of the prior art derived the disclosed subject matter from the inventor or at least one joint inventor.
See MPEP § 2145 generally for case law pertinent to the consideration of applicant’s rebuttal arguments.
MPEP §716.01(c)
Regarding the June arguments (pp. 13-17 ¶2-3 and p. 18 ¶1-3), Applicant hasn’t demonstrated that increased cardiac accumulation and retention translate to a clinical outcome (i.e., improved gait score) or an outcome that has a clinical effect (i.e., increased % exon skipping or % WT dystrophin). In contrast, the result in Oppeneer1 (“Targeting a novel site…”) Fig. 3I (gait score) shows that the claimed composition performs similarly to Comparator 2. It is not possible to accurately compare the gait score performance with the parent compound (shown in Fig. 2H) because Fig. 3I doesn’t show scores for 4 weeks and Fig. 2H’s y-axis doesn’t show numbers between 0 and 5. Still, a “best as possible” comparison between the data for parent AON-C12 @18 mg/kg QW with BMN351 @18 mg/kg QW shows the compounds improve gait score to a similar extent. Furthermore, Oppeneer1’s Fig. 3F shows that the percent of WT dystrophin in heart is similar to Comparator 2 and similar to the percent of WT dystrophin in heart of individuals treated with parent compound (see Fig. 2F). Similarly, Oppeneer1’s Figs. 3D and 2D show percent exon skipping between parent and claimed compounds are roughly the same, ≈45% % exon skipping and ≈20% WT dystrophin for both. Oppeneer2 (“BMN 351-induced…”) shows (Fig. 3) similar extents of improvement as what Oppeneer1 shows. Similarly, and regarding Applicant’s June arguments (pp. 16-17 ¶2-3 and p. 18 ¶1-3), van Deutekom shows (Fig. 5) similar % exon skipping and % DMD outcomes between AON-C19 (the instantly claimed compound) and the closest prior art, AON-C12. That means that increased accumulation of AON in heart doesn’t produce truly “unexpected” result in terms of exon skipping, functional DMD, and benefits to patients.
Altogether, the results in Oppeneer1/2 references were expected, not unexpected. An unexpected result must be a substantial difference in degree or a “difference in kind” per MPEP §716.02:
The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (differences in sedative and anticholinergic effects between prior art and claimed antidepressants were not unexpected). In In re Waymouth, 499 F.2d 1273, 1276, 182 USPQ 290, 293 (CCPA 1974), the court held that unexpected results for a claimed range as compared with the range disclosed in the prior art had been shown by a demonstration of "a marked improvement, over the results achieved under other ratios, as to be classified as a difference in kind, rather than one of degree." Compare In re Wagner, 371 F.2d 877, 884, 152 USPQ 552, 560 (CCPA 1967) (differences in properties cannot be disregarded on the ground they are differences in degree rather than in kind); Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) ("we generally consider a discussion of results in terms of ‘differences in degree’ as compared to ‘differences in kind’ . . . to have very little meaning in a relevant legal sense"). See also UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs, UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 693, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023) ("A difference of degree is not as persuasive as a difference in kind – i.e., if the range produces ‘"a new property dissimilar to the known property,’" rather than producing a predictable result but to an unexpected extent.") [emphasis added]
In this case, the differences in degree are not deemed to amount to a difference in kind. In Oppeneer1, BMN351 (Fig. 3B) was administered at 18 mg on a weekly basis. That is compared with weekly 18 mg in Figure 2B, which shows an average of about 1.5 nM/g concentration with the highest being about 2.5 nM/g, close to 3 nM/g at week 8. Figure 3B shows an average of about 3 nM/g concentration with the highest being about 3.5 nM/g at week 8. Also, there is a flaw in comparing the two results because there are only 3 mice for the non-TEG ASO, whereas there are 8 mice for the TEG ASO. Even if the average values were compared between the two, the [best-case] about 2-fold increase in the concentration in the heart accumulation would have been expected in view of the US042 patent that teaches that TEG is an art-recognized terminal modification "to stabilize" the terminus (including the 5' terminus) "against exonucleases" and Karimata which teaches PEG and TEG4 provide steric hindrance which inhibits serum nuclease–oligont binding. Hence, the TEG-ASO in Oppeneer1 was expected to be more protected in vivo compared to the ASO without the TEG, and the less degradation in vivo would have been expected to result in a higher concentration in the intended tissue when administered.
Furthermore, as discussed, the allegedly unexpected outcome of higher accumulation in the heart isn’t indicative of or commensurate with any improved outcome for DMD patients.
“Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected.” [emphasis added].
See MPEP §716.02.
The prior art indicates there was a scientific finding that conjugation with PEG of various length, including TEG4, improves stability against nuclease degradation in serum, which would reasonably (and expectedly) translate into a higher in vivo accumulation of any nucleic acid molecule. The cited prior art indicates PEG of various length, including TEG, is well-known to improve oligo stability.
Regarding the June arguments (§Bv) about TEG in the context of a PMO vs an AON, those aren’t persuasive because the fact that PMOs resist nuclease doesn’t mean there aren’t other modifications that also resist nucleases. Just because an artisan could have applied PMO mod doesn’t mean the artisan would have chosen to do so over using TEG to resist nucleases. Cited art indicates PEG of various length was known to resist nucleases and US042 teaches adding TEG to an ASO for exactly that purpose.
Regarding the June arguments (p. 16 ¶1 and pp. 17-18 ¶1-3), those aren’t persuasive because they assume that every tissue interacts with and accumulates a circulated compound the same way. As Applicant discusses, the kidney filters small compounds. In addition, the cited papers don’t show data for kidney accumulation with any indicators of statistical significance or statistical insignificance (see Oppeneer2 Fig. 2F and Oppeneer1 Suppl. Figs. 2D and 9D). Those Figs. show no statistically significant differences between claimed compound and prior art compound accumulation but in at least Oppeneer1 Suppl. Figs. 2D and 9D, the amount in kidney appears elevated vs. the prior art compound. (The amount of ASO accumulated in kidney in van Deutekom Fig. 5A is also elevated but not statistically significantly significant compared with C12. No mention of “TEG”, “triethylene”, or “glycol” was found in van Deutekom.) Regarding Applicant’s arguments (p. 17 ¶1-4), Horowitz is silent to nucleic acid drugs.
Regarding Nguyen’s teachings that the highest barrier to ASO efficiency in the heart is endosomal entrapment, that argument isn’t persuasive in this case because the Oppeneer1 data don’t indicate that their ASO was functional in heart tissue and don’t indicate whether the ASO that reached the heart was or was not retained in endosomes. Endosomes that retain ASO are within heart cells but result in non-functional ASO; a measurement of the total amount of ASO “accumulated” in heart would include endosome-trapped ASO (or at least Applicant hasn’t explained that their measurement doesn’t include endosome-trapped ASO and Oppeneer1 is silent to endosomes). Therefore, the data shown in the Exhibits and documents cited by Applicant don’t demonstrate that ASO accumulation in heart has a meaningful outcome for treatment. As discussed above, the data about % WT DMD and % exon skipping indicate that despite the ASO accumulating in heart, it doesn’t necessarily escape endosomes and function.
Altogether, it is not possible to justify allowing a patent for a compound that must be deemed obvious in view of the prior art and whose effects must be deemed obvious in view of the prior art. As discussed at length above, PEG of various length including TEG was known to improve nuclease resistance by imparting steric hindrance that prevents nuclease–nucleic acid binding. None of the results presented or discussed demonstrate anything beyond what would have been expected by modifying the known elements of the prior art. All 103 rejections are maintained.
NSDP
Applicant’s arguments against the NSP rejections are not persuasive for the same reasons the arguments against the 103 rejections are not persuasive.
The 23 June 2026 arguments are also not persuasive: Regarding the argument that using each of a first and second AON separately would defeat the purpose of combining AONs to provide a synergistic effect, that isn’t persuasive because WO475 teaches using the claimed AON by itself and teaches it is a preferred embodiment.
Therefore, all NSDP rejections are maintained.
Conclusions
Claims 1, 6-7, 16, and 29-30 are rejected.
RUTHIE S ARIETI
Examiner
Art Unit 1635
/RUTH SOPHIA ARIETI/Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/NANCY J LEITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636