DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-35 of US application 17/449,988 filed 10/05/2021 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 10/11/2023.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 02/08/2024. Claims 17, 28-35 are canceled. Claims 16, 21-22, 27 were amended and claims 36-37 were newly added. Claims 16, 18-27 and 36-37 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 05/20/2024.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 06/05/2024. Claim 36 was amended and claim 37 was newly added. Claims 16, 18-27 and 36-37 were examined. Examiner filed a final rejection on 09/20/2024.
Applicant filed an RCE on 03/03/2025. Claims 16, 18, 22, 24 and 36 were amended. Claims 16, 18-22, 24-27 and 36-37 were examined. Examiner filed a non-final rejection on 06/12/2025.
Applicant filed remarks and amendments on 09/11/2025. Claims 16, 19, 22, 25 and 36-37 were amended, claims 18, 20, 24, 26, and 27 were cancelled and claims 38-44 were newly added. Claims 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 36, and 37-44 were examined. Examiner filed a final rejection on 12/17/2025.
Applicant filed an RCE on 03/02/2026. Claims 16, 19, 22, 25, 36, 37, 40 and 43-44 were amended. Claims 42 was cancelled. Claim 45 was newly added. Claims 16, 19, 21, 22, 25, 36-41, and 43-45 are presently pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed on 02/16/2026 with respect to Wobak et al. (EP 3681103 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US 20180124704 A1) and in further view of Murali (US9477292B1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument regarding claims 16, 22, 25, 36, and 38: Applicant’s argument summarized– the distinguishing filter-circuit features quoted from claim 16, plus assertions that none of the references discloses a filter circuit with matched filters, ideal beacon with predefined modulation pattern.
Murali discloses the correlation-based detection that satisfies the “filter circuit … matched filters … correlation … reception strength indicator” limitations (a correlator performing bit-by-bit correlation against a known key sequence is the functional equivalent of matched-filter detection in this art): “the correlator generating a wake-up signal when the received sequence of ‘1’s and ‘0’s matches the internal receive key sequence.” [Col.2 ln 15-18] and “a wakeup receive processor determines the presence or absence of packet energy over a series of time slots by rectification or mixing to baseband” [Col.2 ln 43-46] and “the output of the correlator 308 which performs a bit-by-bit correlation of the internal key 312 value to the RF envelope values received” [Col.3 ln 60-65]
“the transmit key which generates the transmit packet timing pattern is selected on the basis of having a high self-correlation and low cross-correlation with the receive key matching the transmit key.” [Col.4 ln 37-42] and “One class of codes with this property is the class of Barker codes commonly used in conjunction with BPSK modulation which uses cross correlation of Barker codes for demodulation.” [Col.4 ln 42-45] and “the correlation result is the sum of all one values divided by the total number of bit values.” [Col.9 ln 18-20] and “longer key sequences will generate an output value with a stronger match response over the response produced by similar length intervals of random noise.” [Col.5 ln 49-52]. The “internal receive key” / “transmit key” / “Barker codes” is the “ideal beacon signal that includes a predefined modulation pattern.” The bit-by-bit correlation of the processed RF envelope produces the “reception strength indicator” (the summed “correlation result” that is thresholded). The threshold detector / wake-up assertion is the “processing unit … configured to make a determination … whether a detectable beacon signal … is present.”
Jung supplies the beacon/wake-up context and initial signal-strength check:
“transmitting a wake-up signal to the Wi-Fi device, wherein the wake-up signal is a binary signal for indicating the Wi-Fi device to receive or not to receive a data from the AP.” [0010]
“the Wi-Fi device may determine whether the received signal is a wake-up signal based on the abovementioned predefined pattern or the predefined number of bits within a predefined interval.” [0032]
“The Wi-Fi device may detect a signal and determine whether the strength of the signal is greater than a threshold. If the strength of the received signal is greater than the threshold, the Wi-Fi device may determine whether the received signal is a wake-up signal based on a predefined number of bits within a predefined interval or a predefined pattern.” [0035]
Wobak supplies the low-power RF-interface presence detector and explicit reference-tracking filter: “wherein the detector is configured to detect said presence by detecting a first load on an RF interface of the RF communication device, said first load resulting from a first transmitted RF pulse.” [0025]
“initiating, by said detector, a wake-up of a communication controller of the RF communication device if a difference between the first load and a reference load is above a high threshold.” [0015]
“a moving average filter based on the last m LPCD measurements allows to track the reference value.” [0040]. One of ordinary skill would obviously combine these low-power wake-up references to improve detection reliability (load-based coarse detection + beacon strength check + precise key-sequence correlation).
Argument regarding claims 37, 39-41, and 44: Applicant argues dependency on the filter-circuit limitations plus that Yao’s generic “filters” lack the specific correlation characteristics.
Yao is relied upon only for the additional dependent features and discloses RF circuitry containing filters in the receive path:
“RF circuitry 6106, which may include switches, filters, amplifiers, etc. to facilitate communication with the wireless network” [0148]
“positioning circuitry 445 includes circuitry to receive and decode signals … including various hardware elements (switches, filters, amplifiers, antenna elements, etc.)” [0116]. It would have been obvious to implement the Murali correlator and Jung beacon detection inside Yao’s RF circuitry that already includes the necessary filters.
Argument regarding claim 43: Applicant argues dependency on the filter-circuit limitations plus that Prasad does not cure the deficiencies.
Prasad is relied upon for the additional reception-strength measurement and discloses:
“measuring signal strengths from a plurality of sensors; based on the measured signal strengths, identifying a sensor from the plurality of sensors to be paired with the gateway” [ (Abstract)]
“the gateway can determine RSSIs of the short range RF signal from each sensor.” [0032]
“if the RSSIs at different times are close to each other (e.g., a variance of the RSSIs at different times is within a threshold) and an averaged RSSI (e.g., an average of the RSSIs at different times) exceeds a certain value, the gateway can determine that the particular sensor is on the same asset as the gateway.” [0032]. One of ordinary skill would obviously incorporate Prasad’s RSSI averaging and thresholding as an additional or alternative “reception strength indicator” in the wake-up flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 19, 21-22, 25, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wobak et al. (EP 3681103 A1) in view of Jung et al. (US20180124704A1) and in further view of Murali (US9477292B1), hereinafter referred to as Wobak, Jung and Murali, respectively.
Regarding claims 16, 22 and 36, Wobak discloses A radio frequency (RF) communication device, comprising:
a transmitter configured to generate an RF field (“In operation, the reader - more specifically the detector89 - emits a short RF pulse through a transmitter 110 of the reader and senses load information from the transmitter 110 (for example a transmitter current) or from the NFC matching circuit 114 by means of one or more sensors 112 (for example a receiver voltage or antenna voltage).” [0022]);
a receiver input configured to receive a received RF signal from a further RF communication device as the transmitter is generating the RF field (“Implementations of the LPCD algorithm often rely on having a constant or very slowly changing sensor output if no load is present. In other words, it is assumed that only an approaching antenna detuning device - e.g. a communication counterpart, such as a card or a tag - can cause a sensor output change. This allows using a detection threshold to detect a load change caused by an approaching communication counterpart reliably. Having a large LPCD detection range or enabling applications with weak coupling antennas requires using low detection thresholds, which are slightly above the intrinsic measurement noise. This can often be the case for NFC implementations in mobile phones or wearable devices.” [0023]);
a filter circuit coupled to the receiver input, and wherein the filter circuit is further configured to produce a reception strength indicator that indicates a strength of the correlation between the received RF signal and the ideal beacon signal (“a moving average filter based on the last m LPCD measurements allows to track the reference value. For example, a mean value can be generated over the last m measurements (m being for example 8 or 16). In that case, the algorithm considers a moving average of the difference over the last m measurements: reftrackn,m = mean {[measn, measn-1, ... , meas n-m+1 ]}. The condition for wake-up may then be: abs {deltan - reftrack n-1,m } > detection_threshold, where deltan is the difference between an instantaneous measurement (at time index n) with the initial calibration measurement.” [0040]);
Wobak does not explicitly disclose a processing unit coupled to the filter circuit, wherein the processing unit is configured to make a determination, using the reception strength indicator, whether a detectable beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is present in the received RF signal
However, Jung does teach a processing unit coupled to the filter circuit, wherein the processing unit is configured to make a determination, using the reception strength indicator, whether a detectable beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is present in the received RF signal (“In the first level, the Wi-Fi device in the off mode may only turn the ultra-low power receiver on for receiving the wake-up signal from the AP. The Wi-Fi device may detect a signal and determine whether the strength of the signal is greater than a threshold. If the strength of the received signal is greater than the threshold, the Wi-Fi device may determine whether the received signal is a wake-up signal based on a predefined number of bits within a predefined interval or a predefined pattern.” See at least [0035]). Both Wobak and Jung teach methods for RF communication. However, Jung explicitly teaches a processing unit coupled to the filter circuit, wherein the processing unit is configured to make a determination, using the reception strength indicator, whether a detectable beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is present in the received RF signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the autonomous vehicle control method of Wobak to also include a processing unit coupled to the filter circuit, wherein the processing unit is configured to make a determination, using the reception strength indicator, whether a detectable beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is present in the received RF signal, as in Jung with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Jung, 0035]).
Wobak in view of Jung does not explicitly disclose wherein the filter circuit includes a set of matched filters that fit a correlation characteristic of an ideal beacon signal that includes a predefined modulation pattern, and the filter circuit is configured to determine a correlation between a pattern within a processed version of the received RF signal and the predefined modulation pattern,
a wake-up unit configured to transition the RF communication device from a power-saving mode to a continuous operation mode when the determination is made that the detectable beacon signal is present in the received RF signal.
However, Murali does teach wherein the filter circuit includes a set of matched filters that fit a correlation characteristic of an ideal beacon signal that includes a predefined modulation pattern, and the filter circuit is configured to determine a correlation between a pattern within a processed version of the received RF signal and the predefined modulation pattern (“a correlator which compares the detected and thresholded RF envelope with a private pseudo-random number to determine the level of correlation between the received value and the private value.” [Abstract]. The correlator matches the correlation characteristic of the known “ideal” pattern (private pseudo-random number = predefined modulation pattern); the “level of correlation” functions as the reception strength indicator from the processed (detected/thresholded envelope) version of the received RF signal.),
a wake-up unit configured to transition the RF communication device from a power-saving mode to a continuous operation mode when the determination is made that the detectable beacon signal is present in the received RF signal (“An ultra-low power receiver which performs a wake-up operation using cross correlation of a key with a series of packets transmitted in time slices and thereafter comes out of a sleep or powerdown state to operate as a WLAN station is known as a “tag”. The wakeup interval during which packets are transmitted should be free of packet transmissions by other stations, which may be accomplished by transmitting a self-CTS frame or an RTS/CTS frame, which causes other stations to not transmit for a CTS interval of time sufficient for the transmit key to be sent without interference from other stations.” [Col.5 ln 55-65] and “The output of the amplitude detector 304 is delivered to a threshold detector 306, which is provided to correlator 308 for comparison of the threshold-applied envelope with an internal pseudo-random sequence value of key 312 which is selected for minimum cross correlation error, such as a Gold code. The output of the correlator 308, which performs a bit-by-bit correlation of the internal key 312 value to the RF envelope values received is delivered to a threshold detector 310, which keeps count of the number of matching bits in the correlation sequence, compares that value to a threshold, and asserts wakeup signal 214 when the threshold 314 is exceeded by the correlation count from correlator 308. A variety of power sources may be used to power the wake-up processor 212 or low power WLAN processor 210, including primary cell sources such as LiSOCl2, LiFeS2, LiMnO2, rechargeable cells NiCd or lithium ion, harvested energy such as from mechanical or piezoelectric sources which may be stored in a capacitor or small cell, or any type of power source which provides sufficient power for 212 to operate and wake up the WLAN processor 210 and transmit any required data or perform any required action.” See at least [Col.3-4, ln 47-67 and ln 1-10 ]). Both Wobak in view of Jung and Murali teach methods for RF communication. However, Murali explicitly teaches the filter circuit includes a set of matched filters that fit a correlation characteristic of an ideal beacon signal that includes a predefined modulation pattern, and the filter circuit is configured to determine a correlation between a pattern within a processed version of the received RF signal and the predefined modulation pattern and a wake-up unit configured to transition the RF communication device from a power-saving mode to a continuous operation mode when the determination is made that the detectable beacon signal is present in the received RF signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak in view of Jung to also include the filter circuit includes a set of matched filters that fit a correlation characteristic of an ideal beacon signal that includes a predefined modulation pattern, and the filter circuit is configured to determine a correlation between a pattern within a processed version of the received RF signal and the predefined modulation pattern and a wake-up unit configured to transition the RF communication device from a power-saving mode to a continuous operation mode when the determination is made that the detectable beacon signal is present in the received RF signal, as in Murali with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Murali, Abstract, Col.5 ln 55-65, Col.3-4, ln 47-67 and ln 1-10]).
Regarding claims 19 and 25, Wobak discloses The device of claim 16, wherein the predefined modulation pattern is characteristic of a modulation pattern generated by applying passive load modulation or active load modulation (“Typically, an NFC system or an RFID system includes a reader device - sometimes referred to as a "reader" or as an "interrogator" - which generates a high-frequency radio field, and a passive or active communication counterpart. The communication counterpart may be a passive transponder or an active card emulation device, for example. The reader device emits a radio frequency field that may power the communication counterpart. Modulation schemes and signal coding are applied for the communication between the devices.” See at least [0019]).
Regarding claim 21, Wobak discloses The device of claim 16, being wherein the RF communication device is a proximity coupling device (“Fig. 1 shows an example of an NFC system 100. The system 100 comprises a reader and a communication counterpart 120. The reader comprises an NFC device 102 operatively coupled to an NFC matching circuit 114 and an NFC antenna 116” see at least [0022]).
Regarding claim 38, Wobak discloses The device of claim 16, wherein the transmitter is configured to generate the RF field while the communication device is in a low-power state (“a technique called Low Power Card Detection (LPCD) may be applied, which extends the battery lifetime by using short RF sense pulses to detect load changes at the RF interface of the reader. This allows the reader to reduce its RF field ON-duration and to switch to a power-saving state between the sense pulses (e.g. to enter a current-saving standby mode).” [0003]).
Claims 37, 39--41 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wobak in view of Jung and in further view of Murali and Yao et al. (US20210022024A1), hereinafter referred to as Wobak, Jung, Murali and Yao respectively.
Regarding claims 37 and 44,
Wobak does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined modulation pattern of the ideal beacon signal is configured such that an average amplitude of the ideal beacon signal is zero
However, Yao does teach wherein the predefined modulation pattern of the ideal beacon signal is configured such that an average amplitude of the ideal beacon signal is zero (“Output baseband signals may be provided to the baseband circuitry 6110 for further processing. In some embodiments, the output baseband signals may be zero-frequency baseband signals, although this is not a requirement.” [0149]). Both Wobak and Yao teach methods for RF communication. However, Yao explicitly teaches wherein the predefined modulation pattern of the ideal beacon signal is configured such that an average amplitude of the ideal beacon signal is zero.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include wherein the predefined modulation pattern of the ideal beacon signal is configured such that an average amplitude of the ideal beacon signal is zero, as in Yao with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yao, 0149]).
Regarding claim 39, Wobak discloses The device of claim 16,
Wobak does not explicitly disclose further comprising: additional circuitry coupled between the receiver input and the filter circuit, wherein the additional circuitry is configured to produce, from the received RF signal, the processed version of the received RF signal
However, Yao does teach further comprising: additional circuitry coupled between the receiver input and the filter circuit, wherein the additional circuitry is configured to produce, from the received RF signal, the processed version of the received RF signal (“RF circuitry 6106 may enable communication with wireless networks using modulated electromagnetic radiation through a non-solid medium. In various embodiments, the RF circuitry 6106 may include switches, filters, amplifiers, etc. to facilitate the communication with the wireless network. RF circuitry 6106 may include a receive signal path, which may include circuitry to down-convert RF signals received from the FEM circuitry 6108 and provide baseband signals to the baseband circuitry 6110. RF circuitry 6106 may also include a transmit signal path, which may include circuitry to up-convert baseband signals provided by the baseband circuitry 6110 and provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 6108 for transmission.” [0148]). Both Wobak and Yao teach methods for RF communication. However, Yao explicitly teaches additional circuitry coupled between the receiver input and the filter circuit, wherein the additional circuitry is configured to produce, from the received RF signal, the processed version of the received RF signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include additional circuitry coupled between the receiver input and the filter circuit, wherein the additional circuitry is configured to produce, from the received RF signal, the processed version of the received RF signal, as in Yao with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yao, 0048]).
Regarding claim 40,
Wobak does not explicitly disclose wherein the additional circuitry comprises: a mixer configured to down-convert the received RF signal, resulting in a down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the down-converted signal to a digital signal, wherein the processed version of the received RF signal is generated from the digital signal
However, Yao does teach wherein the additional circuitry comprises: a mixer configured to down-convert the received RF signal, resulting in a down-converted signal (“In some embodiments, the mixer circuitry 6106 a of the receive signal path may be configured to down-convert RF signals received from the FEM circuitry 6108 based on the synthesized frequency provided by synthesizer circuitry 6106 d.” [0149]);
and an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the down-converted signal to a digital signal, wherein the processed version of the received RF signal is generated from the digital signal (“In some embodiments, the transmit signal path of the RF circuitry 6106 may include filter circuitry 6106 c and mixer circuitry 6106 a. RF circuitry 6106 may also include synthesizer circuitry 6106 d for synthesizing a frequency for use by the mixer circuitry 6106 a of the receive signal path and the transmit signal path. In some embodiments, the mixer circuitry 6106 a of the receive signal path may be configured to down-convert RF signals received from the FEM circuitry 6108 based on the synthesized frequency provided by synthesizer circuitry 6106 d. The amplifier circuitry 6106 b may be configured to amplify the down-converted signals and the filter circuitry 6106 c may be a low-pass filter (LPF) or band-pass filter (BPF) configured to remove unwanted signals from the down-converted signals to generate output baseband signals. Output baseband signals may be provided to the baseband circuitry 6110 for further processing. In some embodiments, the output baseband signals may be zero-frequency baseband signals, although this is not a requirement. In some embodiments, mixer circuitry 6106 a of the receive signal path may comprise passive mixers, although the scope of the embodiments is not limited in this respect.” [0149]). Both Wobak and Yao teach methods for RF communication. However, Yao explicitly teaches wherein the additional circuitry comprises: a mixer configured to down-convert the received RF signal, resulting in a down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the down-converted signal to a digital signal, wherein the processed version of the received RF signal is generated from the digital signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include wherein the additional circuitry comprises: a mixer configured to down-convert the received RF signal, resulting in a down-converted signal and an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the down-converted signal to a digital signal, wherein the processed version of the received RF signal is generated from the digital signal, as in Yao with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yao, 0149]).
Regarding claim 41,
Wobak does not explicitly disclose wherein: the mixer is configured to produce the down-converted signal as a first complex-valued signal, the analog-to-digital converter is configured to convert the first complex-valued signal to a complex-valued digital signal and the additional circuitry further includes a combiner configured to combine components of the complex-valued digital signal in order to produce the processed version of the received RF signal.
However, Yao does teach wherein: the mixer is configured to produce the down-converted signal as a first complex-valued signal (“RF circuitry 6106 may include a receive signal path, which may include circuitry to down-convert RF signals received from the FEM circuitry 6108 and provide baseband signals to the baseband circuitry 6110.” [0148] and “The CCEs are numbered from 0 to NCCE,k−1, where NCCE,k−1 is the number of CCEs in the control region of subframe k. Before being mapped to REs, the PDCCH complex-valued symbols may first be organized into quadruplets, which may then be permuted using a sub-block interleaver for rate matching.” [0062]);
the analog-to-digital converter is configured to convert the first complex-valued signal to a complex-valued digital signal (“The BMS may also include an analog-to-digital (ADC) convertor that allows the application circuitry 505 to directly monitor the voltage of the battery 530 or the current flow from the battery 530. The battery parameters may be used to determine actions that the platform 500 may perform, such as transmission frequency, network operation, sensing frequency, and the like.” [0136]);
and the additional circuitry further includes a combiner configured to combine components of the complex-valued digital signal in order to produce the processed version of the received RF signal (“The resource grids comprises a number of RBs, which describe the mapping of certain physical channels to REs. In the frequency domain, this may represent the smallest quantity of resources that currently can be allocated. Each RB comprises a collection of REs. An RE is the smallest time-frequency unit in a resource grid. Each RE is uniquely identified by the index pair (k,l) in a slot where k=0, . . . , NRB DLNSc RB−1 and l=0, . . . , Nsymb DL−1 are the indices in the frequency and time domains, respectively. RE (k,l) on antenna port p corresponds to the complex value ak (p). An antenna port is defined such that the channel over which a symbol on the antenna port is conveyed can be inferred from the channel over which another symbol on the same antenna port is conveyed. There is one resource grid per antenna port.” [0052]). Both Wobak and Yao teach methods for RF communication. However, Yao explicitly teaches wherein: the mixer is configured to produce the down-converted signal as a first complex-valued signal, the analog-to-digital converter is configured to convert the first complex-valued signal to a complex-valued digital signal and the additional circuitry further includes a combiner configured to combine components of the complex-valued digital signal in order to produce the processed version of the received RF signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include wherein: the mixer is configured to produce the down-converted signal as a first complex-valued signal, the analog-to-digital converter is configured to convert the first complex-valued signal to a complex-valued digital signal and the additional circuitry further includes a combiner configured to combine components of the complex-valued digital signal in order to produce the processed version of the received RF signal, as in Yao with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Yao, 0052, 0062, 0136]).
Claims 43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wobak in view of Jung and in further view of Murali and PRASAD et al. (US20190246344A1), hereinafter referred to as Wobak, Jung, Murali and PRASAD respectively.
Regarding claim 43, Wobak discloses The device of claim 16,
Wobak does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined modulation pattern is a pattern selected from a group consisting of a Gold code
However, Murali does teach wherein the predefined modulation pattern is a pattern selected from a group consisting of a Gold code (“The output of the amplitude detector 304 is delivered to a threshold detector 306, which is provided to correlator 308 for comparison of the threshold-applied envelope with an internal pseudo-random sequence value of key 312 which is selected for minimum cross correlation error, such as a Gold code.” [Col.3 ln 55-65]). Both Wobak and Murali teach methods for RF communication. However, Murali explicitly teaches wherein the predefined modulation pattern is a pattern selected from a group consisting of a Gold code.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include wherein the predefined modulation pattern is a pattern selected from a group consisting of a Gold code, as in Murali with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [Murali, Col.3 ln 55-65]).
Wobak does not explicitly disclose a burst with a duty cycle and a duration that is modulated on a carrier signal
However, PRASAD does teach a burst with a duty cycle and a duration that is modulated on a carrier signal (“In some implementations, a power saving mode can be defined by a duty cycle. For example, a device can enter a high power state and enable its radio components for a particular period of time for transmitting or receiving data. Following the particular period of time, the device can disable its radio components and enter a low power state.” [0016]). Both Wobak and PRASAD teach methods for RF communication. However, PRASAD explicitly teaches a burst with a duty cycle and a duration that is modulated on a carrier signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include a burst with a duty cycle and a duration that is modulated on a carrier signal, as in PRASAD with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [PRASAD, 0048]).
Regarding claim 45,
Wobak does not explicitly disclose wherein the ideal beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is an encoded sequence defined by a duration and a duty cycle, wherein the encoded sequence is modulated upon a carrier signal.
However, PRASAD does teach wherein the ideal beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is an encoded sequence defined by a duration and a duty cycle, wherein the encoded sequence is modulated upon a carrier signal (“he gateway can be configured in an Extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) mode (e.g., LTE eDRX) with the lowest duty cycle (e.g., wake up every 44 minutes). In this case, the gateway can turn on the cellular radio components based on the eDRX configuration and wait for the message from the server. Upon receiving the message from the server, the gateway can wake up short range RF components to perform sensor provisioning.” [0064]). Both Wobak and PRASAD teach methods for RF communication. However, PRASAD explicitly teaches wherein the ideal beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is an encoded sequence defined by a duration and a duty cycle, wherein the encoded sequence is modulated upon a carrier signal.
It would have been obvious to anyone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RF communication method of Wobak to also include wherein the ideal beacon signal with the predefined modulation pattern is an encoded sequence defined by a duration and a duty cycle, wherein the encoded sequence is modulated upon a carrier signal, as in PRASAD with a reasonable degree of success. Doing so improves the efficiency of RF communication between devices and improves the battery life for the different devices. (With regard to this reasoning, see at least [PRASAD, 0064]).
Conclusion
/AA/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668