DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 10 and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. There is support in the specification for why the OK range would not be assigned a threshold as seen in Para(s). [0017, 0044, and 0048]. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections of claims 10 and 11 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Czerw (US 20230140999 A1), Korchev (US 20210319633 A1), and Yamamoto (US 20220112692 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Yamamoto does not teach emptying the containers of the histogram of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Czerw (US 20230140999 A1), Korchev (US 20210319633 A1), and Shott (US 4897650 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claims 1 and 9, the following bold limitations are considered abstract:
“acquiring values of at least one electrical variable of the cable harness;
transmitting to at least one evaluator at least one signal which represents the acquired values;
allocating a number of containers that collectively form a histogram, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable;
evaluating the at least one signal so that the acquired values are allocated to the containers based on the respective value range;
counting the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers;
and emptying the containers of the histogram of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire;
based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action.”
The above bolded limitations are directed to abstract ideas and would fall within the “Mathematical Concept” grouping of abstract ideas. Making a histogram, binning data, and emptying bins are a well-known mathematical concept. According to MPEP 2106.04(C) “A claim that recites a mathematical calculation, when the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, will be considered as falling within the "mathematical concepts" grouping. A mathematical calculation is a mathematical operation (such as multiplication) or an act of calculating using mathematical methods to determine a variable or number, e.g., performing an arithmetic operation such as exponentiation. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word "calculating" in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of "determining" a variable or number using mathematical methods or "performing" a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation.”
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements –
“acquiring values of at least one electrical variable of the cable harness; transmitting to at least one evaluator at least one signal which represents the acquired values; based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action.”
Examiner views these limitations amount to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h)
As such Examiner does NOT view that the claims
-Improve the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field
-Apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP
2106.05(b)
-Effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing -
see MPEP 2106.05(c)
-Apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally
linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the
claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP
2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Moreover, Examiner views the claims to be merely generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a computer system and generic cable harness data.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “acquiring values of at least one electrical variable of the cable harness; transmitting to at least one evaluator at least one signal which represents the acquired values; based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action;” amounts to mere data gathering as data is just acquired and using a computer as a tool as an evaluator is viewed as a computer and the triggered action could just amount to saving data to memory as seen in claim 7. Furthermore, the limitations just generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h). Examiner notes that such additional elements are viewed to be well known routine and conventional as evidenced by
Czerw (US 20230140999 A1
Korchev (US 20210319633 A1)
Shott (US 4897650 A)
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Considering the claim as a whole, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know the practical application of the present invention since the claims do not apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way. As currently claimed, Examiner views that the additional elements do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, because the claim fails to recite clearly how the judicial exception is applied in a manner that does not monopolize the exception because the limitations “acquiring values of at least one electrical variable of the cable harness; transmitting to at least one evaluator at least one signal which represents the acquired values; based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action;” just tie the claim to a well-known computing system and a cable harness.
Dependent claims 2-4, 7, 8, 10, and 11 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, as detailed below:
The dependent claims are directed to filtering/preparing data and defining thresholds which amount to mental processes or mathematical concepts. Claims 7 and 8 further limit the action taken however, the action could be simply saving data to memory which is viewed as using a computer as a tool. However, some of the limitations of claim 7 move the claim closer to being a practical application as the limitations issuing a warning report to a driver, a request to a driver of a vehicle, transferring the vehicle to a safe state, or reducing the max steering moment tie the claim explicitly to the field of vehicles and narrow the range of actions.
Therefore, dependent claims 2-4, 7, 8, 10, and 11 further limit the abstract idea with an abstract idea and thus the claims are still directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 7-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite the limitation "the time interval expires" in Ln (14). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the limitation should read before “before a time interval expires, triggering an action” or “before the number of driving cycles greater than one expire, triggering an action.” For the purposes of examination, the limitation will read “before a time interval expires, triggering an action.”
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the vehicle" in ln. 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 further recites “a degradation of components” in line 4. It is unclear and indefinite what action “a degradation of components” is referring to. It could mean anything from manually wearing down specific components to reducing a grade or classification of a component. For the purposes of examination, it will be viewed as the latter.
Claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35
U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czerw (US 20230140999 A1) as modified by Korchev (US 20210319633 A1) and Shott (US 4897650 A).
With respect to Claim 1,
Czerw teaches,
A method for monitoring a cable harness, the method comprising the following steps: acquiring values of at least one electrical variable in the cable harness; (Para. [0036] teaches “wherein the voltage measuring means is configured for measuring a voltage of the electrical cable.”)
transmitting to at least one evaluator at least one signal which represents the acquired values; (Para. [0035] teaches “The apparatus may further comprise a signal interface for communicating data to and/or from the apparatus, such as data relating to the status of the electrical cable. This allows communication and merging with e.g., on-board electromobility electronic control units such as other safety systems etc.”)
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
allocating a number of containers, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable; evaluating the at least one signal is evaluated in such a way that the acquired values are allocated to the containers while taking the respective value range into account; counting the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers; emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire; and based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action.
Korchev teaches,
allocating a number of containers, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable; (Para. [0033] teaches “The delta value quantizer 140 is executable by the processor(s) 128 to assign the delta values 160 into quantization bins (also referred to herein simply as “bins). Where the delta values are made up of a difference between electrical parameters”)
evaluating the at least one signal so that the acquired values are allocated to the containers based on the respective value range; counting the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers; (Para. [0033] teaches “Each bin represents a range of delta values, and the specific range of delta values represented by each bin and the number bins used for the sensor data 114 from each sensor 108 is indicated by bin data 154 in configuration data 136 stored in the memory device(s) 130.”. Para. [0007] teaches “The operations also include determining a normalized count of delta values for each of the quantization bins. The operations further include performing a comparison of the normalized count of delta values for a particular quantization bin to an anomaly detection threshold of the particular quantization bin.”)
and based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action. (Para. [0031] teaches “To illustrate, the anomaly detector 148 can be divided into two distinct anomaly detectors that use different detection thresholds, such as a first detection threshold to generate alerts sent to the off-board device” Para. [0048] teaches “However, a similar number of large variations in the compressor outlet pressure over the same time period can indicate that the compressor (or a pressure sensor) is beginning to experience conditions that generally lead to a fault. To illustrate, such wide variations can indicate that the compressor is having difficulty starting rotation of an impeller, which can indicate the initial stages of a bearing failure. Using the computationally efficient calculations and counting operations described above, the anomaly detection system 104 can generate histogram-like data (e.g., the normalized count of delta values 166) and use the histogram-like data to determine whether the sensor data 114 includes concerning variations, such as too many (e.g., at least a threshold number) changes of a particular magnitude (e.g., in a particular bin).” Para. [0082] teaches “setting an anomaly detection threshold for each quantization bin based on the normalized counts of delta values and fault indication data associated with the one or more aircraft. For example, the computing device can perform one or more threshold setting operations 312 as described with reference to FIG. 3.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Czerw with allocating a number of containers, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable; evaluating the at least one signal is evaluated in such a way that the acquired values are allocated to the containers while taking the respective value range into account; counting the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers and based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Czerw, because organizing values into containers such as that of a histogram is a well-known way to keep track of multiple data points and organize specific instances of data. Having a threshold for each container and performing an action when the threshold number is hit would allow the method to more effectively monitor the electrical system. This is because if a value is measured more than once it is more likely that a system is experiencing a certain state.
The combination of Czerw and Korchev does not explicitly teach,
emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire;
Shott teaches,
emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire; (Col. 2 Ln(s). [5-10] teaches “At the completion of the predetermined number of cycles, a microcomputer is used to read data from the histogram counter and increment the bin counter and reset the histogram counter, beginning the data acquisition for the next bin.” Col. 3 Ln(s). [43-45] teaches that the predetermined number of cycles is greater than 1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw and Korchev with emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire such as that of Shott.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw and Korchev, because emptying containers of data after a certain number of cycles would ensure that anomalous or outlier data would not add up enough to affect the classification of the cable harness. It would also reduce the need for storage space and therefore decrease the costs of implementing the method. This is further illustrated in Shott Col. 2 Ln(s). [5-10] where it is stated that emptying the bins allows less RAM to be used.
With respect to Claim 2,
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott teach the method as recited in claim 1.
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
wherein filtering of the values is performed before the values are allocated to the corresponding container.
Korchev further teaches,
wherein filtering of the values is performed before the values are allocated to the corresponding container. (Para. [0005] teaches “determining a set of delta values. Each delta value from the set of delta values indicates a difference between a first parameter value and a second parameter value from a pair of parameter values corresponding to consecutive sample periods of the sensor data. The operations also include determining a set of quantized delta values by assigning delta values from the set of delta values to quantization bins based on magnitudes of the delta values.”. The parameters are processed and or filtered into delta values before being allocated to their respective bins.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott wherein filtering of the values is performed before the values are allocated to the corresponding container such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott, because filtering the data before putting it into containers allows the method to emphasis important features of the data. If the method filtered the data after the data was in the containers the sorted data would contain more noise and have less meaning and applicability to the electrical system.
With respect for Claim 4,
Czerw teaches,
The method as recited in claim 1,
wherein the at least one electrical variable is a variable that is selected from a group that includes: (i) an electrical resistance, (ii) an electrical voltage, (iii) an electrical current intensity. (Para. [0036] teaches “wherein the voltage measuring means is configured for measuring a voltage of the electrical cable.”)
With respect to Claim 7,
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott teach the method as recited in claim 1.
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
wherein the action is at least one measure selected from a group that includes: (i) a warning report to a driver, (ii) a request to the driver, (iii) transferring the vehicle to a safe state, (iv) an entry in an error memory, (v) a degradation of components, (vi) a reduction of a maximum steering moment.
Korchev further teaches,
wherein the action is at least one measure selected from a group that includes: (i) a warning report to a driver, (ii) a request to the driver, (iii) transferring the vehicle to a safe state, (iv) an entry in an error memory, (v) a degradation of components, (vi) a reduction of a maximum steering moment. (Para. [0031] teaches “two distinct anomaly detectors that use different detection thresholds, such as a first detection threshold to generate alerts sent to the off-board device 126 (e.g., maintenance alerts) and a second detection threshold to generate alerts sent to the on-board device 110 (e.g., aircrew alerts).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott wherein the action is at least one measure selected from a group that includes: (i) a warning report to a driver, (ii) a request to the driver, (iii) transferring the vehicle to a safe state, (iv) an entry in an error memory, (v) a degradation of components, (vi) a reduction of a maximum steering moment such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott, because if something is wrong with an electrical system it could be dangerous to those operating the system, and being alerted would help the operators fix the issue with the cable harness and reduce downtime.
With respect to Claim 9,
Czerw teaches,
A system for monitoring a cable harness, the system configured to: acquire values of at least one electrical variable in the cable harness; (Para. [0036] teaches “wherein the voltage measuring means is configured for measuring a voltage of the electrical cable.”)
transmit to at least one evaluator at least one signal which represents the acquired values; (Para. [0035] teaches “The apparatus may further comprise a signal interface for communicating data to and/or from the apparatus, such as data relating to the status of the electrical cable. This allows communication and merging with e.g., on-board electromobility electronic control units such as other safety systems etc.”)
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
allocate a number of containers, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable; evaluate the at least one signal is evaluated in such a way that the acquired values are allocated to the containers while taking the respective value range into account; count the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers; emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire; and based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action.
Korchev teaches,
allocate a number of containers, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable; (Para. [0033] teaches “The delta value quantizer 140 is executable by the processor(s) 128 to assign the delta values 160 into quantization bins (also referred to herein simply as “bins). Where the delta values are made up of a difference between electrical parameters”)
evaluate the at least one signal so that the acquired values are allocated to the containers based on the respective value range; count the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers; (Para. [0033] “Each bin represents a range of delta values, and the specific range of delta values represented by each bin and the number bins used for the sensor data 114 from each sensor 108 is indicated by bin data 154 in configuration data 136 stored in the memory device(s) 130.”. Para. [0007] teaches “The operations also include determining a normalized count of delta values for each of the quantization bins. The operations further include performing a comparison of the normalized count of delta values for a particular quantization bin to an anomaly detection threshold of the particular quantization bin.”)
and based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action. (Para. [0031] teaches “To illustrate, the anomaly detector 148 can be divided into two distinct anomaly detectors that use different detection thresholds, such as a first detection threshold to generate alerts sent to the off-board device” Para. [0048] teaches “However, a similar number of large variations in the compressor outlet pressure over the same time period can indicate that the compressor (or a pressure sensor) is beginning to experience conditions that generally lead to a fault. To illustrate, such wide variations can indicate that the compressor is having difficulty starting rotation of an impeller, which can indicate the initial stages of a bearing failure. Using the computationally efficient calculations and counting operations described above, the anomaly detection system 104 can generate histogram-like data (e.g., the normalized count of delta values 166) and use the histogram-like data to determine whether the sensor data 114 includes concerning variations, such as too many (e.g., at least a threshold number) changes of a particular magnitude (e.g., in a particular bin).” Para. [0082] teaches “setting an anomaly detection threshold for each quantization bin based on the normalized counts of delta values and fault indication data associated with the one or more aircraft. For example, the computing device can perform one or more threshold setting operations 312 as described with reference to FIG. 3.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Czerw allocate a number of containers, which each represents a respective value range for the electrical variable; evaluate the at least one signal is evaluated in such a way that the acquired values are allocated to the containers while taking the respective value range into account; count the values allocated to the containers in each of the containers; and based on exceeding a threshold value allocated to a container of the containers before the time interval expires, triggering an action such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Czerw, because organizing values into containers such as that of a histogram is a well-known way to keep track of multiple data points and organize specific instances of data. Having a threshold for each container and performing an action when the threshold number is hit would allow the method to more effectively monitor the electrical system. This is because if a value is measured more than once it is more likely that a system is experiencing a certain state.
The combination of Czerw and Korchev does not explicitly teach,
emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire;
Shott teaches,
emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire; (Col. 2 Ln(s). [5-10] teaches “At the completion of the predetermined number of cycles, a microcomputer is used to read data from the histogram counter and increment the bin counter and reset the histogram counter, beginning the data acquisition for the next bin.” Col. 3 Ln [43-45] teaches that the predetermined number of cycles is greater than 1.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw and Korchev with emptying the containers of their respective counted values after a number of driving cycles greater than one expire such as that of Shott.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw and Korchev, because emptying containers of data after a certain number of cycles would ensure that anomalous or outlier data would not add up enough to affect the classification of the cable harness. It would also reduce the need for storage space and therefore decrease the costs of implementing the method. This is further illustrated in Shott Col. 2 Ln(s). [5-10] where it is stated that emptying the bins allows less RAM to be used.
With respect to Claim 10,
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott teach the method as recited in claim 1.
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
wherein: the threshold is one of a plurality of thresholds having different respective values, and each of the containers is allocated a respective one of the plurality of thresholds.
Korchev further teaches,
wherein: the threshold is one of a plurality of thresholds having different respective values, and each of the containers is allocated a respective one of the plurality of thresholds. (Para. [0042] teaches “The anomaly detection thresholds 156 include one or more thresholds per bin per sensor 108 that provides sensor data 114 to the anomaly detection system 104. For example, in a particular implementation in which only one sensor 108 provides the sensor data 114 to the anomaly detection system 104, the anomaly detection thresholds 156 include one threshold per bin, and the anomaly detection system 104 detects an anomaly if the normalized count of delta values 166 for any bin satisfies the corresponding anomaly detection threshold” Para. [0066] teaches “fault count 326 associated with each bin 254 is set as the anomaly detection threshold 156 for the respective bin 254. For example, the representative fault count 326A associated with the first bin 254A is stored in the configuration data 136 as the first anomaly detection threshold 156A associated with the first bin data 154A, and the representative fault count 326N associated with the Nth bin 254N is stored in the configuration data 136 as the Nth anomaly detection threshold 156N associated with the Nth bin data 154N.” Para. [0067] teaches “As describe above, the anomaly detection system 104 can use more than one anomaly detection threshold for each bin 254. In a particular implementation, the threshold setting operation 312 uses the representative fault count 326 associated with each bin 254 to set a higher anomaly detection threshold 156 for the respective bin 254 and uses the representative non-fault count 324 associated with the bin 254 to set a lower anomaly detection threshold 156 for the bin 254. Alternatively, the lower anomaly detection threshold for each bin 254 can be set based on an offset from the representative fault count 32.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott wherein: the threshold is one of a plurality of thresholds having different respective values, and each of the containers is allocated a respective one of the plurality of thresholds such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Czerw, because as seen in Para. [0048] of Korchev “Using the computationally efficient calculations and counting operations described above, the anomaly detection system 104 can generate histogram-like data (e.g., the normalized count of delta values 166) and use the histogram-like data to determine whether the sensor data 114 includes concerning variations, such as too many (e.g., at least a threshold number) changes of a particular magnitude (e.g., in a particular bin). The use of histogram-like data also allows the anomaly detection system 104 to consider many different ranges of variations in the sensor data 114 and corresponding thresholds. For example, while a small number of “large” delta values 160 may indicate an anomaly, in some instances, an anomaly can also (or in the alternative) be indicated by a larger number of “medium” sized delta value 160.”
With respect to Claim 11,
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott teach the system as recited in claim 9.
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
wherein: the threshold is one of a plurality of thresholds having different respective values, and each of the containers is allocated a respective one of the plurality of thresholds.
Korchev further teaches,
wherein: the threshold is one of a plurality of thresholds having different respective values, and each of the containers is allocated a respective one of the plurality of thresholds. (Para. [0042] teaches “The anomaly detection thresholds 156 include one or more thresholds per bin per sensor 108 that provides sensor data 114 to the anomaly detection system 104. For example, in a particular implementation in which only one sensor 108 provides the sensor data 114 to the anomaly detection system 104, the anomaly detection thresholds 156 include one threshold per bin, and the anomaly detection system 104 detects an anomaly if the normalized count of delta values 166 for any bin satisfies the corresponding anomaly detection threshold” Para. [0066] teaches “fault count 326 associated with each bin 254 is set as the anomaly detection threshold 156 for the respective bin 254. For example, the representative fault count 326A associated with the first bin 254A is stored in the configuration data 136 as the first anomaly detection threshold 156A associated with the first bin data 154A, and the representative fault count 326N associated with the Nth bin 254N is stored in the configuration data 136 as the Nth anomaly detection threshold 156N associated with the Nth bin data 154N.” Para. [0067] teaches “As describe above, the anomaly detection system 104 can use more than one anomaly detection threshold for each bin 254. In a particular implementation, the threshold setting operation 312 uses the representative fault count 326 associated with each bin 254 to set a higher anomaly detection threshold 156 for the respective bin 254 and uses the representative non-fault count 324 associated with the bin 254 to set a lower anomaly detection threshold 156 for the bin 254. Alternatively, the lower anomaly detection threshold for each bin 254 can be set based on an offset from the representative fault count 32.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott wherein: the threshold is one of a plurality of thresholds having different respective values, and each of the containers is allocated a respective one of the plurality of thresholds such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Czerw, because as seen in Para. [0048] of Korchev “Using the computationally efficient calculations and counting operations described above, the anomaly detection system 104 can generate histogram-like data (e.g., the normalized count of delta values 166) and use the histogram-like data to determine whether the sensor data 114 includes concerning variations, such as too many (e.g., at least a threshold number) changes of a particular magnitude (e.g., in a particular bin). The use of histogram-like data also allows the anomaly detection system 104 to consider many different ranges of variations in the sensor data 114 and corresponding thresholds. For example, while a small number of “large” delta values 160 may indicate an anomaly, in some instances, an anomaly can also (or in the alternative) be indicated by a larger number of “medium” sized delta value 160.”
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czerw (US 20230140999 A1) as modified by Korchev (US 20210319633 A1) and Shott (US 4897650 A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Jeon (US 20150006976 A1) and Ganesh (US 20100253364 A1).
With respect to Claim 3,
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott teach the method as recited in claim 2.
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
in which the filtering includes a measure that is selected from a group that includes: (i) forming a moving average of a certain number of values, (ii) averaging across a certain time or during a driving cycle, (iii) root mean squaring.
Korchev further teaches,
averaging across a certain time or during a driving cycle. (Para. [0038] and Para [ 0039 As an example, the duration of the standardized power up event can be set based on an average duration of power up events associated with a set of aircraft.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott with averaging across a certain time or during a driving cycle such as that of Korchev.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Czerw, because averaging over a duration of time or drive cycle would limit the amount of noise in the data.
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott does not explicitly teach,
forming a moving average of a certain number of values.
Jeon teaches,
forming a moving average of a certain number of values. (Para. [0087] teaches “according to a "moving average" technique, data stored at a plurality of storage elements coupled to a word line is read using a high resolution read technique. By reading the data using the high resolution read technique, voltage thresholds for each of the storage elements are determined. The moving average technique may further include determining a moving average voltage using a moving average (e.g., a "sliding window"). A particular storage element is identified for which the moving average voltage changes. Because the moving average voltage changes near the particular storage element, a defect in the word line may exist near the particular storage element.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott with forming a moving average of a certain number of values.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott, because forming a moving average smooths out short-term fluctuations and highlights longer-term trends or cycles.
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, Shott, and Jeon, does not explicitly teach,
root mean squaring.
Ganesh teaches,
root mean squaring. (Para. [0039] teaches “Such parameters are known in the art and can include the minimum value of the signal, the maximum value of the signal, the mean, harmonic mean, geometric mean, root mean square value of the signal, the crest factor, the absolute deviation, the standard deviation, the skew, the kurtosis, the regression r-square value, and the time of the maximum value of the signal. Each of these calculated results is output as part of the signal features 460.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, Shott and Jeon with root mean squaring such as that of Ganesh.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, Shott and Jeon, because finding the RMS value of the data would keep the mean without interference from the sign of the data.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Czerw (US 20230140999 A1) as modified by Korchev (US 20210319633 A1) and Shott (US 4897650 A) as applied to claims 7 above, and further in view of Kanamori (US 20190366872 A1).
With respect to Claim 8,
The combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott, teach the method as recited in claim 7.
Czerw does not explicitly teach,
wherein the action is selected as a function of an ageing state of the cable harness.
Kanamori teaches,
wherein the action is selected as a function of an ageing state of the cable harness. (Para. [0312] teaches “For example, the following deterioration may occur in each electric wire of the wire harness due to the influence of aged deterioration.”. Para. [0318] teaches “When the wire harness is deteriorated as described above, since the electrical characteristics of the transmission path deteriorate, a signal such as the deterioration diagnosis pulse 31Da which has a short pulse width and particularly includes a high frequency component increases loss during transmission. As a result, for example, a change occurs between an amplitude (Vd1) of a voltage of the deterioration diagnosis pulse 31Da in the power packet 30D sent by the power packet mixer 91 to the power transmission path 95-1 and an amplitude (Vd2) of a voltage of the degradation diagnosis pulse 31Da in the power packet 30D received by the power packet router 92-1. Therefore, by detecting the voltage change or the waveform change of the deterioration diagnosis pulse 31Da, the “failure diagnosis” of the wire harness can be performed.”. Since the cable harness deteriorates the action which in this case would be a failure diagnoses corresponding to a degradation of components would be a function of the aging state.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott wherein the action is selected as a function of an ageing state of the cable harness such as that of Kanamori.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Czerw, Korchev, and Shott, because aging is a primary concern regarding electrical systems, and depending on how aged the system is it could require a more serious or less serious action to be taken.
Conclusion
should be directed to JOSHUA L FORRISTALL whose telephone number is 703-756-4554. The examiner
can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30 AM- 5 PM.
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Schechter can be reached on 571-272-2302. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA L FORRISTALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857